Submitted buy The Inked Blade

OPINION | LAND, CLASS & EQUITY IN BARBADOS

In the lush hills of St. John, the land is speaking … but it’s not speaking to the average Barbadian.

Instead, it whispers through full-page advertisements in national newspapers, calling for bidders to lease plantations like Todds, Wakefield, Clifton Hall, and Hothersal, prime agricultural properties once tied to Barbados’ colonial economy, now available to the highest bidder under terms that effectively exclude the very people most in need of opportunity.

A recent ad published in the Nation (July 9, 2025) lists multiple plantations for lease in St.John, one of the island’s most fertile and underdeveloped parishes. But there’s a catch: no listed price, no public lease terms, no criteria for inclusion-just the fine print that interested parties must submit sealed proposals with financial offers.

Advertisement for leasing agricultural properties in St. John, Barbados, including details on various plantations with acreage and terms for submitting proposals.

Let’s call this what it is: a quiet auction for the privileged. A modern-day plantation rebranding that pretends to be about opportunity but is, in practice, a coded gatekeeping mechanism.

Who gets to bid? Who can offer up-front investment at scale, propose full agro-tourism or commercial developments, and sit at the table with government agencies and trust boards? Not the average Barbadian farmer. Not the Black cooperative. Not the smallholder with a vision but no connections.

Plantations for Lease, But Not for Us

We have seen this before. Whether at Society Plantation, still overgrown, crawling with cow itch, a haven for rodents and criminal elements, right next door to a secondary school that  could  benefit immensely from agricultural training and community-based learning. Instead, the site sits abandoned, its overgrowth symbolic of everything wrong with land governance in Barbados.

And what of the recently concluded We Gathering in St. John? What pride can we claim when the very lands tied to our history  and  survival  remain an embarrassment; overrun and unmanaged? What message do we send to the next  generation looking across the road at a rotting legacy?

As the Barbadian poet Kamau Brathwaite once wrote:

“The sun’s going down /on the same canefield/ same  silence.” That silence now feels like complicity.

George Lamming said: “The architecture of colonialism was not just physical but mental.” And this architecture remains intact when access is denied, opportunity is auctioned, and development is dictated by wealth.

The Urban Enclosure: Pierhead and the Disappearance of the Public

In Bridgetown, the Pierhead Marina development stands as another testament to exclusion. Promoted as a symbol of national renewal, it has instead become a fortress for the elite.

What was meant to be an open waterfront, accessible to all Barbadians, is now   dominated by private yachts, elite condos, and concrete walls. The boardwalk, once envisioned as a cultural artery, has become a gated abstraction.

Where are the public markets?  The youth centers? The promised integration of heritage and modernity. Instead, access is cutoff, and the public is left to peer through fences at what was once theirs.

And to add insult to injury, the very companies executing these elite projects are often owned or heavily influenced by the descendants of the same plantation class that benefited from Barbados’ slave economy. Their names persist on contracts, on building sites, on policy boards ensuring that the nation continues to be built by and for the few.

What of the Poor? Forgotten, Again

The HOPE Project promised housing and empowerment. It delivered scandal and neglect.

Funding meant to transform communities vanished into consultancy fees and administrative limbo. Empty lots and unfinished home now dot our landscape, monuments to bureaucratic failure and broken promises.

Meanwhile, the average Barbadian continues to dream of land, home, and legacy but is denied by a system that elevates connections over community.

A Nation at the Crossroads

This isn’t just about leases or developments, it’s about who we are, and who we want to be. The systemic exclusion of Black, working-class Barbadians from land, ownership, and opportunity is not  an accident-it is a legacy perpetuated by silence and policy.

James Baldwin said it plainly:

“Anyone who has ever struggled with poverty knows how extremely expensive it is to be poor.” In Barbados, it is also expensive to dream.

The  Invisible  Hand  Still  Holds  the Pen

What is perhaps most insidious is that the decision-making power around these lands and developments remains entrenched in the hands of a modern- day gentry. Many of the boards tasked with  oversight and public trust today are quietly composed of  individuals from Barbados’ historic plantocracy, current plutocracy of the powerful and elite circles. Caucasian and most recent Indian  ethnicities, have  been able  to use their connections and influence to steer policies toward their friends, families, and business associates.

The average Black Barbadian, no matter how educated, experienced, or financially prepared, is too often kept at the gate, not for lack of merit, but for lack of lineage. These decisions are not just administrative, they are generationally damaging. Every bypassed opportunity, every sealed bid out of reach, every denied lease  is another door closed on Barbados’ future.

The result is a country eating itself from the inside. We distract ourselves by fighting on call-in programmes, defending political parties with allegiances so blind they border on worship. All the while, the true levers of control are  quietly  being  pulled, deals made, and  shifted, and futures decided without public voice or vote.

“The future will have no pity for those men who, possessing the exceptional privilege of being able to speak the words of truth…have taken refuge in an attitude of passivity, of mute indifference, and sometimes of cold complicity. Frantz Fanon

We  must  not  remain  mute.  We  must not let indifference become our inheritance.

Reclaiming the Nation from the Few

We must act now. We must:

1.  Demand public land lease pricing transparency, with published terms, eligibility, and community consultation.

2. Mandate that a portion of all government-leased  or managed land be reserved  for youth, women, and grassroots cooperatives, with staggered lease payments.

3. Establish a People’s Land Trust for smallholders, farmers, and eco-entrepreneurs to access land based on merit, not money.

4. Ensure that all major urban developments like Pierhead include public access guarantees, housing equity, and cultural preservation.

A Call to Conscience

Barbados is not just a brand or a beachfront—it is a birthright. And birthrights should not be auctioned.

If we continue to allow land—our most sacred  resource—to  be divided along class lines, we will become what our ancestors feared  most: a free nation built on fenced freedom.

Let the land speak again.  But let it speak to all of us.

90 responses to “A Nation of Walls”

1. Such traitorous and outrageous occurrences at this time in our history is only possible via demonic influences…
    We battle not against flesh and blood….

No rational, educated Bajan – who loves this country, and who is elected to SERVE the good interest of its citizens, and of FUTURE residents, could possible allow themselves to be manipulated in this way – BY THE CHILDREN OF THE VERY DEMONS that charted the Barbados Slave Code…. unless they are CURSED.

No wonder that our Senior Ministers are so secretive, elusive and combative.
    No wonder our PM can now only pontificate on shiite like global warming, reparations, and extorting funds from Tom, Dick and Xi…
    No wonder Government has nothing to say about the Sugar Industry initiative
    No wonder the promised report on HOPE turns out to be yet another LIE.. like NIS
    No wonder we cannot resolve Four Seasons, Clear Water, …etc etc

What a place… !!

Does anyone recall the time when the Global Demons IMPOSED leaders throughout Africa, who were characterized by:
    – Despotism
    – Bribery – and stealing State funds on a MASSIVE scale
    – Sexual deviancy
    – Blatant lying and dishonesty
    – Aggressive attitudes to their OWN people – but predisposed to serve others

…and has anyone noted the CHARACTERISTICS of the new leaders of the Albino-Centric world…? Most notably Sicko Trump…?
    Pick sense from dat!
    Karma is a female canine….

It is always so interesting how Barbados seems to fit so smugly into the albino-centric classification, ….just as we ALWAYS have since the days of the Slave Code.

What a time to be alive…
    …especially in Brassbados.

2. We Gatherin is but another distractions for those who live only for today and tomorrow.

3. The Inked Blade Avatar
    The Inked Blade

This was said exactly how it needs to be heard. We’ve built too many walls: class, race, access, privilege, and now we’re acting shocked when the country feels divided.

These walls weren’t accidental, and they’re not invisible. Until we’re ready to call them out and break them down, we’ll keep circling the same issues, generation after generation.

This piece was absolutely necessary.

4. In a related matter it is interesting to listen to strident statements to support the acquisition of 5 acres of land to support a roundabout build. It seems so wrong to sensible onlookers. Further, taxpayers will have to pay Barbados Farms and Four Square owners to acquire the land. So wrong!

5. The blogmaster has no issue with the we gatherin concept if the objective is to bring local communities close AND enhance relationship with the diaspora.

6. There is the development on the Pierhead mentioned- we seem to drive decisions solely on economic considerations. We need investment but it should be at the exclusion of Barbadians. For many years we have heard of the promise by the retired Coke tycoon and we have had to observe the manipulations and machinations since as it relates to development along the Hilton to Barbados Port corridor. What do we want our identity as a nation, as a people to be?

7. The Inked Blade Avatar
    The Inked Blade

I’ve been drawn to Orwell’s Animal Farm since 2008… started to feel too familiar n Barbados’ politi-scape.

The characters are us and the parallels are very literal.

We’ve been lulled…voluntarily might I add into a sweet-talking sleep. Sold the dream that “we’re all in this together,” while the “pigs” rewrite the commandments in real-time.

Remember when it was “four legs good, two legs bad”? That was easy to chant. Clear lines. Clear enemy. “Lost decade” “integrity legisation” “investigate & lock them up” “berth 9” “Mia cares” the list could go on…

But somewhere along the way, it shifted…“Four legs good, two legs better.” …. endless contracts and overseas jobs among other things given to the same very people we were told to “hate” the “two leggers” no legislation to address the touted corruption in the last decade… And we cheered.

We cheered even as we were pushed further down the food chain. Because repetition is a powerful drug, and when the pigs talk long enough, loud enough, most start believing.

We forget who built the windmill. Who broke their backs. Who froze in the fields. We forget because remembering means reckoning, and reckoning means responsibility, and most of us have been taught to fear that more than injustice.

Now we’re living in a nation of walls. Not just the concrete kind, but the invisible, insidious kind. Class. Skin. Residential addresses. Access. Influence. And just like on the farm, some animals are more equal than others…

So we walk around reciting half-truths dressed up as unity, fete after fete, liquor-ed up with false narrative, gluttoned by half truths, and laid in a bed of deceit…close to another whole decade later.

We get fed just enough to stay docile, scared just enough to stay obedient, and distracted just enough to stay divided. And all the while, the commandments change again…

“Access for all” becomes “Access for some.” “Transparency” becomes “Classified.”

The snake keeps circling, eating its self and we call it progress and we keep clapping.

And the farm? It thrives in silence

8. @The Inked Blade

What is happening today, didn’t begin yesterday. What we have is when cynical, apathetic behaviour reaches a tipping point that we become numb to our civic responsibilities as a people and the ‘king has no clothes’ mindset sets in for the long haul. Is there anything we can do to disrupt at this point? This is the 64k question.

9. @ David
    Our ‘leaders’ have been captured by the greedy forces whose NATURE is to pursue only material possessions.
    This is an EASY thing to do when such ‘jokers’ lead immoral, illegal and unethical lives.
    -If you accept a bribe for $100.00 for a personal favor then you literally ‘belong’ to the bribe-giver.
    -If you hob-nob with Epstein, or grab (or bite) felines, then ‘they’ can manipulate you – even to bomb Iran…
    So Imagine a case where ‘they’ gift you a property in exchange for a political favor, or for a multi-million dollar contract that you cannot even HOPE to fulfill.

It is why Caesar’s wife needed to be beyond reproach….

Without transparency, DARK FORCES will always rule.
    The forces of justice, fairness, integrity and PROGRESS will always REQUIRE that the light of transparency shines through.
    Righteousness (doing the right thing) has NO NEED for darkness or secrecy…
    What does THAT tell us about our own little country…?
    BTW…
    We Gatherin is just a distraction to keep Johnny muh boy and other political hangers-on distracted from the CARNAGE being executed in the dark… with land, contracts and consultancies…

What a place…

10. The Inked Blade Avatar
    The Inked Blade

There is no consideration for handing us invest in our own tourism industry. Nearly all ownership rests in overseas bodies and the power tests solely with them. There should be a caveat… non negotiable that a percentage is for local shareholder investment. In the same way, we were bamboozled and pressured into government BOSS bonds, they could push for the average Barbadian to buy/invest to be shareholders in its main resource, tourism. Only investment made is of breaking our people’s backs, their time and labour as the servants to service the guests in these modern-day plantation houses called the hospitality industry.

11. PIERHEAD DEVELOPMENT INC. was Incorporated on the 27-SEP-2000.

The above organisation was red flagged in the Paradise Papers exposure.

It would appear that thirty pieces of silver is a sufficient sum to abandon your own black people.

https://offshoreleaks.icij.org/nodes/100319108

12. The link below highlighted that this project was meant to be an exclusive enclave for the wealthy. The locals were written out of the picture.

It would appear that Mia was uncomfortable with this reality and asked for changes to be made.

What this story confirms is that Barbados remains on a doubling down path to carving up Barbados into zones of exclusion.

What we are witnessing in Barbados is similar to the events unfolding in Gaza and the West Bank in Israel where Barbados 90% African population is been herded into ever diminishing areas.

https://nvestestates.com/major-changes-unveiled-for-pierhead-development/

13. @TLSN

Your use of hyperbole knows no bounds. Perhaps all it is are lazy minded politicians, a disengaged citizenry and a lack of leadership converging to agree to go with the flow? You know what some say about money?

14. @David,
    Hyperbole!!!

Which Prime Minister said that they wanted Barbados to become the Monaco of the Caribbean.

Judging by all the white faces on display on the video this could become a reality.

15. @TLSN

Maybe the time has come and gone for non Whites (BLACKS) to have mobilized their resources to invest where their navel string buried instead spiriting most of it to accounts in Miami and Cayman. What goes around comes around.

16. We as a people are to blame for where we are and not a soul else! Every major business we have sold from BST, Simpson Motors, Collins Limited and the list goes on and on. We are now no more than employees to foreign owned companies as a result. Why is that you think?

Basically we are not investors or business people one may conclude. Truth is we have educated a bunch of lawyers and doctors over the last two decades, but few entrepreneurs who are willing to risk their money. Even if land was made available for sale to farmers few would take up their cash and risk it. We are a country of savers not investors. Billions on the bank and credit unions earning nothing while others take up their cash and invest in our island, while we watch and bitch over it. This may offend some but that sounds like a you problem and not my problem.

There is money in agriculture yet everytime it rains not a local tomoato or head of Bajan lettuce can be found for weeks after. Years ago this government was talking about building greenhouses for farmers to rent. Was one ever built and if so where? Added to all of the above, we have a young generation of entitled persons who believe they are OWED a nice lifestlye. They are a few exceptions to this mindset, but unfortunately not enough to turn this situation around. Most will hold as they say ” a piece of job” for fete money and a nice car loan, with little thought to their future or self employment.

That is our reality that few want to discuss or accept. Hence we will work for foreigners whiile more of our country slips away. As Errol Barrow said decades ago ” one day we will wake and find the island belongs to someone else.”

17. @John A

This is exactly it. We glamorized jobs and loans while letting ownership…land, business, legacy, slip through our hands. Now the plantations are back, just dressed up as gated estates and foreign trusts. The few Black Barbadians who do have the means and mindset to invest are being locked out. Not because they can’t, but because they don’t fit the mould set by white elites and their local lackies. So we stay spectators on land we once owned, watching it auctioned off, while clapping for the very people boxing us out. Tell me why in 2025, we can boast the development and progress of any kind in Barbados only with the contravting, ownership and investment of the white populace, local and foreign. The banks are controlled by whom? The boards and directorship and share registers’ names are very familiar within this hue of white. It’s high time we get mobilised to keep all governments accountable. In waiting for the displacement to start under the guise of development.

18. This is exactly it. We glamorized jobs and loans while letting ownership, land, business, legacy, slip through our hands. Now the plantations are back, just dressed up as gated estates and foreign trusts. The few Black Barbadians who do have the means and mindset to invest are being locked out. Not because they can’t, but because they don’t fit the mould set by white elites and their local lackies. So we stay spectators on land we once owned, watching it auctioned off, while clapping for the very people boxing us out like flies in a cup of milk.

19. ” one day we will wake and find the island belongs to someone else.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    So wait!!!
    Have you been asleep these last years @ John A…?
    But there are some pieces of silver knocking around though….

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TLSN
    When will bloggers learn, the Corporate Registry in Barbados (and other places), had their databases entered by unauthorized persons (hacked), and the entire contents of those databases, were reproduced by the ICIJ, under the names of various “Papers”.
    There is no red, blue or green flagging.
    All the information you linked, shows persons, serving as Directors or Corp Sec, most of whom were employed by Massy (formerly BS&T) who owned some, or all the lands, currently under development.
    It was current to the date of the hack. And included progressive information from the date an entity was incorporated to the date of the hack.
    They provide insight into what is not public information, at least for the plethora of private companies.
    The Barbadian dump tells us only about who was Director, or Corp Sec, and some registered addresses.
    Because databases are searchable, you can discover persons who were “professional directors”, holding hundreds over time. Or the companies the political class served as Directors, whether they owned them or not. Which lawyers specialise in offshore incorporations, both in Barbados or elsewhere. Etc

21. @ Bush Tea

My friend I been sitting here and watching it slip away. Truth is as a pensioner I am amased at how things have changed here value wise, over the last 2 decades or so. I remember when it was the hope of every Bajan to own a piece of the rock. That resulted in a strong and well invested middle class starting from the 1970s and coming forward. Today its all about impressing the friends with the younger generation. They prefer a new car with a 7 year loan, than a piece of land with the same 7 year loan. They would tell you ” nobody cant see de land.” So we have satisfaction before sacrifice for a long term gain.

That leaves us with the ” new” middle class renting and putting their money in fastly depreciating bling be it cars, expensive brand named stuff or travel. This means money goes through their hands for years with no appreciating assets left in old age. This is not a challengable point either, as the ” old people” in the 1970s worked for way les than these young ones, but their priorities were different. If they could not travel for 10 years or buy a new car, so as to buy a piece of property they made the sacrifice. It was a no brainer in those days.

If you break the above down it explains why we are way we are today, with most Bajans working for foreigners in foreign owned businesses. Sadly few wanted to make the sacrifice, or take the chance requried to do differently.

22. @ John A
    AMEN and amen!

…and with so-called ‘LEADERS’ having that IDENTICAL approach, who, rather than EDUCATE the BBs about thrift and productivity, championed the ‘mash up and beg back’ (or the “deconstruct and reconstruct” nonsense of a cliche)… the decline has been amplified.

As a fellow pensioner, the biblical advice to ‘let the dead bury their dead’ comes to mind….

What a MIS-guided place…

23. John A is correct.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

We too love to complain and call upon the Government.
    Admittedly, there is precedent, and July 9-25, is not a lot of time, for ‘comprehensive business plans’ Gives me the bad feels, deals may have already been struck, and this is merely so the owner can say it was offered.
    But am I being told that 50 like minded Bajans, cannot get together and lease say Wakefield, at 3 acres per share, with 50 acres to be sublet for say Sugar? You can then use all, or split as you see fit, the lands in your share.
    I’m not sure if P.A. means per acre, per annum, per acre/per annum or what.
    You form a group, the Wakefield Farmers Co-op, you get a plan of the lands, and you divide them, and price them, and offer them. Maybe you keep 1 acre for a Farmer’s Market, where all shareholders can sell produce.
    Or you going to wait for some Canadian or Brit, to propose a lease, and then bemoan all ah Buhbaydus getting buy up. And let them figure out how to sublet the lands, and profit cause we could not. We likes each other, but we doan like to wuk together, that is fuh de Indians and de lighter skin folks. We guvment shud be doing dis fuh we. Steupse.

25. @ Bush Tea

I agree with you, the education system has failed us to sum extent. You have people leaving school that cant even balance a cheque book, or know the real meaning of inflation.

Thing is we can not depend on our leaders to change this either as it would not benefit them. After all we are major consumers who pay VAT on all these “things” that make us happy. The new car, Tv, brand name pants, all seem to bring this new generation great joy. I was from a different time where being debt free as early as possible was our goal. True financial freedom and a 10 year old car, I will take every time as opposed to drivng a new Jaguar or Honda with a 7 year loan.

I have a theory that this generation for what ever reasons, is extremly insecure and babied. This has left them where they feel the need to impress others with what is visible. Our generation on the other hand was more concerned in what we could build for us as long term assets. Sacrifices we knew would have to be made and we made them. This generation is all about instant gratification and entitlement. Unless this changes the future here will continue along the same path and probably even worsten as time goes by.

26. The Inked Blade Avatar
    The Inked Blade

@NothernObserver

It’s not that we can’t come together…it’s that when we do, we’re shut out. I can find 50 Black Bajans this week with the money, vision, and will to lease and invest in land. That’s not the issue.

The real problem? Access is blocked. Information is withheld, RFPs go out under the radar, and layers of red tape are intentionally placed to frustrate and discourage progress. And it’s not foreigners or even the politicians doing it….it’s the ones in the offices who look just like us. The ones sitting on the boards. The gatekeepers in Town & Country Planning office and every other body that signs off on land, licensing, and development.

Let’s not pretend this is just about pooling resources. It’s about who’s allowed in. And as the PM herself said, talks are already “well underway.” Which means approvals already granted. We’re not waiting. We’re being excluded. Systematically. Quietly. And deliberately! That’s the big, long, fat, watery steupse!!!

27. The Inked Blade Avatar
    The Inked Blade

@NothernObserver

It’s not that we can’t come together…it’s that when we do, we’re shut out. I can find 50 Black Bajans this week with the money, vision, and will to lease and invest in land. That’s not the issue.

The real problem? Access is blocked. Information is withheld, RFPs go out under the radar, and layers of red tape are intentionally placed to frustrate and discourage progress. And it’s not foreigners or even the politicians doing it….it’s the ones in the offices who look just like us. The ones sitting on the boards. The gatekeepers in Town & Country Planning office and every other body that signs off on land, licensing, and development.

Let’s not pretend this is just about pooling resources. It’s about who’s allowed in. And as the PM herself said, talks are already “well underway.” Which means approvals already granted. We’re not waiting. We’re being excluded. Systematically. Quietly. And deliberately! That’s the big, long, fat, watery steupse!!!

28. Perhaps you don’t get the FULL picture @ NO…
    …and this would be because THIS truth is REALLY stranger than fiction….

Exactly how would the 50 ‘like-minded’ Bajans arrange the required bribes that are needed in grease… in order for ROUTINE PAPERWORK to flow…?
    1 – discuss and plan it openly among the group?
    2 – assign a ‘consultant’ who could spend the shareholders funds as they are minded – WITHOUT REPORTING?
    3 – create a separate fund for ‘contingencies and misc’ expenses?

Do you know that a SIMPLE letter can disappear for MONTHS – unless certain officials are properly motivated?
    …and even when the formalities are in place and publicly discussed, there is always a ‘Cabinet’ decision pending… more grease required…
    Shiite Boss, even when ELABORATE laws are PASSED in both House and Senate, YEARS can be needed before the Head of State proclaims these as Law …. sometimes NEVER…

You ain’t see how Bajans followed a certain SENIOR ministers PERSISTENT advice and invested MILLIONS in PV systems….
    When the shit hit the fan … he just moved to foreign….and they just sent another joker who is now encouraging us to now invest in batteries instead….

You all right yuh!
    You don’t need to stand back….
    …plus you have lots of old dollars that are available to buy ‘grease’ for the wheels of government bout here…

LOL… and YET you scratched off and run away to sanity…

Come and try on our shoes first Boss…
    Dum tight as shiite hear…!!

What a place!

29. @The Inked Blade

There is some credence to your reply to NO. It is not as straightforward to operate in an environment where power is institutionalized, supported by white collar corruption. When is the last time we had a white collar exposé of some significance in Barbados?

30. @David
    Who’s going to write this exposé? Not the HB pencil pushers in our so-called media houses…that much is clear. The narrative stays the same: “Black people can’t come together.” But that’s by design. We were taught there’s only one seat at the top, so instead of building more seats, we’re busy pulling down the ladder.

@BushTea said it right in their comment earlier…we sat in classrooms built to churn out workers, not owners. No financial literacy. No management tools. No entrepreneurial grounding. Just obedient minds for hire. Meanwhile, our less formally “educated” ancestors were out there building legacy, saving 3 cents out of five, securing land with blood, sweat and sacrifice… all to give us a shot they never had.

So yes, blame us if you want. But don’t forget…..many of us are still running a race that started 50 meters behind, barefoot, and exhausted just from reaching the starting line. Generational fatigue is real. Our DNA reads tired from centuries of holding on while others were grabbing, stealing, and stacking.

The game was never fair. Still isn’t. We’re still fighting…but while they fought to take, we’ve been fighting to keep. That’s two different battles with two very different outcomes!

31. I agree wath NO .
    Nothing beat a failure ….

Come up with the 50 or whatever numbers , make a submission and document/ make a vid and post on each stage and hurdle u come up against

32. What if I told you, I am intimately aware of the situations across 2 different sectors. Applications made in one scenario, all required documents submitted, time and labour, consultation and research yet no reasons close to 6 months in. Queries made to the entity in charge… no response. All the while TCP planning approved for another foreign and white entity to get their paperwork in order for compliance reasons. Still left in the dark regarding application. Sending scenario, blocked at TCP level and is now under the charge and ownership of a foreign and might I add for emphasis WHITE investor. Someone said earlier that the truth sounds like fiction because of how unbelievable it is… trust and believe. There’s more that can be said and that time will come in earnest…

33. @ NorthernObserver,
    I appreciate your reply. However, I would like to add that coming from the UK, you will find a robust approach to journalism. Our journalists like to investigate rather than take at face value the words of others.

The Panama Papers was a phenomenon. It created a synergy amongst international journalists to collaborate. The net results of these investigations opened the eyes of the masses as to the downright corrupt practices of companies and politicians whom operated within their countries’ jurisdictions.

I would ask our fourth estate to carry out their own investigations into this Pierhead project. We the people need the veil to be removed.

If you listen to this man, he clearly states that the sale of this plot comes with the beach. Domestic Bajans need to know what the hell is going on in their country.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=hh11LZhJb0Q

34. First/ final hurdle

July 25 was yesterday .

35. @TLSN

You continue to demonstrate a naïveté about these matters. We do not have an ‘independent’ or ‘protected’ fourth estate in Barbados. Their views are fashioned by the advertisers and the political directorate. At least in your neck of the woods there are media outlets owned by different interest groups in the country to create a check and balance.

36. @TLSN

Let’s get granular shall we?

The Nation newspaper is owned by OCM a T&T majority owned entity and the other, motive profit, Barbados Today is owned by businessman Peter Harris, he has his fingers in many pies and relies on government ‘arrangements’ to sustain his business model.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TIB
    I cannot help you with those concerns.
    I still believe you put forth a proposal, if farming is your thing. It maybe blocked after the fact, but you can still publicize the interest and proposal without letting all the cats out of the bag.

@Bushie
    The day I pay grease, is the day you can call Jenkins and have them get me.
    I moved my companies to St.L as CAIPO was a fecking nightmare. Had people tell me “skippa don’t feel special, that is how they treat everybody”, and then “to get anything out of them you have to know somebody”
    This returns to TIB comment about being frustrated by public employees.
    But, I DID something, I solved many issues at least for now.
    And because you are one that complains about the sell off to ferners, what you know but fail to consider, is the island races away people, with pathetically slow service, mountains of reports, frequent failure to respond to enquiries, and then blame the selling entity for lack of patriotism. A sell out.
    It seems the issues are an open book. But can’t do much cause the shoes tight as shite. A message, they’re only going to get tighter, unless, you begin reversing the tide.

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TLSN
    Good luck with local media entities. While I appreciate the revelations which came with ICIJ papers, a hack of the BRA would be more revealing? To besides Barbadians did little with the info. They knew all the senior public employees who were Directors of CBL, BU has covered it more than once, you think a single journalist followed up? They left it to a neighbouring Islander to own a scathing report.

As far as property, the back side up Parfitt Alley butts up with the Beach. Always has. Hence I’m unsure of your concern. I always knew the back lot had beach frontage.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@John2
    “Expression of Interest” and “comprehensive business plan” are two different ends of the spectrum.
    Put them together, and the smell gets pungent quickly.

40. IT IS BORDERING THE TWILIGHT HOURS – AFTER AN AWESOME SABBATH DAY OF REST, REGENERATION, RENASCENCE & REVIVIFICATION TO BE GREETED IN MY SOMNOLENCE TIMELINE WITH THIS HAUNTING, HISTORICAL ELDRITCH CONCEALED WITHIN THE BOWELS OF MY ANCESTORS PLIGHT – WHERE AFTER 400 YEARS OF TRANSMUTATION & TRANSMOGRIFICATION NOT A DAMN THING HAS CHANGED!!! THE ACTORS HAVE NOT CHANGED & THE GOD-DAMNED PLAYERS ARE STILL THE SAME

Why has the “COMPLEXION” of 2025th “BARBADOS not changed??? Why are the sons & daughters of “SLAVERS” & “NASTY SLAVE-OWNERS” still up in OUR faces??? Why are the progeny of our “ANCESTORS” being subjected to this same kind of malevolent “TYRANNY”???

AM I MISSING SOMETHING HERE???

Do any of these “FOOKERS” believe that they will be “ALIVE” in [10] years time??? Do they have “TIME” put down somewhere on a shelf???

It boggles my mind how “ARSE*-BACKWARD” #Humans are given their so-called intellectual propensity!!!

Before I get carried down river with a barrage of “INNUENDOS” & “CURSES” issuing forth from the deepest cauldrons of my vexed soul – let me put on my academic hat so I can callout the “FILTH” of these “DIRTY BASTERDS”!!!

Please allow me to posit a “PHILOSOPHICAL TREATISE” on this 400-year-old-*CURSE* that has not been broken off the necks, hands or feet of our people!!!

In 2025, “POLIETICAL PROSTITUTION” remains rife in Barbados with this speciously enduring entanglement with “FOREIGN CAPITAL” – despite [6] decades of poLIEtical independence, that showcases a profound paradox rooted in the interlocking “LOCI” & illegitimate, illegal legacies of “AFRIKAN” SLAVERY*, COLONIAL eCONomics, & the now, NEO-colonial power structures of “PREDATORY, WESTERN, VULTURE CAPITALISM” -“AN ALBATROSS AROUND THE NECKS OF SMALL, SLAVEHOLDING NATION STATES LIKE BARBADOS”!!!

This condition reflects not just a failure of sovereignty, but the predatory architecture of global capitalism itself – therefore allow me a little brevity to elucidate a philosophical “EXCAVATION” of this sordid dynamic & the “FALLOUT” (if & when, all this so-called “DEVELOPMENT” happens on that 2 x 4 island)!!!

#LetsBegin

Exhibit 1. The Unbroken Chain of Extraction

Plantocracy as Prototype – has been a tried & tested, well-oiled machine of “EXPLOITATION” that “MURDERED” both the living & the dead in a 400 year debacle that is nothing short of a “GENOCIDAL HOLOCAUST”!!!

DO THE SO-CALLED JEWS THINK THEY HAVE SOMETHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT

Barbados was the “WUHAN” laboratory for the British plantation model, where land, labor, & “SHORT” life were commodified for sugar production. This established a monocrop dependency that still distorts the economy. When tourism replaced sugar, it replicated the same “EXTRACTIVE LOGIC”: foreign-owned resorts, cruise lines, & banks capture “PROFITEERS”, while Barbados bears the costs (ENVIRONMENTAL DEGRADATION, & LOW WAGE SERVICE JOBS) & the “GLITTERATI” wonders why “MURDERS”, THEFT, & GANGBANGING IS SO RIFE!!!

Debt as Colonial Continuity, as a corollary of POST*-independence, “DEVELOPMENT” requires loans from former colonizers (UK/Europe) & later the IMF. Structural adjustments programs forced privatization, gutting state capacity. Today, China’s Belt & Road Initiative repeats this avaricious “DRAGON”, where loans for highways trap Barbados in debt, while Chinese firms monopolize construction & import labor, excluding the local workforce & somehow “SO-CALLED LEADERS CAN JUSTIFY THIS MADNESS”!!!

Exhibit 2. Psychological Colonization can only be aptly “TENDERED” as the “MIND AS THE LAST COLONY” – where internalized inferiority has become so commonplace that most “SO-CALLED LEADERS HAS MADE THE MASSES BELIEVE THAT THEIR SHYTE DON’T STINK TO HIGH HEAVENS” & yet the people seem to like its so. Centuries of “EXPLOITATION” & “ENSLAVEMENT” has taught that Blackness was synonymous with inferiority, while “PALESKINS” signaled competence!!!

This manifestation can be seen in leadership trust gaps where the local elites often favor foreign “expertise” over domestic innovation (e.g., hiring “BRITISH” consultants to redesign education while sidelining Bajan pedagogies)!!!

Then there is the rancid taste of “CONSUMER COLONIALISM”, where “BRAND” loyalty to imported goods (from Heinz ketchup to BMWs) undermines local industry, perpetuating the myth that “FOREIGN” = better”!!!

Then you have the “UNMANAGEABLE CURSE” of “PATRONAGE POLIETICS” where the colonial habit of trading loyalty for “SCRAPS” evolved into modern governance – with poLIEticians clinging to SOEs (State-Owned Enterprises) as tools for patronage -“OVERSTAFFED”, “PATENTLY INEFFICIENT”, but providing “VOTES” at election time, in a lecherously symbiotic “HOST & PREY” type scenario, that hangs like an ancient “GILDED CURSE” around the necks of “SUPPOSEDLY INTELLIGENT PEOPLE” – a condition that stifles entrepreneurship & reinforces pathopsychological dependency!!!

Exhibit 3. Neo-Colonial Gravity foments the inescapable “PULL OF CAPITAL TAX HAVEN TRAP” with the sole intent to attract foreign investment, where Barbados is marketed & “SOLD DOWN THE CARIBBEAN SEA” as a tax haven for (EVEN) dodgy, multinational corporations. While this may generate short-term revenue, it erodes sovereignty, while at the same time, international pressure from the (OECD, EU et al) forces tax reforms, stripping Barbados of a key revenue tool!!!

With such “DEEPENING INEQUALITY” – “OFFSHORE FINANCE STRUCTURES” enriches only (“ONE GROUP”) – foreign investors & their local elites, who are the “GUARD DOGS” that ensure the MASSES” stay in line – while 1/3 of Bajans live below the poverty line!!!

As seen last year (2024), “CLIMATE COLONIALISM” affects Barbados hugely – where such a small island emits 0.01% of global CO₂ while facing existential climate threats; “HURRICANE REPAIRS” requiring loans, deepening existing debt – while other polluting nations offer “AID” tied to contracts for their firms!!!

Exhibit 4. The (PSYCHO)Pathologies of “INDEPENDENCE” Without “REPARATIONS” is an “UNPAID DEBT”- given that Britain extracted £73 TRILLION* (adjusted) from Barbados (ALONE) via “ENSLAVED LABOR”. Yet independence came with “ZERO REPARATIONS”, forcing Barbados to borrow to build infrastructure stolen by colonialism!!!

Then there is the “BLATANT CURSE OF LEGAL MIMICRY”, where Barbados retained colonial-era laws (e.g., the 1992 Sexual Offences Act) & institutions (e.g., the Privy Council as final court until 2005). This preserved “EURO-ALBINO-CENTRIC” model of governance was ill-suited, ill-fated & illiterate to Afro-Caribbean realities!!!

Exhibit 5. Despite the chains, Barbados still exhibits a facade of fierce agency becoming a Republic (IN NAME ONLY), saw a “SYMBOLIC SEVERANCE” by removing Elizabeth as Queen in 2021, was a psychological breakthrough (OF SORTS), an assertion that “THE MASTER’S TOOLS WON’T DISMANTLE THE MASTER’S HOUSE”!!!

My #GyratingConclusion remonstrates with the noxious notion of a “DIALECTIC OF DEPENDENCY” that Barbados find itself in – where the plight embodies a global truth that poLIEtical independence without economic decolonization is simply – “CEREMONIAL WINDOW DRESSING”!!!

“BREAKING FREE” requires:

(a) Reparations as a Restart: Not charity, but capital to rebuild regenerative economies

(b) Community Capital: Redirecting tourism wealth to local cooperatives (e.g., fisher-owned resorts), and,

(c) South-Solidarity: Partnering with Jamaica, Ghana, etc., to create non-dollar trade blocs

To add another citation as the writer has already posited Frantz Fanon – he also warned: “Imperialism leaves behind germs of rot which we must clinically detect and remove.”

Barbados’ struggle is to clinically extract these germs – while refusing to become what it overthrew in its long 400-year-old march!!!

DO NOT BE LIKE THE MUSLIMS WHO TAKE OFF THEIR SHOES AT THE DOOR OF THE MOSQUE & ENTER IN TO A FORM OF SERVILE OBEISANCE OR THE CHRISTIANS WHO WEAR THEIR NICE SHOES INTO THE BUILDING BUT LEAVE THEIR BRAINS & COMMONSENSE AT THE DOOR

#HereEndsTodaysLesson

41. @Inked Blade “…and the public is left to peer through fences at what was once theirs.”

Except that it was never ours.

42. @John A “the ” new” middle class renting and putting their money in fastly depreciating bling be it cars, expensive brand named stuff or travel. This means money goes through their hands for years with no appreciating assets left in old age. This is not a challengable point either, as the ” old people” in the 1970s worked for way les than these young ones, but their priorities were different. If they could not travel for 10 years or buy a new car, so as to buy a piece of property they made the sacrifice.”

So true.

I saved and bought a piece of land in the late 70’s from money I earned working for $220 per month in the early 70’s. Built a house and paid off the mortgage in less than 20 years. Raised my children, did my duty to my elders. I’ve never owned a new car, and I don’t intend ever to own one [even though the boys of BU cuss me regularly as the ZR woman] But I don’t have to please the boys of BU nor my Instagram followers because I have zero Instagram followers.

But my doing is nothing. My grandmother born in 1879 and her sister born in 1968, and “yes” I checked their birth certificates in the Archives [30 years after slavery was abolished] put together and bought a piece of land well before the 1937 Uprising because neither of them wanted to live in squalor in the plantation N yard. All of my parents’ grandchildren, except for the youngest 2 who have both been in the full time work force for barely 5 years, including the difficult Covid19 times, own their own homes too. In this family we don’t do renting [for long] unless we are the landlords/landladies.

43. @Cuhdear Bajan

It was never technicaly “theirs” either for the way it is cobtrolled to this day so im not understanding the point you trying to make.

andddd your comment is not only historically false, its morally bankrupt tbh

The land was never rightfully the enslavers’. It was claimed through force cleared sadly by genocide of the indigenous kalinago people, and cultivated through the forced labour of enslaved Africans. Barbados if we must be reminded was built on stolen land and stolen lives and the descendants of those enslaved are still denied access to the wealth and land they created.

So by the standards of reparative justice, the people who worked, lived, and died on this land without compensation… and who were locked out of ownership for centuries are its rightful inheritors. Every inch of sugarcane profit came at the cost of Black suffering.

The british crown and planter class enriched themselves while passing nothing down but poverty and exclusion. To say “it was never ours” ignores many facts mainly that the land was seized, never earned…the labour was forced certainly not paid. So yes, “the public (( and this includes me and many others) peers through fences” we staring at stolen ground which was hoarded by the descendants of thieves…

44. This generation may be wastrels but they may already know something we oldsters do not understand.

Many of this young generation is set to inherit hundreds of thousand of dollars, or in some cases millions of dollars each because as the saying goes we cannot take anything with us to the place/places where we are going.

45. Mind you the price of land in Barbados has become ridiculous.

Back in my day a nice house spot was $9,651. BDS fairly easy to do even on modest wages.

Perhaps the young people just don’t want to spend $100,000 or $200,000 on a house spot, and who can blame them.

46. @Simple Simon

Did you read the submission?

47. The rich continuing to get richer.

$10M AIRPORT HOTEL

By Maria Bradshaw

mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

Construction magnate Mark Maloney is taking the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) to new heights with the building of an airport hotel.

Maloney told the Sunday Sun he has submitted plans to the Planning & Development Department (PDD) for the $10 million project and was awaiting approval. Once approval is granted, he said the hotel should be completed in 12 months.

It is being built exclusively for all commercial flight crews.

“It’s a new addition to our aviation business which has already set the standard in excellence,” Maloney said. “We will continue to add on additional services to meet the needs of the discerning client.”

The new hotel, which will carry the signature M logo, a prominent feature of the aviation business at the GAIA, is an extension of the joint venture M jet FBO (Fixed Based Operation) facility at the airport, which is a partnership developed in 2023 between Maloney and Universal Aviation.

The M jet FBO facility provides aviation services as well as a private jet facility for wealthy travellers.

Maloney said the split-level airport hotel would feature 25 rooms and employ 20.

“It will bring another level of amenity that doesn’t exist now,” he said, pointing out that the hotel would include a 24-hour laundry facility, dining, spa, urgent care, pool and car rental service.

This coincides with the services already provided by Mjet, which includes the private jet facility, ground handling, Customs, Immigration and port health along with a pet clearing facility.

Asked about possible clashes with the many construction projects under his belt, including the much anticipated Hyatt Zika Hotel at Bay Street, St Michael, Maloney said his company was expanding its development as well as its construction group to undertake these projects.

Back in 2023, Universal Aviation, the worldwide FBO and ground support division of Universal Weather and Aviation, Inc., announced it had expanded its presence in the Caribbean with a joint venture agreement with M Jet in Barbados at GAIA.

An FBO is an organisation granted the right by an airport to operate at the airport and provide aeronautical services such as fuelling, hangaring, tie-down and parking, aircraft rental, aircraft maintenance, flight instruction and similar services.

The M Jet facility includes a 3 200-sq-ft terminal with a passenger lounge, crew suite with private shower facilities and kitchenette, a 12-seat conference room, business centre, concierge and a pet relief area and inhouse Customs and Immigration. The FBO also possesses a private apron and 36 000 square feet of hangar space that can accommodate Boeing Business Jets and Airbus ACJ bizjets.

On June 18, as is required by the PDD, Maloney placed an advertisement in this newspaper announcing the submission of the application for the construction of the hotel at Lot 2B GAIA. It carried a 14day objection time frame.

48. Construction magnate Mark Maloney is taking the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) to new heights with the building of an airport hotel.

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

WAIT.

WASN’T SWEET AND SLICK TONGUE MIA MOTTLEY NOT PROMISED IF ELECTED WOULD LOCK UP THIS SCOUNDREL.

HOWEVER 7 YEARS ONWARD GETTING FATTER BY THE DAY.

POOR GULLIBLE BAJANS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

49. Please advise the blog by providing a link where Mottley promised to ‘lock up’ MAM2? The blogmaster recalls her saying that the work needed to be distributed to more players at a time it looked like he was demanding and being GIVEN all the major construction projects.

50. @David

I agree that no statements were made regarding “lock up” but it was implied. She came in swinging, talking big about transparency and rooting out corruption…Maloney’s name was up front front and centre as a symbol of everything wrong with the last administration. But fast forward, and it’s the same Mark Maloney collecting contracts, unchecked, and benefiting just as much, if not more, under her watch.

No arrests, no audits, no accountability. Just more deals, more silence, and more of the same nonsense she pretended to be above. She didn’t dismantle the system…she leaned right into it.