Submitted by Bush tea

NON-TARIFF BARRIERS (NTBs) imposed by some developed countries are a concern for Caribbean governments and, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and International Business Christopher Sinckler warns, they can derail regional efforts to export. Sinckler said agriculture, the region’s “most protected sector” would be the hardest hit by NTBs which he claimed had “reduced the benefits of trade liberalisation”.

The minister told members of the Caribbean Farmers’ Network meeting at Savannah Hotel, “Developed countries such as the United States and the European Union often boast of having very low tariffs relative to developing countries. What they are silent on is the level of non-tariff barriers relative to developing countries.

“Standards generally differ as to the level or incidence of non-tariff barriers. They all, however, seem to point to the fact that NTBs are more prevalent in developed than in developing countries,” he noted.

Sinckler said that while Caribbean governments support establishing international standards for goods and measures aimed at genuinely protecting human, animal and plant health and safety, they would never support measures “which are deceptively designed to exclude the few agricultural products we can competitively export”. (GC)

Source: Nation Newspaper

Chris Sinkler, Minister of Foreign Affairs

It is really interesting how quickly our new ministers learn the language of international politics (.. from the old civil servants no doubt..)…. Did you note the term ‘NON TARIFF BARRIERS’ (NTB)? …. Sounds so harmless…

Let me define that term for the BU family.

The developed world has led a global drive to remove all national barriers to international trade. Their plan was based on the premise that their superior technologies and economies of scale would easily allow their industries to overwhelm those of the developing world who would then be reduced to mere markets. This is the real focus of Globalization.

The developed countries then essentially removed their trade tariffs. HOWEVER, they introduced numerous and varied OTHER barriers to trade which effectively inhibits the ability of developing countries to export goods to these developed markets.

Examples of these NTBs are:

1-The establishment of new safety and health rules, which require expensive and exhaustive ‘safety standards’ to be met for all products imported.

2 -Setting new and ever-changing Quality standards that must be met in order to qualify for export status. These Quality standards, such as ISO2000, incur significant costs, and exposes any industrial secrets to the first world ‘inspectors’. This removes any possibility of competitive advantages for developing industries.

3- Providing substantial subsidies to their own farmers and manufacturers which artificially lower their per-unit costs resulting in unfair advantages over those of developing countries who are not allowed subsidies.

These are only SOME of the schemes designed to disadvantage and frustrate us.

Despite these well documented and generally known shortcomings, we still have third world leaders calling for us to ‘sign on’ to this trap called the EPA.

What ROT.

Rather than wasting time even debating this useless document, Bajans should be being educated about the REALITIES that face us – USING LANGUAGE that we understand…

What Non Tariff Barriers What?!?

Did you mean ‘underhanded, deceitfulness’ Mr. Sinckler? And if these are the kind of ‘partners’ that we will have to work with do we really need meaningless agreements – or should we be seeking realistic COUNTER STRATEGIES?

…..we may well all end up in duck’s gut anyway… But Bush tea would MUCH PREFER to go down roaring and fighting like a lion, than being led like sheep to certain slaughter…

Related link

CARIFORUM EU (EPA) Deal Could Be Problematic For CARICOM

81 responses to “Minister Sinckler Admits "We are being tricked…."”

1. Are we hearing correctly? Will there be a delay in the signoff of the EPA? It seems after being engaged in the CARIFORUM/EU EPA negotiations for so long we are starting the process of public engagement which should have taken place earlier.

Where is Dr. Don Marshall? Part of his commentru has been challenged by others. Dr. MArshall you need to respond on this and the SSA matter Sire! The BU family needs to hear more.

2. Wow!……When are we going to have a confirmation without being overturned a few hours later? Three days ago, Minister Sinckler said that the EPA would be signed stated that Barbados will be signing with or without the other member states on September 2, 2008. Now we are hearing from the PM that he will be meeting with the other Caricom partners, also we are hearing about a new date of September 8 as proposed by Caricom’s Chairman PM Spencer. Regardless when we sign, who will sign and who have no intentions of signing, the EU will still be calling the shots. This is just another way for third world countries to be suppress by the ‘big boys’. But again, these world financial leaders are having the last laugh since we have a problem of working together. What a laugh!!!!!

3. tell me why said;
    Regardless when we sign, who will sign and who have no intentions of signing, the EU will still be calling the shots. This is just another way for third world countries to be suppress by the ‘big boys’.

What is interesting about this correct comment from ‘tell me why’ is that even those like ‘STEADY’ above, who are calling on us to sign the accord knows it to be true…

It seems that these people have adapted the attitude that since we are going to be suppressed anyway, we may as well make the process legal by agreeing to the process, thereby allowing our oppressors to proceed with a clear conscience.

…and ‘STEADY’ has the gall to ask what choice do we have?!?

What choice what!?!

Have you ever heard of standing up on your own two feet like a MAN? have you ever heard of pride? courage? are we all lackies? who can only think in terms of what handouts are available from the ‘developed’ countries?

I just listened to the great duke of york talking about how ‘…there are some positive aspects of the EPA’ and going on to talk about ‘grants being available….’
    …and these are our LEADERS?!?!?!
    no wonder we are where we are….

This is an EXACT repeat of the Red Indian situation in North America, where the Gringos came with gifts of costume jewelry and grants and alcohol and guns and convinced those Indians of the ilk of STEADY and ‘in the name of GOOD’ to sign the appropriate treaties….

4. what's with the secret name BFP know who your anyway Avatar
    what’s with the secret name BFP know who your anyway

But Bush tea you seem to have missed the point
    ‘STEADY” was making. I thought, unless in mis-read, he said that the option is ours.

As sovereign countries no one can make us sign anything we can as you correctly said “stand on our own two feet” tell the EU go to hell and deal with the consequences. That’s our right!

The question is, as small countries with very weak economies that rely so heavily on trade and investment to earn foreign exchange, can we bear the consequences?

Now you might think it is weak, submissive of our governments to sign, but government have to think about the welfare of all its people most of all the most vulnerable in the society who rely on government intervention to survive. And it would be irresponsible of any government to sign or not an agreement that it believes will or will not as the case maybe damage the economic fortunes of their country.

We must stand up for our right true but we must also weigh in the balance the appropriateness of what we are doing and how many can hurt by our actions. With great power comes great responsibility. Take for example the US Federal Air Authorities make several rules governing travel and management of airports that their national carriers fly into. Barbados is one of them. We dont get to negotiate any of those rules with them yet every year or so we are subjected to inspections by US authorities.

Now we can “stand up on our own two feet” and say to the US people to hell with you we are not follow any rules you prescribe which we think are not in our best interests. We can do it – its in our right as a sovereign country.

But there are consequences to that. Just suppose we do and the US determines our airport to be unsafe and bans their planes from coming here. Could you imagine the economic fall-out for our tourism sector, investment, society generally. The jobs that could be lost and social collapse that would ensue. All of that because we felt so proud and bold and brave that we told them to go to hell we ent signing not trave rules that we dont like.?

Think Mr. Bush Tea. Its not just narrow individual interests we have to take account for and it is not just to look strong and independent. This world does not just work like that any more. We have to weigh all the options and decide what is the best course and sometimes the realities are that in the interests of the general good even though at an individual level we think otherwise, we have to sign agreements such as the EPA.

5. what's with the secret name BFP know who your anyway Avatar
    what’s with the secret name BFP know who your anyway

But Bush tea you seem to have missed the point
    ‘STEADY” was making. I thought, unless in mis-read, he said that the option is ours.

As sovereign countries no one can make us sign anything we can as you correctly said “stand on our own two feet” tell the EU go to hell and deal with the consequences. That’s our right!

The question is, as small countries with very weak economies that rely so heavily on trade and investment to earn foreign exchange, can we bear the consequences?

Now you might think it is weak, submissive of our governments to sign, but government have to think about the welfare of all its people most of all the most vulnerable in the society who rely on government intervention to survive. And it would be irresponsible of any government to sign or not an agreement that it believes will or will not as the case maybe damage the economic fortunes of their country.

We must stand up for our right true but we must also weigh in the balance the appropriateness of what we are doing and how many can hurt by our actions. With great power comes great responsibility. Take for example the US Federal Air Authorities make several rules governing travel and management of airports that their national carriers fly into. Barbados is one of them. We dont get to negotiate any of those rules with them yet every year or so we are subjected to inspections by US authorities.

Now we can “stand up on our own two feet” and say to the US people to hell with you we are not follow any rules you prescribe which we think are not in our best interests. We can do it – its in our right as a sovereign country.

But there are consequences to that. Just suppose we do and the US determines our airport to be unsafe and bans their planes from coming here. Could you imagine the economic fall-out for our tourism sector, investment, society generally. The jobs that could be lost and social collapse that would ensue. All of that because we felt so proud and bold and brave that we told them to go to hell we ent signing not trave rules that we dont like.?

Think Mr. Bush Tea. Its not just narrow individual interests we have to take account for and it is not just to look strong and independent. This world does not just work like that any more. We have to weigh all the options and decide what is the best course and sometimes the realities are that in the interests of the general good even though at an individual level we think otherwise, we have to sign agreements such as the EPA.

6. @what’s with the secret name BFP know who your anyway

A good technical argument. The counter is to visualize the impact on the world if small and vulnerable states decided to push their interest for a change without fear, do you think the developed world would let us all fritter away and die?

It is one reason why we have always regretted that the Non Aligned Movement has moved off the radar. The dismantling of the cold war era obviously had something to do with it, the price we pay for progress.

7. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“Man Wid de Long Name”,

I think you have missed the point. You and the rest of our “leaders” seem to be suggesting that a bad agreement is better than no agreement. Is that what leadership has come to in the Caribbean? Can you imagine if Gandhi or Martin Luther King or Mandela had taken that sort of position where their people would be today?

Yes, there are consequences of not submitting to the demands of a bully… they are called RESPECT and HONOUR.

8. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“visualize the impact on the world if small and vulnerable states decided to push their interest for a change without fear…”

What a vision statement David!

It all comes down to courage… we need to demand it from our leaders and they need to demand it from us.

“You can live with pain. You can live with embarrassment. Remorse is an awful companion.”

9. “Person with the long name” (There is something about being called a MAN!!)

I do not think that I have missed any point. Nor am I talking anything about telling the EU to go to hell… Indeed, were I in their place, Bush tea probably would not even bother to be as ‘proper’ as they obviously are trying to be, in their plans to convert us into their chattel….

I am talking about US!!! OUR leadership and OUR self image.

OF COURSE THERE ARE CONSEQUENCES. Only fools and children expect that life is about getting whatever you want with no consequences.

There are also consequences to taking the ‘easy’ way out and signing your own death warrant -So we have a choice:

1 – Sure loss of our productive sectors, loss of our sovereignty, reduced standards of living to whatever our new masters consider deserving for us, and loss of any pride and MANHOOD that we have accumulated over the years.

Choice 2 is that we sign NO agreement UNLESS it meets our clear minimum standards; Be prepared to give up any ‘grants’ and bribes that so many of us like to aspire to; Take control of our OWN destiny and WORK to establish a standard of living that WE can sustain; …And expect nothing from those who in reality want to dominate us.

You are supporting a preference to sign a sellout agreement and become a ‘kept-Miss’, rather than to take the RISK of seeking our own destiny?
    …A real MAN would not support such a stand.

…consider CUBA, one of the outstanding examples of great leadership in the last two centuries – whether you like Castro or not. They have demonstrated, like the Jamaicans in Sport, that small is a matter of the mind…

10. Have you ever visited Cuba Bushtea?

Cuba is no model to behold. And whether you like it or not, Cuban blacks are still at the bottom of their little egalitarian society.
    If you have visited Cuba, then you will know this to be true. If you havent, you really need to take a trip over there. There’s nothing in that model that worth wha paddy shoot at.

On the issue of the EPA, can we please trust the highly educated technocrats, diplomats and negotiators who have worked on this for the past five years? Can we trust that their advice to the Minister is rooted in sound analysis?

I believe that this group of people believe that this is the best root for Barbados.
    This is the same group of people who told Chavez to go to hell with his PetroCaribe deal that Barbados doesnt want any part of it.
    Let’s trust them.
    The academics who come hear and criticize the EPA are envious that they werent part of the negotiating team. They’re jealous that they were sidelined from the free trips to Brussels and Geneva. Trust me, if they were part of the negotiating team, the outcome would be the same. We were outnumbered, outpowered, outwitted and outsmarted. It was an asymmetrical negotiation. Sign it ya doomed, dont sign it, ya more than doomed. So what do you do. You sign it and hope for the best. You can always reverse it. It’s not written on stone, that’s the beauty of legislation.
    To use your model, look at how much legislation Cuba turned over.

11. Anonymous

Please don’t rush in where wiser men fear to thread…
    I will just quote you to make my point…
    We were outnumbered, outpowered, outwitted and outsmarted. It was an asymmetrical negotiation. Sign it ya doomed, dont sign it, ya more than doomed. So what do you do. You sign it and hope for the best.
    ….you is some kind of idyot or what!?! You admit that you and your negotiating team were incompetent and now call on Bajans to trust wanna? … you think all o’ we is sheep?

No wonder you all were outwitted… My reference to Cuba was solely to demonstrate the FACT that small does not mean doomed.
    YES I have been to Cuba – as recently as since Fidel’s brother was president. Don’t you understand the concept of LEADERSHIP? Did I say that they had a model society?

Is this how you argued during your sweet trips to Europe? (or maybe you was too busy sightseeing and shopping…)

How can you admit that you all did a piss poor job; were bullied into submission; came up with a poor agreement for us – and now call on us to support the signing ‘…because we can always back out..”

look – I will no longer be responding to any comments from you…

12. Maybe we should have invited you to be part of the negotiating team Bush Tea.
    This EPA is the best alternative to all the possible options that were put forward within the framework of the power play. So I say hurray to our negotiators!
    Have you read the agreement? I dont think so… like so many, you are speaking in a vacuum.

Now you say, “My reference to Cuba was solely to demonstrate the FACT that small does not mean doomed.”

I dont know which Cuba you visited. You are a blasted liar if you dont think Cuba is anything but doomed. The Cuban people are crying out for a better life. Try talking to them in private.
    I’m sure that if you went to Cuba as you say, that you were able “comunicarse en espanol para poder hablar con el pueblo a fin de compreender lo que esta pasando en esa sociedad.”

Sino tu estas apenas hablando de una posicion de ignorancia como la mayoria de la gente aqui.

13. bush tea, so we can live with pain and suffering. Well well. tell that to the man or women working at WIBISCO or at hanchell inniss who stand to lose their jobs because we have to defend our honour and play manhood.

when they are home sitting down doing nothing and food is needed on the table tell them that. No one is saying that the agreement is perfect but it is hardly not half as bad as people are saying it is.

We have not even implemented one provision in the agreement and here we are predicting the end of history. They said that about the WTO agreement too and look we are still here.

But none of you are yet to say what the alternative is. OK so we dont sign and we stand up for our honour and dignity. Then what.

You speak about Cuba but trust me there are a lot of people in barbados who ent living under those conditions with shortages, no money in yuh pocket, repression, inability to travel and possible imprisonment if you talk about it. So stop trying to romanticize Cuba as if you got people in Barbados breking down the door to go there or live in those conditions.

WHAT IS THE ALTERNATIVE. Who will we export to. And then the big problem.

You might not know this but the USA – CBI trade agreement and the Canadian version CARIBCAN both will run out of legality in the WTO soon too. In fact CBI expires at the end of September and soon we will have to have to enter similar negotiations with these countries.

To be sure we start with Canada this October and the US probably sometime next year. So what do we do in both these cases if we dont like the agreement we negotiate and initial? throw it through the door, defend our honour, and go it alone.

Man you cannot serious. That would spell complete diasater for this region and Barbados.

the reality is that no country, union group or person gets everything you want from a negotiation, you have to compromise on some points and work at a later date to change the things that you want to change.

So is the case here. The agreement is not perfect for the Caribbean – sure- but it has at least 75% of all the things we asked for in the negotiations. Yes we had to give back but that is why it is a reciprocal agreement. Nobody today is giving anything for free. Those days are over.

The fact is that these industrialized countries and even China, India, Brazil and the lot really could not care less about the Caribbean. You bet they would let us suffer and smile doing it so dont fool yourself about that. If you doubt me check out the situation with bananas.

The EU implemented an illegal regime for bananas entering there market that favoured our producers over other countries in Latin America, some of whom say they “love us” and feel that they are “part” of us. But that did not stop them from taking the EU to court and winning a case against the EU banana regime and forcing the EU to open up that part of the market for them even though they know it will wreck the OECS economies.

Why? THEY DO NOT CARE IF WE LIVE OR DIE. THEY JUST WANT MARKETS TO SELL PRODUCT.

So lets stop fooling ourselves and wise up. Implement the agreement and if anything happens that causes undue injury to us invoke the provisions that are they to protect our economies and producers. And if the worse comes to worse we seek to get the agreement set aside. But fo the time being we cant do any of that unless we sign and get it pass WTO.

So as i said before the choice is ours. Dont just tell me all of the reasons why we should not sign the agreement tell me also what is your alternative.

14. @Bush tea

When we talk about leadership as a concept many of our MBAers run to the text book and console themselves with the definition found there. Some people who are provocative will use Adolf Hitler and what he was able to achieve as demonstrating leadership. Before some people jump in with the predictable challenge let us clarify.

Hitler was able to motivate by using the the disrespected emotional arguments which appealed to the blond, blue eyed Nordic bodies being superior to others, he combined that emotional argument with above average intellect, and when combined he was able to create tactical plans which nearly allowed him to achieve his objective of conquering the continent and some might say the world.

He was a vile man who demonstrated tremendous leadership. The same can be said of the Cuban leadership. They have exercised extraordinary leadership skills to be able to sustain itself in the face of an economic embargo for nearly 40 years now? Forget the system of government which a free world may not condone. Leadership is leadership even down a well!

15. @ Bushtea

http://www.crnm.org/documents/ACP_EU_EPA/epa_agreement/EPA_Text%20_11June08_Final.pdf

Go and read the blasted EPA and come back and tell us what is wrong with it and what you would do differently. YOU IDIOT!

16. It’s really sickening when these idiots like Bushtea come hear and give opinions about things they know absolutely nothing about. Just airing their mouth with stink air at that.

When you have read the document, let’s have a real discussion, point by point, page by page.
    Until such time shut to hell up! You dont know what the hell you are talking about. You are bluffing. You are an IGNORAMUS Bushtea.
    It’s time someone shuts you up for coming on here and bluffing!
    Read the document then let’s talk ignoramus!

17. It seems that we have ‘anonymous’ who is testing out the BU comments policy. We are discussing/having a conversation. The epithets which some prefer to use clearly show a lack of intellect. We don’t judge intellect by owning an MBA or ability to speak a number of languages Sir.

It is about snuggly wearing the qualities of humility and respect.

Carry on…

18. ….and besides David, tell dem that you don’t keep spelling here as hear…LOL

19. Ok Sir. I hear you. I sorry ya hear. I believe however that a conversation/discussion should be based on some form of knowledge. Not just pure unfounded opinions like those put forward here by Bushtea. He or she obviously havent read the EPA in its entirety. If he or she has read it, then he or she doesnt understand it.
    I will deal with Minister Sinckler on another occasion. He’s just a mouthpiece! He’s briefed by the technocrats. He came in and found everything in place. He’s another BLUFF. He really cannot walk in the shoes in Billie Miller. It’s a pity that Ministry wasnt assigned to someone more senior and knowledgeable. What a pity.
    The respect that Billie has is amazing. But that’s another story for another day.

20. David can correct the spelling you idiot. He has editorial license. What David cannot correct is your ignorance. Go and read Bushtea. Stop bluffing. U tink I dont know de difference between hear and here – You IDIOT.
    Go and read!

21. ..It is amazing how easy it is to expose monkeys who climb to high up.

Imagine this is someone who claims to represent us in Brussels and just because a well established idiot like Bush tea challenge his ADMITTED failure on a blog, he/she goes off into gutter behavior… well well.
    I wonder how such a person would respond to REAL negotiating pressure from an experienced European negotiator…. hmmmm

Why emphasize that Bush tea is an idiot?? that is well established. Bush tea does not represent anyone in Europe. Bush tea could barely read and write English far less Spanish… the comment bout ‘hear’ was just in case you had to use it at another high level conference LOL.

…some people too easy to expose….

22. You are now using diverting tactics Bushtea (smile).
    I was not part of any negotiating team. I said that we should trust the persons who negotiated on our behalf.
    You are the silly one who jumped to that conclusion then come with silly arguments about Cuba and claimed to have visited there.
    That too I suspect is a lie because no Bajan visiting Cuba can speak in lofty terms about Cuban leadership (unless you are Commissiong or Denny of course).
    The discussion/conversation is about the EPA. Is the document too long for you to read? Is it easier to come here and spout nonsense just for the fun of it?
    Let’s discuss the agreement, IDIOT!

23. @ Bushtea

“..It is amazing how easy it is to expose monkeys who climb to high up.”

Maybe you should tell the Editor to correct you when to use to, two and too!

24. To Bush tea (calm down) Avatar
    To Bush tea (calm down)

You don’t recognise who “anonymous” is? You once thought him a joker then you changed your mind and praised him. He was supposed to leave Barbados but seemed to have changed his mind. Test his knowledge of Brazil. Who uses words like “an asymmetrical negotiation”?

25. @ To Bush tea (calm down)

“Who uses words like “an asymmetrical negotiation?”
    Arin Bayrataroglu uses words like “asymmetrical negotiation.”

Google him an educate yourself!

26. @Anonymous: “I said that we should trust the persons who negotiated on our behalf.”

One of the few quotes of Ronald Regan that I ever agreed with was “Trust, but verify.”

It is appropriate to trust; however, it is also appropriate to understand what is being proposed, and to not *blindly* trust…

Those who are working for us at the negotiating table should spend a great deal of time and energy educating those they represent as to the issues involved…

27. It’s not fair to say that the CRNM did not expend time and effort to educate.
    There were numerous consultations over the last five years. The Bdos govt supported the CRNM financially.
    There was always transparency. All the documents are public and available on the Internet.
    Discussion was always encouraged.

What you now have on the eve of the signing is a handful of leftist trade unionists and envious academics who were not part of the process (by their choice) who now want their stamp on the EPA. They want to insert their little paragraph to be able to thump their chests and say, “I was part of the negotiation.”
    They have now influenced some of the dumb leaders from the other Caribbean islands to stall to process.
    Well thank goodness their influence didnt affect the Bajan politicians. A careful reading of the document will show that we stand to gain more than we lose.

28. ANONYMOUS

It is good to see that you have gotten back on track with the discussion and away from the personal attacks. The other guys would do good to follow suit. I like the blogs but sometimes the personal attacks detract from goos discussion and make blogs sound like just another form of stand pipe discussion.

I thought your attack on the new trade minister was way off base. Surely he is no Billie Miller in terms of experience, but you cannot be serious when you say that the man is not knowledgeable about the subject.

In fact he is an international trade policy expert/specialist who not only has a masters in the subject but as i understand taught the subject at Masters level at UWI. Indeed he has been a practicing trade policy specialist for more than then years. So i doubt very much that he could be a mouth piece for technocrats in the ministry when some of those very technocrats were taught by him at Cave Hill.

David Thompson surely could not have found any more knowledgeable/experience person in his party or cabinet to hold that ministry and so it was always inevitable that Sinckler would go to Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade. And from all reports both inside government, from across the region and internationally everyone i have met seem very impressed with how smoothly, competently he has handled himself in the ministry so far. In fact even the opposition members are saying he is the only Minister in the Cabinet that has his ministry’s work locked down. I think Barbados is fortunate to have a young bright person like that in such a critical ministry.

Now it was Billie Miller who led the region’s negotiation and so the EPA is her’s even though she is not there to shepherd it through to implementation. Never the less I agree with you that quite a bit of education was done not just by the RNM but by government, ngos, unions etc.

But as usual bajans were not paying it any attention and now that the agreement is near signing people are saying that no information was given.

Government though i agree could do a lot more and Chris Sinckler should instruct his people to get to work on this. I know that he has done some press conferences, and even did a brass tacts (is that how you spell it?) with Peter Wickham but more can be done by the officials.

But in the end i agree with you there is more in the agreement to gain than to lose.

Lets keep a good discussion going.

29. @Chris

We agree with your comment 100%.

@STEADY
    We have always had a healthy respect for Chris Sinckler. In our opinion he is combining intellect with a common touch which is invaluable to a budding politician. He possesses what Clyde Mascoll would love to have.

Having declared our soft spot for Sinckler we want to understand his position on EPA as Minister versus when he was out of government and part of some regional policy forum. We also want to understand the government’s position when viewed against recent pronouncements by Monroe-Knight who is a Program Specialist with a forum which is similar or maybe the same to what Sinckler was affiliated before government.

We are not so much concerned with the EPA document when compared to the decision making process involved in the EPA exercise by CARICOM governments. Even if Barbadians are being accused of not listening to the initiatives to educate are we agreed that the same can be said about several CARICOM member states?

30. David. This is an aside that need answers. Can you help?

Can anyone state how come the HIV Commission operating as a non-profit entity should be sponsoring Cricket and now being one of the sponsors for 2008 Olympics on CBC. Where are the large outlay of funds coming from? Am I to believe that the commission is using donated funds to sponsor these events? BFP. are you still on a crop over sabbatical, thus the reason of missing this abused of funds.

31. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

I have three broad concerns relating to the proposed EPA.

Disclaimer: I have read the EPA document and background information provided by the CRNM, but this has been heavy going as I Am Not A Social Scientist (IAN ASS).

1) Many of CRNM’s and Cariforum’s activities have been financed by the European Commission (EC). The EC has also provided a significant amount of training in trade negotiations for our CRNM/Cariforum negotiating teams. Can you imagine going to war (… although in this case its more like Saul and the Israelites facing the Philistines at Socoh), and your opponents are bankrolling your campaign and training your army?

2) The agreement deals almost entirely with market access and “free and undistorted competition” between Cariforum and the EC, and treats to these in very specific terms. Conversely, the huge gap between our level of development and resources, and consequently our capacity to compete on a “level” playing field is only addressed in a very cursory manner (Articles 117 & 121). So… having acknowledged the “inherent asymmetries in respective levels of development of the Parties”, they tell us don’t worry… level the playing field… we’ll teach you how to compete with us afterwards. 142 pages on trade liberalisation and open market access, and 1 page acknowledging our disadvantage and making vague promises.

3) At the end of last year, the ACP council of Ministers issued the following statement on the EPA negotiations: “The ACP Council of Ministers deplores the enormous pressure that has been brought to bear on the ACP States by the European Commission to initial the interim trade arrangements, contrary to the spirit of the ACP-EU partnership.” To date, with the exception of Cariforum, all other ACP states have either refused to sign or have initialed INTERIM agreements. At a time when even our lead negotiators acknowledge the EPA’s many shortcomings, wouldnt it be appropriate for us to show some level of solidarity with the larger group?

Anonymous,

you say “It’s not fair to say that the CRNM did not expend time and effort to educate”.

According to this official EC press release, EC and Cariforum initialed the “final” EPA on December 16 2007: http://www.delbrb.ec.europa.eu/en/press_and_info/releases/Release_Num24-07_EU_CARIFORUM_conclude_EPA_agreement.pdf

When was the EPA document first made available for public discussion?