Submitted by Yardbroom

Recently a Barbados Government Official said that slaves and their masters travelled the Atlantic to Barbados on the same ship – or words to that effect – in essence they had the same experience; he was castigated…some would say with good reason. I understood what the official wanted to say, but he put it so clumsily that the message was lost.ย  There was interference in transmission; as a result the message’s deeper meaning was sidelined into a tributary of sand.

That we – whites and blacks – came from different lands and have found ourselves on the same rock is true.ย  That we should try to accommodate each other, and try as best as we can to make Barbados a better place in the 21st century is also true.ย  That we should be able to debate or discuss slavery without seeingย a slave master in every white face is also true.ย  However, it should also be true that the interaction between whites and blacks in Barbados should not be a few rounds above a slavery relationship; and blacks should not be seen as slaves in remission.

Slavery should not be an unmentionable word; we will only have put the demon of slavery to rest when the issue can be freely discussed.ย  You cannot dismiss “history” as if it never happened, there is no reason to be uncomfortable about it.ย  One of the reasons why slavery is not openly discussed in Barbados is simply because some of us have not mentally adjusted to the transition.ย  We like to think we have, but honestly we have not.

Some white Barbadians often say, “why have we got to harp back to slavery, why can’t we move on?”ย  Some black Barbadians do not want to be reminded that their foreparents were slaves; the memories are still raw and do not sit comfortable with the middle class professional status, and in some cases wealth.

You can acknowledge the elephant in the room or pretend it is not there, but ever so often it will trumpet and you have to notice its presence…perhaps at an inconvenient time.ย  Or you can acknowledge its presence even feed it a few green leaves, and there will be harmony of mind and body.

I find it rather surprising that some religious black Barbadians say they don’t want to be “reminded” of slavery because of the suffering of black people; and yet they do not mind being constantly “reminded” of the crucifixion of Christ on the cross, because his suffering, strengthens their faith.ย  Remembrance has not always got to be painful, it can give cause for “reflection” and strengthen us mentally.

Now the Government official again, it would be arrogant of me to suggest that he did not know what he was talking about…he surely did, perhaps the message was not quite clear.ย  The people who travelled to Barbados in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries were in different categories.ย  There were a few who did not even travel, they allowed agents to do that but their fingers were still in the pie; as many grand country houses in England can testify.ย  They were investors, looking for a good return on their capital investment.ย  Then there were landowners, planters, indentured labourers/servants, slaves, Christiansย and many others too numerous to mention here.ย  The only method of transport was by ship and thus so they came.

Of the above-mentioned groups the slaves had no choice, they were also seen as not “quite human”.ย  For those who seek to refute the above and try to equate indentured labourers/servants with slaves that is a non-starter.ย  Brevity limits further exposition here.

Slavery is as much a part of who we are as any culture we seek to associate with in Africa.ย  Slavery was with us in the plantations of Barbados, perhaps some of us do not want to be reminded of the elephant in the room, but it is sitting there, regardless of if we like it or not, and we cannot wish it away.

We should be proud Barbadians, confident of who we are, know our past and history and be able to take our place among other nationalities.ย  It is by understanding that and looking at what we have achieved and hope to achieve in the future we can be a proud people, “all” of us.

I will leave the final word to the Government official perhaps he meant… we should be able to successfully accommodate Barbadians of all shades in Barbados, from the very black to those who are white – and the shades in between – without advantage or handicap, because that is not our history, but it is our “future”, it is who we are.

209 responses to “Barbadian Slaves, Masters And The Atlantic Journey: People In A Ship”

1. We would like to think we have but are we truely emancipated? When we like at the treatment meeted out to white as opposed to blacks in this country. The strangle holt both financially and ecomonically that the white both local and foreign have on blacks in this country. How can we boast of having broken the shackles?. If the blacks and whites came over in the same ship, it would have had to be QM1, white in Ist class and the blacks in the belly by the engine room. Sorry folks but we still in the “middle passage”, only difference we’re being fed a little better.

2. Yep, agreed Scout.

But here is the thing. Barbados is a Capitalist societyโ€ฆ that means in essence that it operates on the same principles as the society of our unfortunate forefathers. Greed, profit, growth, exploitation of beast, environment, work force and consumer. And very much to the same degree. To accept this form of development necessarily means that one must forget oneโ€™s beginnings. It is a matter of coping by repressing the relevant parts of your conscience.

So focus a bit on the White people. Why do they still have virtually all white limes at say Harbour Lights and virtually all White Kadooment bands and virtually all White get aways at Cattle Wash. Thanks to forced integration of White males at secondary schools, you will find a significant number of them taking Black brides and singing rap and dub on public stages. But this will now come to past as there will be starting a secondary school for them at St Winefreds again, just like the good old days.

According to John King โ€œBlacks and Whites live like rice and peasโ€ and it has everything to do with slavery, but with Whites being the major offenders.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

…..”starting a secondary school for them at St Winefreds again, just like the good old days.”

No doubt the whites are getting worried.

4. Blacks in Barbados, especially upper middle class ones do not want to have any discussions about slavery. Some of them don’t even want their children to know where they themselves were raised. That’s why I can understand the Jews. The Hollocast was no where near the severity of slavery but they NEVER let you forget and they always reiterate that it will NEVER happen again. We still letting slavery happen mentally.

5. How right Tony.
    Slavery can never be forgotten nor should it be it was a terrible thing.
    But is it wise to keep on about it in the context of today?
    I doubt if there is a child in the country who is not completely aware of his heritage from history lessons.
    Its not a cause for shame to be a descendant of slaves, on the contrary it is testament to the endurance of these brave forebears that despite everything they lived and passed down their genetic qualities to their children.

’emancipate yourself from mental slavery’

Truly immortal words.

6. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

that uwi prof who writes in the Nation had an interesting piece on the same-ship speech a few weeks back…did anyone see it?

7. Many of u will be aware of my ‘history’ at BFP, but, as much as, generally speaking, I’m a great admirer of theirs, in all the considerable time that I’ve been following their blog, I can’t recall this subject ever being discussed, there!! Are they, in your opinion, also part of the ‘great-silence’ re: our legacy of slavery and the superior, treatment accorded to whites in Bim, today?!!

8. Carson C. Cadogan // September 5, 2008 at 10:19 pm

โ€ฆ..โ€starting a secondary school for them at St Winefreds again, just like the good old days.โ€

No doubt the whites are getting worried
    The Closed Brethren started a school for their children way way back in the 1990’s. Don’t know if coed caused it or computers …… or what.

I heard Major Hugh Barker was the principal.

I went to school with Brethren children. I remember they could not eat with us “sinners” and were excused from prayers, but in every other respect they were one of us.

I remember “Caveman” on the small field playing “bruise”.

To this day, if you want to hear Bajan spoken as it should be spoken, talk with a Brethren.

I think everybody worried about Barbados …. and for a long long time!!

9. I’ll briefly state my view on this ‘slavery’ issue altho I know it won’t go over very well and I’ll be attacked. (So what?)

1. I’m saying the more ‘slavery’ talk we have … that simply goes round and round … the more ‘slave ships,’ lectures on the topic and ‘monuments’ we have … is the more we submerge ourselves in the melodrama of the past. WE LOVE TO DWELL IN THE PAST and use it as the #1 excuse everytime to ‘explain’ our failures. We do not see “slavery education” in a positive light. We see it only as negative.

2. My view is, we should stop these labels we delight in using…. a person is ‘white’ ‘black’ ‘a jew’ ‘a buddhist’ ‘a foreigner’ ‘an englishman’ etc. AS IF THESE DESIGNATIONS REVEAL THE PERSONNA OF THE PERSON.

3. Obama, for example, is ‘a black man’ (altho from what I’ve read – he is more ‘white’ than ‘black’ — but case in point: his main qualification is that he is ‘black.’) Which implies that any vision, ability, or carissma he has … is because of his color. What rubbish thinking! If he loses the election it will not be that MaCain managed to perusade the electorate that he was the better qualified to be President… it will be because he was ‘black.’

5. We Bajans simply will not look through the right end of the telescope – which brings distant objects near and clear — we look through the other end and all we can see is a blur.

But facts disclose that ANYBODY, regardless of their race, country of origin, religion, social standing, or what … CAN ACHIEVE, EXCELL and SUCCEED provided the proper methodology is undertaken … essentially this means: not talking ‘no’ for an answer, preparing oneself with the neccessary knowledge to do the job, etc. etc. Of this latter para, I can personally attest.

10. Amen to Centipede’s words.

11. There are some blacks that are more “white” than the so-called white man.They allow the whites to use them to do their duty work, while dangling an apple in front of them. In the end these same blacks get kicked in the butt. They are used, abused and then discarded. This still happens today, so how can I forget slavery? I’m still in the “middle passage” thanks to some of my own black “white minded” people.

12. Centipede, you put your hand in your mouth. You are not being consistent here. Let me paint a scenario to you.

Since the Olympics just done: imagine you have an athlete who can run a 100 metres in 9 secs flat but you can only run 10 secs. You break every limb in his body so that when he recovers from the physical injuries, he can only run 12 secs flat.

Then you tell him he has the ability, but you know what? you winning all the time at 10 secs flat. He can no longer win on account of the physical injuries he sustained.

Obama may lose because he is black but he will not win because he is black, rather, because he is malleable. In this case, he only happens to be black. If you say that to be malleable is to be black, OK, but that is a trait that can found in many other races, especially when psychologically subjugated.

I see also that you want to redefine the English usage. Funny enough, you should read that book by Dick Stoute, “The Fear Factor”. He giving them away.

We cannot and will not overcome the mental and psychological wounds of slavery unless it can be openly discussed (check the reconcilliation hearings in South Africa under Mandella). You cannot overcome an injury unless you know and understand the gravity of the injury and then find the best path to healing.

Whenever a person have to speak their mind about something, some racist or “defender of racists” person will start crying racism, 1. to make you feel guilty and shut you up; 2. to keep you in a state of animated downpression; 3. to leave the accuser in a position of superiority and the accused as the victim.

The point is, black people do not have the first clue about racism. We do not train our children to shoot at white images. We do not train our dogs to attack white effigies. We do not conspire to live fat and deprive the poor.

We do not conspire to keep them out of our schools and night clubs. We do not conspire (in Barbados that is) to form social clubs exclusive to blacks and even if we do, when a white man turns up, he is welcomed with open arms.

We can understand that a white family (any family) should be able to consult together without the presence of outsiders, but they can’t. Is that a fear factor?

The amount of wealth in the hands of the white Barbadians today can slove all the problems we have with poverty and deprivation in this land, but that is not in their interests.

For all intents and purposes white people still see us as their servants. There may be no bull whip (except a mental and psychological one) but for sure, they use their wealth to make you do what they want to earn the profits they want and really don’t care too much about Black.

Let me put it bluntly. I know of no white man who is a professional labourer, i.e. works as a labourer and live off the wages of a labourer all his life. All the labour provided in Barbados is black labour (except for the Chinese).

Well if that ain’t slavery, I do not know what is? We are relegated to the role of providing all the labour, just like in the old days. A black man without qualifications becomes a labourer. A White man without qualifications becomes the manager of the labourers. Nothing to do with ability but all to do with the colour of your skin.

Ever wonder why competition, advertising, promotions, etc. are not allowed in the legal and medical professions? Don’t tell me about ethics, that is wall which they put up seemingly made of iron . The pharmaceutical companies doing it, so now you tell your doctor what to prescribe. Hah! In through the back door using the doctor as a vehicle on an exclusive highway.

13. Thanks for that ROK … I guess I looking thru the wrong end of the telescope. ?

14. Of course I knew the point I was making could not be understood…

It’s hard (impossible) to talk of 6 -7 – 8 where 1-2-and-3 is the status quo.

“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you always got….”

Carry on smartly my countrymen … sorry to have rocked the boat. See you on another thread, but not on this one.

15. ROK

I know “white” people who work or worked as labourers and live or lived off the wages of a labourer all their lives. I know “black” people too … and Indians and Chinese too.

If you have never seen any “white” ones and want to see them and don’t see them here, go to “white” people countries and look.

If you want to see slave work, work for your family. But be careful because very often what an outsider might rate as slave work is really sacrifice for a long term goal.

There is nothing wrong with being a labourer or a worker.

The most enjoyable and fulfilling work is labour work, particularly agricultural work.

I am a “professional labourer” and I labour for what wages I get and hope to do so till the day I die. Most people are “professional labourers”.

I know Closed Brethren who left school with minimal sometimes zero qualifications and work in their family business.

None of the Brethren who were at school with me were allowed by their families to go into sixth form.

They were put to work and started families when I was at university getting an “education”.

Many of them are white.

They take pride is in the work they produce with their hands. If I could do with my hands a quarter of what I see them do with theirs I would be even happier with my lot in life.

You are confusing wealth with money.

Lowdown has wealth.

Michael Cozier offered him the whole of Vaucluse Plantation to make profitable in agriculture. He told him no thanks, he didn’t know what to do with all the money he would make.

Guess you would call him “white”.

Wealth is many things, health, happiness, contentment etc. It can include money but doesn’t have to.

Wealth is also immeasurable.

Money is money, very measurable, very finite.

I rather have wealth than money, although I admit money is important and would not want to have to do without it, …. but then wealth allows you to get money!!

So, to your statement: “The amount of wealth in the hands of the white Barbadians today can slove all the problems we have with poverty and deprivation in this land, but that is not in their interests.”, I say baloney!!

If you don’t already have wealth, even if you could do it, taking someone else’s won’t solve your problem.

What will happen is that you will probably get poorer.

16. ROK
    “The point is, black people do not have the first clue about racism. We do not train our children to ….. We do not conspire to …Etc. ”

Nicely put, and to my mind on the mark.
    Are you aware that White people in the main also prefer to consult with White medical and legal advice? I know of one school mate who lost his arm because he refused to be treated after an accident by a Black A&E. The population of White people is so small that it should be amazing that they have not been bred out of existence by now. The Brethren do not allow inter racial marriage within their clan, in fact about five years ago they were allowed to import a number of White women from South America to replenish their numbers. (And Blacks still buy from themโ€ฆ shame). Well Bizzy had a taste of the darker side and heโ€™s been snared.

By the way Indians prefer fair skin people to work as their maids.

The scout
    There are some blacks that are more โ€œwhiteโ€ than the so-called white manโ€ฆ

And many of them served in the past BLP administration. in the days when the Barbados Mutual was considered a White managed company that made decisions that were heavily skewed in favour of the White community, Sir Henry and Mr. Simmonds sat quietly on the board virtually unnoticed until Elombe and Hillary Beckles challenged for their seats.

Scout these people that you refer to are invariably Black lawyers and to my mind not one of them suffered for the exercise.

17. Sorry the Anonymous post above was mine.

18. Anonymous // September 6, 2008 at 9:52 am

Are you aware that White people in the main also prefer to consult with White medical and legal advice?

How many “white” doctors you know in Barbados?

Exactly how many “white” cardiologists, or gynacologists or psychiatirsts or GPs are there in Barbados?

What about lawyers? Exactly how many “white” ones are there?

Open your two eyes and look before you make these comments.

19. @CENTIPEDE

If the people as you say continue to talk 1-2-3 and in your opinion we need to go to 6-7-8, do you think avoiding/running away from the debate is the answer? How can the the 1–2-3 people make the quantum leap to 6-7-8 without the benefit of your leadership?

20. Sorry Anonymous, I meant to address BAFBFP although I didn’t know it at the time!!

If you look carefully you will realise that the “white” people you are referring to are for the most part, actually coloured. Most of them call themselves Bajan, not “white”.

They are products of interracial liasons which have been going on from the year dot!!

I know “black” brethren, “coloured” brethren” and “white” brethren. Many of the brethren boys I was at school with married foreign girls who also belong to the Closed Brethren. Those girls left their countries to be with their husbands in Barbados.

Likewise, many of the brethren girls who were at school with my sisters are married to foreign boys who also belong to the Closed Brethren. They left Barbados to be with their husbands.

The Closed Brethren religion is not only limited to Barbados. There are members of the religion around the world.

It is a medical fact that intermarriage within a small gene pool can cause genetic defects.

If you go to the prayer book you will find which relations the Anglican church forbids you to marry.

Barbados, were it not for its links with the world, could be termed a small gene pool, ….. not only for Closed Brethren!!

21. John,

Sorry, I will not allow you to mix up situations. In white man land, of course they enslave their own. I want you to show me a professional white labourer in Barbados, or in Ghana, or in South Africa for that matter.

For you to twist things to tell me that white people are slaves in their own land is a distortion of the reality in Barbados and comfort for a fool.

Another twist I will not let you get away with is to say that we have wealth and then tie it to some God-given talent. Nonsense. What can balck people do with their hands that these brethren surpassing. Again, we do not have the wealth of the brethren to coordinate it and put it to work.

These principles that you speak of are capitalists principles where there is subjugation. Tell them about the strict subjugation that the brethren keep up. When you get ostracised from the brethren you lose everything. At least the mindset and socialising of the brethren is to keep that carrot dangling.

Don’t tell me about any pie in the sky because that is another mythical carrot designed to keep you happy in your suffering and secure in the knowledge that “God will Judge”. It is also said that God helps those who help themselves, so you can’t tie me up.

Yes we don’t know about how to treat money. A pauper will always be a pauper and if you give him a million dollars he will be a million dollar pauper. It is a mindset conditioned by centuries of brutality.

All this talk about everybody is a labourer is trivialising a serious topic. Trying to squeeze out through the bottom? If everybody is a labourer why only some got a peck and shovel in their hands? Why not everybody? Let all the white men give up their businesses and hold labour jobs.

I hearing you now, but before you start, let me say that if such happens we won’t end up like Haiti. The white man is no God and anything he can do we can do equally better. In any case, much of the white man’s businesses are managed by blacks.

If you in Russia, don’t compare it. I talking about Barbados and all the majority black and other ethnic populations in the Caribbean.

Finally, to quote you, “If you donโ€™t already have wealth, even if you could do it, taking someone elseโ€™s wonโ€™t solve your problem.”

Totally agreed. When the white man took our wealth from us (as we still allowing him to take) it did not solve his problem? I am glad to hear that. Maybe if it is repatriated it will solve ours. The white man will definitely be poorer. It is our wealth; every last piece.

22. John,

So how many white people there are in Barbados that the existing white doctors can’t serve? They probably leave the bedside of black to go and attend white while their black patients suffer.

23. ROK

You simply cannot take somebody’s wealth!!

It is impossible.

You might take his riches, but you cannot touch his wealth!!

If someone has no wealth today it is because he never had any in the first place.

…… and

Since you aren’t able to come up with the number of “white” doctors in Barbados I will help you.

There are no “white” doctors in Barbados.

I am also going to help you with the lawyers.

There are no “white” lawyers in Barbados.

24. Dear John,
    There are a large number of White and Indian doctors and Lawyers in Barbados. In fact the two most vocal doctors (on architecture and heart disease) are White. The most beautiful, gorgeous, sexofilus female doctor in Barbados is a White family Doctor. The only Lawyers that the Banking fraternity refers to for the standard contracts are White. Take a trip to the Swedish Dentists at the Garrison and look at their clientele. Man there are more than enough to go around. I was Banned Again From BFP because I not only criticised US foreign policy, I vocalised my resentment to Bajan Whites out pouring of support for it.

Now Coloured (non-White) people in the Brethren cannot marry White Brethren. If the Brethren wanted to maintain a gene pool there are more than enough Black people around who can facilitate this. Whatโ€™s their problem?

As for the concept of Bajan White, it is nonsense. Where is it written that you have to be 100% pure to be considered White. Stop it man. If a man/woman is 75% White and they wish to be considered White well then they are White, as it is for Black. By insisting on this purity thing, all that you are doing is facilitating an olโ€™ British โ€œtouch of the tar brushโ€ tradition. Canโ€™t you see that?

25. I was Banned Again From BFP because I not only criticised US foreign policy, I vocalised my resentment to Bajan Whites out pouring of support for it.

‘Welcome’ to the club, BAFBFP!! Despite their cliams, they seem short on tolerance for actual, free speech!!

26. You have referred to a whole three doctors in Barbados you consider to be white and who by your argument tend to the needs of the entire “white” population!!

You have not referred to any “white” lawyers!!

How many of these three doctors have actually told you they wish to be considered white?

How do you know they consider themselves to be white?

I hate going to the dentist but I’ve been to the Swedish dentist and the times I went I have only seen “black” people in the waiting room!!

I’ll also tell you this from personal experience, he is damned good, a bit conceited but then who isn’t!

For heaven’s sake don’t tell him I told you that!!

27. BABFP

what’s your problem? Behave yourself. Yuh want a white woman or wuh?

next thing yuh gwine tell me you is a white man because yuh hair aint too kinky.

28. Whenever the subject of slavery and the lineage of Blacks is discussed we tend to want to trivialize the subject. We are dealing with an innate behaviour which has been shaped by decades of how we were socialize. In 2008 we continue to struggle to unfreeze the behaviour.

Gosh in 2008 with a US BLACK President isn’t there affirmative action programs in some places? We have to talk about it, we just have to if we want to move to 6-7-8.

29. John,
    Hell he is good. I agree. Excellent bedside manner but my argument is that though he has Black clients there is a good chance that he services the largest segment of the White population as well. White prefer White, particularly foreign White. You probably go on the days that are reserved for Blacks (that was uncalled for I know).

Harrison, Queens and Lodge (and others) have been throwing out White graduates for decades who have gone on to do medicine. Many of them like the son of the Blanchette (Bโ€™dos Hardware) dynasty prefer to remain overseas and practice, but many return and do their bit.

Now to White Lawyers. Letโ€™s start with Clarke, Gittens, Farmer, Blades etc. There are damned near 600 registered Lawyers in Barbados, even if 5% of that number was White there would surely be enough to go around.. Incidentally that White family Doctor that I spoke of earlier is not only the most beautiful female doctor in Barbados, she could easily be the most beautiful Barbadian alive.

Now if a male of fair complexion takes a White bride then that person is also White wether he admits to it or not.

Bimbro
    I feel a bond forming. The site is a crap site.

30. Deng Xiaping

Not really, but my wife is White. Oh no…! She considers me to be “rough trade”

31. I like this thread. We get to write about how superior white people are and how dey does unfair we poor black people, fuh trute! If de white people would only work for NCC and de white closed bredren marry de black closed bredren then like John 3:16 tings gwine be better.

32. BAFBFP, yuh wife white? Man you is real Pan- Africanist then. Commissiong get throw out cause he wife is a real real black African. I tell he if he want to be a serious Pan Africanist ,he need a white wife … like you.

33. David,
    What triviality are you referring to? If a discussion on race relations far outstrips one on Slavery on the scale of relevance then that is the way it is. Again Slavery is a product of Capitalism and that it why it is still in existence today. Most Blacks in Barbados benefit (tremendously) from this capitalist approach so they would be hypocrites to reflect on an institution that is so much a product the larger institution that provides their bread and butter. So the discussion on Slavery will continue largely within the confines of academia, amounts people with tenure who do not have to compete and capitalise to survive.

As for a Black US President, I am sure you mean half Black, because should he become President, it is the half that is White that will come to the fore in his decision making.

Deng ,
    In affairs of the heart, colour seems not to matter ask Bizzy.

34. David I remember your first gif that was the button to press on to contact BU. It may have been you facing the computer or not but in any event someone that looks like Deng Xiaping probably does would not think that you were kith and kin

35. BAFBFP // September 6, 2008 at 11:25 am

Now Coloured (non-White) people in the Brethren cannot marry White Brethren. If the Brethren wanted to maintain a gene pool there are more than enough Black people around who can facilitate this. Whatโ€™s their problem?
    I have heard what you say about marriage before and actually know of one instance where a “white” Brethren girl chose to come out of the religion to marry a “black” boy against the wishes of her father.

I also know there was a reconciliation between father and daughter years after.

Could not say if this is a policy of the Closed Brethren based on this single event. Perhaps the boy did not want to become a member of the Closed Brethren and was serious about his own religion.

Don’t know if it pertains now, but in the past, in order to marry a member of the Roman Catholic religion you had to agree that your children would be raised in the Catholic faith.

I think you could get away from conversion. If you are marrying a person who takes their religion seriously, you probably take yours seriously too.

People who take their religion seriously do just that, they take their religion seriously. They don’t consider it to be a problem, rather a blessing.

I can count on the fingers of my hand the number of brethren I can recall being told were “read out” in my lifetime. Obviously the majority don’t consider themselves to have a problem.

If a “black” Bajan wanted to convert and become a member of the Closed Brethren I would imagine it would be possible. No doubt there would be some teaching over a period to which the person would have to submit to the teaching.

Similarly, if a “black” Bajan wanted to convert to Islam he/she could, and there would have to be some instruction as well. I know some who converted.

I don’t think an Islamic family that took their religion seriously would allow a child to marry outside of the faith without trying every remedy available to try and keep the family together and acted in accordance with their beliefs.

It is a characteristic of those who take their religions seriously.

It is hard to understand for someone who has not got any firmly held religious beliefs. We watch TV and see such situations and somehow they all end well and everybody lives happily ever after.

But life is different from TV.

36. Sh##te BAFBFP, affairs of the “heart”? yuh about 2 and 1/2 feet too high.

Swedish general manger at CBC, Swedish top dentist that all the pan africanists does go to…I like I gwine have to change me name to Bjorne Nordstom. and to think I thought the chinee was teking over.

37. Now to White Lawyers. Letโ€™s start with Clarke, Gittens, Farmer, Blades etc. There are damned near 600 registered Lawyers in Barbados, even if 5% of that number was White there would surely be enough to go around..
    Sorry to diasappoint you but the Bajan families you name are “coloured” families!!

Even if the families were “white”, you would only have four lawyers to tend to the entire “white” population of Barbados.

How do you get to 30 lawyers, (5% of 600) from these 4?!!

…. and, …

How you know what colour Bizzy is …. or considers himself to be?

38. BAFBFP

Harrison, Queens and Lodge (and others) have been throwing out White graduates for decades who have gone on to do medicine. Many of them like the son of the Blanchette (Bโ€™dos Hardware) dynasty prefer to remain overseas and practice, but many return and do their bit.
    As far as I can remember, my form at HC threw out two lawyers, one black one “white” and a vet, who was “black”. No doctors.

Please note I do not know what colour the “white” lawyer considered himself to be because it never came up in discussion.

Look at the pictures of the Barbados scholars in the paper!!

Again, I am sorry to disappoint you but the Blanchette family is not “white”!!

In today’s world, this “consider to be white or black” thing is rubbish you know!!

Colour is largely irrelevant.

What is relevant can’t be packaged so simply as “black” and “white”!!

39. BAFBFP

You sure the dentist we talking about is Swedish?

40. ROK
    You just preached a sermon, I’m sorry John didn’t understand. Like Bob said
    “emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our mind.”

41. The scout

Sorry I am so dense but I just couldn’t get past the sweeping generalisations.

You actually agree with them?

42. John
    We talking about barbados, I don’t see any white man as a labourer in this country. I know of some very dumb white bajans who end up being masnager of sections of somebody’s business and could hardly spell the Company’s name. I know of a promenent white man who was a director at a big business in this country, who would put his signature to a document without even reading it because he couldn’t read too well and if you wanted it in a hurry he would take your word for it. Yet he was in charge of a large staff who was much more qualified than he except that he was white they were black.

43. @ John

No white lawyers? No white doctors? I went to school with most of them. Who you fooling?

If however, you are taking this lineage thing across the border, let me say that is how our society is structured. So, the clearest get to top and the darkest zoom to the bottom; like cork and lead in water; everytime; without fail.

So when you telling me that the Blanchette family is not white… I hear you… but I not dissapointed.

44. John when did you realise that you are not white and does your family know?

I remember David Thompson telling a whole heap of people in Eagle Hall about 10 years ago that he CHOSE to be Black. At time I thought he didn’t have a choice but now I know.

wunnuh want a life!

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

CENTIPEDE

“But facts disclose that ANYBODY, regardless of their race, country of origin, religion, social standing, or what โ€ฆ CAN ACHIEVE, EXCELL and SUCCEED provided the proper methodology is undertaken โ€ฆ”

You are more fun than a barrel of monkeys. You can’t be talking about Barbados.

46. CCC

Barbados is small and has limited opportunities. Everybody can’t be a brain surgeon. But it doesn’t stop people from achieving excelling and succeeding every day at whatever it is they do!!

The soil tecnician digging graves has a way of doing his job which pleases him. When he gets to six feet he has achieved success.

Some graves he will look at with awe for the perfect symmetry he has obtained or the speed with which he got them made and aspire to repeat.

There is dignity in every person’ labours.

It doesn’t mean I aspire to do that job but when I die, I expect a soil techncian to look after me and do a good job.

I depend on him entirely and am placed into his hands.

Only he can do the job I need at that time.

He is an expert, at the top of his profession.

47. Oh! So it has to do with aspiration? I wonder what a child who has been told that certain things are out of bounds, aspire to? He has to choose from available options and being manager of the labourers is not one of them.

So he aspires to be the best grave digger he can be, gaining comfort and satisfaction from his ability until he reaches 65.

That is pathetic. You want us to live off dignity while you eat the fat of the land. Send one of your children to be a professional grave digger.

48. Deng Xiaping // September 6, 2008 at 2:32 pm

John when did you realise that you are not white and does your family know?
    Do you consider yourself to be Chinese? Is this why you use the moniker?

I am a Bajan.

I can’t remember when I started to figure out who I was or how I realised that skin colour was irrelevant to who I am.

I am still trying to figure out who I am. That’s what’s giving me the problems and engages my mind when it isn’t engaged in other things.

With regards to my immediate family, we never really discussed skin colour to any great length. It was not an important consideration in our household.

Extended family, I believe some figured they were white and some didn’t. Some bothered with the concept, some didn’t.

49. ROK

If the child listens to what he/she is told and allows himself/herself to be defined by that, then he/she will be defined by that, end of story.

What is so great about being a manager of labourers?

That would be a pain in the neck for me but obviously you think it is something great and aspire to it so I am out of order if I tell you it is out of bounds.

It may be for me, but not for you, if you want it.

There are 24 hours in a day and there are not enough graves to be dug in a day that could require all that time.

50. ROK // September 6, 2008 at 2:02 pm

@ John

No white lawyers? No white doctors? I went to school with most of them. Who you fooling?
    You estimate by guessing that out of 600 lawyers there must be 30 “white” lawyers.

You are not dealing with fact.

When you get a chance, google the “Swedish” dentists name and guess what, you will find he has a CV posted on the net and heresy of heresy, not a say he is a “dentist” in the description of what he does!!!

He doesn’t consider himself to be a dentist, although the two of us consider him to be one.

I now leave it to you to find out if he considers himself to be Swedish, or, to explain how you arrive at that conclusion!!