Submitted by Dr. Georgie Porgie
BARBADOS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS, DO WE REALLY NEED THEM?

Elombe Mottley – The Next FIFTY YEARS of PRIDE and INDUSTRY! – may be a progressive thinker to many in Barbados, but in my mind he demonstrates his ignorance as a supreme illiterate in matters of medicine, and medical schools when he suggests that there should be medical schools here…there and everywhere in Barbados.

1. During the years I hung around offshore Medical schools, there are at least two things that I learned.

These schools find it difficult to bring in teachers from overseas because of the COST OF PAYING FOR WORK PERMITS FOR TEACHERS FROM OVERSEAS.

2. Producing the most excellent website, whereupon thy can spew lie upon lie to lure unwary would be students and wannabe doctors to train at these schools.

I would enjoin commenters here to go to the websites of both AUB, and WUB and notice that not only are the websites very poor (suggesting that we are dealing with very poor con artists) but that there are no medical teachers at any of the schools who are Barbadians, and ask why? This at a time where several other offshore schools are now forced to employ locals to teach.

Why is it that WUB (see faculty and staff webpage) have few well qualified teachers listed on their site but yet they list 7 chefs and 7 security guards.

Who is collecting all the money for the WORK PERMITS for these staff members, I wonder?

I would invite you to go to this webpage on the valueMD site and follow the discussion on the thread

new medical school in Barbados in trouble already.

Notice that the valueMD moderator has tried to shut up the poster. Then try to use ctrl and C to try to download anything from this website and note that they have disabled ctrl and C

Then let us start a blog entitled BARBADOS AND OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS DO W REALLY NEED THEM? Then let us try to understand and thrash out whether our Government has really sold out our medical education for thirty pieces of silver.

Please also read this thread on valueMD.

WUB website is http://www.wubmed.org/

AUB website is http://www.aubmed.org/

315 responses to “Barbados Medical Schools”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

“… I wonder if the laity and clergy of the local Anglican church knows anything about the dalliances of the Government that has been recently forced out of office in approving this fiasco and deception…”

De ole man shall try to answer this question in parts because to answer in its complete format does a serious injustice to the many questions therein contained

First off “…I wonder if the laity and clergy of the local Anglican church knows anything about …this fiasco?”

Mine is the purposed scapula on your sentence

The laity and clergy know about the organisation BECAUSE THEY GET A BENEFIT FROM HOSTING THE ENTITY ON ITS GROUNDS.

As to whether they know about it being a fiasco you dun know thst the laity neither know nor care bout dat cause as long as de white massah paying some bills dem is quite happy and content to close dem eyes and let these mysteries coexist.

I wonder if the laity and clergy of the local Anglican church knows anything about…former Minister WeJonesing’ association and sanction of the facility?

Yes they do but de ole man going say dat while dem know about WeJonesing’ reputation dem certainly ent care bout nothing else

In fact, as one of the contracts dat need to be examined dem should review this contract and it’s enablers both administrative and facilitators

Now which brings de ole man to this final question which ensues from your question

If the laity and clergy knew and were complicit in this crime did the laity and clergy sin?

Why after all Dr. GP dese is men of the cloth who being imbued with some sort of spirits did in fact perpetrate these crimes

But de ole man wants to know if clergy and laity can commit sin or effect crimes?

You see how these fellows does try to bring shame and disrepute on the Name of The Lord while collecting their their 30 pieces of silver while renting out Codrington College to shysters?

Steupseee

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THANKS PIECE FOR YOUR INFO

IT SEEMS THAT THE CASH STRAPPED ANGLICAN CHURCH HAS RENTED OUT CODRINGTON COLLEGE GROUNDS AND THEIR PROPERTY AT SOCIETY FOR ONE SCHOOL

AND THE CASH STRAPPED FORMER GOVERNMENT LICENSED AND CHARTERED SEVERAL BOGUS SCHOOLS TO ENTER THE COUNTRY.

THE MORE STUDENTS THAT ENTER THE COUNTRY WILL TEND TO CAUSE RENTAL PROPERTY TO INCREASE THEIR RENTS. THIS WILL CAUSE INCREASED HARDSHIPS ON THE LOCALS TO OBTAIN LOW COST RENTAL PROPERTIES.

I SAW THIS HAPPEN IN ST KITTS BETWEEN 2002 AND 2008

3. I LAUGH at GP. DAILY GIGGLES Avatar
    I LAUGH at GP. DAILY GIGGLES

Praise the moderators for removing the filthy racism spewed by GP. A man maligned by the prejudices of his youth is no model for the youngsters.

4. I LAUGH at GP. DAILY GIGGLES Avatar
    I LAUGH at GP. DAILY GIGGLES

Is this the cavalry?

The fact remains- you haven’t addressed any of the legit facts thrown your way. Of course i want to know about tenure- do you only measure yourself by your region or people you come across in your small pond? Aren’t you from the days when tenure was a thing for MD’s? Your attempts to dismiss my comments as trivial actually reflect your lack of knowledge and your bias on the topic. As I said, TRUMP, is that you? Trumpedy Trump.

These are some facts:
    AUIS placed students into US and Canadian Residency’s- look into it
    AUIS is owned by a black gentleman whose father was from SC, USA and Mother, Rose Blaize, emigrated from Grenada- look into it
    AUIS has partnered with an HBCU to offer medical education scholarships to black students- look into it
    AUIS is not Indian owned- look into it
    AUIS employs Bajans- look into it
    AUIS offers tuition discounts to Bajans that apply- look into it
    AUIS does free community health stuff in Barbados- look into it
    AUIS wants to teach integrative med, herbs, nutrition, exercise, mental health as a core component- not just teach pharma-push
    AUIS wants to partner with the people or government of Barbados. Maybe even a group of Bajan MD’s if possible?- from Pinckney’s mouth

That last one is common knowledge. Look at the stuff they put out. Pinckney isn’t doing this just for profit- that man wants something else. He is not busing them in from India as I am sure he can like all the others.

https://www.avweb.com/news/features/190597-1.html

What if AUIS was the same cost as UWI and was able to train students just as well? What if Bajans start matching at UBC or LSU or DUKE coming through AUIS? Is this not a reality worth aiming for?

Again… same fears that struck in 1984 strike again, and another generation, through their own fear, cut off their arm to spite their hand. And future.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yet another bogus offshore school.
    This time in Dominica, and online!
    BLUE MARBLE UNIVERSITY MEDICAL SCHOOL
    Read all about it here! Murdah!

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I HAVE LOOKED INTO YOUR SO CALLED “FACTS” AND THIS IS WHAT I KNOW

AUIS placed students into US and Canadian Residency’s-

SO WHAT? IS THAT NOT WHAT ALL BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS ARE DESIGNED AND HOPING TO DO? IS THIS NOT YOUR GOAL?

AUIS is owned by a black gentleman whose father was from SC, USA and Mother, Rose Blaize, emigrated from Grenada-
    SO WHAT? UHSA WAS RAN BY A BLACK MAN FROM NIGERIA AND BURNETTS BY A BLACK MAN FROM HAITI

AUIS has partnered with an HBCU to offer medical education scholarships to black students-
    WHO CARES? ITS ANOTHER BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOL

AUIS is not Indian owned

WHO CARES? SEVERAL OTHER BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOL ARE NOT INDIAN OWNED EITHER

AUIS employs Bajans-

YES TO DO MENIAL JOBS. ALL OTHER BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS EMPLOY LOCALS TO CLEAN THE PLACE. HOW IS AUIS ANY BETTER IN THIS REGARD

AUIS offers tuition discounts to Bajans that apply

WHY SHOULD ANY SANE BAJAN APPLY TO ATTEND A BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOL WHEN TUITION IS FREE OF COST AT THE SUPERIOR UWI—ESTABLISHED 70 YEARS AGO. look into it

AUIS does free community health stuff in Barbados

GOOD . YOU OUGHT TO SING FOR YOUR SUPPER, AND SEEK TO PROVE THAT YOU OUGHT TO BE GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO BE IN BIMSHIRE

AUIS wants to teach integrative med, herbs, nutrition, exercise, mental health as a core component- not just teach pharma-push

THIS IS PART OF THE CURRICULUM IN OTHER BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS- look into it

AUIS wants to partner with the people or government of Barbados. Maybe even a group of Bajan MD’s if possible?- from Pinckney’s mouth

YOU MEAN PICKNEY LOOKING FOR PARTNERS TO HELP HIM FLEECE UNWARY STUDENTS AS IS DONE IN MOST OF THE OTHER BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS.
    DID SOMEONE IN BARBADOS BESIDES JONES JOHN BOYVE AND MS MCCLAEN TELL PICKNEY THAT THEY LOOKING TO PARTNER HIM?

WELL THE THREE OF THEM OUT OF WORK NOW. LET HIM APPROACH THESE THREE JOKERS NOW-

That last one is common knowledge. Look at the stuff they put out. Pinckney isn’t doing this just for profit- that man wants something else.

REALLY? REALLY? ARE YOU SAYING THAT PICKNEY NOT RUNNING HIS BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOL AS A NON PROPIT VENTURE? YOU ARE EITHER A NASTY STINKING LIAR…OR HE GOT YOU FOOLED REAL GOOD.-

He is not busing them in from India
    THAT’S BECAUSE THE INDIANS NOT LISTENING TO ANY BLACK MAN

as I am sure he can like all the others.
    NO HE CAN NOT—IF NOT HE WOULD. HE WOULD BE GLAD TO IF HE COULD.
    THE INDIANS NOT LISTENING TO ANY BLACK MAN

What if AUIS was the same cost as UWI
    IT IS NOT
    and was able to train students just as well?
    IT CAN NOT

What if Bajans start matching at UBC or LSU or DUKE coming through AUIS?
    WE DO NOT WANT TO DO THAT
    I
    s this not a reality worth aiming for?
    WHY SHOULD IT BE?.. WE ARE SATISFIED WITH OUR WELL RECOGNIZED MEDICAL SCHOOL

Again… same fears that struck in 1984 strike again, and another generation, through their own fear, cut off their arm to spite their hand. And future.
    NO FEARS AT ALL
    I AM JUST TELLING FOLK WHAT HAPPENS IN THE STANDARD BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS

jUST TELLING FOLK WHAT I HAVE WITNESSED IN BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS

7. Posted via contact form in error.

What is the catalyst driving your consistent negativity relative Medical Education on Barbados? I have read your thread and don’t understand what is driving it. Are you interested in fixing something or is it just to be contrarian? I welcome a productive dialog

Milo Pinckney

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

pickney boy

THERE HAS BEEN PROPER MEDICAL EDUCATION IN BARBADOS SINCE 1967 WITH THE ONSET OF THE EAST CARRIBEAN MEDICAL SCHEME, WHICH ALLOWED STUDENTS OF THE UWI TO COMPLETE THEIR FINAL YEAR IN BARBADOS………..AND TRINIDAD

THE ADVENT OF UWI IN 1948, ENABLED BARBADOS AND OTHER ENGLISH SPEAKING CARRIBEAN ISLANDS TO HAVE WELL TRAINED PHYSICIANS IN ADEQUATE, AND NOW IN BARBADOS OVER SUPPLY.

WE REALLY DONT NEED OFFSHORE BOGUS CARRIBEAN MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN BARBADOS.

What is the catalyst driving your desire to have more “Medical Education on Barbados” BESIDES GREED AND AVARICE ?

HOW MUCH DID THE CHARTER COST?
    HOW EASY WAS IT TO OBTAIN?
    HOW WAS IT OBTAINED?
    TO WHOM OR TO WHICH GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENT WAS THE MONEY PAID?
    WAS IT UNDER THE COUNTER, AS IS THE NORM IN OFFSHORE BOGUS CARRIBEAN MEDICAL SCHOOLS?

DO YOU HAVE WORK PERMITS FOR ALL OF YOUR OVERSEAS STAFF?
    WHY ARE THERE NO LOCAL DRS TEACHING AT YOUR BOGUS SCHOOL?
    WHY DID YOU ERASE THE TEACHING PERSONNEL FROM YOUR WEBSITE WHEN THIS WAS POINTED OUT HERE?

WHY IS IT NEGATIVITY TO TELL THE TRUTH ABOUT WHAT I KNOW AND HAVE EXPERIENCED ABOUT OFFSHORE BOGUS CARRIBEAN MEDICAL SCHOOLS?

WHY IS IT NEGATIVITY TO SAY WHAT I EXPERIENCED AT OFFSHORE BOGUS CARRIBEAN MEDICAL SCHOOLS WAS FAR INFERIOR THAN WHAT I EXPERIENCED AT UWI, IN CONTENT, INTENT AND EXTENT?

YOU SAY “I have read your thread and don’t understand what is driving it.” IS IT MY FAULT THAT YOU CAN NOT UNDERSTAND, OR YOURS?
    AM I ALLOWED TO SPEAK OUT ABOUT THINGS HAPPENING IN MY COUNTRY THAT I DISLIKE?
    DO I REALLY NEED TO ANSWER TO TO A GREEDY FOREIGNER? REALLY?

YOU SAY Are you interested in fixing something
    TELL ME WHAT CAN I FIX?
    NO ONE ELSE SEEMS TO KNOW OR CARE HOW BOGUS OFFSHORE BOGUS MEDICAL SCHOOLS OPERATE IN THE ISLANDS? I CANT FIX THAT, CAN I?

THE MEDICAL ILLITERATES AND MORONS IN THE LAST CASH STRAPPED ADMINISTRATION ALLOWED YOU TO WALK INTO BARBADOS WITH YOUR OFFSHORE BOGUS CARRIBEAN MEDICAL SCHOOL. I CANT FIX THAT, CAN I?

WHY IS IT A THING TO CONSIDER A NATIVE OF BARBADOS “contrarian” FOR PRESENTING THE TRITH HE EXPERIENCED ABOUT BOGUS OFFSHORE BOGUS MEDICAL SCHOOLS, AND HOW THEY OPERATE?

HOW ARE YOU BETTER THAN THE OTHERS.

WHO ARE YOU? YOU ARE NOT JESUS.

WHERE IS GIGGLES? HAS HE FINISHED GIGGLING NOW?

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WHY I COULD NEVER APPRECIATE BOGUS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS IS BECAUSE I NEVER MET ANY TEACHERS THERE LIKE THIS

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/columns/things-matter-sir-ken-stuart-%E2%80%93-illustrious-west-indian
    THINGS THAT MATTER: SIR KEN STUART – AN ILLUSTRIOUS WEST INDIAN
    Sun, 11/26/2017 – 12:00am Barbados1
    BY:
    SIR HENRY FRASER
    Sir Kenneth Stuart, a founding father of the University of the West Indies’ distinguished Medical Faculty, passed away on November the 11th in London, at the noble age of 97. He played a major role in the achievement of that distinction by the university during his tenure there from 1952 to 1976, when he was appointed Medical Adviser to the Commonwealth Secretariat.
    When I flouted my headmaster’s advice in 1962 and chose the young University of the West Indies to study medicine, my father gave me the names of three Barbadians at the Mona Campus in Jamaica who he said I must “report to”. One of them was the then Dr. Ken Stuart, who had already made a name for himself in ten short years as a medical researcher. But even before I could seek him out in his office I met him across the tennis net in the Freshmen versus Faculty tennis match in the first week. We were beaten – he was good! And he advised me to work on my backhand …
    He was one of the world leaders in the field of hypertension, and although I didn’t anticipate it at the time, his inspiration in understanding and managing hypertension was to play a major part in my own medical specialty and career. And so it was a great privilege to present him for an Honorary DSC from our University in 1999. Here is a shortened version of my citation then:
    “Chancellor, I present Sir Kenneth Stuart, Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) of Queen’s University, Belfast, Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh and of London, Fellow of the American College of Physicians, Fellow of the Faculty of Public Health Medicine, Fellow of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine … He SURELY is a jolly good Fellow! He receives fellowships the way other men get haircuts.
    Kenneth Lamonte Stuart was born on June 16th, many, many years ago, into a deeply religious home in Bank Hall. He learnt his three Rs at the famous Wesley Hall Boys’ School under the legendary Charles F. Broome, and proceeded to Harrison College. There he was part of that sixth form galaxy that included Sir Roy Marshall, Sir Carlisle Burton, Sir James Tudor and National Hero the Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow. He played cricket and football, of course, but his great physique was acquired by swimming for miles off Brighton Beach, in the company of Sir Carlisle.
    He won the Barbados Scholarship of 1940 in classics, and after a BA at McGill in classics and philosophy, he went on to study medicine in Belfast, paving the way for other great classical scholars like Sir George Alleyne, Dr. Richie Haynes and Dr. Oscar Jordan to transmutate from arts to science. He graduated in 1948 and wasted no time gaining a diploma in Tropical Medicine and the Royal College Memberships. In “two twos” – four years to be exact – he was appointed Senior Registrar at the new University College Hospital of the West Indies in Jamaica, in 1952. A year later he became Lecturer in Medicine and was promoted at great speed, to become the first West Indian Professor of Medicine, in 1966.
    His career as researcher, teacher and international consultant can be divided, like Gaul, into three parts. The first is the glorious early period of UWI, the founding years, from 1952 to ‘66. He relished the challenge of blazing a trail and the wealth of research to be done. Like a medical King Midas, everything he touched turned to gold. First came the description, with Bras and Jelliffe, of Veno-occlusive Disease of the liver, or V.O.D., an aggressive liver disease killing Jamaican children. It was caused by a popular bush tea made from the herb crotalaria retusa – one of the many popular cure-alls of our grandmothers!
    This was followed by the discovery of a toxin, hypoglycine A, in the UNRIPE Jamaican ackee, cause of the feared vomiting sickness. Sir Ken tells how Lady Standard, then Sister Francis, arranged a special bedroom on the paediatric ward for him, so he could do emergency liver biopsies on these babies, at any hour of night. A Ministry of Health education unit was set up to educate the public about these two dreaded diseases, finally solved. There is no better demonstration in the world of the impact of research on public health, of the benefits of health education, and of partnership between medical researchers and Ministry of Health.
    The next ten years saw a steady flow of papers on malnutrition, rheumatic fever, cardiomyopathies and high blood pressure, and recognition on the world scene. He criss-crossed the globe with the medical jet set. I remember an issue of the medical student magazine, the Stethoscope, which reported under News: “Professor Ken Stuart visited the Department of Medicine this month”.
    The second part of his career combined that international reputation abroad with his role at Mona, as Dean and Head of the Department of Medicine. He promoted teaching in Barbados and Trinidad, and led the development of our own postgraduate programmes. Abroad, he was made a member of the WHO Expert Panel on Cardiovascular Disorders, Chairman of their Committee for Control of Hypertension, Honorary Lecturer at Harvard and Member of the Board of the London School of Hygiene.
    And so in 1976 it was a natural step to move fully on to the World Stage, and into the third phase of his career, first as Medical Adviser to the Commonwealth Secretariat and then Consultant Adviser to the Wellcome Trust, Chairman of the Court of Governors of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical medicine, and member of the Board of Governors of the IDRC, Chairman of the Caribbean Health Research Council, consultant to the World Bank, and prestigious Gresham Professor of Physic, to name just a few of his many important roles. He was knighted by Her Majesty the Queen in 1977 for services to medicine in the Caribbean and the Commonwealth.
    Sir Ken’s secret of success has been his canny ability to convert thought into action and action into words. Many an academic career has foundered at the mere thought of action, or at the effort of writing well. Many have the urge to write but lie down until the urge passes. Sir Ken has taken to heart the lines of both W.H.Auden and the Elizabethan poet Francis Bacon. Auden wrote:
    “Those who will not reason perish in the Act –
    Those who will not act perish for that reason.”
    Bacon wrote:
    “Reading maketh a full man, conference a ready man, and writing an exact man.”
    These are the marks of scholarship, which Sir Ken mastered in full measure, and the third phase of his work continues at the same pace as 20 years ago. He is re-writing the message of health promotion, which he takes to heart himself, and which gives him the gift of eternal youth. He has taken his messages to all corners of the globe – and although quintessentially Barbadian, he is now very much a citizen of planet Earth, crossing oceans more easily than most of us can find our way to Boscobel. Chancellor, I beg you to receive a distinguished doctor, a celebrated scholar, a renowned researcher, a Brighton boy, a Bajan Bard and Caribbean luminary, a light out of the West, and confer on Kenneth Lamonte Stuart the degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa.”
    Sir Ken continued his many activities – academic, consulting and even tennis well into the last decade of his life. The passing of this illustrious Bajan, West Indian and Citizen of the World at the glorious age of 97 is testament to a life of extraordinary energy and passion – physical strength and activity combined with mental creativity of the highest order. The sympathy of his thousands of colleagues and former students goes out to his wife Lady Barbara and his three brilliant children – Andrea, Steven and Lynda.
    Andrea, a well-known writer and cultural historian (and author of Sugar in the Blood), shared with me a delightful story of Sir Ken: “Many years ago, he met a man whose last name was Flynn. My Dad immediately said “Ah I know that name.” The man sighed and said, ‘you probably have heard of my son Errol Flynn, the film actor.’ My Dad replied, “No. But I do know an illustrious biochemist of that name.” The man put his arm around him and said, “That is the first time anyone recognised my name rather than that of my son.” The pair remained friends for many years.”
    (Professor Fraser is Past Dean of Medical Sciences, UWI and Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Clinical Pharmacology. Website: profhenryfraser.com)

Sir Kenneth Stuart: a Caribbean medical trailblazer
    Added by Barbados Today on December 5, 2017.
    Saved under Features

4Save
    It is with sadness but a profound sense of both respect and responsibility that I pen this appreciation of one of the several senior medical academics and teachers who had a profound influence on the health of Caribbean people as well as on my own life and career.
    Sir Kenneth Stuart, MB, BCh, FRCP, FRCPE, FACP, DTM, a founding father of the University of the West Indies’ distinguished Medical Faculty, passed away on November 11 in London, at the noble age of 97. He played a major role in the achievement of that distinction by the university during his tenure there from 1952 until 1976 when he was appointed Medical Adviser to the Commonwealth Secretariat. His passing represents the end of an era.
    Kenneth Lamont Stuart was born on June 16, 1920, into a deeply religious home in Bank Hall. He learnt his three Rs at the famous Wesley Hall Boys’ School under the legendary Charles F. Broome, and proceeded to Harrison College. There he was part of that sixth form galaxy that included Sir Roy Marshall, Sir Carlisle Burton, Sir James Tudor and National Hero the Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow.
    He played cricket and football, of course, but his great physique was acquired by swimming for miles off Brighton Beach, in the company of Sir Carlisle. And it has no doubt been the combination of great genes and an extremely active and healthy life style that enabled him to long outlive these other brilliant contemporaries.
    He won the Barbados Scholarship of 1940 in classics, and after a BA at McGill in classics and philosophy, he went on to study medicine in Belfast, Northern Ireland, paving the way for other great classical scholars like Sir George Alleyne (MBBS UWI), Dr Richie Haynes and Dr Oscar Jordan (both graduates of the University of Edinburgh) to transmutate from arts to science. He graduated in 1948, having been awarded the Coulter Scholarship for Clinical Medicine and Surgery and wasted no time gaining a Diploma in Tropical Medicine and the Royal College Memberships.
    After several attachments to hospitals in Britain, Sir Ken returned to the Caribbean in “two twos” – four years to be exact –as Senior Registrar at the newly opened University College Hospital of the West Indies in Jamaica, in 1952.
    A year later, he became Lecturer in Medicine and was promoted at great speed to Senior Lecturer in Medicine, 1958-1962; Reader in Medicine, 1962-1966; Professor of Medicine, 1966-1978; Dean, Medical Faculty, 1969-1971; and Head of the Department of Medicine, 1972-1976, becoming the first West Indian Professor of Medicine in 1966.
    His career as researcher, teacher and international consultant can be divided, like Gaul, into three parts. The first is the glorious early period of what began as the University College of the West Indies, established as a college of the University of London. These were the founding years, from 1948 when the first 33 medical students entered the Mona Campus in the serendipitously available Gibraltar Refugee Camp at the old Mona Sugar Estate near Kingston in 1948, and the opening of the University Hospital of the West Indies in 1952, until the beginning of the expansion plans for the medical faculty in 1966.
    Sir Ken relished the challenge of blazing a trail and the wealth of research to be done in a country with poor colonial health services, widespread poverty and a range of diseases that he would never have encountered during his training in Belfast or in his postgraduate years in Britain. Like a medical King Midas, everything he touched turned to gold. First came the description, with Bras and Jelliffe, of Veno-occlusive Disease of the liver, or V.O.D., an aggressive liver disease killing Jamaican children. It was caused by a popular bush tea made from the herb crotalaria retusa – one of the many popular cure-alls of our grandmothers, who had no idea how toxic it was.
    This was followed by the discovery of a toxin, hypoglycine A, in the unripe Jamaican ackee, cause of the feared vomiting sickness. The Jamaican ackee, which came originally from West Africa, is a staple in Jamaica, but no one knew that there was a toxin in the unripe ackee which broke down once the ackee was ripe and the outer shell opened up. Many children who were poorly nourished were very susceptible to this toxin and were admitted to hospital seriously ill – with very low blood sugar.
    After these problems were solved, a Ministry of Health education unit was set up to educate the public about these two dreaded diseases. There is no better demonstration in the world of the impact of research on public health, of the benefits of health education, and of successful partnership between medical researchers and Ministry of Health.
    The next ten years saw a steady flow of some fifty papers on malnutrition, rheumatic fever, cardiomyopathies and high blood pressure, with the development of a hypertension special clinic at the University hospital, and Sir Ken’s recognition on the world scene.
    The second part of Sir Ken’s career combined that international reputation abroad with his role at Mona, as Dean of the Medical Faculty and Head of the Department of Medicine. He promoted the development of medical teaching in Barbados and Trinidad, and he led the development of our own postgraduate programmes, in response to a group of us (calling ourselves the Action Group) who protested the continuing need for West Indians to emigrate to North America for specialty training.
    Abroad, he was made a member of the WHO Expert Panel on Cardiovascular Disorders, Consultant to the Pan American Health Organization, Chairman of their Committee for Control of Hypertension, Honorary Lecturer at Harvard and Member of the Board of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
    In 1976, he began the third phase of his career, first as Medical Adviser to the Commonwealth Secretariat and then Consultant Adviser to the Wellcome Trust, Chairman of the Court of Governors of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, member of the Board of Governors of the IDRC, member of the Council of Governors of Guys’, Kings and St. Thomas’s Hospitals Medical School, London; Honorary Lecturer in Medicine at the Royal Post-Graduate Medical School and Hospital in London, Honorary Medical and Scientific Adviser to the Barbados High Commission, Chairman of the Caribbean Health Research Council, Consultant to the World Bank, member of the Academic Board of St. George’s University and a member of the Board of Directors of the UK Trust for the Windward Islands Research and Education Foundation (WINDREF), among others.
    Sir Ken was knighted by Her Majesty the Queen in 1977 for services to medicine in the Caribbean and the Commonwealth and in 1986 he received an Honorary DSc from his alma mater, Queen’s University in Belfast. He never lost his love for his Barbados, and his roots. He invested in an alternate home here in Paynes Bay, and had a share in the Discovery Bay Hotel, while his interest in tourism was elegantly expressed by his mother, the owner and proprietress of the Blue Caribbean on the corner of St. Lawrence Gap.
    Sir Ken’s secret of success has been his canny ability to convert thought into action and action into words. Many an academic career has foundered at the mere thought of action, or at the effort of writing well. Many have the urge to write but lie down until the urge passes. Sir Ken has taken to heart the lines of both the English poet W.H.Auden and the Elizabethan poet Francis Bacon.
    Auden wrote:
    “Those who will not reason perish in the Act –
    Those who will not act perish for that reason.”
    Bacon wrote:
    “Reading maketh a full man, conference a ready man, and writing an exact man.”
    These are the marks of scholarship, which Sir Ken mastered in full measure, and the third phase of his work continued at the same pace as during his main academic career. He re-wrote the fundamental messages of health promotion, which he took to heart himself, and which gave him the gift of eternal youth. He took his many messages to all corners of the globe – and although quintessentially Barbadian, he became very much a citizen of Planet Earth.
    He was one of the world leaders in the field of hypertension, and although I didn’t anticipate it at the time, his inspiration in understanding and managing hypertension was to play a major part in the development of my own medical specialty and career – because as a clinical pharmacologist, I recognised the huge problem of hypertension in the Caribbean and the challenges to control it, leading ultimately to the founding of the now renamed the George Alleyne Chronic Disease Research Centre.
    The passing of this illustrious Bajan, West Indian and Citizen of the World at the glorious age of 97 is testament to a life of extraordinary energy and passion – physical strength and activity combined with mental creativity of the highest order. The sympathy of his thousands of colleagues and former students goes out to his wife Barbara, Lady Stuart, and his three brilliant children – Andrea, Steven and Lynda.
    May he rest in peace!

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

where has GIGGLES gone?

Copied this thread from ValueMD about the History of IUHS
    Originally Posted by acedoc123

Are there any past IUHS students who are practicing in New Jersey/New York?

Blackwolf

Your question should be: Are there any past IUHS students who are practicing?
    Lumc621

I would say that you will be hard pressed to find anyone who has recently completed this program and is actively practicing in the United States. I challenge any one of them to come forward and describe their US residency and there US licensing process and the specialty which they’re practicing in.

Med grad
    NJ has a rule to keep online schools out. It says you have to complete the basic sciences portion of the program in the location where the school is chartered. This excludes online schools or those that conduct classes in locations other than the country that issued the charter. These rules are becoming more frequent in many states. WA, AL, NJ, VA have all enacted similar rules. There may be more states but the ones I listed are the ones I know of for sure.

There was a time when IUHS was conducting classes on the Island. This was before it went entirely online. There are IUHS grads who are licensed. But you have to be careful and must makes sure if they got licensed after completing the online program. The school claims there are licensed grads( that’s true) but it makes no mention of if they graduated from the early days of IUHS or they are grads from the purely online program. This makes a big difference.

The new Caribbean accreditation agency won’t give accreditation to online schools. Hence the future of IUHS is somewhat up in the air. Unless they pull a rabbit out of their hat at the last minute or change their model of education to allow them to receive accreditation from the Caribbean accreditation agency, I don’t see this school as a viable option for anyone who is interested in actually practicing medicine.
    By the way I have nothing against IUHS because it gives student the opportunity to have basic sciences with better quality faculty who might be difficult to recruit to the islands on full time basis. I also have nothing against technology based teaching because basic sciences can be taught online and spending time in the anatomy lab dissecting cadavers is becoming a thing of the past in many N. American schools. But the medical establishment hasn’t caught up to the benefits of technology and finds online schools unacceptable. Until they do, these schools are not viable options.
    Atlantoaxial
    But the medical establishment hasn’t caught up to the benefits of technology and finds online schools unacceptable. Until they do, these schools are not viable options.
    It’s true the “medical establishment” is rather conservative no matter the country. But on the other hand, this thing (IUHS) has no credibility at all (they produced some doctors in the past but on their brick and mortar campus).

Give a try by yourself: email the admission office…just to see if they will reply.

At the end maybe the current owner of this thing, is a kid living with his mother, collecting money from a few people and giving them access to some videos he/they call “courses”. It’s just an hypothesis….but probably impossible to refute with proofs.

Anyway, the fact that this school is not approved by the CAAM-HP should close the discussion. It’s a dead end, probably even for someone who would like to practice in a 3rd world country.

That being said, do I believe in online education for the basic sciences years?
    Yes.
    But not for everyone.
    Not by any med school.
    And probably with a different “format”. For instance, online students could be required to make some arrangements with their local university to at least participate to an anatomy class with cadaver dissection, etc.
    Also, if they do their clinicals in the US, pass successfully their UMLEs….it means they have the same level of knowledge and skills as any US MD, right? Otherwise it’s a disavowal of the entire system (clinicals + USMLE).

11. Lots to see and discuss. Ross is coming. Inniss’ arrest. The more i look into Devry the more squeamish I get.

https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/feds-sue-devry-university_us_56a904c7e4b0f7179928af63

https://www.ed.gov/news/press-releases/us-department-education-reaches-settlement-devry-university-over-job-placement-claims

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2013-09-10/devry-lures-medical-school-rejects-as-taxpayers-fund-debt

• In 1995, DeVry was suspended from Ontario’s student loan program OSAP after a large number of its students misreported their income. DeVry was reinstated after paying fines of approximately $1.7 million and putting up a bond of an estimated $2 million.
    • In 2001, DeVry became the first for-profit school to obtain permission from the Alberta government to grant degrees, on recommendation by the Private Colleges Accreditation Board. This decision was opposed by the Alberta New Democratic Party (sitting in opposition), the Canadian Federation of Students, and the Canadian Association of University Teachers. The NDP claimed conflict of interest as an executive at DeVry served as both the president of DeVry’s Calgary campus and as a member of the Premier of Alberta’s special advisory council on postsecondary education.
    • In April 2007, the State of New York settled with three schools that were participating in questionable student-loan practices. DeVry, Career Education Corporation, and Washington University in St. Louis were involved with the settlement. DeVry agreed to refund $88,122 to students.
    • In January 2013, a lawsuit filed by a former manager at DeVry alleged that the college bribed students for positive performance reviews and worked around federal regulations on for-profit colleges.
    • In April 2013, the attorneys general of Illinois and Massachusetts issued subpoenas to DeVry to investigate for violations of federal law and filing false information about loans, grants, and guarantees.
    • In July 2014, DeVry stated that the New York state attorney general’s office was investigating if the company’s marketing violated laws against false advertising.
    • 2016 Two state attorneys general, Illinois and Massachusetts, are investigating DeVry.
    • On January 27, 2016, the Federal Trade Commission filed suit against DeVry, alleging that DeVry’s advertisements deceived consumers about the likelihood that students would find jobs in their fields of study, and would earn more than those graduating with bachelor’s degrees from other colleges or universities.
    • In 2016, Devry was also reprimanded by the Veterans administration over allegations about deceptive marketing.

12. MEDICAL SCHOOLS A GOOD MOVE
    https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/sites/barbadosadvocate.com/files/styles/large/public/field/image/front_175.jpg
    Adyanth Kafle joins lecturers, students and Mrs. Ram Mirchandani, owner of Casa Grande Airport Hotel & Resort, in cutting a cake to celebrate the establishment of the Washington University of Barbados School of Medicine at the International Hall at the St. Philip hotel yesterday.

Wed, 08/15/2018 – 1:43am
    BY: NADIA BRANCKER

There are high hopes for health tourism as a growth area in Barbados.
    This was the word coming from veteran businesswoman Mrs Asha Ram Mirchandani, owner of Case Grande Airport Hotel & Resort.
    She was speaking to the Barbados Advocate at the anniversary celebration of the Washington University of Barbados School of Medicine at the International Hall at that location, where she indicated this medical school shows the potential of health tourism in Barbados and creating new ways to earn foreign exchange.
    Mirchandani highlighted, “The past Government of Barbados has to be congratulated for the foresight they had of earning foreign exchange for this country, giving medical schools the opportunity to be established here as part of International Business. The Washington University is one of them, which is housed in the B Block of Case Grande, and they hope to bring in another 500 students. It has been a lot of hard work and we want to continue to push.”
    She continued: “The present Government also has to be congratulated for the Prime Minister’s foresight for carrying on the work of medical schools that have been established and we appreciate the people of Barbados for understanding business has to change and that we have to find new ways to bring foreign exchange. Also, the Ross School is coming to Barbados in January, [that] will also benefit Barbadians because 1 400 students are coming into Barbados.”

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/medical-schools-good-move

13. re There are high hopes for health tourism as a growth area in Barbados.

CONCENTRATED BOVINE EXCREMENT

LOOK CAREFULLY AND SEE WHO IS A MAJOR BENEFICIARY OF THIS “health tourism”

THE SCHOOL IS KEPT AT MS RAM”S “RESORT”

THE LONG STAY TOURISTS STAY AT MS RAM”S “RESORT”

A GOOD QUESTION IS WHO ELSE BENEFITS FROM THIS ARRANGEMENT
    CHECK THEIR WEBSITE …….THIS SCHOOL BRINGS IN EVEN ITS COOKS AND SECURITY PEOPLE

HOW MUCH DID MS RAM PAY THE DUMBOCRATS FOR THIS OPPORTUNITY?

14. The latest on Washington bogus medical university.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/06/fraud-u/

15. It bothers me that GP has more insight than an entire ministry.
    Is this a case where one head is better than 50.
    Did anyone check the qualifications of the school’s staff?
    Did they check to see if the school had adequate financial resources?

Is every venture a scam?

More than Miss **** **ni benefited from this scam.

16. It has nothing to do with head, the decision to allow bogus medical school was political because of the greed to attract business activity of any kind.

17. @ David,

This debacle should be investigated by the Barbados police.

The current government must act to protect the brand Barbados.

18. What is the crime Hants?

The government approved the application to setup in Barbados not so?

19. I could have sworn I saw some of these students extolling the “sweet life” that they were having in Barbados during interviews conducted during a recent “Q in the Community” event held at the establishment. Beyond the line dancing some people were having some major problems.

BTW the CBC and its sponsors should examine the relationship between them and the principals behind the “hotel”, every wuk up is not joyous.

20. @Sargeant

Miss Ram donates generously to BOTH political parties.

21. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

The name Georgie Porgie should be declared old school.

@GP,

From this day we will append the name prophet in front of your moniker.

22. @ David,

If true we should be concerned “They did not have access to food, electricity and water utilities had been cut off after the administration failed to pay the bill for five months “

23. RE TheOGazerts
    October 6, 2018 8:54 AM

It bothers me that GP has more insight than an entire ministry.
    Is this a case where one head is better than 50.

LOL GP has more insight BECAUSE HE HAS BEEN AROUND OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS, AND HAS SEEN THE SUFFERING OF THE STUDENTS, AND HAS SUFFERED HIMSELF.

RE Did anyone check the qualifications of the school’s staff?

THE MINISTRY NEEDS TO EMPLOY AN EXPERT TO MONITOR THE OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS

WHEN THE SCHOOL FIRST ADVERTISED ON ITS WEBSITE, IPOINTED OUT ON VALUEMD AND ON BU, THAT THE SEEMED TO BE MORE COOKS AND SECURITY GUARDS LISTED, RATHER THAN A FULL COMPLEMENT OF TEACHING STAFF……..

AND YOU CAN GET BY WITH ABOUT NINE GOOD TEACHERS OR FEWER ACCORDING TO IF A TEACHER CAN TEACH SEVERAL OF THE BASIC SCIENCES, AS WAS DONE AT THE INCEPTION OF ST MARTINUS IN 2004-5

MORE ON THE WEBSITE LATER

RE Did they check to see if the school had adequate financial resources?

THE ISSUE IS NOT ABOUT ADEQUATE FINANCIAL RESOURCES

FREDERICK, THE GURU ON OFFSHORE SCHOOLS ESTABLISHED THAT 90 STUDENTS IS THE BREAK EVEN POINT…….THIS SCHOOL IS SAID TO HAVE 200 AT THIS POINT

THE ISSUE HERE IS GREED, AND THE WAY THAT INDIANS TREAT THEIR VERY OWN, AND HOW OFFSHORE INSTITUTIONS TREAT BOTH STAFF AND STUDENTS

24. RE Is every venture a scam?
    MOST OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS OWNED OR LED BY ASIANS ARE SCAMS
    THEY HAVE A FEW IN GUYANA, ST LUCIA, BARBADOS ONE IN JAMAICA, ONE IN ANGUILLA

RE
    More than Miss **** **ni benefited from this scam.

YES SHE WAS DOING WELL UNTIL THE OWNERS STOP PAYING HER BILLS TO HER

RE David
    October 6, 2018 9:08 AM

It has nothing to do with head,

ACTUALLY IT HAS EVERYTHING TO DO WITH THE HEAD

HE RECRUITED AND ATTRACTED STUDENTS BY OFFERING THEM SOMETHING HE COULD NOT GIVE………….I.E POSITIONS IN THE USA OR THE HOPE THEREOF

HE FAILED TO PROVIDE PROPER TEACHING STAFF

HE DID NOT PAY BASIC BILLS TO MS RAM

RE the decision to allow bogus medical school was political because of the greed to attract business activity of any kind.

THIS IS TRUE….POLITICS AND GREED, APPROVED AND CONDUCTED BY THE MORON JONES AND OTHERS OF HIS ILK

I WOULD BET THAT GOVERNMENT NEVER CONSULTED THE EXPERIENCED MEDICAL EDUCATORS ON THE ISLAND ABOUT HAVING THESE SCHOOLS

ALSO THE LOCAL FAKE NEWS PRESS PROMOTED THIS BULL SHIT WITHOUT KNOWLEDGE OR INVESTIGATION

ONLY ON THIS BLOG HAS THE REAL TRUTH ABOUT OFFSHORE SCHOOLS BEEN EXPRESSED

25. IF SOME ONE COULD POST THE FULL TEXT OF THE BARBADOS TODAY ARTICLE ON BU I CAN PICK ALL THE BULL SHIT SAID THERE TO PIECES

I TRIED TO COPY/CONVERT IT BUT I DONT KNOW HOW

FUNNY THOUGH THAT BARBADOS TODAY, WHO HAS BEEN IN THE FOREFRONT OF PROMOTING THESE PLACES, ARE ALSO THE FIRST TO CHRONICLE THEIR DEMISE

RE The current government must act to protect the brand Barbados.
    THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE BARBADOS BRAND FOR MEDICAL EDUCATION
    ELOMBE SAID WE SHOULD HAVE OFFSHORE SCHOOLS IN ABUNDANCE
    THE MORON JONES AND THE DLP LET THEM IN
    OFFSHORE SCHOOLS CAN WORK
    THIS WEEK I GOT A LETTER FROM ONE OF MY WEAKEST STUDENTS FROM MY TIME IN CURACAO TO INVITE ME TO HER Phd DEFENCE IN HER PUBLIC HEALTH DISSERTATION
    AT LEAST 12 OF THAT GROUP ARE PRACTICING IN THE USA

RE THIS BULLSIT …..
    the CBC and its sponsors should examine the relationship between them and the principals behind the “hotel”
    ALL THE SCHOOL HAD TO DO IS PAY MS RAM THEIR BILLS
    ALL MS RAM HAD TO DO IS MAINTAIN HER FACILITIES IN PRISTINE CONDITION ACCORDING TO THE PUBLIC HEALTH STANDARDS OF BARBADOS
    THE SCHOOL

RE Miss Ram donates generously to BOTH political parties.
    QUITE IRRELEVANT…….HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH MEDICAL EDUCATION

RE “They did not have access to food, electricity and water utilities had been cut off after the administration failed to pay the bill for five months “
    WHAT TO EXPECT IF YOU DON’T PAY YOUR BILLS
    HAVE SEEN THIS BEFORE
    SCHOOLS BRINGING IN INDIAN STUDENTS ADVERTISE TO STAFF AND STUDENTS AN ALL EXCLUSIVE EXPERIENCE….SOME DON’T DELIVER

26. All the blame for the attraction of dubious offshore medical schools cannot be put at the foot of the grossly incompetent DLP government.
    I have said before, on May 24, when the Mottley-led BLP too control, part of the transition would have been full reports (or should have been) from all the permanent secretaries, including education and health, to the relevant ministers, who would have reported to the prime minister at one of the emergency Cabinet meetings.
    The matter of fraud, or suspected fraud, by any international business should have been high on the list and immediate action taken to protect the good name of Barbados. This was not done.
    Barbados is a failed state.

27. Fraud U.’
    Article by
    Katrina King
    Published on
    October 6, 2018

It was in the waning months of the Freundel Stuart administration, three months before a general election, that Minister of Education Ronald Jones boasted that the island was making great strides as a hub for medical education. Among the earliest and brightest jewels of the adminstration’s thrust was the Washington University of Barbados, housed at the repurposed Casa Grande Hotel, owned by entrepreneur Ram Mirchandani.

But the gem became a tarnished dud on Friday as police escorted Washington University’s chief executive officer, Gopi Venkat Rao, off the Oldbury, St Philip campus, a wanted swindler.
    https://i2.wp.com/barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Screen-Shot-2018-10-06-at-12.21.57-AM.png

Gopi Venkat Rao

The head of the medical school turned out to be an alleged wanted fugitive in India, sought for bilking thousands of dollars from hundreds of students with promises of admissions into foreign medical universities.

Approximately, 200 students, mostly drawn from India, were gathered this afternoon for nearly three hours as a high-level Government team broke the news.

Led by Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs Cynthia Forde, the team included Parliamentary Secretary for the Ministry of People Empowerment Neil Rowe, and officials from the ministries of labour, health, and education, and the Welfare Department.

The students and faculty employees were only made aware of Venkat’s deceit on Sunday, September 30 after media outlets India Times News Network and The Hindu newspaper reported the day before that over 200 students were duped by an educational consultancy firm of which Venkat is the owner.

Six of Venkat’s staff members were arrested in India, and police launched a hunt for the director, his wife Nikita Venkat and an associate identified as Zameer, The Hindu reported.

The fraudsters convinced clients that they had secured tie-ups with medical institutions in several countries. They allegedly promised them seats in medical colleges in the U.S. and China. Police also identified four similar cases where Venkat duped several students and then shut shop to restart in a different province, according to the respected newspaper based in Chennai.

Prior to his arrest, Venkat was unreachable by staff and students. His executive secretary, Tricia Newton, disclosed that the staff have not been paid and persons felt like they had been “defrauded”. The staff of approximately 40 people had not been paid for more than three months and on-campus staff and students had no access to food.

“It is a dire situation, I watch people at work every day crying [and] begging,” Newton revealed. She also divulged that Indian staff were routinely replaced after their work permits expired.

“It is basically a cycle where [management] pay for their [workers’] ticket, gave them work permits; their work permits expire; they did not renew them; they did not pay the persons for months. People were just around here begging; [management] would get rid of those and bring in another set,” Newton said.

Students gathered at the Casa Grande campus were confused, frustrated and concerned about what the day’s events meant for their future. They did not have access to food, electricity and water utilities had been cut off after the administration failed to pay the bill for five months and the university had yet to be accredited so they were unable to complete their degree or clinical experience elsewhere.

Some wanted to know if the university will remain in operation and whether the thousands spent and all their hard-work were for naught; others expressed the desire to return home.

Sowjanya Racharla, 23, pleaded for someone to send her home after she spent the last year being led by false promises. Racharla revealed that her family sold their property and took out a loan to finance her dream to become a doctor. As the oldest of her parent’s two children, success was always her hindsight but Racharla felt broken and betrayed.

“ I came against my dad; my dad said, ‘Baby you already have a degree why do you want to go back there?’ and I said, ‘Dad I want to become a doctor and this university is saying they can send me to the United States where I can get placed better than India’,” Racharla explained, saying that she had cried until she could not cry no more.

“I was the hope for my parents and he [Gopi Venkat Rao] was my hope and now he is gone,” she added.

Despite suggestions from Ministry officials that students could transfer to other universities on the island

28. RE Hal Austin October 6, 2018 10:51 AM

All the blame for the attraction of dubious offshore medical schools cannot be put at the foot of the grossly incompetent DLP government.

YOU ARE WRONG HAL All the blame for the attraction of dubious offshore medical schools MUST be put at the foot of the grossly incompetent DLP government.

IT WAS JONES AND THE DLP THAT BROUGHT THIS SCHOOL IN
    THE DEFECTS OF THIS SCHOOL HAS BEEN POSTED ON BU IN DETAIL MONTHS AGO FOR ALL TO SEE AND INQUIRE AND REFLECT

RE The matter of fraud, or suspected fraud, by any international business should have been high on the list and immediate action taken to protect the good name of Barbados. This was not done.
    Barbados is a failed state.

YOUR IGNORANCE IS DISPLAYED HERE
    OFFSHORE BOGUS MEDICAL SCHOOLS HAVE BEEN AROUND SINCE 1998
    THIS IS THE FIRST ONE WHERE THE OWNERS HAVE FAILED TO PAY BASIC THINGS LIKE RENT AND UTILITIES!

HOW ON EARTH CAN YOU EXPECT GUVMENT TO FORE SEE THIS

I HAVE SEEN STUDENTS AND STAFF MISTREATED BEFORE..ESPECIALLY AT ST JAMES…BUT NEVER HAVE I SEEN MIS MANAGEMENT AND GREED TO CAUSE DISTRESS TO THIS LEVEL

THE SCHOOL IS SAID TO HAVE 200 STUDENTS!
    FREDERICK WHO OWNED TWO SUCESSFUL SCHOOLS SAID 90 STUDENTS WAS THE BREAK EVEN POINT…….I THINK HE SHOULD KNOW

THIS SCHOOL WAS DROWNING IN PROFIT MAN…….AND WOULD NOT PAY MS RAM AND HIS TEACHERS AND MEET HIS OBLIGATIONS TO THE STUDENTS? WHY? GREED!

29. I read that the CEO was arrested, what are the charges?

30. NOW THIS IS HILARIOUS AND SUGGESTS THAT SINCE WE ARE NOW INTO THE OFFSHORE INDUSTRY, WE NEED AN OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOL CZAR! LOL

NOW AINT THIS FUNNY? ONLY AFTER

The students and faculty employees were only made aware of Venkat’s deceit on Sunday, September 30 after media outlets India Times News Network and The Hindu newspaper reported the day before that over 200 students were duped by an educational consultancy firm of which Venkat is the owner.
    Six of Venkat’s staff members were arrested in India, and police launched a hunt for the director, his wife Nikita Venkat and an associate identified as Zameer, The Hindu reported.

DID WE HAVE A DELEGATION Led by Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs Cynthia Forde, the team included Parliamentary Secretary for the Ministry of People Empowerment Neil Rowe, and officials from the ministries of labour, health, and education, and the Welfare Department INVESTIGATING THE SCHOOL

THE THREE BLIND MICE ONLY TURNED UP WHEN ALL IS LOST?
    WHY DIDNT THESE MORONS NOT CHECK OUT ALL THESE BOGUS SCHOOLS WHEN THEY TOOK OVER.

WE ARE TOLD THAT THE THREE BLIND MICE ARE a high-level Government team THAT broke the news

THESE MORONS WERE REACTIVE……….DEFINITELY NOT PROACTIVE

SINCE WE ARE NOW INTO THE OFFSHORE INDUSTRY DO WE HAVE STANDARDS WE WANT TO SEE MAINTAINED IN BARBADOS OR “WHOSOEVER WILL MAY COME?”

CAN WE REALLY EXPECT MEDICAL SCHOOL ILLITERATES TO OVERSEE SOMETHING THEY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT?

31. What transpired here explains why the blogmaster was seeing quite a few hits to BU originating from India.

32. re the blogmaster was seeing quite a few hits to BU originating from India.

That is because this thread can be followed on VALUEMD, where I put it……..and where one of the moderators did not like to hear what I said about offshore medical schools

33. re three months before a general election, that Minister of Education Ronald Jones boasted that the island was making great strides as a hub for medical education.
    JONES IS A KNOWN MORON, AND DEFINITE MEDICAL ILLITERATE

RE Among the earliest and brightest jewels of the adminstration’s thrust was the Washington University of Barbados, housed at the repurposed Casa Grande Hotel, owned by entrepreneur Ram Mirchandani. But the gem became a tarnished dud on Friday as police escorted Washington University’s chief executive officer, Gopi Venkat Rao, off the Oldbury, St Philip campus, a wanted swindler.

THE GEM WAS AN OBVIOUS DUD FROM THE VERY BEGINNING
    I POINTED OUT HERE ON BU, AND ON VALUE MD THAT A SCHOOL THAT LISTS SEVERAL COOKS AND SECURITY GUARDS ON ITS WEBSITE………INSTEAD OF TEACHING STAFF IS SUSPECT
    IF YOU START AS A GENUINE DUD IT IS HARD TO BE OTHER THAN A DUD

FOR A GOOD SALARY AND THE RIGHT PERKS I COULD COME AND TURN IT AROUND THOUGH LOL

ANYONE HERE WITH WEIGHT TO TELL THE PRIMARY SCHOOL TEACHER AND OTHERS THAT? LOL

34. RE The fraudsters convinced clients that they had secured tie-ups with medical institutions in several countries. They allegedly promised them seats in medical colleges in the U.S. and China.

I DONT KNOW ABOUT CHINA……BUT IF A SCHOOL PROVIDES GOOD TEACHING TO ENABLE THE STUDENTS TO PASS THE USMLE STEP 1 & II EXAMS, THE STUDENTS HAVE A CHANCE AT CLINICALS AND A RESIDENCY IN THE USA, WHERE AFTER SLAVING FOR 3 TO 4 YEARS THEY BECOME REAL DOCTORS

ONE OF THE CURRENT CHALLENGES FOR OFFSHORE SCHOOLS IS THE PROVISION OF PROPER SITES FOR CLINICAL TRAINING

Police also identified four similar cases where Venkat duped several students and then shut shop to restart in a different province, according to the respected newspaper based in Chennai.

THIS IS APPARENTLY WHAT HE WAS DOING HERE.
    PROBABLY WITH THE PROVISION OF CLINICAL SITES LOOMING, AND HAVING MADE HIS PROFIT ON THIS COHORT OF 200 STUDENTS, HE WAS PLANNING TO SHOP SHOP, AS IS HIS WONT, BUT IT SEEMS THIS TIME HE HAS/HAD NO PLACE TO RUN AND HIDE

Prior to his arrest, Venkat was unreachable by staff and students.
    THE USUAL. AFTER FREDERICK SOLD MUA AND SABA AND REFUSED TO PAY THE TAXES DUE, HE ABSCONDED… LEAVING HIS WIFE AND FORMER STUDENT , TO LANGUAGE IN A US JAIL

WHAT IS THE BARBADOS GUVMENT DOING BOUT COLLECTING TAXES DUE FROM THIS MAN?

His executive secretary, Tricia Newton, disclosed that the staff have not been paid and persons felt like they had been “defrauded”. The staff of approximately 40 people had not been paid for more than three months and on-campus staff and students had no access to food.

Tricia Newton SHOULD SHUT UP! WHY DID SHE NOT REPORT WHAT SHE WAS OBSERVING MONTHS AGO?
    WHY DIDNT SHE LEAK THIS INFO?
    IF THE INDIANS NEWSPAPERS DID NOT REPORT THIS SUCH THAT THE NEWSGOT TO GUVMENT HOW LONG WOULD SHE HAVE REMAINED QUIET?

NO DOUBT SHE WAS STILL BEING PAID.

WILL STUPID CINTY AND OTHERS NOW READ, LEARN AND INWARDLY DIGEST THE FULL CONTENTS OF THE BLOG, LIKE THE INDIANS HAVE STARTED TO DO,

35. Eventually they all will be exposed on one way or another as thiefs and con artist of small nations govt and taxpayers money
    How come this school managed to fly under the radar of prsent govt when in opposition
    Surprisingly or not so surprising when one read the tea leaves of Mia wanting so much to bring Ross to barbados shores
    Obviously not! because mashing the corns of these medical schools would have opened a can of worms

36. re “It is a dire situation, I watch people at work every day crying [and] begging,” Newton revealed. She also divulged that Indian staff were routinely replaced after their work permits expired.
    “It is basically a cycle where [management] pay for their [workers’] ticket, gave them work permits; their work permits expire; they did not renew them; they did not pay the persons for months. People were just around here begging; [management] would get rid of those and bring in another set,” Newton said.

NEWTON SAW ALL THIS AND SAID NOTHING!
    SHE SAW STUDENTS CRYING AND BEGGING AND SAID NOTHING! WHY?

RE She also divulged that Indian staff were routinely replaced after their work permits expired.
    I SAW SOMETHING LIKE THIS HAPPEN TO A CHAP AT IUHS. BUT DIDNT UNDERSTAND IT AT THE TIME

MONTHS LATER, WHEN I WAS BEATING THE SCHOOL TO DEATH ONLINE, THIS PERSON TOLD ME HOW THEY WOULD SEND HIM OFF ISLAND EVERY SIX MONTHS WHEN HIS VISITOR VISA EXPIRED. THEY ACTUALLY DID THE SAME TO ME

IT IS DOUBTFUL THAT MOST OF THE STAFF MEMBERS GET WORK PERMITS……..WHICH COSTS THE SCHOOLS! IN MOST SCHOOLS STAFF COME IN UNDER VISITOR PERMITS. THIS ALLOWS THE SCHOOL TO FIRE THEM AT WILL AND WITH RECOURSE, AS WAS DONE ROUTINELY AT UHSA UNDER AKANDE, AND AT ST JAMES ON BONAIRE

MANY SCHOOLS DONT PAY WORKERS TRAVEL EITHER!

I HAD TO DEMAND A WORK PERMIT WHEN I WAS AT AAIMS IN JAMAICA

37. RE How come this school managed to fly under the radar of prsent govt when in opposition

BETTER QUESTION

How come this school managed to fly under the radar of THE CURRENT GUVMENT WHEN IT CAME INTO POWER?

38. ANOTHER MORE PERTINENT QUESTION

How come this school managed to fly under the radar of THE DLP GUVMENT WHEN IN POWER? IT WAS THE DLP GUVMENT THAT BROUGHT IT IN AND BOASTED THAT THEY WERE IMPLEMENTING THE OFFSHORE SCHOOL INDUSTRY IN BARBADOS ah lie?

39. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

What a pity that these Indian students did not carry out more due diligence prior to enrolling for their studies at this fake medical school. Would it not be possible for the Government of Barbados to find decent accommodation for these students at the homes of some of our many elderly residents; where they can live rent free in exchange for offering their company and some form of domestic work (ten hours a week perhaps) to earn their keep.

On a PR front this is a national disaster. But we Barbadians are use to this.

Prophet GP you was right from the very beginning.

40. Another black eye for Barbados.

41. RE water utilities had been cut off after the administration failed to pay the bill for five months and the university had yet to be accredited so they were unable to complete their degree or clinical experience elsewhere.

Some wanted to know if the university will remain in operation and whether the thousands spent and all their hard-work were for naught; others expressed the desire to return home.
    SEEN IT ALL BEFORE

NO THIS SCHOOL IS DONE UNLESS SOME ONE BUYS THE CHARTER AND THE DEBT AS OCCURED IN 2009 WHEN DARRYANANI FAILED TO PAY THE STAFF AT ST MARTINUS AND THEY QUIT AND THE SCHOOL HAD TO CLOSE

RE “I was the hope for my parents and he [Gopi Venkat Rao] was my hope and now he is gone,” she added.

SORRY SWEETIE YOUR HOPE SHOULD BE IN THE LORD

42. RE Would it not be possible for the Government of Barbados to find decent accommodation for these students at the homes of some of our many elderly residents; where they can live rent free in exchange for offering their company and some form of domestic work (ten hours a week perhaps) to earn their keep.
    NOT FEASIBLE!
    THE WORK LOAD OF A MEDICAL STUDENT THE WAY THE AMERICANS GO ABOUT THINGS IS SIMPLY RIDICULOUS. TOO MUCH HAPPENS TO FAST! LOL
    ITS LITERALLY LIKE FAST FOOD!

43. How low can we go? Who approved the setting up of this school under this fraud? Seems to me due diligence would have raised some red flags. Is there no scrutiny of the operations once they have set up?

44. Not arguing that past govt was responsible
    However i will also include (blp)opposition in there bellows attempt to stop all and any projects that would make way on barbados shores while finding all and every excuse
    My observation being that opposition saw an opportunity to allow this medical school an entry and a need not to stomp on fertile ground which if elected they might be in need of to grow there own seeds

45. RE Minister Forde emerged from the meeting to tell journalists she was flabbergasted by the events which unfolded.
    CINTY YOU ALWAYS FLABBERGASTED YA DUMMY
    I WONT SAY MORE AT THIS TIME

RE She added that provisions would be made for students wishing to transfer to another university.
    IS SHE SAYING THAT DE GUVMENT CONTROLS THE ADMISSIONS PROCESS AT OTHER SCHOOLS
    DOES CINTY TINK THIS IS PLACING PEOPLE CHILDREN AT PRIMARY OR SECONDARY SCHOOLS?

RE She emphasized that Government would “give a helping hand” to the students and staff and urged them not to have negative images of Barbados.
    DOES THIS MEAN THAT OUR CASH STRAPPED GUVMENT WILL GIVE THEM TICKETS BACK HOME WITH TAX PAYERS MONEY?

HOW WILL THIS NOT have negative images of Barbados?

BARBADOS IS NOW A HAVEN FOR BOGUS MED SCHOLS LIVE ST LUCIA AND GUYANA…….BUT ST LUCIA HAS STARTED TO CLAMP DOWN

RE CINTY SAID
    “I pray that this message that will go out is not a negative message that will mar the name of Barbados we are not accustomed to this kind of behaviour and it is a pity that we were not made aware before now,” said the Minister.

CINTY THE GERU AND EXPERT ON BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS WARNED THE PEOPLE ON THIS BLOG MONTHS AGO…..AND A BU BLOGGER CALLED GIGGLES MOCKED ME

WHERE IS GIGGLES TODAY? A BET HE NOT GIGGLING NOW

46. IT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT NONE OF THE OFFSHORE SCHOOLS IN BIM HAVE BAJANS TEACHING AT ANY OF THEM

PROBABLY BECAUSE THEY CANT FIRE THEM AND PUSH THEM OFF THE ISLAND SINCE THEY HAVE NO WORK PERMIT AND THEIR SIX MONTH PERMIT IS EXPIRED

MONTHS AGO I ASKED WHO WAS POCKETING THE MONEY OBTAINED / COLLECTED
    FOR WORK PERMITS

47. SOME ONE ON BT OPINED
    “It was in the waning months of the Freundel Stuart administration, three months before a general election, that Minister of Education RONALD JONES boasted that the island was making great strides as a hub for medical education.”

Now one must ask the question: who was really the one “making great strides” now that this mother of all scams has been exposed?

It is known that the former Minister of Education holds a high-level and top paying job at another medical university located on the Harbour Road. Investigators must dig deep into the relationship between Jones, the DLP and these medical schools leading up to the general elections.

Reliable sources revealed that those medical schools were major contributors to the DLP election campaign as reward for allowing them to operate in Barbados.

Is Jones going to be investigated for providing safe harbor for a fraudster? Can he set foot in the United States again? Are principals of this medical school connected in any way with the one at the bottom of BET hill? What about the shady one at Welches, St Thomas? People want to know.

This will be another red flag to those looking at Barbados as a medical destination.
    BARBADOS- HAVEN FOR BOGUS MED SCHOOLS BROUGHT IN BY BUMBLING JONES!

Maybe the usual Dems yardfowls on this blog can shed some light on this breaking news from the perch of their paling today.
    Whatta ting!

48. SOME ONE ELSE POSITED
    Terrible…but it reflects the ease with which people are allowed to enter the country and set up businesses or schools without proper vetting. We still have this colonial mentality that foreign is better. First the Americans now the Indians and Chinese. This school even if a reputable one did not cater to bajans. The workers are Indian, and so are the students. Tell me again how this venture helped the ordinary bajan. I’ll wait…

TRUTH IS THIS PARTICULAR SCHOOL DID NOT HELP ORDINARY BAJAN FOLK MUCH

I HOPE BAJANS STUDENTS UNDERSTAND TO STAY FROM BOGUS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS

Leave a Reply to Georgie PorgieCancel reply