Submitted by James Bynoe, Caribbean Cyber Security Evangelist

The Perils of Inexperienced Leadership in Cybersecurity: A Call for Professional Expertise and Modern Approaches

In today’s rapidly evolving digital landscape, cybersecurity has become a critical national priority for countries worldwide. However, in many nations, including those in the Caribbean, the responsibility for overseeing cybersecurity often falls on government ministers who lack the necessary technical expertise. This growing trend poses significant risks, as these ministers frequently surround themselves with technology leaders who may be weak or inexperienced, further exacerbating the challenges faced in securing national digital infrastructures.

The Risks of Inexperienced Leadership

Cybersecurity is a complex and specialized field that requires a deep understanding of both technology and the ever-changing threat landscape. When government ministers who are not cybersecurity professionals take charge of this vital area, they may not fully grasp the technical nuances or the urgency of emerging threats. This lack of understanding can lead to poorly informed decisions, inadequate policies, and insufficient responses to cyber incidents.

Moreover, these ministers often rely on technology leaders who may lack the necessary experience or expertise to provide sound advice. This creates a dangerous situation where critical decisions about national security are made without the guidance of seasoned cybersecurity professionals. The consequences of such decisions can be dire, ranging from vulnerabilities in critical infrastructure to data breaches that expose sensitive government and citizen information.

Minister Marsha Caddle, Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science and Technology

The Ineffectiveness of Colonial-Era Approaches

One of the underlying issues contributing to this problem is the tendency to approach cybersecurity laws and policies using outdated, colonial-era processes. In many Caribbean nations, the legislative and regulatory frameworks for cybersecurity are still rooted in procedures and practices that were designed for a different era—one where digital threats were nonexistent.

These old processes are often slow, bureaucratic, and ill-suited to the fast-paced nature of cybersecurity. Laws and regulations take years to develop and implement, by which time the threats they aim to address have already evolved. This reactive approach leaves nations perpetually behind the curve, unable to effectively counter the latest cyber threats.

Furthermore, colonial approaches often focus on top-down governance, where decisions are made by a small group of individuals with limited consultation or input from technical experts or the broader community. This model does not work in the field of cybersecurity, where collaboration, transparency, and the inclusion of diverse perspectives are essential for creating robust defenses against cyber threats.

The Need for Professional Expertise and Modern Approaches

To address these challenges, it is crucial that governments recognize the importance of appointing cybersecurity professionals to lead national efforts in this domain. These professionals bring the technical knowledge and experience needed to navigate the complexities of cybersecurity, and they are better equipped to make informed decisions that protect national interests.

Additionally, there must be a shift away from colonial-era processes towards more agile, modern approaches to cybersecurity governance. This includes adopting a more inclusive and consultative process for developing cybersecurity laws and policies, where input from technical experts, the private sector, and civil society is actively sought and valued.

Moreover, the implementation of cybersecurity measures must be dynamic and adaptable, allowing for rapid responses to emerging threats. This requires a departure from the slow-moving legislative processes of the past and the adoption of a more proactive, forward-thinking approach to cybersecurity.

Conclusion

As the digital landscape continues to evolve, the need for strong, professional leadership in cybersecurity has never been more critical. Government ministers who are not cybersecurity professionals, and who surround themselves with inexperienced technology leaders, pose a significant risk to national security. It is time to abandon outdated, colonial-era processes and adopt modern, agile approaches to cybersecurity governance. By doing so, Caribbean nations can better protect their digital assets, safeguard their citizens’ data, and secure their place in the global digital economy. The stakes are too high to continue with business as usual.

33 responses to “The Perils of Inexperienced Leadership in Cybersecurity”

1. Israel’s high-tech IT industry should be boycotted due to it’s warfare, spycraft and disinformation propaganda polluting the internet

It is growing despite the war and accounts for 20% of their economy

2. WhatsApp finally forces Pegasus spyware maker to share its secret code
    Israeli spyware maker loses fight to only share information on installation.

ASHLEY BELANGER – 3/1/2024, 4:27 PM

https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2024/03/whatsapp-finally-forces-pegasus-spyware-maker-to-share-its-secret-code/?comments=1&comments-page=1

3. In essence this blog can be adopted to practically ANY modern area of governance in Barbados, where clueless government ministers find themselves leading complex national agencies.
    If it is still unclear that high performance professionals NEED to be found and engaged actively in the leadership of these critical areas, then we may as well resign ourselves to ongoing failure…

4. We have technocrats working in the public sector don’t we?

5. We have technocrats working in the public sector don’t we?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You obviously trying to mek Bushie cuss…
    But not tonite for shiite!!

Do you mean;
    – like the ones in finance that can’t produce a current financial report?

-Or like the ones in housing that building the 10,000 houses (including the STEAL ones)

-Perhaps you are thinking of the one that signed the Radical letter and got National Honors..

– Oh WAIT!! you thinking of the ‘economists’ (whatever the Hell THOSE are) that put together the Central Bank reports – WITHOUT CURRENT AUDITED FINANCIAL DATA…?
    Murdah!!!
    Bushie belly!!

You better leave Bushie tonight yuh!!!

6. @ David
    What James Bynoe is calling for is NOT having ‘qualified Brass Bowls’ in various Ministries, but having PROVEN Professionals – WHO MUST THEN TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR ALL RESULTS, ..being put IN CHARGE of these critical areas.
    Think back on people like Lionel Moe etc.who GUIDED ‘ministers’ wisely.

Not BBs like those on the Clear Water Board, REPORTING TO political JAs such as Doo Shiite and the Tyre Slasher.

In ANY case the so-called ‘technocrats’ are mostly ‘yes women’ and shiite-men with mock degrees, compliments Sir Cave’s target of one graduate per house.

No wonder nothing works bout here…

7. The recent Cloudflare incident should demonstrate the importance of a focused and relevant IT governance framework. It has to be prioritized.

8. Maybe the blogmaster missed it but the ‘shadow cabinet’ appointed on the weekend by the embattled political leader of the government in waiting didn’t mention a person shadowing Technology. If the blogmaster is correct it underscores Bynoe’s point.

9. Check what’s unfolding with the IT expert Mark Zuckerberg!!

He is facing a possible lifetime in jail.

IT experts are probably more at fault than are “inexperienced” Governments about which George Orwell wrote at length.

1984 has come and gone.

10. Seriously?

11. William Skinner Avatar

Our major problem in the region is that we have transitioned from the colonial era but we have not transformed. That really means we are doing the same things, the same way, and expect different results. Until we concentrate on transformation , we would remain in transition. Another way of saying ; one step forward and two steps backward.

12. @William

Agree to some degree with your comment. Bear in mind rampaging technology is challenging the world and it is setup in a way that you have to spend significant sums to keep up far less stay ahead of it.

The challenge for our region is as you stated but because of scarce resources for small countries like ours with priority spending allocated to education, healthcare, physical infrastructure etc technology spend will always be inadequate.

This is the challenge, this is the balancing act we have to struggle.

13. William Skinner Avatar

We failed to get on the Information highway because we were so set in our ways that we always figured that the world would wait on us. We had a great opportunity to at least begin the process of getting our children on board even at the basic level with Edutech and we failed.
    We have to stop making excuses for poor backward decisions or we would be constantly here having the same arguments/discussions.
    For example reading the Nation this morning, we are told that after that glorious Central Bank quarterly report , that we are paying over seven million dollars in interest alone on loans.
    This is higher than what we spend on Health. And its a trend throughout the region ; where we are paying more in interest on loans than we are spending on : health , education etc. To put it mildly , we are in a debt trap and we continue to revel in fancy cliches but we are going no where very fast.
    This bull shit goes way beyond not having resources. It’s more a question of visionless leadership and having too many square pegs in round holes. We should really pay more attention to @Bush Tea and @ Pacha , than listen , to these recycled talking heads .

14. William Skinner Avatar

That should be seven hundred million dollars. Not seven million.

15. @ David
    How do you explain Africa’s dilemma if, as you suggest, the problem is ‘scarce resources’?
    Does Barbados REALLY suffer from ‘scarce’ resources? ..or is it WASTED resources?
    NO amount of resources will be EVER be Enuff for an incompetent spender.

Our problem relates to the proper MANAGEMENT of our available resources. What the article is suggesting is that our VERY BEST PROFESSIONAL HUMAN RESOURCE assets should be tasked with providing such management – particularly in complex or FAILING areas.

…NOT losers whose forte is to talk sweet and make false promises.

However, if we are happy with impressive promises, and prepared to accept the same lame excuses year after year… then we can continue smartly.

16. @William

That is why the reply was agree with you to a large extent but the reality is that IT governance is more that what you are defining it as.

17. @Bush Tea

It is both. We have to be careful not to conflate issues. SIDs will always be negatively affected by scarce resources, this is a reality no sensible person can deny. Another reality is that the information highway and technology is moving at a dizzying pace. The blogmaster recalls when the author of this submission tried to draw awareness to this issue he was scoffed at by many. We are here now.

18. In Their Own Way*

There is a plethora of information available to all in the Aquarian Age, but people lack the critical thinking and analysis to discern truths from the universe of data to understand the universe.

In computer science, the Boolean (sometimes shortened to Bool) is a data type that has one of two possible values (usually denoted true and false) which is intended to represent the two truth values of logic and Boolean algebra.

5 years ago people here were talking about Barbados investing in IT education for the next generation to become a world powerhouse in coding and software development.

15 years ago Bu family were talking about the Mark of the Beast, the Coming of the Anti-Christ and the Dead Sea Scrolls

The Technology and Info War can be likened as the battle between USA and China to be #1 World Economy with Western War Propaganda to Maxi-Maxi-Maximum Disinformation

The propaganda and bias against Crazy Rich Asians has been going on since Napoleon who said “Let China sleep, for when she wakes, she will wake the world.”

when it comes to Anti-Chinese sentiment
    Dems are bad
    GOP will be worse

[Verse 1]
    How do you feel?
    When you’re walking on the road
    And there are folks
    That criticize you each time you pass them by

[Chorus]
    In their own way
    Yes, in his own way

[Verse 2]
    The way you live
    And other things you do in life
    Makes them hesitate
    And they wonder how you live they way you do

[Chorus]
    But they’ll never get next to you
    No, they’ll never get next to you
    Oh-oh-oh, uh yeah

[Verse 3]
    So no matter what they say or do
    They can’t stop you (Oh no)
    ‘Cause in everything a man do
    You should remember that the father’s watching him

[Outro]
    In his own way
    Yes, in his own way (Yeah)
    Woah-oh, yes, in his own way
    Yes, in his own way

19. It seems to me that our ideas of cyber security is more focused on putting the fear of God into bloggers than on preventing hackers from penetrating sensitive systems… Reports of a hacking appears; some official steps forward with a mild statement and then you hear nothing afterwards. I seem to recall that QEH underwent a major hack for an extended period of time and this made me wonder if it was being held for ransom. Of course this story disappeared and we are none the wiser.

In the article, the blogger looks first at the Ministers but this paragraph is most relevant
    “Moreover, these ministers often rely on technology leaders who may lack the necessary experience or expertise to provide sound advice. This creates a dangerous situation where critical decisions about national security are made without the guidance of seasoned cybersecurity professionals. The consequences of such decisions can be dire, ranging from vulnerabilities in critical infrastructure to data breaches that expose sensitive government and citizen information.”

To expect a person to run in an election, win and then become an IT expert is folly. We would expect that the person have a strong team behind him. By now you should be aware that I cast a suspicious eye on most of our experts. When objectives measures are replace by family, cronyism, corruptions and lackey are installed in important positions then genuine expertise if often stifled.

One note:
    I would have like to see the qualification of some of these experts stated at the bottom of their articles. With available resources, most people can put together an article without having any expertise in the matter

The OG: AS, SHOLE and IT expert

20. “The stone which the builders rejected, the same is become the head of the corner.”
    We have qualified individuals who we choose to ignore.

Sometime I wonder if planned failure is built into our systems. This is just an extension of the scam, con and 3 card monte approach. It is only when serious bad actors breach our systems and we are held hostage for an extended period of time. that we begin to realize that our gi-runts are not up to the task.

21. “SIDs will always be negatively affected by scarce resources, this is a reality no sensible person can deny.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss, this is a reliable cliche that is overused by incompetent leaders.

Interestingly, even the albino-centric world-masters are now adopting this fallacy to explain their growing failures.
    Losers ALWAYS blame ‘lack of resources’ for their lack of vision, creativity etc.

Many of the true successes of this world have been due to creativity, vision, commitment, and hard work…. using whatever resources that were available.

On the few occasions where resources are TRULY scarce, it is even more critical that brass bowls be sidelined….

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

Upon reading this
    “In essence this blog can be adopted to practically ANY modern area of governance in Barbados, ”
    No comment was needed. One might omit modern.

23. (*) typo err #napolean #quotes #china

“China is a sleeping giant, when she wakes she will shake* the world”,
    or “China is a sleeping dragon”
    or “China is a sleeping lion”

The Trade War Continues..

24. BT

It’s called socialism, communism or fascism, all creatures of the left.

I am constantly amazed to see American politicians embracing the leftist ideologies.

The Democrats have been rolled and some Republicans too. We will see if America can survive the onslaught that has taken down once thriving democracies. Will it be able to keep its constitutional republic?

One of the dreams of communism was world revolution where workers of the world would unite and overthrow their masters.

America was a problem because of its strong upwardly mobile middle class and the ability for anyone to achieve “the American Dream”

No need to revolt no one to overthrow!!.

You can watch as open borders floods the welfare state created in America and breaks it reducing everyone to misery. Competition is stifled through DEI.

I this situation of universal misery revolt is possible.

Barbados was rolled decades ago.

These elections in November will give us the answers!!

25. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

Well some commment … 😇.

David, the Bush Griot and Northern are correct that the piece is generically applicable across all govts (mostly local but international too)!

I truly do not grasp what I would call an oft used cliché about colonial mentalities permeating cybersecurity. That is used to suggest the old fighting new and set a tone of incompetence but IMHO is more scare mongering than reality.

It’s not for me to defend govt but realistically colonial practices ALSO mean having sound protocols and systems for control/accountability.

As alluded to … it would be IMPRACTICAL to adopt any practice of wasteful paper pushing (also colonial) to manage a process that can shift by the hour due to a newly discovered backdoor.

So I generically dismiss this criticism just as the author makes a very generic analysis.

The very nature of computer tech is ALL about speed and quick reactions so it borders on insanity that any govt would place their operations and life blood at risk due to deliberately slow control of their IT infrastructure.

Hackers , like all criminals, just need to be successful ONCE … and all the work and protections that were so effective becomes meaningless … but that does not mean processes are old fashioned.

Just saying folks.

When you are around IT as much as most of us have … you know that to be OLD fashioned means that you are getting out of business by ‘suicide’.

Is that what we are suggesting our govt is doing!

26. @Dee Word

You must have gleaned the blogmaster’s focus is on the governance aspect.

27. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

4 YEARS AFTER THE PLANDEMIC – SOY-BOY MARK SUCKER-BERG HAS CROSSED THE RUBICON ON TO REGRET ISLAND, CRYING INTO HIS MORNING LATTE ABOUT HOW THE WHITE HOUSE BULLIED HIM INTO #Censorship OVER FACEBOOK POSTS!!! FROM 2020 JANUARY – MARCH, EVERY CONSPIRATORIAL POST YOUR HUMBLE SERVANT PUT UP ON FB WAS BLATANTLY CENSORED UNTIL I WAS FINALLY WARNED TO CEASE & DESIST OR ELSE – SO I TOOK IT UPON MYSELF TO SIMPLY #PissOff WITH A RANT WORTHY OF AN ACADEMY AWARD; CLOSE MY FB ACCOUNT & HAVE NOT LOOKED BACK SINCE!!!

Well, it took 4 years, but my words have not fallen to the ground!!!

It is wonderful how “TIME” is the “GREAT LEVELLER” of all things “PROPHETICALLY PREDICTABLE” given that even “BILLIONAIRES” et al are amongst the “DUMBEST HUMANS” on earth – including the cockroaches infesting #GothamCity called #POLIETICIANS”!!!

Messrs BYNOE* piece is beautiful “AI GENERATED” and clearly “CYBERSECURITY” & “ALL OTHER FORMS OF SECURITY” are mere “OXYMORONIC CLAPTRAP” given that the so-called “BIG GUNS” decides what is “SECURITY” & what isn’t!!!

IT ALL HORSE DUNG – PERFECT FOR GROWING VEG!!!

28. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHILE THE FOCUS IS ON CYBERSECURITY WHERE THE AVERAGE IT OPERATIVE IN THE UK CAN EARN BETWEEN £60K – £100K FOR A FEW DAYS OF WORK PER MONTH – MAKING IT A VERY CUSHY HUSTLE IF YOU CAN FIND COMPANIES THAT ARE WILLING TO COUGH UP TO PROTECT THEIR ONLINE WEBSITE ACTIVITY, WHILE MOST ARE NOT COGNIZANT OF HOW #BIGPHARMA #BIGBIZ & #BIGGOV IN A MENAGE TROIS CONTINUE TO GANGBANG THE MASSES WITH MORE & MORE MADNESS WHEN IT COMES TO PUBLIC HEALTH & THE WELFARE & HEALTHCARE OF ITS CITIZENS

If you are not “PISSED OFF”- you are so “MORALLY BROKE*” that you cannot “PAY* ATTENTION”!!!

#Cybersecurity is “NOT” the greatest threat to human existence, as a matter of fact – it’s a “BLESSING IN DISGUISE” when the #RussianAndChineseHACKERS* ply their trade on the “DARK WEB” by holding these “DIRTY BASTERDS” to ransom!!!

The greatest threats we face can be summed as follows:

(1) The onslaught against “CIVIL LIBERTIES”
    (2) The emerging “COLLAPSE” of “MONETARY FREEDOM”
    (3) The inability to “DODGE THE DRAFT” as #WW3 beckons

Finally, where the #godsOfSCIENCE & #BIGPHARMA control every aspect of our fragile, human existence, especially for those who have no “ALTERNATIVE ROUTE” out of the winding maze of sickness & bad health!!!

29. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHEN YOU TAKE A BILLIONAIRE’S MONEY – WHAT IS LEFT OF HIM???
    ANSWER: A SNIVELLING JUDAS ABOUT TO COMMIT SUICIDE OR SOMEONE WHOSE PAPER-BASED HOUSE EITHER GOES UP IN FLAMES OR COLLAPSES INTO A SINKHOLE

The day is not far distant when the world will see “STARVING BILLIONAIRES” who will use their “PAPER-money to wipe their backsides!!!

#StayTuned

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

Since much of these blog threads are criticisms, it should be noted the digitization (for lack of a better term from a technological dunce), at both CAIPO and CBB are working and have seen great improvements in their service and capabilities.
    I do not deal with the BRA much, @Artax would have more insight into their progress in this area.
    The land registry remains a behemoth to navigate as do many other government departments.
    I cannot comment on health care.

31. William Skinner Avatar

It is glaringly obvious that we do not enjoy getting to the sources of our tardiness ; it comes back to repeating the same mistake . Our belief is that we can talk our way out of crises. When people complain about the tardiness in doing business in Bim , it really has nothing to do with lack of resources , it is more to do with archaic thinking and duplication of tasks. And this slowness is not only restricted to international business but it’s a culture of what Austin calls “rote”, an archaic education system that has little to do with critical thinking and one that literally turns us into over cautious people.
    We are fighting many cultural habits that served us well that should have been modified four decades ago.
    We have rejected seat belts and breathalyzers that are basic safety and death prevention/safety issues. So, we actually thought that we could have avoid computers . We need to change the conversation to reality and dump the damn rote.

32. Cybercrime Bill redrafted

AFTER SEVEN MEETINGS, 48 written submissions and 12 orally, the Cybercrime Bill, 2024, has been redrafted and now features a stiffer penalty for offenders.

The amendments were outlined in the more than 800-page Report Of The Joint Select Committee (Standing) on Governance And Policy Matters On The Cybercrime Bill, 2024, And The Mutual Assistance In Criminal Matters (Amendment) Bill, 2024.

Regarding the submissions, which were made by groups, concerned individuals, members of the legal fraternity and even an online petition website, the committee, chaired by Member of Parliament Edmund Hinkson, highlighted the main concerns.

“The majority of the submissions to the committee highlighted issues relating to freedom of expression, vagueness of the language as it related to the offences, the broad nature in which the language is written, and the uncertainty as to whether or not the terms can be objectively identified by the members of the public as something that is criminal.

“One of the main criticisms of the Cybercrime Bill is the concern over an apparent curb in the freedom of expression. The Commission, by a majority, held the view that the right to freedom of expression is not a right given in absolute terms. The Barbados Constitution at Section 20 provides for laws to be passed to limit that expression, provided that those limits are reasonably required in the public interest and also to secure the rights and freedom of others,” it stated.

“The intent of the bill is not to unduly restrict people from expressing themselves, but from doing so in a manner by way of electronic means, on the Internet, that would interfere with other persons, or is likely to cause harm or effect change in the conduct of persons by way of some malicious or offensive actions.”

Amendments

The amendments included adding a definition of “without authority”; deleting the words “annoyance”, “inconvenience”, “obstruction”, “embarrassment” and “insult”, and word substitutions.

The major change, however, was to Clause 19, malicious communication, and Clause 20, cyberbullying.

While the summary conviction of a fine of $70 000 or imprisonment for seven years or both remains, the following was added: “(B) On conviction on indictment to a fine of $100 000 or to imprisonment for a term of ten years or to both.”

The report concluded that the committee agreed to these amendments after “robust discussions”.

“Though the Committee may not have agreed with all the concerns raised or with all the suggestions and the recommendations put forward, it is forever grateful for the different perspectives and views shared which valuably assisted it in making the relevant amendments reflecting greater transparency and accountability,” it stated.

There were no further changes to the Mutual Assistance In Criminal Matters (Amendment) Bill, 2024.

The work of the Joint Select Committee began in April after a month’s delay, but it asked for more time to submit its report due to the high number of submissions. In May, the Barbados Bar Association said the then iteration of the Cybercrime Bill was flawed and could end up being challenged legally.

The final committee meeting was held in July at the Parliament Buildings and the report was laid in the Senate two weeks ago before it was sent to the House of Assembly. The report is also available on Parliament’s website. (CA)