www.courant.com
Source: http://www.courant.com

During last week’s press conference, Prime Minister David Thompson displayed annoyance at the lack of curiosity currently being demonstrated by the media at the obvious price gouging taking place in Barbados.

What has brought this matter to a head is the reluctance of the private sector to reverse the upward trend of the cost of food despite three price cuts in under two weeks by government of petrol. The wholesalers and retailers have resoundingly told the Prime Minister they will not cut prices until their suppliers do so. At this point we have a confused public who cannot understand why food prices continue to rise while the price of a barrel of oil on the world market hovers below US70.00. The confusion among the Barbados consumer can be partially blamed on the Barbados media. They are many who believe that the local media has not taken the opportunity to investigate the price mechanisms which are currently being used by the several actors to educate and EXPOSE the market.

The morning after the press conference a few callers directed a similar view to Stedson Babb, the moderator of the afternoon talk show: can anyone imagine what he muttered to a caller? He wondered aloud if the public expect journalists to be private investigators! he appeared to be in a funk on that morning anyway, good thing he does not work in customer service.

On August 31, 2008 the Nation political correspondent Albert Bradford departed from the norm and published an interesting article, A model democracy which highlighted a study undertaken by the St. Augustin Campus, University of the West Indies. The study observed that there is a high level of self censorship in the local media.  We have concluded from the study that the management of the local media is afraid that the libel and defamation laws are too punitive:

It is the view of the journalist interviewed [Harold Hoyte, former publisher of THE NATION] that not only are the libel laws punitive but the records of the courts were also punitive since both the sanctions are high and the terms of what is defamatory restrictive.

The publisher of THE NATION newspaper estimated that it is normal for the newspaper to pay about $100 000 in damages annually,” they said. “It is therefore quite easy for public officials to censor the Press merely by threatening to sue.

From BU research, the traditional newspaper for example is rapidly becoming irrelevant and many of them around the world are struggling to survive for financial reasons. Those that are surviving have had to prostitute themselves to advertisers in order to attract the almighty dollar. To survive, the content of many newspapers and other areas of the media now reflect what is popular. With this fact the demise of a major plank in traditional journalism which has been long regarded as the fiercest watchdog of our democracies is rapidly becoming a feeble force. This is a sad state of affairs because despite the popularity of the blogosphere, the ongoing media convergence being witnessed  across the world represents a threat to our democracies. In Barbados the home grown Nation newspaper and Voice of Barbados radio station were gobbled up by a cash rich Trinidad concern.

• Think about Washington Post reporters Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein — no police investigation alone would have provided the American public with the story of what actually occurred in the Watergate office complex that fateful night in 1972.

• Think about Nellie Bly, the famous muckraking journalist who feigned insanity to report on the abuses occurring inside mental institutions. Because of her reporting, much-needed legislation on patient care was passed.

• Think about this newspaper, which two years ago broke the story of the suicides of scores of American troops serving in Iraq and the critical need for mental health screening.

The struggle of good journalism to remain afloat is not just journalism’s struggle. It is America’s struggle, because without the free flow of information, without impartial news sources, without regular reports on government and politics, the arts and the outside world, we lose our ability to be informed citizens. In an age where talking heads have replaced journalists, where opinion passes as journalism and where newspapers are driven by profit to reduce and compromise their reporting, Americans are more at risk than ever.

Responsible journalism, like responsible education, has been the support system for democracy all along. We must advocate for good journalism, or risk losing our ability to be good citizens in our democracy.

Source: The Courant

The BU household is not sure how we can edit the current fastfood diet of journalism being served up by the local media, what we know is if it continues the threat to our democracy remains a clear and present danger.

128 responses to “The Rise And Fall Of Traditional Journalism”

1. TMW

I am not sure about independence. I think independence is the source of our problems. How independent are we? We have to buy what BS&T bring in and all the rest of them, so when we think we have a choice we don’t.

Life is about interdependence. What capitalism does is bring out the greed because every last man want the whole world.

We here in this little country, as independent as you think we are, our leaders just buckled under pressure and if it was not for Bharrat Jagdeo we would have gone full down.

So whether it is Capitalism or Socialism, the choices are the same; only apparently different. I just wish therefore, that we would stop cutting our own throats and licking one another back down in the barrel; unlike crabs, who get out of the barrel and keep going.

This is not our life. Our life is, you bake sweet bread and I bake cake, so between us we have sweet bread and cake.

2. Chris Halsall
    A pragmatist got Chil’ren to feed

ROK
    The man never scare me. Now he’s mek ma shame…!

3. TMW

“One gives you independence and the other makes you dependent.”

I would like you to tell me which one is which though. You hear about the mendicancy syndrome? Under which one that happens?

I hear about a Russian billionaire the other day. Chaaaa! All “isms”. For me it is about a more humane world; another ism, humanitarian-ism.

4. Chris, do you know the publishing of a simple magazine can be extremely risky regarding lawsuits. You say in Canada the more risky stories you write, the more the company look at your capability. But I know as a fact the USA have more lawsuits sharks just waiting to pounce on that media company. Ah lie Chris.

5. BAFBFP

I know man, you got to be a Lodge Boy, of Buckey age or older. I sure you never get hit with a cadet belt yet. You were either before or after those times.

6. @BAFBFP: “A pragmatist got Chil’ren to feed”.

A few points:

1. Question: Is this a justification? Or a rationalization?

2. Observation: Many on this world have “Chil’ren” to feed. Some have not had the ability to do so for quite some time…

3. Observation: It is possible to feed ourselves (here) at relatively low cost.

4. Question: Are we all all willing to sell out our future for today?

4.1. Observation: Yes…

4.2. Question: Chefette tonight? Or KFC?

7. I wonder if some of the ppl in here can do any better,when it comes to journalism.

8. You see this media/lawsuit thing, the media has its defences. Fair comment is the best one. If you stick within the rules of fair comment, you can’t go wrong.

So let me jump in. I am not new to publishing either and I am not afraid to say who I am for fear of a lawsuit. Neither has that been a deterrent to saying what I have to say. Well I also know that I ain’t got no money anyhow, but that does not mean I go around being irresponsible.

9. Sargeant // October 28, 2008 at 5:30 pm

Adrian Hinds…..

Canadians are some of the most passive and sissified people on the Earth,

There he goes again attacking all the citizens of a country because of the musings on one man

Only in the USA…….Pity
    ===========================

Sarge, I getting the feeling that out tuh out me, yuh mean i can’t have little fun without you wanting to deny me that pleasure so that you can have point? Um is joke uh mekking. My son is Canadian by birth, and is also named Chris.

10. Chris Halsall // October 28, 2008 at 5:58 pm

@All…

Just for the record… This has been communicated before…

FWTAIW == For What The Above Is Worth.

(Just for the slowest with us… “==” means “is equal to”. “!=” means “is not equal to”.)

The above is common C, C++, Perl and PHP nomenclature. (That means common computer software code…)

(My apologies for my above to anyone offended…)

Thanks for defining your acronym.

…But why would someone have to be slow if they do not perchance understand what you say is common in C,C++, Perl, PHP nomenclature????

are these software programming languages commonly studied and understood?????

….Sarge does dis post meet your approval? ha ha ha ha ha

11. Trained Onions could do better.

12. Talks on Ice // October 28, 2008 at 7:31 pm

Trained Onions could do better
    Talks on Ice, it seems like you have something to say. Can i offer some encouragement to so do? I am listening, go for it!

…Do no let Chris Halsoll say that your only post thus far was two words longer than your name. 🙂

13. I sense anger

14. I want to say something about court reporters. For donkey years, Magistrates have been breaching the rules of natural justice in the way they accost persons appearing before them.

These breaches have never been reported, because reporters simply go into the court for sensational news. What is further worrisome is that lawyers, who are supposed to be agents for justice, just sit there and say or do nothing.

I am not sure what is happening in the court system now but I have witnessed an old man, who came to be a witness in a case, stand up before the magistrate with his feet visibly shaking; knees knocking.

My problem with this is that the criminals don’t be frightened and would carry along these same magistrates real scruffy, so why should ordinary people who would probably never commit an offence be fearful of the court? That sounds self-defeating; targeting the wrong people.

15. Talks on Ice // October 28, 2008 at 7:42 pm

I sense anger

Wow that must be your seventh sense and it’s electronicaly tuned at that. Yuh like yuh regressing doah. Here is a tip. Yuh ready? Why not combine your two previous statements? earth shattering aint it? ha ha haha

Too early and i hope you don’t turn out to be the opposite extreme tuh PDC. ha ha ha ha

I gine and get muh sweat on. Later

16. You are mean.

17. We imagine that One Media purchased Starcom to make money. Given the responsibility of the media profession has or will the T&T ownership impact on how Starcom operates? As we have commented before their listenership and readership includes the majority of Barbadians.

18. Adrian, give de man a chance to expand his post. Three posts and 11 words. PDC must be saying it will take months posting every day to match one post.

19. Hello Talks on Ice. Welcome to the blogs. We have no holds barrier in our deliberations minus the lawsuits for now. We set the standards for the 4th estate.

20. Do not judge a man until you surfed a gigabyte in their browser

21. This blog starting to bore me now.
    Once I would enjoy the points made but some here seem to think they can bully others or try to see who can be the most condescending to each other……typical reasons why we would never find any solutions…..ah gone!!

22. Waiting in fear Avatar

The behaviour of magistratres raised by ROK is true. I went before a woman magistrate and the woman was rude and crude. She treated me as I was nothing ,with no rights ,no freedom of speech ,nothing. She then waved her hand and dismissively told me to leave her court. I walked away with embarrasment and shame that I hope never visit me again. How do these little napoleans and napoleanettes get away with such and against innocent taxpayers ?

23. I take advice from my buddy. I done wid dis. By the way Tech. Rihanna @ de wedding is 240 posts from 2007. This post pertaining to libel hath no end, since journalism and libel will always be with us. Maybe, the FOI will allow lawsuits to be focused on internet bloggers. What say you Tech, or you feel that lawsuits will eventually blow away.

24. Chris Halsall
    “I was threatened with a lawsuit (by C&W). And you know what? C&W refused to take it any further, despite my prodding. ”
    Okay, okay, I get it… playing devils advocate is really not my thing. Of course the shites could do better. Yep its obvious, don’t rock the boat that’s feeding you (wow… where did that come from)

Yah tekkin’ some stick. Show “Talks on Ice” how its done.

David ya gotta to give an award to the funniest humanoids on this blog. Nominations:
    Adrian Hinds, TmW

25. ROK
    I from KOLIJ… tek dah!

26. BAFBFP, come on man, how on earth can you use such a term when you can only relate to the poster by anonymous penned name only, unless you can see thru a computer in order to define our features.
    The term “humanoid” refers to any being whose body structure resembles that of a human. The term describes mythological creatures and artificial organisms (robots), especially in the context of science fiction and fantasy fiction.

Anyway, thanks for the award for it shows that our posts are read. Hope to get some publicity when this award is presented since I can’t even get on “My TV” Ah Ha Ha!

27. BAFBFP, my wife and children always accusing me of being on the blogs. I told her she should prefer this vice where she can constantly see me. I asked her if she want me to go by the boys and play dominoes. Then the eerie silence. I then told my big babies that I prefer the blogs instead of Facebook which they are addicted with. Blogs use colourful words, Facebook use actual colourful photos of the person that some maniac can become addicted to; and maybe become a prey on the unsuspected user.

28. BAFBFP

How you went to Kolij and Buckey got you shame? You ain’t making no sense.

29. ROK

LOL, Percy Scratch never lay a hand on me and Clive Cave, Barney Lynch, Randy Harris, Pluto Scott were big men to me.

TMW

Yah addict. You should seek professional help…!
    FWTAIW.. ! Ha Ha… yah gun kill ma…

30. Yah addict. You should seek professional help…!
    ……………………………………………………….
    I will use another computer Lol!!!

31. ROK, BTW, what become of Pluto?

32. Dear BU:

You wrote “At this point we have a confused public who cannot understand why food prices continue to rise ”

Dear BU: We the consumers ain’t confused one bit. We know that prices continue to rise because the merchants are greedy. If BU and the Prime Minister had paid attention in English Literature classes you would not now be confused because you would have learned that “a merchant has no country” Therefore to expect patriotism from a merchant is bare foolishness. I excuse you BU ’cause you are young. But the Prime Minister is old enough to know better.

33. Dear BU:

You wrote “Those that are surviving have had to prostitute themselves to advertisers in order to attract the almighty dollar.”

It is not prostitution to sell advertising. It is called good business.

34. Dear BU you wrote “To survive, the content of many newspapers and other areas of the media now reflect what is popular” But newspapers have ALWAYS refected what is popular. That is why they are called NEWspapers. NEW get it; or sometimes JOURnals from the French jour which means day. So yes the daily round, the popular the new have ALWAYS been the business of NEWspapers.

35. Dear 199:

You wrote”for their paycheck to arrive in the post at the end of the month”

I don’t know where you living, but nobody gets their paycheque in the post anymore. Direct deposit is it. And then we use a debit card to spend it. Cash is dead, dead, dead. Dead and buried long, long ago in the 20th century.

36. Dear BWWR:

It is legal pests like you and your friends that cause the newspapers to lose$100,000 every year, settling nuisance defamation lawsuits.

You ever notice that the only people in Barbaos who claim to be defamed are lawyers and politicians? And the thing is both groups both groups are so bad behaved that it is probably impossible to truly defame them. Cause come to think of it if they were never famous how can they be defamed?

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

37. Scout wrote “maybe The computor is to be partially blamed.”

No scout. The computer is not to be blamed. The computer actually makes it easier (not harder) to write well.

38. J
    You sound very clever…
    Clever, Clever, Clever, Clever..!

On point one, Yes business in Bim as with everywhere else is exploitative. But allow me please to request that you investigate the relationship between the value of the US $ (which we are pegged to) and the value of gold particularly over the past eight years (since 9-11). Assume gold to be the standard from which fiat currency worth is measured.

39. tropical depression wrote “Predictably the starship taking Babb and Muscle Mary crashed and burned. In short Babb is a pompous buffoon.”

All I can say is that you got me here de’ding with laugh

40. Centipede wrote
    “#**holes. All of you”

You stinging very bad today.

41. And again Centipede “they would be unable to find employment in any country outside of the Caribbean”

That is not true ya hear. We too like to put down we own. In fact many, many of our journalists can work anwhere in the world where English is spoken. Just as our teachers teach in New York and our nurses nurse in London.

42. BAFBFP wrote on // October 28, 2008 at 9:08 am

CENTIPEDE

A properly manage and staffed state owned operation content on providing affordable prices to Barbadians without excessive managerial, remunerations, profits and all will drive you and your kind to a better appreciation of responsible consumer oriented business.

All I have to ask is “which planet you from?

43. Dear Wishing in vain you wrote “was serious consideration that there should be a forensic audit done at the same Barbados Water Works where and when Babb worked ?”

Come on man. Stetson for all his faults was a media man for the BWA. I don’t believe that that put him in any position to handle money or to tief even if he felt like doing so.

44. Dear Adrian:

You wrote “…..Canadians are some of the most passive and sissified people on the Earth”

Them is fighting words. I DEMAND that you withdraw them

45. Dear Chris Halsall you wrote “money means more than morals here” and centipede agreed with you.

Would you 2 gentlemen be so kind as to name the country or countries in the world that value morals more than money?

I await your answer with bated breath.

46. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Don’t come to BU very often (seems to be the same very small handful of posters).

But this is a response to Chris Halsall…

Not wishing to offend (to borrow your own fatuous mode of fake courtesy), but I suspect that the reason you’re not employed as a columnist by our local papers is nothing to do with you being too provocative or controversial.

It’s simply a matter of your very insipid, wooden prose style.

If I were Roxanne Gibbes I might let you have an occasional guest column. But a regular one? Not a chance…

47. Wishing in fear

Of course you know that this is unprofessional conduct. In this regard I would like to complement Shirley Belle for her professionalism as a magistrate. She was 200% better than the average magistrate; in my estimation.

But why you think a magistrate would behave so? You think they get upset at the things people do and just simply treat everybody the same way?

One thing I would say is that they treat white people differently. I have seen where a magistrate made a white man wait while he cleared the cases so that he could treat that person differently; without the audience.

So why are these injustices not reported in the media? Is there a role for the media here? Is this a societal problem? Do we believe that once a man does something wrong or is accused of doing something wrong he has no rights? Is this part of our slave past that we are acting out?

48. We have commented before, and we will do so again for emphasis, until the journalist organize themselves to uplift their profession we will struggle to take them seriously. Will they ever see the sense to breathe life into the Barbados Association of Journalist (BAJ)?

49. BAFBFP

You just thought you could fool me? If you know Pluto and Dum-Dum, Buckey Cox and also Randy Harris, you can’t be much less (or more) than 2 years younger than Randy. By the time I get to 2nd form, Buckie Cox was gone. Me and Randy is the same age.

TMW
    Pluto is a teacher, although I think he got reeled into the ministry of education. et tu TMW? Chaaaa! David, real rebels on here. Scout, Bush Tea, declare your hands. Ian Walcott! You there? well! Well! Well! Look sharp, David is one too.

50. The last President of BAJ if my memory serves me correctly was Ridley Greene. Have not been able to get that organisation moving since; with all the prompting.