Submitted by Anonymous Civil Servant

Dear David, I write to the blog as a civil servant and a friend of a business person. I am concerned about how wicked and rude some of my colleagues can be. Some may say I have sour grapes but wrong is wrong.

Would you believe that some staff at CAIPO are threatening to deregister many businesses because the owners did not know about the annual filings? Concern was expressed that it is unfair that persons owning small businesses are getting penalized $10 a day for every year outstanding. Could this be fair to these small businesses who are struggling with lack of human and financial resources?

David, I was encouraged to write to you as the newspapers refused to publish a letter my friend sent  with her concerns. CAIPO has all the companies registered and never sent out any correspondence about the filings yet heavy-handedly is now threatening to deregister my friend’s company because she cannot pay the over $12,000 for 4 years.

These politicians sit down and pass stupid laws and then civil servants with bad attitudes blindly execute. Imagine my friend is now attending doctor very depressed with high blood pressure. Where is the humanity in all this  when Courts Barbados and others can get millions written off? $60M in Four Seasons and $54M for Whiteoak.

If these civil servants continue to destroy businesses and lives someone who has lost it all will take matters in their own hands. David, the Prime minister needs to call off the uncaring arrogant staff at CAIPO whose stupid mantra, is them should know about the filings and them want all the arrears.

82 responses to “Who cares about small business?”

1. @ The $100 a year filing fee to retain a company name was a money grab introduced by sinkyuh. It is the biggest load of foolishness out there. Plus every year if nothing changes with the company, you must fill out 5 pages or so of paper saying the exact blasted thing as year before! You mean nobody in there cant create a 1 page form for a company to fill out with one question pun it asking the below?

WERE THERE ANY CHANGES THAT WOULD AFFECT YOUR RETURN THIS YEAR FROM LAST YEAR?

have a box and tick NO attach the hundred dollars and done wid dat! You really believe CAIPO up to date with them filings either? We love dam paper and that is why we are so far down the ease of doing business scale. We insist on all this crap and nobody in government seems to understand this.

2. @John A

How can we live paper and this government preaches ‘transformation’ as its mantra? It is a contradiction.

3. If this is true, it will have to be reversed. Knowing the bad-mindedness of some uncivil servants, I believe that they are probably enjoying the power to make uppity black people who aspired to be more than just a civil servant squirm.

Yes, individual notices, or at the very least a public notice, should have been sent out to those businesses to avoid this very situation.

THE MOST these people should be asked to pay is the $100 fee for each year missed, and a reasonable, flat penalty based on delinquency PER YEAR, not per day, with a manageable payment plan. Clearly this was cash grab measure, not a recouping of expenses incurred by government.

If one small business suffers because of this, the idea that this government wants more black people to think business and not just jobs is debunked.

I have no doubt that the right thing will be done here. After all, it was the desperate Dee’s doing, not this government’s. It won’t cost them a thing to fix it. Easy win for the Bees!

And to those bad-minded civil servants – who stopped you from pursuing your dreams? Was it the person standing before you, or the person inside your own skin?

Somebody should have recognised the problem and referred it upwards, for the attention of those who could do something about it.

And if you can only think selfishly – you never know when your child or grandchild is going to need a starter job. Life is unpredictable!

4. Don’t think it was a cash grab, more a disincentive to encourage filing.

5. Really, David? Then how about early notices to bolster the incentive to file, David? You don’t need paper these days. A press of a button can send them.

Yuh dun know how small business are run, don’t you? Many owners are ignorant of a lot of things.

6. On a related matter, small businesses the world over have to be open to negotiating price, it is a characteristic of small business.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/lisa-cummins-1024×614.png

7. BRA is in a mess and Caswell Franklyn speaks about the head of enforcement and head of valuations running scams. As the writer says somebody will take matters into their hands. This is really awful and a serious indictment on black politicians. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AXz1tmbGL6A

8. That would be a commonsense approach but ministers, many with legal paper, and bureaucrats tend to be rigid in thought about these kinds of matters.

9. Politicians yes but civil servants are meant to be guardians of public business.

10. @David, have you seen this expose on BRA by Caswell Franklyn who showed evidence from files sent to him by whistle blowers?

11. @Fed Up

Caswell seems to have signed an exclusive arrangement with Marcia Weekes. Wish him all the best.

12. @David, you should watch for this is really disturbing about the corruption persons in trusted positions are abusing their authority. https://youtu.be/9Vlo3T1PqFQ?si=tDIptnCDGTgIY2jP

13. Will try Fed up but wading through hours of a video makes it difficult. The blogmaster places credence in documents that can be touched and examined. It is one reason BU has survived since 2007.

14. @ David

It was nothing but a money grab trust me! Half of what they ask for is ALREADY at the registry. Its nothing but a joke and last time I heard they were 2 years behind filing the annual information. CAIPO is no diferent to most other government departments. The difference being their delays cause companies money.

Remember Artax said last week you cant even get anyone at NIS to answer basic questions clients have because DE SYSTEM DOWN. It is the same crap whereever you turn!

But dont worry instead of fixing the blasted problems government set up a phone center so you could call and complain pun! Lol

15. @John A

How much revenue is estimated to be collected from this $100.00?

16. Our commentators must finally realise that our Aborigines simply can’t do economics.

What do we expect from a DLP government where the ministers’ fathers toiled as plantation labourers? That their sons can think economically? A servant will always remain a servant.

17. David, watched the video Fed Up posted. Corruption existed from the days of Inland Revenue, and obviously continued in the BRA. I’ll give you an example. Owners of PSVs — B, BT, H, HL, Z, ZM, ZR, must file income or corporation tax returns and apply for tax clearance certificates, to facilitate renewal of their vehicles’ registration. Indians are known to pay certain BRA officers to their returns and obtain tax clearances. Taxi owners used to pay $100 for a certificate, without having to file income tax returns. Mentioning civil servant corruption in this forum, is often interpreted by certain contributors to mean, blaming civil servants to protect politicians. Perhaps they would believe Caswell Franklyn.

18. Small Businesses, convenience stores, family businesses and business entrepreneurs are a dying breed.

So are job careers and permanent positions for life.

Global corps minimum wage and zero hour contracts are the new norm.

19. William Skinner Avatar

We have never taken small business seriously. We have never been given any comprehensive description of what is a small business. Small business is often described as ” small black business “. Both administrations have used “small” and aspiring “small” business people for political PR purposes.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

@UCS
    If you buy a car, they are certain annual fees required w.r.t insurance, licensing etc. if you buy a house or land similar applies.
    The same occurs if you begin a business. Ignorance is a poor defence.
    And merely writing off past fees or penalties, is not a solution either?
    White Oaks was paid “success fees” it was not a write off. It is like my offering the head of CAIPO a $500,000 bonus for writing off penalties owing. An attempt was made to write off monies paid to guarantee FS loans, which in itself is not unlawful.
    Rather it was the failure of CBL to submit a single annual report which broke ‘the law’ and according to the Auditor General how the loan guarantees were funded. The NIS broke the law for years by failing to submit Annual Reports. Ditto for the TB, QEH and a slew of other entities.
    As such the GoB sets an awful example for compliance with laws.
    Yet is this a reason why public employees should not seek to enforce laws?
    All citizens have a personal responsibility to know what applies to them. And comply or face the consequences.

For many years as a volunteer at a credit counseling body, I got the stories. People owing a credit card company $38,000; would plead they paid the “minimum” amount required as stated, and now how could they owe $38,000? That ‘a friend’ told them to just pay this minimum amount. How could the interest rate be so high? If only they knew, they would have paid the $10,000 in goods they bought.

21. What you posit is correct but there is wiggle room for manages to exercise discretion and good judgement based on what is before them. All is not black and white and we know there is an inherent ignorance that comes with small business owners Z

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

True. And so it behooves the affected persons to seek a settlement?
    What many want is Govt to step in and offer a blanket removal of penalties.
    Why?
    Should those who complied then be offered a credit?
    It’s a devolving spiral.

23. @ David

I would think in fees they would collect between 2 to 3 million BDS a year. Listen business paying enough in taxes, vat, duty and everything inbetween. Plus corporation tax went up last budget too. This $100 charge is a nuisance tax to have to go in there and line up to file 5 pages in duplicate, than come back 6 months later to colect your copy, only to hear WE AINT REACH YOU YET COME BACK IN 3 MONTHS.

Look if we so brek that the $100 a year per company will keep a few employed, tell them put a kettle like the salvation army by the door and i would drop a grantley in it. I mean if you say companies doing over 1 million dollars in revenue need to file a year then fine. But dont tell me 2 hair dressers that register must file that is pure BS! Then they will tell you ” oh pay a corporate secretary to file for you.” Now the same government saying if you do less than 300,000 in sales dont register for vat though.

Stupes!

24. @northobserver, are you an included yardfowl or a functional illterate who does not understand wrong from right. Do you think any small business owner would not pay if they new of the RH filing you fool. Cheupse

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@RH angry

How the fuck can you be a small business OWNER and NOT know. Are they as you term functional illiterates?
    Do you think business owners know that they are required to collect VAT, AND remit it? Do they all do so?
    Ignorance is not an excuse. Pull that on somebody else.

26. Not just government, there are third sector supporting associations like the BSA for example responsible for educating members. We have to do better.

27. No comment. The dumbing down continues. Looka the Minister picture up to tell a story of what is in essence bad management practices by some small business owners. Wey Lynette Holder picture?🤭🤭

28. @enuff

Are all small busines owners members of the BSA? Is the minister responsible for the sector and vested in maximizing its performance?

29. Let’s simplify Enuff. Should Government neglect Barbadians who struggle with understanding their civic responsibility by being deliberately short on public education? Why was the public affairs unit setup?

30. @northernobserver, you too busy getting largasse and probably never even own even a fowl coop as a business to understand the struggles of small business. Vat was introduced with a massive public awareness campaign. So wheel and come again. The blasted filing and penalties were made law without any PR so flipping come again and clowns like you get free food big mouth drinks to do dirty to fellow bajans. Some funny night will come when you and your political masters will have to run and hide as some day the bucket bottom will drop out

31. @John A, entrepreneurship is the only hope for Barbados and not the unsustainable fragile tourism. the $10 daily penalty is onerous as I am hearing from employees and business owners that its true CAIPO is asking for all the arrears. I felt really sad after reading the post as it seems the staff lacks empathy. Obviously CAIPO failed to inform the public and now heavy handedly applying the law.

32. Can CAIPO waive the fee if it is law?

33. @David, no he is not just a blind loyal BLP yardfowl extraodinaire who is selfishly interested in his survival and defending the BLP at all cost.

34. Let us make points without attacking a moniker. Where is the point in doing so?

35. David

I keep telling you to do your research before writing and stop presenting one side of the story.

36. Civil servant
    My what? You should encourage your friends to join the SBA and or make use of their education programmes rather than wrongfully accuse me of being selfishly interested in my survival.🤭🤭🤭

37. @ Northern

You remember when Sinkyuh moved the vat threshold to $300,000 what he said? ” Those persons below $300,000 are a paper burden to the vat office in comparison to what is collected from them.”

So if that is the case does the same realiity not affect Caipo? A threshold needs to be set there too and it needs to be in the area of $1million in annual revenue. For small business people who sell under a million, to have to pay a Corporate Secretary which usually is an accounting firm, is no small bill for these small businesses. Why burden them with this when the $100 is neither here nor there for the state? A Corporate Secretary will run a small business an additional expense of a couple thousand dollars yearly and for what? So they can file a document that basically is the same every year. We are a barrier to business and that is why they are so few new businesses coming to the front.

This is an issue that needs to be addressed, especially when many companies here struggle to show a net profit in excess of 4% of sales. If you doubt me just read the financials of the publcally traded distribution based entities. Of course the case with Emera and a few others like the Banks would laugh at only making this!

38. Fear not, people! Northern Observer has just committed to opening a large business to employ all those who will be on the breadline after the collection of the fee plus exorbitant penalties put the igrunt small business owners out of business!

Nuff nuff big white FULLY INFORMED business owners does play de system and walk way unscathed, with NIS deducted and never paid in, VAT charged and never paid in, but we must squeeze the igrunt small business owners dat trying a ting without access to adequate bank funding and all the other advantages afforded to the big white fully informed business owners, all for a fee that has nothing to do wid recouping government expenditure on their behalf.

I repeat, they should pay the fee for the years they missed plus a reasonable flat rate penalty per year of delinquency. At MOST!

All this on a reasonable payment plan, so as not to cause major disruption to the business.

That is enough to serve as an incentive to comply going forward.

UNLESS there are other goals that haven’t been stated!

“Ignorance of the law” is not the only ignorance on display here. And there is no excuse for THAT!

39. David March 12, 2024 at 2:02 pm

“Can CAIPO waive the fee if it is law?”

The MoF (PM) can waive those overdue fees the same way the duties and taxes were waived on the luxury vehicle for the personal use of MAM No.2 hiding behind ag host hotel.

What about the millions in VAT collected from consumers and not paid into the Treasury via the BRA and subsequently written off without sound justification by the same government?

40. The fee is $10 a day and I think what most persons are missing is that no proper notification or PR campaign was ever done by CAIPO to acquaint poor human resources strapped small businesses. I do not think any citizen should ever refuse to pay their share of any taxes especially when the country give away so much free. What I confirmed today out of curiosity is that the personnel at CAIPO are asking for all the arrears and penalties point blank. Persons should not be so hard on small business owners. As an accountant many off my colleagues did not hear of it also as no correspondence was ever sent. BTW a threshold needs to be set and my opinion it was poorly implemented and onerous on many fledgling small business persons. We need assist more and hold the hands of those who are trying to make a living while also employing persons. That`s my assessment

41. @ Bajan Yankee

It is just one more barrier that the small buiseness man must jump over to survive here. This island does not encourage entrepreneurs, nor does it make it easy for a one many show who wants to do the right thing, but does not have the cash flow to pay a corporate secretary. Then the same politicians wonder why we can not do any better on the Ease Of Doing Business Report every year. All we do is throw more paper at him. Oh and hope he dont buy an electric car cause he now got to keep a milage book and pay in a tax on the milage over the allocated figure. More paper again!

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@RH Angry & John A
    I don’t even live in Barbados, but knew about the fee. I did not know about the penalties, which seem exorbitant, but every govt fee or tax usually has some attached penalty. Whether they enforce it or not is another topic.
    Enuff has frequently told the Blogmaster of recent, he doesn’t cover the “other side”, without providing the other side?

I cannot comment on the communication, as I just paid the fee and filled in the paperwork.

@Donna

On another day I might cuss yuh. But thank you introducing the skin tone angle. Always a pet project for you, and for many on the blog.
    Remember Kyffin sold out, both oil and cars he was #1 by a long way ( though the Parkland- Simpson Oil [Cayman company] battle brews), BS&T long gone to Massy, GEL is still there, but should be moving soon; all the banks are foreign owned, (except some of the Trust banks) the telecommunications are foreign owned, all the rum distilleries save Foursquare are foreign owned, Rubis is foreign owned, the BL&P aka Emera is foreign owned, at least half the hotels are foreign owned, Apes Hill is now owned by the man who built Gildan (and there is plenty heat at Gildan too), the whole Banks Group is foreign owned, is Sagicor local (?), so apart from the regular BU culprits C.O.Williams, brother Bizzys Group, Maloney etc, who are the “nuff nuff big white business” who evade taxes, and pocket NIS contributions, like Sinkyuh did?
    What is nuff nuff? How big is big?

43. David, what is the BSA, or do you mean ‘Small Business Association (SBA)?’ I can’t understand why is it some people love politicise every issue. NorthernObserver is one of the ‘most neutral’ BU contributors. His contributions are ALWAYS fair and balanced.

44. Thanks for the correction Artax.

It is an open forum on the Internet. The simple and best approach is to make a point and don’t get caught up with noise on the line.

45. I see Land Taxes have increased.

People owning more than 2 acres classed as farmland have seen a dramatic increase.

Wonder if Simple Simon the Kulak owns 2 acres or more of agricultural land!!

TAX DEMAND
    RATES RAISED ON PLOTS LARGER THAN TWO ACRES, DEEMED FARMLAND
    by Sheria Brathwaite
    Barbadians who own two-acre properties or larger classified as agricultural land by the Development Planning Office are being asked to pay significantly higher land tax rates, Barbados TODAY has learned.
    Some residents are now being told to pay approximately 1 000 per cent more for land tax.
    But in a stunning admission, the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA), while confirming a householder’s new high rate, acknowledged the likely “inequality or lack of fairness” in the bill’s sticker shock.
    At issue is whether large agricultural plots qualify for the new rates where owners have built their primary home on the land – a distinction that usually attracts a lower standard tax rate.
    The development was revealed in correspondence by the BRA’s land valuation and assessment technical specialist, Kevindale Carter, to residents of Sandford, St Philip, who protested their recent land tax bills, people who own properties of two acres or more are now required to pay 0.95 per cent on the improved value of their land.
    Carter said the BRA had made a mistake in previous years by billing these property owners in line with residential rates and was now in the process of correcting the error.
    Last week, Government backbencher Dr Sonia Browne made a direct, personal appeal to her parliamentary colleagues for relief from the land tax assessed on her home, as she claimed some of her neighbours were carrying a similar burden. Saying that the matter was also a concern for her rural constituents, the St Philip North MP told her colleagues: “I opened my land tax bill last year and almost had a seizure. It moved from $3 300 roughly to $8 300”.
    Dr Browne said she was bringing the matter to the attention of the legislators and the public in the hope that she would see some relief. She further told the House that she had “pleaded” with the Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn and “really got nowhere”.
    Following her outcry, other residents in the Sandford community also complained to Barbados TODAY about their experience with high bills.
    Peter Bradshaw, who presented his latest bill and several past bills, went from paying $427.50 in financial year 2022-2023 to receiving a bill for $4 512.50 in 2023-2024.
    Adamant that he did not intend to pay that amount, he objected to the tax claim which was sent to him on September 1 last year. In a letter dated December 11, Carter, who wrote on behalf of the Revenue Commissioner Louisa Lewis- Ward, told Bradshaw that the previous amounts he was being asked to pay were incorrect and the current bill was now the correct amount due.
    Carter also said all Sandford residents who had two or more acres of property would have adjusted bills.
    “The Development Planning Office (DPO), formerly the Town and Country Development Planning Office (TCDPO) determines land use in Barbados. These lots are all classified as agricultural land by the DPO. All lots 2 acres or more in developments have been determined by the DPO as agricultural land. The Barbados Revenue Authority does not classify lands, but values and taxes are based on the DPO classification. When these lots are vacant they are valued and taxed as agricultural lands. That should not change because a house is built on the land. The department erred in changing the category from agricultural to residential for those with houses. This error is now being corrected,”
    Carter said, adding that there is a “50 per cent rebate available to those that use the land to produce agriculture for sale”.
    Bradshaw, who owns a two-acre plot, questioned the BRA official’s logic.
    “I see nothing in the Land Tax Act that speaks to what he is saying,” Bradshaw said.
    Quoting Section 6A of the Act, he said: “Where a person owns land on which a dwelling house is erected and the dwelling house is used exclusively as a residence, that person shall pay tax at the rate specified under Section 6(1)”.
    Section 6(1) states that tax shall be levied and paid at such rates specified.
    The improved value of Bradshaw’s land is $475 000. According to BRA’s website, people with improved land for residential purposes pay 0.7 per cent on the excess of the improved value greater than $450 000 but not exceeding $850 000.
    “His argument is that all those other people that aren’t paying what I am paying, they are doing so by error and it’s going to be fixed. But if that happens that would have a significant impact. There would be a big outcry from people in this land. That means that I have to pay the government nearly $400 every month to rent my own property. This doesn’t make any sense to me,” Bradshaw asserted, adding that he was aware of “at least two of my neighbours who objected to their bills and they dropped it back to residential”.
    Bradshaw, who has been living in the St Philip district for about 23 years, said that having not been satisfied with the response, he visited BRA on several occasions and wrote again to the Revenue Commissioner.
    In a letter dated January 31 this year, BRA insisted that the tax bill was indeed accurate. But the revenue agency added that it was sorry if the assessment was unequal or unfair.
    It said: “We have established that the land is agricultural land as classified by the Planning and Development Department, formerly Town and Country Development Planning Office. We acknowledge that all of the lots are similarly classified. We have examined the taxes levied on your property . . . which is a lot of 2.0 acres in an agricultural subdivision, and found that the tax rate of 0.95 per cent is correctly applied to the value. The department will continue working to bring all such properties to the appropriate rate of tax applicable to agricultural land.
    “On behalf of the Revenue Commissioner, we apologise for any inequality or lack of fairness in the assessment of the tax demanded for land in your environs.”
    In a statement over the weekend, BRA’s manager of communications and public relations Carolyn Williams-Gayle, said the authority was in the process of bringing tax rates for properties up to date with their prescribed usage.
    “With reference to land usage, the Land Tax Act makes reference to property owners of land under agricultural use who may have a dwelling house on that property, and in referencing the agricultural rebate, the Land Tax Act CAP78A (8A)(3) states that land that is under cultivation is not to be treated as not being used exclusively for agricultural purposes by reason only of the fact that a dwelling house or other building is erected thereon.
    “The Barbados Revenue Authority’s remit is to value and tax the land according to the prescribed land usage. As land usage determinations are made, we have been working on bringing the tax rates for properties up to date with the prescribed usage. This is an ongoing process. Any application in respect to a change of land usage would have to be made with the Planning and Development Department,” Williams-Gayle said.
    sheriabrathwaite@barbadostoday.bb

46. Northern Observer,

My man, I have never accused you of being racist. But I cannot and you SHOULD NOT attempt to paper over the racial element in this country and the benefits accruing from whiteness!

If you are tired of hearing about it, then let me tell you that I am more tired of talking about it.

But I cannot afford to be exhausted! You can, for obvious reasons.

47. When I was bright eyed and bushy tailed, fresh out of UWI, without a care in my head about black or white in Barbados, believing that Barbados was well on its way to obliterating racial nonsense in all the ways that really mattered, a fellow graduate landed himself what he thought was a nice starter job with a financial institution.

There, he was presented with the delinquency file and instructed to rigorously pursue the delinquent. To this task he enthusiastically applied himself because he didn’t plan to sit in that lowly seat for long.

One by one he pursued the small defaulters, mostly black until he “butt up pon some white man” who owed a sizeable amount. Having no idea who the man was he sent out his standard missive.

Low and behold, a few days later in bursts the white man demanding to know who had the gall to send him that letter asking for what was owed!

And the boss? Well, after he was summoned, did he back the poor youngster who simply followed his orders?

Nope! He berated the young man for not using his discretion.

And there’s plenty more where that came from.

48. That was the moment I took off my rose-coloured spectacles.

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    You ducked the question?
    I wasn’t challenging the benefits or privilege of skin tone. Nor the island’s history.
    Rather who are the ’nuff nuff big white firms’, whom you accused of fleecing the system.

50. Even Caswell hollering for murder about the Land Tax Department and BRA.

I say ban the BRA.

youtu.be/9Vlo3T1PqFQ?si=bGeFa-jcOLMUCw3S