Donville Inniss*(DLP) Sandra Husbands (BLP)

Bios

1. A little swing will wash Donville away. i give it to Sandra Husbands.

2. Prodigal Son Avatar

His hard stance on making old people pay for their medication should sink him. An old lady I know who is in the early stages of alheizmers has to look for $366 per month for her medication. Tell me how an elderly person can afford that on only and old age pension. I hope he gets wash away for his pompous arrogant attitude.

3. I’m not so sure of Liz Thompson’s votes automatically go to Sandra Husbands. Time will tell. Donville’s victory margin here was slim as is most others but he has done copious amount of groundwork to cement it and maybe grow. others should have learnt from him.

4. @prodigal
    you really live in a fools paradise tho! I think you should speak about what u really know; prey tell when was medicine for alzheimers ever free in BIM? ITs amazing how you people come on this blog and speak as authorities on everything especially what you dont know and even convince the vulnerable! Peoples check the facts first before believing these spin ” what they are”.
    On Arrogance lets talk about that he that is without sin in”your camp” let him cast the first stone. Please at least tell the truth and let there be an honest fight for the vote or is this way too much to ask from you guys?????

5. Prodigal Son Avatar

Pringles,

Strangely enough, I saw you today as I was going down the road in fools paradise and if I knew that you would attack me, I would have said good day to you. Remember, we are neighbours!

6. true to form Avatar

This seat is truly a pollster’s delight The BLP won this seat with large majorities on the last two occasions it won the seat Donville won it by around 350 votes lalst time. He won most of the middle class areas. The questions to be asked and answered are . Are the Dems better off now than in 2008? Has the middle class been the most affected group in the austerity of the DLP? Who is been affected most by the taxation of the DLP ? Who would have Clico policies ?/ if you believe in the science of large numbers this seat willl falll first. I have not critique his performance as yet.

7. There is another group, that large group who have surrendered travel allowance. Bear in mine Sinckler promised to return it to civil servants. It is still outstanding.

8. @true to form and David
    Count in Sandra’s weakness as a candidate and your arguments (though true) have been balanced. Whether we want to admit it or not Donville has been the most politically clever, out there and in your face minister and MP.

SJS should have been a BLP fortress under Liz. It wasn’t. Donville has the edge over a “newbie.”

Advantage – DLP

9. The BLP insiders will admit that Donville Inniss is a worker- one man on facebook calls him “Donville the Doer”-
    Why do you think Owen Arthur tried to single him out – this man took out Liz Thompson and Liz ain’t easy to beat. He actually outperformed the National swing in 2008 and the quiet feedback from even BLP supporters is that he deserves a second term. His personal story is one that all Barbadians can be proud of- the son of a fisherman who through hard work makes it to Harrison College, university, masters, a successfull businessman and a Minister of Government – another one with definite leadership potential.

10. true to form Avatar

!
    Donville is not running for the presidency of the DLP where all these nice attributes may play, He Is running in one of the most concentrated middle class constituencies in Barbados. If your middle class was made to suffer under this adminstaration then who do you think will feel the -pain ?. Let us get real. Sandra is University trained. She speaks well and has a great knowledge of small business.

11. David a constituency is missing my count back suggests it maybe St. Michael West Central.

12. David; Is it possible to list the constituences in alphabetical order to make it easier to locate them?

13. @blogger
    SMWC is an easy call. lol.

14. old onion bags Avatar

For all D foolishness wanna did to the middle class (Clear View Heights, Husbands Heights, Owen West Terrace,Clairemont to name a few)….remember the pseudo Drugs , Travel Allowance, Entertainment Allowance take- a-ways, unscrupulous Professional Fees, exhorting Land Taxes , and the BIG ONE BABY CLICO CLICO CLICO ERP plans ***notably……Donville your party hurt them BIG TIME….no boi them ain’t go forget…..totally F_up the middle class…..mek big men cry….sorry Donville boi..time to pay the piper with a seat…YOURS…dem aint go forget so….had to come for that ..a surety.

15. @Blogger

Thanks, it was done but wasn’t added to the menu, now added.

@checkit-out

Have put them in clusters for now. Will return to it as time allows or if someone could list the preferred order it would be appreciated.

16. mr inniss has proven to be a good politician and in the overall scheme of things should win back his seat comfortably even in the midst of a swing. miss husbands should have sought to engage mr blackeet in that vulnerable seat.

17. Inniss has personally hurt pensioners with his drug reform; legal residents with exclusion from health care, both are abundant in that constituency. His party crucified clico policy holders, cost of living, taxes, allowances, businesses. Talk nuff, does little. he makes bad decisions to the detriment of people, what is the use of it. any idiot cna make a decision and beat their chest and strut, but if it is worng and creates pain with no value, how does that win votes. Don’t forget the alleged scandals on BFP. Busyness on tv does not help people’s personal lives or overcome these failings. That will fool who it will fool. The issue will not be the newbie, it will be his policies and his gov’t’s policies. Voters are waiting with the x in Barbados for all of them, including St. James South. The mountain is too tough a climb. If his lead is 350 as stated before could he lose 170 votes, that is what it takes for the seat to go BLP. Think on these things.

18. I wish to return to this contest and say that Donville won the seat for the first time last time and as such would have no potitical collateral on which he can draw. It would have to be his performance over the past four years which will be critical to this outcome. Donville as Minister of Health has had to do the least work of all the Health Ministers . The QEH was stripped from him. He does not have Water Resources as others have had before.. His insensitive attack on the pensioners chicken feed to pay fro drugs will be to his detriment.. He said he saved the Taxpayers $12 million but at what expense?. He said that immigrants will not be be able to access drugs as they did before even though they pay NIS . Certainly some of these live in SJS. He said he does not mind losing a few votes. Well Donville a few hundreds will put you back as a mere citizen pure and simple..Donville will have to recognise that bravado will only count if your record is good and sustainable.He will have jo answer for his arrogance. Think on these things

19. David there are 11 St. Michael constituencies: I think St. Michael North East is missing as well. Mia Mottley and Patricia Inniss

20. old onion bags Avatar

Donville biggest cut asK’.. will come from the middle class…St.James South comprises of 76 % middle class..wtf..All the photo opportunities we seeing will not negate the Travel and Entertainment cuts alone that saw $ 1,000 and more being taken from their disposable incomes to start..Another bad move was the Allowance deduction on Credit Unions Savings.. which was also withdrawn from the middle class this year…Another is the registration fees increase on SUV ..the preferred ride of the middle class $750- $ 3,500 for the Super rides…THERE IS NO WAY AROUND….Professional licenses…..don’t ask $ 2,500- $5,000… when add up….they hurt

21. old onion bags Avatar

Donville licking down markets…..and quick to point out in (Trottie)…Parliament….pointing out RIGHTS from WRONGS…..the Bible rightly states “we have all sinned and comes short of the Grace of God”…”he that is without sin ..let him cast the first stone….”all these can be checked via the internet more easily nowadays…for those who don’t have access to the Good Book. …www.bible.com

22. Oh i love me dat donville innis i know he going to win!

23. ac your comments suggest that you supporting mr inniss’ verbal tongue lashing of the defender of workers rights in the house of assembly yesterday?

24. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Morning gf…I was surfing the internet….and I remembered you and IsGal ‘s most provocative thread of washing dishes and other extra curricular can excite men to be ready for sex by bed time……Guess what i came across babes….it sure quicker than brillo on saucepan…..ya ready..GOTCHA….dun kno wanna want Onions ban….lol ..but I see it fa trute..hoy hoy

25. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

David, The General Election Watch is a good idea as it provides an opportunity for the public to share their views on candidates and politics. However to do so they must know something about the candidate, his/her philosophy, accomplishments and what skills and expertise they bring to the table. It is for this reason that I write.
    VISION
    I have come to public office because I believe that our country has come to the crossroad where the increasing international pressures at political, economic and social levels make it imperative that nations transform themselves or become failed states. I want to serve in public life because I want to secure the the best of quality of life for our people, especially oer those whom I wish to represent. I want to be one of the architects in building a prosperous society with the social capital which allows our people to reach their highest potential, unlocking their creativity; and build the social confidence to maximize opportunities through global participation. My world view is that societies grow only as people grow and participate, and hence I embrace the economics of creativity. In St. James South there is a lot of talent that needs to be released and some that require the opening of doors to let it find its highest good. To build such a people requires that our social systems and institutions function well, based on a consistent philosophy of people development. My vision is to further challenge and stimulate vision, innovation, courage, entrepreneurship, productivity, community, accountability and decency. This will be achieved through competent political leadership at the community and national levels.

HISTORY
    Permit me to digress and speak about myself, your representative to come to explain why I hold this philosophy and world view. I descend from a family of entrepreneurs and teachers and was reared in an atmosphere of performance-driven people. Mine is a family of firsts – my grandfather was one of the first black Barbadians to bottle and market his own rum, and he ran a shop labeled by villagers as the Nuff Pork Shop which succoured Barbadians from miles around through the depression period. My memories are of my grandmother, co-owner of that bustling shop, feeding as many as 30 people daily from her kitchen; Coley the handyman starting the big generator in the warehouse to provide electricity (my grandfather was a forward thinking man). My mother was an island scholar, went on to do her bachelors’s degree at UWI and at Coady in Halifax, active in BUT and a host of community organisations, even to this day at 83 years of age. My dad was an outstanding salesman with the gift of the gab, an entrepreneur with a spirit of adventure and a passion for boats and cars. I remember days of sailing on his cruiser or going with him on fishing trips, which fostered my spirit to take risk and launch into the deep. These qualities were fused in Sandra, Cheryl, Velda Husbands. I loved school and reading, I am articulate and argumentative, passionate about human development, entrepreneurship, CSME and the raising of people out of poverty. A student of human nature and influencer of people, I was always involved in leadership roles as a stern form captain at Foundation to a no-nonsense prefect at Queens. In adult years leadership roles as president of local and regional business associations were held as well as a leader in the local church community. My work experience covers, marketing, public relations, broadcasting, tourism, facilitation, trainer, and management consultant.
    My tertiary education, allowed me to follow those primary strands nurtured by my childhood in people development and entrepreneurship. Therefore I pursued a BSc in Sociology and Law, which exposed me to Caribbean societies their strengths, challenges, social structures, philosophy and rule of law. Breaking the back of poverty requires a socially stable and prosperous nation but this must be carved from dynamic and challenging conditions that must be mastered hence my pursuit of a Masters in International Trade Policy. Other educational pursuits were designed to deepened my knowledge of business and people so I successfully completed studies in Business Process Management, took Leadership Studies in Singapore and America, Adult Learning and Technology of Participation, and Total Quality Management. Traveling and interacting has sharpened and broadened my outlook and deepened my understanding of the world in which we need to operate, from the WTO and International Trade Centre in Geneva Switzerland, to Haggai in Singapore, to United Nations on issues of Drug Control, to the Parliaments of Columbia and Chile dealing with parliamentary, poverty and alternative energy issues.
    Fun for me is discussions on human nature, strategies for business, politics, education. Into that mix I love swimming, travelling, occasional cooking (fondly described as research and development by my husband), board games, computer games, canvassing (people contact) and more.

ACCOMPLISHMENTS
    What I enjoyed building most in my life was designing educational programmes for business and government, church groups, cultural diversity training for the region, work attitudes for Caribbean cultures which I have had the privilege to share in the public and private sectors here in the region and America. I enjoy public speaking and had the privilege to be conference speaker across the region form Florida to Guyana, Belize to Antigua. Next to that was the honour of growing the Barbados Small Business Association for six years, moving it from 100 members to 500; improving its public image and its income from 175,000 to over 1.2 million; and mobilising benefits and business through strategic partnerships for members. I sought to catapult an export drive through networking by establishing the Caribbean Association of Small and Medium Enterprises. We partnered with government to grow the entrepreneurial sector to 11,000 strong, securing affordable financing and credit guarantees for these businesses. Over the years my work was recognized by awards ranging from valedictorian in Singapore, UWI’s Spirit of Caricom Award (MITP), Jaycees Outstanding Young Person Award, among others.

My sights are now set on political office to work more deeply and thoroughly on the transformation of our institutions especially our educational and business institutions to facilitate the rapid growth of our success as a nation. I am excited at the prospects of community transformation initiatives which will prepare individuals with the skills and outlook to take advantage of the opportunities created at the policy level. This creates the framework for empowering the individual to achieve his or her dreams and pursue these goals in peace and security. This is the work I look forward to doing with the community in St. James South. Engagement at the policy level will permit me to contribute to the strategic planning to negotiate skillfully the difficult international waters for our nation to open the door of opportunity for our citizens. These are the most stimulating challenges on my horizon. This is why I have come to political office.
    The way forward is exciting and welcome discussion.

26. @ Sandra Husbands
    Thank you. The Senator attempting to dislodge George Payne in St. Andrew could learn a lot from your approach.

27. Thanks Sandra, a rich Bio indeed and BU wishe you well as we do all the candidates.

Feel free to ask fellow candidates to post info or provide links to their websites.

The General Election Page is a work in progress and in the coming days updates will be made to improve the content.

Your BIO was updated to the page.

28. old onion bags Avatar

Welcome … Sandra Husbands on behalf of the BU family…..you are the second politico of recent to take up the BU offer….and make use of the opportunity to give your views.

29. Madam, welcome and after such a long dissertation, i regret to inform you that your party should have found room for you in St. Joseph or even Christ Church South, traditional BLP seats instead of that waste Dale Marshall.
    Instead, as fate would have it you have been matched against a man in Donville Inniss whose entire life story has also been about outstanding acheivements and performance. A man of the people – well educated and who has never forgotten his humble roots and who has done exceptional work in the community over the last couple of years.
    Only in Errol Barrow’s Barbados could Donville Inniss,the son of a poor fisherman from St. Philip rise through hard work and determination to be a Harrisonian, UWI graduate,MBA Graduate, successful Businessman and Minister Of Health.
    Donville has been working from day one and has won many admirers at the community and national level.
    I ran into a high ranking official in a drug company some time ago and he said to me off the record as a BLP supporter, that of all the Ministers of health with which he has interacted over the last 25 years-Donville Inniss was by far the best.A man of action!
    Do not let your party spend too much resources down there because on merit alone Donville will win. Take care.

30. old onion bags Avatar

Ms. Husbands
    I hear of your well structured campaign…..in St.James South..a multifaceted approach that should bear fruit. You seems to have kept that work ethic from SBA going.The feed back we hear , tells of your opposite getting jittery. We see him every night on CBC News @7 and anything to do with health….For a newcomer….300 odd votes is a no brainer given what is to come.Best of Luck popping down kite tails…and shearing wolves.

31. @!

I ran into a high ranking official in a drug company some time ago and he said to me off the record as a BLP supporter, that of all the Ministers of health with which he has interacted over the last 25 years-Donville Inniss was by far the best.A man of action!

Do you want to recall this statement?

32. @ !
    Do you read what you write? Donville’s story is the story of MANY Barbadians.

33. old onion bags Avatar

Give him a break…..that happens when you wish so hard …you believe it

34. Some people like Dale Marshall accomplish very little before coming to politics and even less when they get there!
    Donville will win St. James South hands down!

35. @! He will have to buck a swing, this riding may not be a slamdunk as many believe. There is a lot of time left for Sandra to make in rows if the PM is taking this thing to the wire.

36. Donville Inniss is never complacent – He has a tremendous work ethic- He outperformed the swing last time – in other words his numbers gained were more than a party swing alone would justify and is not the type to sit down and rest on his laurels-the BLP candidiate will be working in the coming months but Donville never stopped for the past 4 years.

37. @!

Donville won by 300 votes last election.

38. Who is Donville Inniss trying to fool that he dont want to be Prime Minister ???

Donville Inniss wants to be Prime Minister of Barbados. I heard that from his constituent ‘Sleepy Smith’

39. WHO is Sandra trying to convince that she does not want to be Prime Minister of Barbados ??

Sandra Husbands to be first female Prime Minister of Barbados -(Sounds good to me)

Anyhow I feel that somebody like Sandra should not have to beg and plead for votes. Here is a woman with all the credentials . She should just offer herself and should not have to plead for anybody’s vote.

I will offer myself as a candidate but I am not campaigning except to offer myself as one who is prepared to work hard and one who respects people. My academic qualification and work experience is irrelevant. All you need to know is that I am willing to serve.People have power that they dont use .If you vote for a person and they wont perform, they can be recalled.

I am not impressed with academic qualification and work experience because many persons have academic qualifications etc but you put them in a position and by golly, they dont do anything, they just dont work. So I am not impressed with a list of so-called achievements, I want to see ACTION
    This is in no way aimed at Sandra. This is a general statement.

Sandra is someone who I admire and I know she can get the job done. She is capable . She is sweet. She is a Lady !

40. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

Welcome and well done mrs. Husbands. You are now entrant #2 of 60. Applause.

Let’s see how the race plays out.

41. old onion bags Avatar

@ Observing (polling)
    But wait ….what happen to the MEN ?…..This is woman # 2…not good as an example I must say.

42. Folks to get the facts just ask anyone working in the health ministry about their minister. From janitor to the top management.You will hear for yourself if the person is an honest person! There is no question that he is working in the interest of BIM striving for a healthier nation and the jury is still out on the title of the best health minister between him and Sir Brandford! A friend of mine who works in health lauds his down -to -earthness and the fact that he is soooo approachable!! Truly I was impressed at the accoldes showered by mine acquaintance on him;he said in retrospect that compared to minister of 2005+
    Donville is a class act to work with. I thought hmmm!

43. old onion bags Avatar

I fail to understand how this caring minister..could expose the poor and old to the infelicites done to them thru the hatchet job.. to the Drug Service….CUTS…REMOVALSGENERIC…NO DRUGS…PAY or WAIT…
    Only to hear we save $12 Million..but at what cost ? How about those immigrants who paid NIS ..living here for years ? No drug for them….remember ?…call that care ? Best Service what ? who you think you can fool?…..Boss the day of reckoning coming ..hold ya back !

44. I told you that you ought to talk about what you know not think you know!Good thing you dont have the cards on the day of reckoning cuz you (behaving as taught) seem to believe that that day is for one side not all ;how limited! Who
    is fooling themselves? Its unfortunate that you are offended at the gov’t saving $12million!
    As a matter of fact remind me of what the Drug Service act says relative to beneficiaries ; when was this act past 2008 onwards?
    MEthinks tho dost protest too much! I recall the minister speaking about this act when it was hotly debated in the house or were you listening?Even if not, as an authority on everything(as your kind is prone to be) how about checking for facts before you speak AGAIN????

45. WHO DONVILLE think he is ?
    More loved candidates who the voters loved more than they like Donville , have lost their seats.

Many people have said that they are seeing hardships in getting their medications and along with all the other hardships the DLP have imposed on the people, there is no way that the people will forgive those bunch of wild people calling themselves a political party.
    BEES= 29 SEATS
    DEES- 0 SEATS
    IND= 1 SEAT

46. old onion bags Avatar

Pringles
    How dare you leave me in St.Andrew waiting…only to find you, like your side kicks… perfecting the art of evasion .. down in St James…But is alright . I shall be brief and factual.
    I will not seek to research any information though as it is irrelevant to my spin.Reasons ….do you honestly believe voters are interested..and to the extent or year an Act came into being ? It is this simple ..”they expect”…”.they all want “….. to be beneficiaries…yes won’t you ?Next, as to savings of $12 Mil…you crazy ? Have you ever heard of social benefits and social accounting ?You need to do some reading up…
    I now see where you are coming from…..seems like you are an inside custodian….speaking of such as savings….nah voters don’t see it like that Govt is suppose to look after the people..they don’t want to hear otherwise…
    Its time so..
    Goodnight.

47. The Ministry of Health under the competent leadership of this caring Minister Donville Inniss has also upgraded the Polyclinics, increased the staff at public pharmacies where the prescriptions are still FREE, totally upgraded the Electrical capacity of the QEH so that all Barbadians (rich and poor) are no longer exposed to the possibility of delay in medical procedures etc due to unreliable power supply,carried out an active debushing campaign so that the rats will not be more comfortable than the residents, reopened the St. Andrew Clinic because the people of St. Andrew deserve the best, restarted the St. John Polyclinic because the people of St. John, St. Joseph and St. Philip also deserve the best,ensured that the Chronic Non Communicable Disease Commission is up and running, carried out nursing audit to ensure that we are getting nurses in the areas we need, ban on smoking in public places so that we are not at the mercy of indiscriminate smokers and the list goes on- Easily the best Minister Of Health in last 20 years – working humbly and tirelessly for all Barbadians(BLP and DLP).
    Donville Inniss is doing an excellent job and will retain St. James South.

48. @onions
    Well said! Research is irrelevant to your spin!

49. old onion bags Avatar

@ Pringles
    As a matter of fact remind me of what the Drug Service act says relative to beneficiaries ; when was this act past 2008 onwards?
    Why should I ?..alike voters…Do you think we we need to research a conveniently exclusionary Act that was amended by ‘the CARING’ ( to save $12 milllion)…when we are sadly in need of some emergency care ? We not that daft…..sensible enuff too to know where to put the X

50. Those on this blog who write on behalf of the DLP do Donville and the facts a disservice with respect to health and the policies of the Minister.
    Donville is the only Minister in the past 25 years who has had to be given a ParSec. The work of the Minister of Health despite this has been reduced. The Ministry no longer has Water, Sanation and the Environment as it had in times past. He is the only Minister of Health who was stripped on the QEH. Confidence you say!. The largest piece of the Health Budget has been taken from him and the DLPites talk about performance. He is froth and misguided bravado who thinks that supporting Egyptian Jews will cut in this our fair land. Donville had an opportunity to serve the people of his kind, the lowly fisherman’s class of which you speak and he said to the people of his father’s generation away from me you will pay.The old the halt, the lame and the blind have to pay under Donville’s hand. This is the person who you want the poor people to support? Even the PM promised to look at the imposition on the people ‘ new barbadians’ who pay NIS and where told they cannot access the service, The PM said would do something about it. Confidence by Stuart you say! Nothing done yet. Donville has damaged the psyche of the pensioners of this country and I think it is an injustice for which he will not be forgiven easily. Think on these things