Submitted by Dr. Roland Clarke

The Government of Barbados is divesting itself of the Transport Board primarily to reduce the significant financial burden on public finances caused by the state-owned enterprise’s (SOE) long history of losses, and to move the government’s role from operator to regulator. [1, 2]

KEY REASONS FOR THE DIVESTMENT 

Fiscal Burden: 

The Transport Board, like other SOEs, has historically received substantial government transfers, amounting to a significant percentage of the country’s GDP, which has been deemed unsustainable.

Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) Program: 

The move is in alignment with the government’s economic recovery program, which places pressure on SOEs to reduce subsidies and move toward cost recovery or privatization.

Efficiency Concerns: 

The state-owned system has struggled with efficiency for decades, including an insufficient bus fleet and ongoing management challenges.

Shift to a Regulatory Model: 

The proposed plan involves creating a new regulatory body, the Barbados Mass Transit Authority, while the operation of buses is transferred to private operators, including former employees. This allows the government to focus on regulation and standards rather than day-to-day operations.

Economic Enfranchisement: 

A key component of the proposal is the opportunity for former Transport Board workers to purchase buses, including the existing fleet of electric buses, at a discount, thereby giving them a chance at ownership and participation in the private sector. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

CONSIDERATIONS 

The government plans to continue providing some subsidies for specific services, such as for schoolchildren and pensioners, under the new regulated framework. 

The decision has sparked public debate and discussions with unions are ongoing. [1, 5, 6]

QUALITATIVE ECONOMIC ANALYSIS OF PLAN

Economic analysis of the Barbados Transport Board’s divestment plan highlights potential benefits like reduced government spending on subsidies and improved efficiency, but also notes significant risks, particularly the financial burden of expensive electric buses on new, potentially small operators. 

Another analysis points out the challenge of valuing the board, suggesting the government sell it for its current market price, and that losses could be partially offset by dedicating a percentage of those former subsidies to private transporters for social transport needs. 

The plan is part of a broader government strategy to reform state-owned enterprises, which has a track record of positive outcomes in some sectors like fiscal consolidation. [7, 8, 9]

POTENTIAL ECONOMIC BENEFITS 

Reduced Government Spending: 

Divesting the board could lower the government’s financial burden by eliminating the need for subsidies to the Transport Board.

Increased Efficiency: 

A privatized system with owner-operators may become more efficient and less susceptible to political interference.

Improved Fiscal Management: 

Divestment is part of a larger effort to reduce state-owned enterprise transfers, which has contributed to a stronger public finance outturn in the past. [8, 9, 10]

POTENTIAL ECONOMIC RISKS AND CHALLENGES 

Financial Risk for New Operators: 

The high cost of electric buses, which are expensive assets, poses a significant risk for former employees turned entrepreneurs who may lack the capital to manage cash flow problems or breakdowns.

Valuation Difficulties: 

It is challenging to assign a fair price to the Transport Board, particularly when audited financial data is lacking, making it a “major gamble” for investors.

Equity and Access Concerns: 

Some bus routes are profitable, while others are not. Ensuring access to service on unprofitable routes, and determining who covers the cost, remains a risk.

Transition Costs: 

The plan could involve severing all Transport Board workers, which raises questions about how their severance packages and benefits will be managed. [7, 8, 11]

BROADER ECONOMIC CONTEXT 

Part of a Larger Reform Strategy: 

The Transport Board’s divestment is one of many reforms the government is undertaking to reduce its role in the economy and shift toward public-private partnerships.

Positive Economic Trajectory: 

Despite the challenges, the Barbados economy is currently on a positive growth trajectory, which could support the transition to a new model.

Focus on Specific Sectors: 

The plan is aligned with the Government’s broader economic goals of reducing fiscal deficits and enhancing competitiveness in key sectors like tourism and international business. [8, 9, 12, 13, 14]

REFERENCES 

[1] https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/11/18/mass-transport-plan-needs-careful-thought/amp/

[2] https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/05/28/pm-mulls-ai-privatisation-in-public-transport-overhaul/

[3] https://nationnews.com/2025/11/15/ministry-bwu-to-meet/

[4] https://barbadosunderground.net/2025/11/14/is-the-transport-board-for-sale/

[5] https://nationnews.com/2025/11/19/minister-confirms-plan-to-divest/

[6] https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/11/11/psv-owners-urge-faster-talks-on-mass-transit-plans

[7] https://barbadosunderground.net/2025/11/14/is-the-transport-board-for-sale/

[8] https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/11/18/mass-transport-plan-needs-careful-thought/

[9] https://www.imf.org/-/media/Files/Publications/CR/2018/cr18290.ashx

[10] https://www.caribank.org/publications-and-resources/resource-library/economic-reviews/country-economic-review-2018-barbados

[11] https://www.facebook.com/dlpbarbados/videos/transport-board-divestment-a-concerning-agreement/2653675584969426/

[12] https://www.investbarbados.org/whats_happening/barbados-economy-maintains-positive-trajectory/

[13] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economy_of_Barbados

[14] https://www.elibrary.imf.org/view/journals/002/2004/154/article-A001-en.xml

______

NB: All references attributed to Google AI

62 responses to “Barbados Transport Board being divested”

1. The truth is and has always been that Barbados is as committed to the IMF and neoliberalism regardless of the undertaker down the road dey so planing their coffin boards.

Otherwise this writer is so fucking tired of reading these kinds of acceptable logics. For those who continue to write in these vacuous ways though highly acceptable to the local elites and the internationalist types have become so denuded of meaning that the emptiness represented is painful even when unread.

2. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

Really the “rub” in the proposal is what is listed under “POTENTIAL ECONOMIC RISKS AND CHALLENGES”. That is why i don’t see a one driver a bus situation. In fact it would be a safe bet that private operators will buy most of these electric buses. I’m also uncertain if that part of the proposal( to sell off the buses) is attractive enough to enough private owners. I agree though that divesting this part of the TB operations if done PROPERLY and COMPETENTLY can help govt better provide mass transit to the masses

3. @Disgusting…

What is your reference point to suggest divestiture will be better? Is the PSV sector regulated by the Transport Authority? The TAP is integrated to certain routes but has it delivered? We need concrete measures to use as a basis for informed discussion. We wait the outcome of meetings with Sir Roy and who from government?

4. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@DavidBU this is part of the proposal I think is vague. Dr Clarke and Artax (in the other post) posited that the BMTA may operate more like the TA. The TA doesn’t own vehicles it just regulates PSVs. It doesn’t, for example, strictly tell what times each PSV plies their licensed route. The TB owns vehicles and strictly dictates route servicing of TAP vehicles. The TB, for example dictates that Chalky Mount will get a service every two hours up until 12am if not by a TB bus then by a TAP vehicle. For the proposal to work my interpretation is that the BMTA MUST inherit the strict route scheduling for TAP vehicles as under the TB. If not it would be worse than privatizing the TB. It would be dissolving the Board AND totally privatizing Mass Transit. It would not just be DIVESTING the operations. To use the young people vernacular “STUDY IT!!!!!”

The BMTA would no longer own buses, will continue controlling TAP vehicles route servicing & regulating both TAP and PSVs.

5. So @DLPTV …you ACTUALLY think that because some BMTA says that a bus must go to Chalky Mount every two hours, some gullible private entrepreneur will happily execute that wish – independent of the economics?
    Bushie black belly busting wid laughter…

Clearly you have never run a business…

What a plan!!!
    The TB CANNOT successfully run a transport system themselves, – EVEN WITH RIDICULOUS STATE SUBSIDIES….
    However, these SAME clowns will now simply give instructions, and a wishy washy collection of investors, who actually have to pay taxes, and who receive NO subsidies – will make it all work… ??!!

Like Elite and Rocklyn did back in the 1960’s?

What ‘Alice in Wonderland’ stuff….!!

The ONLY thing that explains such thinking is;
    “Quos Deus vult perdere prius dementat”

6. @Disgusting

A prospective investor will want a guarantee for lost leading routes. On what basis would the calculation be done?

7. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

Bush Tea
    “November 21, 2025 at 9:24 pm
    So @DLPTV …you ACTUALLY think that because some BMTA says that a bus must go to Chalky Mount every two hours, some gullible private entrepreneur will happily execute that wish – independent of the economics?
    Bushie black belly busting wid laughter…

Clearly you have never run a business…”

But that is how the TAP system works under the TB!!!!!!!! You REALLY ENT READING OR UNNNERSTANING THIS TING YUH. ME AND ATRAX TRYING TO TEACH YOU SAIN AND IT ENT GETTING THROUGH YUH HARD HEAD!!!!!! YOU FAVORITE SUBJECT AT SCHOOL WAS LUNCH????

The PSVs work differently and as you illustrated the TA DOES NOT dictate strict route timing. PSVs literally work as they like but only on their licensed routes!!!!!! As Artax pointed out, TAP vehicles legally can work any route but that is to allow them to fill holes in TB scheduling. TAP vehicles would have to be CONTRACTED by the TB to perform that function. We note that TAP vehicle operators complain about late payments from govt i.e. payment outside of bus fare revenue!!!!!!! Also note that pensioners and school children in uniform do not pay fare on TAP vehicles but they are required to do so on regular ZRs and minivans. The proposal states that the BMTA would be the SUCCESSOR entity. It indicates some sort of continuation from the TB The proposal is formed in a way suggesting that of all the current TB employees, bus drivers will not be re-engaged by the BMTA i a direct sense.
    Do not confuse TAP vehicles and regular PSV even though both are privately owned. TAP vehicles operate under the UMBRELLA of the TB!!!!!.

November 22, 2025 at 1:18 am
    “A prospective investor will want a guarantee for lost leading routes. On what basis would the calculation be done?”

It would be helpful if someone with more intimate knowledge of the TAP arrangement could give some more detailed info.
    As Artax and I have pointed out, TAP vehicles are not fixed to any route in the same sense as PSVs. It would defeat the purpose of the TAP. I would think they would be assigned to multiple routes in such a way to offset “loss leading” routes i.e. routes that have less daily passenger traffic

8. @Disgusting…

You avoided the direct question, on what basis would a calculation be done given the financial state of the TB, an operation that is heavily subsidized and mismanaged?

9. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

I stated that someone with more intimate knowledge of the TAP system and really public mass transit in Barbados would have to give some info to help inform the discussion and answer your question. I cannot divulge what i don’t know. The financial state of the TB itself is irrelevant for PURPOSES OF THIS PROPOSAL as the TB is not being sold as a complete business entity to anyone. It is the buses that are being sold, all of the TB staff are being severed, the BMTA will continue the function of the TB minus directly employed buses and bus drivers. HOPEFULLY most of the current administrative and supervisory staff of the TB would be re-engaged under the BMTA.

10. This is the point, nobody in this space or elsewhere can therefore posit a definitive conclusion that the divestiture of parts of TB makes sense.

11. I beg to differ. There is quite alot of information the Transport Board will need to not only supply but guarantee a prospective buyer.

Firstly if I was buying an electric bus from them I would want to see the complete service history on the bus, as my offer will be based on that and the battery life left. They will also need to convince me enough charging stations are in place and working as well, so I don’t have to wait 6 hours in a line to charge my bus.

Secondly nobody with half a brain is going to buy a bus with the hope they will get enough work from the transport board to make it work. So either show me the load numbers per week for the route you are going to give me which WILL be part of the bus sale, or guarantee me a weekly figure if you sending me to Chalky Mount at 11am with 8 people in the bus in a TAP agreement.

You think the Indians who may have 10 buses going buy 1 more without knowing they have a route for it? No sir when they get the route sewed up it is THEN they going to buy bus 11.

12. What the Hell!! @ DLPTV
    How did you guess that Bushie’s favorite subject was lunch…?
    Tek 10 fuh dat!

…But nothing else that you are saying makes sense…
    If the TAP is working as you say, then the customer complaints from those areas that are currently served by TAP should reflect this success – ent it?
    Do they…???!!

And if TAP is going well, WHY NOT JUST EXPAND IT …and stop confusing the damn place with shiite talk about ill-conceived divestment..?

Are TAP rules and procedures not ALREADY in place?
    Is this TOO SIMPLE a strategy then?

Or are the TAP contractors being paid months behind like the young nurses, and having to borrow to finance this cash gap?

Why are you trying to defend the indefensible?
    Was this your idea??

13. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

Bush Tea
    November 22, 2025 at 2:53 pm
    “And if TAP is going well, WHY NOT JUST EXPAND IT …and stop confusing the damn place with shiite talk about ill-conceived divestment..?

This comment is all indication to me that you did not READ THE PROPSOSAL. The intention IS a maximum expansion of the TAP.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/08/14/transport-owners-seek-urgent-meeting-as-tap-operators-dwindle/#:~:text=Reset,the%20costs%20borne%20by%20owners.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/07/18/public-transport-reliability-hits-snags-amid-fleet-upgrades/#:~:text=Over%20the%20last%20five%20years,sourcing%20replacement%20parts%2C%20Holder%20revealed.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/29/tap-participants-want-to-talk-to-govt-about-pay/

I think we are a point where more specific info is needed to advance the discussion.

Re-reading Dr Clarke contribution there is misinterpretation of the proposal. The govt is not DIVESTING ITSELF OF THE TB. i.e. by selling it as a complete entity. As many people have stated, financial statements would be ABSOLUTELY NECCESSARY for that to be even close to successful. At any rate i believe the TB is unsellable. That would essentially be PRIVATSING the BOARD and totally PRIVATISING mass transit. The government is DIVESTING THE OPERATIONS of the board. It is a very big difference. MY UNDERSTANDING is that the government wants to dissolve the current board, severing all employees, offloading all the buses from its books VIA SALE, offloading all the drivers (and staff) as salaried employees. Then reconstituting the board with (what I hope) mostly the former management and supervisory staff under the BMTA as the SUCCESSOR ENTITY. In other words BMTA will be the replacement statutory corporation and not just a regulatory body retaining the scheduling function of the TB and the bill of sale of the current buses.

The BMTA by not having bus drivers and ownership of buses will be shedding the COSTS of operating, maintaining and repair of buses. The govt would not be purchasing buses. This is the DIVESTMENT OF OPERATIONS part of the proposal. the actual mass transit function will be fulfilled entirely by TAP vehicles. I am ASSUMING that the TAP system is still worthwhile as there are still private operators engaged by the TB. The entire PROPOSAL hinges on that fact. The govt will be using state funds to entice more private operators under the TAP.

The beauty of the plan is that mass transit will be less crippled by bus repair and maintenance. If an operator’s vehicle is down the BMTA could engage another operator in short order. They wont have to deal with the purchase, importation and registration of buses or deal with parts purchase etc. Also the buses do not have to be sold quickly. The more buses sold the greater the reduction of operational costs to government over time.

14. @ DLPTV
    Boss
    When you were engaged to come up with this shiite plan, did you at ANY point consider the repercussions from the perspectives of the potential new unit owners?
    …Or were you ONLY tasked to satisfy the Government’s IMF loan commitment?
    …Like with the BAMC ‘divestment’?
    Cause these seem very similar…

15. What is the compelling reason for TB employees to invest in what has the earned reputation as a loss making enterprise? PSVs ‘survive’ because they can cherrypick and be creative. Too many unknowns for a humble TB employee or employees to play Russian roulette with their financial future.

16. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

It is only a proposal. Unfortunately it calls for the severance of all TB staff. The buying of buses by staff is not mandatory. I guess after the last DLP administration the board is now placed in extraordinary turmoil with no bus purchases. This govt have been buying and donated buses and still cannot bring up the route servicing level. Over the years the TB operations has been culled in someway, the severance of conductors, the divestment of workshop operations to UCAL and now probable divestment of the actual mass transit apparatus.

17. @ DL&P TV

It’s clear there is a blatant misapprehension of the TAP…… a misunderstanding of how the programme actually works.

The question, “If the TAP is working as you say, then the customer complaints from those areas that are currently served by TAP should reflect this success – ent it?,” CONFIRMS that misapprehension.

As you and I have repeatedly mentioned, TAP was conceptualised to augment TB’s fleet, and assist in providing transport services.

Owners of private +PSVs participating in the programme are NOT CONFINED to any SPECIFIC route, similarly to the ordinary ZRs and minibuses.

Therefore, one cannot ‘talk’ or ask about “customer complaints from those areas currently served by TAP,” since the participants can service ANY route as designated by the terminal supervisor, similarly to TB buses.

Any complaints would have to be directed to the Transport Board, especially if a particular destination does not receive service.

The proposal to divest TB’s bus service operations to former TB and TA employees is essentially an EXTENSION or EXPANSION of the TAP.

It’s simply a ‘shift’ of bus ownership, all working and operational expenses from the state to private owners.

18. @Artax

Do we know the track record of the Transport Authority when it comes to handling customer complaints?

19. “Do we know the track record of the Transport Authority when it comes to handling customer complaints?”

I don’t know.

20. It seems Jeremy Stephen has summarised concerns expressed in this space.

Dead cats with seats and moving

COLOUR ME UNSURPRISED. A document leak set ablaze the Barbadian political landscape two weekends ago. At first glance, I thought it was fake. Everything looked unusual – from the letterhead to the font used.

Yet, once I confirmed the veracity of the proposal to privatise the publicly managed bus system, I found it hard to anticipate anything other than total public backlash. The joke of it all is that I am as dispassionate about it as ever, simply because the indicators of its inevitability were laid bare since I was in primary school.

We were all victims of what’s called the dead cat strategy – an outrageous distraction used to divert public attention from the real issue. Such problems rarely disappear once “covered in dead cats” – sometimes not for generations. The recently released and remarkable documentary A Rock And A Hard Place by Chantelle S. Evelyn on YouTube exposes the worst kind of Dead Cat strategy in our society.

Ask yourself how many people were genuinely surprised by what that film revealed – yet every Barbadian knows, or knows intimately, a “parro”. We distract ourselves and even “celebrate” their antics rather than address the root causes of their trauma. And even then, we’d rather alienate them than confront the reality before us. Sadly, I expect another kind of dead cat strategy will soon be deployed to cry down – as indecent or inappropriate – what the film sought to expose to wider society.

Stakeholder meetings

The threat of privatising the Barbados Transport Board has loomed large since the early 1990s. I recall the issue resurfacing in 2008, a year after graduate school. There may have been other instances since, but they escape me. Somehow, we continue to believe that a Government which has struggled with its finances for all of my life could permanently free itself from the threat of privatisation, especially with the general stagnation of our economy.

As soon as the economy improves beyond marginally, we generally assume that its likelihood fades. Every ruling party has promised that this would never occur. More dead cats than the garbage bag can hold, I say.

Cabinet is expected to undertake a series of stakeholder meetings to discuss what this “privatisation” might look like. In truth, I see it more as an asset sale or divestment than a wholesale privatisation. The gist of the proposal seems to involve several key points: Closure of the Barbados Transport Board (which operates public buses) and the Barbados Transport Authority (the island’s regulator for ride-for-hire and public transport).

Formation of a new mass transit authority to assume regulatory functions.

Preferential access for former employees to purchase 121 electric buses at a 50 per cent discount, with severed drivers granted first right of refusal.

Remaining units to be opened for sale to the public.

Certain displaced staff to be absorbed into two Government-owned companies or incentivised private providers.

Financing to be made available through the new authority at two per cent interest, though the term of such a loan remains unclear A 50 per cent subsidy on the use of state-owned charging ports.

Government coverage of 25 per cent of the cost of replacement rechargeable batteries.

Let me state emphatically that I have immense issues with item seven, and every negative feeling I have about these proposals stems from it. Those batteries are costly, even if Government’s contribution reduces some of the ownership risk. Still, a glance at the latest financial statements of both the Authority and, especially, the Board shows how dependent they have been on central Government support. The Barbados Transport Board, for instance, cannot meet its revenue targets from bus fares or charters alone. Subsidies account for a large share of its income.

To be specific, the last available financial records (2009-2010) show the Board earning roughly $46.7 million in income, 75 per cent from fares. Operating expenditure was more than double that, at $97.7 million, resulting in losses of about $69 million.

Payroll alone consumed $44 million, and these losses had been rising for years. In essence, fare revenue covered barely a third of total costs. A break-even fare would have been around $7.50 – assuming Barbadians didn’t cut back their travel, which of course they would.

Much of that fleet has since been retired and replaced with the Chinese-granted electric buses we have come to know and enjoy – when the shocks work, that is. I assume this younger fleet reduced depreciation, but persistent losses likely required financing beyond the subsidy alone. In addition to a small annual grant of $750 000, government subsidies were last budgeted at $12.1 million, according to this fiscal year’s Approved Estimates.

These Estimates routinely understate the actual amount, as allocations often double in practice. This year’s figures, however, revealed an intent to reduce Government’s commitment to the state-owned enterprise (SOE) into the foreseeable future. One would not be wrong to think the debt situation at the Transport Board has begun to spiral and that Government now faces political limits on what it can do. I even doubt that another marginal increase in bus fares would have corrected the problem.

More burden than benefit

I am not suggesting that the Government should have raised fares then – nor that the new mass transit authority should now. But the tea leaves have long shown what we refused to see, distracted as we were by empty promises that ignored fiscal reality. The Transport Board had become more burden than benefit for a Government committed to reducing debt and improving efficiency and fiscal position.

The proposals, on paper, give severed drivers a raw deal. Many of them would rather not take on additional financial risk, given their personal circumstances.

The appeal of a public sector job lies in its stability, even if workers pursue other income streams privately. With discounted buses and subsidised loans, they might still struggle to turn a profit in a fare environment that remains politically frozen. They are inheriting a chronically loss-making SOE, burdened with years of accumulated debt.

It may be that Government expects efficiency gains once these new owners are made more accountable. To me, however, the true test lies in route allocation. Displaced drivers who take up the offer should be granted first rights to refusal on routes. But without an equitable route allocation, this investment becomes far less appealing to the wider public.

After all, these electric vehicles cost more than conventional options. I suspect that even the former drivers may have to yield to the aggressive driving culture already embedded in the public service vehicle sector in pursuit of profit – but I needn’t throw that dead cat into the discussion just yet.

Jeremy Stephen is an economist/financial analyst with extensive experience in private equity and economic consulting in Barbados and the region. Email economistfeedback@gmail.com

21. We struggle to regulate any thing in Barbados. Vechile registration should not be rocket science, it is done in every country of the world.
    BRA and BLA in bind over drivers having duplicate licence plates

DOUBLE TROUBLE

by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

A NUMBER OF MOTORISTS are unsuspectingly driving around without their vehicles being registered and with duplicate licence plates.

DAILY NATION investigations revealed that this problem may have resulted from a system instituted during the COVID-19 pandemic, where insurance companies were advised to submit the information on insured vehicles to the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA), who would then submit the information to the Barbados Licensing Authority (BLA).

However, while the insurers have been sending off the information as well as uploading it onto the BRA’s online portal, sources said many motorists have been discovering that their vehicles were not registered and that their licence numbers were being used by others.

When contacted, Gina Welch, administrator with the General Insurance Association of Barbados (GIAB), confirmed that it was an ongoing issue which insurance companies had been drawing to the attention of the association.

Submitting information

“The GIAB asked the insurance companies to submit the information to the BRA, so they’ve been submitting it annually, but it seems like something has gone wrong. The issue is a governmental issue and so unfortunately, outside of the fact that we do know that people have had the issue, we have recommended to our members to tell their underwriters to advise clients to take their documentation in – their cover notes and their certificates – to the BLA.”

Welch said when the situation was drawn to their attention, they issued a public notice last year advising people to do such.

However, one insurance executive noted that the issue was compounded when Government did away with the annual registration of road tax. “That is when we started to have several complaints from our clients,” he said.

One woman who has been affected said she recently discovered her vehicle had not been registered for the past five years and that another had her registration number.

“A friend of mine was using my vehicle and he parked next to a vehicle which had my licence number. He took the picture and sent it to me. I was shocked. I contacted my insurance and they told me that they had been sending off my information every year to the BRA, which was supposed to send it to the Licensing Authority. My insurance company gave me a letter to take to the Licensing Authority.”

The woman said she went to the BLA’s office in The Pine, St Michael, but the reception she got left her angry.

“I spoke to a supervisor and the first thing she allowed me to know was that I don’t own my licence number. She refused to look at the letter which the insurance company had given me. She looked into their system and told me that the last time my vehicle was registered was in 2019, and that I would have to pay the $425 to register my vehicle again and get a new registration number.”

The upset woman said she then spoke to family members and friends and advised them to check to see if their vehicles were registered. She said many of them found out they were not.

“One of my friends even found out that her vehicle has not been registered for ten years,” she said.

The DAILY NATION reached out to the BRA and was advised that it would not be responding to our queries.

However, in a statement, the BLA said it knew of the situation.

“The Barbados Licensing Authority is aware of reports from private vehicle owners who have observed their assigned licence plate number appearing on another vehicle. The Authority takes these reports seriously and is actively reviewing each matter.

“Vehicle owners who believe their registration number has been incorrectly associated with another vehicle, despite being in insurance compliance, are asked to submit a written statement to the Chief Licensing Officer as soon as possible. Owners should provide proof of insurance from 2020 to present to allow for proper investigation and, where required, reallocation of the affected number.”

The BLA pointed out that during the COVID-19 period, “both the BLA and the [BRA] implemented a streamlined renewal process that allowed insurance companies to submit insurance compliance information directly to the BRA on behalf of their clients. This temporary measure supported the continuation of essential services at a time when inperson operations were

restricted.” It added: “When a private vehicle owner renews their insurance policy, the insurance company is required to transmit that policy information to the BRA, which is then incorporated into the BLA’s licensing system. This data is used to verify insurance compliance and maintain accurate motor vehicle records, in keeping with Section 5(4) of the Road Traffic Act, which mandates annual registration.

“To help maintain accuracy and consistency during this period, the BRA had been collaborating with the General Insurance Association of Barbados, all general insurance companies, the BLA and the Barbados Police Service to improve data quality and timeliness.”

The BLA went on to state that in recent weeks, it has confirmed a limited number of duplicate registration plate numbers.

“The BLA continues to work closely with its stakeholders to ensure compliance and strengthen data submission practices.”

It listed the possible causes of duplicate plate numbers:

• Delayed transmission of insurance data during the COVID-19 period, which prevented updates to vehicle registrations and created an inaccurate pool of available numbers for reissue.

• Vehicles being off the road for extended periods (for example, due to mechanical issues) without notification to the BLA, resulting in the number being reallocated in accordance with Section 5(12), (13), and (14) of the Road Traffic Act.

• Individuals engaging in illegal activity, including deliberately duplicating registration numbers to place on uninsured or unregistered vehicles.

• Incomplete or delayed submissions of insurance renewal information from brokers and other agents to the BLA.

• When a persons sells a vehicle without removing the licence plate.

“At present, approximately 75 per cent of general insurance companies operating in Barbados are submitting policy data on a regular basis, and the BLA appreciates their cooperation. However, approximately 25 per cent of companies are still not providing timely updates, despite continued engagement. This gap affects the overall accuracy of the registration database,” it added.

22. Vehicle registration mess…
    The VERY LAST thing that should be done by BBs who cannot solve SIMPLE home problems, is to be flying bout the damn world, pushing their snouts into OTHER PEOPLE’s complex issues…
    It looks REAL foolish.

Charity BEGINS at home.
    BBs who can’t do basic algebra should NOT be getting into integral calculus.

BTW Boss… not pointing fingers at you…LOL
    But whatever became of the issue of the European high-end, stolen vehicles, that were resold in Brasbados?
    Did it turn out to be yet another ‘untouchable’ issue…?

What a place!

23. @Bush Tea

The matter is on COP Boyce’s desk right behind the police slapping incident on Kadooment Day couple years ago.

24. @Bush Tea

Do you recall when then Minister of a Transportation Michael Lashley promised to implement a state of the art system modeled on Bermuda? Maybe he will get the opportunity now as a BLP member.

25. BushTea
    Again I remind you of the Caves
    “The Barbados Transport Board, for instance, cannot meet its revenue targets from bus fares or charters alone. Subsidies account for a large share of its income”.
    This is how these public entities operate.
    And still the private operators skin their ass.

26. LOL
    @ David and NO
    SERIOUSLY!!
    Bushie DARES ANY of wunna offer ANY ALTERNATIVE explanation for the abject level of idiocy that has been displayed by the various governments of Barbados? ..other than the ‘curse’.

ONLY A SPIRITUAL CURSE can explain this level of FOLLY.

Only a curse can explain people like Lashes being ’news’, a joker whose main claim to fame has been the open sale of ZR licenses, and being the reliable advocate of murderers and felons.

Only a curse can explain how a ‘pussy grabber’ like Trump (or a biter), can SUBSEQUENTLY be elected to high office… What does this say about the PEOPLE ?(who always get what they deserve)

The DEATH of common sense has been aided and abetted by the folly and GREED of BB sheeple who aspired to the kind of easy ‘wealth’ that these FELONS appear to flaunt.
    This is why the private operators (many of whom are BRIBE MASTERS) skin their donkeys… while OURS are headed for the grass.
    Idiots are driving our bus.
    No wonder the TB is in a MESS…

What a state!!

27. “The matter is on COP Boyce’s desk”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    If Bushie’s recollections are accurate, this may explain everything….

What a place!!

28. Ralph Thorne admits a DLP government will not privatize aspects of the TB as currently proposed.

29. That was a positive session from Thorne.

Hopefully it will force some of our MINISTERS who are CURRENTLY ‘serving the BB public’ to make themselves similarly available to Ellis.

But not like the Minister of Agriculture who PUBLICLY admitted that he is NOT authorized to talk about sugar without Mascoll…

Perhaps DooShiite who always appears to be on a mission to facilitate some money mogul… can explain some of his idiotic schemes over the last years.

30. So when de owners clear/clean up the lots that got overgrown bush what will happen when there is another heavy rainfall / flood ?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/11/24/property-owners-to-face-fines-for-overgrown-bush/

31. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

November 24, 2025 at 1:03 pm
    “Ralph Thorne admits a DLP government will not privatize aspects of the TB as currently proposed.”

Mr. Thorne can admit what he likes!!!!!!. He as Opposition Leader of the DLP the party that held govt between 2008 to 2018 needs to answer the question. Why did they NOT buy any buses during that time????!!!!!!!. My educated guess is that they were driven into extinction on Planet Earth between 2008 – 2018. CHEEEWEEEEEE MR THORNE not even Lego buses wunna cud find then????, WE WANT ANSWERS MR THORNE!!!!!!!!!

The figures provided by Jeremy Stephen are not surprising at least to me. An operating loss of $69m in 2009 -10 is sobering since a relatively larger OPERATING fleet would have existed id the last diesel buses were bought in 2006, A year on year loss of that magnitude is horrifying and unsustainable.

32. @ DLPTV
    “Why did they NOT buy any buses during that time????!!!!!!!. “
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Simple!!
    No money, …and no loans available… due to downgrades by the albino-centrics.
    And we can’t buy busses with money printed at the Central Bank.

But buy shiite!!

Did the BLP REALLY ‘buy’ busses? or were these ‘brought’ by the IMF / IDB / Chinese?
    And what has been our REAL cost of this largesse by international financial pirates?
    Loss of sovereignty?
    Are we not now back to the MASSA days, where our LENDERS are the new plantocracy.
    Tek care we don’t end up walking the plank…

If we had WISE and INTELLIGENT leadership at ANY point, our TB would have been serviced with some of those YELLOW busses that are LOCALLY assembled, and designed for OUR roads.

This would save Forex, create PRODUCTIVE employment and possible EXPORT markets, and drive a unique transport CULTURE for Barbados.

BTW
    Thorne is right about TB being MUCH TOO SOCIALLY IMPORTANT to be privatized. HOWEVER he is weak on the CRITICAL FACT, that it is also MUCH too important to be MISMANAGED by jokers.
    All our lawyers / politicians seem to think that HIGH QUALITY MANAGEMENT is a luck and chance matter.
    …while IT IS ACTUALLY A SCIENCE.

Where there is no vision…

33. “Ralph Thorne admits a DLP government will not privatize aspects of the TB as currently proposed.”

Did Thorne articulate any policy proposals for the Transport Board?

This Transport Board issue runs much deeper than Ralph Thorne’s political posturing…… taking a stance on the situation purely for political advantage.

I’ve read on the DLP’s facebook page that, “Since 2013, #DLPBARBADOS warned Barbadians about BLP plans to sell/privatize the Transport Board.”

An honest, objective, comprehensive analysis of TB’s operations under successive BLP and DLP administrations, would indicate that, although both political parties contributed to the dire financial position of the Board, the DEMS track record has been abysmal.

In 2006, TB purchased 65 Mercedes Benz T270R Marcopolo Torino omnibuses, with Allison Transmissions. The previous DLP administration did not purchase any omnibuses during their ten (10) year tenure, preferring instead to purchase five (5) small coaches, some of which are rusting out at Weymouth, and in rural district across Barbados.

At least 200 operational buses are required by TB, to provide the public with a reliable and efficient service on a daily basis.

The 2019 TB special audit revealed that the average monthly bus availability was 163 in April 2015.

We had a situation where, in March 2016, TB contracted the services of a Trinidadian consultant, David Bartholomew, on a six-month contract at over $20,000 per month (according to media reports), to repair defective buses, and to achieve the objective of increasing the fleet availability to a minimum of 200 buses by November 2016.

In July 2017, then Transport Minister, Michael Lashley “vigorously defended the work of” defended the work of Bartholomew, while Transport Authority was issuing PSV permits to all and sundry.

However, in November 2017, Lynda Holder, the Transport Board’s Marketing and Corporate Communications Manager, admitted 125 buses were off the road, and bus availability decreased to 65 per day.
    The 2019 special audit also revealed that, “At the 12th October, 2018, the Board had a fleet of two hundred and seventy-one (271) buses. However, a significant number of these buses, one hundred and ninety (190), were out of service.”

Some time during August 2018, TB reported that 27 buses were repaired, thereby increasing the fleet availability from 65 per day, to 92.

Perhaps someone should remind Mr. Thorne that REFUSING to PURCHASE omnibuses, or undertaking a COMPREHENSIVE MAINTENANCE and REPAIR PROGRAM for the existing fleet, while engaging in an OVER ISSUANCE of PSV permits, over the DLP’s ten (10) year, is tantamount to a ‘SYSTEMATIC PRIVATISATION’ of TB.

34. @Artax

It is political rhetoric, some of us are ‘impervious’ to it. He had a job to do.

35. “If we had WISE and INTELLIGENT leadership at ANY point, our TB would have been serviced with some of those YELLOW busses that are LOCALLY assembled, and designed for OUR roads.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With the exception of a few ISUZU trucks that were converted to minibuses, many of the ‘yellow vans’ are either HINO Road Runners or HINO Road Rangers.

As I’ve mentioned in previous contributions, in 1997, twenty (20) HINO Road Runner minibuses, were purchased for TB, and fifteen (15) HINO Road Rangers in 2000.

A total of 35 minibuses, similar to the HINO minibuses used by private PSV operators, the bodies of which were also manufactured by ACME, and subsequently refurbished by L&N Inc.,…… ACME’s successor.

Whereas the private PSV owners have been able to maintain and operate their HINOs over several years, unfortunately, TB has been UNABLE to do so.

I’ve also alluded to the fact that TB has a problem with maintenance and repairs, which is primarily responsible for the significant reduction in its fleet, thereby impacting on the number of buses available for service on a daily basis.

For example, the refusal to stock parts, despite knowing the frequency of repairs for particular buses. This ultimately leads to the scrapping of buses to maintain other buses on the road.

The 2019 special audit also revealed the Board was not adhering to the lubrication and maintenance procedures as recommended by the omnibus manufacturers, or its own standard operating policies.

36. @Atax

The PAC investigation chaired by Atherley exposed another issue, one of incompetents involved in procurement and obvious malfeasance. Unfortunately per usual, the PAC was unable to hold anyone accountable.

37. RE: “Why did they NOT buy any buses during that time????!!!!!!!”

DL&P TV

Some time during 2014, former TB chairman, Anthony Wiltshire, said the Board planned to buy 110 buses, comprising 40 small and 70 large buses, and published notices inviting expressions of interest to supply that number.

They purchased approximately five (5) small coaches.

TB’s annual report for FY ended March 31, 2007, indicated the total number of buses were 308, when compared with 240 recorded for FY 2006…. an increase of 68 buses over the period.

I’ve read contributions in which the authors suggested government should ‘go the route’ of converting diesel engine buses to electrically powered vehicles, similar to the decommissioned TB Mercedes-Benz Busscar Urbannus unit that was converted by Endless Electric Ltd.

I understand the conversion cost was between $800,000 and $900,000, with future conversions projected to be $600,000.

The initial plan was to convert over 100 derelict TB buses. Unfortunately, the prototype bus has been off the road for several months. 

38. @Artax

Another subculture has emerged due to the mass transit issues. Many young people now prioritize buying a car, which has led to various problems facing the country. Who will address these issues asked in a rhetorical‘voice’?

39. “Another subculture has emerged due to the mass transit issues.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not only due to the ‘mass transit issues’, …but ALSO caused by the IDIOTIC and CHAOTIC National Energy Policy rollout, being done by inexperienced jokers – who have NO IDEA of what they are about.

For example, the ‘plan’ to convert to ‘more efficient’ electric and hybrid vehicles has been YET ANOTHER MESS UP.
    Reduced taxes and other incentives have led to THOUSANDS of additional vehicles being imported… with NO PLAN for the many thousands of gas vehicles ALREADY here.
    The national fuel bill has INCREASED!
    Car loans have EXPLODED!
    Traffic jams are ROUTINE!
    WHY…??
    1 – ‘electric’ vehicles largely use electricity that is generated by FOSSIL FUEL at the electric company.
    2 – Car loans are about the MOST UNPRODUCTIVE forms of debt imaginable for citizens, and for the country as a whole. ONLY the importers (and tax collectors) benefit.
    3 – When owners change to electric / hybrid, their old gasoline cars are sold cheaply to others, who would otherwise have used mass transport, or shared a ride.

Net Result!
    Increased road use
    Increased pressure on the already inept Licensing Authority and BRA
    Increased foreign debt
    Increased fossil fuel use
    Increased poverty, as limited funds are MISUSED by those who can least afford it

How was this not PREDICTABLE? …and hence PREVENTABLE?

Oh Wait!
    That would require good, COMPETENT management, and we ain’t about dat!
    We are too busy sharing the ‘fatted calf’

What a joke!

40. @Bush Tea

A few others are benefiting as well that you omitted – lending institutions must be making a mint AND the vehicle parts shops – many owned by Indians.

41. “Many young people now prioritize buying a car……”

We’ve had a similar discussion a few months ago, when an idiot, who insinuated he/she is an expert on who qualify as ‘young people,’ ‘came out of the woodwork’ to refute that fact.

Unfortunately, in this forum, it’s not what is ‘said,’ it’s all about WHO ‘said it.’

Nowadays, many of the new car sales outlets are associated with finance companies. For example, Inchcape & Simpson Finance; Courtesy Garage & SigniaGlobe Finance; ANSA Motors Barbados & ANSA Merchant Bank Barbados (formerly Consolidated Finance Co. Ltd.).

Those finance companies, in addition to the credit unions, offer prospective car owners some very generous loan repayment and interest terms of up to 8 years, as well as 100% financing, thereby making purchasing a vehicle much easier than years ago.

And, to make matters worse, several used car outlets ‘keep surfacing,’ providing more options.
    I’m sure you’ve realised there isn’t anywhere in Barbados you can go without seeing someone selling cars.

I shudder to think of the gridlock, especially during peak hours, if all those vehicles are sold.

42. @Artax

Have you factored those individuals – without a store front- that trade in used cars as a business?

43. EVERYTHING IS A MESS!!!
    …and yet we continue merrily on the SAME SHIITE path following the cursed…

At the peril (pleasure? 🙂 ) of invoking Pacha’s wrath, …this reminds Bushie of the period when Moses asked nicely for the people of God to be set free of their bondage in Egypt…

Would you believe that after flies, frogs, St Lucy-like water, sargassum, Covid19, and flooding, that BB Pharaoh STILL continue with the SAME SHIITE??
    This is how a CURSE works…
    “His heart was hardened…”, and in all ended with God’s people being set free, and with death and chaos among the cursed.

Wunna keep on minding we Pharaoh…!

44. @ David

Yes, I “factored those individuals.”

That’s why I mentioned one could hardly go anywhere in Barbados without seeing someone selling vehicles.

And, there are also those persons who would import a ‘one or two’ car to sell, or even for their personal use.

The Nissan Note and Kicks have become extremely popular in Barbados, perhaps replacing the Suzuki Swift.

A Customs Broker friend of mine told me a 2024 Note, for example, which some people are selling for $66,000, can be imported for approximately US$15,974 or BD$30,000.

The Indians are importing vehicles and selling them MUCH CHEAPER than their competitors.
    Also, don’t forget they are into car parts as well.

45. @Artax

You are correct. The Knicks and Notes can be bought for between 40k and 55k based on the year.

46. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

Artax
    November 25, 2025 at 6:03 am
    “I’ve read contributions in which the authors suggested government should ‘go the route’ of converting diesel engine buses to electrically powered vehicles, similar to the decommissioned TB Mercedes-Benz Busscar Urbannus unit that was converted by Endless Electric Ltd.
    I understand the conversion cost was between $800,000 and $900,000, with future conversions projected to be $600,000.
    The initial plan was to convert over 100 derelict TB buses. Unfortunately, the prototype bus has been off the road for several months.”

From memory the conversion was an interesting but very expensive project. The conversion cost is more than the cost to acquire an electric bus from China. With China’s EV production exploding over the past 5 years or so, am sure EV manufacturing and battery replacement cost will tank over the next 10 years or so. Converting diesel buses in Bdos may only be practical cost wise I estimate in the next 10 years.

47. Very likely a bad idea. Very likely to make things worse for those of us completely dependent on public transportation. It seems that the bus fares collected are not enough. But do we need to provide “free” transportation to school children? Or is that political foolishness? Back in the day 1960’s and 1970’s at one time my parents had 7 children at school AT THE SAME TIME, and there were no “free” busfares, and only my father had paid work. Do elders need “free” busfares when even though only a few get the non-contributory pension of $230 BDS per week, most in fact get a NIS pension, some twice or more that amount, and can likely afford to pay their own busfares out of that for the few times a month they NEED to go out.
    Of course this will make our current traffic horrors a lot worse as more and more people will feel the need to buy a car in order to try [vainly] to get to work in reasonable time. I blame the dead Owen Arthur for some of this. His foolish talk about everybody should be able to have a little car at the door. At the time I said to myself “that is exactly where it will have to be” because more and more cars will increase the traffic horrors and people will spend a lot of time on the road going nowhere. But maybe Owen whom I know from when he was a boy in short pants [as distinct from a boy in the yard] was “channelling” the billionaire class, not we the citizen commuters.
    I wonder what our public transport system would like like if much of the money spent on private cars, private gas, private insurance, private repairs was instead spent on the most robust, most efficient bus system in the world.
    But we have fallen in love with cars, and divorce is always painful.

48. @DLPTV Novermber 23rd at 5:04 PM “The beauty of the plan is that mass transit will be less crippled by bus repair and maintenance. If an operator’s vehicle is down the BMTA could engage another operator in short order”

I don’t understand this. Please explain. Will a spare operator will be sitting at home with an empty vehicle just hoping for a call?

49. @Artax November 23, 2025 at 9:44 am “It’s simply a ‘shift’ of bus ownership, all working and operational expenses from the state to private owners.”

So if the infinitely deep pocket of the state can’t bear the operational expenses, how will the poor rakey private owners manage?

50. BushTea

“For example, the ‘plan’ to convert to ‘more efficient’ electric and hybrid vehicles has been YET ANOTHER MESS UP. Reduced taxes and other incentives have led to THOUSANDS of additional vehicles being imported… with NO PLAN for the many thousands of gas vehicles ALREADY here. The national fuel bill has INCREASED! Car loans have EXPLODED! Traffic jams are ROUTINE”

———————————————————————

The fuel import bill for 2026 is actually down by over $250M. Has the volume decreased or just the cost? Is there less demand due to the much maligned ‘pay as you drive’ fuel tax (which may be changing driving habits) and the increased number of hybrid/electric vehicles? Transitioning from gas/diesel to electric etc will always lead to cheaper pre-owned gas/diesel vehicles on the market initially. Go read the BNEP before believing there is no plan.