I’m Will Mellor and I’m in Barbados,” says Will Mellor, standing, for the purposes of authenticity, in Barbados. In the first of this “groundbreaking new series”, the star of Two Pints of Lager and a jacket of Crisps spends four nights at the island’s Dodds Prison: a monumentally depressing institution in which deprivation replaces rehabilitation, frustrated intellects fizz like fermenting apples, and the most popular pastime involves stuffing one’s foreskin with melted balls of plastic.

Source: Guardian UK

There is this show which is currently running on Virgin TV in England which features the popular actor Will Mellor. He visits prisons across the globe which have the reputation to be mean and viewers are suppose to get a sense of the treatment the prisoners receive. We are not sure how our own Dodds prison made it to the list but it was featured in the premiere last week.

Our tourism officials must be patting themselves on the back about the free publicity they got in their favourite tourist market!

Thanks to BU family member Carson.

62 responses to “Dodds Prison Featured On UK TV As One Of The Meanest”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“More for Meat” the headline screamed.

The Barbados Private Sector continues to takes Bajans for fools or idiots. Their lead organisation, The Barbados Chamber Of Commerce and Industry is using their favourite news outlet to inform Bajans of a coming increase in Canned meat prices.

These people have no conscience what so ever. They continue to make the burden of prices heavier for us to bear using the flimsiest of excuses.

What they are saying to us now, we, the Barbados Private Sector, are prepared to take back from you whatever savings you make as a result of reductions in bread prices, biscuit prices and Lumber prices.

Black Consumers in Barbados must not win.

What is laughable is the proposed increase in Corn Beef prices. In October 2008 I purchased Staff Corn Beef from the Roxy Supermarket at $2.59c. I returned one week later to purchase more Staff Corn Beef. The price, in one week, had jumped from $2.59c. to $3.45c. I asked one of the employees why this had happened and he said to me that the supplier had carried up the price and anyway “we only make 8cents off a tin of Corn Beef”. How high are these bandits willing to carry the price of Corn Beef this time around?

2. Carson

Stop eating corned beef then. I think that is expensive seeing that it comes from South America which is not far from Bim.

In Canada I can purchase corned beef starting at $1.30 at Walmart for Phoenix , $1.59 for Goudas and sometimes $1.99 for Hereford. All comes from South America and this is North America.

To add insult to injury, Canada has a large beef industry, but the duties do not make the prices sky high. Our corned beef is pickled beef with spices and is not fatty like the tinned beef.

“Staff” is probably a no-name brand at that below A grade (-A).

3. Carson, who owns Roxy?

4. With respect to our Bajan ‘correctional’ system please allow me to share a bit of writing with you that sent chills down my spine when I first read it some three decades ago.

WHEN I GET OUT

When I get out the first thing I’m gonna do is get me a gun to protect myself from the police. Probably more than one gun because there’s so many different kinds of police.
    Maybe a .460 Weatherby with a twelve-power scope for kings, dictators, presidents and popes. A .357 magnum for law enforcement officials in general, and a nice nine millimeter Browning High Power for just plain folks like you.

WhenI get out I want to kill as many people as I can before they get me.
    I’d like to get the Queen Mother and the Pope and the President if I have the time.
    Remember when you cut off my eyelids by putting me in a sensory deprivation chamber in total darkness because I wanted to go to my mother’s funeral?
    Remember when you chained me to a bed and beat on my feet with wooden paddles until they turned to blood and swelled up like basketballs?

When I get out I’m going to spend the hatred you’ve taught me by becoming a mass murderer.
    And all you judges, jurypersons, cops, jailers and executioners can’t stop me because it was you who murdered Charles Brooke and taught me that it’s cool to kill.

It was you who told me I lived in a free country as you ground your heel in my humanity and laughed at my pleas for dignity and spat on my manhood.

It was you who dressed up in moon man suits beat me to the floor with clubs and drugged me with Prolixin because I couldn’t stop calling
    my baby daughter’s name when she left this world.

So, in return for the lessons you have given me I’m going to teach you two things:
    First, that these sealed-tomb, tiger cages belong to you, Mr. & Mrs. America, and it is you who must accept the responsibility for what you and your hirelings have done to me.

The second thing I’m going to teach you is something you should already know but don’t act like you do, namely
    the Christians say “Do Unto Others, etc.”
    the Buddhists Say something about “What goes around comes around.”

In prison we simply say:
    Payback belongs to me
    when I get out.

It won’t be much longer.
    I’m counting the days
    So, you better pray I don’t find you,
    gentle reader,
    ’cause when I’ve paid my debt to society society must pay its debt to me.
    When I get out . .

5. I’m a bajan living in south florida. I am what bajans call a prison Guard/Correctional Officer …(Key word Correctional)…I’ve seen alot of comments here made by concern citizenswho may be hands on with inmates and some by people assuming that they know what the prison system is really about…1st let me say that rehabilitation is the KEY……..with that said we need to also realize its not the only Key…in my years of dealing with inmates, i’ve learn to identify each person individually…not based upon the crime ( some people make mistakes) but based upon that inmates character, their will to change and better themselaves and also their interactions with officers, staff and other inmates alike…some inmates you may identify as criminal, calous and calculated individuals who would (when given an oportunity to) shank an officer any chance given…i’ve been spat on/at, had urine, feces, blood you name it thrown at me..my life has been threatened numerously.I’m assigned to a mental health unit so I get it all… I counsel many of these sometimes undeserving, lost ,misguided, hopeless souls…all da while goin home at the end of the day only to do it all over the next morning…whats crazy about it all is that I love my job…I came to Barbados in late August to bury my Grandmother who passed at 107 yrs old (Bless her soul may she RIP)..I drove to Dodds after seeing an article in the paper but unfortunately my stay was to short to gain access approval…I definitely plan to request access prior to my next trip to Bim…It takes a lot to get things running like it should…rehab centers, halfway homes, job outreach centers,adolescent peer groups/counselor…then and only then progress can be made in helping those that really want to turn their lives around. As for those who think they can rule the system and cry foul when they’ve had or done enough…as officers / Guards we have to stand our ground at all cost..Abuse is never acceptable..minimal force neccessary is what we’re train to do…Im curious What kinda of training do Prison Guards receive compared to the US????.Anyone knows???..Our responsibility whereva we serve the public is to protect them always.My relatives still live in Barbados and I sleep better knowing that the Barbados system is one to be recon with.Maybe one day I will Move Back to Barbados and work at Dodds!!!If the $$$$ right of course!!!LOL…God Bless U All!!!!!!!!

6. @ SuzyQ

Stay in the States. The money in Bim is poor. I have a cousin who is a prison officer, he make only $2200 a month. I think this is take home pay.

They get about 6 months training (I think, it could be 6 weeks, but I doubt it). He had previously trained in first aid for his other job and ‘appeared’ good at it, so they put him to work the infirmary. He likes this job and thinks he has it easy. The inmates respect him as they get help until a doctor arrives.

I still think there shuld be a qualified “Nurse Practitioner” on duty at all times at the prison. But who am I to say anything?

7. Prices? Well, shop around, the prices are constantly going through the roof.

I found something at a discount market near Warrens, that is less than half the price as at a leading supermarket.

I also saw that chocolate in one barnd at a leading supermarket, has risen in two weeks by over 30%.

Remember these words and use wisely.

Leff it pon de shelf!

8. hi my name is mary deadman aka maggie i was in prison with zara whittaker iv been trying to get in tuch with terry donaldson. if your out there. this is what i want to say to you. zara whittaker said to me that you added to the story about me getting drunk and taking drugs like crack and heroin and also having all defrent men having sex with them like getting down on them. what kind of story is that. iv nevere meet you so how can you do a book like that and also i didnt pick zara whittaker of the street iv nown zara for a good few years and i didnt bring her to my home and said you can have all this. you shouldnt destroy people life by lieing just to get a story. if your out there you can contact me on facebook or email and if any one as a comment fill free thanks

9. Barbados Prison system needs to have forums with ex cons and those doing time.For women who have done time or have been remanded there are real case senarios to tell.Like Br.Bob said-“So much things to say”

10. I just attempted to view the video posted here and it states the poster made it so I can’t can’t view it in my area (Canada)… why may I ask??.. what is the cover up… my friend’s daughter is being held in that prison, as she was the victim of a bajan man who took here there under the guise of a vacation and packed her and his suit cases with cocaine on their return. She has been there for over a year now.. the judicial system in this country is seriously lacking…. lawyers are money hungry and not results oriented!! The man she went with even admitted that she knew nothing.. she has had to plead guilty and is serving time for a crime she did NOT do… in deplorable conditions…. where is the justice in that??

11. The rights to view the video is controlled by the up;oader and not BU.

Sorry to read of your plight.

12. Hello there! I just would like to give you a big thumbs
    up for your excellent information you have right here
    on this post. I will be returning to your site for more soon.