The Hair Debate In Los Barbados II

imageimageimage

capture.jpgimageimage

After reading the daily newspaper today we were struck by what many of us already know. In fact we have expressed our feelings on this matter as recent as February 26, 2008 when we blogged on the topic, The Hair Debate In Los Barbados. The pictures on the top row represent three out of four young men charged with terrorizing Barbados in recent weeks with a slew of robberies. Of interest is the charge of robbing groups of tourist, and the much publicized daylight robbery in Warrens last week. The two pictures to the right at the bottom show Jason Norville released on bail for causing bodily harm to persons while driving a car and Anthony Charles facing a gun charge.

So why have we highlighted the five gentlemen? It comes down to hair. The recent appointment of Senator Damien Griffith to the Senate of Barbados was hailed by everyone as a good selection. He has always been known as a young articulate gentleman. When he walked into the Upper Chamber with his hair plaited in the cornrow style it absolutely created a furor in Barbados. In our opinion the current debate has overtaken that time when Rihanna walked into Chefette wearing a swim suit top. We understand from Mr. Mathew Farley, who has triggered the debate by expressing his disgust in the press that Senator Griffith should not be allowed to enter the Senate of Barbados with a plaited hairstyle. Many feel that for him to wear a hairstyle which has been made famous by the opposite sex maybe sending mixed signals to our young men. Many conservative Barbadians already suggest that our young men are already confused about their sexuality. Senator Griffith has indicated that he will wear the cornrow hairstyle because the people he represent are inclined to look like him, we think that is what he said.

We said it last week and we will say it again. Senator Griffith you are talking hogwash! The reality of the situation is you are wearing a hairstyle which is the preferred style of many of our young men who make up the criminal minds in our country. That negative perception does not mean that your are not a good person. However as a leader who has been given the honour to represent your country in the highest lawmaking chamber in the country, you need to send a message to the youth, loud and clear. Look at the pictures above and reflect before it is too late.

133 thoughts on “The Hair Debate In Los Barbados II

1. You got it wrong buddy, these visitors return home with the said cornrows with beads.

TMW, If they’re so proud of their new found hairstyles then why don’t they wear them, all the time!! I can’t recall the last time I saw a white person in cornrows – they know that they’d be scorned and riducled!! As I said, ok for them for a few days, but would n’t be seen dead in them, after that!!!!

Not only are you missing the cultural changes in your homeland,

Do u think that I want to go to a place where people does wear cornrows n dreadlocks, any more than I absolutely, have to?!!!! Doan mek me laugh!!!!

Leave your hair the way it is …let the brothers and the sisters see you!! And maybe they will finally see themselves !!

Is this Bajan?!!!! Cause I caan onstan it!!!!

Laaaaaddddddddddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂

The point which most of u are missing is that Bim will never be great built on a foundation of dreadlocks and cornrow, wearers!!!! No intelligent person, could ever take such a proposition, seriously!!!!

I’m looking at ‘the bigger view’!!!! Do u wish for Bim to remain a small country (financially and with regard to its influence), forever!!!!

Thompson has sense!!!!

2. Flicking-through my satellite channels one day, I happened upon a golf tournament being broadcast from, of all places, Bim!! Had n’t seen that before, so, obviously, had to watch!!

Everything looked very nice!! But then I saw the ball-boys!!!! And, OMG!!!! They were rastas!!!!

I had to make sure that it WAS Bim, for truth, but, sadly, it really, was!!!!

I thought, cheese-on-bread-man, what must the international community watching think of my poor, land!!!!

Which is why I say, think not of the local view, but if u want to be a great nation, how the international community, will view you!!!!

Dah is all!!!! 🙂

3. I thought, cheese-on-bread-man, what must the international community watching think of my poor, land!!!!
    …………………………………………………………………….
    That simply states that we are all equal, living in harmony. By the way, some of our golfers wear locks. Dah fuh lick yuh. You spend too much time locked away from society, no wonder you never see Caucasians with cornrow.

4. Austin Tom Clarke one of our most renowned writers wears an alternative hair style does this make him less than a person. I say no we love him around the world for the ? He will leave a great legacy of literature and citizentry in Canada and around the world. The white Canadian never ostracized him for his hairstyle
    he is lauded for his intellect.

I don’t want to hear any dumb remarks about the CBC days thats what life is about growth.

I do say this argument from the beginning is racist and should never be encouraged at this level. Many younger bajans dream of returning there one day but until all those old black male conservatives have all passed on I say stay away.

5. #

Bush Tea // March 12, 2008 at 7:22 am

…all due respect to you technician, but I feel that Bimbro got you pin off in a corner… and jabbing…
    ———————————————————————-
    Really Bush tea???
    Watch this left hook….

Bimbro // March 12, 2008 at 12:46 pm

Flicking-through my satellite channels one day, I happened upon a golf tournament being broadcast from, of all places, Bim!! Had n’t seen that before, so, obviously, had to watch!!

Everything looked very nice!! But then I saw the ball-boys!!!! And, OMG!!!! They were rastas!!!!

I had to make sure that it WAS Bim, for truth, but, sadly, it really, was!!!!

I thought, cheese-on-bread-man, what must the international community watching think of my poor, land!!!!
    ————————————————————-
    Really Bush Tea ……does this sound like a man who has been on this island in the last 3 decades???

Give me a friggin’ break…this idiot has not been to this island for decades….
    Let him tell us where Nelson statue is facing !!!
    If he like Brownes beach so much…..tell me how much is a fish cutter from Cuz.
    Fraud ass Bimbro!!!

6. Anyway….it’s my birthday ..and I am off to McBrides to see Barbados’ #1 Reggae band ……..Red Alarm….of which the lead singer is my nephew, BUGGY!!!
    And yes…he has dreads….and I am proud to have raised him !!!!

7. Let him tell us where Nelson statue is facing !!!

Has it occured to u that I knew ‘which way Nelson’s statue is facing’, even before I first left Bim, so reminding u here, now, would prove nothing!!!!

Technician // March 12, 2008 at 10:21 pm

Anyway….it’s my birthday ..and I am off to McBrides to see Barbados’ #1 Reggae band ……..Red Alarm….of which the lead singer is my nephew, BUGGY!!!
    And yes…he has dreads….and I am proud to have raised him !!!!

Well it’s no wonder you’re unable to have an objective view on this subject. People r usually, unable to where family’s involved which is why a wife is n’t called to give evidence against her husband and, perhaps, also, son/child!!! Did n’t u know this?!!!! And I thought u were so brilliant!!!!

Perhaps, you’re not quite as segacious, as you thought!!!!

Furthermore, I’m still at a loss to comprehend the significance of how recently, or not, I’ve visited Bim, in relation to the argument about whether people should be allowed to wear dreadlocks and cornrows!!!!

Are the dreadlocks and cornrows in BIM, different from those in other parts of the world, then?!!!!

Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂

8. And here’s a pic of how normal, black people look – could have done with slightly, less hair though!!!!

Farther down is a pic of Tito, after, like Technician, he became confuse!!!!

Laaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/article910197.ece

Look at these two gorillas!! The Prince and Duchess must have thought them really, weird but Royal protocal prevented them from saying, so!!!!

I guess this is how people like Technician should like to see all Barbadians dress, and consider to be sane!!!! OMG!!!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/royals/article909547.ece

Perhaps, the cornrows and dreadlocks in Bim have got more than 3 layers!!!! I wun be surprise!!!!

Laaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!! 🙂

9. The sun has got it’s hat on

Hip, hip, hip, hip, hoorayyyyyyyyyyyy

The sun has got it’s hat on and we’re coming out to play!!!!

Sing along with me!!!!

Brit/Bajan, to the core!!!! 🙂

10. Technician // March 9, 2008 at 3:19 pm

Warrior says….Jesus said to render unto to Caesar that which is Caesar’s, they both acted under the premise of “I can do what I like bout hey”.
    ————————————————————————
    He also said render your soul and not your garments also.

You obviously spend too much time tinkering. Let me put it in simple terms so that you can easily digest.

Where protocol and good sense must be observed, then by all means observe them. Where there is an established code of dress then observe it.

Too often we are too quick to want to be fussy to show everyone that we are so “with it” that we throw the baby out with the bath water.

Hope that clear it for you. I know once your mention Jesus people get their panties in a knot. Oh well!

11. Me // March 11, 2008 at 12:28 pm

BTW Kadri I lived for many years in the states and it is through living there and other places where i grew to understand that what happens in the USA does not translate DIRECTLY to all societies and cultures. Infact in many instances it doesnt translate within certain communities in the USA itself. Did you ever try to get a cab in NYC? In the USA Guy with locs and a guy without with similar qualifications in a business field, who gets the job?

This is an excellent point as every one looks to the US as a place where you let it all hang out. In reality that is not so.

12. Technician // March 13, 2008 at 8:36 am

I am enjoying my birthday Bimbro…………………check me at month end!!!

Do birtdays last for 2 weeks in Bim?!!!!

I must move back day!!!! 🙂

This is an excellent point as every one looks to the US as a place where you let it all hang out. In reality that is not so.

You see, even the US observes high standards!! u guys had better wise-up, and quickly!!!!

13. Did u like the gorillas, and my parting-present!!!! which, incidentally and perhaps, not entirely, surprisingly, are both, Jamaican!!!! And that’s nothing to do with me!!!!

14. If the pic on the bottom right corner was displayed in grayscale, how many people would be able to tell it isn’t just another mug shot?

I’ve got nothing against cornrows, but its always good to know when to let some things go. Cornrows and plaits fine for bummin ’bout on campus, but when you’ve been placed in a gentleman’s position you should dress AND groom yourself accordingly.

Why not prove that you can rise to the occasion instead of putting those who have faith in your ability in a precarious position. No one should have to ask someone in that position to cut their hair and perhaps that’s the scariest part.

15. Correction:

If the pic on the bottom LEFT corner was displayed in grayscale, how many people would be able to tell it isn’t just another mug shot?

I’ve got nothing against cornrows, but its always good to know when to let some things go. Cornrows and plaits fine for bummin ’bout on campus, but when you’ve been placed in a gentleman’s position you should dress AND groom yourself accordingly.

Why not prove that you can rise to the occasion instead of putting those who have faith in your ability in a precarious position. No one should have to ask someone in that position to cut their hair and perhaps that’s the scariest part.

16. sadly,little has changed on this rock.
    15 years ago, as i walked up cave hill, while on vacation, i thumbed a lift.
    the man stopped, and in conversation, seemed surprised that an engineer, study for his MASc., could have locks.
    nay, we should all be clean shaven.
    fast forward to the above fray.
    what folly.
    we continue to adress symptoms, and neglect the root cause of much of the dischord on this island.
    we have not yet learned to love ourselves, black and white…( and in between..)
    and until we do, how can we love each other?
    so.
    until some love of self starts to turn up:
    i love myself, so i will stop when the light turns red.
    i love myself, so i will not throw this snackbox out the window, i will put it in the back seat till i get home.
    i love myself, so i know it’s tedious, but i will recycle…..
    i love myself, so i am going to cook a proper meal this afternoon, and not eat grease.
    till we start to love and respect ourselves,
    we pithcin top in mud.
    or, so i hear, forkin ground for monkey to run pun.

17. and while i am taking pot shots (glass houses and all…)
    any of wunna been out the street lately?
    do u REALLY know what is going on with the youth of this island?
    yall worrying about hair, in 2008?
    get a grip.
    Prayre and fasting.

18. Linknoir it is expected that ENTERTAIINERS like Arturo an Adonijah would dress be like they do ( including the fairstyle), they are entertainers. The Senate is not the SHIP INN.

19. UWI is not the Senate indeed traditionally college is where everyone experiments etc and finds ‘themselves.’

20. the man stopped, and in conversation, seemed surprised that an engineer, study for his MASc., could have locks.

‘LB’, was your battery low when u wrote the above?!!!! As an engineer, ‘then studying for his MASc’, I must admit that some of your spelling is highly, suspicious, not to say, wrong!!!! Perhaps, your battery was low!! As an engineer, I’d expect u to know and indeed, to have checked the state of your battery, before posting!!!!

Did you read ‘Arthur’s article’, here, which ‘inferred that Barbadian engineers are B, class’?!!!! I have n’t read it, yet, and was n’t sure how much credence to give the claim but having read your contribution, I’m beginning to wonder, even more, if he may b right!!!!

Is he right or wrong????

When you’ve finished, ‘loving-yourself’, perhaps, you could turn your attention to the state of your spelling, which, as I said before, is suspicious, to say the least!!!!

I must read the article about engineers!!!! Arthur may have been right!!!! He, afterall, is in a position to know!! I’ve never been in that position, myself!!!!

Dischord is n’t spelt like that, and neither is Prayre!!!!

21. In most countries, the standards which are accepted or expected of those who lead us, or in responsible positions can vary. This is because culture, race, religion and history determine what is acceptable.

In a free society we can do almost anything, providing it is within the law, but common sense tells us that to have an ordered society some things are better not done, if they would make us subject to ridicule, or cause annoyance or discomfort to others.

It is that element of individual self-control which gives order to the society which we are a part of.

To state that a person’s hairstyle has no impact on his/her intellectual ability is so obvious that it is not worth stating … that is not an issue.

In most societies, certain modes of behaviour and dress are expected from people in significant positions, does that mean their dress has a bearing on their professional ability? often it does not, but habit and custom influences the way we perceive things, to suggest otherwise is not being honest.

If our Governor General decided to carry out his official duties, suitably adorned with shoulder length dred locks, contemplate that for awhile… what would be the impact on the population and other officials, national and foreign with whom he meets at official functions.

There are those who would argue it would not matter, perhaps it would not. I raise this scenario only for us to contemplate seriously the logic of what what we say, when we suggest that hairstyles or appearance do not matter as regards our ability to satisfactorily perform our duties.

The hair style has no mental impact on our ability, but the way we are perceived influences society in its perception of us, if it did not, there would be no need for this discussion.

Some commenters here, have referred to other important figures of previous centuries, stating they had long hair etc that is no argument unless the “norm” of that specific historical period was other than long hair.

I am also at a loss, as to why some people think that to be old or above a certain age is not to know, or renders a person unable to understand, that line of argument has no more validity than to suggest that the youth of today are ignorant of all things and their feelings and way of life are of no account.

Good manners, taste, respect for others and self -worth are what most of us strive for, it is the ability to determine what those things are in the society of which we are a part, which determines how much or how little we have learned from our life experiences.

When the question is posed, who sets the standard? ” we set the standard” but an individual on his/her own rarely does, because it is “acceptance by others” that ensures the accepted standard is maintained.

As to the gentleman whose hairstyle has generated this debate, I will make no reference to him at all, as my policy on the bloggs is not to say anything negative about named individuals, apart from senior politicians on matters of policy. This situation is different in context and specific to personal grooming… I will therefore pass on it.

22. It is that element of individual self-control which gives order to the society which we are a part of.

I correct the above basic, precept of your argument!!

It is not ‘individual control’ which gives order to ANYTHING, but THE LEGALLY, PASSED AND ENFORCED LAWS of this country or any other country!!!!

Without the force, of LEGALLY, ENACTED LAWS, individuals’ behaviour would be even more debauched than it is, today!!!! INDIVIDUAL, SELF-CONTROL HAS VERY LITTLE TO DO WITH IT BUT THE OVERRIDING THOUGHT THAT IF YOU DON’T BEHAVE IN A CERTAIN WAY, YOU’LL BE ARRESTED AND END UP IN JAIL!!!!

Without actual, LAWS, Bim or anywhere else, would be a jungle and unsafe for anybody to be in!!!!

23. I realize there are some people that enjoy nothing more than insulting people’s comments. You drag the blog down by not respecting other people’s opinion and bringing in all these ad homin arguements.

There will be a locked prime minister of Barbados one day that’s certain. Might be even god forgive a female locked prime minister, we might have the lesbian before that but we have already done the gay chief justice. More and more black people everyday are not going to feel ashamed about their hair..time is running out for you guys.

Alice Walker, Toni Morrison who wear dread locks are not welcome i guess because i cant understand this thing that dread locks is wrong man or woman but plaits is wrong because on a woman is fine but on a man womanly? And please dont assume i share the same attitude to manhood as you because because men with plaited hair i hold in the same esteem as those with shaven head, or bald head (even now as i lose my hair and grey and seek to cover this bald patch)

These mores are born of slavery i cant really buy into.

Listen crooks and robbers wear Tommy Hilfiger, Fubu and nike…lets ban them too…

You all are real idiots born and breed…i break my rule…to atone…

When i started teaching at codrington high school a predominantly white school the head teacher said to me Gary i want you but i cannot go to the board and employ you because you have locks will you cut them…i dont agree with it but trust me Gary ..he was Greg Castagne, white and a very honourable man…and i did and i cut them off and left one small little lock in the back…and you should see how Slyvia Johnson, Ralph Johnson’s wife of Harris paints who was chairman of the board and who became a friend hounded me to cut that single small inconspicuous lock because she was anxious for me to make the right impression to her white friends, because it wasnt the lock but the message, and i let her cut it off, and you should see how my black friends, girl friends especially, were so angry.

So when you divorce this question from black culture and politics and say this 144 square mile Barbados issue, i laugh..this is a Black issue, and black live beyond 144 square miles of Barbados.

Tell me Afro should not be allowed either for as a black person as a man when you have an afro you know what comes next …the girls will plait it for you, so afros are out too according to your stupid logic…Kadri and all the rest they are just old jealous ignoramus old men and they dont even appreciate and have the decency to accept your opinion from you wisdom as a young woman and a writer of great promise and future, and economic degree holder we are the future they are stuck in the past. But believe you me Barbados is ahead of the states in this issue…i think i may be wrong but…because the black vote puts people in parliment, not like in the US, and the young man is getting votes should he enter politics and is right to say the people he represent look like this.

And i know it is a decorum thing…you cant wear plaits in court even pony tail..it is from slavery …the courts historical development has been to deny the black man legal and i guess cultural character..there is no educated black man that cannot divorce the two and lay history to rest, and these are only semi-educated they stopped learning in the 60s when they had their own Black power. (The central issue is as David described crime..You can look at my books and see that i have written that crime is the central problem for modern civilization…but CLR James said it before me and i quoted him…but David doesnt know criminals as i do and interviewed them talked to them and understand them like i do….its criminology and to finger a senator for criminal behaviour – because what else is he saying is to miss the point – lets start david with rape and child molestation in Barbados and forget the hairstyle – if we can deal with rape a lot will fall into place….in fact why dont you investigate rape because when i left it was one of the several categories of crime that was increasing in B’dos…and dont tell me its hairstyle because you can be raped by any man)

During aparteid i think white people should have blackened out their skin because it was encouraging aparteid in South Africa…isnt that the same hair style skin colour arguement..and believe you me if the senator had been white and plaited his hair and believe you me the vikings plaited and locked their hair there would be no comment because obviously there are no white robbers and crooks in Barbados, in fact they are no white people in Glendairy(burnt down i forget)..so lets cut to the chase and have no Black people in the house they are all criminals..

Listen i am not being dirty but cut the drivel.

Iwhen to a white school and i had to cut my lock my friend and poet nala went to St George secondary to teach with locks… and he was welcomed…These mores are vestiges of slavery.

24. Bimbro,
    I think Yardbroom means ‘order’ in terms of “developed, mature, civilized” whereas you are thinking of what is ‘legal’ or illegal.

…yours is a much more tenuous argument -which is why Technician and Kadri get so upset with you…

…by the way, Technician mash you up with that left hook – and all like now so, he got you in a half nelson hold….. You ain’t hear that Nelson statue turn round?

25. And further yardbroom

we had gay governor generals twice over already. So i guess they dressed right and no problem…but i thought you all were anti-gay…So you can be homosexual but not wear plaits…or you can take bribes, embevel money, be implicated in murder, but not wear plaits. Dame Nita was lesbian, this should be no shock to you her aide de camp was her girl friend (take some of the heat of mia – not to mention billie) and Rannie Douglas well when we brought out our book on him his wife asked a friend to buy it for her because she could not be seen going into a bookstore buying and the friend a mutual friend of my mother said she did not want to be responsible for causing her divorce so he wouldnt buy it for her.

PEACE AND HAPPINESS TO EVERYONE including the forementioned

26. Pingback: The Hair Debate In Los Barbados III « Barbados Underground (BU) - bringing the news to the people

27. Hi Bush Tea, I’m not the least bit interested in Nelson, my friend. I’m concerned with the image of our people of being bafoons!!!!

Did u like the gorillas?!!!!

Tatanka, you make me wonder, even more, about Arthur’s remarks now, about the engineers!!!! I hope it does n’t extend beyond THEM, although you make me wonder!!

The first thing which you have to appreciate, when posting to a blog, and as an ex-teacher at Codrington High School, as well, is , not to write a book!!!!

Nobody’s interested in reading a book or we’d go to the library or, to our bookshelves!!!!

I was looking forward to reading your post until I realised how long it is, and feel asleep after about the 6th line!!!! As an ex-teacher, you should know better!!

I’m therefore, otherwise, completely unable to comment on what u said, because I don’t know what it is!!!!

Stay behind for lines, Sir!!!!

28. I think knowing barbados it is that you cannot afford to buy books, but i have thousands of them would you like me to email you some pdf versions of what you should be reading…I think i will start you off with palo Frero the pedogogy of the oppressed and the re-education of those taught to scorn the true end and meaning of education…and this is from your present teacher. me. Or if thats too hard how about a movie Coach Carter and the importance of a good education ( absolutely 100% because i know barbados and you did not go to Harrison college Lodge or combermere nor Cave Hill nor any university) Did you go to university i will take all back, and i am not that type of person godforbid, but are you that kind of person where that sort of thing is important.

29. Gary Cole (aka Tatanka Yotanka) // March 17, 2008 at 11:41 am

The fact that you do not read is no deterent but it excludes you in a lot of cases from having a balanced opinion as in this case.

I assume that this is aimed at me. I’m sorry, but I refuse to read nonsense and what’s more, boringly written, nonsense!! Sorry, but have n’t time to waste!!!!

I do plenty of reading of interesting writers, many of whom are Bajan, including Techie, even though I may disagree with him!!!!

30. It was over a year ago that the
    ” LEARNED ” Education guru from that institution in the Garrison area, raised a storm about Sen. Damien Griffith hairstyle……and his presence in the Senate.

Well it is often said that politics make strange bedfellows !

Was the noise , that the Education Guru raised at that time, had anything to do with the fact that Sen. Griffith was not drawn from the BLP camp that this guru has his family connections – Reginald Farley ?

For strange enough the BLP camp has appointed Senator Arthur Holder to the Senate…..and not a SQUEAK from…..MATTHEW FARLEY !

I now convinced that Matthew Farley has not had the opportunity to examine Sen. Holder’s…..HAIRSTYLE !

These political….CREEPERS….like Matthew Farley…!

Leave a comment, join the discussion.