Submitted by Dr. Georgie Porgie
BARBADOS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS, DO WE REALLY NEED THEM?

Elombe Mottley – The Next FIFTY YEARS of PRIDE and INDUSTRY! – may be a progressive thinker to many in Barbados, but in my mind he demonstrates his ignorance as a supreme illiterate in matters of medicine, and medical schools when he suggests that there should be medical schools here…there and everywhere in Barbados.

1. During the years I hung around offshore Medical schools, there are at least two things that I learned.

These schools find it difficult to bring in teachers from overseas because of the COST OF PAYING FOR WORK PERMITS FOR TEACHERS FROM OVERSEAS.

2. Producing the most excellent website, whereupon thy can spew lie upon lie to lure unwary would be students and wannabe doctors to train at these schools.

I would enjoin commenters here to go to the websites of both AUB, and WUB and notice that not only are the websites very poor (suggesting that we are dealing with very poor con artists) but that there are no medical teachers at any of the schools who are Barbadians, and ask why? This at a time where several other offshore schools are now forced to employ locals to teach.

Why is it that WUB (see faculty and staff webpage) have few well qualified teachers listed on their site but yet they list 7 chefs and 7 security guards.

Who is collecting all the money for the WORK PERMITS for these staff members, I wonder?

I would invite you to go to this webpage on the valueMD site and follow the discussion on the thread

new medical school in Barbados in trouble already.

Notice that the valueMD moderator has tried to shut up the poster. Then try to use ctrl and C to try to download anything from this website and note that they have disabled ctrl and C

Then let us start a blog entitled BARBADOS AND OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS DO W REALLY NEED THEM? Then let us try to understand and thrash out whether our Government has really sold out our medical education for thirty pieces of silver.

Please also read this thread on valueMD.

WUB website is http://www.wubmed.org/

AUB website is http://www.aubmed.org/

315 responses to “Barbados Medical Schools”

1. DOES THE TRINIDADIAN IDIOT IN CHARGE OF THE QEH KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT MEDICAL EDUCATION?
    CAN HE ADVISE THE MINISTER?
    DOES THE MINISTER OF HEALTH ASK HIS BROTHER ANY QUESTIONS?
    DOES ANYONE IN BARBADOS KNOW OR CARE WHAT IS GOING ON?
    WILL MIA AND COMPANY ALLOW THIS SHIT TO CONTINUE?

HAS THE MORON WHO ASKS Long-term tourism certainly cannot be one such obligation VISITED ANY OF THESE BOGUS SCHOOLS?

LIKE WINDSOR IN THE DAYS WHEN IT WAS CONVENED ON THE BASSETERRE DOCKS IN A RAM SHACK BUILDING?

OR THE JAMES IN BONAIRE IN THE BUILDING WITH THE ASBSTOS ROOFS ABANDONED BY THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT

THE MAN THAT STARTED THE SCHOOL IN ST EUSTATIUS, NOW OLD TO THE FOLK OPERATING IN BIM, TOLD ME THEY STARTED IN A GARAGE

I WISH TRUMP WOULD GIVE ME A JOB TO REGULATE THESE BOGUS SCHOOLS WHO SEEK TO SEND THEIR GRADUATES TO THE USA

2. So what happens when these medical schools offer scholarships to local students? Are the local students warned by government not to accept the offers?
    Is this not a serious enough crisis to trigger a national debate? What are the opposition political parties saying about this? What are the doctors’ representatives saying about it? What is the university saying, since such operations can diminish the reputation of UWI?
    Have they offered free clinical examinations to local people? If so, should we allow bogus doctors to physically examine local patients? Is this not a criminal offence? How does the legislation define a medical doctor? Has a formal complaint been made against these schools and the lecturers not allowed to practice in Barbados? If not, why not? If so, what has been the outcome?

3. What is the BAMP’s position on medical graduates from Cuba again?

4. Let us not forget dentists trained in Trinidad who have to qualify to practice in Barbados by sitting another exam.

5. Sargeant October 2, 2017 at 4:06 PM

What is the BAMP’s position on medical graduates from Cuba again?
    NOT ACCEPTED SARGE
    HENRY FRASER EXPLAINED A WHILE AGO THAT THEIR CLINICAL SKILLS WERE NOT UP TO SCRATCH

6. GP…..any truth in this…..if so is the UWI addressing it?

When biased data holds a potentially deadly flaw

https://www.ft.com/content/9cf02a18-a312-11e7-9e4f-7f5e6a7c98a2

7. Are the clinical skills of the offshore medical schools externally examined? If the medical skills of Cuba-trained doctors are acceptable to most of Latin America, South West Africa, are there actual points of shortcomings in training? Has anyone apart from Henry Fraser examined the professional standards of Cuba-trained doctors?
    In the UK we now have conversion courses for medical training, ie a graduate with a humanities degree can re-train as a doctor, as in law? Is this a high enough entry qualification? Would such a person qualified in the UK be allowed to practice in Barbados?

8. So what happens when these medical schools offer scholarships to local students? Are the local students warned by government not to accept the offers?

DOES NOT SEEM SO. THERE ARE BAJANS AT THE BOGUS AUB. MAYBE THEY CAN NOT GET INTO UWI. THY WILL FIND OUT THAT THEY WILL HAVE A ROUGH PASSAGE AS DETAILED IN POSTS ABOVE.

WHO KNOW? THE GUVMENT MIGHT CHANGE THE RULE TO ACCOMMODATE THEM

Is this not a serious enough crisis to trigger a national debate?
    YOU WOULD THINK SO
    SEEMS THAT WITHOUT BU’S EXPERT ON THIS MATTER NO ONE KNOWS OR CARES

What are the opposition political parties saying about this? WHO KNOWS? THEY NEED EDUCATING ON THESE MATTERS. PERHAPS THEY LIKE THE INCREASED LONG STAY TOURIST TOO.

What are the doctors’ representatives saying about it? What is the university saying, since such operations can diminish the reputation of UWI?

WHO KNOWS? DO THEY CARE? OR HAVE THEY GIVEN UP AFTER DISCUSSIONS WITH THE GUVMENT

Have they offered free clinical examinations to local people? THEY WANT TO. THI HAS BEEN DISCUSSED ALREADY

If so, should we allow bogus doctors to physically examine local patients? NO WE SHOULD NOT

Is this not a criminal offence? How does the legislation define a medical doctor? Has a formal complaint been made against these schools and

RE ARE the lecturers allowed to practice in Barbados?

the lecturers OUGHT NOT TO BE allowed to practice in Barbados

If not, why not?
    1- THEY MAY JUST WANT TO TEACH THE BASIC SCIENCES
    2- REMEMBER THEY HAVE NOT YET GOT PERMISSION OR FACILITIES TO DO CLINICAL TRAINING IN BARBADOS
    3 THEY ARE NOT REGISTERED TO PRACTICE IN BARBADOS AS FAR AS I KNOW……….IT DIDNT HAPPEN IN ANY OF THE COUNTRIES IN WHICH I TAUGHT . BUT WE DONT KNOW WHAT THE GUVMENT IS ALLOWING THEM TO DO

If so, what has been the outcome? SHOULD BE JAIL BUT WHO KNOWS WHAT ELSE THE DLP WILL DO OR ALLOW OR THE BLP

THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE DISCUSSED IN BARBADOS BECAUSE THE THREE SCHOOLS OPERATING IN BARBADOS ARE MAKING OVERTURES THAT I HAVE SEEN OR HEARD TO HAVE HAPPENED IN ANY OF THE OTHER ISLANDS

9. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ GP,

Dear Boy,

Calm down. You’re going to give yourself a heart attack. The majority of those who subscribe to BU believe that these so called medical schools are bogus and are at best conduits for domestic and international fraud.

Do you seriously believe that the incumbent party who are running this country is concerned about your allegations?

You need to address your fears to the international media.

10. Are the clinical skills of the offshore medical schools externally examined?

AT UWI AS AT BRITISH BASED MEDICAL SCHOOLS AROUND THE WORLD THERE ARE EXTERNAL EXAMINERS FOR ALL MAJOR COURSES . IT IS RIGID…VERY RIGID

THIS DOES NOT OCCUR IN BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS.

If the medical skills of Cuba-trained doctors are acceptable to most of Latin America, South West Africa, are there actual points of shortcomings in training?

WHO CARES IF THEY ARE ACCEPTABLE IN TIMBUKTU……. OUR FOLK THINK THAT THEY ARE NOT QUALIFIED.

Has anyone apart from Henry Fraser examined the professional standards of Cuba-trained doctors?
    Henry Fraser REPORTED ON THE MATTER. I BELIEVE THAT HE KNOW WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT. I AM SURE THAT THERE WA A PANEL OF EXAMINERS AS IS USUALLY THE CASE

Would such a person qualified in the UK be allowed to practice in Barbados?

a person qualified in MEDICINE IN the UK WILL be allowed to practice in Barbados…….SAME TRAINING. UWI EVOLVED OUT OF THE UNIVERSITY OF LONDON

11. Talking Loud Saying Nothing October 2, 2017 at 4:47 PM #
    @ GP,

Dear Boy,

Calm down. I AM VERY CALM SIR
    You’re going to give yourself a heart attack. NOT LIKELY SIR
    The majority of those who subscribe to BU believe that these so called medical schools are bogus and are at best conduits for domestic and international fraud. GLAD YOU CAN SEE THIS

Do you seriously believe that the incumbent party who are running this country is concerned about your allegations? NO I DO NOT THINK THAT THOSE MORONS CAN EVEN THINK

You need to address your fears to the international media. THESE FOLK DONT CARE ONLY
    I HAVE NOT JUST STARTED READING OR WRITING ABOUT THIS

I HAVE BEEN THREATENED WITH LAW SUITS
    FOLK HAVE BEN SENT TO INTIMIDATE ME BOTH IN BARBADOS AND HERE WEHRE I LIVE

12. Vincent Haynes October 2, 2017 at 4:28 PM

I CAN NOT ACCESS THE ARTICLE THAT YOU CITE SIR, SO I AM UNABLE TO COMMENT SORRY SIR

13. Talking Loud Saying Nothing October 2, 2017 at 4:47 PM #

Do you seriously believe that the incumbent party who are running this country is concerned about your allegations?

THESE ARE NOT ALLEGATIONS SIR! THESE ARE SERIOUS FACTS!

14. GP…..any comment would be appreciated.

September 27, 2017

by Madhumita Murgia

Last week, I visited the Wellcome Trust’s Genome Campus, a verdant patch of land in Cambridgeshire, where otters and bats inhabit the woods surrounding the offices of geneticists and computer scientists. It is one of the world’s largest genomics hubs, where scientists are probing the secrets of human DNA.

He threw some eye-opening stats at me. More than 80 per cent of genomic data, which underpins much of how genetic medicine works, comes from Caucasians. Of the remaining pie, about 14 per cent comes from Asian populations, while African and Hispanic populations together make up a measly 3.5 per cent.

Why does this matter? It means gene-based diagnostic tests and drugs targeted at specific genetic mutations will be less effective — maybe even dangerous — for certain ethnic populations, because of the innate genetic differences in the DNA codes of different races

15. Vincent,
    Genetics is not my strong area. I am into Biochem Pharm Path, but there may be some merit in your opinion. But is it not thought that generally speaking we all have the same genetic make up?

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes October 2, 2017 at 6:06 PM

It implies that the vast majority of “synthetic” drugs such as the placebos from Big Pharma Inc. sold to blacks to control so-called lifestyle diseases are just a money-making illusion.

17. GP
    That was always my understanding that we had the same genetic construct,hence my surprise at the last para:…..innate genetic differences in the DNA codes of different races….

I was always of the opinion that the different tribes of the human race may have slight variances bearing in mind that cross breeding and inter-breeding may lead to mutant genes……there ends my non biological opinion…..hence as I said your comment on this would be of interest.

18. Miller

That is the elephant in the room…..nobody is black or white or any other colour…..it all boils down to your genetic construct which has nothing to do with your melanin level.

I have sighted on here a person from the Indian continent with the same melanin levels as Zulu warrior whose genetic make up would not be the same and for that matter the Pelau construct is made up of north european and west african tribes…….it simply is not that easy as black and white.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes October 2, 2017 at 6:35 PM

It also proves that not all people on the planet are the direct descendants of Adam & Eve, Cain or Noah.

That might come as a deadly shock to both GP and Zoe.

Evolution by natural selection and adaptation is still the only genetic game in town.

Wake up, Zoe!

20. Miller

Chuckle……look how you have killed an interesting discussion one time…….thanks for the spanner.

21. Vincent Haynes October 2, 2017 at 6:35 PM #
    That was always my understanding that we had the same genetic construct,hence my surprise at the last para:…..innate genetic differences in the DNA codes of different races….

I was always of the opinion that the different tribes of the human race may have slight variances bearing in mind that cross breeding and inter-breeding may lead to mutant genes……there ends my non biological opinion…..hence as I said your comment on this would be of interest.

I HOLD THE SAME VIEWS A YOU DO ON THIS SUBJECT………..
    BUT IT IS QUITE POSSIBLE WHEN YOU CONSIDER MILLER THAT SOME HAVE A VERY VERY HIGH PERCENTAGE OF JACK ASS GENES

22. GP

Thanks…..

Chuckle……I will leave you and Miller to it.

23. re It implies that the vast majority of “synthetic” drugs such as the placebos from Big Pharma Inc. sold to blacks to control so-called lifestyle diseases are just a money-making illusion.

Perhaps YOU SHOULD GO AND READ UP ON PHARMACOGENETICS

24. @GP ”NO I DO NOT THINK THAT THOSE MORONS CAN EVEN THINK”

Lol. Man, that is one big swipe over midwicket.

Still a six though. Umpire fingers in the air.

25. GP ”My opinion of him as a top drawer jackass has not diminished over this period of time. He continues to demonstrate that he is one of the biggest idiots that went through HC,”

Lol. GP, you letting fly today with that Slazenger bat….. sure you ent had a little shot of rum before going out to bat?

26. Just a comment…
    There was a time when studies in hypertension and other disease were done ‘completely’ in Caucasians. The safety and efficacy seen in these studies would be different when the drug was given to different ethnic groups.

The US FDA now insists that minorities be included in clinical trials. They are aware that there are differences between ethnic groups.

In fact the Japanese regulatory agency also requirse that studies use in a new drug submission in Japan must include a good sample of Japanese subjects.

The fact that researchers have shown a bias towards their own should never be surprising. This is how man behaves.

27. CRUSOE
    I HAD ONLY SOME GINGER BEER, SIR
    I DONT DRINK MAN
    AND THE SHOT YOU TALKING BOUT WAS ELEGANTLY PLAYED WITH A STRAIGHT BAT. THE BALL LANDED IN THE DRAIN BY THE SLAB BY THE TENNIS COURTS. LOL

28. TheGazer

WE KNEW IN BIM FROM AS EARLY AS I980 THAT BLACK MEN WITH HYPERTENSION BENEFIT FROM THIAZIDE DIURETIC AND THAT WHITES RESPOND BETTER TO BETA BLOCKERS THAN BLACKS

YOU SEEM TO BE SERIOUSLY INTO PHARMACOGENETICS
    PERHAPS WE CAN HAVE A THREAD ON THIS INTERESTING AREASOMETIME IN FUTURE

29. Click on the link to view presentation in PDF format

30. Please kindly put your comments on Pharmacogenetics on Medical corner
    Dont clog up this thread om Barbados Medical Schools as it has apparently been put on valuemd and is being followed there

31. ( Another) New medical school opens (in Barbados)
    https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/10/04/new-medical-school-opens/#comment-238265

Last weekend, 17 student doctors donned their ceremonial white coats, marking not only their rite of passage into the profession of medicine, but also signifying them as the first group of students to enter the American University of Integrative Sciences (AUIS), School of Medicine at the campus’ new home in Barbados.
    Founded in 1999, the AUIS was previously known as the University of Sint Eustatius School of Medicine, and was established on the island of Sint Eustatius by a group of medical school educators and administrators. In 2013, the school came under new ownership and management, International Educational Management Resources LLC, based in Atlanta Georgia and led by Managing Director Milo Pinckney and President Renu Agnihotri.
    Speaking at the ribbon cutting ceremony to mark the official opening of the university’s Basic Sciences Facility, at #9, 5th Avenue, Belleville, St. Michael, Dr Edward Layne, a gastroenterologist and native of Barbados, provided the background of the AUIS’ move to Barbados.
    Dr Layne, who served as the Honorary Consul for Barbados in Atlanta for the past 20 years before his retirement last December, was instrumental in paving the pathway for the institution’s move to Barbados.
    “Two years ago, a young visionary entered my office, his name was Mr. Milo Pinckney. He said to me, ‘Dr. Layne, I am not a doctor but I am the son of a physician entrepreneur with Caribbean roots’. He said ‘I am a business man, who owns a medical school and have several patents in the field of medical technology’, and that in my opinion may be able to revolutionize the training of young doctors and the practice of medicine.”
    He added that he was quite curious as Mr. Pinckney explained his interest in moving the university to Barbados and deploying a patented, medical information technology device called The Clinical Activity Rotation Log or CARL.
    The device contains the templates for state-of-the-art training programmes that encompass traditional western medicine as well as the proven aspects of complementary and alternative medicine, now called CAM.
    Admittedly impressed by what the young businessman had to say, Dr Layne saw it necessary to introduce him to the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Senator Maxine McClean, while hosting the 4th biennial Barbados Comes to Atlanta event, in Atlanta, Georgia, in May 2016.
    Sharing his perspective of the experience, Mr. Pinckney explained that when he met Senator McClean a year and a half ago, “in a moment’s notice” she saw the merit in what they presented when they proposed to move AUIS to Barbados.
    “She embraced it with such vigour that she visited our offices in Atlanta to see first-hand what we were doing, and she said ‘I can get behind it’ and championed the move here…”
    Highlighting Barbados’ literacy rate and the rank by the US Department of State as “one of the most politically transparent nations on the planet”, he believes Barbados has many unique qualities and presents tremendous opportunities for his institution.
    Senator McClean admitted that while attending the Barbados Comes to Atlanta event, which is intended to engage Barbadians in the diaspora to explore opportunities, she was enthralled by the opportunity Mr. Pinckney had presented.
    “I bought into the idea from the presentation, [which was] supported by a distinguished Barbadian in the form of Dr Layne, who himself has been a medical practitioner for many years, and would have been involved in the start-up of another medical institution.”
    McClean added: “It is my hope that given the importance of medical training and the demand globally for medical training, that there will be opportunities for synergies to be forged between our traditional medical faculties at the University of the West Indies and the programmes offered by the American University of Integrated Sciences.”

RE 17 student doctors donned their ceremonial white coats, marking not only their rite of passage into the profession of medicine,

BULLSHIT!
    DONNING A WHITE COAT DOES NOT GIVE A MEDICAL STUDENT A rite of passage into the profession of medicine,
    MEDICAL STUDENTS NEED TO STUDY HARD TO GET INTO THE PROFESSION

RE Founded in 1999, the AUIS was previously known as the University of Sint Eustatius School of Medicine, and was established on the island of Sint Eustatius by a group of medical school educators

Sint Eustatius School of Medicine WA STARTED IN A GARAGE IN Sint Eustatius BY BUCHANAN,AFTER HE DEFECTED FROM FREDERICK SCHOOL AT SABA. HE SOLD IT FOR GREENER PASTURES

RE “Two years ago, a young visionary entered my office, his name was Mr. Milo Pinckney. He said to me, ‘Dr. Layne, I am not a doctor but I am the son of a physician entrepreneur

NOTE THE USUAL: PINCKNEY IS NOT A DOCTOR HE IS A BUSYNESS MAN WHO HAS COME TO BARBADOS AS A PARASITE. SAME OLD STORY

RE Admittedly impressed by what the young businessman had to say, Dr Layne saw it necessary to introduce him to the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Senator Maxine McClean, while hosting the 4th biennial Barbados Comes to Atlanta event, in Atlanta, Georgia, in May 2016.

AND SHE FELL FOR HIS BULL SHIT HOOK LINE AND SINCKER. ALL SHE SAW WAS ANOTHER CHANCE FOR MORE LONG TERM TOURISTS
    ASK THE DLP WHAT OTHER BENEFITS ARE COMING TO BARBADOS FROM ANOTHER BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOL IN BARBADOS
    OH I FORGOT IT SAYS IN THE NATION THAT THEY WILL HELP US WITH OUR INTERN PROBLEMS……..BUT THEY AR NOT GOING TO PAY THEIR SALARIES. AFTER ALL PARASITES DONT EVER GIVE ANYTHING. THEY ONLY TAKE.

RE he believes Barbados has many unique qualities and presents tremendous opportunities for his institution.

INDEED! BARBADOS IS ANOTHER CASH STRAPPED ISLAND WITH GOVERNMENT LEADERS WITH BRAINS THE SIZE OF A PEA WHO CANT EVEN SEE PASS THEIR NOSES

RE Senator McClean admitted that ………….., she was enthralled by the opportunity Mr. Pinckney had presented.
    DID SHE DISCUSS IT WITH BAMP OR THE MEDICAL COUNCIL OF BARBADOS OR OUR ESTEEMED MEDICAL EDUCATORS?

re McClean added: “It is my hope that given the importance of medical training and the demand globally for medical training, that there will be opportunities for synergies to be forged between our traditional medical faculties at the University of the West Indies and the programmes offered by the American University of Integrated Sciences.”

DOES MC CLEAN NOT REALIZE THAT PARASITES DO NOT ENGAGE IN ANY SYNERGIES?
    PARASITES ARE PARASITES! THEY DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT, NOR DO THEY PRACTICE SYNERGISM

32. Wondered about the White coats.

Wondered why Boyce did not cut the ribbons.

Wondered if the BLP shadow minister of health Dwight Sutherland will address of the government to attract offshore medical schools and if it accords with that of the Opposition.

33. David
    When I first taught at Medical schools, white coats with school logos were awarded to students AFTER they completed the Basic Sciences successfully. These days it seems that once the students part with their admission fees they get a white coat.

I suspect that they are waiting to drink at this new through of charter fees and fees for numerous work permits

Why dont you talk to the folk in charge of such matters down there, and let us start a school. It is quite lucrative. Tell the officials we will pay the money for the charter when we collect it.

We van run an online school like IUHS or OCEANA.

34. NOTE THAT BARBADOS TODAY DELETED LSWILTHIRE’ POT COPIED ABOVE

NOTE ALSO HOW HE MOCK THEM
    lswiltshire
    October 4, 2017 at 4:27 pm
    you can moderate till the RAPTURE

This article and my response has been posted already – both locally and internationally.

louis wiltshire
    October 4, 2017 at 4:52 pm
    everything about bogus bajan med schools may be found in one place at
    http://www.valuemd.com/main-foreign-medical-schools-forum/246418-barbados-medical-schools.html

does anyone at barbado today do ANY INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM? OR DO YOU JUST REGURGITATE BS FROM HERE THERE AND ANYWHERE

WUNNAH TINK WUNNA CAN MODERATE MORE THAN VALUEMD?

35. Barbados Today is running scared because Mia filed a law suit this week about a story they ran questioning her qualification read LEC.

36. They should not be afraid of the truth.
    I never post lies here,there or anywhere.
    I speak of what I have seen and what I know.
    Is Barbados Today pro DLP?

37. Barbados Today is pro-business although Kaymar is pro OSA.

38. PR?

Medicine men

YVETTE BEST, yvettebest@nationnews.com

Added 07 October 2017

connor-and-charlton-read-100717

Connor (left) and Charlton Read taking a break after a full day of classes at the AUIS in Belleville. (Picture by Yvette Best)

“Treat every day with the determination that you will make a difference and be successful. Be the change and deploy your best.”

The body blows of life led Connor Read to making those words his daily mantra amidst the challenges. He and his younger brother Charlton have been struggling for the last few years, and making the grade has been an arduous task for both of them.

Connor struggled to land a job to help him through his first degree; and Charlton struggled to balance college and the jobs he had during the semesters and holidays to get by. Their dream of becoming doctors never waned, but the demands from the medical schools they were scouting made them both weary. In the words of Charlton it was “disheartening”.

The newly-opened American University of Integrative Sciences (AUIS) School Of Medicine at 5th Avenue, Belleville, St Michael, offered the siblings from Mississippi, Alabama, a timely lifeline. This maiden trip outside of the United States has allowed them to bypass graduate schools as recommended by other universities. The goal of becoming doctors Read and Read, and together the first physicians in their family, is within sight, now.

For the next two years in Barbados and until completion in Atlanta they each have one job – school.

They will have their work cut out for them to repay the loans they took to move to Barbados to attend AUIS, but that is still a few years off.

And the fact, that  by setting up in Barbados the AUIS is not considered an American University and it is now looking to regain its accredited status, has not daunted them either.  Choosing AUIS also meant that they were denied some scholarships, but the Reads are in with AUIS all the way.

“It would be a lot easier if it did [have accreditation], but we have ways to do this. If it takes long, it takes long. Me and Connor have been wanting this for so long now, we’ll do what it take to become [doctors]. With everything that this school has done for us, I mean they’re working on it. That happens when you move schools. They’ve really helped us in so many other ways, not just financially,” Charlton said.

Connor, 24, said their mentor Dr Terry Sexton made a big difference in how they saw themselves and eventually made their decision.

“Dr Sexton really wanted to know our background, like where we were in school; what our goals were and then from there I had a shadowing opportunity with him and I got my pre-certifications from him as well and we just kept staying in touch and he told us about AUIS. Originally he had told us about Sint Eustatius (which is now AUIS), that’s where he attended medical school. And he told us about his background and why he ended up going to the Caribbean. We thought it was a great opportunity, obviously, but it was a little bit more than that, because he had seen something in us that we didn’t and a lot of people didn’t see in us,” he said.

Charlton added: “I had gotten into grad schools, but with the grad school it could be one or two years studies and then you still have to re-apply and hope to get in, and since AUIS saw something in me and Connor, personally, I took it and ran with it. I don’t want to say I was wasting my time with those two years and hoping to getting in, but this school was giving me a shot and the opportunity to fulfill my dreams. So I ended up deciding to put my future first and go ahead and get my schooling out of the way so I can fulfill my life and get my career going.” 

The 22-year-old continues to be frustrated by the fact that numbers was the main focus for the other universities.

“I think in the med field, you really need who you are as a person. As a doctor, it’s patient interaction a big percentage of that is how you treat patients and how you are as a person. You can be the smartest person in the world, but if you’re a jerk, your patients aren’t going to open up to you,” he argued.

But how did they end up here together, you ask?

Connor did not set out to wait on little brother. It just worked out that way, they said.

“I transferred from Springhill College, where I did my first two years of college, and when I transferred I lost a lot of credits, because that’s a Jesuit private college. But it didn’t hinder me from continuing on with my studies. I continued with the pre-medical. At Springhill I was a biological science major and a pre-medical concentration. When I transferred to the University of South Alabama I was also a biological science major with a concentration in pre-health,” Connor explained.

Charlton did his undergrad studies at Mississippi State University in Bio-chemistry.

At a time when most siblings look forward to spreading their wings and getting away from each other, these two are thrilled to be roommates.

“We experienced that [separation] during our undergrad. When he went to South Alabama, I went to Mississippi State, which is about four and a half hours away and I could come home if I wanted to, but with school and everything up there, I barely came home. We went off and experienced our own experiences; did our own college, made new friends. Growing up me and him, two years apart, we played the same sports, did the same activities, the same clubs, pretty much,” Charlton explained.

For Connor medicine was the pick for as long as he can remember. Dentistry was the first choice, but he decided on becoming a surgeon from back in high school.

“I was shadowing my aunt’s physician who was a general surgeon, it was shadowing him that guaranteed that that was a reality goal. I fell in love with it, I was passionate about it, I went into it with both hands. I just fell in love with it, open wound, cutting open, suturing, everything,” he said.

While medicine has been a passion for quite some time as well, Charlton has not yet decided on an area of specialty.

“I have a view of what I’m interested in . . . . Until I get a view of as much as I can, I’m hesitant until I experience everything and find what I’m really, really in love with. But I definitely know it’s the medical field. I’ve experienced a lot of things, in my undergrad I worked with mechanical engineers, I had a job at an engineering building, so I’ve got the experiences and we’ve both done a lot of different trades and a good bit of different types of careers and different types fields,” Charlton said, adding that their family owns a one-stop florist, bakery and gift shop. 

The two are eternally grateful for the support of parents Derek and Melinda and the other members of the family and the entire AUIS team.

They have been in Barbados for a month and they say they are still settling trying to get used to the heat and other things.

As for AUIS, the actual experience appears to be even better than the pitches made by Sexton and others involved. Words like “welcoming” and “uplifting” were used to describe the experience to date. They say the small class, professors, and other staff made AUIS feel like a family.

Managing director of AUIS, Milo Pinckney, issued them a challenge of sorts at the White Coat ceremony last Saturday. In addition to encouraging them to excel and to be grateful for the opportunity extended by the Barbados Government in allowing them to relocate from St Maarten here, Pinckney told the new and continuing students they had to make him look good.

The Read brothers have willingly accepted the challenge. (YB)

39. Not PR David.
    This is BULL SHIT

Why does the Nation and Barbados Today not start presenting information to Barbadians as to how some Indians can come to our homeland and offer “free medical care and free drugs” and our Government officials would listen to them, especially when you consider that this was implemented under the BLP since September 1985?

Why are there three medical schools in Barbados and none have hired local doctors to teach at any of them.

AUB says it bought the BET COMPLEX to set up a hospital. Where will they get the nurses and medical staff…….or the patients?

Will we see advertisements for staff?

Neither the Nation and Barbados Today are doing any investigative journalism or asking serious questions

40. i have been able to get back into the WUB website and use ctrl and c to bring info about the prestigious medical staff at WUB

Whereas most BU FOLK ARe NOT DOCTORS, YOU OUGHT TO BE ABLE TO SIFT THROUGH THE RUBBISH BELOW, AND SEE IF THESE PEOPLE ARE SERIOUS, OR KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT MEDICAL EDUCATION
    TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK

As a professor of Washington University of Barbados, Angelic Forde holds the responsibility to teach courses in their subject area, develop an instructional plan (known as a course outline or syllabus) for the course(s) they teach and ensure that it meets college and department standards, conduct research and experiments to advance knowledge in their field as well assess students’ progress by grading papers, tests, and other work.
    Angelic Forde acknowledges lots of awards and membership, such as National Literary Bronze Awards for Poetry Manuscript for Limestone on My feet and poetry publication by the National Cultural Foundation-Barbados. She holds the membership of Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society. Carrying the skilled proficiency in Spanish, Angelic Forde accomplished the responsibility of the Supplemental English Instructor of Essex County College Learning Center, Newark, NJ. Previously, she was the intern- Group Therapy Assistant on Medallion Behavioural Health where she carried out multiple responsibilities, including assisting clients with art assignments assigned by art-therapist.
    Angelic Forde obtained the Bachelor of Arts from Rutgers University, Newark, NJ. She actualized the role of Associate of Science in Psychology from Essex Country College, Newark, NJ. She pursued the role of math tutor of Urban Issues Institute, in Newark, NJ. Today, she is the mainspring of Washington University of Barbados.

======
    As a Medical Director of Physiology, Dr. Thomas Thomas holds the responsibility of taking lectures and practical classes for Medical students and other responsibilities as in the Department in therespective subjects.
    Professor Thomas Thomas holds the MD degree in Basic Science from The University of Sint Eustatius School of Medicine. He accomplished his Clinical MD from All Saints University School of Medicine; Commonwealth of Dominica. He accomplished his Bachelor of Homeopathic Medicine and Surgery from JSPS Government Homeopathic Medical College in Hyderabad, India.Alongwith the proficiency of multiple languages such as English, Hindi, Telugu and Malayalam, Thomas Thomas achieved the licensure of MCCEE and USMLE step 1.

Thomas Thomas holds the spectacular Laboratory and Research skill such as Specimen handling, prescription verification, data entry and so many more along with the proficiency of emergency patient management, CPR, operating Cardiac Fibrillation, Injury Management, etc. Carrying the administrative and organizational skill along with the research and teaching aptitude; Thomas Thomas is the fortitude of Washington University of Barbados.

======

Dr. Kandamaran Krishnamurthy obtains MBBS from Stanley Medical College, (June 1995) The Tamil Nadu Dr.MGR Medical University, Chennai, India. He also accomplishes MD in Paediatric from Sri Ramachandra Medical College & ;( June 2002) Deemed University, Chennai. India. Carrying the objectives to develop Pediatric Intensive Care services in the Caribbean and improve academic environment in paediatric critical care by teaching and research; Dr. Kandamaran Krishnamurthy is the essential transverse of Washington University of Barbados.
    Dr. Kandamaran Krishnamurthy holds the extensive experience as Consultant PICU from Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Barbados. He is the Associate Lecturer in Child Health from The University of West Indies and he was Consultant Paediatrician at ARS Medicae. Previously, he was the Fellow in Paediatric Critical Care in Cambridge University Hospital, NHS, UK. He also carries the wide range of experience as Senior Registrar & Chief resident in Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Barbados.
    Dr. Kandamaran Krishnamurthy accomplished the Clinical fellowship from Cambridge University Hospital NHS trust Addenbrooke’s Hospital, UK in December 2011.He carried the astounding Clinical Experience from Cambridge University Hospital, in UK, Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Barbados. He is National Anti-doping Executive Committee Member.

======
    Dr. Shruti Surwade holds the extensive experience of 6 years in the field of Aesthetic medicine and more than 2 years as a Trainer in BOTOX and Dermal Fillers. She has performed over 5000 procedures in injectable alone excluding other dermato-surgical and laser procedures.
    Dr.Shruti Surwade accomplishes the role of Consultant Medical Advisor in Allergan Medical Institute. She trained more than 400 aesthetic physicians and conducted individual and group training at various Skin and Aesthetic Clinics on basics and advanced indications of Botox and Fillers using various injection techniques. Previously, she accomplished the role of aesthetic and laser physician. There she actualized multiple activities like diagnosing and management of various skin/hair/nail diseases on an everyday basis, responsibilities of conducting skin analysis camps at the hospital to educate and spread awareness about the various anti-aging and cosmetic treatments available these days. She carried through the role of Consultant Dermatologist, in Kaya Siddhi Skin Clinic, Pune, and Senior Consultant Dermatologist, Enhance Clinics, Bandra, Mumbai. She received the honour of Fellowship from National Skin Center, Singapore. At first, she was the blogger in Zuri.in where she wrote various articles related to Dermatology and Cosmetology.

Dr. Shruti Surwade received Masters in Aesthetic Medicine (MSc) from Queen Mary, University of London. She accomplished her Post Graduate Diploma in Clinical Dermatology (PGDipCD) from Queen Mary, University of London and Dermatologic Surgery & General Dermatology Fellowship Programme from National Skin Centre, Singapore. She completed her MBBS from St. John’s Medical College, Bangalore. Thereafter she achieved her Diploma in Aesthetic Laser Medicine (DALM) from University of Greifswald, Germany.
    Dr. Shruti Surwade is the significant strength of Washington University of Barbados. WUB is proud to get her as an indispensable teaching contrivance.

======
    Ms.Lynn P.Morgan holds the instrumental experience in training and transforming the mindset of mediocrity that often times permeates the youth. She holds Master of Education with a specialization in Educational Leadership (distinction) from the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus. The Caribbean Examination Council has honoured her for her general proficiency of English Language, English Literature, Mathematics, History Typewriting, Principles of Business, Principles of Accounts, Food and Nutrition Office, Procedures General Paper – G.C.E A’ Level Examinations, 1994 Associate Degree in Liberal Arts 1994 History, Politics and Government.

Ms. Lynn P. Morgan is in the professional development of the Ministry of Education from April 2001 as well External Marker with Caribbean Examination Council (BSSEE – Mathematics). Lynn P. Morgan conducted lots of seminars on leadership and worship leading for in House Assembly Ministries in Barbados. He holds the awards such as Second runner-up, National Toastmaster Evaluation Speech Contest – 2016.She holds the responsibility of event planner and Coordinator of national and regional Youth Retreats with In House Assembly Ministries.
    Ms. Lynn P. Morgan has pervasive knowledge on working software such as Microsoft Windows® and DOS, Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher & SPSS. Ms.Lynn. P. Morgan is an expert motivator who believes that motivation is the catalyzing ingredient for every successful innovator. She is the guest lecturer and inspiring, engaging, passionate and indispensable component of WUB.

======
    Dr. Madhavi holds 20 years of vast experience in teaching field. She did her BHMS (CCH), MSc in Psychology. She has the responsibility of planning, evaluate, and revise curriculum, course content, and course materials and methods of instruction. She maintains student attendance records, grades, and other required records. She advises students on academic and vocational curriculum, and on other career issues.

======
    Dr. Tarun Handa is the professor of Washington University of Barbados. He accomplished MD in clinical resident department in O.O bogomolets national medical university Kyiv Ukraine.
    Pharmacology is the kind of medical science that tells the studies of drug action. His prime responsibility includes to classify a drug into natural, manmade thing that exerts a physiological effect on cells, tissues and organs. Undoubtedly, Dr. Tarun Hands is an asset of Washington University of Barbados.

======
    Dr. Sinja Sharma is the professor of Washington University of Barbados. She has an extensive level of teaching experience. She worked as a Teaching Assistant (TA) in Patan Academy of Health Sciences to medical students in Internal Medicine. Sinja Sharma is also involved in teaching and training Bachelor in Nursing students and Auxiliary Health. Sinja Sharma is responsible for teaching, researching and strategic planning of the department of Physiology at Washington University of Barbados, School of Medicine. Previously she took the fundamental part of the regular monitoring of patients in Diagnostic Imaging and Research Center, Lazimpat, Kathmandu. Apart from performing major duties of patients, Dr. Sinja Sharma has the special skills such as CVP line placement/ femoral catheter placement, intubations and establishing, ventilator support, tube thoracostomy. She also participated in one day Free Health Camp which is organized by Rotaract Club of Jawalakhel, Lalitpur. She had the proficiency of Pre-round and morning investigations, including ABGs, Admitting patients from ER, Ward or Hemodialysis. She performed the Counselling and Awareness programs OPD and mobile health camps in small villages, in and around Kathmandu. She completed her schooling from Galaxy Public High School, Gyaneshwar. She has the severe knowledge / proficiency of many languages such as Nepali (Mother Tongue), English and Hindi (High Fluency), Chinese, Mandarin (Working Knowledge).
    Dr. Sinja Sharma did her MBBS in Shenyang Medical College in China. She completed her high school education (11th and 12th grade) from Xavier Academy, Lazimpat, in Kathmandu. She worked as a Medical Officer in the Department of Internal Medicine and Department of Intensive Care Unit (ICU) in Patan Hospital, Lalitpur, and Kathmandu, Nepal. She also did Regular Monitoring of Patients in Diagnostic Imaging and Research Center, Lazimpat, Kathmandu. She worked in Karuna Shechen Clinic and Hospice, Kathmandu and Ishan Children and Women’s’ Hospital, Basundhara, Kathmandu. Previously, she has working experience of Teaching Assistant (TA) in Patan Academy of Health Sciences to medical students in Internal Medicine. She was also involved in teaching and training bachelor in Auxiliary health workers in Nepal. Today, Sinja Sharma is the asset and one of the main vertical of Washington University of Barbados: School of medicine.

======
    Bharath Kumar Puranam is a valuable asset of Washington University of Barbados. He is the University Topper in Mechanical Engineering – Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Anantapur. Having the strength of flexibility and adaptability, Bharat Kumar Puranam is a researcher, professor, valuable team mover and builder thriving for growth in the domains of research and technology.
    Bharath Kumar Puranam is a Bachelor of Engineering & Technology in Mechanical Engineering from Mother Theresa Institute of Engineering & Technology, Palamaner. MTIET is built on the spirited commitment and passion to impart quality education to the rural and remote student aspirants of technical education. MTIET is one of the seven centres of excellence established by the Holy Cross Educational Society. He is a scholar who passed out with 88.53% of marks in B.E. He did his intermediate in Sainatha Junior College, Palamaner with 97.9% of marks. His secondary education is completed with 91.6% of marks.
    Bharath Kumar Puranam is Assistant Professor of Mathematics & Physics and Pre-medical Program Coordinator in Washington University of Barbados, School of Medicine, Barbados, and West Indies.
    Bharath Kumar Puranam is specialized with programming languages such as C, Basics of C++& JAVA along with the mechanical design packages such as SOLIDWORKS, AUTOCAD, PRO-E, ANSYS BASICS. He is a Gold Medallist for being the University Topper in Mechanical Engineering – Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Anantapur. Apart from this, he presented Paper On “Nanotechnology in Military and Defence Technologies” at JNTUA College of Engineering, Pulivendula. He presented Paper On “Smart Materials, Adaptive Structures & Intelligent Systems “at JNTUA College of Engineering, Anantapur & He Got 3rd Place in This Event. He attended Workshop On “Computational Fluid Dynamics” at MTIET, Palamaner. He attended &coordinated workshop on “Automotive Design and Analysis” at MTIET, Palamaner and got All India 2nd Place in Finals which is held at IIT Madras.
    Washington University of Barbados is proud to have Bharath Kumar Puranam as an asset to the university.

======

Dr. Rojeet Shrestha is a professor of Washington University of Barbados. Dr. Rojeet Shrestha has vitalizing academic and works record. Previously,he worked in Faculty of Health Sciences, Graduate School of Health Sciences, Hokkaido University, and Sapporo, Japan.
    Rojeet Shrestha is a Post–Graduate fellow of Graduate School of Health Sciences, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan in 2015. He did his research on Therapeutic monitoring of MCT in Triglyceride deposit cardioMyo vasculopathy clinical trial as well analytical approach for the measurement of lipid hydro peroxides and medium-chain fatty acids: Emerging lipids in human health and nutrition. He did his Masters of Science, on Clinical Biochemistry from Institute of Medicine, Tribhuvan University Teaching Hospital, and Maharajgunj with distinction with top rank. He also did his Bachelor of Science, Laboratory Medicine with distinction.
    Rojeet Shrestha was the assistant professor of Health Sciences, Graduate School of Health Sciences, Hokkaido University, and Sapporo, Japan. He also worked as lecturer at Nepal Medical College and Teaching Hospital, in Jorpati, Kathmandu, Nepal. He was the Clinical Chemist of Medicare National Hospital & Research Centre, in Kathmandu, Nepal too. He accomplished the role of Visiting Faculty/ Teacher of Clinical Biochemistry. Apart from this, he accomplished the role of a medical technologist, clinical laboratory scientist, and laboratory supervisor. He published many articles such as “Hepatic involvement with elevated liver enzymes” in Nepalese subjects with type 2 diabetes mellitus. International Journal of Biochemistry Research & Review, Identification of molecular species of oxidized triglyceride in plasma and its distribution in a lipoprotein. Clinical Chemistry & Laboratory Medicine 2015; 53(11) and much more. He holds multiple awards and accreditation such as “IFCC-Young Investigator Award 2017”, “The Young Scientist Award”, “Young Scientist Investigator Travel Award”, “2016 Abstract Award for Outstanding Research in Lipoproteins and Vascular Diseases”, “AACC Division Award for Excellence in Research” and so much more. Rojeet Shrestha is the upstanding vertical of Washington University of Barbados; School of Medicine.

======
    Akinchan Kafle is the Assistant Professor in the Department of Clinical Anatomy. He did his MBBS from Tribhuvan University, Institute of Medicine, Maharajgunj Medical Campus. He did his M.S in Clinical Anatomy in Tribhuvan University. Institute of Medicine, Maharajgunj Medical Campus.
    Dr. Akinchan Kafle is renowned for Problem based learning training program organized by Patan Academy of Health Science. He did the Thesis Title “Anatomic Variations of the Right Hepatic Duct: Results and Surgical implication from a Cadaveric dissection’’. He has done in revision peer review in the journal article. It is “Anatomic Variations of the Right Hepatic Duct: Results and Surgical implication from a cadaveric dissection”. He has an extensive knowledge of Clinical Anatomy. Previously he was a lecturer, tutor and the assistant professor of Clinical Anatomy.
    He also has an active participation on community field diagnosis on Knowledge, Attitude and Practices in different health problems in Sankos VDC 2004 Family Health Exercise: Impact of environment on Family Health 2006 District Health Management Project. He has an academic experience as lecturer in Clinical Anatomy, School of Medicine in Patan Academy of Health Science.
    He has published the book such as “Medical illustrations published in Death and Deduction” A Reasoned Approach to Forensic Pathology, A. Jay Chapman, 2007, printed in Kathmandu, Nepal. Washington University of Barbados is proud to have Akinchan Kafle as the major part of the institution. His future aim is to join Plastination training programs as well educate and train for dissection and palatinate the models for layman education to the university level professional education.

41. David

Hmmm…..I wish I could share some of these articles on some face book sites……can you put them on your timeline and let me share them around.

42. YES VINCENT
    THE BAJAN PUBLIC BOTH LOCALLY AND IN THE DIASPORA NEEDS TO UNDERSTAND THE IGNORANCE OF THE DLP IN NOT SUPERVISING THESE BOGUS MEDICAL SCHOOLS

IS IT TRUE THAT SOME BOGUS MEDICAL SCHOOLS ARE KNOWN TO BE INVOLVED IN MONEY LAUNDERING

43. @Vincent

Unfortunately there is no share button on comments but here is a workaround.

Copy the first paragraph or two of the comment step 1;
    and then offer the mouse pointer over the date of the comment and right click, then copy link step 2;
    this provides the link to the particular comment.

You an test it here to see if it works for you.

44. About 700 students and staff from the American University of the Caribbean Medical School were located to Preston in Lancashire within nine days from St Maarten. It now seems as if they have been integrated in to UK medical training. Is tis in order, or is something wrong?

45. David

As my daughter says I am a computer dinosaur or duffus…….just put them on your fb as you do the others and I will place them on the sites as I am accustomed doing.

46. @Vincent

That is work/time (will try). The other postings are updated automaticly.

On Sun, Oct 8, 2017 at 2:55 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

47. RE About 700 students and staff from the American University of the Caribbean Medical School were located to Preston in Lancashire within nine days from St Maarten. It now seems as if they have been integrated in to UK medical training. Is tis in order, or is something wrong?

WHEREAS THEY HAVE BEEN LOCATED TO LANCASHIRE, THEY ARE IN NO WAY INTEGRATED INTO UK MEDICAL TRAINING.

THEY HAD TO LOCATE SOMEWHERE,OTHER THAN THE USA BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT REGISTERING ANY MORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE USA. THAT IS WHY THERE ARE OFFSHORE AMERICAN TYPE MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE FIRST PLACE.

THESE 700 STUDENTS WILL DO THEIR BASIC SCIENCES FOR TWO YEARS IN THE UK………AND THEN THEY WILL RETURN TO THE USA TO DO THEIR CLINICAL TRAINING, AND SO FINISH THEIR STUDIES…………UNLESS BRITISH HOSPITALS START CHARGING THEM TO DO THEIR CLINICAL TRAINING IN THEIR HOSPITALS……………AS IS THE CASE IN US HOSPITALS.
    THIS IS ALSO A LUCRATIVE BUSYNESS

48. Now t hat we have established that to open a medical school in Barbados does not require the approval of the authorities and does not have to meet local medical registration requirements, would the same principle apply to other professional groups. For example, how about an offshore law school, even if it does not meet the regulatory requirements of local legal education and accreditation?
    What is to prevent a British Law School in Barbados from opening (with accreditation from a UK institution), with its own teachers, etc, exactly similar to the management and framework of the medical schools?

49. THE QUESTION HERE IS “IS THERE A NEED TO DO THIS” AS EXISTS WITH RESPECT TO OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOL

OFFSHORE AMERICAN TYPE MEDICAL SCHOOLS EXIST BECAUSE
    -1. OF THE RELATIVE SCARCITY OF PLACES FOR MEDICAL EDUCATION IN THE STATES
    -2 OF THE INCREASING DESIRE OF INDIANS AND AFRICANS TO USE THEM AS A STEPPING STONE TO WORK IN MEDICINE IN THE USA

50. The opportunity to reach the US maybe what is driving individuals who sign up, but the principle of establishing the schools should apply across the board.
    I ask because a few years ago, after the completion of ISO 22222, which covers personal finance and which I had a small part in, I brought two of the UK representatives down to Barbados with the expressed intention of establishing a Caricom-wide school of finance, which was to be accredited by a UK awarding body.
    We had a series of meetings with the Central Bank, BIBA, the accountants trade body and the Accreditation Council. (In the blistering heat of Barbados I wore a T-shirt to one or two of the meetings which was not well received).
    The talks went well, although people were reluctant to make any decisions. At the time we were told that a German University was in discussion with the UWI to establish a similar body.
    I was also aware that other bodies, including the US-based CFI Institute, were aiming to spread their wings to the Caribbean and South America.
    My intention was simple|: if we had a training body with globally recognised qualifications, it would be a magnet for European and US finance companies looking to offshore.
    Eventually the talks died a natural death. It was a lost opportunity. But in reality, using the principle of the medical schools, the guys could have gone ahead and opened the school of finance without having these discussions.