Submitted by Dr. Georgie Porgie
BARBADOS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS, DO WE REALLY NEED THEM?

Elombe Mottley – The Next FIFTY YEARS of PRIDE and INDUSTRY! – may be a progressive thinker to many in Barbados, but in my mind he demonstrates his ignorance as a supreme illiterate in matters of medicine, and medical schools when he suggests that there should be medical schools here…there and everywhere in Barbados.

1. During the years I hung around offshore Medical schools, there are at least two things that I learned.

These schools find it difficult to bring in teachers from overseas because of the COST OF PAYING FOR WORK PERMITS FOR TEACHERS FROM OVERSEAS.

2. Producing the most excellent website, whereupon thy can spew lie upon lie to lure unwary would be students and wannabe doctors to train at these schools.

I would enjoin commenters here to go to the websites of both AUB, and WUB and notice that not only are the websites very poor (suggesting that we are dealing with very poor con artists) but that there are no medical teachers at any of the schools who are Barbadians, and ask why? This at a time where several other offshore schools are now forced to employ locals to teach.

Why is it that WUB (see faculty and staff webpage) have few well qualified teachers listed on their site but yet they list 7 chefs and 7 security guards.

Who is collecting all the money for the WORK PERMITS for these staff members, I wonder?

I would invite you to go to this webpage on the valueMD site and follow the discussion on the thread

new medical school in Barbados in trouble already.

Notice that the valueMD moderator has tried to shut up the poster. Then try to use ctrl and C to try to download anything from this website and note that they have disabled ctrl and C

Then let us start a blog entitled BARBADOS AND OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS DO W REALLY NEED THEM? Then let us try to understand and thrash out whether our Government has really sold out our medical education for thirty pieces of silver.

Please also read this thread on valueMD.

WUB website is http://www.wubmed.org/

AUB website is http://www.aubmed.org/

315 responses to “Barbados Medical Schools”

1. @mariposa
    “How come this school managed to fly under the radar of prsent govt when in opposition”

Nice footwork. Shifting blame to the present government. Good spin.

Would like to see you spin Cahill

2. DING DONG MERRILY ON HIGH…….IN HEAVEN THE BELLS ARE RINGING
    DING DONG MERRILY BELOW……….INTO BIM BOGUS MED SCHOOLS ARE POURING

I HAVE SEEN A FEW BOGUS MED SCHOOLS CLOSE DOWN SINCE 2OO2……..BUT NONE OF THEM HAD 2OO PLUS STUDENTS!

THEY USUALLY CLOSED BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT GET STUDENTS!

3. I repeat: although the blame must originally be that of the grossly incompetent DLP administration, the administration that came to power in May much also take some of the responsibility.
    The fact is that the regulator should know everything about the operations of an offshore company; they should be keeping a watchful eye on their activities. That is a precautionary measure.
    It is naïve, bordering on stupidity to suggest that because they were no complaints then the authorities had nothing to worry about. Nonsense. That is regulation 101. In fact, it is also good journalism.

Tell you a story: when the Tories first deregulated further and higher education in the UK, there was a mushrooming of new schools – including one ran by a Nigerian in north London.
    Something about it suggested it was a diploma mill. The good Old Daily Mail put a reporter in to register as a student to expose the bogus college from the inside. But what passes as journalism in Barbados is often just political propaganda.
    Finally, it is not surprising that this suspected bogus college involves so-called New Barbadians. For some cultures that is their modus operandi, although David BU will call this jingoistic and racist. There is another word for it.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Maybe Dr. GP recently assigned the title of prophet, maybe because you are a man hated for your mouth and the fact that you hold brief for not a fellow, and being imbued by the Spirit, you can see these tricks from a mile off, maybe they will listen to you now.

But I doubt it

A few things are to be noted here.

The pinelands cultural workshop took the beggar part of 10 years to be accredited as a teaching institution by successive administrations

Yet a bogus school can get a charter overnight.

Second issue is it is evident that the Due Diligence practices of all, ALL, GoB agencies is piss poor.

A website search of the man’s bonafide

AFTER THE MANDATORY SEARCH OF verified POLICE RECORDS

VERIFIED FINANCIALS FROM THE AUTHORIZED TAX DEPARTMENT like the mandatory requirement to get your Barbados travel agency license annually

In addition to mandatory liability insurance coverage for student deposits.

And a custodial account for all monies paid for medical students in Barbados paid to an AUTHORIZED intermediary

Month reports for and checks by lazy asked ministry of education officials who at 2018 have yet to investigate if st Winifred’s school adheres to the Ministry of Education s standards notwithstanding it private school standing.

A mobile app which permits students on education visas to report to a functioning ombudsman other than a waste foop has been judge.

You know anything proactive that would ensure that miss ram could not run a trick like this with a fellow injun pun ingrunt Bajans and a Brimler for a minister of edykashun WeJonesing

Santiago Bradshaw is not far removed is she IF THIS HAPPENED ON HER WATCH

What will they implement to ensure that it will not happen again?

Waki, waki, waki…

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

I will be $1M that Santia nor Cynghua WILL NOT INVESTIGATE THE OGHER SCHOOLS.

This is another situation where the foreign police are solving Bajan Crimes

The US police for Donville and the Indian Police for Gopi Venkat Rao and his wife and 5 others

Steupseee

6. At some point the local authorities will have to wipe the egg from their faces.

7. Hal Austin October 6, 2018 2:57 PM

I repeat: although the blame must originally be that of the grossly incompetent DLP administration, the administration that came to power in May much also take some of the responsibility.

WE DONE SAY THAT ALREADY MAN

The fact is that the regulator should know everything about the operations of an offshore company; they should be keeping a watchful eye on their activities.

MAN DE OFFICIALS KNOW THAT THERE HAVE BEEN OFFSHORE SCHOOLS IN DE ISLANDS SINCE 1978.

NONE, INCLUDING THOSE THAT HAVE CLOSED ROSE TO THIS LEVEL OF SCAM

THE OFFICIALS COULD NOT HAVE KNOWN THAT WUB WOULD DESCEND THIS LOW

RE It is naïve, bordering on stupidity to suggest that because they were no complaints then the authorities had nothing to worry about. Nonsense. That is regulation 101. In fact, it is also good journalism.

SKIPPA WID OUT REGULATION 101 AND THE JOURNALISM AND BEFORE ANY COMPLAINTS COULDA COME IN IT WAS DECLARED ON BU BY A NON JOURNALIST THAT WUB WAS BOGUS

WE DID NOT NEED TO REGISTER ANY REPORTER IN THE SCHOOL

BU HAD AN EXPERT ON BOGUS SCHOOLS TO TELL YOU THAT WUB WAS BOGUS!

HAVE YOU READ THIS THREAD FROM THE BEGINNING OR TODAY?

SANTIA NOR Cynghua NOR NOBODY DIDNT HAVE TO INVESTIGATE THIS SCHOOL

BUT THEY NOW NEED TO INVESTIGATE THE OTHERS

CHECK THEIR WEBSITES AND SEE HOW LITTLE INFO IS GIVEN

NOTE THAT AFTER I PUT ON BU THAT THE SCHOOL ONLY HAVE WHITE TEACHERS AND NO BAJANS ON THE TEACHING STAFF……….THEY EXCLUDED THE PAGE ON THE TEACHING STAFF

WE WERE ABLE TO DECRY AND POINT OUT THAT THIS WAS A BOGUS SCHOOL ON BU BY JUST PERUSING THEIR WEBSITE FROM THE BEGINNING

ONLY COOKS AND SECURITY GUARDS AND BULLSHIT DESCRIPTIONS OF THE TEACHERS ON THE WEBSITE SHOULD HAVE ALERTED FOLK ABOUT THIS SCHOOL.

WE TOLD THE NATION SO HERE IN DE RUM SHOP WHEN ALL THE NEWSPAPERS IN BARBADOS WERE JUMPING FOR JOY BECAUSE WE HAD ANOTHER BOGUS SCHOOL

8. Doc,

Stick to being a family doctor. I am talking about precautionary regulation. It is not part of Barbadian regulatory culture.

9. WHEN THIS THREAD WAS STARTED VERY EARLY I WROTE THIS….

I would enjoin commenters here to go to the websites of both AUB, and WUB and notice that not only are the websites very poor (suggesting that we are dealing with very poor con artists) but that there are no medical teachers at any of the schools who are Barbadians, and ask why? This at a time where several other offshore schools are now forced to employ locals to teach.

Why is it that WUB (see faculty and staff webpage) have few well qualified teachers listed on their site but yet they list 7 chefs and 7 security guards.

Who is collecting all the money for the WORK PERMITS for these staff members, I wonder?

WHY ARE WE NOW SURPRISED AT THE RECENT EVENTS?

10. Doc,

Stick to being a family doctor. I am talking about precautionary regulation. It is not part of Barbadian regulatory culture.

GAVE THAT UP LONG AGO
    I HAVE FOR THE LAST 16 YEARS BEEN TEACHING AT AND RESEARCHING OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS

LEAVE OUT YOUR BULLSHIT BOUT REGULATIONS AND READ THROUGH WHAT I HAVE WRITTEN ON THIS BLOG BOUT BOGUS SCHOOLS AND SEE IF YOU CAN LEARN ANYTHING BOUT THEM

YOU ARE NOT ADDING, AND CAN NOT ADD ANYTHING TO THIS DISCUSSION BUT BULL SHIT COMMENTS BOUT DE DAILY MAIL

DID THE DAILY MAIL BRING DOWN ST CHRISTOPHER?

11. @GP

I had the “pleasure” of teaching at one of the other med schools on the island part-time for one semester (Pre-med).

The full-time staff were being paid way less than what a graduate teacher starts at and they still had to supervise labs. Lab equipment was old and out dated and in some instances there was no lab at all; admin’s solution was to replace labs with take home assignments.

To make matters worse the administration pressured staff to make exams easy so the students could “do well”. I refused to dumb down my work, my grades ending up fitting a normal distribution, admin was not pleased, students were upset they didn’t get A’s like their other courses. They let me go. It was pocket money for me so no big deal.

The students are not the brightest, many struggled with basic concepts of measurement and experimentation.

The library was a joke, two copies of each book at the most. There was no source for students to buy their own books. The expectation was for “lecturers” to provide everything in word or pdf for students.

Admin also insisted that for final exams 150 multiple choice questions (with answers) be submitted to them. They would then decide what questions the students received. I ignored this as I saw no basis for this needless intervention; they were not pleased. I believe they are trying to build a vault of questions and course work material and eventually they will replace the staff with less qualified imports who will simply do nothing other than take attendance and correct papers.

The Barbadian staff are nice people but I feel sorry for them, they are being exploited and they will eventually be tossed aside once they have outlived their usefulness.

There were a few Bajan students there, I asked a young lady why she chose the university. She said because she could get a place on an American residency program. I asked how many places are made available, and what is the criteria and did she inquire with the residency program administrators. She could not answer. I told her good luck

12. Doc,
    You contradict yourself. You say on the one and that the web sites of some medical schools are poor, that the library was
    underfunded, and the admin staff intervened in examination matters.
    Then you say there was no need for regulatory intervention since they were no complaints. That too is a reason for precautionary intervention – no complaints does not mean there is nothing wrong. How many police forces get complaints about the Triads? How many get complaints about the Yakuza?
    The FDA does not wait until a new drug kills someone to intervene; there are testing procedures the drug must go through (put at ten years of testing) before it gets approval. One London hospital killed a medical students in one such test when he out himself forward as a guinea pig to make extra money.
    As to journalism, I gave an example of how one newspaper reacted to its suspicions about one specific college. A vigilant press should spot all these wrong-doings, or suspected wrong-doings – unless, of course, you see no role for the press in a democratic society..

13. Doc,
    You contradict yourself. You say on the one and that the web sites of some medical schools are poor, that the library was
    underfunded, and the admin staff intervened in examination matters.

1- A POOR WEBSITE MEANS ONLY THAT THEIR ADVERTISING IS POOR
    NOW FROM WHAT IS PUT ON THE WEBSITE SUCH AS 7 CHEFS AND 7 GUARDS I ALERTED THE FOLK VIA BU

2 IF THE LIBRARY IS UNDERFUNDED OR POOR, THAT OBSERVATION IS NOT A BIG DEAL AS MOST OFFSHORE MED SCHOOLS HAVE THE REQUIRED TEXTS OR CAN DO WELL USING WELL PREPARED POWER PPTS, NOTES

THE INDIANS CAN BUY THE SAME TEXTS OVER THERE PRINTED ON TRADE PAPER AS THOSE FROM NA BUY AND BRING ON PRETTY PAPER

3 HOW WILL GOVERNMENT REGULATE EXAMINATION MATTERS
    HOW CAN THEY DECIDE IF ONE SHOULD CURVE OR NOT, OR WHEN

HOW WILL GOVERNMENT REGULATE A CLINICAL EXAMINATION?

YOU ARE OUT OF YOUR LEAGUE SIR
    I AM SPEAKING ABOUT POND ACTIVITIES IN WHICH HAVE BEEN INVOLVED FOR 44 OUT OF MY 66 YEARS

SUBSIDE
    LISTEN AND LEARN
    BARBADOS WAS ADEQUATELY WARNED ABOUT WUB AND AUB ON BU

14. RE Redguard October 6, 2018 4:49 PM

I SUSPECT YOU ARE SPEAKING ABOUT AUB

RE The full-time staff were being paid way less than what a graduate teacher starts at and they still had to supervise labs.

I HAVE REFUSED SEVERAL JOBS FOR THIS REASON. TOLD THEM ID DO GARDENER WORK FOR THAT MONEY. BUT MANY INDIANS WILL COME FOR 1500 US WHICH APPARENTLY IS A REASONABLE WAGE OVER IN INDIA

Lab equipment was old and out dated and in some instances there was no lab at all;SAW THIS AT AIMU IN ST LUCIA WHERE THE CHEM TEACHER USED BEET JUICE AS AN INDICATOR!
    AND BROUGHT IN BLEACH FROM THE SUPERMARKET FOR HYPOCHLORITE AS THEY WERE VERY FEW REAGENTS
    I admin’s solution was to replace labs with take home assignments.

RE To make matters worse the administration pressured staff to make exams easy so the students could “do well”. THIS IS SO THAT THEY WONT FAIL AND LEAVE FOR ANOTHER SCHOOL

RE I refused to dumb down my work, my grades ending up fitting a normal distribution, admin was not pleased, students were upset they didn’t get A’s like their other courses.
    I USED TO SAY “I DONT CURVE, THE ONLY CURVES I AM INTERESTED ARE THE CURVES ON THE GIRLS”

They let me go. It was pocket money for me so no big deal.NOT SURPRISED

RE The students are not the brightest, many struggled with basic concepts of measurement and experimentation. MOST OF THE MED STUDENTS I GOT FROM INDIA WERE GOOD- I DIDNT TEACH PREMED

RE The library was a joke, two copies of each book at the most. There was no source for students to buy their own books.
    LIBRARIES TEND TO BE POOR EXCEPT FOR AAIMS AND AIMU, WHICH HAD LOTS OF SPACE AND COMPUTERS AT AIMU. AIMU HAD LOTS OF OLD BOOKS SUCH THAT I CALLED THE LIBRARIAN “JESUS” …….BECAUSE SHE WAS DAILY RAISING THE DEAD!

The expectation was for “lecturers” to provide everything in word or pdf for students. OR POWERPOINT

RE Admin also insisted that for final exams 150 multiple choice questions (with answers) be submitted to them. They would then decide what questions the students received. I ignored this as I saw no basis for this needless intervention; they were not pleased. I believe they are trying to build a vault of questions and course work material and eventually they will replace the staff with less qualified imports who will simply do nothing other than take attendance and correct papers.

YOU ARE 100% CORRECT
    THESE GUYS ARE WORSE THAN THE PLACES WHERE I TAUGHT

RE The Barbadian staff are nice people but I feel sorry for them, they are being exploited and they will eventually be tossed aside once they have outlived their usefulness.

YOU ARE 100% CORRECT AGAIN. BUT SOME SCHOOLS ARE NOW EMPLOYING LOCALS AS THEY DONT HAVE TO GET WORK PERMITS FOR THESE

RE There were a few Bajan students there, I asked a young lady why she chose the university. She said because she could get a place on an American residency program. LOL. SHE WILL IN THE DAYS OF YOUR GRAND CHILDREN

I asked how many places are made available, and what is the criteria and did she inquire with the residency program administrators. She could not answer. I told her good luck

SAD SAD SAD SAD

15. Doc,
    The state appoints highly qualified medical regulators to look after the supervision of medical schools and practitioners. We put our faith in them. I am not setting myself up as a medical regulator. I am saying, in case you do not understand, that the medical regulators in Barbados and the relevant ministries should have an open file (compiled partly from regular inspections) on all offshore medical schools (and other businesses) and any suspicions should have been included in the transition reports received by the incoming government. That is how properly functioning societies work. By the way, why don’t we attract offshore dental, business and private secondary schools? This alone makes me suspicious.
    As to being out of my league, I do not even like going to see my family doctor.

16. ” It offers a good quality education in a very less and affordable fee structure with the best USMLE certified faculty, technologically developed classrooms and laboratories, well equipped laboratories and much more. ”

https://ca.linkedin.com/company/washington-university-of-barbados

17. Bullshit baffles some people.

18. RE USMLE certified faculty,
    NEVER SEEN ONE OF THEM YET!
    DOES THIS MEAN THAT THE TEACHERS PASSED THE USMLE EXAMS?
    I AM SURE THAT THE EXCELLENT MEDICAL EDUCATORS IN INDIA HAVE NOT EVER TAKEN THE USMLE!

19. HAL The state appoints highly qualified medical regulators to look after the supervision of medical schools and practitioners.

TELL ME HAL WHO ARE THE PEOPLE IN THE ISLANDS WITH OFFSHORE SCHOOLS THAT ARE ” highly qualified medical regulators to look after the supervision of medical schools and practitioners.” TELL ME THEIR NAMES

WHAT ARE THE QUALIFICATIONS FOR A medical regulator?

I am not setting myself up as a medical regulator. PRAISE GOD!

RE the medical regulators in Barbados and the relevant ministries should have an open file (compiled partly from regular inspections) on all offshore medical schools
    REALLY? WHERE THEY WILL GET THAT FROM SUH?

(and other businesses) and any suspicions should have been included in the transition reports received by the incoming government. That is how properly functioning societies work.

MAN WE WERE FUNCTIONING PERFECTLY WITH UWI
    UNTIL THE IDIOTS BROUGHT IN THE BOGUS SCHOOLS

By the way, why don’t we attract offshore dental, business and private secondary schools? WHY DO WE NEED TO DO THIS? This alone makes me suspicious. WHY

20. Never seen a face fit like this one!!

21. This is the text of a link posted by Hants
    I will try to discuss this later

THIS WRITER IS NOT A REGULATOR OF MEDICAL SCHOOLS, BUT WHAT HE HAS TO SAY IS VERY VERY IMFORMATIVE

Dear students and parents,
    We would like to inform you that due to the introduction of neet exam, lot of students are facing difficulty in order to get a seat in mbbs course in india. To attract students for medical course from india, a big business lobby from andhra pradesh and tamil nadu started medical schools in caribbean islands & south america using the american place name.in addition to it they advertise that their schools and hospitals in america which help students who can easily earn the salary of rupees 3-8lakh. They mislead the candidates and asked to deposit 35 to 40 lacks with a promise to earn doctorate of medicine from america and work in america even there is no mci screening exam mandatory to practice in india after the study. The following is one of the advertisements received from a friend:
    Washington university of barbados
    Mbbs+md in americas &
    Complete ms program free of cost
    No entrance exam, no mci exam, fees in installment, free air and visa
    Opportunity to earn 3 to 8lac pm after 6th year, indian food available
    Total exp – 37 lac including all
    Admission fees, tuition fees, air ticket, visa, food & stay
    Book your seat now
    Admission open for january 2018 &
    September 2018
    Contact us [protected]
    See the above advertisement and think how it is possible? Let us inform you one thing that the advertisement itself is a big lie.. It is impossible by anyone. I will deploy the reasons below:

These colleges are off-shore schools for the students (Usa & canada citizens) those who couldn’t get medical admission in usa or canada through mcat such students can do their basic science through ecfmg schools. After the completion of basic science program they can go back to usa (Because they are usa or canada citizens-no need any visa) to do clinical rotation and usmle i, ii & iii. These schools are not designed for indian students. Here are the reasons:

If an indian citizen student is joined to these kind of school, they will never get a visa to do the clinical rotation in usa after the completion of pre-med and basic science.
    Clinical rotation is not a class room based study therefor there is no visa. Even i20 (Student visa) can be issued only for classroom based studies with usa government approved college and universities which is in usa. And there is no i20 (Student visa) to do clinical rotation in usa for the international students. Then how those schools will issue visa for the students?
    The students need to do the clinical rotation in teaching hospital under green book or blue book category hospitals and this is expensive (Average 1 semester cost around 15000 to 20000 usd and they need to do 6 semester. So total it will become 120, 000 usd fees only). The caribbean schools are advertising that they can provide the whole program only for 40lakh including food and accommodation, visa, air tickets… how it is possible? Then better if they market it in usa, then they will get 10, 000 students from usa itself…why they are not marketing this program in usa??? Because it’s a total fake program….
    And these schools have no hospital in america and also clinical rotation has no i20? (Student visa), then how they can send the student to usa for clinical rotation?
    They are saying md studies in usa are free of cost and getting salary of 3-8lakhs…. There are lots of students (American citizens) who have already passed usmle step i, step ii (Cs & ck) and step iii and clinical rotation finished in usa teaching hospitals are still waiting to get a residency program (Matching program). Then we don’t know how these caribbean schools with indian students are going to get it ….
    Most of the caribbean and south american schools have no camhp approval, thus the students are not even eligible to apply for usmle exam.
    And the funniest part is nobody who has usmle qualified faculty to teach in these schools.
    Those schools know clearly that the students will never pass usmle and nothing to worry about clinical rotation part in usa. And there is no question arises!
    Only the way the student will get visa to usa (Visiting) is to qualify usmle step i (Above 90%) and sep ii cs (Above 90%) and to do ck-clinical part (Short term visiting visa). And the student needs to apply it from their home country with full financial background all the supportive documents to us embassy. And this is also very hard to get approval.
    Those schools are convincing the students if they couldn’t pass usmle then they will arrange it in africa, nepal. But there also they won’t get any mci approved hospitals for those students. So you can guess what will happen to the student and their degree…! How they can apply for mci exam? What they will do with their degree?
    It is really a shocking fact that 6 months old schools where no hospital and basic facilities got listed in mci website… it’s still a mystery… and in india here many reputed hospitals have been applying to get approval from mci with more than 500-1000 beds for many years and still couldn’t afford an approval to start medical college….
    !
    As per the rules and regulations with mci, an indian student with foreign medical studies never can do pre-med, basic science and clinical rotation in india. But some schools are providing pre-med program/clinical rotation in india? How it is legal? How washington university of barbados still conducting pre-med program in bangalore with thousands of students?
    Some of the caribbean schools like rose, st. Johns, and st. James are few good off-shore schools and they never take indian students because they know the indian student will never get i20 – student visa to usa for clinical rotation to complete their studies.

22. I thought they had amended the laws to make using Barbados in company names very difficult?

I will see if I can find the relevant act.

Maybe Jeff can help!!

23. Companies Act – Prohibited name

The name of a company

(a) must not be the same as or similar to the name or business name of any other person or of any association, partnership or firm, if the use of that name would be likely to confuse or mislead, unless the person, association, partnership or firm consents in writing to the use of that name in whole or in part, and

(i) if required by the Registrar in the case of any person, undertakes to dissolve or change his or its name to a
    dissimilar name within 6 months after the filing of the articles by which the name is acquired, or

(ii) if required by the Registrar in the case of an association, partnership or firm, undertakes to cease to carry on its
    business or activities, or undertakes to change its name to a dissimilar name, within 6 months after the filing of the
    articles by which the name is acquired;

(b) must not be identical to the name of a body corporate incorporated under the laws of Barbados before 1st January, 1985;

(c) must not suggest or imply a connection with the Crown, or the Government or of any Ministry, department, branch, bureau,service, agency or activity of the Government, unless consent in writing to the proposed name is duly obtained from the appropriate Minister; …………… DONVILLE PERHAPS IN A DIFFERENT INCARNATION

(d) must not suggest or imply a connection with a political party or a leader of a political party;

(e) must not suggest or imply a connection with a university or a professional association recognised by the laws of Barbados, unless the university or professional association concerned consents in writing to the use of the proposed name; and

(f) must not be a name that is prohibited by the regulations.

24. Not quite, but I am sure the name BARBADOS is jealously guarded and not available for free use … will check some more.

25. … There is also a big deal with using the word Royal … connection with the Crown!!

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

As part of de ole man s penance and daily practice I repeatedly ask GOD to forgive me a sinner and to bless me in mine ignorance FOR WE ARE ALL IGNORANT BEINGS, ignorant even compared to the folly of our Almight God.

So mine is a daily enquiry into how to be better and wiser and more kind etc.

Which brings me to this matter of medical school fraud and the continuance of said fraud.

When Cynthia Forde was being interviewed and de ole man was there I would have asked her a series of different questions with the explicit objective of ascertaining her competence in this matter euphemism for exposing how incompetent she and her current administration are. AND WILL CONTINUE TO BE.

“MS. FORDE EXPLAIN THE PROCESS ASSOCIATED WITH ANY TYPE OF EXTERNAL BUSINESS WANTING TO RELOCATE IN BARBADOS??”

is it done by a letter or word of mouth?

The reason I’m asking Cynthia is that with the precedence of Hardwood & Cahill & Del Masturbator Maestro & this Washington University scam it would appear that this is a pattern of incompetence that is just ammmm showing the depth of the Banana Republic entrenchment here.

I mean look at this Cynthia

You mean that AT NOT ONE SINGLE MINISTRY for example The Ministry of the Interior or National Security you ent got no policy nor procedure that coordinates every single aspect of said request from 1. Verifications of the Bonafides of the Principals 2. Certifications and Qualifications 3. Environmental Impact assessments 4. Police Certificates of Character 5. Money laundering Antecedents 6. Pedophilia records (ooops I said that already) 7. Insurance and liability protection for the citizenry proximate to the operations and for the customers.

I mean simple shy$€ like that.

What then will become evident is the dishonest set of policemen who are being paid to falsify the certificate of character searches with external counterparts aided and abetted by Bumpy and Stacy at immigration with the repeat work extensions every 6 months for 15 years and de people at de ministry of education who being paid to sign of on de peeple non existent qualifications.

This pattern of embedded incompetence where staff at the particular agencies tasked with these jobs are failing in their responsibilities but getting rich as shy$€ while being paid by AMattress and DeBed people has to stop.

But ooops dat would put alot of civil servants out of a source of ancillary income wouldn’t it and we cang have that in the banana Republic can we?

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

28. Thinking that they were being genuinely prep for travel to Guyana to pursue a medical degree with an offshore university, more than 200 young people in India are now counting their losses, and at least four of them have committed suicide, after realizing that they were actually defrauded of their money and their dreams by a bogus student recruiter and his wife.(Quote)

How a region has lost its reputation.

29. The Chief Executive Officer of Washington University (Barbados) Inc is set to appear before the St Matthias Magistrates’ Court on multiple charges today.(Quote)

Does this mean the medical school has been closed? How about the existing ones, will there now be a review?

30. He was remanded to Dodds.

31. But will his clever lawyer get him bail?

32. Who is Ms. Ram’s lawyer of choice?

33. Doc,

You shout a lot, even when you are mistaken. Who approves medical practitioners in Barbados? Who was it who said Cuban qualifications were not recognised in Barbados? Are they qualified to make those decisions?

34. LET BU FIND OUT THE ANSWERS TO YOUR QUESTIONS AND TELL YOU

35. The Barbados Medical Council.

36. Oh David. Don’t let the pompous doctor tease you in to nonsense. He knows who are the regulators. His appalling arrogance is simply to justify his nonsense about the lack of proper regulation of offshore medical schools in general, and the Washington in particular. The Washington scandal is proof, if it were needed, of the failure of regulation. Our regulation often lacks competence and is another manifestation of a failed state..
    Elsewhere one guy claims that because he has an LLM and diploma in financial regulation that can give weight to the ill-thought out notion of light-touch regulation. It was light touch regulation that led to the 2008 crisis.

37. Who is teasing? You asked a question and it was answered. The blogmaster has been at this for too long to allow others to control our reactions.

38. HAL I SENT YOU TO THE FOUNT OF KNOWLEDGE AND THE CONTROLLER OF KNOWLEDGE……………..NOTE THE WORD “CONTROL”

I DONT TEASE FOLK HAL
    I SAY WHAT I HAVE TO SAY VERY CLEARLY AND VERY CAREFULLY, AND I MOCK AS NEEDED

FROM YOUR LAST POST IT SEEMS YOU DID NOT GET THE ANSWER YOU SOUGHT FROM THE FOUNT OF KNOWLEDGE

SOME WONT BE CONTROLLED BUT THEY SEEK TO CONTROL OTHERS
    BUT IT IS INDEED TRUE “VANITY OF VANITY” ALL IS VANITY

39. David,

It was meant as a rhetorical question to the doc. In other words, no matter who does the registration and checks, that person or organisation is carrying out the function of regulator. People cannot just turn up in Barbados and set up shop as a doctor. They must first go through a process, a regulatory process.
    To return to the substantive issue, the Washington scandal is regulatory failure on every level..

40. Agree it is regulatory because a flavour of a performance bond or Letter of Credit should be a perquisite to setting up in Barbados. Today Barbadian taxpayers have to be feeding and housing the stranded Indian students.

41. SO WHY YOU DONT COME AND FIX IT HAL CAUSE BU CANT FIX IT
    AND I DONT PARTICULARLY CARE
    ITS NOT AFFECTING MY FAMILY IN BIM

I JUST HAPPY THAT I WAS NOT WORKING THERE

KNOW THIS………..PEOPLE CAN BLOCK THINGS I SEEK TO PUT ON BU BUT THEY CANT FORCE ME TO CONTRIBUTE SENSE OR SUBSTANCE OR VALUABLE INFO

42. Appearing in the video were then Prime Minister Stuart and Minister of Health John Boyce guaranteeing that the institution met the necessarily stipulations.(Quote)

A failure of regulation. Our institutions fail on a regular basis. Barbados is a failed state.

43. Doc you are being juvenile, like a teenager throwing a tantrum. Are you sure you are a trained doctor?

44. The Washington scandal is proof, if it were needed, of the failure of regulation.

Barbados became a country for the practice of scams a while ago.

Scandal, what scandal.

People have to care for it to be a scandal.

People have to have expectations that authorities can be depended upon to act in Barbados’ best interests.

Right now, any overseas money is viewed as an investment, good for Barbados when in reality, it provides peanuts for a few monkeys who don’t have the ability to earn their way in life.

… and Barbados is full of monkeys, they are rampant all over the place.

As Miss Ram Put it at the anniversary of the Washington University of Barbados and she was helping to cut the Birthday cake with her grandson or great grandson:

“There are high hopes for health tourism as a growth area in Barbados.

This was the word coming from veteran businesswoman Mrs Asha Ram Mirchandani, owner of Case Grande Airport Hotel & Resort.

She was speaking to the Barbados Advocate at the anniversary celebration of the Washington University of Barbados School of Medicine at the International Hall at that location, where she indicated this medical school shows the potential of health tourism in Barbados and creating new ways to earn foreign exchange.

Mirchandani highlighted, “The past Government of Barbados has to be congratulated for the foresight they had of earning foreign exchange for this country, giving medical schools the opportunity to be established here as part of International Business. The Washington University is one of them, which is housed in the B Block of Case Grande, and they hope to bring in another 500 students. It has been a lot of hard work and we want to continue to push.”

She continued: “The present Government also has to be congratulated for the Prime Minister’s foresight for carrying on the work of medical schools that have been established and we appreciate the people of Barbados for understanding business has to change and that we have to find new ways to bring foreign exchange. Also, the Ross School is coming to Barbados in January, [that] will also benefit Barbadians because 1 400 students are coming into Barbados.”

According to her, “We at Case Grande have been doing whatever is possible to promote health tourism and this is an area that persons have been working on developing for the last ten years. We are now seeing the tip of the iceberg. It has been a struggle, but this is a classic example of health tourism. Health tourism is in the manifestos of both Governments. It has gone to Parliament and has been approved. This area is excellent for Barbados.

“My appeal to the present Government is to please work with us and let the school be part of the development of Barbados. Right now people are suffering and they want to know how we will move forward as we see challenges in the society. Barbados can be the hub for health tourism. The seed has been sown, but it is time to do the rest of the work. We have students here from good families in India staying here at Casa Grande to study and experience this island.”
    Mirchandani appealed, “This is the first year of establishment of this school and we want all Barbadians to embrace the students and the school has opened up its doors to Barbadian students and the school will continue to invest in Barbados.” (NB)

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/medical-schools-good-move

45. Standards and legislation are coming to regulate overseas universities, especially medical universities, looking to set up shop in Barbados.(Quote from our prime minister and minister of everything)

Shutting the door after the horse has bolted. Our regulatory system – across almost all areas – is flawed. Plse remind the doc. We are a failed state.

By the way, does the rime minister have the discipline to allow ministers to speak on their portfolios? If she has no confidence in them then she should say so. Who is acting minister of education?

46. While the medical institution was given a charter by the Ministry of Education, it still remains unaccredited by the Barbados Accreditation Council (BAC), an arm of the education ministry. Granting of accreditation status to an institution is an expression of confidence in the institution’s mission and goals, the quality of faculty and students, the quality of academic programmes and the level and appropriateness of resources. Accreditation for international educational bodies and programmes is often guided by accreditation status in other countries.(Quote)

Left hand and right hand. Further proof of a failure of regulation.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John October 9, 2018 6:16 AM
    The Washington scandal is proof, if it were needed, of the failure of regulation.
    Barbados became a country for the practice of scams a while ago.
    Scandal, what scandal.
    People have to care for it to be a scandal.
    People have to have expectations that authorities can be depended upon to act in Barbados’ best interests.
    Right now, any overseas money is viewed as an investment, good for Barbados when in reality, it provides peanuts for a few monkeys who don’t have the ability to earn their way in life.
    … and Barbados is full of monkeys, they are rampant all over the place.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why not look on the bright side of the scam?

Haven’t you been told ad nauseam by the policymakers aka politicians that Barbados -despite having in excess of 70,000 on the voluntary idle unemployment block- needs a bigger (and younger) demographic base to support the financial stability of the country’s NIS and social services?

Isn’t the head-cracking former minister Jones well-known for advocating such a policy to replace the black demons stabbing one another in the juvenile jails called secondary schools?

This is a well-arranged opportunity aka scam to implement such an underhand programme of the racial diversification of the local demographic landscape (much to the alarming dismay of Hal Austin).

Besides, as you John would argue, it would be the golden opportunity to replace the fast dying-out Bajan white community leaving the aping blacks (aka genetically modified monkeys) to be the monopolists in the contracting business of ‘white-god’ Christianity.

India is a country with a policy of exporting its excess of young people to earn forex and establish outposts for the spread of Indian culture in the many diasporas in the West and to sub-Saharan Africa.

These so-called students of medicine are going no where (back to India or even Guyana or Trinidad) and would soon be part of the local business community.
    Thanks to the humanitarianism of the Bajan taxpayers.

If only the black Guyanese (the real kith and kin of the same majority Bajan taxpayers) were that fortunate to have received such a ‘brown’ carpet welcome back home instead of the regional xenophobic reply of:
    ‘Ever so welcome, but you Guyanese blacks must wait for a call from the deceitful lying party.’

Will the present BLP administration (which is going all out to be the good Samaritan to those East Indian economic asylum seekers) be making a formal apology to the black Guyanese who were treated like lepers when the Bajan economy was firing on a few more cylinders?

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

Earlier you made a comment about the demise of ValueMD? and suggested that BU would follow.

Let me give you some insider information so to speak.

Barbados Underground has increased its readership almost 150% over the last 18 months!

You see postings THAT IS NOT READERSHIP.

Now de ole man dun know your response but you dun know dat I going talk anyways hehdhdh

The fact is that while more people are coming IT WOULD SEEM LIKE LESS PEOPLE FROM THE OLD GROUP ARE POSTING.

This is because of a few reasons.

1.Under the DLP, the ambience of the Barbados Underground was more conducive to anti DLP postings. After all we did have 10 years of mismanagement and the public sentiment was not too supportive of those demons

2.During those years Mugabe would have courted the various social media outlets and would have found that BU had its intelligencia that it was desirable to court.

3.The “courting” was couched in specific parameters that would have attracted the social activism tenets of the Honourable Blogmaster.

4.However, as time has progressed, the Honourable Blogmaster is starting go see the “chinks” in the Mugabe armour.

So what does he do?

None of us can ever want to see the DLP back in the House of Assembly again, certainly not these swine that just inflicted this suffering.

But he is aware of the Mottleyian agenda ergo the easing in of Grenville Phillips and his hope of a Third Movement Birth.

And that is what is happening here Dr. GP and what we are on the surf feeling.

The Seismic shift that is abirthing around us THAT THE MUGABIITES HAVE ASSEMBLED IN SUCH NUMBERS TO CRUSH and fellows like the 30th BLP minister & Leader of the Opposition Reverend Bishop Pastor Joseph Atherley is now motioning to have silenced.

But I dun know what your response will be so…

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item Here for Dr. GP thank you

50. @ Dr. Georgie Porgie,

HOPE THE HURRICANE DID NOT AFFECT YOU AND YOU ARE OK.

Leave a Reply to Georgie PorgieCancel reply