Prime Minister of Barbados, David Thompson

As we write this blog Prime Minister David Thompson stands in the spotlight of delivering his first budget. Of interest to Barbadians will be what kind of budget the neophyte Prime Minister can produce which will ward-off external shocks caused by global economic turbulence rooted in the rising oil commodities market. Barbadians have long enjoyed a high standard of living which belies its size and resources.

The Prime Minister in a classic General Custer move fired an opening salvo in the budget presentation when he announced that the controversial ‘flyover project’, managed by 3S Barbados Ltd will be halted and the Ministry of Transport and Works in conjunction with local contractors given the task to complete the road widening part of the project. The Prime Minister told the nation that his government will investigate thoroughly the suspect procurement policy adopted by the previous government on the Project.

We commend sister blog Barbados Free Press for its relentless pursuit of ITAL. It appears that the new government is committed to ITAL but good implementation will be key – read Budget 2008 compliments Nation newspaper

The BU household, and no doubt Barbados Free Press feel vindicated that our persistence and exposure of corruption of the ABC Highway Project and 3S Barbados Ltd has now been given validation by the highest office in the land. We must mention that the mainstream media gave this matter token coverage. History must record that the local media failed the PEOPLE on the matter of the ABC Highway Project. We wish to take this opportunity to condemn the local media in the strongest manner, for their passive behaviour on the issue of the handling of the ABC Highway Project by the former government.

There is no doubt that Prime Minister David Thompson is building is a populist position from which to govern Barbados. We applaud this refreshing philosophy to governance. Our democracy can only flourish if the PEOPLE fully participate. The Prime Minister appears at the early stage of his stewardship to be paying close attention to matters of governance. We hope that when integrity legislation and other governance initiatives promised are rolled out that our environment will be PEOPLE centric.

For the moment we will retire to listen to the budget. In the days and weeks ahead we will provide our views on the performance of the Prime Minister at his first budget presentation. in detail.

118 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson Grabs Centre Stage Delivering His First Budget”

1. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

I really liked some features of this budget:

1. The government is finally making an attempt to broaden the tax net by increasing fees paid by certain professionals and businesses. This in my view is a good move. These professionals and entities should bear their fair share of the tax burden. This is a move in the right direction and the initiative should continue. for example, tax audits of many of these types of entities should become a norm. The FTC or relevant authority should vigorously monitor any attempt to price gouge as a result of these long over adjustments.

2. The move to allow independent power providers is to be applauded.

3. The process of seeking representations from various interest groups seems to have been quite effective in generating meaningful and commonsense measures.

4. the notion that policies need to be explicitly funded is refreshing and I hope it remains a feature of this administration.

5. There was definitely a lot of creativity in terms of the revenue generating measures. Who would have thought of a cell phone flat tax?

Good job ,hope as much effort is focused on the implementation and monitoring.

2. How does the BU family feel about the increase on liquor by 50% and tobacco by 100%. He also stop tobacco being a duty free item.

Another interesting revenue measure is the flat monthly tax on cell phones.

The increases in so called sin taxes and license fees for professionals and some businesses seem to be part of a larger effort to broaden the tax base. I think this is a most important initiative that need to be applauded. The Minister of Finance and his team clearly demonstrated a lot of creativity in terms of revenue raising measures.

3. I am now in the process of studying the budget. It appears to be a pretty good first budget, however there are a couple of areas that are worrying. I think the rise in road tax renewals are too high. An increase of $ 50.00 or $ 75.00 would be more acceptible. I think a lot of working people are going to revert to catching the bus. The road tax increase plus the petrol prices ( which I heard MIGHT soon increase again), the spiralling cost of LPG, will bring much burden on the average family. Not everyone goes partying Tony Hall. The other worrying point is the massive increase in temp. license, visitors are already being exploited by the airlines, when they have to pay extra to have their baggage checked, extra departure taxes, extra airline prices, extra gas prices, now a raise from $10.00 to $1oo.00 for a permit coupled with increase in hire fees is asking too much. Lots of small car hire business might go out of business. However, under the conditions I give the budget so far a passing grade

4. “However, the enthusiasm outside was once threatened to be overshadowed by one unhappy spectator vocally demonstrating political discontent under the watchful eyes of police officers.

His sentiments, however, were quickly drowned out by repeated applause hailing the arrival of parliamentarian after parliamentarian. ”

Ian Walcott where were you yesterday?

5. Hip HIp Haraaay
    3S got fired at last. I hope I would see an end to the h’way now. John Boyce that sound like your reccommendation; CONGRATS, ya working. Along with milking us bajans 3S don’t have a private jet at our disposal.

6. I would wait and see how Ms Mottley reply this evening. Incedentally, I thought the former P.M was out of the island. Have not heard from him for a while, I wonder if he’ll speak on the budget

7. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Scout, maybe you can help the discussion by letting us know the cost of such permits in competing destinations.

8. Many are speaking in glowing terms about the budget, but for a government that won an election on promises of lowering the cost of living, its first budget is a dismal failure and when people get over their initial euphoria, they will realize that this budget, while appearing on the surface to ease the low income earners, the pensioners and those with school aged children, will have a great negative impact on the whole population, even those it is claiming to ease.

Consider, virtually everything we buy in the shops and supermarkets gets there via the port in container trucks. Road taxes for most of these vehicles have been increased by 50%. Where do you think this additional cost is going to end up? ON THE CONSUMER. Add that cost to the recent 76% increase in diesel. It is eventually coming out of your pocket.

“Effective January 1st 2009 all accountants, actuaries, architects, attorneys-at-law, dental practitioners, engineers, land surveyors and
    quantity surveyors will be placed in the top category and pay an annual registration of $2,500.00 each.
    I also propose to graduate chiropractors, chiropodists, dental hygienists, dental technicians, draughtsmen, embalmers, funeral
    directors, optometrists, podiatrists and professional promoters from Part II of the Second Schedule to Part I of the Second Schedule”

Virtually every professional has now been dragged into the “license” tax net, the druggist license fee has been increased from $100 to $750. You may say its about time, they can afford it, but who do you think is ultimately going to pay…YOU, THE CUSTOMER.

While they were previously exempt, manufacturers of product for local consumption were not charged environmental tax. They now will be. That’s a further 1.5% on the cost of everything locally manufactured, furniture, food, clothing, soft drinks, milk, beer, rum, everything. Who do you think it is going to be passed on to …YOU THE CONSUMER.

Even your beloved cell phone, you now have to pay $4 a month for the privilege.

Still think your budget is so great? You think the $20 and $23 the pensioners get is going to offset the the increase in the coming additional cost of nearly every conceivable commodity and service?

9. Inkwell

the truth of the matter is that this budget does increase the tax burden by some $30 million.
    How else will our education, health and other social programs be paid for?

The alternative would be to abandon the social welfare net in favour of every-man-for-himself (or more likely a dog-eat-dog situation)!

10. Hear The Prime Minister:

“I consider this an appropriate point in this
    presentation to address the issue of bus fares in general. I alluded earlier to a $27.8 million operating deficit by the Transport Board last
    year alone. Also, rising fuel prices and other operating costs are impacting negatively on the finances of the Transport Board.

A clear case can be made for an increase in the cost of public transport. But, again, as a gesture towards containment of the Cost of Living in Barbados, I am pleased to announce that fares on
    Transport Board buses shall, in this Budget, remain untouched.”

The Prime Minister has obviously forgotten, or doesn’t care, that there is a part of the private sector that provides public transportation and that the same rising prices and other operational costs that are negatively impacting the finances of the Transport Board would have the same negative impact on PSV owners.

But hey, he can subsidize the Transport Board to the tune of $20 million plus per annum out of your and my taxes, but the PSV owners can go suck salt.

How can a government in all conscience use its power to force an entity operated and funded privately to subsidize public transportation OUT OF ITS OWN POCKET, when he acknowledges that, in his own words,

“A clear case can be made for an increase in the cost of public transport”

It follows that the Prime Minister has a clear obligation to provide a subsidy to private providers of public transportation if maintaining a regime of low bus fares is a part, as stated, of his government’s social policy.

This blatant discrimination only results in further alienation of an already ostracized sector and makes it fight harder for survival, even if it means flouting unfair officialdom.

If you want the PSV operators to conform to societal norms, then stop f**king them up, pardon my French, but I can’t think of an apter expression for what is being done to the sector.

Chicken and egg!! Food for thought, if anyone can get pass the automatic antagonism.

11. Inkwell you got it so wrong. dont blame the government for the professionals passing on the increased licensing fees to the consumer. that is just Damn greed; some of them too grabbalicious. Let me give you an example:
    A dentist’ fee goes from $500 to $2500 ; an increase of $2000. Now this dentist happens to see 4 patients a day for 250 working days of the year and this is a conservative estimate of course. That is 1000 patients in a year . the flat increase fee works out to $2 per patient.

NOW TELL ME WHAT HE IS GOING TO PASS ON TO THE CONSUMER

This foolishness in barbados bout passing on fixed one time costs to the consumer in variable terms that bear no relation to the fixed cost increase has to stop. It is avaricious and downright dishonest especially when it is suported by a system which limits price-based competition and advertising. looking forward to a reply.

12. We already pay for the education of the island childrens. (school meals, books etc) Now we have to pay for their transportation. What is next school uniforms.

What will stop poeple from having an abundance of children, they cant afford to have children them now and but they have get 3 or 4
    chlidren and expect the govt to save the day.

Remember nothing in life is free and the increases I am being burdened with is paying to send peoples children to school.

13. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Inkwell, I think talking about percentage changes can be misleading though. An increase in highway fees of $2500 per year translates to $6.84 per day.

It suggests serious pricing power on the part of businesses if that translates into significant price increases.

The government needs to be vigilant as to price gouging due to these very modest costs increases.

14. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

When one looks at these fee increases on an annual basis they are a miniscule amount compared to the annual revenues of the vast majority of these professionals.

Inkwell, do you accept that these professionals should pay less than their fair share of taxes.? We all know they are able to skimp on income taxes.

15. well said trained economist

16. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

I to am very very happy that the Gov’t has closed the door on this talk of Flyovers as they seem to me to have more mileage as flyouts for massive amounts foreign exchange escaping these shores.

When we could stomach and tolerate the fraud being inflicted upon us by BIZZY WILLIAMS Et Al, when STEVEN HOBSON who is known crook brought to these shores by another crook HALLAM NICHOLLS actually these two own a business named NSG they have raped our treasury almost on a daily basis, remember the rejects Land Rover Jeeps supplied to the Gov’t and the Police force that spent more time in the workshop than out of it, it is the tip of the iceberg with regard to a number of cases of fraud that these two carried out against Barbadians they have also been involved in fraud involving Stanton Alleyne at SSA by the supply of truck parts for SSA some of which were never ever delivered.

Then we hear them involved with BIZZY WILLIAMS and DANOS 3 S in the Highway project, BIZZY WILLIAMS should hold his head in disgrace and shame for associating with KNOW FRAUDSTERS unless he to was a willing player to rape the treasury along with these know scamps.

17. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

It makes me laugh when I read some of these comments, I see any and every increase even if so small is an issue for the likes of inkwell I fully understand your gripes but have the heart to praise where praise is due there is so much to appreciate about this budget.

no Budget will make all of us happy but even when the shoe was on the other foot at least you could still see the good that was done by the other side but this is no longer the case for the likes of inkwell, may I suggest to you to that the Gov’t has changed and it is not business as usual.

My congrats to the PRIME MINISTER THE HON MR DAVID THOMPSON for a job very well done, keep pressing forward with your plans and programs for the betterment of our island nation.

18. The perception of price gouging for products and services by bajan business persons and professionals has been establish since the last government. I agree that their known greed and historic unwillingness to share in the burden of previous economic down cycles will resurface once again. However i think it will be difficult for them to win the argument, or to successfully point at government as the cause. I am hearing that the Budget is inflationary, that Barbadians were looking for relief and got none, and i agree to the first and partially so to the second, If i define inflation to be a persistent increase in the level of consumer prices or a persistent decline in the purchasing power of money, caused by an increase in available currency and credit beyond the proportion of available goods and services.

Inflation due to high prices:

But was inflation with us prior to Jan 15th? well where high prices a factor before Jan 15th? I am not seeking to blame the last government, we must be honest and accept that even then the sub-prime loan mess was taking shape and high oil prices was already a factor.

Inflation due to an increase in money and credit availability.
    Did we not witness a cess on imports under the last government? what was it for?
    Wasn’t government encouraging spending and easy credit since 2001 in their Keynesian approach to counter not manage the economic down turn cause by 9/11 and further exacerbated by high oil prices?
    Did they not continue to so do even after being warn that this approach is not meant to be indefinite and that six years later with no global economic turn around, a good approach is likely to become a very bad one?

Did the world not move from 9/11, to War, to high oil prices to sub-prime/financial derivatives issues that all in all continued a global down turn since 9/11?

19. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Is inflation due to an increase in the price of alcohol and tobacco a bad thing?

In the majority of cases, annual fees have been increased. The increases reflect a tiny portion of the revenues of service providers who need to pay their fair share of the tax burden.

I find the inflation argument quite spurious, except service providers are allowed to engage in price gouging.

Can you imagine funeral directors complaining about the need to pass on the cost of the annual registration fee from $50 to $750. The fee has clearly been way too low for too long given the average annual revenues of such firms. This is also the case for a number of the professions and services that are now being asked to begin to pay a small part of their fair share.

I think most of these are reasonable proposals. Salaried employees and corporations have had to bear an unfair share of the tax burden to date. It is time some others paid their bit as well

20. Ah Bush tea innocently writing about ZRs posted,

“BUT devil, we all know that CULTURALLY, most of them belong to you (or your namesake). The music is base, the behavior is sickening -and I am not even talking about their aggressive road tactics – I mean their MORAL norms…. not an environment for our children AT ALL…”

Amen (cough cough) and I would add like …

– many of the shows at the stadium or Gymnasium or Farley Hill;

– many of the Calypso tents,

– the Kadooment Parade,

– the Party Monarch

– the Wet Fete

and this one is nice;

– like some clubs say Club Extreme, Lava Ground and Penthouse (where a well known politician was once held in a Police raid)!

Children frequent all of these places of entertainment if they are to be banned from the ZRs then the next logical step is to ban them from these events as well.

I await the hypocrisy of bloggers.

21. D back page a d nation look too sweet; too sweet; wahlaw! Wahlaw! D BLP could NEVER match dat! TECK A LOOK AT PAGE 4…..MIA sporting long imported horse hair and Dugid looking like he ate everything in sight before the budget speech.Dat man should consider a toupee before doves use all dat forehead as a landing strip.No need to adjust the tone on your tv or radio sets this evening folks; YES it is a woman you will hear…a fe male.

22. As far as I am aware. The only country offering Free Transport is Belgium who implemented it 10 years ago. England was thinking about it but declined. I would like to know how long the country will be able to offer this freeness with Barbados scarce resources. I am saying, the 11 million losses within the budget will tantamount to nearly $50 million factoring in fuel, repairs, salaries and other related costs.

23. Thewhiterabbit Avatar
    Thewhiterabbit

Back to Inkwell who has figured out that the budget is one huge tax grab. Don’t worry about the details, just take the total to be generated (over $100 million, NOT the $30 million indicated by one above) divide by 270,000 and the total tax burden generated is just about $400 per person. If you think businesses won’t pass those new tax burdens on to YOU then you real foolish! Mr. Thompson has come up with some really innovative ways to lower the cost of living by increasing what was already a confiscatory level of taxation. Everybody is always looking for the free hand out without realizing that the only source of money for those same government handouts is YOU! Then, did anybody try to calculate how many new civil servants and government bureaucrats will be needed to manage all the new free hand out programs? Anybody try to calculate the cost of those new government employees? What we need is a really fiscally conservative opposition to get this run-away money-hemmorage under control. There is no such thing as a free lunch, let alone a free anything else!

24. Trained Economist
    The average cost of visitors’ temp license in the c’bean is $ 75.00 E.C . The real problem here though, is the size of the increase from Bds $ 10.00 which was low, to $1oo.oo is way too steep. It would have been better to graduate the increase.

25. I am not a campaigner for the govt; belong to no political party; have voted for both.
    However, PDC, your comments (while trying to sound impressive) are just empty words.
    I mean, I have no problem with you critiziing the budget, but since you presented a thesis, you could have at least give us some statistical data to show us readers why the budget is a failue.
    Without any analytical data, how can you objectively find fault in the Budget.
    I think you fellows need to do your homework before you come to the public with your utterings. In other words, if you want to publicly debate Politics and Economics, at a national level – You need to be trained! Other thank that, all you mouthings amounts to nothing but “rum shop gibberish”

26. @the Whiterabbit

you are correct on the tax take. I was referring to the NET increase.

27. I’ve had a good look at the budget and while the P.M had little room to do any better, I think that over the next year and beyond bajans MUST adjust their lifestyle. reduce the amount of fetes they attend, their impluse shopping habits,their regular visits to the fast food joints, the expensive Friday evening limes ( lime YES but change from the Johnnie Walker black and Absolut and top of the line brandies to a more affordable drink.) A lime on Friday is a good stress releiver but spending what you can’t afford just to be with the crowd brings on more stress at the end. I think most bajans were on a joy ride for many years, reality has arrived adjust peacefully or be adjusted forcefully. This would have happened irrespective of which g’vet was in place. Plant a little “kitchen garden ” and raise a few chickens where possible. The old people did it in much harder times than this and raised us to be responsible men and women. It’s time we and our children return to the REAL world.

28. Ya tink being P.M easy? ASk David Thompson? That man six months ago had black hair with a touch of gray, today he has gray hair with a few strands of black and he has aged somewhat to. That’s why I stop being partisan and look at the wider picture. I compliment and give kudos to any young man or woman who offer/ed themselves to the development of this country. Those gone before might not have done everthing a lot of us wanted but they have all, from the strongest to the weakest have placed BARBADOS firmly on the international map. That’s why we, as BAJANS, must not allow parasites to come here and rob us of the goodness that we have worked so hard to achieve. God BLESS this GREAT nation of our; it is now up to us to hold on tightly to our price and our PRIDE. I exhort every bajan to band together to protect this country and preserve it for our children and our children’s children.

29. To Trained Economist and Real Ting,

Any elementary school student will tell you that when you add $6.84 here, $2, there and $1 everywhere, it adds up to a hell of a lot. And don’t tell me that it won’t be passed on. The increases will be used to justify further price hikes, don’t fool yourself. The business attitude is and always has been, why should we accept any decrease in our profits when we can pass cost increases on to the customer. Tell me I’m wrong

30. Let’s stop fooling ourselves, unless there is a policy where prices on services rendered is regularised, the consumer will have to carry the burden. Yes, we can avoid some items and commodities, but doctor’s visits, dentist, or any of the similar professionals, we have to obtain their services. What can we do? Don’t pay them and be taken court? The gov’t must find a way ( idon’t know how) to regularise these professionals and save the demise of the average consumer

31. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

So increases of $2,000 a year, $150 per month will need to be passed on to consumers to preserve profits and keep these service providers in business.

Give me a break. Do these service providers file income tax returns? Do they honestly report their incomes when they do? So from your perspective they must never pay their share of the tax burden. maybe you believe they use less public services than the rest of us.

The simple reality is that these fees have fallen out of step with reality and needed to be adjusted. Please do not provide any excuses for price gouging.

32. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Are you really saying that the cost of registering a business as a dental practitioner (previously $250) should be less than the previous road tax for a private vehicle?

In my mind it is clear that the vast majority of the increases can be absorbed by the service provides with effortless ease.

The government should certainly reconsider the increases in visitor driving permits though.

33. Banning school chillun from ZRs and minibuses will have negative effect. TRANSPORT board cannot service all the routes-
    simply cannot –FACT

t-h-om-pSON raised BUS FARES for school -chillun without realising it. now where there are no buses available school chillun will have to take a ZR or minibus and they will have to pay $1.50- FACT ! when bus fare increase they will have to pay $2.00 so this will create more problems.

t-h-om-p-SON is a bare showman , AN ILLUSIONIST who is more concerned about impressions because impressions count. his style of politics will not be good for barbados in the long run.

he is doing magical tricks-tricks tricks and we know magic is illusion so that what you see is not reality

TRUST ME I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT !

BIM IS IN TROUBLE
    HELP !!!–
    BETWEEN MIA AND t-h-om-p-SON -bim in trouble–they know um

cost of living gone up again !
    down with the budget
    down with t-h-om-p-SON

i dont expect you to understand this because you cannot see any further than you partisan political nose .

34. thompson fool wunna again
    partisan political jackasses

this is a trick budget just like the person thompson is

impressions count
    mek wunna feel wunna getting something
    cost of living gone up again

35. t-h-om-p-SON fool wunna again
    partisan political jackasses

this is a trick budget just like the person thompson is

impressions count
    mek wunna feel wunna getting something
    cost of living gone up again

36. Darcy Boyce running this country plain and simple, David Thompson the puppet.

37. The Sscout I endorse your comments.We must preserve our country for our children & grand children.It is very interesting that PM Thompson did not increase the prices of work permits,passports,renewal of passports,and other travel documents.Furthermore he did not mentioned much about an immigration policy that is soon to be implemented.I believe that a golden oppurtunity was miss I do not know if it was deliberate to give us an insight into that policy.However,I support the budget and I believe it was a revolutionary budget.I say that in the context that it is the first time in history of Barbados that our PM is trying to bring back some decency and morality into the country again by offering free bus rides for our school children so as to protect them from the vulgarity and decadence associated with Minibus & ZR culture.The PM seems determine to save the future of this country by protecting our children.I am exteremly happy with the initiative of a strict dress code for our school children from the beginning of the new school year.Goood going Mr Prime Minister.
    The scout I also support your view that we must put partisan politics aside and recognise that we are all Barbadians and we must always put Barbados first,
    interestingly,Negroman suppported DLP,BLP & NDP al some stage.
    I do not walk around with a political label attach to me I put Barbados first.

38. Mia, is great!

39. David,
    ….I am sticking with my prediction that this will be our best PM ever…still not sure that it will be good enough to meet the challenges coming though…
    ——————————>

oh give me a break

what qualities does he bring
    what is his vision for barbados

come on
    get real

this budget is the worse budget ever

in 1986 richie haynes backraised the blp budget
    by 1988 he was calling the dlp budget a back street abortion and thereafter he was gone from the dems
    by 1991 -the economy and the sandi led government was in trouble
    by 1994 he was out on his tail -FACTS

40. My Gods…

You may not like her, but how many of us could do what she’s doing *right* *now*! Very, very few…

She raises many legitimate questions…

Hopefully, at the end of all this ugliness of transition, we find ourselves in a situation which will allow *all* be able to safely (and confidently) raise questions without fear of retribution…

Kindest regards to all.

41. Negroman // July 8, 2008 at 5:30 pm

Furthermore he did not mentioned much about an immigration policy that is soon to be implemented.

If the Immigration policy is just that a POLICY and involves no new expenditures, then it does not have to be in the fiscal plan (budget).

I have not seen/heard/read the budget yet, so unfortunately I cannot make any comments of value.

42. If I may please share… I, personally, continue to absorb what is being broadcast in real-time, on our CBC.

I am in awe…

This is democracy at the ugliest, purest, deepest, and most beautiful…

I pray… Someone please tell me this will be available (online) for all to witness, for all time…

We are learning, under duress, the hard way (which, can be argued, is the only way we actually learn… )

43. The average bajan who is not interested in hand outs by politicians – would have appreciated what prime minister thompson outlined yesterday.

Mia’s presentation was all political gimmickry.

44. I listened to Ms Mottley reply and I thought she handled herself well. She did make some good points and a few things I missed. However, I was a little disappointed with my friend Chris who it seems it trying to become the next Don Blackman. Chris we know you are on T.V and you’re an intelligent chap but speak in simple language that ALL can understand. Big words are not needed, you are the people’s servant, speak that they can understand. I look forward to the speeches for and against tomorrow and hope that both sides behave themselves in a manner that we bajan would be proud of the team elected.

45. Adrian Hinds
    I believe you are much more matured than you appear to be. Yes, some of you have your political bias and you’re entitled to it but you don’t have to stoop to the level that you’re going to. Only small minds discusses people and I know you can do better than that. however I look forward to reading your comments without the smut.

46. The scout // July 8, 2008 at 9:57 pm

Adrian Hinds
    I believe you are much more matured than you appear to be. Yes, some of you have your political bias and you’re entitled to it but you don’t have to stoop to the level that you’re going to. Only small minds discusses people and I know you can do better than that. however I look forward to reading your comments without the smut.
    =================================
    I couldn’t care any less about your beliefs, or what is apparent to you, and i have not ever, nor will i now start posting with your wishes in mind. Do what you are free to do as i intend to the same, for it is nigh impossible, for me to concider anything that you ask of me.

47. Probably it is your lack of maturity. POOR FELLOW. Politics cause some people to lose their ability to think. I’ve found out that you seem to have lost yours. I used to be like that once too but I’ve matured beyond that, I hope you reach that stage of your life. Whether you read my blog or not, I’ll still read yours and remark favorably or negatively if I have to. Your stance seem childish but I wouldn’t come down to your level, you would have to come up to mind. We are ALL entitled to our own views.

48. I must thank Stephen Lashley for developing the point i was making re inflation. Inflation was 7.4 % above that of 2004 for the last five years. So that Mia’s concern about the Budget being inflationary was muted, and is probably why she attempt to Bolster the prediction of the Budget causing inflation by stating that it will put it way above 7.4 % I am tired of the prophets, if the Budget is so bad the PM can always come back to parliament midway thru the financial year to impliment any necessary corrective measures, but i don’t think Mia’s predictions holds any water.

49. The Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals presented in the House Assembly and to the people of Barbados are the WORST and MOST BACKWARD to be presented by a Minister of Finance in the recent history of parliamentary governance of this beloved country called Barbados.

Make no doubt about it, when the occasions come for the implementation of these measures, thousands upon thousands of people in Barbados will soon thereafter feel the full fury and damage of their effects. So, from the owners of mobile phones to owners of motor vehicles, from the owners of Minibuses and ZRs to owners of professional businesses, and from alcohol and tobacco users to gamblers, as many people and entities one could ever reasonably think about will buckle under the weight of more pain and distress, as this already failing DLP Government unleashes, et al, its vengeance on the people of Barbados for NOT electing them to be at the helm of government in the 1999 and 2003 elections.

The fact is these proposals have been designed to make the general masses and middle classes of people of Barbados poorer and poorer, and weaker and weaker. These Budgetary measures constitute the second time within about 3 months that this DLP Government has decided to impose such severe hardship on Barbadians. The first time was in April, when the Minister of Finance unnecessarily and illogically increased the prices” of diesel, kerosene, gasoline and LPG. And, now, look what has happened, Hurricane David has descended upon our fair land and is wrecking almighty havoc and despair on its inhabitants!!

Nevertheless, contrary to what the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Assembly says, that these Budgetary Proposals will be inflationary, we contend that, overall, these said proposals shall chiefly be deflationary and contractionary in regard of the particular sectors and subsectors that they are so targetting; and contend that as a direct result of these measures there will be – in the medium term – a fall in demand for, say, mobile phones and mobile phone services, and consequently a modest fall in total revenue from the sale of mobile phones and the use of mobile services, which will NOT be even offset by any likely increases in the “prices” of cell phones; and that there will be – in the medium term – a serious fall in the demand for the commutership of Minivans and ZRs, leading to a serious decline in the activity of Minibuses and ZRs operations – which themselves are already reeling from the effects of increased diesel costs, and which too are themselves without any increases in bus fares since 1991.

Moreover, it is NONSENSE for anybody to state that this budget is going to be inflationary when it is clear that the great proportion of living, business and production costs that are so rising in this country are so rising as a direct result of the astronomical increases in cost of goods and services imported into Barbados (owing to severe increases in global oil, gas, wheat, and other commodities and services) – and given that – at the same time – there are no real and sustained substantial demand-pull-cost increasing trends taking place in the so-called local economy, and given too that the GDP is on the decline, and given at the same time there are no real and sustained substantial wages/salaries-driven cost increases through out the country, since the real value of wages/salaries of workers have seriously been made to decline. So, yes, this budget will greatly assist – in the medium term – in the bringing about of serious declines in national output, national expenditure, and national income, declines in domestic investment, and the fall in commercial and business revenue, occasioned by many many layoffs and much unemployment!!

Finally, we in PDC must state that if were we at the helm of government today since January 2008, we would have been making sure that this country is repositioned to face the challenges that lie ahead, esp. in the international arena; that the cost of living and doing business is drasticaly reduced; and that the productive and distributive sectors of the country are stabilized and resuscitated, altogether by making sure that there is, et al, the Abolition of Taxation; the Abolition of Interest Rates; the Abolition of Motor Vehicle Insurance; the Abolition of Exchange Rates Parities with the Barbados Dollar; the Making sure that Imports of Goods and Services into Barbados are zero-“priced” at all points of entry; by making sure that Exports of goods and services are paid for in local currency/”prices; by ensuring that land space whether bought sold or leased are acquired at administrative/nominal costs: and by ensuring that there is a regime of rent control institutued in respect of residential, commercial and social properties.

50. […] Number 51 was Barbados Underground’s article Prime Minister David Thompson Grabs Centre Stage Delivering His First Budget […]