Prime Minister of Barbados, David Thompson

As we write this blog Prime Minister David Thompson stands in the spotlight of delivering his first budget. Of interest to Barbadians will be what kind of budget the neophyte Prime Minister can produce which will ward-off external shocks caused by global economic turbulence rooted in the rising oil commodities market. Barbadians have long enjoyed a high standard of living which belies its size and resources.

The Prime Minister in a classic General Custer move fired an opening salvo in the budget presentation when he announced that the controversial ‘flyover project’, managed by 3S Barbados Ltd will be halted and the Ministry of Transport and Works in conjunction with local contractors given the task to complete the road widening part of the project. The Prime Minister told the nation that his government will investigate thoroughly the suspect procurement policy adopted by the previous government on the Project.

We commend sister blog Barbados Free Press for its relentless pursuit of ITAL. It appears that the new government is committed to ITAL but good implementation will be key – read Budget 2008 compliments Nation newspaper

The BU household, and no doubt Barbados Free Press feel vindicated that our persistence and exposure of corruption of the ABC Highway Project and 3S Barbados Ltd has now been given validation by the highest office in the land. We must mention that the mainstream media gave this matter token coverage. History must record that the local media failed the PEOPLE on the matter of the ABC Highway Project. We wish to take this opportunity to condemn the local media in the strongest manner, for their passive behaviour on the issue of the handling of the ABC Highway Project by the former government.

There is no doubt that Prime Minister David Thompson is building is a populist position from which to govern Barbados. We applaud this refreshing philosophy to governance. Our democracy can only flourish if the PEOPLE fully participate. The Prime Minister appears at the early stage of his stewardship to be paying close attention to matters of governance. We hope that when integrity legislation and other governance initiatives promised are rolled out that our environment will be PEOPLE centric.

For the moment we will retire to listen to the budget. In the days and weeks ahead we will provide our views on the performance of the Prime Minister at his first budget presentation. in detail.

118 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson Grabs Centre Stage Delivering His First Budget”

1. Looks like Kellman got his wish. A private jet airport is to be built in the north.

2. Wunna like dah nuh Avatar
    Wunna like dah nuh

We’re going to be getting lots of things…free bus rides..yipee

3. A good start so far with only six months in office and considering the mess inherited.

…The PM’s heart is in the right place- after all, he has a mother, wife and two daughters to keep him in check ….however..
    The challenges we face are interesting…. I am still concerned that the PM has not fully grasped the seriousness of the difficulties ahead.

IMHO, the presentation is still too ‘business as usual’ – refreshing and focused though it is.

3S should have been fired on Jan 16, but it was probably better to get involved and learn more details first.

….I am sticking with my prediction that this will be our best PM ever…still not sure that it will be good enough to meet the challenges coming though…

4. @BT

….I am sticking with my prediction that this will be our best PM ever…still not sure that it will be good enough to meet the challenges coming though…

We want to challenge your oxymoron. How can he be the best but still not good enough to meet the challenges? In essence you are saying that that there is no hope?

5. Just listened to the budget and would say that it is a good one considering the economic circumstances. The issue that might hurt some people would be the increase in road taxes from $265.oo to $400.00 for vehicles. Visitors’ permits will be increased from $10.00 to $100.00. I got mine just in time until next year. I guess we willl hear from others about the pros and cons.

6. ….I don’t trust you when you ask me such easy questions David….what is the catch?

…You mean to tell me that you- of all people- listening to MME, and failing to see the SERIOUS times ahead?
    Trust me, MME is a real bright fellow. He probably already have his personal affairs in hand, have no debt, and may even have invented his own personal energy system and is set to become the next Bill Gates……

…for the rest of us, all the signs point to a VERY difficult time over the next few years.
    Even with the VERY best leadership, we will be challenged to survive this period in good tact.

So we CAN have the best PM ever – and yet still fall prey to the predators out there. Our weakness lies in the waste, and loss of focus of the last 20 years…..

7. All things considered the only thing that might cause some discussion is the move from $265.00 to $400.00 for PV road tax

8. What I like is making travel free on the public transport for school children. He also said he is willing to ban school children from the buses using law.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

On the behalf of my family and myself we give David Thompson ten out of ten for his first budget.

We tip our hats to you, sir.

10. How does the BU family feel about the increase on liquor by 50% and tobacco by 100%. He also stop tobacco being a duty free item.

Another interesting revenue measure is the flat monthly tax on cell phones.

11. if the free transportation includes psvs then in a way he has aleady implemented his ban because I dont see a psv giving a free seat to a child over a $1.50 adult this is going to be interesting

12. Here’s a query to the finance guru’s (eg C. Cadogan) out there..

I thought I heard that the PM has provided for $3000 income tax allowance on credit union deposits. Is this in addition to the $10,000 income tax allowance already given or will only $3000 of the $10,000 now be considered and the rest must be on deposits in other ways (eg mutual funds, new shares etc)?

13. Alcohol and tobacco is not a necessity, much as I like my rum – if alcohol goes up it goes up , WE/I CAN do without it, though I’d prefer not to!, better for health issues as well!
    Seems like an OK budget to me, he’s got a lot of left overs from the BLP to sort out, I like what he said about the ‘Hardwood Housing Scam’!! and no fly overs, now that’s really good.
    No school children on ZR’s and minibuses, now thats good news, glad they have free transport, but maybe totally school transport would be good.
    Good on him for being ‘strict’!

14. […] Barbados Underground: Prime Minister David Thompson Grabs Centre Stage Delivering His First Budget […]

15. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

BT mekin Mock Sport at Micro Mock… but that’s ok 🙂

… David’s question strikes at the very heart of the crisis debate. I have never suggested that SERIOUS times are not ahead… in fact I have been at pains to point out that poor leadership and policies (particularly by the world’s super power) are leading to just that. But we don’t even have to go that far… do you realize that the benefits (or ‘lost government revenue items’) presented in this year’s budget don’t even come close to matching the cost overruns on the ABC project and the BDS$/US$ prison. In other words, simply managing these projects properly would have ‘saved’ enough money to finance this years budget.

There is no shortage of oil, just a shortage of leaders who rather than encourage/facilitate oil exploration, build refineries and nuclear plants, promote electric vehicles, regulate oil traders etc., have pandered to demands from loud, emotional ‘environmentalists’ who would do anything to save the planet except take a science course… or consult an engineer 🙂

Once we properly identify the problem and don’t allow ourselves to be misled and frightened into thinking it is out of our control (i.e. there is no hope) ,we can begin to take appropriate corrective measures… sort of like what Barbadians did on January 15.

Great budget IMHO… but wuhloss… dat liquor increase hurt my heart 🙂

16. David // July 7, 2008 at 8:24 pm

How does the BU family feel about the increase on liquor by 50% and tobacco by 100%. He also stop tobacco being a duty free item.

Another interesting revenue measure is the flat monthly tax on cell phones.
    =================================

Wunnuh gine got tuh start drinking listerine. :)The tax is new to Barbados but a well establish one in many other countries.

17. I am encouraged by the PM willingness to revamp the Returning National program and the putting in place of the Barbados Network to engage Barbadians in diaspora is much more meaningful way. I would intimated such back in 2005.

Barbados Forum Link 1

Barbados Forum Link 2

18. @Sundowner

It was our understanding that the $3000.00 is an additional benefit.

19. I still gine drink my liquour doan matter how much it go up

20. David

I think you mean @ The Devil! If the $3000 is additional then can I claim $13 000 savings in the credit union? The present policy allows $10,000 allowance which could be from a mix of credit union savings, mutual funds or new shares. For my family, the credit union is our preferred choice .

21. I am pleased that the building of Flyovers have been scrapped. But, I am concerned with the budget. First, the freeness by school children on the Transport Board buses. If the Board was loosing millions with a fare structure of $1.00 and $1.50. How would be $0.00 affect the board. Secondly, by allowing school children to travel free on buses, how will the ZR owners behave in this equation.

Here we had increases in oil prices and now to push these unfortunate ZR owners further on a limb.

22. I do not agree that the PM should have scrapped the fly-overs in the way that he has. I would have suggested that while the Gov’t would have nothing more to do with 3S, any infrastructure (including fly-overs) to be built in the future would be on the basis of proper engineering and planning analysis and contractors would be chosen on the basis of competitive and transparent tender. I am not suggesting that fly overs MUST be built but at least two seem to be of possible use (to my untrained thinking).

While I understand the frustration on the “ZR culture” and school children, I am alarmed at the threat to ban children from ZR’s “by law”. I find this rather dictatorial and and in any event, the transport board does not service all parts of the island so what will those children do?

23. I am not making mock sport at you MME, …. well maybe just a little…
    Thing is I agree with you on everything except your optimism that common sense could win out in the end….
    In fact, in my contribution on this blog on ‘what is wrong with Barbados’ I came to the same conclusion – WEAK LEADERSHIP…. and the ABC, Dodds and Greenland each demonstrate what damage poor leadership can do…. (someone needs to go to Dodds for ABC and Greenland…)

I admire your positive spirit MME, but there are a lot more of ‘them’ than there is of ‘you’… and it is late in the game…
    If we had the approach of PM Thompson ten years ago I would have some hope….

True, even if we had NO oil and we had good leadership at various levels, we could work things out… but when an aircraft has stalled, and is spiraling out of control, there comes a point when even top pilots know what will occur….

…and stop worrying about the cost of the liquor, that will soon be cheaper that gasoline.

…what is your take on the automatic price formula for fuel prices?
    No one has highlighted the implications of this change…. NO MORE PROTECTION -want to bet on the price of gas by Christmas?

24. MME and Bush tea

the PM made much reference to non fossil fuel energy sources. He even removed the duty on wind turbines, PV panels etc and announced some other initiatives. Any comments on these measures? He seems to be moving in the right direction.

25. @BT

The PM made the concomitant point that a massive education program will have to be unleashed on Barbados to send the message that there must be a new way of doing business in Dodge. Do you think the average Barbadian has come to terms with the concept that the price of oil will never revert to 80.00 ever again? We are operating with old behaviours and hoping that our reactive mode will continue to serve us.

A new way is required. Damn Arthur and the BLP!

26. Bajans got another chance to buy into BNB and ICB. No shyte now!

27. Devil,
    If you are ‘untrained’ as you say, why do you think that your opinion on flyovers would be valuable? That is exactly how we got in this mess…..
    Untrained Gline Clarke ‘felt’ that flyovers would be a good idea too… and ‘untrained’ Owing agreed….
    That was a stupid decision and PM Thompson was right to drop it. I really hope that someone will be called to account for the whole wastage associated with that scam. …as MME says -ASK AN ENGINEER.

Tell me why
    If we already spend 20% of our money on FREE education what is your problem with spending a few more million to get students to and from school?
    …and what ‘unfortunate ZRs’ what?!?

…you talking about those low standard scamps who have been creating a subculture that threatens our very future? I frequent the ZR stand and it pains me what our children are exposed to -if they like it or not.

…despite all complaints from authorities and from the public, these “unfortunate ZR” people have made NO attempts to change their image….

…DECISIVE LEADERSHIP from the PM.

28. Barry
    the Gov’t is bailing out of BNB and ICB. The PM said that what they get is less than the savings rate and that as a minority shareholder, the Gov’t doesn’t have the kind of leverage over those firms as it once did. Now given those statements should ordinary Bajans put their money in BNB or ICB?

29. Devil
    He did not remove duty from wind turbines, I think he removed environmental tax etc. Duty was already off.

Great move, …comes fifteen years too late.
    My problem is that we only have a SHORT time now to make MASSIVE changes. It will cost REAL money to buy and install green energy systems (think in terms of $50,000 per home). We should have been well on the way by now…instead of wasting resources on ABC, DODDS, Greenland and Washington house…

so David,
    ….yes re-education is needed, but we do not have the luxury of gradual learning …WE NEED TO MOVE NOW.
    We have to develop a smaller footprint
    We have to develop alternatives to oil
    We have to learn to feed ourselves
    We have to rethink our water situation
    We have to rethink transport (free bus fares are creative…)
    etc etc

So NO! I do not think that Bajans, or even the PM (or MME) has come to terms with what will happen with oil (and with our economy) in coming months.

30. Bush tea, someone wrote this on BFP about a month ago, any comments?

“The real truth is that the ZRs are the most efficient and productive aspect of Bajan society.

…they pay HIGH taxes, high insurance, high maintenance costs, high road taxes, high fines.
    They charge LOW fares, subsidize school children, and in all this, they manage to:

1 Make profits
    2 Actually move people to and from work very efficiently
    3 maintain excellent customer relations with their paying clients

Admittedly, they upset some persons who feel that they should have right of way in their single occupant gas guzzling Benz. …. (another plus ?!? )

Meanwhile transport Board cost how much????

So what will free bus transport do?

1 – put the ZRs out of business
    2 – Triple the cost of running the Transport Board
    3 – Create a Transport Authority that will waste even more money that transport Board and MTW combined….

….how much you bet that this is what we will do?!?”

Decisive leadership…dare I say it?…what!

31. well the PM has also created an income tax allowance category for energy related home improvements – $5000 per year for five years. It’s a start.

32. Chris, I agree with you. Just hmmmm

33. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… I think the automatic fuel price formula is long overdue. There are better means of protecting society’s vulnerable than subsidizing the “car-in-every-garage”.

… those were proper education initiatives (including free bus fares and getting children off them ZRs). These are the sort of initiatives we need to avoid hitting ‘Peak Brain’.

…@Devil, as BT has pointed out renewable energy devices were already duty free… but the increased tax concessions are a positive development… as is the move to FTC established rates for electricity fed back into the grid from these systems. Unfortunately this won’t make any major contribution either to overall electricity production or energy costs anytime soon. As for your comments on BNB… is that the same bank that financed the ABC swindle-and-BOLT?

34. Before my knave the Sandman comes to take me to the land of Nod, I thought I would hear a comment from the poster “No more marinas” and others who agonised on the rape of the west coast, on the proposals for:

(1) an airport in St.Lucy

(2) man-made islands off the west coast

(3) jetties and marinas on the south coast

(4) a cruise ship pier and more marinas in the north of the island.

(5) theme parks .

Ah well.

35. Tell me Why: please forgive me; I obviously misspoke…

My posting was not meant to communicate “Just Hmmmm”, but rather that of the contemplative “Hmmmm…”.

Read: Interesting… Read: More information required before deductions and conclusions…

Read: Hmmmm….

36. As the fire continue to burn, we stood at the side just watching the homes go up in flames, we stood fast without assisting and allowed the fire to burn out of control. When twenty homes were turned into ashes, someone muttered these words….”I saw a small fire outside the first house and I did nothing and now I am here to offer my services” But alas, the fire done. I say that to show this administration could have intervened in this highway project since late 2006 when commenters were speaking out about the in-experienced of the contractor. This administration could have intervened when the contractor triple the cost in 2007, again no intervention. This administration could have revoke the contract of the contractor on January 16 (If I was the PM, I will give them a day), again no intervention. As a matter of fact the two met and two separate deadlines were given and failed. Again, no intervention. Now, how on earth during this budget we hear that Government is going to cancel the contract as though it is something that now come to light. I say, this is the same behaviour as the previous administration. We wait too late and whilst waiting, we were still paying. As I see it, the contract is completed and this empty talk of firing them is just a red herring. I say Owen’s administration is to blame 75% and David’s administration is to blame the other 25%. My oh my!….I should have gone hmmmmm til Thursday.

37. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

I think that we have just seen a very considerate approach to leadership in this country.

Despite the last groups willingness to rape the treasury it is amazing that the new Gov’t found it possible to provide relief in as many areas as they have done, full marks to the Prime Minister for his thoughtfullness and compassion.

The one that really appeals to me the most is the measure to move school children FREE OF CHARGE ON THE PUBLIC TRANSPORT SYSTEM this adresses two issues front on, one being the cost to parents to get their children to and from schoool and even more importantly the case of bad habits associated with these mini buses.

I must say my sincere congrats to the Prime Minister the Hon Mr. David Thompson for putting together a sterling effort and a tremendous program for othe next year forward.

38. I was hoping Bush tea would comment on what he wrote a month ago on BFP re ZRs.

Oh MME, looking forward to Water Authority coming under the FTC.

39. @ The Devil

I think you mean @ The Devil! If the $3000 is additional then can I claim $13 000 savings in the credit union? The present policy allows $10,000 allowance which could be from a mix of credit union savings, mutual funds or new shares. For my family, the credit union is our preferred choice .

The 10,000 is a mutual fund type benefit. The 3,000 is an additional benefit.

40. Tell me Why… Namaste.

There is an important word which has been with us for a very long time. It has recently been highlighted within our community thanks to Robert at BFP: Momentum.

This word is most often used within the domain of physics. But it can also be used with equal relevance and importance within the contexts of economics, business and personal experience, particularity with anyone who might find they have it, it any of its various forms…

At its root, the phenomenon of Momentum tell us that *nothing* stops instantly. Nor does anything start instantly. It takes Work to make change… to introduce a delta… (capitalisation intentional).

Namaste, All….

41. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

@ The Devil…

how much money you make pun de ABC and prison projects? Wait… I forget you does only trade in souls… anyway you look at it you musse come out licking.

42. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Chris,

IMHO, that fellow Robert has only provided you with half the story. Momentum is important, but of greater significance here is INERTIA… which for Barbados, unlike the US, UK, India, China etc., is relatively small. This (coupled with our human capital) is, and always has been, our greatest competitive advantage… i.e. low resistance to change in Momentum.

The fact that some of our recent mis-LEADERS seem so intent on increasing our INERTIA (read:CSME) in times like these belies logic.

Meanwhile… I busy here trying to regain control of dis Twin Otter while BT and Robert attempting to confuse me by shouting 747 instructions from de tower…

What 747 what!?! 🙂

Namaste.

43. Devil,

..you is a real trouble maker in truth… where you dig up Bush tea’s old comments from?….LOL

Anyway of course those are true.
    In terms of operational efficiency and customer movement the ZR concept works..
    Over and above this service, some ZR drivers are actually model citizens who set good examples to children, assist the elderly etc…

BUT devil, we all know that CULTURALLY, most of them belong to you (or your namesake). The music is base, the behavior is sickening -and I am not even talking about their aggressive road tactics – I mean their MORAL norms…. not an environment for our children AT ALL…

Despite adverse comments from the police, the public, government etc they have persisted in being lewd, dirty, noisy and UN-Bajan…
    “…hard ears you won’t hear own way you will feel”

Now if coming out of this we end up with a BAJANIZED ZR culture (as opposed to Jamaican) then not only would we have an efficient transport entity, but a cultural icon and an asset to our education system.

…nuff respect to you Devil, … but I hope I don’t have to spend eternity with you answering questions like this…. LOL

44. NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN Avatar
    NO MORE MARINAS EVER AGAIN

The Devil – Crackpot forecasts are mandatory in budget presentations, they rarely come to fruition and are hard to refute.

So let’s stick to the present.

The craziest news yesterday was about the non-building of flyovers. After years of disruption widening the highways and luring more and more cars on to them they’ll still have to exit at 18th century roundabouts. The nightly traffic jam at Warrens is a joke. To see thousands of Bajans in their snazzy vehicles inching forwards, grim-faced, unable to do anything about it shows the incompetence and contempt of those who throw public money on hairbrained projects.

Now to the West Coast rape.

Long before St. Lucy gets an airport. Long before we double the size of the island with landfill. Long before Maycocks becomes a cruise ship terminal.

The fishing village of Six Mens will be destroyed, the people there uprooted and dispersed, the beach will be violated and all for the sakes of another marina that is slowly coming into being. After a public meeting where no public attended.

Let’s first block the crackpot schemes already in progress before we worry about vague budget proposals.

45. The 2008 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals, as presented yesterday evening to the House of Assembly and the people of Barbados by Prime Minister and Minister of Finance David Thompson, were essentially deflating, uninspiring and misplaced, and yet would truly have been another stark indication that the Barbados economy is in shambles – contrary to what some senior members of the DLP have been feeling that the economy is in good shape.

When the 2008/9 Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure were being presented in the House of Assembly earlier in March of this year, it was stated by the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance that the so-called projected Revenues for this fiscal year were BDS $ 2.5 Billion and the so-called projected Expenditure for this said fiscal year was BDS $ 3.2 Billion, with an overall deficit of BDS $ 737.2 Million to be financed. However, the previous year’s so-called approved Estimates of Revenue were BDS $ 2380.8 Billion, and so-called approved Estimates of Expenditure were BDS $ 2905.9 Billion (Nationnews.com).

At that time, though, we in PDC took the position that owing to the fact that there were marginal increases projected in this fiscal year’s “Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure”, when compared with last fiscal year’s, the former would have signified that the Government would have had to impose greater TAXATION ASSAULTS ON Barbadians or BORROW more money more locally or internationally, or both, over the next two-three years, based on the fact that the rate at which the cost of living and doing business has been increasing for the last 2/3 have been NOTHING SHORT of staggering, and based on the fact that we have known that the local economy has been for some time contracting at a modest rate.

Well, thousands upon thousands of Barbadians did get to properly understand that yesterday when the Mr. Thompson stated that economy has slowed down by 1.8 % for the first six months of the years, in both the traded and non-traaded sectors of the so-called economy, that he is projecting a slowdown in many sectors of the economy in the first two quarters of next year, that accompanying such a crisis would be job losses, and too that so-called inflation would be near 8 per cent by year end.

But, rather than introducing the RIGHT TYPE of counter-cyclical financial and productive people-centered progressive revolutionary measures and approaches to offset the serious fall off in GDP, the Prime Minister proceeded, to loud and embarassing table thumping cheers from members on the government side, TO INFLICT in the tyrannical vindictive style of the late Tom Adams greater financial pain and hardship on motor vehicle owners, alcohol and tobacco users, gamblers, and many more people, at a time when the cost of living and doing business continues to soar, and at a time when he HAS DONE NOTHING to really reduce the cost of living and doing business in Barbados and really boost the incomes of workers in Barbados . As for the cost of living – this is some thing which he and his party have promised the people of Barbados to reduce – but clearly so far which they have miserably failed to reduce.

Finally, there are only two aspects of the “budget” presentation that are really noteworthy, i.e, school children in uniform(SJPP, BCC, UWI students with ID too? ) riding “free” on state owned buses – the tab that will eventually be taken up by the TAX VICTIMS of the country, but which the Transport Board, right now, is in no proper position to absorb the increased loads that will come, and the idea of land reclamation just off Barbados, in which there will be plans for the construction of islands and marinas just like in the United Arab Emirates.

So, there we in this country go, facing the spectre of being seriously worse off materially financially in the short to medium term, with this proven intellectually bankrupt DLP Government which is charge of the affairs of this country doing absolutely NOTHING to halt this slide!! What a calamity, indeed!!

46. We get the sense that Prime Minister David Thompson has bought into BT’s philosophy ever since he decided to expose Barbadians to the marauding prices on the world market. It seems that he is using price to shock Barbadians from a comfort zone. Again we see this strategy manifesting in the ZR matter. He maybe saying it is a zero sum matter i.e.the ZR industry loses but the social make-up of the society improves over time. While the ZR sub-culture is a microcosm of wider society one has to start some where. The ZR is very visible and more importantly it is directly impacting our impressionable minds.

47. It was an interesting Budget.
    I know that everyone is really excited about this school children ride for free on Transport Board Busses.

I have one comment on this I would NEVER EVER EVER let my children ride on a transport board bus.
    It used to be ZR’s and Mini Busses where the reckless ones on the road. This is no longer so, I have had to drive off the road countless times from speeding reckless Transport Board Busses. There drives faces set and unmoved ready to squash you like a bug.

One other point I would like to bring up NASTY mouth Bajans. LOL we are going after high end Tourism LOL LOL cant stop Laughing. Now first let me say I am not against any of this it is great but the Prime Minister has allot on his hands.
    Just this weekend I was walking along a West Coast Beach where a man I really can’t say gentleman yelled out to me sweetie come and give me a F**K. He was a construction worker on a condominium building.
    Of course being be I turned around and informed him I was in fact a bajan and that no visitor to our shores would appreciate his comment and furthermore he was rather stupid because there he was making money off of tourism building a condo building and yet destroying the tourism by his disgusting behaviour. What are we going to put up Glendairy type walls to protect the visitors that will pay so much money to come here from people like this?

What is wrong with Bajan men ? Get a brain already I am tiered of this so are the many visitors that come to our shores
    Two thumbs u for the Prime minister but we have some big problems.

48. some comments

@David – if your last comment is correct, then the new policy goes against credit unions since one could claim up to $10 000 before.

@Bush tea – I have a place just for you in the world of darkness. Gov’t have claimed to try to put the fear of God in the ZRs via high taxes now it is saying it will try the fear of the devil. I’m flattered but read your BFP submission again.

@ No more Marinas ever again – “vague” ? The language of the budget says to me that the development philosophy of the recent past will be the development philosophy of the present and the immediate future.

@ MME – CSME? note that locally manufactured goods now will attract the environmental levy to satisfy the Treaty of Chaguramas. While I agree that the ABC project was a debacle and worse, I predict that a flyover or two will have to be built sometime (sins have a way or catching up with you).

Stay tuned for this evening’s reply by the hand maiden of the devil (as some would call her). Oh they flatter to deceive.

49. David,
    I agree with you wholeheartedly. This budget while reasonable has awoken Barbadians out of their comfort zone. I spoke to a friend in Barbados last night and she was concerned about the increase in the vehicle tax from $265.00 to $400.00, a $135.00 dollar increase. I explained to her that she had no problem going to shows at Farley Hill and other places with monotonous regularity and paying between $150.00 and $200.00. She agreed with me. I told her that sacrifice has to be made. When the time comes to pay her road tax she has to think about foregoing one of those shows. I made her understand that Barbadians are not the only persons being asked to sacrifice. Every tax payer has to play his/her part in order to maintain proper road networks.