This morning, I delivered my first economic press conference for 2025, where I reported on Barbados’ 🇧🇧 economic performance in 2024 and the outlook for 2025 and into the medium-term. The main takeaways from the economic review are: 

1. 4% real economic growth in 2024, marking the third consecutive year of growth, driven by a 10.7% rise in visitor arrivals from 2023, fuelled by strong tourism performance.

2. Inflation moderated to 1.4% (moving average) by the end of the year.

3. The unemployment rate dropped to 7.1% by September 2024, down from 8.3% a year prior.

4. Gross international reserves reached a record high of $3.2B in December 2024, providing 31.2 weeks of import cover.

5. Government recorded a fiscal surplus of $224.8M (1.5% of GDP) and a primary surplus of $774.1M (5.3% of GDP) for the first nine months of FY2024/25.

6. The financial sector remains strong, with credit growth and a decline in non-performing loans across banks and finance companies.

Looking ahead, growth is projected at 3 percent in 2025, with tourism, construction, and business services continuing to lead. Investments in renewable energy and digital infrastructure will support long-term sustainability. While global risks persist, Barbados remains well-positioned with strong reserves, prudent policies, and ongoing reforms.

drkevingreenidge

95 responses to “2024 Economic Review – booming economy on the back of tourism”

1. @David When it comes to these things I always prefer to read detailed reports over the years, over watching new conferences.
    The good news that stands out in 2024 is that Babados accumulated $184 million bdd in Foreign Reserves despite Government taking on $416 milliion less in foreign debt than in 2023 and government resuming full foreing interest payments from the 2019 debt restructuring. Barbados’ external position might be more sustainable than some people believe.

2. @General

Accumulated forex reserves is a good number. Let us talk resiliency however, has anything fundamental change taken place with the economy post COVID?

3. @General

Care to respond to the following message received in BU’s inbox?

“Good day,
    I am hearing and reading that we are doing so well.
    How come we can not get any milk?
    – no chickens
    – no eggs
    Dont we have an agriculture minister and is he held accountable?
    – government workers not paid
    – tax returns not issued
    – NIS benefits not released
    and so on.
    Why do we not see a statement to these topics in the press?
    I everybody affraid of repercutions?”

4. @ David
    Bushie continues to be amazed that these people (economists -WETHTA) continue with these ridiculous measures to assess the performance of a National economy.

GDP is just a lotta shiite…
    It measures the GROSS economic activity of the country in dollars. ..DUH!!

This means that IDIOTIC actions, such as selling off vital national assets to wealthy foreigners, will IMPROVE that metric.

It means that EVEN THOUGHT THE RICH GETS RICHER, and the poor gets poorer, this ‘measure’ can be quite ‘positive’. …is THAT a positive thing?

It means that when there are inflation driven price rises – making the poor EVEN POORER, the GDP looks even better (measured in dollars)… WTH!!

GDP can ONLY be meaningful when put against real CRITICAL measures such as:
    – Number of citizens on welfare REDUCED from past year..
    – Number of persons paying income taxes… (gainfully productive)
    – Quality of emergency services such as QEH, police, fire etc
    – Reductions in crime – so residents feel safe
    – Quality of Education system- in supporting national development
    etc

Then we hear the nonsense about ‘unemployment numbers’ – where they ONLY count those who are ACTIVELY seeking employment as ‘unemployed’.
    Lotta shiite! What about those who GAVE UP in frustration?

ANYONE who is not gainfully employed (and paying taxes) should be classified as ‘unemployed’ – UNLESS retired, or of school age…. BECAUSE THEY ARE…!

Then there is this ‘magic’ of the CBB coming up with these impressive MACRO numbers, ..when we ALL know that the individual reports are a complete MESS…

No wonder the GoCBB can report every three months with his fairy tale figures, while we can’t hear a peep from the Auditor General… with the REAL story.

Steupsss…
    Every damn BB seems to be asleep bout here….

5. Bushie

For a man who never made claim to being knowlegable on economy yuh really ain’t buying the shiite cool aid which gives comfort to criminals like Mia Mottley and her chief micmic man at the CBoB.

An addition, and the well-credentialed clown at the CB should know that in a world soon to be governed by principles of industrial production, and not services which, in the case of the USA and Barbados tooooo, will for example, measure a financial transactions for one million dollars done ten times as ten million in added GDP, demonstrates why Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) is a far better rough measure of a real economy than GDP.

We estimate that were Batbados to so do, PPP would be less than half the amount of the lotta shiiiiiite this asshole at the CB talking bout.

Don’t fear, this scheme of Mr. Ponzi will soon unravel leaving Mia Mottley and her curators in Washington just as forgetable as the then much celebrated economics guru OSA.

6. BTW, Bushie

Do you know that GDP goes up when somebody dies. Even as future activity for such persons will end forever, in this realm at least!

We’ve had six deaths by murder alone so far this years, and while these would not have been included in the statistics presented, the record equalling numbers last year would have been, even as 6 times 12 equals 72 for this year, a plausible case could therefore be made that death itself is a driver of economy and GDP. LoL!

You may even contend that Mottley and Greenidge killing these people.

7. Greenidge: Crime can erode economic gains

CENTRAL BANK GOVERNOR Dr Kevin Greenidge wants everyone in Barbados to play a role in reducing crime, otherwise it could harm the economy.

He warned yesterday that while 2024 was a year of good news economically for Barbados, it could take one negative travel advisory from the United States or elsewhere for these gains to be eroded.

“One issuance of an adverse travel advisory to Barbados and crapaud smoke we pipe. Crime has to be the concern of everybody . . . so I think each of us has a part to play,” he said yesterday during a press conference at the Courtney Blackman Grande Salle.

“Crime has the potential to destroy everything. Look at Trinidad [with the] state of emergency, our sister country over there. Look at our brothers in Jamaica.

They [Jamaica] have done a lot of economic reforms . . . but they still have like a barrier to pass in terms of reforms going down because of the crime,” Greenidge noted.

“So anywhere you find crime it is going to destroy economic activity; there are no ifs and/or buts about that. So we all got to do our part in terms of keeping Barbados as a safe place to invest and a safe place to travel to, a safe place to come and live.”

He added: “We can’t run and go into the Blue Mountains because we don’t have no Blue Mountains. Are you going to St Andrew? Where are you going? It is a small country so we have got to get real. It is only one Barbados, only one rock we live upon. Crime will destroy us if it is not dealt with.”

Greenidge said he always felt proud when non-Barbadians told him they felt safe here and he used the example of the Welcome Stamp visa programme for remote workers as an example of the island’s attractiveness.

“Many Welcome Stampers are now owning homes . . . and if you want to maintain that, we have just got to deal with the crime issue and it is everybody’s business. It’s not [just] the police,” he said.

(SC)

8. Greenidge is talking shiiite in a week where DeepSeek, operating in the AI sector, having spent just 6 million dollars as opposed to the 500 billion given Elon Musk alone given by the American government, has caused a lost in stock value of ONE TRILLION on the financial markets by the seven largest Western listed technology companies. Again, the Chinese with their open sources artificial inteligence (AI) methods are upending the junk economics of the satraps, Mottley and Greeninge.

9. Wonder when a peón like Barbados would ever be like DeepSeek and not like Mottley or Greenidge.

10. About three or four years ago weeee heard Mia Mottley say that Barbados could be a hub for global shipping.

Weeee knew at the time she was talking shiiiite.

Now, that shiiite is well forgotten. Even as the truth this writer then knew was that it would have been the Mariel Port in Cuba which would have been the global regional hub in the multi-nodle, belt and road, connectivity, global corridor networks.

Barbados is a nation of would be lions being led by sheep!

11. Shouldn’t data collection have been implemented at the start of what was a ‘new’ and pioneering product?

“Central Bank to conduct study on Welcome Stamp
    The Central Bank of Barbados is set to launch a comprehensive study into the economic impact of the Barbados Welcome Stamp, a remote work visa programme that has attracted thousands of digital nomads since its inception at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic nearly five years ago.
    The programme establishes a visa to allow people to relocate and work remotely in Barbados for a maximum of 12 months, for a one-time fee, and can reapply at the end.
    While being unable to supply any figures, Central Bank Governor Dr Kevin Greenidge revealed to journalists that the bank will be working with the Barbados Tourism Marketing Incorporated (BTMI) and others to do an evaluation. Yet he maintained that the scheme had major economic spinoffs based on anecdotal evidence.
    Dr Greenidge declared that the programme has been contributing substantially to the economy during a press conference on the country’s economic performance for 2024.
    “The Welcome Stamp is very strong,” he said. “I was doing a survey the other day, and so many of those Welcome Stampers converted and brought homes and real estate and spend in the economy and owning businesses.
    “We were saying that we were going to team up with BTMI and one or two others to do a real analysis of the contribution that the Welcome Stamp has made. It’s phenomenal. You don’t realise it.”
    Dr Greenidge recalled speaking with a Welcome Stamper who lives in London that recently bought a house on the west coast of Barbados.
    “It is making a tremendous [contribution],” he said. “It might be 4 000 people [in the programme], but the contribution is amazing. So, we want to do a study with the BTMI and others to really put a handle to understand the value, because it’s been tremendous. It’s been tremendous. I don’t think it is reflected properly in our numbers.”
    The Barbados Welcome Stamp was created to help people and businesses adapt to remote work and to support the island’s economy. The programme was a response to the growing trend of remote work and the need to generate economic activity during the pandemic.
    Applicants for the programme must make an annual income of at least $100 000 (US$50 000; £40 000) over the 12 months they intend to have the travel stamp.
    Applications are typically approved within seven business days, after which the payment of the applicable, non-refundable fees will be due. Fees must be paid within 28 days of application approval.
    The fee for individuals is $4 000 (US$2 000; £1 600) and family bundle is $6 000 (US$3 000; £2 400). (EJ)”

12. ‘Multi-nodal’ as coined by the renowned Western diplomat, Chas Freeman.

13. “4% real economic growth in 2024, marking the third consecutive year of growth, driven by a 10.7% rise in visitor arrivals from 2023, fuelled by strong tourism performance.”

Breaking Down Point 1 (before losing interest & switching off)
    I think the number floated on the Bu about a year ago was Cruise Ship passengers stretching their legs off the ship for a day trip spend an average of $70

Bulk of “4% real economic growth” goes to Tourism Hotels Industries and the Government pockets and very little of this trickles down to individuals that comprise General Public which as a wild ass guess I reckon it would be about 0.004% max

Economic statements are about the rich getting richer and not about the poor
    Religious statements are about keeping the poor people in their place

Mathematics
    Song by Mos Def
    “The system break man, child and women into figures
    Two columns for who is and who ain’t niggas
    Numbers is hard and real and they never have feelings
    But you push too hard, even numbers got limits
    Why did one straw break the camel’s back? Here’s the secret
    The million other straws underneath it, it’s all mathematics”

Poor People
    Poor people don’t ever get to have a good time
    Poor people don’t ever get to say
    Poor people don’t say you can make it ’cause this world is a wonderful place
    Poor people don’t let temptation get you down
    Poor people as long as they’re still around
    Poor people all you got to do is keep the faith
    Poor people all you got to do is wait

14. “The Welcome Stamp is very strong,” he said. “I was doing a survey the other day, and so many of those Welcome Stampers converted and brought homes and real estate and spend in the economy and owning businesses.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    …that it has become even harder now for the average young BAJAN to even think of owning a piece of de rock.
    Additionally, when that ‘welcome stamper’ dies or gets bored, what do you think are the chances he will pass the property or business on to a future BAJAN by sale or deed?
    Also, when that business makes a profit OUT OF THE LIMITED BAJAN PIE, what are the chances that those profits (FOREX) will be repatriated to the owners REAL HOMELAND?
    [Greenidge’s statement completed by Bushie…]

The Bible talks derisively about the JA Cain who sold his BIRTHRIGHTS for a bowl of soup – to the detriment of his desendents. He then went on to become a murderer and outcast.

Like high class Parros, Brass bowls in Barbados have been SYSTEMATICALLY selling off the BIRTHRIGHTS of our children for BMWs, Apartment buildings, trips, and cash – and then complaining about the murderous response of our children…

It is absolutely UNBELIEVABLE that people like Greenidge can FAIL to see the traitorous and short-sightedness of this kind of idiocy.
    Every country with INTELLIGENT and patriotic LEADERS condigure such programs as rental, lease or term arrangements – that ultimately BENEFIT citizens….

ONLY PARROS sell off their own asse(t)s for a quick meal or a few dollars… and apparently our politicians and their appointed Judases think that it is OK for a few Million dollars..

What a damned place
    What a curse on our donkeys

15. @ David

Let me ask you a question and in so doing bring the value of this report home under our current reality.

If I asked you how you were doing and you told me that you were earning $10k a month with $9k in estimated expenses so all was good. Then I would have to ask what you mean by estimated expenses?

So you said well I haven’t had a water bill for 4 years so I pay them $50 a month, nor have I gotten a light bill for 4 years so I pay them $100 a month. Then flow ain’t send me a bill for 6 years so I pay rhem $75 a month and so on it goes, how much faith should I put in your statement of all is well?

Take that example and now apply it to our reality, with all of our major entities years behind on their audited financials and ask yourself how much faith should I put in this central bank report? Don’t tell me bout using no inhouse figures either, because all they do is bring forward errors from unaudited years. Don’t let me even start on the NISSS because only God knows what their true position is and how much they need to put them on a sound footing. For the record here I don’t blame the Governor either, as he can only work with what he is given, but what is the minister and all these chairmans of these entities doing about this problem? If this continues as is we will quickly reach the point where these reports are worthless.

16. @David Also notable is that data from the NIS shows that unemployment clains fell by 18% from 2023. Non performing loans at commercial banks fell by almost 1 percentage point, this indicates an improvement in the financial health of households and businesses from 2023.

17. @John A

It is known if for no other reason audited financial statements are important to nurture credibility and trust. Imagine if any of our leading incorporated businesses in Barbados and abroad that trade publicly (or not) are unable to generate audited financials? How would regulators and Boards of said companies be forced to respond to the situation?

18. @General

Most on this blog accept that the traditional economic indicators used to measure performance have improved in recent months. However, we want to move the discussion further to examine what is required to repurpose the economy given the headwinds a blind man on a trotting horse can see. Your thoughts?

19. @ David

Well from my experience this matter of unaudited years could not have gone for more than 2 years without entire boards being fired. Where companies are public shareholders meetings have to be called and an AGM must be held where audited financials have to be presented and the floor opened for questions. If there is extraordinary spending on capital works the board may also have to take that opportunity to seek the floors approval. There however seems to be no checks and balances ENFORCED where government entities are involved though.

If a case like this came up in the private sector it would undoubtedly be insisted by the shareholders that a Demand Audit be performed. This is where an independent audit firm would come in and establish a ground zero economically on the company as a starting point. This would entail establishing receivables, payables, monthly expenses and income etc, thereby arriving at an opening balance sheet and P&L. The audit company should also then have their assets valued so as to establish a current asset base at market value. Usually then things like a bad debt allocation would be arrived at and booked based on what may be deemed as uncollected or old receivables. This makes the receivables more accurate based on historic collection.

So if you take the NISSS for example this should be done as a matter of urgency. The state entities also need to do this if they are more than 3 years behind on Financial statements. If you keep using internal numbers my experience has shown me where this results in overstated performances. In other words how many of these entities using in-house numbers ever had an independent asset valuation done? Answer none. How many you think ever had a bad debt allocation independently done by an external audit house while running on in-house numbers? Answer none.

So it takes you back to my example using a personal situation but the numbers are way bigger and the effect on the states balance sheet and P&L much more questionable.

20. Those who have spoken here about fintech. Those who believe that free money, begging and borrowing are the ways to go.

Should come to know, unlike these criminal tech companies and the criminal Western governments who support this form of capitalism, and said companies who pay politicians to continue these forms of enslavement of mankind, should stop talking shiite about China because the slave masters so direct them.

Apologize to the Chinese and beg forgiveness.

https://youtu.be/J-W7nRxR7xI?si=AOaP6vu-4Smxxka9

21. @John A

As you know this issue has come up many times on the blog. When Dr. Robinson use to grace us with his presence he explained that important source documents were missing to complete audits. He was quizzed about taking the hit on the years impacted. His response was something along the lines it would be a ‘black eye’ on the Scheme to take a qualified opinion.

22. @Pachamama. Please raise the level of discussion here. If you are going to make claims, please provide data, news, or some other information source to back your claims.
    I don’t understand this mercantilist common belief that an economy is only viable if it’s main exports are agriculture, mining or manufactured goods. The whole point of global supply and value chains is that countries will compete in the industries in which they have the greatest advantages. Very small countries will never be competitive in large scale manufacturing.
    Germany’s economy is based on durable manufactured goods. Germany is facing it’s third straight year of recession in 2025, as you can read in this article: https://apnews.com/article/europe-economy-zero-growth-germany-eurozone-a7df09cc5334f37c48e901ff0d3584b7
    Germany is currently struggling because it failed to invest in new technology and digitization over the last 10 years.

The fastest growing economy in the Euro is Spain, which is a tourism based economy. 75% of Spain’s economy is service based.

South Korea, a manufacturing based economy is also struggling: https://www.ft.com/content/0a9e432c-5b57-4aaf-83aa-7329c5905a3d
    South Korea is also loosing it’s competitive edge to China.

South Africa who’s economy is heavily based on Mining and extraction, has the widest level of income inequality in the world (largely due to apartheid and other structural issues)
    Nigeria is still extremely poor despite is significant oil resources.

My point is, whether an economy is based on services, agriculture, extraction or manufacturing, it can face severe challenges because the global economy is very competitive and dynamic.

In the next 20 years, China will likely dominate as the global Hub for high-tech and durable goods. While the global hub for cheap manufacturing will be Vietnam and will shift to other parts of Asia and Africa (this is why China is investing so much in Africa through Belt and Road.)

The third most common University degrees attained by Barbadian students at UWI Cave Hill, after Management Studies and Law are from the department of Biological and Chemical Sciences.
    Degrees in Biology and Biochemistry are popular among Barbadian University students. However, most of them go into teaching or migrate after graduation.

Investment in the life sciences and health technology one of the best options for Barbados to achieve some economic diversification because it doesn’t require a large population base or cheap labor.

With a population of 270,000, the future viability of the Barbados economy will be based on Services and Research.

23. The big problem and elephant in the Barbados room – is the blatant stealing and sickening inefficiencies that are plainly for EVERONE to see.

Comparisons withVietnam, South Africa, Korea etc are just strawmen for political yardfowls to ride.

ANY economy that is characterized by the kind of glaring NEPOTISM, lack of transparency, breaking of the law, and ABSENSE of audited financial reporting as ours is, has a fundamental problem – not unlike that seen in the Mafia.

Unless THAT BLIGHT is solved, shiite talk about ‘services vs industry’ etc is just spitting at the wind…

24. @ David

A black eye! What bigger black eye could the NISS take than the billion dollars in paper they purchased and then had written off? Dr Robinson knows full well that every year an audit is not performed the chance of recovering lost years becomes closer to impossible.

If this new board of the NISS had a back bone they would of insisted on a demand audit to open the new entity with! But then again…

25. Also David a demand audit would not negate the prior years IFFFF they were ever produced. All one would do is make the relevant journal entries to take them into account .

YOU CAN NOT RUN AN ENTITY LIKE THE NISSS ON GUESTIMATES!

26. And here’s another bargain to be had by someone.

https://barbadosrealestate246.com/properties/foul-bay/

27. Why would we think is selling off this rh coastline?

28. A very good ending General.
    Barbados need to come up with a general plan and target certain areas for future development. Our small population, lack of natural resources and capital make it impossible for us to compete in all areas. Identify areas where we can exploit what we feel are our strengths and which have rich rewards and go there.

I see that you feel Services is one such area… but Services is such a wide term that we may lose the focus that is required.

29. @ John A
    But it may NOT be being done by guesstimates…

Have you considered the possibility that key persons know EXACTLY the details of the ‘lost years’ and hence have a pretty clear handle on the situation..?

The REAL issue may well be the consequences of that information becoming public…

30. @ TheOG
    Nothing is wrong with choosing to focus on ‘services’…. providing that one is happy to accept a future of SERVITUDE.

Now whereas such an approach can work with a people who have had a history of pride and self confidence – and who see nothing big about saying ‘yes sir / ma’am’ etc, expecting such a service ethic from people coming out of 500 years of chattle slavery is close to idiotic.

Young people who have now been exposed to the TRUE history of this island can NEVER be happy serving the grandchildren of their former oppressors.

This may have worked with our grand parents – who were mis-educated and mis-led about the ‘greatness’ of our then masters, and who were led to believe that they were destined to serve them and their antecedents by fate…
    …NOT SO the youth.

So if our 21st century leaders are still of THAT orientation, then may God help our chances of progress…

A clear case of the Peter principle headed off the cliff…

31. @Bush Tea and General

All of the countries that are almost totally reliant on services have compelling reasons for them being able to sustain that model of which you are aware e.g. business facilitation, laws and policies that support, skilled labour etc.

32. ” On December 10, 2024, Tropical Storm Risk (TSR) released its extended range forecast for the 2025 season, predicting an average season with fifteen named storms, seven hurricanes, and three major hurricanes, but noted that the forecast had higher than normal uncertainty due to environmental factors.”

33. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

@BUSH TEA

Maybe you can make sense of this, Skipper???

According 2 the #HeritageFoundation: “due to a fiscal deficit, “GOV DEBT” has become “LARGER” than the size of the economy…”

My question: “IS SUCH DEBT SUSTAINABLE?” WHO IS BUYING THIS DEBT? WHO IS SITTING AT THIS POKER TABLE? And, WHEN THE MOTTLEY CREW GOV* IS FINALLY THROW OUT ON ITS ARSE* – WILL THE ECONOMY BE SO BAD & THE COOKED NUMBERS BE SO PATHETIC THAT #Devaluation WILL BE THE ONLY OPTION FOR A NATION IN MELTDOWN???

https://www.heritage.org/index/pages/country-pages/barbados

WATCH & READ THE HANDWRITING ON THE WALL, BRUV – WHEN LONDON GOES BELLY-UP* (and it will) ALL THESE LIL-NATION-STATES WILL BE ENGULFED IN THE TSUNAMI – HENCE THE MARKET SEISMOLOGY WILL RICOCHET ACROSS VALE & HAMLET!!!

The current UK GOV are a bunch of clueless individuals (KINDERGARDEN MISFITS IN SOGGY DIAPERS DECIDING HOW THE MONTESORRI SCHOOL SHOULD BE RUN)!!!

UK millionaires are doing an “EXIT STAGE RIGHT” – heading to Dubai et al, as well as those “DIGITAL NOMADS” who can live anywhere with an internet connection…

THE BRAIN & WEALTH DRAIN CONTINUES 2 RATCHET-UP WHILE IMMIGRANTS STORM THE BEACHES OF DOVER LIKE THE FRENCH & SPANISH DURING THE ELIZABETHAN AGE

SENIORS* like myself are already set 2 “WALTZ OFF” to live in the sun as are 10s of 1000s who are departing as they see what is coming!!!

THE FAR-RIGHT IS CONSOLIDATING & ARMING FOR WHEN EVERYTHING GOES 2 HELL IN A PANCART

Clearly, ole chap, you are NOT* fooled into subservience by the “WORMS” who keep spinning their insalubrious “YARN”…

London is the “FINANCIAL HUB” of the world – when she goes, everything & everyone goes down the pan with her…

BRITAIN IS NOT ONLY REALLY SHORT ON CASH – SHE IS NOW TRULY SHORT ON HOPE

I am not sure what “TEA-LEAVES” you “GOV” is reading but clearly, “FOLKS ARE SPINNING LIKE ITS A CRICKET MATCH”!!!

P.S. Alex Krainer is worth a listen…

#StayTuned

34. @ Bush Tea

Well my PM said clearly that they were years behind on audited financials hence as a faithful native I must believe her! Also the past and current chairman’s also made the same statements. What I can tell you is the claim about having financial years of information went dumb when the question was asked “are these audited figures?” At that point the sound of silence filled the air allegedly.LOL

35. How is it conceivable in 2025 the country’s largest fund (social security) is plagued by a lack of up to date audited financials? In a country touted as a model black country in this hemisphere?

Please piss in the blogmaster’s pocket.

36. @ David

I would answer it simply by saying neither the BLP or DLP RESPECTED the NIS (wunna could add the extra ss) as being owned by the people of Barbados and NOT THE STATE. BOTH parties have used the fund as their slush fund and we the shareholders, should of put the government in court the first time they did it way back when. On top of that all boards were staffed by political appointees and we the shareholders never had a say there either.

The reason we have to work to 67 is because of the blatant mismanagement by both parties. Forget the crap talk about people living longer its all about mismanagement. You think when an entity loses 30% roughly of their assets in a debt restructuring, that a fund can recover from that ? You think making people work to 67 going fix it? Add to that the lack of audited information and the NIS is undoubtedly as insolvent as Clico was.

This party has been in power over what 7 years, what have they done to refinance the fund or in anyway address the issues other than change the name and add a few ss?

37. @John A

The blogmaster has not read anywhere that appointed actuary of the NISS declared the fund insolvent in any of his reports.

38. No they have not, however it would not surprise me if they are. After all if I right off 30% of your assets and cut the earnings on the rest held by me from 7 to 1%, the other 60% of assets left would have to perform astronomically to keep you solvent. Again we will never know without audited financials. So we can say they are and they can say they are not, but without audited up to date financials the board can not support a claim of being solvent with audited FACTS.

So we play the game of you say I say with “The Peoples Lifeline.”

39. General 10 : 05

Are all these YouTube videos not, not evidence, but proof that what DeepSeek has done to upend the leading technology companies, using limited resources, give confidence that similar results could attend small island states with limited resources?

Who made a point about the exportation of agricultural production by small countries? Certainly not this writer.

Who made the point that small countries could be successful in heavy or large scale manufacturing?

Certainly not this writer!

Otherwise very few of your missives are consistent with realities. Permit us to highlight one stark error.

The recent failure of German industrial output is a consequence of a number of factors. These include, the increased production of higher quality goods in China at lower prices, the end of cheap petroleum inputs from Russia, the war in Ukraine and the offshoring of leading industrial companies as a result.

Of course, you seemed to have rambled on and on. However, we cannot see how any of it make contact with our central point about how DeepSeek has driven a blow to the heart of a dying American empire.

40. Bushie

We’ve seen somebody above posing as a “General”. However, he or she seems more of a non-commissioned officer or less!

We are surprised that the real-real General’s attention was not so drawn. LoL!

41. LOL @ pacha
    You are late Boss….