Eva Rausing - Tetra Pak

Philanthropic: Hans and Eva Rausing are closely involved with charities which work to keep young people off drugs

The wife of one of Britain’s richest men yesterday issued an extraordinary plea for forgiveness after she was arrested for possessing crack cocaine and heroin. Eva Rausing – who is married to the heir to the £5.4 billion Tetra Pak fortune – was caught allegedly trying to smuggle to the drugs into the US Embassy in London.

snip

Despite this, he and his family appear to enjoy an extremely enviable lifestyle. They spend a lot of their time at their 11 bedroom, £50 million beach side mansion in Barbados.

Source: Daily Mail

This is a story which should interest Barbadians and our authorities because this mega rich couple spends a lot of their time in Barbados at their 50 million pound mansion on the West Coast! This is one of those stories which BU family members sould sit back and read the article from source. We trust you to make your own judgments.

Amazing!

31 responses to “Eva Rausing Of Tetra Pak Fame Arrested In Britain For Possessing Crack Cocaine & Heroin”

1. West Coast Rape Avatar
    West Coast Rape

Wow imagine being so rich that you feel that you could smuggle drugs into the US Embassy. If they have no regard for the US Embassy I wnder what happens when they are in Barbados at their West Coast mansion?

2. NO MORE MARINAS EVER Avatar
    NO MORE MARINAS EVER

Good work blogger. First with the truth again. As far as I can tell there’s been no mention yet in the “traditional media.”

There is a commonly-held belief among people like this that they are above the law. That they can do anything they like and get away with it. This includes hiring expensive PR flacks to “soften” the story when they’re caught red-handed. Or to keep their crimes out of the papers altogether.

It also includes building monstrous £50 million villas on scarce and precious Barbados beach property.

And we, who serve time for one spliff, can’t see the sea from the highway and get less and less access to the beaches that “these” people consider their own.

There’s something very wrong here?

3. xenophobe chick Avatar
    xenophobe chick

Last week a senior US State Department suit visiting Barbados said the Caribbean is a threat to world stability (or words to that effect.)

And used drugs as only one example of our unstableness.

Did he include millionaires who live in Barbados who smuggle drugs into US embassies?

And I’m not a drug connaisseur but judging by the amount this lady was smuggling into the London embassy she couldn’t have consumed them all herself.

4. Krzysztof Skubiszewski Avatar
    Krzysztof Skubiszewski

Here’s the deal.

Let’s offer amnesty and a full pardon to West Coast Rape zillion dollar villa owners. You can build as high and as wide as you want, ugly too, gates, armed security guards and ferocious guard dogs of course, block our beaches as if they are your own, naturally.

In return we reserve the right to body search you upon entering your compound and have our sniffer dogs examine your Hummvies and polo ponies.

Incidentally, can anyone say exactly what the penalty is in Barbados for cocaine and heroin possession?

5. Fire their sorry @$$e$ outa Bim and ban them from ever returning.

6. It seems you are running the same item as BFP. No problem , I can just copy and paste my post from there to here!

Reading the Daily Mail link, it seems that the Rousings are philanthropists. They also appear to have a commitment to rehabilitation from drugs, well, at least Mrs. Rousing. Barbados may well be the ideal place for them to come, in all respects. Keep up the good work, BFP, in exposing drug abuse. Are there any other scandals that we ought to know about regarding VIPs? (Well, I think we all know about A. Owen’s problem!!)

I can add one more comment here. Can we trust them to be good in Barbados?

7. If they were so brazen in their attempt to smuggle drugs into the US, is anyone under any doubt about possible attempts and successes they probably had smuggling them into Barbados? I thing the Barbados police force should “Jerry Hall” their butts if and when they next land in Bimshire. 😀

…..But we know that drugs are only a problem when poor people have access to them.

http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9B0DE6DE173CF932A15751C0A961948260

Although dressed up don’t they look like two parros?

8. Read the article. I always pity rich people. Their lives are usually envied by everyone who assumes that wealth brings you happiness. I have never believed it. Being born into wealth is not necessarily a blessing nor is being born into poverty necessarily a curse.
    Every one of us has got our own demons to fight. ABBA said that money must be funny in a rich man’s world. Here they were fighting their own demons and supporting charities who fight against the drug problem. I think it is sad.
    What will it profit a man to gain the whole world…

9. Who do these rich folks socialize with in Barbados or do they?

10. I am not one to usually judge people by the way they are dressed or the way they look, but I’ve got to tell you those two look really dodgy. They have a spaced out look, and if I were a customs officer or security guard I would be very suspicious of them, LOL.

11. I am a bit surprised at the outrage apparent from bloggers in response to this revelation.

Is is my experience that people USUALLY try to cover their tracks by reflecting the opposite virtue to the one that represents their own failings…

Wimps try to join the army…

Dunces are obsessed with being called ‘doctor’

Persons who can’t even manage their own families want to be politicians

etc etc etc

If I was a dishonest person, would I not feel safer operating as a lawyer – or Policeman – better yet a Judge?

If I am unattractive, what kind of wife you think I looking for?

…and if I wanted to be called SIR and to hob nob with the rich white people – and I was a historian, you feel I won’t start out ‘rough’ in my public lectures about slavery too….

… if I was in a position where I could not even support my family, and that led some idiots to feel that this qualified me to become PM, what the hell wanna vex bout now that I am super rich… and it is wanna that scrunting?

… So if these people are druggies and got nuff money to spend, and want to come and hobnob with the rich judges, politicians, etc in Barbados – why wanna surprised that they try to buy the image of anti – drug philanthropist?

… I feeling real acid today. Anyone know of an alkaline club I could join…

12. Need a club, BT?

Alkalines Anonymous hold regular meetings at Chalky Mount.

13. …look out for me ST…

14. Krzysztof Skubiszewski Avatar
    Krzysztof Skubiszewski

More Rausing. (Even the name sounds like something you could get arrested for.)

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article3736016.ece

15. Dear Sam Gamgee: Why do you pity rich people? Just because you are rich it does not mean that you should not find meaningful work. There is plenty of meaningful low paid work that needs to be done in this world. There was nothing stopping Hans from training and working as an elementary school teacher. Nothing to stop Eva from training as a nurse and spending 8 hours a day 40 hours a week in her feet lookinf after sick people. There is a worldwide shortage of nurses and teachers. They would not be taking away any poor person’s job. They would still have their money. Hans and Eva are lazy shites who think that giving money is the same as giving, time and skill, and love and committment. There is no way that giving away your daddy’s money can be considered meaningful work. The two of them need to go back to drug rehab, come clean and find meaningful 40 to 60 hour a week jobs. Yes I said JOBS. That would keep them busy and engaged with life. WORK is the only cure for boredom.

16. NO MORE MARINAS EVER Avatar
    NO MORE MARINAS EVER

Krzysztof Skubiszewski’s clever observation about the word leads me to suggest “Rausing” which is remarkably close to “Housing” should be used as a verb to describe the uncontrolled building of villas and condos inside West Coast walled compounds patrolled by armed guards with ferocious dogs..

Example. The people raping the West Coast next door to the Sandridge Hotel in Speightstown should be brought before the courts and found guilty of rausing.

17. The Devils Advocate Avatar
    The Devils Advocate

Do any of you read the Daily Mail? There is a whole other Barbados in that paper. In that Barbados the relative of a famous model was found to have her own marijuana plantation on her humongous property. One of her millionaire neighbours squealed and the Police simply asked her to stop. hmmm, how cum dah din in we paypuh? In Barbados the police would shoot yuh fuh a spliff ,an dem jus ask she tuh STOP!!!
    Duh got two diffrent Buh badusses hear!

18. wannabee rich2 Avatar
    wannabee rich2

how do we know the rausing’s dont work? it seems they have four young children. perhaps it is no longer acceptable to have the job of ‘mother’ anymore…
    as for their link with drugs, many people give to organisations with which they feel some sort of connection. If they were covering up their own problems I would doubt they would attract attention to themselves by supporting drug problems. surely a children’s charity is much safer…
    did anyone see greensleeves before they built? it was an abandoned ruin for years. the sea wall was always there. they built the drain which now runs under the road at considerable expense to themselves. the road no longer floods. for this, i thank them. but of course they should face the law like everbody else
    they have made a statement saying they do not want to upset or offend anyone and if their presence is contraversial they will not impose themselves.
    Personally, I think that on balance barbados is losing well meaning people. of course we do not want criminals, but it seems some have already judged them based on their economic status. would we be so quick to asssume that a poor man was automatically above the law? Yet we assume becuase they are rich they think they are special. this is a form of rascism which seems to be universally condoned, and it makes me angry. why is it wrong to judge people by race, but ok to judge them for their economic status? just because they are rich we assume they are a certain way. should we assume all poor people are theives? nobody would assume this, yet how easily we assume rich people to be lazy, idle, stupid, arrogant, spoiled….well, maybe some rich people are. and maybe some poor people are all these things too. thinking about it, it might explain why they are poor….

19. […] April 10, 2008 we highlighted the story about the tetra pak billionaires and their cocaine habit. Many of the BU family wondered how this […]

20. And today she is dead. From a suspected overdose. Her husband has been arrested after being caught with drugs. Then re-arrested after the wife’s body was found. These are the people Barbados is trying to attract – the moneyed!!!!

21. @Pat

Thanks, wondered why this blog was attracting so many hits.

See a link to the news:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-18789629

22. The following article is compulsory reading. Especially access to easy drugs.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Dark side of paradise… the death of Eva Rausing puts the spotlight on Barbados

The death of Eva Rausing casts a spotlight on Barbados, the island of choice for the Kemenys, Kidds and Rausings, where drugs are plentiful and the days are long

It is just an eight-hour direct flight from London Gatwick and once you arrive you are never more than 10 minutes’ stroll from a palm-dappled shore. Barbados is known as the Switzerland of the Caribbean for the high number of wealthy home owners, and its residents spend their days swimming, lounging on white sand beaches, lunching and golfing at the famous Sandy Lane Hotel — before playing long into the night. The drink of choice is, of course, rum, and the atmosphere, like the heat, intense, heady.

It is a life that the late Eva Rausing and her husband Hans knew well. The tragic couple split their time between the capital and Barbados where they owned an 11-bedroom beachfront mansion worth £15 million. Set on a private estate near Sandy Lane — said to be the Rausings’ spiritual home — Greensleeves comes with an oriental water garden and koi-filled lily ponds.

http://www.standard.co.uk/lifestyle/london-life/dark-side-of-paradise-the-death-of-eva-rausing-puts-the-spotlight-on-barbados-7941741.html

23. Cant blame Barbados for drugs in this case. How many celebs spend time in and out of rehab in the US and UK?

Work for idel hands. Iffin they had to wuk fuh dem money……..

24. Looka the lovlely Angelina Jolie, she spends her time helping others it seems, and she had less than them, a LOT less (though much more than us poor folk).

25. BU understands our authorities are well aware of some of the practices of these rich and famous people who visit and abuse. Many of our clinics are kept busy but we never hear of these fat cats being arrested. Money talks and bullshit …

26. speaking about drugs .wha happen to rhi rhi seems like she hitting rock bottom at warp speed i hope somebody or something standing by to catch she when she falls.

27. Now I am pissed. These fcukers spend millions to ensure their constant supply of drugs and now people implicating Barbados.

Maybe Barbados should start searching all private jets and Yachts that arrive on our shores.

It should be made clear to the world that Barbados has drug enforcement like most other democratic countries but you cannot stop the Rich and Famous from obtaining the drugs of their choice.

The Rich and Famous have the choice to just say no.

The expletives were omitted from my contribution.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 14, 2012 at 5:52 PM |

We must be there for her when she falls.
    Those in the know saw what was happening and are not surprised at the outcome.
    She has done more for Bim that the BTA has in the last 20 years.
    Let us be magnanimous in our assessments.
    Just hope it is grass and not the white lady that is feeding the termite in the woodpile.
    “Live fast, die young and have a beautiful corpse

29. @ miller
    but the recent reports about rhii have been disheartening as much as that her mentor jayz had stated that she should seek help. not good i hope we not witnessing another whitney in the making.shudder to think so!.BTW where are her parents in all of this never seem to get any response negative or positive from them you will think that they would be quick to throw some water on the negative publicly rhi rhi gets but not a word.not good!

30. @David | July 14, 2012 at 7:02 AM “BU understands our authorities are well aware of some of the practices of these rich and famous people who visit and abuse. Many of our clinics are kept busy but we never hear of these fat cats being arrested. Money talks and bullshit…

walks

31. If you live by the sword you will die by the sword. This is the word of the Lord.

Halleluja!!!!!!!!!!!!