I agree with Sir Roy 100 per cent. Land would be a major factor,” he added.Lashley urged society not to forget the connection between land and identity. A sense of who you are is tied up in the ownership of land . . . . The majority who own land are not native Barbadians [who] are able to come [here] and enjoy prime real estate and the enormous benefits of society,” he stated. Lashley said many Barbadians were angry at tourists and foreigners who migrated here. And, he noted, Barbados was not taking this situation seriously.
It seems that every where one turns in Barbados the issue of the high cost of living is a topic for conversation. BU is sympathetic but accept that this is a consequence of living in a country which has a per capita income of over US$7,000.00 and presently enjoy a lifestyle which any developed country can be proud. The Economists of course continue to battle with the concept of how to equitably distribute wealth in the country. BU must admit that under a BLP administration for the last 14 years the country has enjoyed a level of economic prosperity which is the envy of other countries blessed with more resources than posited with Barbados.
Against all that has been written BU is very concerned at an escalating trend in Barbados which has seen the price of real estate increasing at an alarming rate. It is no secret that the average Barbadian whether at home or abroad measures success by the ability to purchase real estate at the earliest opportunity in working life. The purchase by the Barbadian epitomizes the degree to which success has been achieved and allows the Barbadian property owner to enjoy a level of respect and acceptance among his or her country men. The prevailing conditions which now see land in St. Lucy and St. Philip, which historically was comparatively cheaper than in the other parishes, is now being sold from $15.00 to $20.00 per square foot for residential property. What this translates to is that many of our Barbadians first at the lower stratum cannot afford to buy property, and secondly our burgeoning middle-class with earning power in the top 20% is also struggling to buy property for legacy purposes. The acquisition of real estate is a strategy of wealth creation which the Indians and Caucasians have used over the years to good effect, but it appears blacks will be stymied to do the same. The question must be asked how a country which is governed by a black directorate would implement policies that would seek to emasculate the black Barbadian.
At BU we have no social scientists on-board, but simple analysis when we factor the quote at the top of the story attributed to Michael Lashley of the DLP, suggests that some social dysfunction is bound to occur in our society. The level of frustration of which we are very concerned is the large middle class which have been well educated and have built-up expectations which in the prevailing environment will remain unfulfilled. To buy a decent middle class property nowadays is conservatively priced at $400,000.00. This is the educated class that if not attended to continues to be a tinder box ready to explode. What makes the predicament of Barbadians all the more unpalatable is the blatant actions of our politicians who continue to position themselves at the expense of tax payers.
BU at the right time will name those Ministers in government who received lots in the Bakers Wood Development in St. Peter. Then there is Apple Grove Plantation which was sub-divided and sold to top Ministers at “rab land” price as well, located above Mount Stinkeroo with a panoramic view of the West Coast and the Sandy Lane Estate. BU is willing to bet that the Ministers know something that John Public does not. It is interesting to note that Apple Grove was sold by Bruce Bayley who is a Director in CGI along with David Shorey and Peter Harris.
Let the BLP or which ever party runs future governments know that the days of Barbadians passively observing the corrupt behaviour of the politician; who is a servant of the people, must stop!
Pingback: Barbados Underground To Name Barbados Cabinet Ministers Who Purchased Land For Cheap - On The Inside Track « Barbados Free Press
Well Said!
LIZ THOMPSON APPROVED BAKERS DEVELOPMENT AND LION CASTLE AFTER IT WAS TURNED DOWN BY OWEN ARTHUR DID U REMEMBER WHEN OWEN GAVE UP TOWN AND CONTRY PLANNING TO LIZ THOMPSON AND QUICKLY TOOK IT BACK BECAUSE OF BAKERS AND LION CASTLE
I would like someone to find out from Liz Thompson if there is a company called “Barefoot Enterprises” and if so, who are the directors.
By the way, why is it that anything relating to questionable land/money deals the name “David Shorey” is always prominently featured?
there is no company name barefoot enterprises may barefoot ——
there is barefoot diva inc or barefoot chattel resort inc
Political Pimp~we remember well. Please note that Rupert Spencer the mover behind the Bakers Wood project is a Liz cohort.
WHAT ONEIL GRAHAM AND HAFEEZ KARAMATH NEWTON PROJECT GOT TO DO WITH LIZ THOMPSON MONEY AND MORE MONEY AT ALL COST
I ma self was burn by dis housing ting hey. I applied for a spot of land at Odoll’s just below Rowan’s park some time ago. When I checked an insider source told me that they sent a list to the then minister Glynne Clarke and a different list come back down. I was told that the spots went to those who helped in the general elections that had just passed. Some of those on the new list didnot even have applications in the department of Sales at NHC. NHC had to track down some people to get them to come in and sign an application after their names were approved. This is no lie.
Now tell me how this is right tell me. How can a minister be allowed this much authourity to victimized those of us who had applied years in advance for a spot in favour of his political lackies.
This is the land policy in Barbados.
Pingback: BU's Top Post For May 2007 « Barbados Underground
I support the DLP’s position as set out in David Thompson’s Budget reply. I think that Barbados needs to tackle this issue now. But I see the Prime Minister wants to sell the East Coast to Clico. Where are we going?
Yes Vortex,
And Leroy Parris is telling Owen…..I giving you what you want…I hope you (Owen ) give me (Leroy Parris ) what I want !
Source : The centre page of Nation news 2007 – 06 -04 .
Gline Clarke is laughing his guts out !
It is called…… Wuk fuh Wuk !
Owen the Bandit….telling Bajans it is David Thompson in bed with Leroy Parris !
Owen think we are FOOLS ?
Pingback: Sir Charles and Brother Bizzy Williams Launch Take Over Bid For 4000 Acre (6.2 Square Miles) Barbados Farms Limited « Barbados Underground
‘I dont want to fight them, I mean them no harm’ David Bourne on being robbed by invaders of his basic human right, land at Maxwell his family lived on for generations. Is this the result of being a good christian humbly turning the other cheek ? or can someone please tell me what exactly is going on here ? David please get a copy of Marcus Garvey book read it ‘Race First’ and please WAKE UP.