coatarmss.gifEarlier this evening BU family member ROK apologized and explained for not providing the video stream of the ongoing FTC/BL&P Hearings. To his credit the head of BANGO and friends had taken the initiative to expose the PUBLIC hearing via a live Internet stream as a public service over recent days. It seems our country has not yet reached that level understanding where such important events are routinely delivered in realtime to the public. Then again it is not Wimbledon, Miss World Pageant or some POPULAR North American event.

The following comments represent part of the discussion which followed by ROK and BAFBFP.

Comment by ROK:

We live in a country where the culture is steeped in deprivation. The deprivation of one individual by another. I was so relieved to hear Undine Whittaker on TV last night and also Kirk Humphrey, complaining about how poor people are treated by Social Workers, because I didn’t think that people believed me when I related it.

We suffer from imposing value judgments on others and don’t understand that when we allow this and practice it, soon it will catch up on us and one day when such things happen, it turns out relatively dread.

Why do we do it? Why do we attribute bad things to people? It turns into self fulled prophesy. You are expected to fail, so you fail. One of the problems I have with religion is that it starts out with this notion that we are all sinners by nature.

These are things that need turning around. It smacks of a master trying to control his slaves by telling them that they are nothing, even when they are good.

We have to declare the truth and say that man is good by nature; boy, would we turn around a lot of the foolishness that we do to ourselves. It is like suicide or genocide. How much different are we from the Rwandans when they went through that period of genocide? The only difference is that we have not gone the full distance but we massacre one another everyday; our psyche is seriously damaged.

We thrive on the deprivation of others. It is the middle and upper class thing to do and the lower classes, aspiring to be middle and upper class, do it to themselves too. So it pervades the society and our poor people feel it the most; they are the footballs in the game. He who feels it knows it.

Comment by BAFBFP

Deprivation? A topic for David to consider.

The current account in Barbados is serviced in the main through sale of Bajan land to foreigners (at least for the past few years). This money is spent to service the needs of those who could afford expensive imports and overseas travel. This ability to afford comes from the exploiting of Barbadians as consumers and as members of a work force, followed by the necessity to approach the Central Bank for the same foreign money that is derived from the sale of land (and of course the exploiting of the Barbadian work force on the cheap). The current account is now down to two months of import cover. Overseas travel by public and private citizens will continue unabated and in a short while the PM will make his regular call for Barbadians to “Produce More”, with no consideration to what it is that we should be producing or how we are to get said products sold!

No sorry ROK this is not deprivation, this is Depravity…!

61 responses to “Is Barbados A Depraved Society?”

1. I have two sons. We get on well. Always have. One of them calls for advice often and to tell me what he is up to next.

My boys believe that I am one of their pals man. Like me they like to joke and tell jokes. I cant complain about them really.

2. @Georgie P……………How you doing?

3. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

@ Crusoe,

Many social psychologists characterize evolutionary adaptation as a ‘foundation’ for, as opposed to an ‘ingredient’ in, the social construct of morality (or what you refer to as ‘norms of living civilisation’). In this sense, the ‘foundation’ (e.g. helping those we consider ‘worthy’ of help) is not as fragile as the social construct (e.g. defining what it means to be ‘worthy’). In fact, some go as far as to say that religion and concepts of spirituality are products of this evolutionary adaptation. Two psychologists who are at the forefront of this type of research are Jonathan Haidt and Marc Hauser.

I agree with your conclusion @8:15pm yesterday though.

@ GP,
    A psychologist? Man yuh hurt muh feelings man… I would have much preferred it if you had asked me whether I was a psychiatrist 🙂

4. Found the below extract on the net, interesting.

A corrupt, depraved society is one in which the people en masse have lost their moral sense.  It is not one in  which people sin.  It is one in which people have lost their   bias against sin.  It is not one in which people commit   adultery.  It is one in which people condone and accept  adultery.  It is not one in which people commit immoral acts.   It is one in which people accept and condone immorality.  It is  a loss of moral values, moral knowledge, moral sense. 

How do  you know such a society when you see it?  You listen to people’s opinions on matters of morals.  You note their likes  and dislikes, their tastes, their preferences, how they  entertain themselves.  You note their humor, what they joke  about, what they think is funny.  You note their fads as a  people.  You note their preferences in entertainment. 

Let us be more specific.  Suppose you look through the  newspaper listings of the dozens of movies that are showing around town and month after month, year after year, there is never a decent one to be found.  They all lash forth advertisements revealing their themes of lust, illicit sex and  violence.  On your television you flip through the dozens of  channels that are available and again there is not a decent program showing.  Every picture that comes up is either a bedroom scene or a scene involving violence or becomes one or  the other within a few seconds. And this same situation goes on  year after year. 

You wonder how a society can live on a  constant diet of dirt and filth year after year and never get   tired of it.  You try going to some plays.  You find they are  all interlaced with profanity, obscenity, and crude language. 

You find nothing of depth or worth or merit in any of them.  You turn on your radio.  You run through dozens of stations before you find one that is playing something decent.  To find a decent novel to read you have to choose an author from some past century.  Nothing written in your century is worth   anything.  Art and painting?  You have to go to the art of   centuries past.  The art of your century is all degenerate.   

How about the conversation at coffee break at work?  Both women   and men freely banter with one another in the risque, the  crude, and the obscene.  It is obviously the type conversation   in which they most delight.  Anyone who is not comfortable with  this kind of thing is regarded as Puritan, Victorian or prude.  

You see a debate on pornography.  Two people are defending pornography and two are against it.  A question is posed.  What is pornography?  They can’t agree.  Another question is asked.  Is a picture of a nude woman pornography?  They are all agreed  on the answer to this question.  They all agree that it is not. 

Reporters covering candidates for public office openly state that they don’t report on the sexual conduct of the candidates. They say they don’t believe that information is important or relevant and feel it is none of the public’s business.

What is a corrupt society?  It is a society ruled by immoral, wicked men; criminals elected by the populace, supported by the populace, and shielded from punishment by their political   allies.

5. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@David, there are many value judgements in the extract, but let’s get past those. The bottom line should be whether your society is one of consistency or contractions.

If you say that your society is law abiding, does it do all it can to be so, or does it often turn a blind eye to lawlessness or law breaking?

If you say that your society is one of honesty and integrity, does that show itself in most things that are done, or is dishonesty and lack of integrity pounced upon as unacceptable?

If you say that your society is based on trust/trustworthiness, do citizens and policy makers (short hand for ‘bosses’ of all kinds) adhere to that? Are contracts respected? Can people treat with each other openly, knowing that all is above board?

We do not need to focus on what some may see as lewdness. That is an aspect but it is not (in my view) the core.

Your depravity may also come from a ready unwillingness to discuss opposing views (I think that is within a strict definition as ‘a corrupt act or practice’). Do not confuse that discussion with accepting them, however. You discuss them from a firm moral position, knowing or feeling that your compass is well directed.

6. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

s/b CONTRADICTIONS (not ‘contractions’)…

7. Dedicated to Georgie Porgie
    (puddin pie, kissed girls, made cry)
    And I’m the diggy diggy D.O.C. y’all, pumping it yes y’all
    D.O.C. on the set we’re kicking fresh y’all
    Letting the bass G-O and full with soul so I can wait
    Leaving the rest to DJ Dr. Dre

It’s the diggy diggy D.O.C. y’all

When I hear a bass drum
    I gotta get dumb, but some
    Think it’s a fable and label me not able to come
    Correct, so I cold jet back to my room
    And invent something to compliment the boom
    Of a kick, cause I want it all like in Monopoly

The D.O.C. – Doc & The Doctor

8. Discussing moral depravity how about these pictures posted on the government funded CBC TV.

9. David

This can’t be the real CBC; this must be a fake website. I know the folks in the photos are not necessarily CBC employees but no respectable organization posts those kinds of pictures on its website. While we have the debate about ZR’s; bullying; truancy etc. we have a glaring example of the fox guarding the henhouse.

Somebody should be fired

10. Sorry

I dissagree…!

Wukkin’ up in public is NOT a moral issue!

In fact, I am sure that Georgie would agree, it is damned good exercise!

11. to blame religion for some of the depravition of any society is abit too much .after all we people have a choice to make rather to do good or evil .the choice is up to us.if relegion was very effectivewe would not be having this discussion because we would all be good people.anyhow christianity has played and important rule in the lives of many people who had not for the grace of god would be God knows where.It is up to us as a people to stirve towards those things which would make this world a better place.we have a choice GOOD or Evil.nobody is pulling your strings choose.Up to me I would choose religion over thse corrupt governments to show me the way.It is not religion that the world is in the economic mess we are intoday but Goverments.Youmight say that many relgions use their power to oppressed people . but it is up to the people to stay meanwhile the goverment do the same.iwill say again the choice is up to the individual .