Barbadians are happy to see progress being made in the ease of doing business also referred to as business facilitation. For many years straddling both administrations the refrain has been – Barbados must improve the ease of doing business.
The use of technology to efficiently deliver goods and services is a nobrainer in 2021. The digitization of the Corporate Affairs and Intellectual Property office (CAIPO) went live last week Friday. Although the achievement on the eve of Barbados going to a republic will be hailed as historic by some, the blogmaster’s more sober review – it is better late than never. Finally anyone can register a business by accessing an online portal. What this blogmaster also looks forward to seeing in the near future is a seamless way of doing business across government departments to replace the current situation caused by disparate IT systems and processes.
Senator Kaye McConney et al in a relatively short 3 years have to be complimented. Barbadians look forward to the launch of the National ID project promised in January 2022. Better late then never!
In related news, BU reported a few weeks ago – see Barbados based Fintechs on the MOVE the foray fintech companies Ipay Anywhere and GIFTS made in the international arena by partnering with a Nigerian telco. Based on a recent local press report the same local fintechs recently announced a new partnership with Soleil Capitale Group, a Wall Street based investment banking firm.
Well done!
I prefer the good old days when they didn’t have Direct Debits for bills and monthly payments for mortgages loans etc and you had to send cheques on set dates and could delay payment until you had available funds in your account.
When are you ever going to avoid the shadow and grab the bone?
You follow the political elites as they focus on all types of. basic administrative functions. These are merely the ABCs of enabling an environment conducive for business, not only corporations. Cooperative corporations as well.
When you look at nothing else all you will achieve is a whole cadre of misguided people who will go bankrupt, even the foreigners you really doing these things for.
When will this government, for example, reverse all the concessions granted certain people thereby distorting complete sectors. And can it be possible to encourage a competitive marketplace with such distortions granted to some. If a new actor enters a segmentation, how can it be sure that government will put its finger on the competitive scale, as a political act.
When will you demand that lawyers be legally banned from controlling client assets. We know Mottley, looking here and monitoring. Tell her to mek lawyers to stop tieffing people money, land, etc.
There are things they could still do to help coops to dominate multiple sectors giving average Bajans some skin in the game. But this will never happen.
We remain unconvinced that whunna not just looking fuh White people from over and away. For within the sick minds of Bajans dem is thee real bizness people.
@Pacha
The blog recognizes the the effort to improve the process to register a company and related at CAIPO. The opportunity was taken to remind government we must move to harmonize systems to improve ease of doing business with government period. It does not excuse other matters that have to be fixed.
“You follow the political elites as they focus on all types of. basic administrative functions.”
There is absolutely NOTHING SPECTACULAR about any of them, those should have been very basic measures and functions put in place 25 YEARS AGO, quarter century…playing catch-up is not admirable, as for those minorities running around everywhere pimping partnerships = temporary JOBS……oh please, not impressed…and as time marches on that too will be revealed.
maybe we ought to go into the ghettos and deliberately depressed areas to see HOW the oppressed are managing to survive and PIN SOME ADMIRATION ON THAT…
Blogmaster check your inbox.
These people have never been serious, not even to do these basics. And all the recent governments tinker and talk in the same ways, with the same bureaucratic foolishness. Barbados will still be one of the most difficult places in the world to register a company, open a multi-currency bank account etc. Processes which should take less than a day.
And be jesus christos, don’t tell them that you got anything to do with matters relating to the US Treasury Department.
In Barbados you’ll still need a lawyer to sign corporate registration documents and pay her 3 or 4 thousand dollars, for this foolishness. Could take months!
Let us further explain by example. There is a long list of countries where, without even entering or having lawyers or anybody else on the ground , the above functions can be completed in no time, no lawyers, no local offshore agents. Tell us that that can be done or will ever be, in Barbados. And this is just the tip of the dysfunction.
Unless this government is willing to do the dirty work of uncentering established systems, thinking, we will be 10 years hence still talking
’bout the ABCs, like good 11-plus girls and boys.
@Pacha
Recognizing all that you have said, we have to be pragmatic, the time is now. We have to do things with today’s technology and plan for the future. The past is done.
I believe your Chief Justice was reminded just last month that today’s technology has been around for OVER 20 YEARS…i bought an IBM computer in Miami in 1992…..and everything has evolved at a rapid pace since then…
The past can’t just be done, by saying so.
How for example can we untangle the mess created by lawyers and law firms in Barbados. Specifically, the intermingling of client funds over decades, robbing Peter to pay Paul, with this cycle seemingly interminable, with lawyer-politicians in control of government? Be pragmatic with your answer.
Exactly Pacha, what we are presently engaged is part of the process of growing.
Well! The people here who presume that they are the only ones with green thumbs might suggest that the process of growing requires cutting and budding and grafting, may be even pruning! Did we hear a clarion call for the guillotine? LOL
@Pacha
Pruning is not digging up at the root which is equivalent to using a guillotine?
The Nu Bu is mutating and evolving and getting stronger so your days can be longer.
The Blog meister performed an intervention to stop people its wasting their energy in front of them a couple of feet on their screens so they could bring it back within their mind-body.
The system hold them
Babylon Control them
How can you use technology for personal empowerment instead of being a slave to technology.
I look forward to the day when Covid data has no comments below so Bu can be a source of facts truth and correct and not half assed half baked theories repeated every day like rain.
There can also be instructional threads for Exercise routines one day in these Covid times to strengthen the lung-heart.
Number of the Beast
Some cut and paste the Bible like Mofos
Tomorrow is a new day beloveds
Take time out from blogging
It is an insidious addiction
that damages your insides
like Barbados rum
I would describe myself as a practical person (rather than pragmatic which has negative connotations) with ideals. In this case I have to be on the side of those who state that there is nothing impressive or praiseworthy here and we must keep the pressure on or be doomed play catch up forever.
This is the opportune time to press the gas.
@Donna
Where has the blogmaster expressed a view that digitizing CAIPO is impressive? It is a note to recognize it was achieved and there is more to be done re: harmonizing government departments, recognize local fintechs for pioneering their work in a competitive arena and state an expectation we are looking forward to the rollout of the national ID program as promised. We get so worked up about everything these days we forget the small things, giving recognition when it is due. You know what, we all have different perspectives how things should be done.
Neither the French nor the Americans were like minded, circa 1776, 1789. And these are the democracies, as held up.
But still how do we get the rid of the perverve and long-going irrational intermediation by “criminal” lawyers and their enablers in Barbados?
The answer to this vexing question will do more to help capital formation and investment than all the bureacratic tinkering.
@Pacha
You must be so happy the current state of the societies you mentioned? Special mention France where history records how it screwed Haiti? Give us a break.
I have seen the Amanpour interview and the first thing that came to mind, climate change is a given, there have been decades of industrialized ABUSE, over one hundred years, that comes with CONSEQUENCES…so instead of just looking for sound bites and praise trying to look and sound good, time to look at reality practically…
, the Pacific Islands now heavily and brutally impacted by climate change HAVE NOWHERE TO HOUSE THEIR PEOPLE and are begging for assistance because of RISING SEAS….instead of waiting for the SEA to RECLAIM Barbados, why not start putting plans IN PLACE for forward movement because the MAJORITY POPULATION has options…why wait until the water reaches ya nose to start ….while WASTING TIME pointing fingers at the bigger countries…what are you WAITING FOR…when Afrika OUR ANCESTRAL LANDS, HAVE 55 COUNTRIES…the bigger countries know exactly what they are about, which falls under none of the small island’s business, look to protect YOUR PEOPLE..
it’s stupidity like this that causes DEATH…and destruction…..and we are supposed to be impressed…steupppss…
these are the types of things we are talking about where COMMONSENSE NEVER ENTERS THE EQUATION…
Not only Haiti. France is one of the countries people like you look to. This writer has found it to be the most racist place on earth. Its relationships with the socalled French speaking former colonies in Afrika is no different, even after a titular independence, than they were 300 years ago.
You give us a break!
Funny Enuff….i remember at the same air and space museum in Queens the documentary did say that in 20 years which is right here and right now, that climate change would cause RISING SEAS and extensive damage to small islands and the RECLAIMING of those that are UNDER SEA LEVEL…
pay attention to what’s going on and look to save yaselves because all ya getting from misleaders is MORE and MORE long talk..and nothing else.
Are
The link was shared by Chris, what it explains is that technology will not supplant some human functions.
https://youtu.be/fn3KWM1kuAw
Some use this Nu technology for researching woman friendly porn and others use it for Electronic Dance Music
I am leaning towards the latter more than the former
Lightning- 5hags, Alister Fawnwoda & Evelyn Glennie
While some dogs like to mark people down as one star (very poor) and not five stars (excellent) or 2, 3 or 4 stars (average)
I man will stick to the remix because I like it like that streaming pure niceness
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZcaCaXiee0
Chris can now go and bite his tongue, lol, all anyone needs these days is a good programmer, even Afrikan youths are designing and creating efficient robots and have them walking on the street with them and doing all types of things, it’s amazing what they are coming up with…… everything has evolved and continues at rapid rates, many will be left completely behind..
https://www.instagram.com/p/CUxcxwNLNN5/?utm_source=ig_embed&ig_rid=00815ed0-cb50-4f5b-82cd-0753d7c91e8a
Pacha…if they don’t get the message now, no matter what else i post,….they NEVER WILL…
Good Morning
Angel A & The 0
let ☆ marking down begin
it’s the same day everyday
on sound of unda ground
who needs progression
when regression runs things
the more things change
the more they remain same
I would hate to be a one ☆ star marker
as they are negative like a bitter hater
remember when you were at school
you were my playmate
and I was a super duper top notch scholar
teacher gave me double and triple gold stars
and said love one another like sister and brother
that is right that is so right you big red bum ball
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lc-pkcc4Ac
@ WURA War on U
Every man is attempting to tell his story in his own language. Sometimes it is understood. Many times it will not resonate. God is a God of diversity and we who believe that allow and applaud this diversity.
I believe we are invited to express that diversity. Surely it is not a Mutual Admiration Club ? . Or is it?
Is doing business easier for the benefit of the citizens or for the new colonizers? Think on these things. The more things change the more they remain the same. We are just changing one form of enslavement for another. A game of Musical Chairs?
That is obvious ,David BU.
That’s why you will always be a junior programmer like a black slave descendant and not a team leader like a white slave master
00:00 Book Of Rules, Jacob Miller & Inner Circle,
02:51 Book Of Rules, Heptones,
05:49 Book Of Rules Part 2, Heptones
“Is doing business easier for the benefit of the citizens or for the new colonizers?
We are just changing one form of enslavement for another. ”
whle keeping the same colonial captive system, constitutional framework, Public Order Act, slave laws, code noir, and everything that is anti-Black Afrikan… all FIRMLY IN PLACE…..and think that everyone is fooled..
and since it is very clear that they too HAVE NO CLUE about what is rapidly EVOLVING…they will consistently be exposed and made to look forever dumb and clueless….when popping nonsense on the world stage.
There is an emerging practice of using superlatives to elevate every day ordinary occurrences. It is nothing but poor attempts to disguise propaganda. Just like we are going around declaring effectively boring speeches as great oratory. In many ways , to the vigilant, this is a determined policy devoted primarily to undermining free speech and democracy . The desired path seems to be party paramountcy and bringing all in line with the concept of the maximum leader.
I suspect we can expect this trend to continue taken into consideration decisions that are being made in some quarters both political and otherwise.
@ Pacha, has once more called it correctly. A road needs a light. It is given after forty years and it suddenly becomes a superlative action ……………,,,,,,,
There you go again William. Speechifying has always been used to infuse people with confidence. It is why rewarding and recognizing people/employees is an age old activity. We have to understand that beating every achievement with a negative hammer will have its challenges.
@555
Would you leave my name out of your mouth.
I like a joke, but I don’t play silly games and I have no intention of fighting with anyone (including you).
Somebody found a way to jerk your chain with the 1-star rating. Leave me out of the silly feud.
and since it is very clear that they too HAVE NO CLUE about what is rapidly EVOLVING…they will consistently be exposed and made to look forever dumb and clueless….when popping nonsense on the world stage.”
The primary or only law that is keeping the Bajan negro down on the ground is the so called law against the freedom to open the doors of perception and prohibiting the use of moksha called natural collie
Those who partake already know this that the so called leaders are just infants in the evolution of spirituality and truth and rights
what do you think inspired Shiva Buddha Moses Jesus and the free for all black world of music of jazz soul reggae hip hop and drove the protests of the 60s revolutions of hippies woman’s liberation and black civil rights and equal rights
it’s a no brainer
and those who don’t partake are squares ▣ ◩ ◪ ▧ ◰ ⬛❒▣²³
who’s best ideas are copied and unoriginal
I an’t got no time for straights
blank them
Apologies Vincent was the Cunt Hole marking down today to get his rocks off
Although you have admitted to be a petty minded one star downpressor before
As has Cox
John
It’s a local Bajan thing to have deep rooted prejudice and not giving credit to the best in the business
they inherited from massa
Can we stop this now?
In the binary logic of Hi Tek Pooters SDLC Software Development Life Cycle
A incorrect assumption where something is wrong and not right can be easily switched to something that is right and not wrong
in testing stages of prototypes before implementation
“Speechifying has always been used to infuse people with confidence.”
there is a track record of infusting FALSE confidence in the majority population using generous MEASURES OF LIES AND DECEIT…that’s the only know how of misleaders…
So what’s going on that ALL of CIBC Barbados phone lines are down this morning.
Stop talking to people as though they are rasssssoul children.
You are indeed a dictator. Only want to see the views you find acceptable.
This writer will never submit. Regardless to your dictatorial mandates and sanctions.
William Skinner’s mild, middle of the road contribution should not have so exercised the dictator of blog.
It seems some of you can post what you and like and the blogmastwr should not?
It will not happen.
@ Pacha
@ David pretends he is against “ negativity “ and then brands any critique he opposes as negative. He remains an apologist and in some cases an obstructionist.
When you get a chance both you and @ WURA should read the licks Comrade Denny is getting in the press this morning for opposing making Prince Charles the guest of honor , at our Republic celebrations . We are we going to confer the Freedom of Barbados honor on Charles . I understand that’s the highest order . Just imagine on the same day that we free ourselves from Massa, we bestow the highest honor of the country he and his kind enslaved.
But that’s a negative comment too………
@William
As is it your wont, you rush to conflate because you have the support of the guillotine man on your backside (figuratively of course) LOL.
You can talk chalk, the blogmaster will criticise comments posted to the blog as see fit. If you do not like it please retrieve one of Erskine Sandiford’s most famous comments from the archives, here is a hint – one word rhymes with hump LOL.
“Just imagine on the same day that we free ourselves from Massa, we bestow the highest honor of the country he and his kind enslaved.”
Lynching the Prince could or would have negative repercussions for the nation despite a sense of rough justice, forgiveness is primarily for your own soul as it releases the chains that tied you to your past.
Sometimes revolutionaries do not need revolutions.
Peaceful revolutions occur when tens or hundreds of thousands say the same thing.
Thanks for the reference. Denny has always been right minded.
But right. For even the British are now considering whether Charles should not be bypassed in the line of succession.
Indeed, there has long been a wider conversation in the UK about monarchy’s existence.
Charlie has been accused of all manner of unlawful acts by the former owner of Harrods – al Faid. He’s been an adulterer, a divorcee, a checkered past.. And yet for Barbados the new republic is to be stained with the worst of the past.
These points are not mounted to support the dictators on BU or Barbados but to highlight the national confusion of honouring a dishonorable Charles according to their own standards.
William ….whenever you get around to it, you will have to read my book for more clarity on that matter.
https://african-online-publishing.com/books-2/
And how is the guillotine different to the whacker.
Have you not seen that guillotines are being erected all over as a message from the poor as a result of what the neoliberal ideas so beloved by you have wrought.
You claim christianity. Is your bible not the most violent book ever writer.
And does that book not deploy metaphors as warnings to those so misguided.
The guillotine is the same indispensable instrument of social transformation within your Anglo Saxon acili.
Was the guillotine man not on your backside giving support previously as well.
David, you are a dirty son of a bitch!
@Pacha
Noted.
Don’t know how they are going to begin to EXTRICATE themselves from the colossal mess of their own making but it will be very interesting to watch them and all the fall out associated with their determination to keep the archaic slave system and ALL the accompanying HAUNTINGS INTACT…
i must admit am very impressed with this initiative..
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/11/29/crane-boosts-covid-testing/
‘Let us further explain by example. There is a long list of countries where, without even entering or having lawyers or anybody else on the ground , the above functions can be completed in no time, no lawyers, no local offshore agents. Tell us that that can be done or will ever be, in Barbados. And this is just the tip of the dysfunction.’
I opened a small business corporation in 1988. I did it all myself. Filled in the forms and sent off a grand $35. When my son graduated, his first job was as a consultant and I made him open a business as well. He saved on tax and paid himself dividends in lieu of salary. His business is still registered even though he is in another field.
Well note this toooooooo
This writer will never laugh when it aint funny,, scratch when it don’t itch, nor support any set of ideas from anyone disagreed with.
Of course Pacha, anything you say. Have the last word.
We await all the bragging and posting WITH EVIDENCE of the successful fiscal/monetary and land empowerment of the majority population as a collective…the masses WHO ELECTED THEM….right now they can show NOTHING…after over half century…
Midnight tonight (in less than 12 hours)
Barbados Republic is trending on google
https://www.google.com/search?q=barbados+republic
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆
☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆
☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★
♡ Barbados like the stars above
Stars (★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆★☆) are sacred universal and Godly
Everyone has got their own personal star ★
It is called their Guiding Star ★
Everyone is a ★
@ 555 dubstreet November 29, 2021 12:42 PM
And there are hundreds of thousands of millions of them alone; even in our ‘average’ galaxy dubbed the Milky Way.
More than there have ever been humans who have walked on this ‘Lonely’ planet called Earth.
Well i hope the countries with intelligent leaders now see the uselessness and futility in stupidly sacrificing their people to tourism dependency…we can make none of this up it’s happening in real time…
https://www.instagram.com/p/CW3hgZblx8_/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link
Miller
The stars are up in the heavens
although they are so far far away the ones you see may have died already as their images travel at the speed of light
There is hope…
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/medical/omicron-variant-might-speed-up-end-of-pandemic-experts-say/ar-AARg8qi?ocid=msedgntp
That is why I asked David yesterday if the symptoms are mild like the common cold.
Pingback: Pressing Ahead with Digital | Barbados Underground