Queen Elizabeth Hospital

On May 16, 2008 BU featured Chris Halsall’s submission which questioned what he viewed as a few inaccuracies printed in the Advocate newspaper. Although he conceded on one point he has remained steadfast on the other points that he raised. At the prompting of a BU family member, and in the same vain as Chris Halsall, we wish to question a recent Nation editorial. We anticipate the now predictable responses from Bush tea et al and our retort is: although we are being critical of the Nation newspaper there is a bigger point at stake, i.e. lack of efficient policy formulation at the highest level in Barbados.

The gist of the Nation editorial seems to be suggesting that the PEOPLE should stop bashing the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) because when compared to the others in our region, we are by far more superior. What a dumb position to take! In other words, Barbados should benchmark our historically high health-care standards to others in our region which maybe described as mediocre at best.

Barbadians who have enjoyed a high standard of health-care must now ignore the following?

1. A hospital that allows its stock of iodine to become depleted to so endanger its cancer patients?
  2. Should sick Barbadians expect their lifes to be threatened because inefficient management systems at the hospital permits the electrical power room to be sabotaged with ease?
  3. What about the current climate which has stakeholders at the hospital e.g. nurses, doctors, administration staff to constantly go public to highlight shortages of key supplies, mal-working equipment and other inefficiencies to numerous to mention?
  4. Cancellation of operations to be performed on long suffering Barbadians because of an ineffective campaign to top-up the blood banks.
  5. Last but not least has been the vexing issue of transitioning the Board from under the thumb of the bureaucratic civil service to that of a Board. In recent days, we have had the incumbent Minister of Health David Estwick sponsoring a change to the relevant legislation which allows him to appoint a significant number of Board members.

It is not unreasonable for Barbadians to expect a high standard of healthcare from our healthcare providers for two main reasons, a large slice of the budget is allocated in the budget to finance health-care in Barbados and Barbadians are very heavily taxed! So many issues in our society seem to be emerging because of a lack of efficient policy formulation.

13 responses to “Queen Elizabeth Hospital Wailing In Pain”

1. The gist of the Nation editorial seems to be suggesting that the PEOPLE should stop bashing the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) because when compared to the others in our region, we are by far more superior.
    ——————————————————————————–
    Superior my a**….!!

Have you ever need an X-ray at the QEH?
    The bones would knit before you get it, unless you are bleeding profusely.

I had a medical emergency at the last Jazz festival in St.Lucia and had to get an X-ray.
    I went to a doctors office next to the square, where the most polite Doctor filled out a form and sent me up the street to have it done.
    In 45 minutes, I was back with my results and receiving the medication needed. In 15 minutes, I was back in the Square, enjoying good jazz (albeit minus any beer). All this in an hour and for $85 EC.
    So we should really stop with this superior nonsense…..expensive and lengthy ,yes…..superior …no!!

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If we are heading for first world status then we need to be compared with first world institutions.

This best in the region garbage is not going to cut it anymore. And rightly so. Most regional institutions are piss poor.

This is just one of the problems I have with the old media in Barbados. They are bent of maitaining the status quo. They are not encourging us or our govt. to move to the next level. They are in their comfort zone and they will have to be dragged kicking and screaming out of it.

A country will not go forward if it remains still and these guys just don’t get it. If you do things the same way everytime you will get the same results. We need to go forward with new ideas and programs.

The DLP can do it.

3. The gist of the Nation editorial seems to be suggesting that the PEOPLE should stop bashing the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) because when compared to the others in our region, we are by far more superior.

Then Lord help the rest of them if that is truly the case.

I recently had occasion to visit the QEH when a relative was admitted. While my relative had only a minor gripe at the attitude of one of nurses and, on the whole, she thought the nurses and other medical staff did a remarkable job given the circumstances, the condition of that place is a damned disgrace to the country. It absolutely looks exactly like you would expect it might look like if not one red cent has been spent on the maintenance and upkeep of the building since it opened some forty years ago. I guess if you wanted to be charitable, shabby, run-down and decrepit are some of the least offensive adjectives that might spring to mind to describe the conditions.

Frankly, I would be depressed to have have to go to work in a place like that every day. The yahoo liming in the car park and aggressively demanding of me “gih muh five dollars nuh” was just the finishing touch on providing that authentic feeling of a visit to a third world hospital.

4. I went to a doctors office next to the square, where the most polite Doctor filled out a form and sent me up the street to have it done.
    ……………………………………………………………………
    Technician, I must pick you up on your statement regarding the swiftness of medical services in St. Lucia. Was your x-ray done at that country’s hospital? If the answer is “NO”, you cannot compare it with the QEH. Maybe, if you was in Barbados and had to seek medical attention, your best bet will be FMH or the Holetown Clinic where you will get the speedy service. But you know what, these same medical facilities are managed by the same doctors who work for the QEH. Do you know what motivates them? Money of course.

What I am saying is, people of all colour, creed, religion, sex, age or financial status are treated by the same QEH and return to society and the only thing we find easy to do, is the constant criticism.

Few months ago, a picture was in the media and on television showing patients in Trinidad’s Main Hospital lying on the hard floor awaiting medical attention. Some stated that they were waiting for days and that is the usual norm. Come on my friends, regardless what you think of the hospital due to your political reasons, nearly all of us gave the first breathe of life in this facility and our parents never complained, because the percentage of child death is one of the lowest in the developed and developing world.

Remember, health care is the most sensitive issue in modern day politics. If I was the present Minister of Health, I would refrain from criticising the facility because, the same criticism will follow and haunt him when things remain the same.

5. A country will not go forward if it remains still and these guys just don’t get it. If you do things the same way everytime you will get the same results. We need to go forward with new ideas and programs.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Carson, this is the first time I am responding to your article due to your positive and unswerving love for the DLP. But I must remind you that any FREE utililised public facility such as a hospital, will fall into disrepair fast. Regardless of maintenance cost, the public enjoy destroying state facilities. If you replace five toilet bowls and face basins, the public will carry away some part of them, while others will destroy them for kicks. That’s the Bajan way of thanking the Government.

I am not an apologist for any political party, but I can assure you that renovations were carried out at this facility on the inside and outside, only to be vandalised by vagrants and people with devious minds. So regardless of the positive nature of the Government and Health Minister, Bajans will be Bajans……spiteful and destructive. I have no excuse for the lawless.

6. A True Believer Avatar
    A True Believer

Green Monkey tell the truth you never went in the QEH. It is a hosspital you expect it would look like the hilton. my aunt in there now c12 and it look allright to me .it aint dirty or break up. my cousin who lives in birmingham say the hospital in look no differant than the one in the uk.

7. Carson Cadogan we are hearing you. We still find it amazing that most if not all of the callin moderators read the blogs but have refused to join with us to challenge the staus quo. They borrow some of the views expressed on the blogs and water them down as they own. It is disgusting the ignorance which they continue to display viv a vis the blogs. The irony is the longer they continue to do this the more of a foothold the blogs seem to be taking.

8. Green Monkey tell the truth you never went in the QEH. It is a hosspital you expect it would look like the hilton. my aunt in there now c12 and it look allright to me .it aint dirty or break up. my cousin who lives in birmingham say the hospital in look no differant than the one in the uk.

Then the ones in the UK must also look like crap I guess.

9. “A True Believer // May 20, 2008 at 4:00 pm

Green Monkey tell the truth you never went in the QEH. It is a hosspital you expect it would look like the hilton. my aunt in there now c12 and it look allright to me .it aint dirty or break up. my cousin who lives in birmingham say the hospital in look no differant than the one in the uk.”

I will drink to that. The Birmingham part! In 1996 I had business at Ashton University and broke a tooth. I went to the hospital and was surprised at the condition of it. Very rundown, staff lakadaisical. The Dr. rather than fixing the tooth, and have me pay if necessary, did temporary patch job and told me go to my dentist when I return to Canada. I had further business in London the next week and had to eat gingerly for 10 days.

In Jamaica, I had to go to the hospital in St. Anns Bay in 1992. Older limestone building, but so clean, it smelled clean, nurses and doctors top notch, quiet and peaceful. Yard swept clean and that place was surrounded by trees. Much better looking than QEH.

Last year got a throat infection in Barbdos and a friend told me not to go to the QEH. He phoned Dr. Brancker and I was seen in an hour for $125 plus medication. Expensive.

In 1996, saw a Dr. in Holetown at the clinic there and it only cost me $50. He was a Guyanese and very nice. Cheap!.

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Pat you wrote

In 1996, saw a Dr. in Holetown at the clinic there and it only cost me $50. He was a Guyanese and very nice. Cheap!.

Last year got a throat infection in Barbdos and a friend told me not to go to the QEH. He phoned Dr. Brancker and I was seen in an hour for $125 plus medication. Expensive.

$50 was probably the going rate by GP’s then.
    Seems 12 years later price has gone up 50%?

But I note you were seen in an hour. That doesnt happen here in Central Florida.

Recently I had a toothache. Went to dentist. Paid the copay. His aide looked in my mouth. He popped in for two mins and loked in my mouth. She returned in five mins with a bill for S2000 as the payment to put in a bridge if I desired when the tooth was removed. I was sent away with a prescription for antibiotics and analgesics and an appointment to see a dental surgeon.

I would have paid Peggy Walker what ever she charges now gladly! She would have cleaned my teeth, flossed them and whatever and then removed the tooth.

11. I have a friend who just returned from a stay in the Q.E.H This is a guy who said he would never want to go there. However, he fell seriously ill and had to be hospitalised. I don’t believe that this same guy is now praising that institution. He said the treatment he received was equal or better than what he got overseas. What crowned it off was that the medication was FREE. Maybe some of us need to experience these things before we start criticising. Remember this is not Utopia

12. The Devils Advocate Avatar
    The Devils Advocate

We cannot blame the staff for the problems at the hospital and if I had to work there I would be grumpy too. I have experienced Port of Spain General in 1996 and it is still in the same condition now that it was then. I went in with an infection that was spreading to my kidney and I spent a night on a bench. Most of the night a lady somewhere in that dark room was saying over and over in a Trini accent ‘oh god nurse, oh god nurse’. I got a bed at about 3am which I later discovered was made vacant by a woman who had DIED on the ward. I have no idea if the linen had been changed. I’m not saying count your blessings but unfortunately our QEH in 2008 reminds me more of Port of Spain general now than in 1996. One good thing was the separation of the asthma bay from the general accident and emergency. The staff of A&E and Obstetrics are some of the very best I have experienced. I think that more can be done.

13. I think barbadians have all the rights to demand high quality healthcare considering the high rate of taxes they pay. I visited the QEH a few years ago and it was a total dump and a very depressing environment for patients. Lots of the nurses have very poor communication skills and they treat their fellow barbadians with little respect. This type of attitude from nurses would never be tolerated if they were practising in developed countries because patients are treated with lots of respect and this type of behaviour would be reprimanded.
    The barbadian government is focusing on upgrading the airport to first class status which is valid but on the other hand it is disgraceful to see that they are not capable of injecting enough funds into upgrading the QEH to a similar status.
    Barbadians should be more vocal and demanding in regards to the quality of healthcare they receive. This is the only way to move forward and bring about positive changes to the healthcare system in Barbados.