[vodpod id=ExternalVideo.464895&w=450&h=360&fv=file%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.bajantube.com%2Fuploads%2FfDYFx3nTfZCymULt0h4h.flv%26width%3D450%26height%3D367%26displaywidth%3D450%26displayheight%3D347%26overstretch%3Dtrue%26autostart%3Dfalse%26showfsbutton%3Dfalse%26logo%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.bajantube.com%2Fimage_s%2Fplayerlogo.png%26link%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.bajantube.com%26linktarget%3D_blank%26showdigits%3Dfalse%26image%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.bajantube.com%2Fuploads%2Fthumbs%2FfDYFx3nTfZCymULt0h4h.jpg%26backcolor%3D0xFFFFFF] from www.bajantube.com

Following is the full list:

Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs & Development, Labour, Civil Service & Energy – David Thompson, MP

Attorney General and Minister of Home Affairs – Freundel Stuart, MP

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade & International Business – Christopher Sinckler, MP

Minister of State, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade & International Business – Donville Inniss, MP

Minister of Health, National Insurance & Social Security – Dr. David Estwick, MP

Minister of Education & Human Resource Development – Ronald Jones, MP

Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment & Urban Development – Dr. Dennis Lowe, MP

Minister of State, Ministry of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment & Urban Development – Patrick Todd, MP

Minister of Tourism – Richard Sealy, MP

Minister of Agriculture & Rural Development – Haynesley Benn (to be appointed to the Senate)

Minister of Trade, Industry & Commerce – George Hutson, MP

Minister of Housing and Lands – Michael Lashley, MP

Minister of Family, Youth Affairs, Sport & Environment
– Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo, MP

Minister of Community Development & Culture – Steven Blackett, MP

Minister of Transport, Works and International Transport
– John Boyce, MP

Leader of Government Business in the Senate and Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office – Maxine McClean (to be appointed to the Senate)

Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office with special responsibility for Finance and Energy – Darcy Boyce (to be appointed to the Senate)

Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office with special responsibility for Employment, Labour Relations & The Social Partnership – Arnie Walters (to be appointed to the Senate)

CMC

136 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson Names His Cabinet”

1. No place for Kellman? What is the story here?

2. I must tell you as a DLP supporter I am quite concern here. The fact that no mention is made of Denis Kellman tells me all is not well in the camp. I was betting we would have heard who the Deputy is and the speaker of the house,neither was mentioned. If the situation with Mr. Kellman is not what is required then I expect the PM to take decisive action, this party has a task to accomplish and cannot afford to be sweeping issues under the carpet at this stage. Mr. PM all are watching, todays announcement speaks volumes, more to what you have not said that what you have said. Deal with your issues swiftly

3. He is not in the Cabinet so whatever he is offered now is neither here nor there. Maybe the rationale is that in a Cabinet there is the notion of collective responsibility. Is this a message being sent that Kellman is not viewed as a team player and he is being punished for his indiscretions i.e. reporting to parliament when the DLP was in boycott mode? But if this is the case how do we explain Fruendel Stuart submitting a sick note to the Leader of the Senate during that same episode?

4. Folks under our constitution the Deputy Leader is name only – it does not exist as anything other than a talking point.

The Prime Minister is the person who command the largest vote of the members of Parliament, and as proven in 1961 the Leader of the Opposition with winning the Government does not mean he becomes Prime Minister or in the case of 1961, Premier.

Why did Owing name Mia his Deputy well because she had the 2nd largest block of support and therefore it was a strategic move.

Maybe David has learnt from the mistakes made by the DLP with the death of Errol Barrow – where we suddenly became foisted with a political luddite like Sandy.

Should something untoward happen at least David to date has ensured that rational thinking will prevail and our Government will function as laid out by the constitution until the Parliamentary group can meet and decide as opposed to who Cammy decides to take to Government house.

5. I don’t think Kellman is deserving. Up to the day after elections he was on the call-in programme talking crap. I think he needs to be kept in line and made to understand that he does not “run things”

6. Um… I don’t know – the one person that I remain concerned about in that party is as I call him “Dennis the Menace” I hope that this is not an indication that all is not well within the party – I however think that he deserves to be the Deputy by virtue of his long standing in the party. I have every confidence that given time they can get the job done , it will not be , by any means an easy task.

7. I see that one of the more outspoken call-in moderators is now in the cabinet. I have heard her admit on radio that things need to be changed in the area of freedom of information etc. It is good to have someone on the inside of cabinet who can bring a tremendous amount of practical experience to the running of the government. At first glance there is a human feel to the cabinet.

I remember well how former MPs in the previous government would visit the online communities to attempt to answer questions because they were not protected by moderators in mainstream media. Will the DLP officials be able to survive in a forum like this one?

8. Could it be that Kellman would have preferred a certain position and declined the position he was offered? Hmmmm

Since we, government included, are off to a “new” start, I think it is about time we start to act our age and not our shoe size.

9. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

BU there is no audio to the tape

10. Sapidillo as a senior member of the DLP, for Kellman not to be part of government is big news. It is in the interest of the government not to become embroiled in innuendo and negative discussion about this issue, they need to make a PR statement. This is not a matter that will go away. We hope that this a matter which Thompson and Kellman were able to sit and discuss like men.

11. David,

There is no rule that anybody and everybody who wins a seat in parliament must get a government ministry.

The DLP won 20 seats. 18 people were appointed to Cabinet, and I think that some of them were not MPs.

I admire Kellman in some ways but he is no more special than anyone else.

He can continue to be the Minister of Call-In Programs. (And I think no serious government minister or MP should be spending too much time appearing on those.)

Black F P E

12. Kellman was offered a position and declined it because he wanted another. I think he over rates himself and falsely thinks he is much more powerful than he really is. I was dissapointed the other day when he came on the call in programme telling David Ellis that he was in no position to teach him anything about Politics. The man needs to grow up and learn when to speak.

13. As for your story, please modify and add a TEXT listing!

Not everyone has speakers or audio installed.

B Folklore P E

14. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Anonymous, I heard today that Kellman was offered a Ministry which he did not accept and he was not offered again.

He does have a viable business that he is the sole operator of and I could see a Ministry being a difficult one to accept.

He may find it better to be getting more things done now that his party is in place as a backbencher and still be able to manage his private affairs .

15. Wishing in Vain Avatar

It seems like the The Advocate has not yet realised that the blp are no longer in power in this country as their front page story today in their online version is New BLP leader chosen.

There is no mention of the new Cabinet at all well done to the Advocate for showing your best brains and your true party loyalty.

WIV~in fairness to the Advocate we have discussed before that because Bryan is running the Advocate on a shoestring budget he published the online version as early as 8PM the night before. It is very difficult for them to catch late news. remember the Stephen Alleyne’s coverage of the funeral at Kensignton? We wonder about the media in this country.

16. Maybe he will be speaker. That way he can talk less and listen more. I don’t agree with a PM appointing a man that he clearly does not see eye to eye with as deputy, that is barely asking for trouble. Politics is all about keeping allies close, not yes men, but allies. Sinckler or Stuart are better choices for me. I wouldn’t be surprised if they haven’t already discussed what will take place in such an eventuality. In any case the PM will have to leave he country sometime…so we won’t have to wait very long.

regards

17. I don’t think they need to make a staement about it, the Cabinet is in place and that is that. Those who want to insinuate and imply that because 1 person was not given a post that there is a divide then so be it. This is not the time for them to be running around trying to douse fires, people will talk irregardless, it is time to get down to steering this island through the peril filled waters that we are currently and will continue to face.

18. Excellent news that Kellman is not there – shows that Thompson is serious about governing, not giving rewards for time served. The guy’s a maniac.

19. St.LucyResident Avatar

Kelly and Owen will now have a lot of time to discuss what short men like to discuss; who can shout the loudest. But wait if Kelly want to serve the ppl he doan want to give up he business? Look Inniss give up his lucrative business according to peter Wickham :0)

Yuh gotta admire Kelly or he think he is downright fool.

20. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Well, well,well what am I hearing today that all is not well within the Opposition camp it was reported to me today that they met on Friday evening at Roebuck Street to select a Leader of the Opposition and George Payne nominated Dale Marshall as Leader and he was supported by Hammy Lashley, Rawle Eastmond, Owing Arthur and Glyne Clarke, this brought the place into an uproar with both of mottley’s parents exploded into heated scenes with mottleys mother being loud and most abusive to Owing and those who supported the Payne / Marshall combination, reports reaching me state the mottley’s were not willing in any way to accept this position for their daughter and responded with loud abuse and vile words.

They were reported to have fought like cats and dogs (Roebuck Street seems to be fighting venue of choice here recently the second fight to have broken out there in as many weeks) to the point that the meeting was abandoned and a new meeting called for yesterday, during the period much discussion took place and mottley’s mother finally had her way and the mottley’s clan and will to control the purse strings of this island will be attached but will have to wait a number of years before they get to do so, we must remember the mottley’s believe that there have a right to rule this country much as the Adams family felt that they did the only difference is that Adams was 100 % man and there was no doubt abot this so unlike mottley who is prepared to try to force Homosexuality and Prostitution down our throats against our will.

Even in Opposition the BLP are fighting thank god they are not in office!!!!

What a sad day we have reached when in persuit of power and wealth they resort to this kind of display in the publics eye.

21. Even as David Thompson is to be sworn in today, we have to listen to the following dribble from our ‘premier’ political correspondent Albert Brandford. In our opinion this is a very insensitive report from this reporter and the Nation continues to demonstrate unprofessionalism. Brandford should go and eat his crow and move on. Even BLP lackey Clyde Griffith congratulated Thompson in the same edition of the Nation paper. David our advise is to ignore these people in the media who continue to demonstrate their bias. The Nation editor is not blameless in this affair either.

The ‘money factor’
    Published on: 1/20/08.

by ALBERT BRANDFORD

POLITICAL CORRESPONDENT

DAVID THOMPSON has finally achieved his life-long ambition: to be the Prime Minister of Barbados.

Newspaper photographs of his swearing-in ceremony last Wednesday portray a smugness that reflects his inbred sense of entitlement.

The 2008 general election that took him to power was in many ways an eye-opener and raised some concerns about our conduct of elections that were alarming even for a reporter who has spent more than 30 years in the political trenches.

Read on

22. Heard from a reliable source this morning that Kellman was offered Ministry of Transport, Public Works and International Transport and he declined. He was also offered Speaker and turned that down. Possibly our speaker can be Adriel Brathwaite.

It appears that Kellman doesn’t want to neglect his lucrative Moon Town business in St. Lucy.

I initially assumed that offering him speaker was Thompson’s way of silencing him…..but it appears not.

23. David, I fully support your statement, it was done in very poor taste and lacks any tact and decency.

I trust that Mr Brandford is yet to wakeup to the election results and once her does wakeup he will aplogise and express his best heartfelt wishes to the party for taking over the gov’t despite his best efforts to destroy them.

It omly goes to show that the will of the people is paramount and no biased reporters or no amount of ill gotten monies will move the voter from electing the party that they want to lead them for the next five years.

We all will remember Hallam Nicholls and his desire to see the blp returnn to office in which he stated that he would spend any amount of money to have them reelected to office and that he was prepared to spend a MILLION DOLLARS in each seat to unseat Richard Sealy and Ronald Jones.

Thank god we still have decent, honest upright people in this island that unlike Lynch’s observation that 10 % of the electorate are buyable votes, they still lost even with their willingness to buy the 10 % of the buyable votes.

24. Is there a picture this Albert Brandford available?

25. Cancerman // January 20, 2008 at 1:56 am

Folks under our constitution the Deputy Leader is name only – it does not exist as anything other than a talking point.

The Prime Minister is the person who command the largest vote of the members of Parliament, and as proven in 1961 the Leader of the Opposition with winning the Government does not mean he becomes Prime Minister or in the case of 1961, Premier.

Why did Owing name Mia his Deputy well because she had the 2nd largest block of support and therefore it was a strategic move.

Maybe David has learnt from the mistakes made by the DLP with the death of Errol Barrow – where we suddenly became foisted with a political luddite like Sandy.

Should something untoward happen at least David to date has ensured that rational thinking will prevail and our Government will function as laid out by the constitution until the Parliamentary group can meet and decide as opposed to who Cammy decides to take to Government house.
    ==============================

Cancerman I now see your post, and agree with it 100% . Naming a deputy is not required and if past practices with in both parties is anything to go by, it is best that David Thompson not go down this path.

26. Politics is all about keeping allies close, not yes men, but allies. Sinckler or Stuart are better choices for me.
    ……………………………………………………………………
    Please tell me who are the YES-MEN. Surely not Kellman, he have a brain that is not linked to a network.

Frankology please don’t take your position of neutrality to a position where it is based on a high level of impracticality. The cabinet in our system is built on the notion of collective responsibility. The ability to be individualistic is acceptable within the boundary of four walls. The government of the country cannot become sidetracked with a maverick minister taking his or her individual positions to the public. Kellman has now become a pawn in the scheme of things now.

27. Well, well,well what am I hearing today that all is not well within the Opposition camp it was reported to me today that they met on Friday evening at Roebuck Street to select a Leader of the Opposition
    …………………………………………………………………….
    The propaganda machine is at work. To shift the discussion on why Kellman was not selected in the cabinet, we see propaganda spin in the form of WIV creating diversion when he should be giving the true reason within the DLP compilation.

Discuss the issue. Kellman used the call-in programmes to highlight the wrongs by the BLP, he display tact and creative imaginations on behalf the DLP. He was and still is the vanguard for that change.

We must remember in the 1999 elections, only Kellman and Thompson won for the DLP, and he fought gallantly for the party.

So Wishing in Vain, stop the manufacturing of lies and deal with issues. Now the DLP is the Government we see another view of the real propagandalist.

28. The government of the country cannot become sidetracked with a maverick minister taking his or her individual positions to the public. Kellman has now become a pawn in the scheme of things now.
    In 1999 Kellman was the same Kellman, but he was viewed in partisan eyes to be a Champion. He used the media to highlight the public, this is the same thing that he is doing now. This is not to be viewed as neutrality as you state, but simple commonsense and fair play.
    No where can I see a level of impractical behaviour from my end.

29. The Prime Minister decides who in his opinion is best suited for a particular ministry. Kellman was offered a ministry and refused. Some of the contributors to this blog are trying to create confusion where there is none. I can see if he was offered nothing then maybe that would be the subject of discussion. So please lay off. There is nothing to discussed. He was simply offered a ministry and HE refused to accept it.

30. Frankology the business of decision making and what the management people call situational management is based on making the right decisions NOW to achieve stated goals. What Kellman did a few years ago in opposition becomes irrelevant. Kellman has been quoted in today’s news that he will support the party in whatever way he is asked to serve, so our current discourse now becomes mute anyway 🙂

31. Frankology you are obviously a BLP stooge. Kellman has his supporters some of whom are as crazy as he is. Kellman has no place in a cabinet. Can you imagine how difficult it would be to deal with Kellman in that setting. Kellman as a minister spells bare trouble.The man believes only he has answers to everything under the sun.

Have you ever heard Kellman give praise or recognition to any one but himself. The man is a crackpot. He needs a shrink. Leave Kellman where he is. Thompson already has a lot to do to meet the expectations of Bajans to be sidetracked trying to out the frequent fires Kellman surely will light.

32. David, you all are saying that 62% of a constituency is irrelevant, thus a candidate do not have to be selected? I do not and will not share your views. Kellman has the same or more political capability than some of the announced ministers. We are now hearing he is a crackpot, he is strink and the list goes on. To me, I will say openly, Partisan DLP supporters do like to criticise, especially with name callings. I have no regrets in making such a statement.

Frankology you clearly are deliberately forgetting, we hope, that to be a team player, the individual must exhibit certain qualities. If you don’t grasp this simple concept then you will struggle with the arguments why a maverick in a volatile situation, which his pregnant with high expectation from electors, and who just voted for change, not confusion and turmoil will be a problem.

33. In 2003 Mascoll then leader of the DLP threathen Kellman that the DLP would run somebody else on a DLP ticket in St.Lucy. Kellman needs to understand that his independence can only get him so far in a team envoirnment. Even Sandy at one point thought that he was an individual and that the cabinet was a Prime Minister’s cabinet, he had forgotten that he was only first amongst EQUALS. I don’t expect Thompson time in the PM’s chair to be any different that of Owen’s. The Leader in our version of west minister has to spend a lot of time catering to the greed and the me personalities of parliamentarians. Time to concider changes to the constitution that would allow the Leader of the country to get his mandate by popular vote. That way Kellman, Thompson, Mia and Owen could vie for the top post. 😀

34. The parliament only recognizes the political party in a limited way. Do you know that if by some miracle, politicians on entering Parliament somehow forgot their party affiliations and decide without party alligiance or knowledge, voted for the person they think is best suited to lead parliament that the PM could be someone different than the two known party leaders? and the GG would be duty bound per the constitution to accept that person? I am not making a case for or against Kellman, but he needs to understand that mavericks don’t win the loyalty of their equals, and that such loyalty is needed amongst his parliamentary collegues to get whatever it is he is seeking, if anything at all.

35. These are the top percentage winners in the election.

83% – DLP – David Thompson
    68% – DLP – Michael Lashley
    67% – BLP – Mia Mottley
    65% – BLP – Owen Arthur
    64% – BLP – Cynthia Forde
    62% – DLP – Denis Kellman

….and you are saying that he should be overlooked. On what grounds may I ask?

Your logic is missing because on the BLP side Ronald Toppin was a big winner,relatively so. Should he not have been rewarded with Deputy. This argument is a silly one. The Maximum Leader has identified his team. Get use to it!

36. Those percentages are meaningless inside of parliament. All those percentages does is demonstrate the depth to which the voting public in those constituencies displayed confidence in the individual winner to be their duly elected representative to parliament. A percentage that is given no credence over a win with a lesser one as our first past the post system will award a win to any candidate who wins even if by one vote. We don’t know all the facts, but i find it difficult that Dennis Kellman seemly exclusion is what it appears to be and then that David Thompson could not have made this decision alone and inspite of any support Dennis may have had with the others in the DLP parliamentary party.

37. Frankology….
    Go and read what I said again and don’t perplex my soul this evening. Did I say kellman was a yes-man? I indicated that he is not an ALLY of Thompson and as such it wouldn’t make any sense for Thompson to keep him in his inner circle. Next time tek a lil time to read before ya jump to conclusions.

Regards

38. David, anywhere in my article you see mention of “deputy” talk. I was looking at Kellman being in the cabinet, yet, you maginalising me with the deputy talk. I agree with Adrian’s submission since we do not know of the other parliamentarian’s reason why he was not selected. David, your language of “Maximum Leader” reflects the same behaviour of Owen as “Maximum Leader”. In Politics, just like Corporate business, the language should be “Partners”, or “Working with me”, not “working for me”.
    I say again and again. Yes men allow you to fall due to hypocrisy, whilst a person who speaks out, keep you alert and focus.

Politics is not a friendly society, it is a power play that resembles a gamble.

39. Frankology this exchange is now becoming rather amusing. The term Maximum Leader is being used in the context of our system of government where whoever occupies the seat of Prime Minister becomes a ‘God”. Whether you like it or not until the system is changed Thompson’s ability to make all manner of decisions looms large. Frankology you need to take a large dose of reality medicine or should it be some bush tea?

40. Politics is all about keeping allies close, not yes men, but allies. Sinckler or Stuart are better choices for me.
    By implication your statement evolved around Kellman first, then Sinckler and Stuart and the talk was about “yesmen”.

The problem with some bloggers, it takes to long to comprehend language, thus the long time it takes to respond.

I am not in your mind, I am responding to your written words my friend.
    Now on to another subject.

41. Why all de chat? Kellman was offered a ministry and he declined. Obviously it was something dat he thought he was above, or maybe it would take him away from his business, or maybe he is a jackass who thinks he cud operate outside of the party. He was never a team player and as far as I’m concerned de PM should leave him alone and let he self distruct.

42. Alright Frankology, thank you for elucidating for me that you are an idiot.

regards

43. David,

I fully support your earlier comments regarding Albert Branford. I suspect that he is one of many Bajans who have not yet accepted the fact that there has been a change in Government, and the electorate has spoken!

Furthermore, I dont think we have to look very far to see why, in my humble opinion, the print media in Barbados is so poor. If Branford is a media ‘professional’, then he needs to begin to act this way and stop with the biased, baseless and emotional articles. Not once did he display the basic decency of offering congratulations to the new PM and his team before he proceeded to bash them over the head with his article! Not only did he disrespect the new Government, but if you read the artricle carefully he seems to disrespect the Barbadians who put them in power!

My advice to Branford is to be less emotional, more analytical, and actually write something that gives the average reader something to benefit from.

My advice to The Nation is to stop referring to Branford as a ‘Political Correspondent’. This is an insult to real journalists. ‘Political Yardfowl’ fits him better to me.

My advice to everyone else is that we need to start thinking about how we can impress upon the print media that :

a) if we want entertainment we will read the comics.

b)if we want ole talk and baseless reports we will read pudding and souse.

But do not feed us the nonsense written by Branford under the guise of a professional title like ‘political correspondent’. At least people like Ezra Alleyne are clear about their raison d’etre so you know what they are about.

Maybe I will submit this as a letter to the editor. Wunna feel it gine get print? I en gine hol’ my breath.

Thank goodness fuh de blogs!!

44. This is the behaviour of your ilk, you find it impossible to deal with issues, only insulting behaviour. But alas!, nutten frighten dis’ writer buddy.

Five days and your aggressive behaviour.

I ain’t got nuh mo time wid you, ah hey lookin’ at muh Prime Minister in all he royal splender on my TV.

45. All credit to Kellman, he was present at the swearing in function and appeared to have enjoyed the splendor that goes with the occasion. Something still feels wrong that after being in the political wilderness of the opposition for so long he could not have found a way to have played a bigger part on the day

We just witnessed a nervous David Estwick, upbeat Ronald Jones who forgot to read the last part of his verse and had to be prompted and he rewarded her with a wink :-); Michael Lashley efficiently dispensed the verse with a slight blinder towards the end; Richard Sealy started to say the oath in a monosyllabic voice after he was prompted to stand before the microphone by the Governor General’s assistant; Steve Blackett forgot protocol and approached the swearing in position before the Governor General from behind and attempted to leave the same route. His subsequent smooth delivery of the oath compensated for the ‘slip’ which can be attributed to his many years as a broadcaster; John Boyce flawlessly belted out the oath in his rich baritone voice with quiet confidence. The beauty of Dr. Byer-Suckoo was correctly recognized by the clerk who proceeded to deliver her words with a softness befitting a lady; George Hutson had the unenviable task to follow the beautiful Doctor and struggled mightily to complete the oath but that he did, eventually :-); the short in stature, smooth talking Dr. Denis Lowe was meticulous in following protocol by administering the required stiff bow from the waist; the popular Chris Sinckler, and tipped to be a future leader delivered his oath with the flair and command of all the intonations of tone which made him one of the popular platform speakers. Benn was next, and has been appropriately given the portfolio of Agriculture and Rural development – seems a natural fit. He dispenses with the oath in a business like manner which is a quality he has become known; the hugely successful Maxine McClean and proud UWI Alumni, bedecked in white, commanded the stage with her usual confidence; her delivery sent a clear message to all who wanted to hear – I INTEND TO DO MY JOB to perpetuate the legacy of her late and famous brother. Donville Inniss followed and was the first to lift the bible aloft fearlessly as he delivered his oath; Patrick Todd was the first to master the verbal delivery of the oath, this he did with aplomb; Darcy Boyce with a quiet confidence arising from years in the business sector did what he had to do. Arnie Walters like the man before him quietly delivered his speech albeit with a few blunders.

46. David and Baje@Foreign, I support your comments about Albert Brandford. Brandford in his writings has shown a clear bias against David Thompson and towards Clyde Mascoll, and this is unacceptable under the guise of “Political Correspondent”. I too plan to write to the Editor of the Nation on this matter.

Contrast this with the more analytical article written by Harold Hoyte on the reasons for the BLP defeat.

47. During the election campaign, on several occasions the BLP mocked the DLP by saying that they had no economist.

However, the PM has surely got the last laugh by springing on them Darcy Boyce, as the Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office with special responsibility for Finance and Energy. Mr Boyce is not only an economist, but one of the most brilliant men that I have ever met anywhere any time. Anyone who attended or taught at HC in the 60’s will tell you of his record. It seems that the country is in good hands in this respect. The PM has made a very good shot there. Not a man move!

48. David // January 20, 2008 at 3:50 pm

All credit to Kellman he is present at the swearing in function and appearing to enjoy the splendor that goes with it.
    ============================

Yuh know David, the debate here has for the most part suggest that there is truth to rumour or is it belief that Kellman was unfaired in his omission from the cabinet. I don’t think we know what is the truth at this point.

We agree Adrian. we suppose for the most part many of us was on a kite flying expedition, something which we have learned well from the former PM.

49. Anybody want scratch grain?

Looks like the BLP supporters will now turn to the blogs to help to be an effective opposition. We welcome them 🙂

50. GP i never once believed the BLP hype or feared their removal from office. This Barbados is endowed with many many intelligent people willing to serve no matter which party is in office.