The blogmaster listened to distasteful exchanges between Deputy Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw who has ministerial responsibility for Transport, Works and Water Resources and local businessman Anderson Cherry. Things have to be bad for Cherry to go public on his once beloved Barbados Labour Party (BLP). However this is a time to be focused.

There is absolutely no reason why small business players in Barbados, especially Black, should be disadvantaged from procuring government contracts because government is unwilling to be flexible with Standard Operating Procedures (SOP). There is no need for the blogmaster to be prolix on this matter. It is a simple position a caring Mottley led government must adopt.

As a reminder here is an excerpt from the 2018 BLP Manifesto.

Ensure that small community firms, small
businesses, and those owned by Persons With
Disabilities (PWD) have preferred access to
Government contracts of $250,000 and below

2018 BLP Manifesto

It would be useful for Minister Bradshaw to disclosed what was the quantum of contracts secured by small businesses in Barbados in the last fiscal 2023-2024, in particular the project requirements, AND, the amount allocated in the 2024-2025 Estimates.

It is long overdue for Barbadians to hold government accountable for ensuring a more equitable distribution of taxpayers money. It is unacceptable for a 3% percent of the population to continue to have control of the economic wealth in tiny Barbados. Barbados was built on the backs of Black labour whose lineage can be traced to ALL members in parliament.

See link to VOB podcast:

https://downtobrasstacks.castos.com/episodes/brasstacks-feb-25th-2024-1

We must do better #Bigworks!

64 responses to “Small black contractors ignored by government”

1. From rock bottom to solid foundation

by JOHN BOYCE

johnboyce@nationnews.com

AS THE BOND with his dad started to solidify in the world of construction, nothing could have prepared him for the shocking reality that was about to come crashing down.

He was 11 years old at the time, and the joy of becoming familiar with his dad’s backhoes, trucks, and concrete mixers had made his life seem complete and gave him a glimpse into his own future.

That joy soon turned to pain so excruciating that Troy Williams felt it was one from which he would not recover.

His dad had suffered a horrific death and the blow it dealt him and the family was devastating.

‘Very painful’

As Troy struggled to make sense of what had occurred, he said: “It was very painful and I had a reality check. From then till now one of my principal characteristics is my strong emotional intelligence . . . I think my tolerance for emotional issues is very high – higher than the average person’s.”

Though he admits to still having vulnerable moments, he said that is infrequent.

Troy reached out at 12 years old to several companies, and got an opportunity to earn his own money. He knew how to operate a jackhammer and used that experience to his advantage.

“I had the working spirit from being around my father from an early age, so that was developed from the relationship with [him],” Troy told the DAILY NATION.

One who doesn’t let his emotions get in the way of business decisions, Troy said this asset has kept him in good stead while formulating business deals.

After being transferred from Coleridge & Parry to Ellerslie Secondary School on the request of the deputy principal of CP, Troy said that it made life easier for him as he had lived in St Stephen’s Hill, Black Rock.

But he dropped out of school in fourth form to start his full-time journey in the world of work. His construction business was “very active” as Cricket World Cup 2007 was coming up and the spinoff benefits were significant.

However, on the heels of that success, the managing director said that in 2011 when world economies contracted, everything went downhill and he struggled to stay afloat.

Life in the industry took him to spaces that forced him to call on every ounce of his inner strength to survive.

His business, Williams Tools and Equipment Inc., took a serious hit and went to “rock bottom”, leaving Troy scratching his head for alternatives so as to pull through.

He said his journey as a businessman for just about two decades has not been easy and that it has had some very low points, but the hope of reward “sweetens labour”.

Despite the trials, Troy is in his comfort zone in construction. He currently has five other companies in the fields of liquid and solid waste management, land and housing development, wrecker services, transport services and his most recent project has been the development of an auto and industrial company.

Unwavering in his determination to succeed, he added: “My thoughts were always solutions-oriented and I never carried a defeatist attitude.”

He then ventured into building houses as an alternative since equipment rentals had become almost non-existent.

“I think that this is what saved me.” A father of three, Troy said he always tries to encourage them on their chosen paths while cautioning them to expect the unexpected.

Turning point

Now, speaking about the loss of his dad as a major turning point in his life, Troy said that he is also agonising over “some adversity” with a best friend of 15 years.

In relation to Government contracts not being offered to small businessmen pertaining to roadworks or construction projects as often as they would like, Troy said the non-qualification of small businesses for contracts could shake some small businesses to the very core.

“My company, for instance, can do many of the civil works programmes presently being offered by Government.”

But there is more to this businessman. Troy’s life is one of service and presently he is president of the Cave Hill Community Club and a programme coordinator of the National Peace Programme. His company is also the title sponsor of the Deacons Football Club.

Troy said that one of the self-fulfilling parts of this mission is going into Dodds prison and mentoring the inmates while preparing them for a life outside of the institution’s walls.

2. @ Blogmaster:
    That is why the cooperation of white people and black people is so vital in this country. It is said that white people fund some political campaigns. Just as you can back your horse to win a race, so it is said that white people can back their favourite politician to bring home the bacon, and then the politician is indebted to the whites.
    (Unquote).

Now “WE CAN SEE CLEARLY” why certain contracts involving big money road works have to be awarded to an Equipment Rental outfit instead of the ‘Roads Rehabilitation’ pie being spread among more small players including the now boisterous Y&Y Andy-capped fella whose former Sweet-Red cherry has been taken away and given to a much bigger financier dealing in equipment rentals and not waste hauling.

It’s all down to the Return on the large Investments made in the only Red-Wearing party staged in 2018 and 2022.

3. @Miller

The old argument by big business is that ‘we employ thousands, we have to be able to sustain our operations’.

4. Heard Thorne at the estimates again.
    And while he presents a more adaptable attitude towards the bureaucratic lengua of administration than recalled.
    What some here missed is the ease, seemlessness, by which his socalled transition was made.
    Ever more starkling is the convergence of what he calls his personal views and established DLP party policy.
    So overnight the feelings, thinking, beliefs, of Thorne immediately became DLP policy, strategy, philosophy, praxis.
    All of this socalled democracy and Thorne presented no time lag whatsoever to acclimatize to an absent diffential between what the DLP pretends to represent and the views of the BLP of Mia Mottley. This, in our judgement, is the incubator for petty dictators. Of course, there were never any philosophical differences. Certainly, the missive about both parties being democratic-socialist cannot bridge such a vacancy of individual party philosophy, ideological bend, as was traditional, they say. Maybe, a more simplistic rationale is required. This, more than any other feature, makes clear the sameness of a sameness of a fictitious duopoly led by “kakistocrats”, as he himself is alledged to have stated, and in which Thorne now tries to be the first amongst equals 😝🤣😇🤑🤢🥶

5. Agree with Pachamama 100%. I’ve often commented, in this forum, about how easily politicians move to and from each political party…… and readily accepted by their members. Thorne’s task is ‘trying to win back his seat,’ which I believe will be a bit difficult. He ain’t a Hammie Lashley who, despite ‘grasshopping,’ effectively represented his constituency.

6. @ Pachamama March 5, 2024 at 2:44 pm
    Certainly, the missive about both parties being democratic-socialist cannot bridge such a vacancy of individual party philosophy, ideological bend, as was traditional, they say. Maybe, a more simplistic rationale is required. This, more than any other feature, makes clear the sameness of a sameness of a fictitious duopoly led by “kakistocrats”, as he himself is alledged to have stated, and in which Thorne now tries to be the first amongst equals..
    (Unquote).

Brilliantly put, Pacha!

Not even William Skinner could have argued better.

A cabal of political “Kakistocrats” have been in charge of Barbados since 2008.

7. wha gine on down dey ?

8. @ David,
    What news do you have on the above link sent by Hants? What the hell is going in that country? Who has the capacity to hire a caterpillar, to clear and level land without seeking planning permission.

This MP is local to that area and is the most senior of our politicians and yet, even she feels intimidated. She alluded that there was a threat made on her life. They are some on here who would prefer to come on BU and wrestle you to the ground for trivial reasons. They live in the country, yet these same people appear unconcerned as to the increasing law of the jungle and mafiosi system that has developed in Barbados.

What message does this send to the masses when their politicians are running scared.
    The international rich and some impoverish Caricom citizens want a piece of the rock and we have a number of our own people who are willing to assist them in their desires.

Prime Minister Mottley, appears comfortable in her skin with this type of development.
    It’s clear that Barbados has gone beyond our Lord Jesus taking the wheel.

9. @TLSN

All is not always what it seems, Cynthi has bigworks on speed dial. If a If a man from Deacons Road can have access why not Cynthi?

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

So we have Cynthia complaining, we have Dr Browne in the estimates debate complaining her land tax went from 3300 to 8300 in a year, we have the GEL CEO telling the AGM their pro bono work at Parkinson School is behind schedule due to permission delays, ditto for upgrades at manufacturing facilities, we have Kinch telling a YouTube broadcast, the old eye hospital is to become a hotel (AirBnB) of sorts, we have complaints about construction quality at a new development, we have Digicel placing equipment without permission.
    Is there a common thread?

11. Cabinet meetings with the fore mentioned Dr. Brown must have been very interesting. She is quoted in today’s paper as to whether any thought has been given to providing a food space for monkeys. This was after the subject of whether monkeys should be culled was raised in the H of A. Dr. Brown is a “confessed” animal lover and I read where she has declared that she is in favor of capital punishment. Anyway I am looking forward to the day where we will be able to train our monkeys to only eat in places provided for them.