There is the perennial concern about how government departments flout the financial rules. Successive governments have refused to satisfactorily address the problem. Using the Public Finance Management Act, 2019 Minister Ryan Straughn promised at the start of Mottley’s reign that a better job of being transparent and managing our financial affairs efficiently was an unwavering goal.

A read of all Auditor General reports post 2018 have not hinted at material improvement in the financial management of Barbados. Before the apologists chime in, reducing debt to GDP due to debt restructuring, shoring up foreign reserves because of inflows primarily from borrowing and improvement in domestic economic indicators linked to favourable global market conditions are not the fundamental changes required to transformed a tired economic model. The blogmaster has detected no green shoots to fuel economic and social transformation in a world that continues to change rapidly.

Why would a government elected in unprecedented manner be afraid to implement required changes? Why should making decisions that are popular override national imperatives?

There is a management approach which says meaningful change must start at the top. A system of government compares differently to a large company, BUT, in both situations best in class management approaches have to be adopted to ensure efficiencies are achieved. Successive governments have demonstrated a lack of discipline managing public finances, regrettably causing contagion in all areas of civil society.

Indiscipline in the Public Service Vehicle (PSV) sector responsible for transporting our children . Governments for more than four decades have allowed a sub culture to compromise mainstream behaviour. The playing of loud music with suggestive lyrics, wild west behaviour by operators of PSVs. To make a long story short, the PSV sector operates under a law to itself. There is a Transport Authority established to manage the sector, however, it seems to be another paper tiger deliberately setup to support the status quo. Yes, deliberately.

A big negative of the PSV subculture is observed daily seeing private vehicles speeding through traffic lights on red and committing other road safety violations with gay abandon. There is the growing practice of PSVs, creating mini stops on Constitution Road, Hall Road, setting down passengers at the entrance to the River Terminal to cite a few examples. We have created a monster which the authorities responsible – both government and private – seem powerless to arrest. We know at the core of this issue is that several of the vehicles are owned by prominent persons in government and private sector – members of the Barbados Public Service (BPS) are incentivized to ignore transgressions.

Indiscipline is also seen daily from itinerant coconut vendors – coconut shells left on the highway for weeks without fear of penalty. If our government is unable to manage simple issues, how are Barbadians to feel confident the acuity exist to manage transformation of the education sector as a single example. For years successive governments promised to stamp out illegal dumping, listen to the environmentalists; our gullies are choked with electronic appliances, dead animals, furniture and all kinds of other rubbish. Why is government afraid to arrest and charge people caught illegally dumping especially if it is endangering water quality, threatening life and causing property damage due to flooding?

Although crying in the wilderness stokes a feeling of disappointment and déjà vu, repetition is useful. Traditional media does a good job of pampering and assuaging the establishment.

Where do we go from here?

Will we continue along the current path or show a resolve to chart a new direction?

Rhetorical questions!

75 responses to “Deleting IN in INdiscipline”

1. Yearwood calls for Bradshaw to resign

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Transport and Works Santia Bradshaw is being accused of running afoul of the very Integrity In Public Life Legislation which she piloted in Parliament earlier this year.

Moreover, president of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Dr Ronnie, Yearwood is calling on Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley to remove Bradshaw from both portfolios she holds in her Cabinet. In addition, Yearwood wants Mottley to tell the country why the Integrity legislation, which was hard-fought in the Upper House, is yet to be proclaimed.

The issue revolves around a personal cheque made payable to Bradshaw for $7 500, by order of Errol Clarke Associates Ltd, which was subsequently stolen and attempted to be cashed by Tyrone St Elmo Holford, 58, at RBC Royal Bank. Bradshaw has since issued a statement making it clear that there was no impropriety on her part and that she was offended at any such insinuation as the cheque was a charitable contribution to her annual Christmas hamper and food voucher programme.

However, during a press conference held yesterday at the DLP’s George Street, St Michael headquarters, Yearwood said it did not matter what the money was for, only that the sum was well beyond the allowable amount that one could personally receive as a “gift” without declaring it to the Integrity Commission. He also contended that an investigation should be launched to determine if the private entity in question held any contracts under Bradshaw’s ministry.

Section 23 (1) of the legislation states: “A specified person in public life listed in Part I of the Second Schedule who receives a gift worth more than $2 500, or whose spouse or child receives such a gift, shall make a report of that fact to the Commission in the Form 4 set out in the Third Schedule and shall state in the report.” Public officials in breach of this could be fined as much as three times the amount of the value of the gift.

‘Declaration should be made’

Yearwood said: “The legislation still has the full force of law, it has not been proclaimed, but it has been passed in both Houses. This situation only gets worse for the Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister of Transport and Works because she is also the leader of Government Business and, therefore, should be fully aware of the very legislation that she would have piloted in the Lower House.

“You have it right here. If you are going to be receiving more than $2 500 then those funds should have been declared to the Commission which should have been set up by now. On record, the cheque was a value of $7 500, so already we are in a position where a declaration should have been made. It is very telling and serendipitous that the very person piloting the Bill is perhaps the very person caught by a law she brought to Parliament,” he added.

The DLP president vowed that under his leadership, any member of his Cabinet who falls under similar circumstances would have been immediately fired, stating that Bradshaw should do the “honourable thing” and resign.

“I make it very clear that this is not something that would be ever tolerated under a Democratic Labour Party government or even before . . . . What we have here is a situation where the Deputy Prime Minister should resign because the matter is such a serious one,” Yearwood said.

“Following her resignation, an investigation should be launched into the relationship between the person who would have provided funds and the Deputy Prime Minister, as well as the relationship between that consulting firm and Government. It should be known how many, if any, Government contracts they have received.” (CLM)

2. This story has a similar ring to the $75,000 that was given to the late prime Owen Arthur, covered extensively in this forum.Here is a BU link – https://barbadosunderground.net/2008/01/24/what-about-the-cheque-prime-minister-david-thompson/

Clarke: Cheque a contribution to assist less fortunate

The man at the helm of the company which made a charitable donation of $7 500 to Member of Parliament Santia Bradshaw is contending the money he sent to the politician was just another way of giving back to the country’s less fortunate.

In a statement to the Sunday Sun yesterday, Errol Clarke of Errol Clarke Associates also made it clear his company was not involved in any projects overseen by Bradshaw, the Minister of Transport, Works and Water Resources.

Bradshaw explained on Friday that the cheque represented a charitable contribution to her annual Christmas hamper and food voucher programme. This cheque, which was written to her, was discovered as one of many items taken during a burglary of her St Michael South East constituency office between December 18 and 19.

Clarke said: “As a result of one of our contributions being stolen, the name of the company is being featured in the press and social media. That contribution was not made with any intent of receiving favours from the minister or the Ministry of Transport Works and Water Resources, as I am not currently working for MTWW nor does the company have any active bids before that ministry for consideration. The last project on which I worked for MTWW was awarded to us before the current minister was in charge of her current ministry.”

He noted that over the past 37 years, the company worked extensively with several private sector entities as well as Government departments, including Urban Development Commission, the Ministry of Health and Wellness and Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training and had also been involved in studies in the Scotland District, East Coast as well as the Warrens Project, to name a few.

“We are aware of the allegations and insinuations being made with respect to a cheque which was made payable by our company in the name of Santia Bradshaw and subsequently stolen from her constituency office. Ms Bradshaw’s charity was among several such causes we assisted this year,” Clarke asserted.

“ Christmas is a time of providing relief to the less fortunate in our society and over the years our company has regularly made monetary contributions to organisations that provide assistance to the needy, including churches, fraternities and both political parties (the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party). Last time I checked, several other companies in Barbados do the exact same,” Clarke concluded.

(BA/PR)

3. It would be interesting to hear Husband’s perspective on government’s aggressive strategy pertaining to same sex business and re-engineering thinking of our young minds #idbquestionnaire in the context of defending bajan values?

<blockquote>Reset values, cries Husbands

Parliamentarian Sandra Husbands is calling for a nation-wide attitude change and a renewed focus on social values to arrest the growing violent acts in Barbados.

She was at the scene on Friday at Bibby’s Lane, St Michael, when authorities extricated the body of 28-year-old Mitchell Nicholls, from a 30-foot well, where he was said to have been dumped after being killed by two men.

“As a society, there are things we are going to have to start to do to be able to gain control over the behaviours of certain people in society. This is why some of the foundational things are important – things like parental training. You cannot expose citizenry to a steady diet of violence on television and on social media and you have no entities which have strong influence over our young people – when we were children it was the church, the community – there was a consistent set of values by which we lived,” she said.

Husbands, the parliamentary representative for St James South, said if the nation’s children were not being brought up with the right values, situations such as the murder of Nicholls would continue. She called for a return to volunteerism.

“We have to restore volunteerism in Barbados.

We do not have enough people to manage Boy Scouts, Girl Guides or the various [sporting] clubs because our lifestyles now makes it too busy for us to make those types of contributions . . . but if there are no mentors for our children, they will mentor themselves,” she said.

The parliamentarian said the work had to involve the private sector and especially the media.

“I am urging the media; what is it we are promoting in front of the eyes of the people? Sensational sells papers but you are an integral part of also selling values and social norms, promoting positive things,” she said.

On the topic of capital punishment, Husbands said she did not mind it being on the law books but she preferred efforts to be concentrated on social training and good values.

“We have to grow people who are morally strong, have integrity, care about their neighbours, can manage their finances and can work towards their goals and dreams,” she said.

Husbands said Nicholls’ family lived in her constituency which was why she was there. She said the death was especially hurtful.

“Nicholls Bakery has been an important staple in the community and the church. It has assisted many charities and many events – all because of the generosity and the heart and spirit of the Nicholls family. I am deeply grieved this morning that Mitchell Nicholls could lose his life this way. That boy is not 30 years old yet.

For him to lose his life in this fashion is hurtful,” she said.

(CA)

4. SOE CONCERN

By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews. com

Government’s handling of the Barbados Agricultural Management Company (BAMC) transition to a private entity is not inspiring confidence in the plan to reform the remaining stateowned enterprises (SOEs).

That is the concern being shared by head of the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies, Professor Don Marshall, as well as general secretary of Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados, Dennis De Peiza.

Also weighing in was general secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) Richard Green, who said they were unhappy with the level of transparency in relation to the exercise.

Marshall said a lot of questions were raised about the closure of the BAMC, stressing little was known of the mandate of the new entity. He said there was also little information on how it would continue to deliver the essential support functions to farmers.

Questions

“A new thinking has emerged since we have engaged the International Monetary Fund (IMF) that the operation needs to be privatised. I must ask, and indeed others are asking, what are the responsibilities befalling the new entity? What will become of the essential services that the entity provides to farmers? What will become of the nonsugar crops at the BAMC when it was asked to manage 40 per cent of Government agricultural lands,” Marshall said.

He added: “So, there are a lot of questions to be asked on the agricultural front, which is a major plank of the economy. With the removal of the BAMC, agriculture has been thrown into deep crisis because we do not know what the plan for agriculture is.”

He argued that this latest example did not augur well for even more critical reforms such as Queen Elizabeth Hospital, the Transport Board and the amalgamation of social welfare services.

Reform worry

DePeiza said his umbrella trade union body, which included Sugar Industries Staff Association (SISA), had not been engaged on the issue at the level of the Social Partnership, and therefore they too were concerned about the handling of the reform of the SOEs.

“It is a concern because based on what I have heard with the BAMC issue, yes workers are to be rehired, but no one can say whether all of them would be rehired. One does not know which template is going to be used when the transition takes place or for the other SOEs for that matter,” De Peiza said.

“It is a matter that needs to be discussed so that we can ensure that governance can be preserved and that new opportunities can be made known so that requisite retraining can be done for people to remain in the workforce. However, in the absence of information, it is difficult to make any judgement on what it is,” he added.

Green, on the other hand, said the reform of the SOEs would be a priority focus for the NUPW, charging that the flow of information from the authorities was not consistent.

“We continue to hold the view that when there is transparency and openness about the transition and reforms, it makes the process easier. It may not always be acceptable, but it is certainly easier and more effective. We have asked consistently, both publicly and through the agencies that manage the transitions, that we are provided with the information as soon as it is available,” Green said.

“We are not totally happy with how the reforms are going because some move quicker and smoother than others. The reform of SOEs has strategically been outlined as part of Government’s programme in the new year and we need to be kept in the loop as a matter of priority,” he said.

5. The man at the helm of the company which made a charitable donation of $7 500 to Member of Parliament Santia Bradshaw is contending the money he sent to the politician was just another way of giving back to the country’s less fortunate.
    Excellent.

Now, let’s see the cheque sent to the Salvation Army. For transparency purposes, of course.

6. Who says the authorities cant control the PSVs?
    Look how fast the man permit got suspended for hiring his four year old son as a conductor.

I will suggest that the PSVs are a reliable stream of revenue to the treasury, and the authorities appreciate their contributions to the amounts collected by the courts.

7. Illegal dumping?
    Short of placing cameras in every gully, cartroad and cane ground; I don’t know how we will arrest this problem.

There’s this ” IDGAF” mindset rampant in Barbados and it will only get worse from hereon.

Sigh.

8. Is Sanita Bradshaw a registered charity?

https://caipo.gov.bb/corporate-affairs/registration-of-charity/#:~:text=Is%20there%20a%20legal%20obligation,243.

Is there a legal obligation to register a charity in Barbados?

As a general rule, unless expressly exempted by law from registration, any institution which qualifies as a “charity” should be registered with the Registrar under the Charities Act, Cap. 243. Section 5(6)(a) of the Charities Act, Cap. 243 imposes a statutory duty on the charity trustees of any charity which is not registered nor excepted from registration to apply for it to be registered, and to supply the documents and information required by law to be filed with the Registrar.

9. This Santiagate Bradshaw incident further supports the toy train description of Barbados. Here we have the engineer who added another useless whistle, not using the whistles. Pappyshow time.

All are trappings, nothing is real. Masturbation of their mouth as the hand and your mind as the tool.

10. It is SOP for donations to be given to members of parliament to assist with funding constituency projects. Both parties do it! It is farcical for members of the public to allow themselves to be manipulated when a ‘cheque’ is discovered. We will continue get what we deserve.

11. The offset is how much money is spent to process court cases etc and more importantly- the long term effects on our young people given the sub culture that has taken root. We must really lift our game.

12. @ Fan Belt on December 31, 2023 at 3:36 AM said:
    (Quote).
    The man at the helm of the company which made a charitable donation of $7 500 to Member of Parliament Santia Bradshaw is contending the money he sent to the politician was just another way of giving back to the country’s less fortunate.
    Excellent.

Now, let’s see the cheque sent to the Salvation Army. For transparency purposes, of course.
    (Unquote).

Very well said!

A cheque is a mere piece of paper until it is deposited in a bank account and encashed.

Since a mere piece of paper has been ‘stolen’ it simply means the drawer still has his money in his bank account.

Issuing another cheque in the name of the “Salvation Army or even Kemar Saffrey will be most welcome and will indeed demonstrate the drawer’s original charitable ‘intent’.

13. Ronnie(wh)o? Is a hypocrite just like the late David Thompson. Ronnie(wh)o? just had a DLP Christmas children’s party in his constituency. His UWI salary funded it, leftovers from ICBL “contributions” or companies supporting his elevation to power? This is the same Ronnie(wh)o? that as President of the DLP appointed Donville to a non-elected post on the executive. Stuupse, fella can’t catch a break which is evident by the names and faces crowding up the public discourse–Howard, Marshall, Depeiza et al. Look out for continued transformation in 2024.

14. “It would be interesting to hear Husband’s perspective on government’s aggressive strategy pertaining to same sex business and re-engineering thinking of our young minds #idbquestionnaire in the context of defending bajan values.”

Huh?

15. That question is not for you enuff, your perspective is a predictable one.

16. @enuff

A question posed that you should understand.

Why has this government been unable to institute order in the PSV sector?

Why did Ian Estwick resign from the Transport Authority after promising all and sundry that authority was on the JOB?

17. 2024 News Years Eve Party Avatar
    2024 News Years Eve Party

“Ronnie(wh)o?”

That is a blast from the past
    I presume you mean Ronnie “Obama” Yearwood
    Alleged “Leader” of “The Opposition”

In reality the Barbados Underground is the only Opposition

>>>====> 2024 News Years Eve Party BU Playlist Lyrics

#1 Underground
    Song by Curtis Mayfield

Familiar music, familiar sound
    Does mute your thoughts for the underground
    Lonely sight for any turning light
    Future prophesy for the [Incomprehensible]
    There’ll be equal stay and equal play
    The underground where none can betray
    The underground
    They’ll all turn black so who’s to know
    As a matter of fact, color, creed and breed must go
    There’ll be no light, so there can be no sight
    And you’ll judge your fellow men on the stand
    By what is right

The DLP are always out to lunch singing the punk anthem

#2 Pretty Vacant
    Song by Sex Pistols

There’s no point in asking, you’ll get no reply
    Oh just remember I don’t decide
    I got no reason it’s all too much
    You’ll always find us
    Out to lunch
    Oh we’re so pretty
    Oh so pretty
    We’re vacant
    Oh we’re so pretty
    Oh so pretty
    A vacant
    Don’t ask us to attend, ’cause we’re not all there
    Oh don’t pretend ’cause I don’t care
    I don’t believe illusions ’cause too much is real
    So stop your cheap comment, ’cause we know what we feel

18. Another disappointing response from Enuff…

Translated:
    All of us politicians have been taking bribes for AGES, so why is Ronnie(wh)o now seeking to upset the apple cart (or is it the cookie jar?)

Enuff seems to be quite sure that Ronnie is being ‘supported by similar bribes’ – and appears to be quite OK with the overall scheme of things – RATHER THAN WANTING TO CLEAN SHOP…!!

What a place…!!!

There can ONLY be one ending….

19. @Enuff

Here is another simple enough question. Why has this government been unable to implement and maintain a functioning maintenance program for buses, garbage trucks etc?

20. You are assuming there is a Government.

Can’t have one with no opposition as Parliament is unconstitutional.

What we have is 30 individuals mekking hay while the sun shines.

They know their days are numbered.

They will continue brekking for demselves till they are called to account.

21. Listening to @VOB246 on @ http://tun.in/senqF

Re: BL&P and FTC rate review matter.

22. Listen the basics we cant get done and here are 2 examples.

Twice recently persons I know went to pay duty at customs by the harbour gate and found the cashiers closed. When asked why, they were told the supervisor there went to afuneral so they cant take money. Money that our brek tail treasury badly needs.

I went to the post office in warrens recently to buy stamps and found the office decorated for xmas, lights and ac running and all counters closed. When I asked the guard outside why the response was “dem only got 1 girl dey and she gone lunch.” When asked when she will return the answer was “cant help yuh.”

Wunna want the big issues address when we cant even take cash for the state?

23. @John A

The add on to your concern is the congestion at the Port of Authority this Christmas which delayed delivery of goods to wholesalers. Why was the volume not anticipated and adequate resources allocated in good time to prevent the occurrence?

24. @ David

Yes and the question i ask is why must i go to customs anyhow in this age of computers to begin with. With Why cant I submit my declaration on line and pay by card, then have the released email to me the client and not my broker? Why must older bajans not computer savvy, have to line up at the land tax office to pay the tax when every parish has a state post office and ALREADY collects payments for water and multi choice there?

The whole system is a dam joke.

25. You playing that you ent know….

But when you have a micro-manager who must approve every detail of every important decision,

…but who is also busy around the ends of the Earth

…anticipating issues and allocating resources and dealing with failures will be predictably lapsed….

26. @John A

The challenge is disparate IT systems and possibly physical environment not fit for purpose. Even in cases where BRA and the Chief Licensing department have ‘integrated systems’ it is a nightmare to expect efficient service to the public. Why do we need many hands making light work if the public service cannot be made efficient?

27. Now I’ve read Ronnie(wh)O?’s full response in the Sunday Sun his call is even more laughable. So in essence the IPL Act does allow the acceptance of gifts over $2500, once declared. The cheque has clearly not been encashed, is less than a month old and was evidence in a criminal matter that concluded this week. I never knew an act not proclaimed was still paw. But even if the act was proclaimed and an Integrity Commission established would anyone be in violation of the law for not declaring and uncashed cheque within 2 weeks? The struggle is real for Ronnie(wh)O?

28. @ David

Customs is a classic, but dont worry if you willing to pay overtime the containers will get clear quick.

You are aware we are the most expensive port in the region to bring a container through?

29. @Enuff

What about the other donations said to have been given to the political party or its surrogates? Were those amounts declared?

30. @John A

You are so right. Let us not discuss items withheld by oficers to grease the process wheels.

31. @ Blogmaster:
    “A big negative of the PSV subculture is observed daily seeing private vehicles speeding through traffic lights on red and committing other road safety violations with gay abandon.”

What can you expect from an administration which promised much and has spent millions of dollars of taxpayers’ money in buying and erecting the hardware for a so-called Electronic Vehicle Registration (and Monitoring) System but yet tens of thousands of vehicles can be seen being driven on the poorly-maintained Bajan roads daily without the legally required third party insurance and evidence of their road worthiness?

Hasn’t the BLP broken its Covenant of Hope with the law-abiding hard-working taxpaying drivers of Barbados who have to pay for the misdeeds of those tens of thousands of selfish louts driving illegally all around the 2×3 small island on a daily basis?

32. @ David

My friend people who are not involved in business have no idea the crap business people have to deal with here to keep their doors open.

We are the most paper needy, slow moving, top heavy place to do business in now. Check the ease of doing business report and see where we now sit in the region. Rather than addressing this issue, all we do is add more paper to the system.

Coorporate affairs every year hold out there hand for a $100 dontation from each company to simply maintain their name. Every year you fill out pages of info for them that 90% of the time does not change from the previous year. You think and of the brains up there would create a simple form that states. ARE THERE ANY CHANGES THIS YEAR OVER LAST YEAR. sign you blasted name and date it and attach the payment. Done wid dat!

Plus because of all the paper corporate affairs are last time i heard, 2 years behind the filing of these returns. I dont blame them though cause the maguffies refuse to simplify the system..

33. @Miller

It is the same old issue successive governments have failed to arrest, ‘implementation deficit’.

34. @John A

It isnt only business people. The blogmaster received an email couple days ago about the fact it took over 2 hours to make a change to their account at Barbados Public Workers Credit Union. The reason given was that many employees did not report to work over the holidays. This is how we seem to be rolling in Barbados.

35. Hi Bushie, yuh had a good Christmas? 🤣🤣

36. doan worry

37. @ Blogmanster:

Maybe the junior ‘public servants’ are merely copying what they see their political masters doing on a regular basis.

Maybe your man Mr. Enuff can handle a question within his political ass-licking paygrade and tell us when the PM is going to resolve the “Savvy-on-the-Beach” fiasco.

What has become of the moral principle of Keeping Promises made to the Public?

How long is too long if it is a volte-face lie?

Why not leave the Savvy project to be the growing success which the Hyatt hotel pink elephant has failed to achieve?

38. We know some projects will overrun, mishaps will occur. What we don’t want is the clawback culture and level of mediocrity that seems to be the norm.

39. OK Chaps here is an official Game Plan for the power of creation preservation and change

We have one problem we are not able to experience oneness with the creator who has created from head to toes my own visible form who has created this universe, we say it is God but where is God and how to feel the presence of God

We can solve this problem
    Channel the Creator so everything you feel from head to toe more and more is the visible presence of God in all projects for changes within when we start accepting it more and more then we realise the power of creation and change is more and more there is no limit

How to feel more and more
    Keep on increasing awareness more and more

Both sides work together in Unity as One
    Improvers and Opposition (Public and Political Parties) work together
    Praises will have seeds of Complaints
    Complaints will have seeds of Praises

40. “Why was the volume not anticipated and adequate resources allocated in good time to prevent the occurrence?”

It’s all about overtime.

I’ve found that employees of statutory corporations such as, Barbados Water Authority, Barbados Port Authority, National Petroleum Corporation, exploit certain situations to provide them with an opportunity to work overtime.

Port Authority employees are probably the highest paid in the public service

41. @Artax

It is one thing for workers to want overtime payment but what about management that is responsible for marshaling resources?

42. @ David

Since you’ve mentioned indiscipline on the roads, I’ve noticed the drivers of delivery vehicles owned by KFC and Chefette continuously violate the road traffic regulations on a daily basis.

Those vehicles, which can also be seen “speeding through traffic lights on red and committing other road safety violations with gay abandon,” are often involved in accidents as well, which, more often than not, occur (according to accident reports), as a result of speeding.

A friend of mine, who owns a wrecker service, is often tasked with collecting the vehicles and store them on his lot, until further instructions from the insurance companies.

After the vehicles are either written-off and replaced or repaired, the CYCLE of violating traffic regulations continues, until the next accident occurs.

As such, I am wondering if you are aware of any special arrangement Chefette and KFC have with government or the Police Service, authorising delivery drivers of both restaurants to violate the road traffic regulations, so as to facilitate ‘prompt deliveries?’

43. @Artax

That is another budding sub culture, especially when you toss in a growing reputation of the SWIFT.

44. “It is one thing for workers to want overtime payment but what about management that is responsible for marshaling resources?”

Agree with you 💯%.

However, as an example, I suggest you should review what occurred at the SSA in 2019, when ‘government’ sought to address the overtime issue.

45. @ David

A few years ago, it seemed to be a trend among drivers of DHL, FedEx and UPS vehicles.

46. @Artax

It is why some supported Reagan and Thatcher breaking the backbone of unions, no disrespect to labour.

47. @ Enuff
    “Hi Bushie, yuh had a good Christmas? 🤣🤣”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Yes please… quite good.
    We note that you did too… 🤣

Very best wishes for 2024 to you.

48. Earlier this year I had two examples of Gov’t employees making up rules as they go along; one was at the Office issuing ID cards in Warrens and the other was when I applied for a drivers license.

Maybe I should apply for a diplomatic passport.