I’m Will Mellor and I’m in Barbados,” says Will Mellor, standing, for the purposes of authenticity, in Barbados. In the first of this “groundbreaking new series”, the star of Two Pints of Lager and a jacket of Crisps spends four nights at the island’s Dodds Prison: a monumentally depressing institution in which deprivation replaces rehabilitation, frustrated intellects fizz like fermenting apples, and the most popular pastime involves stuffing one’s foreskin with melted balls of plastic.

Source: Guardian UK

There is this show which is currently running on Virgin TV in England which features the popular actor Will Mellor. He visits prisons across the globe which have the reputation to be mean and viewers are suppose to get a sense of the treatment the prisoners receive. We are not sure how our own Dodds prison made it to the list but it was featured in the premiere last week.

Our tourism officials must be patting themselves on the back about the free publicity they got in their favourite tourist market!

Thanks to BU family member Carson.

62 responses to “Dodds Prison Featured On UK TV As One Of The Meanest”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have a freind who is currently incarcerated at Dodds Prison.

He is due to be release in the not too distant future.

Arrangements have been made for me to write his story or at least part of it regarding his stay at Dodds for the BU family. It will include the recent disturbance.

2. Just wanted to extend my thanks to “BU ‘family’ member, Carson”, for telling us about this programme, AFTER it was broadcast!! I guess he thought he was the ONLY, BU ‘family’ member who lives in the UK who might have liked to have seen it!! That sounds, TYPICALLY, Barbadian, to me!!

‘Thank you very much’!!

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I only became aware of it after it was broadcasted.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

THANK THE LORD FOR SMALL MERCIES, I guess.

My wife informs me that the WIBISCO saleman has related to her that the price of WIBISCO biscuits will be reduced by 10 cents per pack. They are not doing it because of the “reduction in oil prices, but because we are getting cheaper prices from our suppliers”.

That sounds like spin from White Management.

But I believe it is the pressure from BU. These people have to treat Black Consumers better.

5. What do these people expect from a prison? It’s not a hotel?If they think that because they are from U.K that they would bew given red carpet treatment ;MASSA DAYS DUN. Regarding the ;pcals in goal, they are treated well as compared to prisoners from some of these first world countries.I’ve done some investigations and Dodds is a “hotel” when compared to these prisons

6. It looks like a nice prison, at least to me. I thought it was interesting the men doing excercises with their feet in what appears to be a toilet bowl.

7. I found the comment below quite interesting.

“I am sure he felt sorry for the lad, but that lad could have wiped out an entire generation of a family. He is talking about somebodys son and it must be awful as a parent but live by the sword and die by it. We need a deterrant and if the death penalty is it GOOD.”

8. After reading some of these comments, I must proudly state I am happy not to be living in Barbados anymore. Bajans prove time and time again that they do not have the ability to think for themselves or form an opinion of their own.Bajans are like sheep, one person says something and everyone agrees.
    Clearly those of you that loudly pipe up, it is a prison not a hotel have never had the oppurtunity to stay in hotel.
    You also unfortunately do not know what is to stay in prison, know what a prison is or what the purpose of prison is and should therefore not even offer your thoughts on the subject.
    Also, if this publicity for Barbados, I fear it is not a very good one. Just think about it, how does the average UK person treat their cats and dogs or strays for that matter and how does the average Barbadian treat/feel about animals fartherless treat them? Anyone thinking this is going to put Barbados in good light after this show is aired, are seriously doubting themselves, then again what would you expect from a country full of “black” belly sheep

9. On his way fr Dodds he should make a stop over at Guantanamo Bay and continue on to Abu Ghraib and all the other secret torture chambers.

10. anonymouscoward Avatar

In reference to the prison vs hotel topic … true prison shouldn’t be a stroll in the park however …

Hardliners must ask themselves if prison is all out punishment or rehabilitation.

Looks like all out punishment to me.

Abuse is abuse regardless the location or the person who receives it.

The abused will be unleashed on society eventually right back among the hardliners.

11. Politically Incorrect Avatar
    Politically Incorrect

Carson:

Every comment you make has something derogatory about “white” people.

Are you proud of your hatred of other human beings based on the pigmentation of their skin?

Show me a caucasian in the Government, Civil Service or Police Force.

You quite clearly want every one with clear pigmentation to be shipped out ASAP.

Thank God I got the message because there are many more with the same sentiments as you.

Peace and Love Brother!

12. There are stainless stain toilet bowls, a large workshop where carpentry, masonry, machinics and other trades are taught, computors and MCTV and Direct TV among other things at the prison. What else should they be given air-conditioning?

13. Go check the prisons in T&T

14. Not all people incarcerated are murderers. We agree that some rehab work is called for because these people have to comeback to society.

15. Check out the prison in Guyana, Lot 12 Camp Street in the heart of Georgetown. I tell you, you would not want to come near the toilet, (sorry to gross you all out, but it is true) except to do what persons do in those things, muchless put your feet in it to do excercises. I thought the prison looked very nice, considering it is place for bad men.

16. My problem with the prison is really when you rehabilitate these prisoners and even assist them in doing their CXC’s or obtain a skill, unless the citizens are educated to accept them back into society, these persons can get very frustrated and might return to their evel ways.

17. People come to Barbados for its warm hospitality, fabulous beaches, beautiful scenery, tranquil atmosphere up north and bustling south and west coasts. I don’t think a show about a prison will prevent visitors from coming. I don’t think people will say oh, I am not going to visit Barbados, because of Dodds Prison. I have never read any anti sentiments by Mr. Carson Cadogan, in fact I like that name and I always wonder who is that pseron.

18. @The Scout

You are correct about the need to educate the community to make it more receptive to receive the prisoner who has done the time.

But we need to do both!

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Politically Incorrect

I have nothing against White people. But facts are facts no matter how hard they are to swallow.

If ninety five percent of all consumers in Barbados were White we would not have this problem of sky high prices on this island.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

By the way I emailed an Associate in London about sending me a copy of the program.

So pretty soon I hope to be able to share it with the BU family.

He said “this program hit the UK by storm just the other evening………..

LIKE A NUCLEAR BLAST”

21. @CCCadogan: “But facts are facts no matter how hard they are to swallow. If ninety five percent of all consumers in Barbados were White we would not have this problem of sky high prices on this island.

By definition, “facts” are supported by empirical evidence…

Please provide your “evidence” for your above presented “facts”.

22. Politically Incorrect Avatar
    Politically Incorrect

@Chris: how true!

@ Carson: racists always find excuses for their behaviour.

23. First, we have to start with the understanding that so called “criminals” are human beings with a human story. They don’t come from outer space.

If we start with the assumption that when a person is committed for a crime, the commital is related to helping him deal with himself, we would have a lot less people in prison.

The idea that prison is a place for bad-boys is really not helping us. There was a long debate in the annals of history, where the popular question was, “Is a person sent to prison as punishment or for punishment”.

The latter does nothing for the psyche of this nation and the former is a waste of time, especially for the prisoner. We should see past prison as a place related to punishment. What is the fulfillment associated with dehumanising prisoners?

Prison needs to be seen more as a correctional facility where correction means turning around a problem. We need to grab this sociological bull by the horns and get real. As a society we do not need to employ people to inflict punishment. This employment should be far more useful and prisoners’ time should be spent giving back to the society and not wasting away time in a jail and being a burden to taxpayers.

I think that it is the society that pay the ultimate price while the “criminals” get away scotch free in more ways than one.

24. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

What is wrong with you black Bajan men?

Time and again on this blog, no matter the issue, it comes back to race (See also some of the comments re Graeme Hall).

Too many of you seem still to be mentally enslaved. Your resentful, childish, impotent criticisms of the white man are signs of weakness. You need to emancipate yourselves and behave like grown-up men, citizens of the world, not like bitter parochial losers.

I speak as man of mixed Ghanaian/Jamaican heritage married to a Bajan woman.

25. Well reluctant nonbeliever, if you dont think it’s about race then you are pretty darn stupid.

Only yesterday two neo-nazis were arrested for plotting to kill Obama.

And you dont think it’s about race.
    Check out de racial profiling at airports and ask yourself if it isnt about race.

Try driving while black in the USA and ask yourself if it isnt about race.

Look at the Boards of the leading companies in Bdos and ask yourself if it isnt about race.

Look at who controls the distributive sector and manipulating food prices and ask if it isnt about race.

Do you remember when David Seale dumped de potatoes because or price controls. Dat wasnt race, dat was business right?

Well listen friend, David Seale aint dead. He still alive.

De Nazis aint dead! Dem still alive!

Anybody who is mentally enslaved in you! Because somewhere deep down, you believe it’s over and we’re all one happy family.

Wake up!

26. Well reluctant nonbeliever, if you dont think it’s about race then you are pretty darn stupid.

Only yesterday two neo-nazis were arrested for plotting to kill Obama.

And you dont think it’s about race.
    Check out de racial profiling at airports and ask yourself if it isnt about race.

Try driving while black in the USA and ask yourself if it isnt about race.

Look at the Boards of the leading companies in Bdos and ask yourself if it isnt about race.

Look at who controls the distributive sector and manipulating food prices and ask if it isnt about race.

Do you remember when David Seale dumped de potatoes because of price controls. Dat wasnt race, dat was business right?

Well listen friend, David Seale aint dead. He still alive.

De Nazis aint dead! Dem still alive!

Anybody who is mentally enslaved is you! Because somewhere deep down, you believe it’s over and we’re all one happy family.

Wake up!

27. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

I am talking about Barbados, not the USA.

What do you really know of the racial composition of board rooms here? I suspect from your comments nothing but what you’ve read on theese blogs or heard in the rumshop. Do you know how many blacks are members of BIBA? Do you even know what I’m talking about?

I happen to sit on the boards of three large companies: two are majority black, one is roughly equal in terms of black/white ethnicity (with one member of Indian heritage).

Of course there is racial prejudice in Barbados. But it is by no means all white against black. If you were a real man you would admit this to be true.

I say again: you are a slave in your resentful mentality. Try to make something of yourself and stop whining.

28. Here is the link to a report which discusses crypto racism in Barbados. We don’t like it but it is our reality we have to deal with it.

29. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Interesting, David.

But what specifically don’t you like about the report?

I note that one concern expressed here (as well as the failure of black and white communities to interact) is in relation to the treatment of “migrant workers”…

30. Mentally enslaved…….ol Bob got it right alright.
    So many Bajans are racially intolerant .
    The blacks hate the whites – unfortunately its the whites who make up the main GNP ie tourism – so we have to be nice to them ……… this sticks in the craw but boosts the sale of Bisodol.
    The whites are up themselves but bearing in mind the deficiencies of the gene pool this is not surprising.
    People who are in mixed marriages here get insulted at every turn.
    Grow up people before your hatred consumes you.
    Slavery happened but it is no more.

Re ‘migrant workers’ – they are treated like dirt so much for the much vaunted idea of ‘respect’ .

31. So some jackass put you on a Board “reluctant nonbeliever”!
    WTF
    Do you own de company?
    Shupes!

32. The scout // October 29, 2008 at 5:12 pm

There are stainless stain toilet bowls, a large workshop where carpentry, masonry, machinics and other trades are taught, computors and MCTV and Direct TV among other things at the prison. What else should they be given air-conditioning?

This must be a joke. These things may exist at Dodds Prison, but the only ones that might benefiting them are the staff, the warders and you, Mr. “The Scout”.
    Last time I heard the only official program that was up and running at the prison was the arts and crafts program. The men are not allowed outside and for a long time not even allowed to see their children. They are not allowed contact visits and humans we need to be touched, it is babies thrive on, it is a part of what we need as human beings.
    Prisoners are not a special breed of humans found on the country of Prison. Also, all prisoners are not mass murderers and serial rapist/paedophilers and everyone should be given the oppurtunity to have new, fair start after doing something wrong , especially after they have been punished for it because it is something that we all as people desire and deserve.

What is the point of incarcerating someone years on end, shut them off from everything coming from the outside world, including news, offer them no kind of education, never try to seek out what kind of talents or potential this individual may have that could benefit them or society, give them no kind of motivation or incentive for when they are released, deprive them further of what most of them probably never had in the first place, love, and unleashing them the exact same way they were when the went in? What was the point of locking them up in the first place, if they were not rehabilitated in some form or fashion? Just to give society a break? Then when they come out to a society who will look down on them anyway because they were in prison, they continue to do the same thing and are even more messed up than before they were locked up because they have more issues. They are no longer prisoners but older, ex-cons, with no money or anything to get them back on their feet when they rejoin society. What about those individulas, who truly regret what they have done and have changed, because there is no parole or time off for good behaviour, they have to waste time in prison to come out to nothing. People should really try to see the bigger picture and not be so heartless and ignorant. Prisoners are people too.

33. David Oct29;6.29 p.m
    I totally agree with you, without disclosing much, I,ve worked quite closely with inmates at Dodds in the rehabilitation process. Lots of youngsters there were misguided by their association with the wrong company, many realise their mistake and have changed their lifestyle, many have made a right-about turn. The problem is to convince the public when they are released that, the change has been made. That’s why I see the need of a HALFWAY HOUSE. Somewhere that these persons can gradually merge back into society and build their confidence. I was by a karaoke session one night a saw a guy standing alone. When I asked about him, Iwas told we was just released from prison after a fairly long stay. To “make a long story short” I worked with rebuilding this guy’s confidence and then invested in his ability to live up to being a “new man,” Today he is well established and whenever I see him he is full of praise for the confidence I placed in him. There are many more like him out there. The big boys send their devient children overseas, the poor children goto Dodds, in the end both sets had similar problems yet we see them differently.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

reluctant nonbeliever

“I speak as man of mixed Ghanaian/Jamaican heritage married to a Bajan woman.”

Well that is her problem, not ours.

35. Yes that is her problem, she linkin with you and you liking them. You are probably an Anglican too, but rest assured as we celebrate Emperor Haile Selaise’ 78th year to the throne of the Lion of Judah, that you know that the Gate to Zion is not Israel, but Ethiopia, Ethiopia is we Mount Zion, and until we stop bantering to them we will have no peace.

36. reluctant non believer

I think you should understand that there is no difference in the attitude to the migrant worker and the attitude towards someone that went to prison. The two are wrapped up in one mentality.

On the question of race, the composition of a board has nothing to do with who controls the company. There are certain decision that will not go the way of the majority and not even get entertained by them.

The difference between USA and here is that here, they make you feel you have a chance when you don’t, whereas in the USA you know you don’t have a chance.

Anjelica you are 100% on the right track.

Scout, congrats. You need to share this experience. Bajans feel that once a criminal always a criminal. Your contribution and that of Anjelica need to be pulled together.

In the end though, it would only take an announcement by Government that prisoners go to prison to become rehabilitated, for this attitude to get turned around.

I know there are prisons where there was no slavery, but we don’t need a prison, it is a painful reminder of the cruelty of slavery. We need an institution that will turn around these fellas and make them an asset to society.

37. What is all dis talk bout migrant workers?

Migrant workers does go back home.

When de looshans used to come up pon de banana boats and trade bananas or sell mangoes pon de wharf, duh used to go to ass back home pon de boat.

De flood o guyanese refugees dat bout hey aint migrant workers cause dem aint leffin.

When bajans go to canada to pick apples, we does come to shite back home…
    That is what a migrant worker is…yuh does go back home.

Guyanese refugees aint leaving!
    GET IT RIGHT.

38. Anonymous
    Guyanese refugees aint leaving
    =====================
    You mean voluntary? That i understand but don’t accept. we would give them the option of leaving on their own steam or blown out. D

39. Hahahahaha!

40. Reluctant Non-Believer who cares if you are of mixed Ghanian/Jamaican parentage married to a Barbadian.Nobody cares about that.Reluctant Non-Believer you want to come and tell us in Barbados about race relations.We dealt with our race relations in a manner that has led this little country to be number 1 developing country in the world and this has caused people from all over the world to want to come and live in this country.You want us to believe this world is a utopian world with no type of prejudice or racism.Take your simplistic,nonsensical arguments and positions elsewhere.
    Reluctant Non-Believer you are the one mentally enslaved.Eliminate yourself hum bug.

41. Scout, there are 2 annoymous writing here. I did not write the one about the Guyanese not leaving Barbados. I write from different computers that is why I went annoymous, but I am back to my old name Zewditu Kush.

42. Scout , The Guynaese are breaking the laws of the land because of their illegal status, and so they should be deported back to Guyana. They should not be entitiled to benefits of the native born or the person that has gone through official channels to become a citizen of the country. These people are criminals, and should be treated as such, but as I said. Babados is seen as their Mount Zion, so they will do anything to come, swim, LIAT, Caribbean Air, row boat, marriage, get baby and so on. Barbados is wonderful, and in the tropics, advnaced country in the nice tropics, what a combination. Even Negroman saying that, so you see I don’t know what you can do, but you can pass a law that says only people that can trace their ancestry to 1850 can vote in elections to maintain stability in the country.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I heard with much delight that ZEPHIRIN’S BAKERIES INC. will be reducing the cost of their bread to the consumers of this country.

As a Black consumer I tip my hat to the Management and staff of ZEPHIRIN’S BAKERIES INC. for this courageous action. This move will certainly make this company very unpopular with the members of the Barbados Private sector. The interesting thing about all of this is the statement that the Govt. policy on Diesel has allowed them to make this reduction to the suffering largely Black consumers of Barbados.

Contrast this with the crescendo of the Barbados Private Sector who would have us believe that it is “import duties” that have prices sky high in Barbados. I remember when the David Thompson increased the price of fuel, the Private sector were quickly on the air and in their favourite newspaper the Nation claiming that the increses were so egregious that the prices in the country had to rise with immediate effect. And so it happened.

David Thompson has reduced the price of fuel three times and the Barbados Private Sector has blatantly refused to pass on the saving to the Black Consumers of this country.

I am therefore begging all Black Consumers who purchase bread in Barbados to buy ALL of their bread from ZEPHIRIN’S BAKERIES INC.

44. Murdah… Murdah

22 Lawyers get induct and only 4 ah dem are male. Oh shite…MURDAH… Wha happening ’bout hey!

Mo’ female beagles and mo’ male birds… MURRRDAH

45. Adrian Hinds and WIV done blogging.. Wha’ Happening bout hey?

46. Anjelica
    I wan’ you pose fa’ Playboy.. Come on, do your bit for de prisoners of Barbados!

47. @ BAFBFP

I would do my part and pose for playboy for the prisoners, they would enjoy the view. I just don’t need YOU cumming all over my pics.

48. @ BAFBFP

Or maybe I should get one of those nice young male lawyers to pose for playgirl for you so you can spout all over their pics as you seem to have female issues.

49. Oh Anjelica, ooohhh! Keep talking.. Ah babe… don’t stop now. I don’ need pics, yah talk too sweet. Keep goin’… OH YEAH …