phonescamBarbadians who read the Nation newspaper yesterday would have learned about a scam where LIME (Cable & Wireless) customers are being targeted by fraudsters. The way the scam works: a LIME customer receives a text or call from a telephone number in the range 00 88213 213505 which could result in the customer being billed up to USD15.00 per minute. LIME (Cable & Wireless) was quick to make it clear that calls and text messages to these numbers (00 882) will be billed at the applicable international rate.”

In the absence of an investigative media, a Fair Trading Commission (FTC)  which is customer centric and a passive consumer advocacy environment, Barbadians have been left to wonder who are to look after their interest in cases highlighted by this latest scam.

Fortunately some of us have the Internet.

The Opera Telcom scam perpetrated on Barbadians last year and featured exhaustively on BU and Barbados Free Press was done with the help of the discussion forum, The Scream. The Scream is a UK based online forum dedicated to exposing information about ISPs.  We must confess that the discussions can get very technical.

Luckily for Barbadians they have taken a keen interest in the latest scam which seems to be targeted at LIME (Cable & Wireless). The first nugget of information which should interest Barbadians is that the LIME (Cable & Wireless) customer database may have been hacked by fraudsters. It  may explain why only LIME customers are being affected and not Digicel.

Secondly, we want to take issue with the statement which was issued by LIME (Cable & Wireless) reported in the Nation newspaper “calls and text messages to these numbers (00 882) will be billed at the applicable international rate.” According to The Scream the telephone operator does not keep all that money. According to the international carrier agreement it has with the foreign operator it routes the call to, it must send that operator a portion of the take.” The gist of the quote confirms that whether LIME (Cable&Wireless) want it or not they will be receiving revenue from the fraudulent calls. It is therefore untruthful for LIME (Cable & Wireless) to issue the statement that customers will have to pay applicable international rates. The honest statement would have been to indicate  that LIME customers would benefit from adjustments after the redistribution of the the international carrier commissions received by LIME (Cable & Wireless).

For members of the BU family who are interested in the origination of the 882 number, here is what The Scream has posted:

88213 is a virtual country code assigned by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) to Telespazio S.p.A. of Rome, Italy about 10 years ago. All numbers starting by 00 88213 are controlled directly or indirectly by Telespazio. They are intended for special calls to the Emsat network vis satellite. International carrier agreements allow your local telephone operator to charge whatever has been agreed to for this international satellite service. Could be as high as 9 euros/minute, maybe even more.

THEREFORE, NEVER, EVER CALL ANY NUMBER STARTING WITH 00 88213 …unless you really know who you are calling!

Here is the link to all the information about this scam. We invite the journalists in Barbados to do some work after reading what our friends over at The Scream have posted.

106 responses to “LIME (Cable & Wireless) Being Squeezed By Scammer: Are Barbadians Being Told The Truth?”

1. […] LIME (Cable & Wireless) Being Squeezed By Scammer: Are Barbadians …Barbadians who read the Nation newspaper yesterday would have learned about a scam where LIME (Cable & Wireless) customers are being targeted by fraudsters. The way the scam works: a LIME customer receives a text or call from a … […]

2. Your statement that “the LIME (Cable & Wireless) customer database may have been hacked by fraudsters.” is inaccurate, misleading and possibly malicious. Anyone who has an idea of the area code, and the next three digits in the number range can simply guess the next four numbers, or sequentially dial and get a very high chance of finding a working number. You should therefore clarify your posting which suggests that there is some vulnerability that LIME has that Digicel may not have.

The most useful bit in all the details given is that readers should remember that the scam works by trying to entice them to return a missed call to that number, for which they will be billed. Therefore, their number one objective is that they should NOT return any missed call from that number range.

Regards.

3. We assure you that we are not being malicious. If our resident expert Chris says we are stretching it we will say so but until C&W aka LIME comes clean we will continue to break eggs over this issue.

4. @David et al…

The suggestion of the database being hacked is a bit of a stretch… As Ayden Amber points out, all it would take is someone running through the number ranges (known as “war dialing” in the hacking community…). The ranges of cellular numbers is public (or at least, industry) knowledge, published in the “LERG” and elsewhere.

Also, it’s *very* important to point out that a consumer will *not* be exposed to a $15 a minute charge if they *answer* a call from such a number — only if they *place* a call to same. (They will, however, be exposed to their regular air-time charges.)

5. Oh, and as a follow-up…

It *is* within the power of LIME to reverse these charges. There are mechanisms within the telecommunications industry (read: between carriers) to refuse to pay for fraudulent activity.

My counsel would be for anyone who *has* dialed this number to register a formal complaint to LIME requesting a reversal of the charge, CCed to the FTC and the Telecommunications Unit.

6. Thanks Chris!

We stand corrected on the points which you clarified. Look forward to your leadership on this particular blog.

7. Chris, thanks for the clarity.

David, I withdraw my accusation, your response proves that you were not being deliberately malicious.

The suggestion to take this up with LIME is worth the effort. At the end of the day, I hope better mechanisms can be put in place to curb the SOURCE of these scammers, and any carriers who are party with them.

8. Chris,
    There may be some truth in what you say but it does not explain why the fraudsters decided to target Lime customers and not Digicel. It is also possible that the fraudsters bought these numbers. The buying and selling of such data lists is big business in Europe and the regulators here are well aware of it.
    Firstly Lime has a mechanism (Artificially Inflated Traffic, AIT) that flags up abnormal call patterns. This is used by Networks to protect Networks from fraud. Unfortunately we have learnt in Europe that this mechanism is ‘switched’ off if the dubious calls are going to valid customer accounts that the Networks know to be ‘billable’.
    Also if the calls were randomly generated many of these calls would go to brand new Lime sims and Lime would presumably realize this.

http://www.sknvibes.com/Business/NewsDetails.cfm/7335
    In an exclusive interview with SKNVibes, LIME’s Corporate Communications Vice President Lavern Caines……..
    She said the occurrences seem to be part of a scam aimed at swindling credit from both LIME and its customers.

This statement simply is not true. These numbers are ‘revenue share’ numbers. The billing Network and the telecom company that own the numbers share the revenue. The telecom company that owns the number may share their revenue with a third party who they have allocated the number to.
    Lime know the company on whose behalf they are billing, and the national regulator of that company could easily identify the third party company that is using the number.

9. Now, let’s talk about the economics of this particular scam…

It is almost certain that the calls coming *into* LIME’s network is not taking the same route as the “CallerID” suggests. Thus, the question is, where are they coming from?

All calls generate what are known as Call Detail Records (CDRs). In fact, they create at least one CDR per Carrier.

LIME could audit their CDRs, and determine what Trunk Group the calls originate from, and thusly what Carrier. Additionally, they could block *both* incoming calls with this CID, as well as (*very*, *very* importantly) all *outgoing* calls to same.

I find it incredible (and incorrigible) that LIME have the audacity to warn the public that they’ll be exposed to charges for calls to this number.

The reason is, of course (as David correctly points out in the article above) that LIME actually profit from the outgoing calls. However, what might have been missed is they’re also profiting from the *incoming* calls and text messages.

The consumers’ best interests? Empirically, LIME doesn’t care…

10. @European… I agree with everything you’ve said above.

My argument about “war dialing” was meant as a possible explination which did not involve LIME’s database being hacked. As you said, databases are another possibility. And, in fact, these don’t even have to be purchased — they can be created from WWW search engine spiders, or from the CDRs of any PBX.

As to why Digicel aren’t being targeted, I think you might have (indirectly) answered this question. AITs, High Failure Rates, et al metrics are commonly used by carriers to detect fraud. However, these metrics need to be monitored…

I will also present that I’m modelling a 50% likelihood that these calls are actually originating within Barbados. Without sharing how, I personally could generate such calls with about five minutes work…

Follow the money, and clarity is often found…

11. @All… One last observation…

Q. Why are cell phones being targeted?

A. They’re much more likely to have Caller ID.

12. @All… What I am about to say is public knowledge…

It is always interesting to examine the behaviour of an organism (including a Company) when same is faced with different situations and stimuli…

In this case of a foreign entity trying to defraud LIME customers, LIME has taken the position of warning its customers that they will be charged if they make the mistake of calling an International number which is shown as the CallerID of a call carried by LIME’s own network to LIME’s own customers.

LIME does not appear interested in blocking this fraudulent behaviour, even though it is completely within their ability and rights.

However, on 2007.02.27 LIME (then C&W) blocked all access to a local Carrier because they were offering Two Stage Dialing (TSD) services.

On 2007.03.02 service was restored to this Carrier, *with* *the* *exception* of those numbers being used to offer TSD (and a few other) services.

In my (deeply) considered opinion, the TSD services being offered by this Carrier fall within the acceptable use of the existing Reference Interconnection Offers (RIOs), which the Carrier signed.

So, my observation is: it is *very* interesting that LIME (then C&W) have demonstrated that they are quite capable and able to block calling to certain numbers when they consider it in their best interests.

But then seem to be unable (or unwilling, or unmotivated) to block calling to certain numbers in this instance of demonstrated fraud against their own customers.

Things that make you go “humm….”

I submit my above to anyone interested, and am prepared to stand behind and speak to this in any court of law under oath.

13. Had this happen to me a couple days ago.
    My cell phone rang about twice, and then stopped. When I checked I saw the number in my missed calls, but innocently figured that someone overseas dialed a wrong number and realised in time and hung up.
    I certainly didn’t recognise the number, so had no intention of calling it back. the number which “called me” was 088213 229020

14. Chris, you know my answer to all this bobbing and weaving. Over and over, I have been constantly trying to demonstrate that C&W does not have their customers at heart.

I am therefore glad for your analysis that I can add to the list of acts and omissions that this company engage in where the bottom line is lining their pockets.

Starting with old outdated equipment which their engineer said they will not be changing for some time to come. So if I am to believe him, it means that LIME is just another re-brand to shoot new buzz in the company, while the company carries with in its old ways.

This company doing just what it likes. It has the capacity to hire the lawyers and accountants to show them how to beat the system.

They made $90M this year? Watch how it goes up next year. It goes up steadily every year, from $50M three years ago; and this was predicted to happen based on the evidence coming out of the last rate hearing.

15. Let us see if we understand what was written above correctly. C&W aka LIME has the tools at large to block these numbers?

Also they have done it before in other circumstances.

It begs the question why would they refuse to block these numbers and allow the bad PR to ensue. Especially with the current rebrand exercise.

16. @David…

You understand exactly correctly.

I’m working on a deeper answer for my dear friend ROK.

17. @David: Sorry, I didn’t answer this question: “It begs the question why would they refuse to block these numbers and allow the bad PR to ensue.

Because they’re making profit… Profit is worth more than public opinion… (In the short term, IMHO.)

18. @All… Just for fun…

Quoting the Nation News report: “Technical sources have said blocking these numbers would not solve the problem since it would also affect users who want to make legitimate international calls.

Fsck me…

Blocking a single number will have *no* impact on “users who want to make legitimate international calls”.

Please tell us Nation News… who is your “technical source”? Dare they share their name?

Or is this simply too much to ask?

19. @All (and Nation News…)

I’m sorry; I made a mistake:

@Nation News: “Technical *sources*”

@Nation News: Can you please provide *two* or *more* names who are willing to provide their names, and are willing to stand behind this language?

@All.. I really can be a pr1ck, can’t 1…

20. Livinginbarbados Avatar

If these numbers are known scams then there should be no problem or issue for LIME or any other provider to either block that specific number (as they are identified) or reverse the charge. I got a call from this number, as did a friend at the same time, suggesting that it is a robot. If I do get charged for this call, I will be disputing it with LIME/C&W.

21. Bofat_international Avatar
    Bofat_international

The numbers are known to be used by scammers for many years. Nothing was done to change the situation. No regulation, nothing. And LIME was C&W – they have been the “early birds” of the “golden numbers” in faraway-lands…

http://www.the-scream.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?p=207341#post207341

22. Bofat_international Avatar
    Bofat_international

The new link top the australian court document that ismentioned in The Scream is here
    http://www.lawlink.nsw.gov.au/scjudgments/2004nswsc.nsf/00000000000000000000000000000000/07176a31082a9675ca256f4a00077075?opendocument

Read the court document and you will understand the way this “moneymaking” works.

This is – as far as we know – the most elaborated explanation of the international phonecall systems – and the way scammers and others can make profit here. A “must read” 🙂

It works for “so called” legal activities (phonesex, tarot cards, astrology) but it also works perfect for scammers – because there are only winners in the game, except the consumers.

23. Bofat_international Avatar
    Bofat_international

You should all try to
    – get the media interested
    – get the police interested (*)
    – get Telespazio interested (**)

(*): If someone is calling you and it rings 1x, you get a “missed call”. If you call back, you do so, because you are tricked to believe that someone wanted to get in touch with you. This is fraud. So this is a matter for the police.

The Police can get the information they need – for example about the money flows. This worked in the US with the Moldova Scam in 1997 and it should work here also. At least it could work 😉

(**)

Telespazio S.p.A.
    Via Tiburtina, 965
    00156 Rome (Italy)
    Ph. +39 06 40791

Communication
    communication@telespazio.com
    Ph. +39 06 4079 3291
    fax +39 06 4099 9906

Press Office
    pressoffice@telespazio.com
    Ph. +39 06 4079 6252/3291
    fax +39 06 4099 9910

Marketing and Sales
    marketing@telespazio.com
    sales@telespazio.com
    fax +39 06 4079 3760

24. +88213229035
    My cell is a prepaid with no credit currently, yet the above number was able to call me.
    I can only receive calls from bmobile so I will assume that these calls, are originating from within the bmobile network.
    Could this be the “Entertainment” promised when you “LIME”?

25. @General Lee: THANK YOU!!!

A *very* important observation!

Things that make you go humm…

26. @Bofat_international

Thanks for all the good information. We know that most journalists read the blogs and we are hopeful that they would be encouraged to pursue this issue with a little more vigour. We are also aware that Barbados Consumer Watch personnel frequent the blogs hopefully they can issue a press release or use contacts in the media to bring some more focus to the issue. Their silence on the rebranding from a critical standpoint has been deafening so far.

On whether the media will respond we are doubtful. C&W aka LIME is one of the major institutional advertisers in Barbados, especially with the fierce competition ongoing with Digicel. We have even heard Mr. Vic Fernandes aka market vendor and CEO of STARCOM boasting about the Blackberry he received from C&W, no doubt complimentary. Yes indeed the Barbados media will not risk retaliation from C&W because the current arrangement of prostituting themselves has been most beneficial to everyone.

Although the Police maybe under equipped to deal with this matter we are sure that they have the resources of Interpol at their disposal.

Hopefully Chris who is better versed than others in the BU family can draft a note to

Telespazio S.p.A.
    Via Tiburtina, 965
    00156 Rome (Italy)
    Ph. +39 06 40791

What is to stop the scam from resurfacing if C&W aka LIME demonstrates a reluctance to plug the holes in their system? Who is responsible for educating the public about their rights? This is an issue which Joe Sixpack maybe intimidated to explore.

27. Chris Halsall // November 14, 2008 at 4:59 pm

“Quoting the Nation News report: “Technical sources have said blocking these numbers would not solve the problem since it would also affect users who want to make legitimate international calls.”

I am beginnig to think that it is not really a “scam” after all.

If these numbers are legitimate ones for companies offering various products and services, then these calls could be seen as marketing ploys. (Spamming). Persons interested would then call said numbers (legitimate calls) for more information.

Thanks to google I now know that “88213” is a virtual country code and not a “real” country code.

28. Chris Halsall // November 14, 2008 at 1:06 pm

@All… One last observation…

Q. Why are cell phones being targeted?

A. They’re much more likely to have Caller ID.

It took a while but it has finally become clear.

29. David

BCW may be new but the advocates behind them has been saying these things in public for years.

In saying that let me complement the blogs for delving into the matter because the media get their subsistence from C&W and so does Government. Where are we advocates but voices crying in the wilderness.

The Advocate and the Nation refused to publish BANGO articles on C&W. As a result, we stopped contributing to the Advocate. You may remember that it had a “Civil Society Platform” which was headed BANGO. We did it free and all we asked for was the paper in which it was published to be sent to us and even that was denied after a while.

We are glad for the contributions here. We have to think about this and prepare something for the public which will probably get aired in this blog anyhow.

The only thing to do is mount public platforms. Anybody here willing to speak on a platform or engage in a panel discussion? I think I know the answer to that. Besides me, there is only one brave soul here; not including political parties.

30. ROK our mention of BCW was not a criticism it was to state what is. We appreciate the predicament you, Hallam, Annette and the others are in. In our case although we operate under the cloak of anonymity we do so knowing that there are grave risks to what we are doing. Most Barbadians are happy to go along by not rocking the boat, we are a peaceful and passive people. It is why people are coming into Barbados are pissing all over us. But what can we do but to continue to bang away at the keyboards and hope that our little voice can help to continue make Barbados a better place. On a good note we again welcome Bush tea to the blogosphere. We see that he has a hard hitting blog about the disappearing $100 dollar notes from the Central Bank.

31. @ David
    Please fix the link in your last post.

Thanks General!

32. @General Lee: “I am beginnig to think that it is not really a “scam” after all.

With respect, you are wrong. This is very much a scam.

And thanks to your own observation of receiving such a call on a prepaid phone without credit has shown (with 99% probability) that these calls are being *originated* on LIME’s own network. (This also explains why LIME numbers are being targeted.)

Someone is probably using a GSM Gateway to originate the calls, setting the CID to be the 00882 number(s) that they want called.

It puts into question even further LIMEs claim that they can’t do anything about this. Their switches shouldn’t even *accept* a call with a CID which is set to a number which is not tied to the SIM card(s) being used.

Not only is this truly fraud, but LIME are (at the very least) being complicit in this activity.

Again, to be completely clear, this activity is (almost certainly) being conducted *entirely* on LIMEs own network.

33. @ Chris

I now agree.
    Isn’t technology great.

“Caller ID spoofing is the practice of causing the telephone network to display a number on the recipient’s caller ID display which is not that of the actual originating station;…………… Because of the high trust people have tended to have in the caller ID system, spoofing can call the system’s value into question.”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caller_ID_spoofing

34. Dear Ayden Amber and Chris Halsall:

Do you understand that your techie talk is all gooble-de-gook to us ordinary non-techie idiots out here.

I did not understand a word of what you two wrote. You may as well have been writing in Greek.

However as a matter of (some may say rude) practice I NEVER return any call from numbers which I do not recognize.

If you want J you will just have to keep calling until you get me. And that may be weeks, or months or maybe never.

35. Dear Chris:

“I find it incredible (and incorrigible) ”

Why would you find anything about C &W/Lime incredible and Incorrigible.?

About five years ago those rascals billed me $40 for a call to a pornographic hotline in Washington D.C. A call that was NEVER made from my home. When the call showed up on my bill I goggled the number and discovered that it was a Washington, D.C. number. I called C & W and they told me that it was a pornographic hotline. At the time the call was alleged to have been made one member of my household was verifiably at work in a public place and the rest of us were together at a public event. I kept the program from the public event for years. I fought C &W for almost two years but eventually paid because they cut my service when I refused to pay.

I even pointed out to the unhelpful C & W rep that I did not need to call a foreign hotline seeking sexual satisfaction, that I was capable of attaining unpaid sexual satisfaction right here in Barbados. The service rep laughed at me.

However I got the last laugh. Now all members of my household have Digicell cell phones. Hell will freeze over before we do any cell phone business with LIME. Let them keep the $40.

This is the traditional Bajan way.

36. LIME..Long Interlude of Music Everytime Avatar
    LIME..Long Interlude of Music Everytime

I am here sitting at work, one of the merly 5 internet agents on duty here at limers are us. However, we have not been liming at all. I have been talking all night to the hundereds of lime customers out there, who have called to complain about the piss poor service they are getting. I would like to scream to the top of my voice …YOU HAVE OPTIONS. There is DIGICEL, FREE MOTION, SUNBEACH and you can even use VONAGE right here in BIM. You people are so frustrated yet you have 10 features on your landline, the highest internet package, a LIME mobile and many of you are spending more than $300.00 to this company that you supposedly hate.

If you have a man/woman who is not treating you right, and you decide to stay, dare I say you are saying “I deserve the stink treatment, I am not worth the effort” Do you know that LIME customers in Jamaica do NOT have to request a credit…it is automatic. When Digicel and Flow were introduced in Jamaica LIME lost 80 % of the market share to the competition but here in BIM lime is holding on strong and still would like to send home 400 employess from Barbados and outsource their departments operate in cheaper countries, like St. Lucia.

I believe Barbadians love to LIME with LIME !

37. I quite agree with the above. Bajans do enjoy a good LIME. However, about the issue @ hand. May I point out, I have a LIME service and I get text messages constantly about promotions, my bill being due, new products ect…Not once have I gotten a text from LIME informing me about this scam. Wonder why? lol

38. @J: “Do you understand that your techie talk is all gooble-de-gook to us ordinary non-techie idiots out here. I did not understand a word of what you two wrote. You may as well have been writing in Greek.

First of all, please let me say that there is a big difference between being an idiot, and being ignorant.

However, I truly feel we’ve entered a new “dark ages”. Consumers of technology are more than happy to throw up their hands and say “I can’t understand this”.

Oh, to the contrary!

Technology is Science. Thusly, by definition, it can be reduced down to fundamentals, and understood by anyone.

Unfortunately, because people are happy to accept their ignorance with glee, they’re exposed to the whims and agendas of the “wizards”.

That’s fine, right up until the “magic” stops working correctly. Then the consumers of same are exposed to extortion by said wizards.

(Read: LIME, Micro$oft, auto mechanics, lawyers, et al.)

39. @LIME..Long Interlude of Music Everytime: “There is DIGICEL, FREE MOTION, SUNBEACH”

Digicel is at least the ‘alternative’ as one of the carriers I can switch to without a problem. *However*, the other two aforementioned aren’t alternatives personally.

In 2005, When we were using Sunbeach’s dial-up, the bills were tremendously high because Sunbeach had to use C&W’s platform and plus it is not the value worth the service for paying such old speeds. In early 2006, we switched providers to C&W which is a little ease and runs with ADSL, we didn’t encounter problems in for the first 2 years but the 3rd year is absolutely horrible in February then later August till now. Then I had to do research why was C&W was having problems just to learn now today. We were thinking about switching providers, I visited FreeMotion but however, the prices for the speeds are slower and its not as fast at a price that doesn’t convince us to switch.
    So all of our alternatives to switch were of no use to the value of the money.

Tell Me Why’s suggestion of opening up the telecoms market is in order again to bring the ‘true competition’ so that we Barbadians put the ‘true value’ on better rates and services, is the only solution to that problem. Not ‘High Rates’ to the Barbados public at a time we are all over the world are in an Economic downslide.

I’ve recently about to write a letter to Verizon. But I didn’t plan to mail it anytime soon…

40. @David: “Let us see if we understand what was written above correctly. C&W aka LIME has the tools at large to block these numbers?

Also they have done it before in other circumstances.

It begs the question why would they refuse to block these numbers and allow the bad PR to ensue. Especially with the current rebrand exercise.”

I can throw this out to ya for a clumsy answer, follow the victim’s ‘money’. I guess.

41. NOw let me say first off I work for LIME and I am damn proud of it. Now I know that in the world of business, organizations can get very underhanded , but have you idiots who have claimed that LIME is trying to gain money from this really thought about the situation?

You do not get BILLED for receiving international calls. You do not get BILLED for answering your calls. You only get billed when you decide to pick up your phone and call the number!!!!!!!!! We as human beings like to feel too damn important! Why the hell would you call a number THAT YOU DO NOT KNOW and that is OBVIOUSLY and international number!!!!!!!!!!! That is plain DUMB! And I am trying to be very conservative with my words here because I would LOVE to be more colourful!

Now you have received a call (mind you I received it too), the phone cuts out, why is it that the first thing you do is call the damn number??????? Do you know it? I advise people should invest in voicemail to help curb their stupidity!

I saw that number calling and it rang off. i waited, no voicemail left. i said whoever it was would call back if it is important and i have several international numbers calling me regualrly, but if I do not recognise the number I AINT GUN CALL!!!!!!!!!!

LIME does NOT need to scam people to make money! Its your daily habits that help the company make its revenue! So KINDLY CEASE AND DESIST from defaming MY organization!!!!!!!!! Lord knows i may not be here much longer with the transformation and all, but I hate uneducated and ignorant comments!!!!!!!!

42. @Disturbed!: “LIME does NOT need to scam people to make money!”

Agreed. However, empirically, they don’t *appear* to have done anything to stop this scam, even though it can been proven that they could.

Let me please ask you, as a self-claimed employee of LIME:

1. Has LIME audited their CDRs to determine the origins of these calls?

2. Has LIME done anything to prevent this scam?

3. Is not LIME profiting from the calls being generated?

4. Is LIME going to automatically reverse all charges?

I think the above BLOG posts clear drills down on the situation, and comes to reasonable conclusions based on the evidence available.

@Disturbed!: “Why the hell would you call a number THAT YOU DO NOT KNOW and that is OBVIOUSLY and international number!!!!!!!!!!!

Some of us regularly receive legitimate calls from international numbers which we have never seen before.

Some of us deal with persons and companies where a missed call is a big deal.

Some of us simply accept (begrudgingly) that international calling is ridiculously expensive from Barbados, and factor this into our cost of doing business, in the hopes that (some day) the “powers that be” will *eventually* implement the laws and policy on their own books which will reduce these costs to the consumer to be more appropriate relative to the actual costs (to the Carriers) to implement these services…

@Disturbed!: “…but I hate uneducated and ignorant comments!!!!!!!!”

I have to admit that I (personally) am uneducated (formally); I hold no letters behind my name (with the exception of “MENSA”). School bored the me to tears…

However, trust me when I tell you that I am *not* ignorant on such matters.

@Disturbed!: “So KINDLY CEASE AND DESIST from defaming MY organization!!!!!!!!!

Ah, yeah. Here we go. Shut up about things we don’t want talked about, or we’ll sue you. (Or at least threaten to, and then back down when the ramifications of “discovery” kick in.)

Been there; done that. Have the legal correspondence (and the lawyers’ bills)….

43. @Disturbed!… A follow up question…

Do you have the “testicular fortitude” to share your real name?

Or are you simply going to claim (and threaten) your above as yet another “Anonymous Coward”? Talks real big, but is not repaired to stand behind and take responsibility for your words….

44. Damn…

In the Geek: s/repaired/prepared/

45. Go Chris, go, go, go.

46. Dear Disturbed:

You wrote “I advise people should invest in voicemail to help curb their stupidity! :

What!!!!!!!!!! Just so LIME can make more money to pay LIMErs like you.

47. And Disturbed since you work for LIME and LIME has the capacity to block these scamsters, why does not LIME block them

Or perhaps LIME does not value its good name

48. Oh I forgot. LIME has no good name to protect.

49. Severely disturbed

The Mobile component of your new acronym should be Cell – LICE is far more appropriate.

50. @ Disturbed!

I see they have brain washed you well. You are probably are one of those well paid faithful behind the scenes LIMErs who are the ones who really aint got shit to do at LIME. While I agree that the company does not need to resort to tactics such as this to make money, If you were @ the firing line like me you would know full well that Cable and Wireless / LIME, whatever they choose to call it, doesnt give 2 ……about You, God man or de devil. So you are one big jack @ss to come here and defend the company, there are persons paid loads of money to do that, but hey maybe you are one of them.