Somewhere in Barbados last week the blogmaster observed a Transport Board driver with one hand steering the bus and the other holding a mobile phone to his ear. The observation summed up a lot of what is plaguing Barbados. There is a level of indiscipline taking root in our little country that makes the most optimistic among us fear there is a no comeback path.

From all reports there are about 130,000 vehicles in Barbados (not including scraped vehicles at the side of roads or on vacant lands) with an estimated 50,000 uninsured if Permanent Secretary Andrew Gittens in the Ministry of Transport is to be believed. In the press report cited, mention was made of the Electronic Vehicle Monitoring (EVM) to be implemented to track drivers breaking the law by utilising video surveillance. It is several months the physical installation to support EVM has been installed, however, supporting legislation has not been enacted or proclaimed, the EVM structure is left to ‘rust’.

There appears to be no sense of urgency to enact necessary legislation to operationalise EVM to match legislation promised in January 2025 to force the removal of tint from vehicles. If the government can be so efficient to bring necessary legislation to address dark tint on vehicles, what about transparency legislation and its implementation? The blogmaster is beginning to wonder if Barbadians are as intelligent as we are cranked up to be.

The Barbados Police Service (BPS) and the General Insurance Association of Barbados (GIAB) have patted themselves on the back at a recent decision by the BPS to stop responding to vehicle accidents except is specific cases. The main reason for the decision is that an under-resourced BPS can better utilise resources given rising crime in the country. It seems like a situation developing of the dog chasing its tail. On the one hand there is a system setup to monitor and ticket traffic violations which the government has been unable to implement. On the other hand the BPS is forced to withdraw from attending accident scenes many as a result of lawlessness by motorists on the roads. What if the EVM was functional? Would it inform a more relevant decision making process?

If there is one sector we should be able to fix it is lawlessness on the roads. Some harsh fines, suspension of drivers licenses, impound vehicles and the blogmaster is confidence there would be an immediate improvement to what we have to observe daily on our roads. For some reason our authorities are loath to enforce laws. It is normal to see ‘law-abiding’ citizens breaking traffic stops, driving while heavily under the influence in the absence of breathalyser testing, texting, EarPods in ears, chatting on handheld devices, abusing filter lanes to mention a few violations.

Who cares that Prime Minister Mia Mottley has positioned herself as global advocate on climate change BUT the front page article of today’s Nation reads as follows:

Faced with severe agricultural challenges heading into the Christmas season driven by extreme weather conditions, Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir has announced a series of urgent interventions to support Barbados’ farming sector.

Nation Newspaper – 06.10.2024

For those who believe this blog is about the 130,000 cars on the roads that make travelling from point A to B a time consuming exercise on a daily basis, you are wrong. Who cares about the lost national productivity due to time wasted sitting in SUVs on potholed roads? Who cares about the many incidences of fender benders that have become a daily routine occurrence and a drain of borrowed foreign exchange. Who cares that the public transport system is inefficient and encourages the average Joe to acquire a vehicle as a first priority?

Should Barbadians be concerned? Is this something we should feel obligated to agitate and advocate to change?

47 responses to “Barbadians marching blindly to our fate”

1. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

ARE THESE CARS #Hybrids #EVS OR ARE THEY FOSSIL-FUELLED, GAS GUZZLING TIN CHARIOTS THAT “ALL” EASILY WRAP AROUND THE NEAREST LIGHT & POWER LAMP-POST???

It still amazes me how “BLACK FOLKS” possess a mindset that makes them think that “SELF-WORTH” is based on the “CAR” you drive; the “BRICKS & MORTAR” you live in; the “ZIP CODE or POSTCODE” you landed in; the “J.O.B. (#JustOverBroke) 35-year-old “OCCUPATIONAL HAZARD” that ends with a “GOLD-PLATED PEN” or God knows what – but moreover, this “FALLACY” that living up with the “JONESES” is some altruistic endeavour that “ALL MUST ASPIRE TO” (when the reality is the com[plete] opposite!!!

Some Black folks live in a mere “CHATTEL HOUSE” that sometimes is not in exemplary condition but has a “MERCK” parked outside the house (ON THE STREET ON A PUBLIC THROUGHFARE)!!!

#Unbeweaveable

Some with a “HOUSE NOTE”; “CAR NOTE”; DAY 2 DAY LIVING ACCESSORIES ON HP; FOOD ON A CREDIT CARD – WHILE EATING SARDINES & BISCUITS AT 2 MANY INTERVALS, INTERCHANGEABLY WITH POT NOODLES DUE TO COST OF LIVING PRESSURES & the “BLOODY LIST” goes on!!!

#StyleAboveSubstance

Most are “ONE PAYCHECK” away from the “VICTORIAN POORHOUSE” because they “LIVE ABOVE THEIR MEANS” – trying to live high on the “HOG” (#Literally) because they have to have their “PUDDING & SOUSE”, “PIGTAILS” & other cuts of “PORK” (blissfully unaware of knowing the anatomical & health “DANGERS”) not only to their bodies but to their pockets!!!

#WhenTheGutIsAGod

We do not understand that a “LIL ISLE” of 166 sq. miles with over 100K cars cannot be “ENVIRONMENTALLY SUSTAINABLE” even if it is out there in the Caribbean Sea!!!

What are the “STATS” on “CANCER RATES”??? What about “LUNG DISEASES” like “ASTHMA, EMPHESEMA & other respiratory conditions??? What about the effects on the environment – “TRAFFIC JAMS & STRESS”, “RAINFALL OR LACK THEREOF”, “HEAT ACCUMULATION IN THE ATMOSPHERE” & the host of OTHER* ecological factors!!!

IS THE PUBLIC HEALTH DEPT. OF THE MOTTLEY CREW GOV EVEN SEEING THIS MADNESS??? WHY ARE THE POLIETICIANS NOT ALL OVER THIS LIKE A RASH??? WHO IS REALLY RUNNING THE DAMN CUNTRY – KIFFIN SIMPSON, THE GODDARDS, SEALES & ALL THE OTHER CROOKED CAUCASOID, ALBINO-CENTRIC BASTERDS WHO CARE PRECIOUS LITTLE FOR BLACK LIVES & ONLY INTERESTED IN FINANCIAL EXPLOITATION???

#BelowIsTheResearch

#ImDone

#WhatAFecklessPlace
    #WhatAToxicDump
    #WhatAHellHole

2. Most laws in BIM are not enforced seen folks using phones while driving illegally use headlights on cars motorcycles and ATV on roads without license and insurance

3. It’s a strange thing when those who ‘write to criticize’ and those who usually ‘write to apologize’ end up using the same hymnal.

Here the blogmaster delivers a note that I would have been proud to pen. I am wondering if it is viewed the same way … if i had delivered it then some would consider it as a note from a’ traitor’, but I am here waiting for the same to award him national honors.

Great job blogmaster. I enjoy the few moment you make contact with reality.

4. Top shelf post David. Have been observing the madness of the world and the farce that Barbadian engagement amd advocacy has become. But, you are right. Who cares!!!!

Just observing

5. What a comedy. First our BU friends accuse our beloved Supreme Leader of ruling Barbados as a dictator, now they complain about lawless spaces without government control.

To me, this is clearly a huge contradiction.

Tron, always fair and always balanced

p.s. Happy birthday, Supreme Leader Mia Mottley!

6. Barbadians love to complain and moan about the state of the nation and useless Government all day long until the cows come home

Perhaps BD failure has become a self fulfilling prophecy

#BlackPantherWakandaForever

7. We are marching blindly towards our fate… well more like drifting..
    BUT WE ARE NOT ALONE.

If you were the USA and you took note of the unprecedented natural disasters that have continued to inflict pain on your donkey..
    Would you not reflect that, just PERHAPS, the God ‘in whom you trust’ is vex as shiite -and trying to tell you something?

After the kick by Helene just last week, to now see Milton winding up a baseball bat to bust your head – would suggest that you are being sent a message / warning from on HIGH…. yuh think?

How a set of people could be so ARROGANT as to EXPECT to be funding and sponsoring the GENOCIDE of a whole society in the Middle East – to the tune of hundreds of BILLIONS of dollars EACH YEAR…
    While providing the latest military technology – against a people who cannot even access water or pain killers for children..
    While using their own mighty ARMY, military intelligence and UN veto to nullify the legit defence of the oppressed Palestinians…
    …could expect to do so WITHOUT PAYING A BIG-ASS PRICE via KARMA
    …is an exercise in BIG TIME idiocy.

Bushie is forced to pity such collosal idiocy, because of the INEVITABLE coming consequences thereof….

Shiite!!!
    Their big donkey is in even worse shaving cream than is Brassbados’ little burro’s….

What a world
    What a mess
    …and the shiite has not even STARTED yet…

8. OAP Biden supports Israel
    but he also supported segregation
    and still has a racial supremacist mind

To be Middle Eastern is not crime
    Big shout out to civilians living on the front line
    Iran, Lebanon and Gaza, Yemen, Syria and Iraq

Oh, mama
    You’ve gone and born in the wrong time
    Oh, you got me, mama
    You’ve gone and born me on the front line
    They’ve got me living on top of my existence
    Oh, I’ve reached the age of my resistance

9. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

IS MAN-MADE CLIMATE AFFECTING BARBADOS??? I KNOW IT IS THE FALL SEASON BUT SOME FOLKS ARE ASKING 4 A “boat” TO GET OUT OF THEIR HOMES!!! WHAT’S GOING ON???

#WhatSayYouBruh???

10. @Observing

The average Joe and Jane seem to be unperturbed.

11. @TB

A lowly blogmaster places the significant blame to poor physical development planning, poor maintenance and upkeep of our environment – dumping with weather conditions playing a part as well.

12. Another nail in the coffin for international law. When will this rogue state backed by its patron be finally reined in and stopped from behaving like the mafia.

I hope that the Caribbean region will pivot towards Brics and other countries, and start to disentangle themselves from their traditional colonial masters.

https://www.theguardian.com/law/2024/oct/08/dutch-prosecutors-mull-criminal-case-israel-interference-icc

13. Terence M Blackett
    October 7, 2024 at 2:14 pm

IS MAN-MADE CLIMATE AFFECTING BARBADOS??? I KNOW IT IS THE FALL SEASON BUT SOME FOLKS ARE ASKING 4 A “boat” TO GET OUT OF THEIR HOMES!!! WHAT’S GOING ON???

#WhatSayYouBruh???

It’s the Democrats looking to produce an October surprise in the elections!!

I can’t imagine man being able to create a weather system that could develop into a hurricane wherever and whenever he wants but I can imagine Man giving it a nudge once the Boss has created it.

Could it be that Beryl was a test run for Helene and Milton to create the October surprise?

But then I know of the Great 1780 Hurricane which claimed 22,000 lives and destroyed alot of the British and French fleets in the Caribbean 2 years before the Battle of the Saintes. Admittedly, there was no early warning system to make people get out of the way in time.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Hurricane_of_1780

The 1831 hurrricane was also very bad for Barbados and Louisiana killing about 1,200 people here.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1831_Barbados%E2%80%93Louisiana_hurricane

So far, Helene was a baby to those two.

Janet was one of the worst hurricanes on record but most of its life was spent in open water away from population centres.

You can’t say there is climate change every time there is a major hurricane in a highly populated area without looking at the dozen or so hurricanes that happen every year without fail and comparing their strengths with the ones that kill people.

14. Too much religion
    “God” was a primitive effort to describe the weather system.
    “God is Angry” is the same model to describe hurricanes.
    Try to be spiritual instead.

15. Caricom should try to integrate itself into the Brics club.

https://www.rt.com/news/605406-cuba-applies-brics-partner-status/

16. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

CALAMITIES ARE NOW CALLED CLIMATE CHANGE!!! (DIS)-STRESS AMONG NATIONS IS AN OBVIOUS SIGN OF AN APPROACHING CATACYLSM!!! EVERY MANNER OF PLANETARY TURBULENCE IS RATCHETED UP TO PLANDEMIC LEVELS & NOW SEEN AS SIGNS OF THE END OF DAYZ

The concept of “END OF DAYZ” or “END TIMES” refers to a future period of time described in “BIBLICAL PROPHECY.” Taking our reckoning from #TheBible, this period will be characterised by various signs & events, including “WARS”, “FAMINES”, “EARTHQUAKES”, “FLOODS”, “DISEASES”, “LAWLESSNESS”, “CORRUPTION”, “APATHY”, “RESIGNATION”, “FLIGHT OF FRIGHT”, “CONSTERNATION” and an increasing host of “EVILS” that will cause even “THE ELECT” to wonder in amazement!!!

The search for increased knowledge of Bible truth will take on “NEW DIMENSIONS” – emphasising the importance of recognizing the signs & warnings given by “YESHUA MESSIAH” & the “ANCIENT PROPHETS” who spoke less for their own time & more for our time, so that their “PROPHEYSING” is in force for those of us who are living on the earth today!!!

NO ONE TODAY OF THE ALMOST 8 BILLION SOULS ON THE EARTH IS PREPARED FOR THE COMING OF THE LORD JESUS CHRIST – THE SOVEREIGN GOD OF HEAVEN WHO WILL COME TO WREAK VENGEANCE UPON HIS ENEMIES & TO BURN ALL OF MAN’S WORKS TO THE GROUND

MESSIAH* foretold of wars, famines, earthquakes, floods and disease as “SIGNS” of the last days (Luke 21:11, Matthew 24:12-13) as we have seen the “COMPOUNDED”, “ACCUMULATED” & “SEISMIC” force of all these “SUPPOSED NATURAL PHENOMENA” which are all part of man’s “ABYSMAL RULERSHIP OF THE EARTH”!!!

The Bible also describes a time of increasing “MASS” lawlessness fuelled by “RAMPANT CRIME” & “LAME JURISPRUDENCE”, coupled with “RElieGIOUS HYPOCRISY”, & a “LACK OF LOVE FOR CHRIST” (2 Timothy 3:1-5)!!!

Many simply “IGNORE” 2 their own “PERIL” when suddenly faced with the “HANDWRITING ON THE WALL” or “RIDICULE” the “STARK, OVERWHELMING, BLIND-SIDED EVIDENCE” of the approaching “END OF DAYZ” (Matthew 24:37-39, 2 Peter 3:3-4)!!!

“NO ONE IS REALLY WATCHING” for all the “SENTINELS” have fallen asleep while they should be watching for the “IMPENDING SIGNS” (Matthew 24:33) which will ultimately alter the “COURSE OF HUMANITY”, forever!!!

KNOW THIS: JUDGMENT MUST 1ST BEGIN AT THE HOUSE OF GOD – IF SO, WHAT THEN ABOUT THE REST OF HUMANITY???

#StayTuned

17. ‘IN THE WEEDS’

MEDICINAL CANNABIS INDUSTRY FACES MAJOR OBSTACLES, INCLUDING BANKING BLOCK
    Barbados’ fledgling medicinal cannabis industry is unable to access domestic and international banking services, according to Acting Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Medicinal Cannabis Licensing Authority (BMCLA), Shanika Roberts-Odle.
    Speaking at the inaugural BAJCAN Cannabis Medical Conference and Expo at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Roberts-Odle highlighted how banking difficulties have stymied the progress of the industry, with many businesses unable to open accounts or transfer funds due to traditional banks’ refusal to engage with cannabis growers.
    “Most of you can’t get a bank account. You can’t get your funds moved from one place to another, and it creates a hell of a lot of issues,” she said, underscoring the frustration within the industry.
    The BMCLA has made efforts to address the issue by signing a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with digital banking platform M-Money, but Roberts-Odle admitted that much work remains. “While we haven’t completely solved the banking issue, absolutely we haven’t, it does bring us closer and allows us to move money locally,” she said. Despite this, she urged perseverance: “Fear cannot be the enemy to progress, and certainly not for the medicinal cannabis industry.”
    Acting Minister of Agriculture Wilfred Abrahams, addressing the conference, also referred to the reluctance of traditional financial institutions to engage with cannabis-related businesses.
    “Banking is a huge hurdle,” he admitted.
    Despite ongoing discussions with the Barbados Banking Association, Abrahams said: “They have politely but firmly told me no.”
    He expressed hope that the sector’s position would eventually change but acknowledged that the lack of banking solutions remains a significant barrier to the industry’s development.
    “The reality is that at some point in time, the banking sector is going to come in line. Until that happens, you have to do what you have to do to make the dream work,” he remarked, encouraging industry stakeholders to persist despite these challenges.
    Another significant challenge has been securing insurance, as traditional providers have shown reluctance to offer coverage for cannabis-related businesses. Roberts-Odle pointed out that this affects all aspects of the industry, from crop insurance to facility protection and patient access to treatments.
    “Insurance is an issue,” she noted, calling for more comprehensive solutions to safeguard businesses and ensure patient safety.
    Abrahams urged the insurance sector to take a more active role in supporting the industry.
    “All aspects of insurance as it relates to medical cannabis need to be on the table,” he said, urging underwriters to create insurance plans that address the industry’s needs, including crop insurance and patient coverage within the healthcare system.
    Despite early optimism and the issuance of licences, the industry’s slow pace has frustrated many stakeholders. Roberts-Odle acknowledged the disappointment but emphasised the importance of caution.
    Complicating matters further is the public’s divided perception of cannabis use. While some advocate for full legalisation, others fear societal harm from widespread recreational use. Roberts-Odle stressed the importance of education to bridge this divide.
    “It makes no sense for us to just say, ‘Cannabis is good if it’s legal, cannabis is good if it’s medicinal,’ and assume that Barbadians truly understand the context and the concept of cannabis for medical use,” she explained.
    Roberts-Odle also highlighted the stringent standards required for medical-grade cannabis production, stressing that growing cannabis for personal use is vastly different from cultivating it for medical purposes. “Anybody can grow cannabis in a container,” she said, “but if I’m growing cannabis in a lead pot, lead is going to be in the cannabis, right?”
    Despite the hurdles, Roberts-Odle remains optimistic about the future of the industry. But she cautioned that patience is required. “We are moving judiciously towards moving this situation forward, but again, I am a regulator, so while I issue the licences, I cannot go into people’s pockets and say, ‘Jingle, jingle, spend the money’,” she said.
    Also urging patience, Abrahams reaffirmed the government’s commitment to advancing the industry, despite significant challenges, particularly in accessing banking services.
    “We are committed to moving this industry forward,” Abrahams stated, noting that 11 applicants representing 33 licences had been approved. He described the industry as standing “on the precipice of pioneering potential” and emphasised the need for collaboration to ensure Barbados fully benefits from the emerging cannabis market.
    “What we’re working together towards is an era of transforming our healthcare with locally produced medicines, and at the same time enhancing our wellness tourism product,” he said.
    The substantive home affairs minister also highlighted the need to shift entrenched perceptions about cannabis, particularly within the medical community. While acknowledging the National Council on Substance Abuse’s focus on drug addiction, Abrahams differentiated between the responsible use of cannabis for medicinal purposes and its abuse.
    He urged medical professionals to remain open to the evolving science of medicine, especially as new research emerges on the therapeutic benefits of cannabis.
    “We don’t know it all. And we all have to learn, and we all keep learning for our lives,” he said, encouraging doctors to approach medicinal cannabis with an open mind.
    Abrahams also cautioned that the industry’s growth must be carefully managed, stressing the importance of solid regulatory frameworks. “You gotta measure twice and cut once,” he declared, warning against rushing the process without ensuring longterm sustainability.
    (RG)

18. Bushie reiterates that….

ANYTHING associated with certain ‘ministers’ is doomed to failure….

…or is it that anything that is doomed to fail, is assigned to certain ministers…?
    …or perhaps EVERY SHIITE is doomed to fail, so it matters not to whom it is assigned..?

What a place
    What a time
    What a turnaround… FROM enjoying God’s blessings.

19. @Bush Tea

Was that you and Mrs. Bush Tea seen at a big wedding recently.

20. LOL @ David

Why not…

“For as in those days which were before the flood they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, until the day that Noah entered into the ark”

Same shiite as with the coming of the Son of man….

What a time to be around

21. This is a simple reply to David and Marcia Weekes as they seek to defend its base of support. To whom much is given, much is expected.
    Cut the church some slack

THE CHURCH has caused much of the distrust, bad-talking and disinterest in its existence and its relevance to society.

Indeed, members of the church, and the church itself as a representative body, have sinned . . . at least in the eyes of society. Extra-marital affairs, homosexuality, people-control, money-grabbing, fraud and corruption, among other evils, can be laid squarely at the church’s feet.

But does it really benefit us, especially as a “Christian” society, to bash the church into oblivion, even though that may not be our intent? Is that what we really want? We all know the saying “Life and death is in the power of the tongue”.

Do we really want the death of the church, or more practically, for the voice of the church to be silenced? Is that really beneficial to the society? Are we not throwing out the baby with the bath water?

Politics and politicians are known to have elements of corruption. However, do we call for and desire the death of XYX political party, or do we not require them to get their house in order so they can govern us as is intended? We may even ask for new political parties but never for the dismantling of the political system. Do not failed political parties gather themselves over the next five years, correct their errors and come again, with us the electorate providing them the opportunity to try again?

Essential services

Don’t we see the same in the police service, where we call for the head of a bad or ineffective commissioner of police, in the hope that we will get a better commissioner who will be more effective? We do not bash policing, but the bad players.

In summary, don’t we provide all essential services to the nation chance after chance to selfcorrect? While the police service is in a failed state, we still go to them for their service in the hope that “we will get through”.

In the case of the church, (I presume) because it is wholly voluntary, we refuse to go back after a negative experience and simply stay away and bash them – unlike with the police, the post office, BRA (Barbados Revenue Authority), the hospital and so on, where we cannot afford to stay away.

We consider that we can do without the church unlike those other agencies, but is that really true? While those agencies remain functional and relevant to society, we are gradually making our churches more and more irrelevant to ourselves and hence to society. When church folk call in on Brasstacks with their biblical world view, [sometimes] they are quickly ushered off the programme, if given a chance at all. We know they are not perfect, none of us are.

It is evident that we’re not really doing ourselves any favours because as the church is forced out, life is becoming increasingly more and more difficult and harsh. There seems to be a parallel. Every centenarian credits two things for their long-life – serving God and good eating.

Different approach

Couldn’t we adopt a different approach towards the church? Cannot we admit that the church is an essential entity, just like the police service, politics and health care? Cannot we see the church as essential in fostering the right direction and governance of our society?

If we agree it is essential, could not we therefore call for a similar policing, similar transparency, reporting and accountability of the church as we would for other sectors of society? So instead of withdrawing from the church and cussing it in the process, can we not jump back in and assist them with administration, accounting systems, legal advice, separation of duties, cultural integration, historical relevance and so on?

I think anything to make the church more effective and relevant while not asking it to compromise its message is more beneficial. Internationally, it is shown that there is a 57 per cent decrease in the likelihood to deal drugs and a 39 per cent decrease in the likelihood to commit a crime among the young, black inner city population if they attend religious services regularly1 (https:// marripedia.org/effects_of_religious_practice_on_ crime_rates).

So, there must be significant virtue within the church that we desperately need and which we should hone in on and go after. The church I propose is ripe with solutions for the salvation of our nation. We just need to pick back up the baby and wash it off, instead of throwing everything out – baby and bath water.

– DAVE & MARCIA WEEKES

22. @ David
    Check the letter on page 12 of Barbados Today by Melissa Goddard PhD.

This EXACTLY summarizes, in acceptable language (unlike Bushie’s brassbowlery and lotta shiite), why NOTHING WORKS in Barbados.

Can’t we make it a POST on BU ….pretty please?

23. @Bush Tea

Agree the letter to BT sums it up expertly without being prolix.

24. @ David,

can you provide a link to the letter? please?

25. @Hants

Here is the Letter to the Editor.

When cats run the matters of kings

Governments must fully understand emerging technologies to act in their people’s best interests and protect rights, safety, privacy and well-being. This makes subject-matter expertise a requirement of good governance. So while there is no legal obligation, Barbados’ leadership does have a governmental responsibility not to rule from an undereducated consensus, one that surface-level instruction by short course or workshop, buzzy regurgitation and bold declarations cannot fulfil.
    Yet Bajan expertise is rarely on display in governance, and official faces are overwhelmingly political. Indeed, STEM professionals are often forced to highlight gaffe after avoidable gaffe from the periphery, to no avail: Ministers with financial backgrounds fronted a subpar public response to the breach of the Barbados Revenue Authority, without a credentialed Data Protection Officer in sight.
    Government promotes digitisation but, absent visible expertise, struggles to follow privacy standards, for example, the crippling QEH cyberattack and pdf release of the electoral list. A Joint Select Committee re-examined the Cybersecurity Bill; not one member was trained in cybersecurity. Nearly $1 billion for biotechnology and pharmaceuticals is slated for the Prime Minister’s Office, continuing the trend of STEM innovation led by those without STEM education. Something which may have contributed to Barbados’ precipitous 40-spot tumble down the Global Innovation Index.
    The nation’s top voice on climate change is a lawyer without a related tertiary degree, internationally campaigning while local public health, ministerial habits and urban planning ignore best practices. And the list goes on.
    Most high-ranking selectees hold no advanced science qualifications. The remainder were largely trained in the last century in tangential specialities. So politicians stretch beyond their academic reach every time they speak on STEM with authority, whether identifying concerns, understanding convention, or addressing misuse. The uncomfortable truth is that they’re unqualified.
    Barbados has already spent millions of dollars educating two generations of experts to bridge this knowledge gap. In ways that are robust and shielded from the vagaries of tribal politics and cronyism. STEM institutes, organisations and working groups should be actively in the policy ecosystem, with proper channels and platforms for apolitical scholarly exchange. Experts should have the space to provide information and context, support implementation, and advocate without worrying about political pandering. This would allow decision-makers access to reliable local sources in ways appropriate to their skillset, so they spearhead informed, culturally relevant, beneficent policies. Plus the public could see the science that affects them.
    STEM expertise is essential to development and must be integrated into progressive governance; not dismissed, denigrated, or demonised by combative political traditions that prioritise party loyalty, ego and reputation.
    If professional critiques are clucked at as too negative, or begging for position or audience, we risk fostering an arrogant hostility to truth, accountability and equitable advancement, even as partisan ranks solidify.
    Denouncing intellectuals to reinforce political infallibility is a hallmark of authoritarianism. Democracy makes room for expertise, especially when it advises caution. It rejects the suggestion that credentialed voices should only be heard endorsing state action. To dissent professionally is to challenge politically or dislike personally. Progressive democracy does not set proven expertise alongside empty political rhetoric, social-media conspiracists and rank imagination, as if the fanatical, farcical and fantastical are equal to fact.
    A cat can look at the king; everyone enjoys equal freedoms in a fair society. But no one would suggest that those cute creatures of mischief and stubborn mayhem should handle the very human complexities of running a country.
    But in deferring to the uninformed input and ambition of career politicians, that is precisely what we do: We set the matters of kings before cats and expect them to rule wisely.

Melissa Goddard PhD

Source: BT

26. Thanks David.

27. Not to be repetitive, but this letter by Goddard is SO accurately identifying the principal problem faced by Barbados, that it must surely be inspired.

How a bunch of science-illiterate, mostly lawyers and economists (whatever the Hell THOSE are), ..can seriously be allowed to bluff their way, (and a whole country,) through the complexities of twenty first century STEM challenges – such as water supply and distribution, electricity transformation, housing and resiliency management, cyber-security, etc – THAT CHALLENGES EVEN EXPERIENCED PROFESSIONALS, can only be judged as madness.

The very fact that we continue to entertain a hierarchical, micro-managed, political structure, with a single STEM-challenged individual – who is proud to be known to be the decider of all ‘big works’, sets the stage for the GURANTEED failures of exactly the types that we have been seeing.

Even if we assemble our VERY BEST STEM brains to address these complex problems, there would be no guarantee of success – FAR LESS when we allow jokers who are unable even to solve problems WITHIN their area of expertise, namely the legal and judicial system – much less asking them to address complex, expensive, risky, STEM-based systems such as utilities, information technology, transport systems etc.

This is a top level national POLICY issue, and it should be addressed in a country’s constitution – by DIRECTING that such complex responsibilities are RESERVED for persons who are professionally PRE-QUALIFIED to address such matters.

We ALREADY do this with doctors – who must be qualified to address health matters
    …with dentists
    …with lawyers
    …even artisans are now expected to be qualified…

However, politicians and senior Public Servants are free to rotate randomly through the most complex areas of STEM challenges, leaving trails of failure, wasted funds, and broken promises in their wake…

How is this not obvious to everyone..?

28. “But in deferring to the uninformed input and ambition of career politicians, that is precisely what we do: We set the matters of kings before cats and expect them to rule wisely.”

What an ending! It is refreshing to see Bajans stepping up and calling things exactly as they are. For too long, some of us have been ducking and dodging, some of us have been say nothing whilst talking a lot and some of us are unable to list one of our many problems.

It is pleasing to see ‘new’ writers emerging and stating what the problems are. Where do they find the courage that is lacking in others. It will be interesting to follow any future articles by Dr Goddard.

I hope my note of approval do no put her on the bl*gm*st*r banned list 🙂

29. It has been reiterated that I am no expert in Barbados matters, but what is the purpose of the Barbados Underground if not online chatter about some such things

Regarding the Weekes doctrines about Church goers, you do not have to go to Church on Sundays to be spiritual minded. I guess the most important thing is to be blessed with the Holy Spirit and to be good and have clean hands, heart and underwear for God’s Judgement

30. I agree fully with 000 (my hero) .. There is no need to repeat that 000 is no expert in Barbados matters as that fact is widely known and is accepted by all.

I dislike when folks needlessly pick on my hero (000). I stand with you, brudda.

31. @ BUU BU University Students
    How Much You Know About Barbados?
    https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/story.php?title=barbados-quiz

I cram to understand U
    Because they put me here on this earth
    Lyte is on my side and she is worth
    more to me than you, forget your crew
    It doesn’t matter what you say, or what you do
    I’ll keep on rockin, I roll too quick
    All you groupies make me sick
    The King is my boy cause he’s down with us
    First Priority’s the label, that we trust
    I really don’t care if you’re big and bad
    I’m makin more money than you wish you had
    Girls step up if they know what time it is

What’s on your mind, you said I’m through?
    You must be stupid, the Audio Two
    is here to stay, every day
    It doesn’t matter what you think or what you say
    We’ll keep on rockin, keep on shockin
    You’ll keep lookin, starin, and mockin
    Milk style, my brother
    You’re, a fighter, I’m, a lover
    And when I’m at a jam I’m always undercover
    Unless I get paid then I do, a show
    When I’m finished, I always go
    I got speakers, the size of your girl
    Boomin the room an’, shakin your world

Just like a test
    Ju-just like a test
    I cram to understand you

32. AIR DEAL
    BARBADOS SIGNS AIR SERVICES AGREEMENT WITH QATAR
    Barbados and the State of Qatar have signed an Air Services Agreement (ASA).
    The ASA gives designated airlines from both countries the flexibility to operate without directional or geographical limitations.
    In addition, the signing will assist in the process of enhancing the relationship between Barbados and Qatar and will facilitate greater cooperation in several areas, including tourism, capacity-building, opportunities in education, and scholarships.
    It will also serve as a means of broadening the scope of engagement and the pursuit of opportunities for increased trade and investment.
    Minister of Tourism and International Transport Ian Gooding-Edghill, who signed the agreement with President of the Qatar Civil Aviation Authority, Mohamed Faleh Alhajri in Doha on Sunday, said the Barbados-Qatar ASA is part of a wider initiative under Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s leadership to promote greater regional air connectivity in the Caribbean while expanding international cooperation and diplomatic ties in the Middle East.
    Gooding-Edghill said: “This ASA marks an important step towards deepening ties between Barbados and Qatar, setting the foundation for enhanced collaboration in the aviation sector and creating new opportunities to explore air connectivity between our regions.”
    The minister responsible for international transport also noted that Qatar is home to one of the world’s busiest airports and largest airlines and is known internationally for its sophisticated aviation technology.
    The Barbados delegation, led by Minister Gooding-Edghill, will also be exploring opportunities for technical assistance and capacity-building in civil aviation with Qatar.
    Members of the delegation include Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of International Transport, Charley Browne; Acting Chief Technical Officer Dionne Gibbs-Nicholls; Acting Director General of the Barbados Civil Aviation Authority, Tracey Forde-Bailey; Director of Air Navigation Services, Department of Air Navigation Services, Carl Gaynair; and Special Advisor, Economic Cooperation and Trade, Invest Barbados, Alexia Hefti.
    Barbados and Qatar established diplomatic relations on December 4, 2007.
    (BGIS)
    Apart from the public employees, the costliest member has to be…..
    Special Advisor, Economic Cooperation and Trade, Invest Barbados, Alexia Hefti.
    Google and report.

33. By the way, what is the Barbados airline?

34. @ Tom
    It is only OBVIOUS that Brassbados would pursue close relations with Qatar.
    That country represents the IDEAL VISION for lazy leaders and mendicant BBs…

-Their ‘wealth’ comes from oil found underground… so..
    -Money is just a number
    -Every citizen is BORN a millionaire and NEVER works
    -Lots of immigrants come in in stints, to do ALL the work
    -The Emir (Emperor) PERSONALLY owns and controls EVERY SHIITE
    -The Emir’s Family runs all the various institutions – police, army, ministries..
    -All opponents fall silent or disappear

Such ridiculous concepts such as productivity, accountability, quality and creativity become irrelevant.

The VERY THOUGHT that such a country has ANYTHING to offer to resourceless Brassbados is beyond Bushie’s imagination….
    …except that now the Emir will also own GAIA…

On another note, … it is quite obvious why the ‘Hefti’ woman would have been recruited… Given commonly known selection criteria here in Brassbados.

What a place…
    Only the Devil himself is capable of promoting and sponsoring such idiocy.

35. ‘By the way, what is the Barbados airline?’

Surprise that you missed this obvious example of ‘punching above our weight’.

36. @ Bush Tea,

I would have recruited her too. She has hefty qualifications.

https://mcgillnews.mcgill.ca/meet-the-blockchain-lawyer/

37. Beg borrow and sell.

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

As you point out a mover and shaker.
    “Prior to her work with eGovern, Hefti served as Chairman of the Abed Group”
    A hint as to how she got known in Barbados?
    Now based in Dubai, it’s UAE Dubai, not Qatar, funding the GAIA works, via a son of the boss (Sheik Mo). Both Sheik Mo (Godolphin and Darley) and the al Thani Qatar rulers have extensive thoroughbred horse stables. They are buds. The non Arab international group which competes with them in racing is the Coolmore Magnier-Smith-Tabor group who are well installed in Barbados.
    Dubai is also where the new QEH head was found.
    Ms Hefti ticks a lot of boxes.

39. @Bush Tea

Where does the wealth from traditional trade partners come from? Asking for a friend.

40. Where does the wealth from traditional trade partners come from?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    After Centuries of DIRECT third world plunder,

…now it comes mostly from brass bowls (in the form of PROFITS),
    …who allowed themselves (via their BB leaders, to be enticed with trinkets and bribes – in the form of Aid, grants, technical assistance and direct political gifts,) to cede control of their key resources over to them – predators like the IMF, WHO, World Bank, and such transnationals as C&W, DIGICEL, EMERA, Sagicor, the Banks, Massy, etc..etc.

Just check the OUTFLOWS of forex over the years from ’bout here, as the modern pirates plunder us at rates that make the sixteenth Century look tame..

What we REALLY need is a national bush bath, ..to embed some SELF PRIDE and INDUSTRY, ..but instead, we are looking around for more PREDATORS with money, with whom to hitch our donkeys….
    …like desperate prostitutes.

Steupssss!!!