We have linked to the Keltruth Blog to update this story. If some of us felt that the Kingsland Estate trial ongoing in Canada is not news worthy enough for the traditional media, maybe it has now become so. If we understand Keltruth latest blog right, they have sent letters to all the world leaders attending the United Nations 63rd General Assembly in New York today (23 September 2008).

Nation Newspaper
Vivian Anne Gittens: Chief Executive Officer of the Nation Corporation-Source:Nation Newspaper

Barbadians read in today’s Nation newspaper (September 07, 2008) that “VIVIAN ANNE GITTENS, CEO of the Nation Publishing Co. Ltd, has been appointed head of The Nation Group.” For what it is worth we congratulate her on being admitted to the old-boys club. She will now join the Patriarch and Chairman of the club Sir Fred Gollop on the board of directors of the parent company One Caribbean Media Limited (OCM). We did a quick check of the Nation circulation numbers and we have not detected any appreciable movement upwards. We also recall that that early in 2008 advertising rates and the cost of the newspaper increased. We also remember that the Nation refused to print several stories scooped by the blogs, the most notable was the 3S/Jonathon Danos story.

What we are saying to the BU family is that it seems Vivian Anne Gittens has been rewarded for propping-up the status quo, and the old boys club has rewarded her handsomely. We cannot find any innovative initiative which has been promoted by Mrs. Gittens  reflected in the content and layout of the newspaper or in its recruitment practice, truly amazing. Let us not forget that under her leadership the Nation has pissed-off the current government while in Opposition and this is now being reflected by the significant advertising revenue being deflected to the Advocate newspaper  by the government.

It seems that the Democratic Labour Party now in government remember some of the shenanigans by the Nation newspaper which took place in the build-up to the January 2008 general elections.

Most amazing is the fact that a veritable Who-is-Who of Barbados which includes Prime Minister David Thompson, as well as former Prime Minister Owen Arthur and Chief Justice David Simmons have been hauled before the Canadian Court to answer a law suit, and the Barbados media has turned a blind eye. We have decided to to allocate greater blame to the Nation and her sister companies because they have the lion’s share of the media market in Barbados.

We are sure that some members of the BU family have been following the Kingsland, Classic, Nelson Barbados Limited Affair with interest. Whether one is for, against or neutral it behooves the media of Barbados to acquaint Barbadians about this most unusual development. We cannot accept that the reason this case has not been picked up by the local media has to do with a dearth in legal competencies in the journalistic profession.

We asked a member of the BU family who is versed in the unusual court case the following question:

Do you think the Bajan media should be highlighting/exposing this case to Barbadians, or is there merit for them to retreat in the cloak that the matter is sub judice?

Here was their lucid response:

Part (i)

David, do I think it is a matter that ought to be covered by the “legitimate” organs of the press? Hell yes. Do I think it will be? No. I think the biggest problem is that, unlike some of the blogs, the reporters for the “legitimate” press lack the necessary qualifications IN THIS AREA to do other than make a hash of any report they may write. Look at the mess that Patrick Hoyos made of those very subjective and biased reports from the Privy Council – having read them and that judgment, one wonders if Mr. Hoyos was in the correct court.

Sub judice. Won’t fly here as an excuse for the local Bajan press. There can be no impropriety in reporting a case that is sub judice, not in Barbados, but in Canada. I think they have a duty to report it – a regional duty, since I understand that Almighty Allard has shifted the sphere of his operations to our sister islands of Dominica and Grenada. They ought to be warned. Next thing you know, you will have Stuart Heaslet telephoning highly placed people in those islands from Peter Allard’s property seeking to entrap them.

So, sub judice does not an excuse make for the local “legitimate” press. Not in the Canadian case. In a Barbados one, yes. But this is not a Bajan case.

This is a case where it could happen to ANY Bajan or Grenadian or Dominican. It has happened here and the press has to report it as a warning. Will it? NO. Even though they all have lawyers who can advise them on matters of defamation.

Part (ii)

David, after writing my reply to yours, I went out shopping and all the time your question stuck with me. I have to ask you this: If Canada and its PM and opposition leader and A-G and CJ were being sued in the Barbados courts, do you think tha the Canadian press would be in the slightest bit reticent about carrying full reports on it? I think that all the Canadian TV and radio networks and all the major papers would carry the story and commentaries and expert opinions. They would not be bound by the sub judice principal, simply because the action was filed in Barbados. So, since this case is the other way round, why are our TV and radio and newspapers hiding behind the sub judice excuse? I do not understand. Do you?

I think it ought to be aired fully and not the one sided reports that made me suspicious as hell with photos of Madge and chickens pretending to be something she is not, never was and never will be – and, of course, the Hoyos reports before, during and after the Privy Council hearing.

By the way, question. I forget whether it was the Advocate or the Nation that carried the daily Hoyos reports from London from the Privy Council, but I find it so difficult to believe that either Advocate or Nation paid for Hoyos’ trip. Did he pay for it himself, or was it a kind benefactor or “philanthropist” who paid for that?

While our mainstream media maintains the status quo, the blogs in our David versus Goliath like manner continue to fight the good fight.

96 responses to “Barbados Media Turns Blind Eye To Prime Minister being Sued In Canada”

1. @BWWR

I thought Iain’s case in pursuit of his costs was to be held next month. How does these dates jive with the Canadian dates. They seem to be about the same time.

2. @J

I just went on to check out some of the newspapers in Simcoe County where Barrie and Orillia are located. The news papers there do not allow you to search and download their archives. The past 7 days are free. Everything else you have to pay for and it starts at $12 an article, news item. You have to provide, date, reporters name and other particulars.

Those small towns are not rich and their papers probably not bringing in the advertising dough.

Sorry I could not be of help.

3. Dear Pat:

Thanks for trying.

4. Sub judice is not used for civil matters usually where the public, in the form of a jury, does not have a possible role to play. And, by the way, the full name of the defence is (fair) comment on a matter of PUBLIC INTEREST . Does the Kingsland affair qualify as such?

5. I see on the Keltruth website that the Chief Justice is mixed up in Kingsland too. He made an offer to purchase the land in the name of a ficticious company that wasn’t legally registered. Why would he do that? I guess all the politicians thought they could get a piece of the action and Davey Simmons was no exception!

6. I would respectfully suggest that the litigants in this matter save some of the money being spent on legal fees and hire a pubic relations firm to manage the litigant’s relationship with the media.

It is starkly obvious that the litigants are not getting the desired press and have no idea how to get a better result.

Lawyers are not all knowing.

In a difficult situation you may need to hire other professionals.

7. J, why do you not do your own research on the papers in Ontario? There is a site called Ecola Newsstand. From that, you can choose. As for the litigants hiring a publicist, since you have expressed your total lack of interest, why would you care? Sorry, Anon 27….I see what you mean. This J is a PRIZE idiot. Got to be a man. Could NEVER be a woman.

8. True I don’t care.

But if you percieve that I SHOULD care then it is YOUR job to PERSUADE me (and others like me).

Telling me that my head is in an impossible place is not going to get me on your side.

I do have 4 close relatives who work in the Ontario media, so I am not as unfamiliar with Ontario’s media as you seem to believe.

9. @ J

“I do have 4 close relatives who work in the Ontario media, so I am not as unfamiliar with Ontario’s media as you seem to believe.”

Cud dear J. Yuh mean yuh got family up hey and still beg me to search fuh yuh. I gun charge yuh J. Six turnovers from Cherie’s Bakery on Tweedside Road! Nex time uh cum home.

10. Dear Pat:

Deal (-:

11. Oh dear, Anon 27, my most profound apologies to you. You were right and I was wrong. Happens and I am always prepared to admit when it does. I have to persuade him? The country is being sued and this IDIOT cannot be bothered to read about it and expects me to repeat everything for him? Please.

12. The blogs may be in the vanguard of revealing all that is truly newsworthy and important to Barbados. For example BFP’s latest recommendation of a blogger called “Fred on everything”.

Well I checked this guy out and read a few of his posts. I just had to give my feedback to BFP, which was as follows:

Oh wonderful pick BFP . My favorite Fred article is titled “The Intelligence of Blacks”!
    check it out at : http://www.fredoneverything.net/FOE_Frame_Column.htm

I particularly liked the part where he writes

” Why is schooling so poor for black children? To begin with, because blacks have little enthusiasm for academics. Blacks have demonstrated for an end to discrimination, more welfare, less brutality by police, greater rights, more pay, and greater respect. They do not march for more homework, harder courses, thicker texts with larger words and smaller pictures.”

and

” … whether intelligence should be the prescriptive measure of worth. Blacks have much to contribute that is not mathematics. Musically they are phenomenal, ……… In years of riding with the police, I’ve noticed that blacks are better at dealing with people. Maybe these qualities too have a place. We cannot all be computer geeks.”

Just makes me feel warm and fuzzy all over (and glad to be White). Thanks BFP.

No surprises that my (sarcastic) post is in moderation!

13. […] Barbados Underground: Barbados Media Turns Blind Eye To Prime Minister being Sued In Canada […]

14. […] have expressed disbelief that such different people with opposing political and business allegiances would have links to the Kingsland scandal. Yes, the list of defendants in […]

15. […] have expressed disbelief that such different people with opposing political and business allegiances would have links to the Kingsland scandal. Yes, the list of defendants in […]

16. This latest Keltruth blogger strategy of sending letters to all the ambassadors at the United Nations is nothing compared with Thompy in Canada announcing to the world that Owen Arthur and friends stole millions and put it in foreign banks!

The strange thing is that the letter to the UN and Thompy’s Canadian announcement might feed off of each other and get some notice at the United Nations.

Thompson might have had a plan but it is all out of control after the Keltruth letter.

17. @Red Sky

My understanding is that Mr. Thompson was speaking at a “private” function of DLP members in Toronto. He was not speaking to the World as you would suggest. He was not speaking to the Canadian Press, nor to foreigners from Machu Pichu to Timbuktu, but to loyal Bajans. There is a difference between what Mr. Thompson said, where, and to whom, and what Keltruth has done.

Failing to have the US government intervene in an internal Barbados matter, Keltruth and its backers have taken their quarrel to the members of the General Assembly of the UN.

They are acting stupid. Who at the UN knows or cares about them. What can they do – zilch! I guess desperate people will do desperate things. It is no skin off Mr. Thompson’s nose. He is in a group of his peers at the UN. Most leaders, if any, will not see the letter. Staffers will consider it junk mail or a letter from an unstable person. It will be put in file 19.

But of course, it seems no one who knows the family credits the Knoxes with much brains.

18. David,

Well done in linking this. I have long held the view that Keltruth and BFP are financed by Peter Allard for the sole purpose of running down Barbados to the international community SOLELY because it will not bow to his wishes. I see on BFP some of the commentators agree with me. It is akin to Kathleen Davis’ letter to the UN Ambassador in Barbados seeking intervention in a land affair on her Bajan born and resident mother’s behalf. Now, they are trying to excite the international community. GOOD LUCK TO THEM!!!!

Has anyone got ANY idea just how many such letters are received daily by the UN delegates from crackpots like Allard, Knox and Keltruth? MILLIONS!!!!

Do you know what the UN delegates do about the internal affairs of sovereign states? NOTHING!!!! You don’t believe me? Look at what it takes to generate sanctions. Look how long it took and for what reasons sanctions were started in respect of Zimbawe. Get the point? Money-mad Madge and Almighty Allard et al think that their illegitimate business desires warrant the same measures as human rights abuses.

Forget about the introduction of integrity legislation that Keltruth and BFP says motivates their attack. They and we know that Mr Thompson is behind on that with very good reason – making sure the legislation is sound and not cobbled together with holes you could drive a track tractor through. They know (and we know) that it is coming. BUT, they want to carry out the agenda of their paymaster, Peter Allard, and also be able to crow, when the legislation is finally tabled, that this has happened, not because Mr Thompson is carrying out his promises, but because THEY have pressured him into doing so. Watch and observe and see if I am not right.

Yet Keltruth, whose judgment is now CLINICALLY impaired honestly thinks that its letter has caused Mr Thompson to choke on just a single drop of his post-speech champagne or just a single UN delegate to fail to congratulate him? Dream on!!!!

I do want to say, however, that I will defend to the death the right of any individual or group to do as Keltruth has done. If our country cannot shrug off the calumnies of crackpots like Keltruth, then we are in a bad way. But it can and if Keltruth wants to make a blasted fool of itself, please go right ahead.

I see from the latest documents sent me in the Canadian action that TRULY motivates this attack on Barbados to the UN that John Knox is summonsed to Toronto, there to be cross-examined on the parts of his rambling and incoherent affidavits that pertain as to whether Canada has the jurisdictional right to try the case. Little Johnnykins will appear November 4th in Toronto for one engagement only. It is unlikely that there will be an encore.

Now some of you, most of you, will be hoping that the battery of lawyers confronting Johnnykins will give him a thorough going-over. But you know something? They won’t. I read through Johnnykins affidavits last night. They address everything except jurisdiction – and it is only on jurisdiction that Johnnykins is allowed to be questioned. Oh, we know the Goat would LOVE to have other issues introduced, but other counsel will not allow this. Only the question of jurisdiction will be allowed.

Just before Keltruth and its toadies (like BFP – I am told that Jane Goddard is on the staff of BFP) leap up in arms saying how dreadful that all is that only jurisdictional matters can be discussed, until the Canadian courts have decided if they have the right to try the case, what is the point of hearing substantive arguments? As both Canadian judges have pointed out, that would be putting the cart before the horse. If, as is most likely, the Canadian judges decide that Canada doesn’t have the jurisdiction to try the case, then Nelson can refile in Barbados before the Barbados courts. Of course, with Iain Deane and Colin’s estate having won their charging order and almost certainly going to win the action for fraud against Madge and take control of her shares (NO MATTER WHERE THEY MAY BE) the Barbados courts will doubtless refuse to entertain the action, due to lack of standing by Nelson.

But I have digressed from the real intent of David’s blog, which is to ask why the Nation, the Advocate and VOB are not reporting on the Kingsland matter, as Nelson has involved Barbados in it.

Well, David, forget about them. I am busy with the family until after Christmas. But after Christmas, I am going to go through all the lawsuits filed against Kingsland and post the whole lot to you along with my commentaries. There will be about 12 posts. Thus, you will be able to do what the regular press has refused to do and the BU family will have the whole picture. AND PAT, CHILE YOU WILL HAVE YOUR MATERIAL FOR YOUR TV SHOW!!!! Who will you get to play Erie? Of course, I kow who you need to play Madge – Dame Edna. Henry Gibson will do to play Allard – and he might as well play Alair Shepherd as well.

Finally, at the risk of being accused of being one of he brothers Simmons, I have read the blogs in Keltruth and BFP launched at our Chief Justice. First, they intimate that as a result of their attacks Mr Thompson has asked Sir David to resign. Nonsense. There is an age at which Sir David must RETIRE and I believe that age is 70. If Mr. Thompson has spoken to Sir David, it would be to ask advice on who ought to succeed him. But I think we all see through the gutter tactics of Keltruth and BFP here.

BFP and Keltruth then crow about how they are not anonymous and yet no one has sued them and they state this is because they are telling the truth. Really? Look at the official office address provided by Keltruth. What are the assets of Keltruth that one would go after to pay costs and damages of such an action? Zip. It is a shell company. Now, if Kathleen Davis and John Knox and Jane Goddard want to write something signed by them to encourage people to sue them under their own names, go ahead. I still doubt any resonsible lawyer would recommend suing, after all Jane Goddard’s property is mortgaged to Peter Allard, Johnnykins has no property and lives in a house owned by Kingsland Estates and Kathy lives in Miami BUT, for those of you who are looking to sue her in Barbados, word is that she and her husband, Ian Davis, own some property in St Andrew. I wonder about that little house down Cattlewash that Jane Goddard always stays in. I wonder if that belongs to her.

So folks, maybe you should sue them. It looks as if there may be something to make it worthwhile. The other reason to sue would be because the libels of Keltruth and BFP have injured people in some way. But as they are revealed as liars and frauds and everyone who matters knows this….what for? Better to lick them at their own game where the same readers who read them are seeing what nonsense they are about. If anyone has been called into disrepute, it is BFP and Ketruth…..and I intend to continue to defame them….every chance I get. I owe it to my country.

19. We look forward to your submissions BWWR. Some will not admit it but this story has its following as our stats show.

20. I know, David, I know. Bajans, including me, are real gypsy by nature. Got a little news for you. Examinations in this case that are being carried out over the next 6 weeks are to be VIDEOTAPED, I am told. Naturally, I asked right away if I could have copies, not only for the BU family in general, but for Pat in particular to save she trouble with she casting for the TV show. She might want some of the people to play themselves. Well, some of them got to be real good actors.

Personally Bo, I still think Dame Edna Everidge has to play Madge and you need to try to get James Earl Jones to play the late Bree St John and Denzel Washington to play Sir David Simmons – sorry, Peter, Denzel is too good looking to play you. Michael Ironside to play Clyde Turney and that nice young man from the New York version of CSI to play Leslie Haynes. As far as McKenzie is concerned, I understand that Bugs Bunny has told friends that he has a very great interest in portraying a goat and Elmer Fudd wants to play the role of Peter Allard and Daffy Duck has expressed great interest in playing Alair Shepherd, but he got a fight on his hands for that part, because Minnie Mouse wants to play Alair too. I can hardly wait. Oh, I nearly forget, the shark from Jaws can’t make up he mind if he want to play Mr Cox or Mr Heaslet.

21. BWWR ha ha ha ha you aitn easy and you bring facts every time!

22. It seems that Keltruth is getting some negative feedback on their latest action in  the Kingsland Estate case.

Keltruth Blog Out Of Place
    I am all for principles, rights and righteousness but I am somewhat disturbed after reading on Keltruth blog they apparent attempt to malignly embarrass the PM of this country before the United Nations General Assembly where David Thompson is expected to speak this Friday.
    The fool-hardy promises of integrity legislation upon assuming office which is yet to come into effect is not enough to link the current PM to the scandalous, corrupted affairs of the previous administration in the hope that they too will follow suit. A full year have yet to pass for bajans to take seriously any attempts by this administration to ever implement integrity laws and a Ministerial Code. Before that time any attempt to sent off a letter to United Nations delegates detailing dubious activities over the past years after so soon a young administration in office is nothing more than jumping the gun and casting all Barbadians and Barbados as a nation of corrupted thieves.
      Read full article

23. BWWR,

I can hardly wait. I am all pumped up! I am rearing to go. Right now I am assiting with a publication which may be called “Successful and Famous Bajans”. I am doing some editorial work. But when that project is well underway, I can start the outline for my TV series.

It will be a saga. lol.

I thought Kathy Davis was educated, but it seems she does no independent thinking. What could have been going through her mind when she sent that letter? She is now the laughing stock of the blogs. I think this latest incident has Bajans’ backs up. It would appear that it has backfired on her and her backers. Poor woman…..

24. What about a strong third party.If the government get sue will there be an election.

25. • Pat

• The reason why you would not find the case covered by the Canadian National media and News Magazines is that the case is being conducted in small town Ontario.
    *********************************•
    • The above is pure nonsense, the same media conglomerates that own the large media houses in Toronto own the media outlets in the small towns. If the people named in the law suit were household names in Canada then the newspapers et al would send a reporter to cover the case or employ a local stringer to report on the case.
    The politicians here get in the news in some unique ways here are some examples:

1)A businessman said he paid a bribe in the sum of $300,000.00 to the former PM Brian Mulroney. Mulroney said the payment was a fee for services rendered, however since the funds were in cash and Mulroney stashed it in a Safety Deposit Box one wonders if they never heard of cheques or bank drafts an inquiry is pending

2) The last Liberal Govt was being battered in the polls because of corruption by political operatives but were still a lock to win the election when the RCMP Commissioner announced in the middle of the election campaign that his office would be launching a criminal investigation of the Min. of Finance because of suspicions that some leaks had occurred in his last budget. Could you imagine the Commissioner of Police launching an investigation into one of Arthur’s Ministers during an election? Anyway game over, the Liberals lost, BTW the former Minister was cleared of any wrongdoing after the election.

3) At the swearing in ceremony of cabinet ministers in the new Gov’t the Minister of Foreign Affairs turned up with a babe on his arm, later it was discovered that she was the ex girlfriend of a biker and another of her ex lovers had paid the ultimate price because of his association with some other members of a Biker Gang. When the story hit the press the Minister resigned post haste it, later it turned up that he had left some top secret papers at her home.

So far in this election coming Oct.14: The PM Harper apologized to the Leader of the Opposition after his party ran an ad showing a puffin pooping on the poor guy’s shoulder. The PM blamed it on “low level staffers” . Three candidates from the third party (NDP) withdrew for the following reasons: Candidate No. 1 was captured on a you tube video smoking copious amounts of marijuana; Candidate No 2 admitted to skinny dipping with a group including teenage girls a few years ago and Candidate No. 3 had a criminal record.

The governing Party also lost a candidate because he used some extreme language on his blog (these damn blogs) to criticize passengers who fled an intercity bus when one of the passengers decapitated another passenger. He said they were cowards for fleeing and not challenging the killer.

So there is enough excitement in the Cold North that we can’t be bothered by a boring case. BTW I have attached an article which mentions B’dos. Now there is a case which attracted attention

http://www.thestar.com/article/497168

http://www.thestar.com/living/article/425033

26. This so-called “case” is pure blog-sh*t which exists only on the BFP blog and the Keltruth website.

Its purpose is to infest the minds of idle idiots.

27. Look, the reason no Canadian paper has published anything about this case is because they all have legal advisers. Those legal advisers will have told them that it is a nuissance action brought to attempt to manipulate the Courts and the media and that if they touch it, unlike Keltruth and its “admin”, they have deep pockets and they will be sued for mega bucks. Anyhow, the Canadian press does not like people trying to manipulate it. That is why they will not touch it. And it would be a page or 6 story for Canada.

Now, if it was the Canadian PM and other Canadian officers and the country of Canada itself that was being sued in Barbados, I promise you the Canadian press would be covering it FRONT PAGE.

What I want to know is how many of wunna going to attend in open court in Barbados when Mental Madge has to take the stand in her fraud trial starting January 21st. That gone be nuff fun.

Pat chile, Kathy Davis is very educated, courtesy of her Deane family and Kingsland Estates, cause you know, poor she, the fadder din up to much.

You know chile that is something I cannot understand no how. Every time I see Madge at the supermarket, although I really have never liked her, you know how it is, I speak – I got broughtupsy. On a couple of occasions, she has referred, disparagingly, to “The Mighty Deanes”. I have always replied, “But you are a Deane,” and Madge has gone MAD. “I AM NOT A DEANE. I AM A KNOX.” So whu wrong wid she? If you read Keltruth, everything Madge got, according to her, comes from her father – and he was a Deane . All her life she was supported (she and her children) by the Deanes (cause Madge didn’t work ever, you know – and don’t tell me about chickens, because chickens cannot put a roof over your head and pay for your servants and car and gas and food and school fee etc). As far as ANYBODY can see all her late ex-husband gave her was children for the Deanes to support – and from what we have seen, a lot of us would think those chidren are a liability rather than a gift. But anyway, the Deanes supported them so they were the Deanes’ liability. Knox gave her nothing else – except a lot of attitude. She owes everything to the fact that she is a Deane, the ungrateful old bitch.

Since Madge appears intent on biting the hand that fed her, why am I (and a lot of others) so shocked by her treasonous behaviour and that of her children towards the land of her birth and where she has voluntarily lived (she did NOT have to stay) for 85 or 86 years?

By the way, Pat, how about Homer Simpson to play Professor John Knox (retired)?

28. One Question. CORRECT!!!!!

29. I just had a very early morning browse through Keltruth. Their latest “hook” (I can’t say “hooker” otherwise Keltruth will accuse me of being rude) is a letter that Iain Deane wrote to the Broad Street Journal many, many years ago. But the BU family already knows about this letter, because I sent it to David who posted it among the voluminous exhibits of John Knox where the the comments of all the BU family were enshrined in the Canadian courts. Keltruth has only published a little of the letter. For the whole letter, go to BU.

Poor Keltruth. They getting desperate. They are failing in their objective to beat Barbados into submission so that it will submit to the authority of Almighty Allard and Mental Madge and be graciously forgiven by them, after a while of undergoing brainwashing to make sure it doesn’t happen again. Instead, Bajans, who are noted worldwide for being even more stubborn than mules, have dug in their heels and said, “Get lost.”

Pat chile, another casting suggestion. Maggie and Jiggs to play Jane and Kent Goddard. Looks like we getting an all star cast.

30. Politically Incorrect Avatar
    Politically Incorrect

With all due respect, as a resident of Canada now, formerly of Barbados, let’s get real.

I understand that Bajan’s are very nationalistic, parochial and insular but it is time for us to realize that 144 square miles not the WORLD is.

Where I live most people have not heard of Barbados except for the perception of “Paradise”. LOL.

Unless tourists are mistreated news of Barbados is considered a non-issue.

That is why the Canadian papers are not interested.

31. Can someone tell me why David Simmons signed a letter that was untrue? He claimed to represent a company, but the company didn’t exist at the time.

Being a stupid person I am unable to process all this “he said, she said” stuff, but I see the documents at Keltruth that show the Chief Justice commited a fraud when he signed the document to buy Kingsland.

It is a simple question. Can anyone answer it?

32. @ Sargeant

My friend, I am fully aware of what goes on in Canada. I have lived, and still live, in the Nation’s Capital City – since 1967.

@ Pollitically Incorrect

You have a good point.

@BWWR

This story gets stranger and stranger. I believe every thing you say. Know why? Kathy Davis has come back with no ‘rejoinders’. She who used to criticize everyone on BFP. Never adding any value to the discussion, as though she was some guardian of the blog or a demigod.

Well, let me tell you. The very first time that woman made a statement that was not critical of a blogger, I almost passed out. I was so awe struck, I commented on it. I told her I was under the impression she did not have a brain.

She used to use “Kathy” as her handle. It is only when you explained who she was that I put two and two together. I used to give her shit on that site when she criticized my comments with her non value added nonsense.

33. Can someone tell me why David Simmons signed a letter that was untrue? He claimed to represent a company, but the company didn’t exist at the time.
    ……………………………………………………….
    What about the letter signed by Mr. Thompson (see Keltruth). Are you not concerned about his signature also or are you too blind to see.

What I am trying to say is why are you and other focusing only on an alleged signature when not only Mr Simmons and is brother as alleged is being sued and the case thrown out by Barbados Court and The Privy Council. We must remove our personal bias and focus on who’s who that are being sued. Remember it is not a sole case against the Simmons, but a group case against prominent people of society.

34. I understand about the group being sued, but I also see that David Simmons signed a false document unless the document is forged but I dont’ think so because it was filed with the court. In any event it is a primafacie (?) situation that requires a response from the Chief Justice.

He won’t respond to a blog but sooner or later he will have to explain it to the court. It looks very bad. I can’t think of what reason or excuse he would have. He said the company existed and it did not. That is a serious thing for a lawyer to do. Very unethical if not illegal.

35. As I said it is a simple question that will not be easily deflected. Simmons signed a document that was false. It requires an explanation.

36. Dear BWWR:

On September 25th at 2:43 you wrote” Look, the reason no Canadian paper has published anything about this case is because they all have legal advisers. Those legal advisers will have told them that it is a nuissance action brought to attempt to manipulate the Courts and the media”

And that is the truth.

But how come when I said essentially the same thing a week or so ago you gave me grief and called me an idiot,?Not that I care if I am called an idiot since I can take my licks.

I say again the Canadian papers are NOT (1.) interested, and (2.) don’t want to touch this nuisance case by obviously lawsuit happy people. Barbados newspapers – same thing. And there is no way this would make page 6 of a paper in even a tiny Canadian town. Maybe not even page 36.

Did I not compare this case to a woman who loves to talk ad infinitum anout her long, long estranged husband? The truth 99.999 percent of us in Barbados don’t care. And NOBODY in Canada cares about this case.

All the litigants need to get real. Tell them to go on the internet and to take the time to read some of the big Canadian papers (and some of the small ones too) so that they get an idea of what Canadian papers consider to be news.

37. J, chile, I give up on you. You just don’t understand do you. Have you read what David said? Let me help you.

David // September 24, 2008 at 9:15 am. We look forward to your submissions BWWR. Some will not admit it but this story has its following as our stats show.

So, J, you are not one of the followers. Big deal. But why are you so determined that no one else will follow the story? Please tell us. Are you appointed the arbiter of what we are to follow? I stand by what I said of you before.

38. akabozik // September 25, 2008 at 11:21 pm. All we know is that the company was not incorporated in Barbados. It does NOT mean that it did not exist. In any case, there is no law of which I am aware that prevents a lawyer making an offer on behalf of an intended company. There is NOTHING illegal in what Mr. David Simmon Q.C. did. Keltruth and BFP both know that. But they know that you do not.

39. Pat, I think we have to take on board the fact that there are about 5 or 6 hands writing Keltruth and since my comments yesterday, some of those hands have clearly been at work here in this discussion on BU, in my view, maybe just the same hand under different aliases. I also have to tell you that I do not think that those hands on Keltruth or here or on BFP are Kathy Davis’ too often. I have met Kathy Davis on a number of occasions and I have to say I was most pleasantly surprised. She is a very bright lady with a good sense of humour, none of which is evident in the blogs that bear her name and certainly not in the rediculous letter to the UN and the American Ambassador to Barbados. Maybe she had an off day with the letters. The main writer of those blogs, however, is a completely irrational hysteric who is also a control freak with little education and no common sense. I did wonder at first if it was Madge herself, as this sums up Madge very well. But you know what? It doesn’t matter who it is – this is a blog and the whole concept of a blog and why it has its potency and frelevence and capacity to positively affect society, lies in anonymity – the chance for people to bring things into the open that otherwise could not be aired. I respect Keltruth’s right (whichever author it happens to be from time to time) to state their views. I treat the authors and Keltruth itself as being anonymous, not only because that is the essence of blogging, but because I am satisfied that they are not, for the purposes of evidence in a court of law, identifiable with the blogs they author. I am sure, Pat, that you will agree with me on that, with your legal knowledge.

David, I did not think I would be e-mailing you any articles for a little while – at least until after the cross-examinations. However, I am hopeful that later today I will get my hands on some documents that I would like the BU family to see and discuss and, if so, I will post them with my comments.

40. Politically Incorrect // September 25, 2008 at 3:54 pm. Hats off to you, Sir or Madam.

41. BWWR spin spin spin real good when he say “In any case, there is no law of which I am aware that prevents a lawyer making an offer on behalf of an intended company. There is NOTHING illegal in what Mr. David Simmon Q.C. did.”

The letter do not say that it is an offer for a company to be formed. It say a company now existing clear as day. Simmons LIED.

Is it illegal? Maybe if part of a fraud conspiracy. Maybe unethical behaviour for a lawyer.

That letter is clear as day. You spin all you like.

David Simmons signed a false document in a legal matter and he got caught.

42. Dear BWWR:

1. I am almost a senior citizen, not a “chile”

2. This case may indeed have a following on BU, but not in the broad based Canadian or Barbados media.

3. You ask why am I so determined that noone else follow the story.

The truth is I don’t care one way or the other if the story is followed.

Believe it or not I am an impartial observer.

I know none of the litigants and I have no desire to know them.

4. You wrote “Look, the reason no Canadian paper has published anything about this case” I see that we agree. No Canadian newspaper has published anything about this case. I knew that all along, because I took the time to research the case’s media expousure in Canada and I long ago realized that there was NO media expousure in Canada. So yes you and I do agree on something. I hope that that does not mean that you are an idiot also.

43. Our sources in the local media confirmed that instructions have come down from above not to cover this story. They have been veiled references to the matter being sub judice (which we have dealt with on BU) and damage to reputation of the players involved.

When pressed our source confirmed that at a personal level they would publish the story because most Barbadians deserve to know that an interest in Barbados have sued their PM and others whether it is thought to be a nuisance case or not.

44. @ BWWR

Thanks. If “Kathy” is just a handle used by Keltruth, that explains the nonsense posts on BFP at times. It got to the point where I stopped reading anything with that handle. Same as I ignore anything with “Keltruth”.

I am eager to read the promised documents.

David, get em up on the double!!!

45. J, sorry, you are not a chile. You bray and children do not bray.

46. Dear BWWR:

Sorry to disappoint.

But I cannot bray.

However I can write.

Some people even feel that I write fairly well.