www.courant.com
Source: http://www.courant.com

During last week’s press conference, Prime Minister David Thompson displayed annoyance at the lack of curiosity currently being demonstrated by the media at the obvious price gouging taking place in Barbados.

What has brought this matter to a head is the reluctance of the private sector to reverse the upward trend of the cost of food despite three price cuts in under two weeks by government of petrol. The wholesalers and retailers have resoundingly told the Prime Minister they will not cut prices until their suppliers do so. At this point we have a confused public who cannot understand why food prices continue to rise while the price of a barrel of oil on the world market hovers below US70.00. The confusion among the Barbados consumer can be partially blamed on the Barbados media. They are many who believe that the local media has not taken the opportunity to investigate the price mechanisms which are currently being used by the several actors to educate and EXPOSE the market.

The morning after the press conference a few callers directed a similar view to Stedson Babb, the moderator of the afternoon talk show: can anyone imagine what he muttered to a caller? He wondered aloud if the public expect journalists to be private investigators! he appeared to be in a funk on that morning anyway, good thing he does not work in customer service.

On August 31, 2008 the Nation political correspondent Albert Bradford departed from the norm and published an interesting article, A model democracy which highlighted a study undertaken by the St. Augustin Campus, University of the West Indies. The study observed that there is a high level of self censorship in the local media.  We have concluded from the study that the management of the local media is afraid that the libel and defamation laws are too punitive:

It is the view of the journalist interviewed [Harold Hoyte, former publisher of THE NATION] that not only are the libel laws punitive but the records of the courts were also punitive since both the sanctions are high and the terms of what is defamatory restrictive.

The publisher of THE NATION newspaper estimated that it is normal for the newspaper to pay about $100 000 in damages annually,” they said. “It is therefore quite easy for public officials to censor the Press merely by threatening to sue.

From BU research, the traditional newspaper for example is rapidly becoming irrelevant and many of them around the world are struggling to survive for financial reasons. Those that are surviving have had to prostitute themselves to advertisers in order to attract the almighty dollar. To survive, the content of many newspapers and other areas of the media now reflect what is popular. With this fact the demise of a major plank in traditional journalism which has been long regarded as the fiercest watchdog of our democracies is rapidly becoming a feeble force. This is a sad state of affairs because despite the popularity of the blogosphere, the ongoing media convergence being witnessed  across the world represents a threat to our democracies. In Barbados the home grown Nation newspaper and Voice of Barbados radio station were gobbled up by a cash rich Trinidad concern.

• Think about Washington Post reporters Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein — no police investigation alone would have provided the American public with the story of what actually occurred in the Watergate office complex that fateful night in 1972.

• Think about Nellie Bly, the famous muckraking journalist who feigned insanity to report on the abuses occurring inside mental institutions. Because of her reporting, much-needed legislation on patient care was passed.

• Think about this newspaper, which two years ago broke the story of the suicides of scores of American troops serving in Iraq and the critical need for mental health screening.

The struggle of good journalism to remain afloat is not just journalism’s struggle. It is America’s struggle, because without the free flow of information, without impartial news sources, without regular reports on government and politics, the arts and the outside world, we lose our ability to be informed citizens. In an age where talking heads have replaced journalists, where opinion passes as journalism and where newspapers are driven by profit to reduce and compromise their reporting, Americans are more at risk than ever.

Responsible journalism, like responsible education, has been the support system for democracy all along. We must advocate for good journalism, or risk losing our ability to be good citizens in our democracy.

Source: The Courant

The BU household is not sure how we can edit the current fastfood diet of journalism being served up by the local media, what we know is if it continues the threat to our democracy remains a clear and present danger.

128 responses to “The Rise And Fall Of Traditional Journalism”

1. If the media displays a lack of curiosity it’s because they’re a bunch of lazy, good for nothing, probably overpaid sloths who know that they’ve probably, only got to turn up for work and pen a few words here and there for their paycheck to arrive in the post at the end of the month. Also, they’re part of the lazy Barbadian ‘oh, I can’t be bothered’ attitude, which has got Bim into the mess which it’s in, today!! It’s also, for the PM and government to engender a sense of people wanting to talk and discuss matters for the betterment of B’dos!!

2. Wishing In Vain Avatar

When I watched and listened to the person Stetson Babb my first impression is that he responded like spoilt child, surely at his stage in life he should have learnt how to conduct himself during an interview such as this.

The other very noticeable aspect is how totally underprepared these reporters were for the encounter with the Prime Minister, the lady from The Nation was adrift and Babb was even further out to see.

Which leads me to the question exactly what are we expected to learn from ones as inept as these are ?

Is this the standard that we are to be tolerant and supportive of ?

I respectfully suggest that we the public deserve much better from them but sadly I think it is beyond the abilities of ones such as the Nation reporter or Babb and to some extent Hoyos to elevate to a higher standard of expectation and delivery.

David you are completely correct in your reading of this situation, we are in poor shape with our reporters and worst yet in poor hands with One Media controlling so much of our news reporting.

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar

The Nation was adrift and Babb was even further out to sea

4. I am not going along with Mr. Hoyte and his lame excuse about penalties for defamation. There are a lot more interesting stories and critical news out there for public consumption other than the sensationalism, which is what is licking them.

What defamation it could be to report a case in court? Unless ordered otherwise by the court? What defamation there could be in reporting practices by the banks that stifle success of small business? What was there about the EPAs over the last five years that was so defamatory that the newspapers could not take the time to explain to the public?

The facts are that sensationalism and fickle-mindedness means money to them; so they don’t offend their advertisers or the politicians.

5. “He wondered aloud if the public expect journalists to be private investigators!” The very idea that Stedson Babb would ask this question, is beyond the pale. Does he really have no idea that this is exactly what journalistic reporting is? Do the reporters at The Nation and Advocate simply sit behind their desks hoping to receive a mystery phone call from someone who will provide them with information worth printing ? True reporting is getting out in the field (sometimes literally) interviewing witnesses, peeping through a long lens camera, cultivating reliable informants, and last but not least, being fearless and tenacious in your pursuit of the truth, What vacuum has Stedson Babb been living in?

6. My views on the so-called “legitimate” journalists is well known by now. It would be advisble if these idiots, before the claim mitigation like “defamation” and “sub judice”, actually took the time to read up on what these phrases mean. A quick primer could certainly be Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defamation). OR, if they wanted (as they should want) to delve into it in greater depth, they can order James on the Law of Tort – or take a trip to the library at Cave Hill and read it there. Don’t hold your collective breath, however.

If the so-called reporters of the Advocate, Nation and VOB did this, they might discover that the excuses they are giving are worse than lame. They are irresponsible and fraudulent, in that they are purporting to sell newspapers and/or media news of relevance to our society and are in fact not providing what they advertize. That is FRAUD.

I have not bought the Nation or the Advocate nor have I listened to VOB for some weeks now and I intend to continue with my embargo. It is possible that as their circulation and readership declines, so too will their advertising revenues. In the course of my long life, I have discovered that if you ever want to show an organization the error of their ways, economics (theirs) is the best way of making the point.

Once again, therefore, I urge you to sanction the “legitimate” media and, when they are hungry enough, maybe they will fire pompous, infantile incompetents like Stetson Babb and hire some proper reporters.

It is embarassing to have people come to Barbados and read or listen the trite pap that passes for journalism here. Fortunately, we are saved by BU and other objective blogs, in which I specifically exclude BFP for reasons that I have stated before.

7. There are a number of reasons in my opnion, for the decline of journalism in Barbados
    1.) Not wanting to offend their clients who advertise with there
    2.) A lack of knowledge of true journalism
    3.) The inability to stucture a question properly
    4.) The lack of experience to conduct a meaningful interview. These are a few of the reasons why journalism has degenerated to the state it is presently in. Even in the print media, there is a lack of proper sentence structure, plus sentences beginning with” and, but”. maybe The computor is to be partially blamed.

8. According to the Barbados Business Authority, 27 October, 2008, today at 11 am, the Governor of the Central Bank, Dr. Marion Williams, will host a Press Conference on the country’s so-called economic performance for the third quarter and also for the three quarters that have passed.

We predict that Dr. Williams will announce that there would have been estimated to be further declines in most if NOT all major sectors of the so-called Barbados economy, when she contrasts this third quarter performance with the corresponding third quarter for last year, and when she contrasts the performance of those three quarters with that for the corresponding three quarters for last year.

Indeed, we in PDC were shocked that in April when the Governor held her 2008 first quarter performance review of the so-callled Barbados economy, that she had miscalculated that estimated growth for the said first quarter was 4 %, given that it was clearly being seen at the ground level in Barbados then that there was a substantial fall off in business activity in the country towards the last part of 2007 and for the said first quarter of 2008, owed principally to a skyrocketing cost of living, to rising international oil and fuel “prices” and so forth.

Nevertheless, though, we saw that in her July review of the first half performance of the so-called Barbados economy, that she had correctly drastically revised downwards the first quarter estimate to 2.6 per cent, instead of remaining with the false 4 per cent claim. With regard to the said first half performance, though, the Governor had stated that this performance was estimated to be 1.4 per cent, very much lower than the 3.6 per cent average for corresponding period for the last five years. And, we were NOT surprised by that estimate at all, since for that period we in PDC had seen further dramatic slippages in business activity in Bridgetown and elsewhere from the start of 2008 up to the end of the first half. Too, we had attributed these tumbles to the still skyrocketing cost of living and the cost of doing business – which were leading to severe declines in the real disposable income of persons and businesses in the country, and to alarmingly higher import, fuel and food costs, etc., and which were themselves leading to greater unemployment and severe declines in real material and distribution output in the country.

Moreso, as a result of this wretched DLP Administration having been doing ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to prevent further sharp declines in the so-called economy – as a matter of fact what they have been doing so much is helping to cause further declines e.g by unnecessarily increasing the cost of local fuel in April and by further murderously increasing TAXATION in July – we in PDC have every single expectation that the Governor will today announce further drops in commercial, business and investment activity of the country – and it will thus be seen that Barbados has really entered into a period of vicious recession with further massive job and investment losses, business closures, and the attendent social fall out.

Finally, by the way, this idea of the Opposition Leader for the government to float a National Stabilization Bond to assist in financing an expanded capital works program and to off set unemployment losses at this stage, while creating greater government debt and wicked interest payments, is pure foolishness and ignorance that is coming from some one who is a previous Minister of Economic Affairs in Barbados. Clearly, this idea illustrates that the Opposition Leader does NOT have enough knowledge as to how the material production and distribution and financial affairs of this country should be run at this stage and in the long term.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think that the best place for Stedson Babb is back at the Barbados Water Authority in Public relations.

These so called Bajan “journalists” are really an embarassment to Barbados.

David Ellis is not much better either.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bajan “journalists” and media house owners using the libel and defamation laws as an excuse for not doing their jobs properly is akin to the importers and retailers of Barbados using “import duties” as an excuse for keeping prices sky high in Barbados.

11. well said carson

12. Point well made, Mr Cadogan. I agree.

13. It seems the nation newspaper thrives on sensational journalism, sometimes nothing factual. Just give a journal a piece of juicey humor and it’s printed without the necessary investigation. This happens too with STARCOM, remember a few weeks ago a moderator received an e-mail, damaging but sensational about a man sticking people in town with a AIDS tainted needle. It would appear that without checking it out with the police, the information was broadcasted and caused panic in the city. The motto is; if a divient person want serious fun in town call the said radio station with some sensational ” news.”

14. The journalists in Barbados are spineless. They continue to use the libel laws as an excuse to avoid doing proper investigative journalism. They are just concerned about their paychecks. PM Thompson made a mockery of that pitiful bunch the other night, not that he intended to but he likes to be challenged, which brings out the best in him.They bowled a lot of full tosses down the leg side.

15. tropical depression Avatar
    tropical depression

Wait a minute Carson. You sending Babb back to Waterworks but he was at Tourist Board too and CBC and Transport Board and..Come to think of it where has this idiot not been?

I think back to Muscle Mary Noel Lynch pictured with Babb when MM appointed him to Tourist Boord. Muscle Mary said then Babb was part of his team that would take tourism to the stars.

Predictably the starship taking Babb and Muscle Mary crashed and burned. In short Babb is a pompous buffoon.

16. BU – did you write that effluvia about ‘price gouging’ etc. that heads this post?

THE PROBLEM with you scholars is… you’ve never tried to operate a business. You sit in your drawing rooms and fulminate and your effusions are based strictly on empty opinion.

It has been said already: (1) If all this ‘price gouging’ is going on, how come somebody doesn’t open a business (who is not a ‘price gouger’) – and capture the market predicated on the fact that their prices are going to be so much cheaper?

(2) C & W is closing one of their local departments because it costs 100% more to operate here, than it does in one of the other islands. How come NO ONE has picked up on this? I guess this is a message nobody whats to hear, that’s why.

I could go on, but what’s the point? As the man said: you cannot speak of 6, 7 and 8 to people who only know from 1 – 3.

The PM KNOWS all about the reasons for high prices here and he is only playing politics. He talks about ‘breaking up the monopoly’ of food purveyors. WHAT ‘MONOPOLY’ ??? There is no monopoly…. ANYBODY can open a supermarket and ANYBODY can go to a Distributor in Miami or elsewhere and buy foodstuff … Distributors have a price list and it’s the same for everybody.

Tell you what, BU ~ why dont you go to Miami and buy a container of assorted foodstuff, and bring it here — put it in your backyard — and sell the stuff from there???? Your hair will fall out before you can sell a single can of corned beef. TRY IT – I dare you.

#**holes. All of you

———————————————–

Regarding our local ‘journalists’ – – – they would be unable to find employment in any country outside of the Caribbean. They all think they are oh so important. Big frog in a small pond. – – – But they are not alone. So also are the politicians, trade union bosses, “pastors,” university ‘professors.’ It’s the small island syndrome and it’ll be business as usual so long as there are people.

17. ROK // October 28, 2008 at 5:11 am
    Got it bang on with the rest of ’em. Well said.

I I I am am n’ n’ no f’ fan of S’ Stedson Babb b’ but the rivalry b’ b’ between he and an even g’ g’ greater b’ baboon (mutter) Mr. Suck up Richard Cox, w ‘was c’ clear to s’ see. C’ Cox d’ didn’t g’ g’ive Babb a c’ chance t’ ta s’ speak t’ t’ t’ den… !

18. CENTIPEDE

A properly manage and staffed state owned operation content on providing affordable prices to Barbadians without excessive managerial, remunerations, profits and all will drive you and your kind to a better appreciation of responsible consumer oriented business.

19. Wishing In Vain Avatar

We ought to remember that there was serious consideration that there should be a forensic audit done at the same Barbados Water Works where and when Babb worked ?

This may have exposed many answers to many questions about him and his standing.

He is nothing other than a pawn that was pushed around the board at the BLP wishes for their puposes, he has moved from one gov’t sponsored job to the other meanwhile always collecting a salary paid by us.

He is nothing other than a political prostitute working for the blp.

20. […] Barbados Underground says that “the current fast food diet of journalism being served up by the local media” poses a threat to the country's democracy. Posted by Janine Mendes-Franco  Print Version Share This […]

21. […] Barbados Underground says that “the current fast food diet of journalism being served up by the local media” poses a threat to the country's democracy. Posted by Janine Mendes-Franco  Print Version Share This […]

22. Govt’s alleged dissatisfaction with Local Media’s lack of interest will remain in effect until one of them inadvertently steps on their toes – then you will see what Woody Allen said is true…

THE ONLY DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE CZAR & NAPOLEON IS THEIR HEIGHT.

Then all of a sudden Govt will want to introduce measures on Privacy which in turn would contradict FOI – does no one recall when the BLP wanted a Green Paper on what the media here could and could NOT do?

If memory serves right, it may have been piloted by Sir David Simmons while AG?

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

IAN BOURNE

You are not making any sense at all.

This is not the Barbados Labour Party you are accustom to dealing with.

24. Carson C. Cadogan, Bourne may not yet have woken up to the fact that we evicted his beloved party from office and he no longer holds any clout!!!!

25. Oh please – I am not touting one side or the other, once nectar has been tasted by whichever party then either side will do whatever’s required to protect their interests!

Let CBC, VOB or any of the others really do a story like what BU or BFP do and see what happens next, I am a Govt worker and have no intention to truly discover with my own News-Blog!

As for you Peter, saw you & your buddy out by Carib the other day, was nice chatting on Brass tacks y’day…

26. BAFBFP // October 28, 2008 at 9:08 am :

“CENTIPEDE – A properly manage and staffed state owned operation content on providing affordable prices to Barbadians without excessive managerial, remunerations, profits and all will drive you and your kind to a better appreciation of responsible consumer oriented business.”

I’m trying hard to understand you sir/madam… please elucidate a bit.

BTW ~ “A properly manage and staffed state owned operation” ? ? ? HELLO! give me a couple of illustrations to corroborate your contention. Thanks

27. It seems the nation newspaper thrives on sensational journalism, sometimes nothing factual. Just give a journal a piece of juicey humor and it’s printed without the necessary investigation.
    ………………………………………………………
    Scout, you said the above, but you are contradicting yourself. It is either the media overlook libel and publish in a reckless manner, or protect themselves by ensuring journalist conforms to standards in order to avoid unnecessary libel. One minute you agree with Carson that the media is timid, yet you are saying that the said media thrives on sensationalism. So tell me what you really mean.

28. Carson C. Cadogan // October 28, 2008 at 7:38 am you said…….

“Bajan “journalists” and media house owners using the libel and defamation laws as an excuse for not doing their jobs properly”

TMW is telling you that is not fair comment. Suppose you are the owner of a car will you willfully hit your car because you might get insurance? So are you saying that the media should be reckless? You must bear in mind that the media have an upfront name, not an anonymous abbreviation like BU or BFP who are not known or lacking marked individuality?

29. Carson you also said
    “importers and retailers of Barbados using “import duties” as an excuse for keeping prices sky high in Barbados”

TMY states that you are also incorrect, I made my submission already stating that Importers and Retailers are using import duties as an excuse, but I am stating that duties play an integral part in raising prices. Business people based cost on the cost of overseas goods from the suppliers along with duties, before putting on any markups. Successive Government avoid dealing with these issues of high duties.

30. TMY states that you are also incorrect, I made my submission already stating that Importers and Retailers are using import duties as an excuse.

It should be “Importers and Retailers are NOT using import duties as an excuse.

31. We wish to question the position which was extracted from the St.Augustin study that concluded ownership of the media houses in Barbados is wide. Late time we checked ONE Media Starcom control the majority of the listenership and readership in Barbados, in our books this fact makes us concern at the level of concentration.

The follow-up point is to discuss the role perception wise of Sir Fred Gollop as head of One Media Starcom at the time he was leader of the Senate in the former administration. We are forced to ask what role he would have played in the Lynch Ellis affair, we expect that he would have excused himself from this and similar matters. More importantly were there conflicting roles if we were to judge using ethics in the media yardstick?

32. None whatsoever. His role as leader of the senate will not interfere with his being head of One Caribbean and cannot protect Lynch because he was part of the last administration and he cannot protect Ellis because he is head of One Caribbean. I see no reason why you would try to linked Sir Fred to the Lynch/Ellis affair. Or David, maybe you know something that we don’t know.

33. @All… If I May… With all due respect…

Where I was born and raised, all media houses have a department of lawyers, ready and *more* than willing to defend their reporters. They *enjoy* it!

At one newspaper I used to write for, if a reporter didn’t generate at least one threatened lawsuit every quarter, they weren’t considered to be doing their job.

My editor used to tell me that he loved my articles, because for every single article he received *many* letters!

Now, I find myself in Barbados…

With apologies for the offence I’m about to cause… I am sorry and saddened to observe that we live in a land of cowards. Everything which happens here is someone else’s fault… And is someone else’s responsibility to fix and make right…

Very few (importantly: read: not everyone) are willing to stand up.

IMHO, money means more than morals here.

It is all so convenient and easy (not to mention safe) to justify why one *can’t* do something which might be the moral higher ground…

(Meanwhile, the heard munches on… Consuming and farting… (Oh my!))

(FWTAIW. Again, my apologies. But *someone* has to say it…)

34. Where I was born and raised:

would that be Canada? the land of the loon, and the looney?

At one newspaper I used to write for: would that be Victoria Business Examiner?

Wuh other newspapers have accepted publish your articles? Not Bajan ones

…..Canadians are some of the most passive and sissified people on the Earth, and this similarity to Bajans may have led to your confusion where a couple of months ago you suggested to me that you are a bajan. Naturalize Barbadian probably, but Bajan i don’t think so. 🙂 🙂

Tell muh doah wuh (FWTIAW) means? when i googled it, the only three hits it got were from you.

35. Chris Halsall “Now, I find myself in Barbados…

With apologies for the offence I’m about to cause… I am sorry and saddened to observe that we live in a land of cowards. Everything which happens here is someone else’s fault… And is someone else’s responsibility to fix and make right…

Very few (importantly: read: not everyone) are willing to stand up.

IMHO, money means more than morals here”

Chris… you deserve a knighthood… (people have been knighted for less.)

36. CENTIPEDE
    Please refer to me as male. (I can swap based on the discussion and level of opposition).

“A properly managed and staffed state owned operation” is doable very doable, even more so than in large privately owned entities where corruption , laissez-faire and indifference is very much still a part of the modus operandi/culture. Give me a break, if you were to equate the level of service recieved to the price that you pay for it, Government entities will win every time.
    (eg: Water Works or NPC vs C&W or BL&P)

Chris Halsall
    It is so easy to confuse pragmatism for cowardice.

ROK
    Wha’ you t’ink ’bout Richard Cox?

37. Tell Me Why Oct 28;1.59p.m
    I’m not contradicting myself, it is that the Nation would scared to ask the hierchy pertinent questions but would print sensetional “news’ about the average/ordinary person. I challenge the Nation to declare how much money they paid out to persons of whom they made false statements too. I know one guy who bought a new car with part of his compensation .I. myself, was the victim of a false humor spread by the Nation but did not pursue because the other victim didn’t want to, plus I wasn’t too keen either. There are many other cases that I know or heard of.

38. BAFBFP

I think you need to reveal yourself about me. Only a Lodge Boy would ask me that question. “Buckey” Cox? This man was most feared by the lower school, especially after school when we get in Massiah Street and the bus ain’t come, yet. When the men see he coming, they keep walking; sometimes running all the way down station hill or through the canes and into St. George; end up in Ellerton or four roads.

One thing though, if he ain’t got on he cadet uniform, the fear is less. Buckey Cox? you don’t mess with Buckey Cox; quite unlike now. He seems to be the epitome of a gentleman to those in high places.

Buckey! You there? Don’t let these people say these things about you. Stand up like a true Lodge Boy; Like the Lodge Icon you used to be; a rebel in any cause. Got to do like Babsie; see a march, join it and then ask what it was about when the march done.

Man, you BAFBFP, man, you wicked man.

39. Adrian Hinds…..

Canadians are some of the most passive and sissified people on the Earth,

There he goes again attacking all the citizens of a country because of the musings on one man

Only in the USA…….Pity

40. @BAFBFP: “It is so easy to confuse pragmatism for cowardice.”

The Pragmatist: “I’m looking out for myself!”

The Coward: “I’m looking out for myself!”

The Brave: “I’m looking out for myself. And for others…”

Hmmm… Who’s ahead here?

41. I challenge the Nation to declare how much money they paid out to persons of whom they made false statements too.
    ……………………………………………………….
    You don’t have to challenge the Nation. From the time Alan was a lad, the media were paying out massive amounts of money to people for slander without making it public (without going before the courts). Lawsuits can closed down a media house within a second. Forget Chris Halsall and his stint at a newspaper where he state reporters must submit at least one threatened lawsuit every quarter to be considered as doing their job. What he didn’t tell us if the newspaper got pass the first quarter.

42. Where has the basket of groceries gone.As for the duties do you know that the P M has just RAISE the enviorment LEVY on goods coming into the island,and that means that cost of living has to go up.

43. Scout

I could not agree with you more. Take advantage of poor people who don’t know much about the law and sell real newspapers. Another case of capitalism riding the backs of poor people.

You remember how the Nation got so popular? It was daring compared to the Advocate and the other one. Went where ordinary journalists did not go; exposed what was not exposed before; and brought in a party to hold office for the first time since independence. Real achievements in the past.

We need to start another nation, this one get complacent.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TELL ME WHY

I used to be a Purchasing Officer for a Hotel in Barbaos.

In my capacity I made many purchases from Miami for the said Hotel. After making payment of overseas freight, import duties, broker fees etc, the items we purchased were still cheaper than what we were paying locally for them.

45. (FWTAIW. Again, my apologies.
    ……………………………………………………….
    Finish With Trash And Ignorant Writing” sounds close to his story about working at a newspaper.

46. @Tell me Why: “Forget Chris Halsall and his stint at a newspaper where he state reporters must submit at least one threatened lawsuit every quarter to be considered as doing their job. What he didn’t tell us if the newspaper got pass the first quarter.

With all due respect TmW — do please try to keep up…

My aforementioned reporters didn’t have to submit a threatened lawsuit — they had to *cause* (at lease) one…

And, for the record, every newspaper I have ever written for continue to survive…

(Interestingly, the two in Barbados cowardly refused further language from me because of the threatened suits. (something about advertising revenue…)

(Equally interestingly, the three newspapers in Canada encouraged me to write more…)

May we live in pathetic times…

47. @All…

Just for the record… This has been communicated before…

FWTAIW == For What The Above Is Worth.

(Just for the slowest with us… “==” means “is equal to”. “!=” means “is not equal to”.)

The above is common C, C++, Perl and PHP nomenclature. (That means common computer software code…)

(My apologies for my above to anyone offended…)

48. Another case of capitalism riding the backs of poor people..
    ………………………………………………………
    You know the lady who sells the Nation in Black Rock. She is a recipient of the same capitalism and boy she is real wealthy he goes on trips and schooled her children with the funds selling the paper. So ROk what is your score with capitalism versus Socialism. One gives you independence and the other makes you dependent. Take your pick.

49. Hi Chris, for your information, I worked @ both newspapers and I know about the anxiety every publishing day to hear if someone has been offended. Newspapers do have a string of lawyers standing by prior to the publishing of a newspaper. It is better to err on caution rather than correcting folly. Do you think that if David of BU was known, he would allow anonymous people to write and wipe out his personal assets due to a lawsuit? Well the media don’t have that luxury.

50. @TmW: “…and I know about the anxiety every publishing day to hear if someone has been offended. Newspapers do have a string of lawyers standing by prior to the publishing of a newspaper. It is better to err on caution rather than correcting folly.”

Yeah right… Keep telling us (and yourself) that… (Meanwhile, the cattle continue to consume…)

Cowards!!!

“Do you think that if David of BU was known, he would allow anonymous people to write and wipe out his personal assets due to a lawsuit? Well the media don’t have that luxury.”

Here’s a counter example — I personally have been intenionally posting under my own name here and BFP, and posting my articles on my own Blog (and in a local “paper”, when they were accepted by same).

And you know what? I was threatened with a lawsuit (by C&W). And you know what? C&W refused to take it any further, despite my prodding. (If they would like to suddenly continue, they have my address!)

So, I ask again: who amongst us who are supposedly behind the “common good” (and are profiting nicely because of advertising column inches) are the most cowardly?

(“Moo!!!!”)