William's SistersIt was not so long ago that the top female tennis players at Wimbledon had to bang their rackets for equal pay. Their male counterparts had been enjoying significantly higher earnings, no doubt a legacy of days when men rule. Recent reports coming out of the Wimbledon tournament has unearthed the same ancient chauvinistic thinking.

The Miami Herald has highlighted the story that defending Wimbledon champion Venus Williams has had to play on Court 2 eight times in the last five years. In that period she would have been the defending champion on two occasions. In stark contrast her male counterpart Roger Federer has played continuously on Court #1 since 2003.

Read the Miami Herald article which outlines the shoddy treatment meted out to top female players at lawn tennis most prestigious tournament.

The BU household rejected the feeble excuses by the Wimbledon management; we however have to highlight Roger Federer’s perspective on the matter. We would have thought that the gentlemanly thing for Federer to do would be to express sympathy and solidarity with his female counterparts. Instead this is what he had to say:

They can put us at Aorangi or Roehampton [practice courts] if they want to. I wouldn’t be disappointed if they put me on Court 2.” And then, in the same breath, he said: “I hope that day will not come for me that I will have to play on Court 2. I understand there’s a little bit of disappointment [for Williams], but I don’t think it has anything to do with disrespect.

A BU household member had a national tennis ranking a few years ago and we have remained avid fans, and they say chivalry is not dead.

77 responses to “Women Tennis Players Not Equal To Men Tennis Players @ Wimbledon ~ The More Things Change The More Things Remain The Same”

1. lol trust you to want to embarrass the BU family again! We going with the young legs-BOLT!

2. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL…

I wid you on dat one… actually here is my 1-2-3 (but I reserve the right to revise my pick after the heats)…

1. Usain Bolt
    2. Walter Dix
    3. Asafa Powell

… I have left out Tyson Gay (fourth place). As for Asafa, I think he is easily beaten psychologically… and Walter Dix look capable and fearless with no expectation pressure (a lethal combination)…

3. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Well… my hopes for a Wimbledon repeat have been dashed.

4. The women should not get equal pay at wimebldon, they show get 3/5ths, The men play best of 5 and the women play best of 3 sets

5. If woman want equal pay they should have to play 5 sets like the men.

6. Mus doesn’t go far enough.

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with women continuing to play best of three sets. Sets isn’t the main issue. Moreover, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with women earning prize money equal to that of men in top-level tennis. They believe, quite firmly, that they are the equal of any male tennis player.

But is this true or is this bollards? There’s only one way to find out. Play the men in the one draw. Now there’s a thought.

7. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Nadal / Federer again this Sunday… on a hard court this time… here is your opportunity to redeem yourself 🙂

8. @MME

Nadal is the form player with the better record in recent times. Federer is the class champion whose skills have started to decline. We pick Federer only because Nadal’s semi-final game was energy sapping 🙂

What say you?

9. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Well… Nadal has beaten Federer in 12 out of their 18 meets, but to date Federer has had a slight edge over him on the hard court. I agree with you… that grueling 5 hour game will weigh heavy on Nadal. I’m inclined to go with you on this one.

10. 🙂

Another incredible game David. Nadal has now stamped his authority on all surfaces. Hard to believe he was able to play with that intensity for 5 sets… seems to have taken Federer by surprise too LOL

11. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… that last anonymous post was me.

12. The baton must be passed to Nadal now. He deserves the accolades which will be heaped on him AGAIN. He has played at a high octane level for a sustained period which has broken one of the all time best in Federer.

Your pick for the Super Bowl? As always we are a sucker for the underdog:-)

13. Ah David……now ya talking my sport !!

The Steelrs are tough but since ‘my’ team was beaten (Eagles)…I have to back the team who eliminated them (arrgghh).

Lets see how they are going to stop that lightning bolt……Fitzgerald.

Steelers 17….Cardinals….27.

14. About Nadal David…..he is FIT !!

I think it was last year or so at a tournament, when it was raining and this guy was sooo upset that he could not get into the gym for his daily workout.

Talk about commitment. I cycle on mornings but lately, I find myself smiling when it is raining 🙂

15. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

David… I don’t really follow the NFL, but the last time I went wid your pick I lost my money…

Go Steelers!

🙂

16. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Tech… how yuh like dat 100 yard intercept and return touchdown?

17. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

David/Tech… I felt your pain when Holmes made that second catch.

🙂

18. We are on the losing end but it was an exciting game.

@Anotherview
    We enjoy all sports, no need to split hairs.

19. Pain MME? Was torture. ouch!

20. AAAARRRRGGGGGGHHHHH !!

21. 3 quarters…..no Fitzgerald, 91 yards on unnecessary penalties, miss tackles galore….and to think they beat my Eagles.

Well, my consolation games will help me get over this washoff…..NZ beat Australia, Liverpool beat Chelsea, Nadal beat Federer…..3 out of 4 aint bad for a weekend of sports 🙂

22. @ MME

That catch………..that catch…… I gine have nightmares about that ballerina, toe nail firmly planted in the end zone catch for a while.

23. Nightmares Tech? Join the Ravens 🙂

Here is the Holmes catch (with 42 seconds on the clock) that got Steelers into the Super Bowl…

http://www.steelersdepot.com/blog/2008/12/animated-gif-picture-of-santonio-holmes-catch/

24. Thanks Anon……………..like I really needed to see it ……..again!! 😉

25. Looks like we have chickens this year – MME et al

We will stick with Serena this year, brute over grace 🙂

26. here’s the deal for me…Yes, women should be paid equally with this caveat…proportionately for services rendered and market value. here are the elements of that caveat:
    1. they rarely play for the same length of time. occasionally men play for only 3 sets but more often than not it’s 4-5…so on a simple “per hour” of entertainment offered…to give women the same amount of prize money is to give women a HIGHER rate of pay per hour than men for the same average time spent on the court…
    2. one should figure in the amount of draw for women vs. the amount of draw for men. This is simple business math, again compare the neutrality of numbers in both cases…you can examine the amount of tickets sold to women’s events vs. the amount of tickets sold to men’s events. On average this would give you a proportion of draw that you could then apply to the events where BOTH women and men are playing…the majors…that should determine the proportionate amount of purse.
    3. assignment of courts…well, this is a bit trickier because my sense of fairness to apply a simple one to one ratio of putting one women’s match on the prime court for each men’s match on the prime court SHOULD be the way to do it, HOWEVER, this only holds true if the people playing those matches are providing the entertainment/excitement value that warrants putting them there in the first place…I recently went to the LA Tennis event at the Home Depot Center and watching the #1 Safina play against Hantuchova, was as dull as it gets…and this from the “leader” of the women’s tennis field right now….I agree that watching Serena (mostly) and Venus (often) will produce some exciting matches and they clearly warrant the 1-1 methodology, however, much of the top ten women’s tennis players are not as exciting to watch as the top ten men’s and once again, if one is simply comparing body to body it’s a much different equation than to decide this equitably on the “which is the more exciting draw” component of business, which provides the very fees that each sex is trying to earn by winning. I can honestly say that if the main stadiums were featuring an equal number of women’s games as men’s I probably wouldn’t pay for a seat there…which affects the economy…simply because the calibre of women’s tennis right now, is far below the calibre of men’s..it was different in the days of Steffi, Martina (both Navratilova and Hingis) Henin and a few others…there was excitment there because it wasn’t just a slugfest which seems to be the case with most of the women today…power vs. power. Playing a complete game seems to be mostly a thing of the past for the women’s field right now… It’s what my wife and I both miss wherever it shows up in either men’s or women’ and right now, it’s pound the ball over and very few seem to know how to craft a point like Hingis or Hardenne did…no working the ball side to side, shallow and deep, moving your opponent like a chess piece…just seeing who can hit the ball harder for longer…boring, whether men or women…
    4. lastl but not least is sponsorhip dollars…this is pure economics and sponsors spend their money for the amount of visibility they’re going to receive…men’s tournaments get more money just because men’s tournaments draw more attention. When the two draws are equal then that would change because business isn’t stupid…until then…that’s how it is and if one wants big fees, one has to accomodate how the market generates those fees….this is not just a tennis disparity, it’s a celebrity disparity…you can take the recent Tiger Woods at the Buick open as an example…the week before when he didn’t make the cut, the ratings for the next two days dropped…which means ad value dropped, which means ad dollars didn’t generate as much as they might have had he continued to play…At the Buick, he stayed in and later won…it gave the advertisers the ratings they wanted…I can’ guarantee you…a #1 player Safina/Zvonerava finals match at the open wouldn’t generate squat for viewership relative to one for Serena/Venus…or for even a #1 Federer against ANY of the rest of the field…Federer generates revenue, Safina generates virtually nothing…so is it fair that she ride the coattails of Federer at the Open to an “equal” payday when she doesn’t bring the same value? I don’t think so…

27. @gifford

Talking about Safina, is she the one who has not won a grand slam but is currently ranked #1?

Is this a fair system and if it was one of the Williams sisters would the world be rebelling more against the system?

It does not seem fair. It is like Tiger not being number 1 instead for a Villegas.