Ralph Thorne is Barbados latest Opposition leader.

Ralph Thorne

Barbadians are waking up to the news Ralph Thorne has crossed the floor which means he assumes the role as Opposition Leader in our parliament.

It is left to be seen in the coming weeks and months if Thorne’s decision proves to be a challenge for Mia Mottley and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). The blogmaster will wait to hear what Thorne has to say to get a sense if this is another of those contrived positions to compare with Joseph Atherley. In any event it seems a crossing by a member of the sitting BLP member was the only way for Barbados to have an official opposition.

The surprise move will choke the informal and traditional news channels and overshadow the work Thorne’s former Democratic Labour Party has been doing to rebrand and rebuild after its decimation by the BLP in the last two general elections. What we are sure about is that with Thorne’s crossing and Neil Rowe’s legal issues the aura of invincibility by the motlleycrew is showing signs of cracks.

The other point to ponder, Thorne would not have made a move against the powerful Mia Mottley if he did not see ‘opportunity’ from his perch within the belly of the beast. It is also likely he will have a few others who may jump ship to join him on the other side. It will be those whose pension is secure or players that see themselves floating on the political fringe and willing to throw the dice at an opportunity to breath live into flagging political career.

Thorne will have a political edge in the current political environment which can be characterised as having a weak opposing voice.

Discuss for 25 marks.

120 responses to “Ralph Thorne makes the jump”

1. Easy come, easy go!

Prime Minister reacts to Thorne crossing the floor

By Antoinette Connell

antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com

Government backbencher Ralph Thorne has crossed the floor to become Leader of the Opposition in a stunning move.

The Christ Church South Member of Parliament visited the President of Barbados yesterday and declared his intention in a development that comes two years after the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was returned to office in another clean sweep of the 30 parliamentary seats.

Reacting to questions from this newspaper on the development, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, who was at the helm of the BLP’s historic wins in 2018 and 2022, simply stated: “Easy come, easy go.”

‘No communications’ She confirmed what reliable sources had told the Saturday Sun, saying that the President had written her indicating that Thorne visited her and informed her he was no longer sitting with the Government and would become the Opposition Leader.

“Mr Thorne has not spoken to me or the general secretary of the Barbados Labour Party. I have received no communications from Mr Thorne, nor has the general secretary received any communications,” Mottley stated.

She described the development as a case of history repeating itself in every respect, an obvious reference to 2018 when, a week after the BLP took office, MP for St Michael West Bishop Joseph Atherley broke away from the same party to become Opposition Leader. He later went on to form the People’s Party for Democracy and Development which merged with United Progressive Party to form the Alliance Party for Progress.

Efforts to reach Thorne, a King’s Counsel, on the matter were futile as he did not answer calls or messages to his cell phone. Attempts to find him at his law office, his home and other places he sometimes frequented were also in vain.

Brief comments

Mottley kept her comments on the matter brief but the political history of the two goes back about 35 years ago when both were members of the BLP and had an interest in the St Michael North East constituency.

However, in 1994, Thorne went on to be a Democratic Labour Party candidate for St Michael North and lost and repeated his misfortunes in the 1999 General Election.

On October 1, 2015, Thorne was ratified to contest the Christ Church South seat for the BLP in a process that took less than three minutes. It was Mottley’s birthday and his name had been put forward by Stella Lady St John, widow of former Prime Minister Sir Harold St John, who previously held the seat. Thorne won the seat in May 2018 and January 2022.

In 2018 during his nomination, he said: “I come to this party acknowledging the Christian virtues of humility, justice and love. That is who I am and that is whom I have been for the last 31 years in defence of others, in defence of myself.”

Since the BLP’s twice coming to office, Thorne, an attorney of 40 years, was not appointed to the Cabinet but headed the 11-member Thorne Commission on Local Governance, a forerunner to the establishment of the People’s Assemblies.

2. My comment will be very brief.
    Finally we have what it will take to bring decorum back to politics and parliament.
    Congratulations to my friend Ralph Thorne.

3. Will there be a link up with DLP or will the Opposition go solo

4. DON’T KNOW WHAT ALL THE EXCITEMENT IS ABOUT RALPH THORNE IS A DIRTY. LAWYER.

NINE MONTHS BEFORE I LEFT THE 2X3 ISLAND RALPH THORNE WAS TO MEET MY FORMER ATTORNEY RUDOLPH CAPPY GREENIDGE IN RELATIONS TO A CIVIL MATTER REGARDING AROUND BD$300,000 AND A CROOKED CLIENT HE WAS REPRESENTING.

RALPH THORNE EVEN WENT AS FAR AS ADMITTING TO MR GREENIDGE THAT HE KNEW THAT HIS CLIENT WAS EXTREMELY DISHONEST AND HE WOULD MEET TO SETTLE THE MATTER WHICH WAS GOING THROUGH THE HIGH COURT.

DESPITE HIS PROMISES HE NEVER MET WITH MR GREENIDGE TO RESOLVE. THE CIVIL MATTER WHICH ALREADY HAD A DEFAULT JUDMENT AGAINST HIS CLIENT.

LIKE THE MAJORITY OF CROOKED LAWYERS OF BARBADOS HE IS IN VERY GOOD COMPANY.

THE ONLY INTEREST THIS INDIVIDUAL HAS IS HIS OWN SELF INTEREST.

IF HE CARED ABOUT THE 2X3 ISLAND HE WOULD HAVR RESIGNED AND CONTINUE TO PRACTICE LAW OR FADE AWAY INTO THE SUNSET SIMILAR TO OTHERS NO LONGER IN THE BLP.

HE IS A REAL WOLF IN SHEEP CLOTHING.

I HOPE RALPH THORNE READS THIS AS IT SHOULD JOLT MEMORY BACK IN HIS HEAD BECAUSE I EVEN MET HIM IN HIS OFFICE WHEN IT WAS IN ROEBUCK STREET.

THANKFULLY I WILL REPEAT I DON’T LIVE ON THE CESSPOOL OF AN 2X3 ISLAND.

A MERRY GO ROUND OF TRICKSTERS WHO THINK THEY CAN PULL THE WOOL OVER EVERYBODY EYES.

5. If there is no opposition, no leader can be elected.

Parliament is thus unconstitutional.

This is more farcical and ridiculous than Reverent Joe!!

Every act purportedly enacted by this and the last unconstitutional Parliament is null void and of no effect!!

Remains to be seen now if the GG ( she is not the President as the Republic is void and of no effect) will swear this clown in as the LOO as she did the previous clown.

Simple RH logic!!

6. And now the fun begins!

7. Barbados politics seem like it's football Avatar
    Barbados politics seem like it’s football

To use a football analogy for the game of opposition Vs league champions
    you need a manager who devises game tactics
    you need a strong team of 11 plus substitutes
    who play in various positions like goalkeeper defense midfield & attack

Barbados politics seem like it’s football at the school playground level where everyone just chases the ball and runs around like mad

8. A few weeks ago, I asked a friend “whither Ralph Thorne” and he updated me on the fragile relationship between Ralph and Mia so this is hardly a surprise. Wasn’t Ralph formerly a Dem or was he a Dem of convenience? Ralph has pulled a Rev. Joe and we are in for interesting times.

9. Thorne is a veteran of the political hustings although his record at the polls has been spotty.

https://www.electoral.barbados.gov.bb/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/1994-Elections-Summary.pdf

10. Wunna feckers!!!

Four months ago, or more, this writer said that this will happen, right here.

Not that Pacha would not have known from the birth of Ralph Thorne.

Some may say that Pacha is a soothsayer.

However, any sentient humanoid knowing the forces at work, all of them, could have easily foreseen these circumstances, as if the gods we are!

Weeeee remain unconvinced that Thorne or any other person, born of woman, inculcated with dominant narratives, could drop far from this poisonous political tree.

Even as we would want to be able to wish Thorne well, weeee must again, as god, divine that this foray shall not exit the culture of colapse, decadence, which the entire ethos has well entered.

11. Under the guise of “many hands make light work” Mia handed out political plums to every elected BLP representative, but Ralph was overlooked twice or three times if one takes the reshuffle into consideration so one can surmise that there was some personal animus between the two.

There is a persistent rumour that Mia wanted to get rid of Thorne so he made his move first and if the rumours are correct, we can expect the former MOH to join him as it appears she was on the outside looking in when the resolution to oust Neil Rowe from his position as Deputy Speaker was tabled and passed.

12. It is interesting to see the stance taken by many on this crossover. It seems as if we would prefer to keep the status quo and have new laws being thrown out as if they were small change.

Now we have a development which can only be for the better and yet we moan and groan about it.

I wish Mr Thorne has success in this new endeavor. May the Good Lord give him strength and help him to put the people first.

Meanwhile, I will urge some of you to continue on your quest for the perfect man. Report back here when you find him. Of course, I will join you in supporting him.

13. That this matter comes on this day, a lunar new year, holds little significance!

14. @🐇/🐰

You have been trying to hunt with that dog for quite some time. It is obvious that the dog is not catching anything.

At some stage fancy notions have to examined in the light of cold reality.

Find a new song or a next dog or a new rabbit hole.

15. So….wuh de RH stan’ fuh, Johnny?

16. “Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.”

I like this new development. It was frustrating to see 40 folks marching in lockstep amidst the missteps, corruption and erosion of people freedom. At some stage, one or more must wrestle with their conscience and decide that enuff is enuff.
    Mr Thorne has made that decision …

I can feel it coming.. I can see it coming, but is too early to go with RalphieO

And don’t come with your Ralphie (wh)O
    Cause you know him better than I do

The masses seek a savior

17. Does Mia still take Bajan politics seriously?

Is she so focused on the next big job that she reduces matters of interest to cheap phrases?

“Many hands make light work”
    “Case closed”
    “Easy come, easy go”

Her contempt for the people is so great that she uses ‘simple speak’ for local matters. The big vocab is only rolled out in pursuit of the big UN job

18. I am surprised it took this long, for he was the natural LoO after the Bishop lost his seat. He was the one always kept below deck.
    Even when the leaked audio discussing Rowe’s defence, the decision from the inner circle was to be relayed to Thorne.
    Anyhow they are all part of the Cabal.

19. Collation. Follow in the pastor’s footstep all the way. Better chance within a party that as n independent .
    Offer Ryan and Caswell the senate seats

20. Comment posted before I had finished

21. The Road Not Taken Avatar
    The Road Not Taken

Robert Frost’s ‘The Road Not Taken’ is about the choices and opportunities in life. The poem highlights the sensation of regret that accompanies all the roads that a person doesn’t take.

22. @TheO

It isn’t people do not want to see status quo disrupted, think of it this way – there is nominal growth and there is real goal, which do you prefer?

We want people change, not contrived change. It must start with the people!

23. @NO

Was he kept below deck or did he couldn’t be lured from an attractive law practice.

24. Jesus… Bright boy! I can excerpt what I like to suit what I like, interpret as I like and use as I like.

I find you threatening and intimidating… Where is BU’s police station

25. Restating so that you may understand

Thorne reached a stage where he had to make a decision of whether to go with the majority (the road travelled by 29 out of 30) or split from the group (the road less traveled)

You highlight an inadequacy of the Bajan education system .. learning by rote, lack of independent thinking, canned answers, taking the road travelled by most and an inability to think for yourself (take the road less traveled)

Hopefully, those two lessons set you out on a different road?

I can go all day, because I make my own road. Don’t confine me to your limited orbit.

26. Aha @David, warm greetings to you and all. So why now, den. The soothsayer above notes that there is no significance per the day (of announcement, I presume) re the lunar cycle… but that suggests a question of significance in some other cycle, perhaps.

Thorne is whst … 62 -64, times over a wealthy man, still married to the high-powered missus, I presume, and – to also reference the 2X3 brother- still unscrupulously lawerying!

So to cross the most effective political dynamo of his career must be based on some serious future planning, one surmises.

And what’s with this PR MIA … such acts DEMAND national news explanation ( at minimum to his constituents) so what is he planning as his big reveal that he acts and then goes media silent!

This is contrived showmanship and as we see across the globe … it’s more bout the narcissism of the man that any great intentions for Bajans.

27. Mr. Ralph Thorne cross to become the leader of the Opposition because at retirement his pension will be based on his highest salary while in parliament.

Bajan Boy

28. Del C

Have not seen you around for a bit. Good to you have life.

Like you correctly stated will have to address his constituents, or he should. When he does we will be better placed to assess whether there is a philosophical difference or same old.

29. missing understanding is called misunderstanding Avatar
    missing understanding is called misunderstanding

Your understanding of the poem is still missing
    missing understanding is called misunderstanding
    in your case whatever road you travel on you will end up in the same place

30. How many more will cross over ? Rumour has it that there could multiple departures.

31. The death knelt has been further delivered to the DLP.

Thus, it would now be absurd to even consider them an option above third in line.

This might indeed be an intention. Though unlikely. For to so assume would mean strategic planning goes on by parties unable to easily pay their light bill when in opposition, even!

32. Words Sound and Power Avatar
    Words Sound and Power

For those thinkers thinking “I wish I was deep instead of macho”

If Politics is a Big Fat Ego Scene of the Art of Words which mean nothing
    Let’s Build us a Poetry Foundation with some Pretty Words to sound clever

https://www.poetryfoundation.org/play/77060

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

I haven’t a clue. He certainly wasn’t given a Hinckson or Prescod type gratuity to play along.
    Only time will tell.

34. One sending up in the same place has at least started. One who has never started also ends up in the he same place.

I will try again.
    A tailor may make a suit for your father to go to a wedding, but you too can wear the suit and you don’t have to go to a wedding.

The words were taken from the poem but were fitted to the situation. Don’t just read, try to get the context. Read to understand.

I tried but Ron White told me “You can’t fix stupid. Stupid is forever”
    Live long and prosper
    https://youtu.be/QDvQ77JP8nw?si=tg1lshzBON_ZUAS9

35. If yuh waan good yuh nose haffi run Avatar
    If yuh waan good yuh nose haffi run

If you don’t get it
    you don’t get it

An anal bwoy
    would never admit he is wrong,
    even when he is wrong,
    and when he is wrong,
    he is really really wrong.

Patient man ride donkey.
    In order to gain success you have to work hard.
    See but be blind to it; hear it but be deaf to it.
    See and blind, hear and deaf.

36. Donna on February 10, 2024 at 10:34 AM said:

So….wuh de RH stan’ fuh, Johnny?

Google it!!

37. The BLP was begotten and sustained by a number of parties and political currents. Mainly conservatives!

The BLP then begot the DLP

The DLP begot the NDP

The NDP was no more than the personal play thing of its leader, for whom it was created.

At the same time, there have been as many fledgling attempts made to displace one of the two in the duopoly or having a really pluralistic political system.

Last time out, the BLP gave birth to a party whose name has been as forgotten as forgettable.

For RT, making a serious attempt to overthrow a one-party stateism will require a mass movement driving this revolutionary process from the grassroots.

However, there is no such movement easily apparent. And to build such before the next time around is an Herculean task, absent the unlikely correlation of unknown social forces.

38. It only takes a spark…

39. multiple political parties Avatar
    multiple political parties

Monopoly Duopoly
    When 1 party has been decimated plus more..
    and 1 party wins all..

Multi_Party
    it could be an opportunity for people in community to run as independents
    and act as partners in coalitions and push more varied ideas & manifestos across political spectrum

40. Such a spark is possible, the traditional or organic means.

But what’s the chances of that given the workers’ unions are much less powerful and are generally compromised or seen in terms of a duopolistic construct.

On the other hand, sparking a spark might be considered to be more liable.

41. Dozens march in protest against proposed Cybercrime Bill – by Shamar Blunt February 10, 2024

Scores of Barbadians took to the streets of Bridgetown on Saturday to protest and lodge their objections to the proposed Cybercrime Bill 2024.

The march, which began just after 10 a.m. on the outskirts of Kensington Oval, made its way through the heart of The City and concluded at Independence Square, where a number of people spoke about their various concerns on the bill, which mostly centred around their fears that it will encroach on their freedom of speech.

One of the day’s speakers, veteran trade unionist and former opposition senator Caswell Franklyn, stated that while some aspects of the bill were positive in his opinion, some of the vague language in the legislation, which refers to embarrassment, insult, humiliation, and other terms, should be of great concern to those who believe in a free society.

“We want to bring the people’s attention to the draconian measures that parliament is about to put in place to deal with people who post things on the internet. You know you can be punished and sent to jail for up to seven years, and pay a fine of $70 000 or both, if you say something that hurts somebody’s feelings, if it is true.

“That is contrary to our law, that is contrary to how we behave. If you say something about some person, no matter how bad it is, if it is true, it is not defamation, but this bill is saying to you, that whether you are telling the truth or not, you can be prosecuted because you hurt somebody’s feelings,” he explained.

Previously, newly appointed Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science, and Technology Marsha Caddle defended the government’s new Cybercrime Bill, claiming that its goal is not to restrict general free speech, but rather to reduce the number of defamatory attacks and bullying online.

During last Monday’s Down to Brass Tacks radio programme on Voice of Barbados, she denied that the government is seeking to muzzle public criticism, but instead was aiming to combat defamatory attacks carried out online.

She said: “Defamation under this legislation carries the same burden of proof, carries the same test of law, as defamation in any other context. Why was a Computer Misuse Act, or a Cybercrime Bill necessary? It is because more and more, the way that people publish, the way that people communicate, is not simply by standing in the street and yelling profanities about somebody. It is not simply by creating a poster and putting it on a telephone pole. More and more, the majority of the communication in which people engage is online.

“There is nothing that would be considered defamation in tech, in speech, that is not considered defamation under this law. In other words, if you would not be allowed to call in on this programme and say something about [host] David Ellis, or say something about some public personality, or some private individual, then you cannot publish it online. This Act just makes reference to the place that the defamation is taking place.”

Franklyn, however, pushed back on langage of the bill, stating that the present administration, in his view, was benefiting greatly from their use of social media before 2018, and as such, should not seek to punish those who use social media as their opposition platform to government policy.

“The government that is in power now, they used social media to great effect when they were in opposition to oust the last party, and now they are saying to us, that what [they] did, is a criminal offence now. No way I can sit down and sit idly by.”

(SB)

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/02/10/dozens-march-in-protest-against-proposed-cybercrime-bill/

42. @Hants

What do think a few scores of people mean in the context of what is occurring in Barbados?

43. @ David,

those scores of people are just enjoying the freedom to protest.

44. Surfing the Conscious Nets Avatar
    Surfing the Conscious Nets

“Why was a Computer Misuse Act, or a Cybercrime Bill necessary?”

Conspiracy Hypothesis:
    Perhaps Global Powers are pushing NWO agendas to the island for compliance to be within their international jurisdiction.
    Spies watch the world wide web and accuse people as being antisemitic for being anti-war and anti-Israel or terrorists for voicing support for Houthis actions in Red Sea.
    A Palestinian woman was arrested for a tweet on X.
    An IDB survey was implemented for US data collection.

45. There is something to be said for not living in a dictatorship then.

46. “The government that is in power now, they used social media to great effect when they were in opposition to oust the last party, and now they are saying to us, that what [they] did, is a criminal offence now. No way I can sit down and sit idly by.” Caswell Franklyn

That’s the gospel truth !