Brian Wallace, Jamaica’s Ambassador to the United Nations

Rebloged from the Caribbean Empowerment website. The international news-feed is choked with the ongoing impasse between HAMAS and Israel. What about Haiti? We know the answer, it is a Black country that is of little geopolitical importance located in a region where a one foreign policy remains a pipe dream – Blogmaster

Haiti – CARICOM Deepens its Betrayal

Caribbean Organisation for Peoples Empowerment Americas, Caribbean, World October 6, 2023 4 Minutes

By A.T. Freeman

On 2 October, the US presented to the United Nations Security Council a resolution calling for the authorisation of its long planned military attack on Haiti. The resolution was adopted by 13 votes to 0 with Russia and China abstaining. The states which voted in favour of the resolution were Albania, Brazil, Ecuador, France, Gabon, Ghana, Japan, Malta, Mozambique, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and the United States.

Resolution 2699 that authorises the military attack on Haiti has been passed under Chapter 7 of the United Nations Charter which allows for the use of violence against an individual state. A number of commentators have pointed out that, in fact, this resolution is illegal and itself violates the UN Charter since Chapter 7 focuses on defending international peace through addressing threats to the peace, breaches of the peace, and acts of aggression. Clearly, the activities of criminal gangs in an individual state do not present a threat to international peace and so are not the business of the UN Security Council and definitely not an issue that can be addressed by the use of Chapter 7.  Not surprisingly, the drafters of the resolution do not explain how the situation in Haiti presents a threat to international peace. It is ironic that this resolution is being used to facilitate an act of unprovoked aggression against a member state, something that Chapter 7 is supposed to deter.

On Oct. 2, 2023, the UN Security Council adopting Resolution 2699 authorizing the Multinational Security Support mission in Haiti for one year Photo: UN Photo/Paulo Filgueiras

Given the recent demand from Biden to the UN General Assembly that the Security Council should immediately pass the resolution authorising the aggression against Haiti, it was not surprising that Jeffrey Delaurentis, the representative of the USA, hailed the council’s decision as historic while acknowledging the intense US effort to engineer this new invasion of Haiti with his words, “it took us one full year to get where we are now”. The decision of China and the Russian Federation to abstain rather than veto the resolution recalls the passing of resolution 1973 on 17 March 2011. That resolution, proposed by France, Lebanon, and the United Kingdom, authorised the establishment of a no-fly zone over Libya and on that occasion both China and the Russian Federation abstained rather than veto it. That was the greenlight the US and its allies were waiting for. NATO immediately unleashed what Fidel Castro famously described as a ‘fascist attack’ on Libya. The barbaric destruction of Libya at the hands of NATO has had calamitous effects on the lives of the Libyan people. NATO’s aggression turned their country from being the most developed in Africa to a hell hole of insecurity and violence, where Black people were literally being sold as slaves and recent calamitous flooding has claimed thousands more lives as a result of the destruction of the country’s infrastructure. It should be recalled that Resolution 1973 stated that the establishment of the no-fly zone was intended to ‘protect civilians’, while Susan Rice, then US representative at the UN, hailed the passing of resolution 1973 with the following words, “the Council has responded to the Libyan peoples’ cry for help.  The Council’s purpose was clear: to protect Libyan civilians”.

A representative of CARICOM, of which Haiti is a member, also spoke at the UN Security Council Meeting. Jamaica’s ambassador and permanent representative to the United Nations, Brian Wallace, was the person chosen for this task. Stressing that he was speaking on behalf of all 14 member states of CARICOM, he delivered a despicable speech hailing the planned US invasion of Haiti. With his speech, he wrote in capital letters that CARICOM’s betrayal of Haiti and her people was complete and unlimited. Gone was the earlier CARICOM talk of opposing a military invasion and of defending Haiti’s sovereignty so that the Haitian people could chart a path for their own country. Instead Wallace mindlessly repeated all the talking points from the US propaganda narratives even going so far as to argue that “…the first step towards Haitian-led and Haitian-owned solutions to the multi-dimensional, multi-faceted crises facing the country…” is  a foreign invasion. Wallace represents an Andrew Holness led Jamaica Labour Party government, elected by the votes of 21% of Jamaica’s registered voters, which has distinguished itself as being one of the most subservient in the region to the interests of the US.  Holness was one of those Caribbean leaders who in 2019 made his way to Mar-a-Lago, Florida to meet with then president Donald Trump as part of the US efforts to destabilise Venezuela. As such, the disgraceful statement from Ambassador Wallace is hardly surprising. Nevertheless, it is irrational for the Andrew Holness government, which has failed miserably to provide the people of Jamaica with security and to deal with the problem of criminal gangs in Jamaica, to think that his government can contribute in any way to solving such a problem in Haiti. The same can be said of all the region’s governments, which are struggling with the problems of rising crime and criminal gangs and many of which have a far worse murder rate than Haiti.   

Unlike Holness, there are those in CARICOM, like Mia Mottley’s government in Barbados and Ralph Gonsalves’ government in St Vincent and the Grenadines who present themselves as different. They sell themselves as progressives, Pan-Africanists, anti-imperialists and so on. CARICOM’s unreserved betrayal of Haiti and her people and their collusion with it exposes their claims as completely fraudulent. They are in bed with Holness and the US in this attack on Haiti. Many wonder if the recent CNN article on Mia Mottley being considered as a possible UN General Secretary in 2026 is her reward for throwing Haiti to the wolves.

The people of Haiti are a heroic and fighting people. They liberated themselves from enslavement and contributed significantly to the end of slavery in the Caribbean and Americas. In this struggle, they defeated the invasions of England and Napoleon’s France. They will certainly know how to deal with this new US organised invasion of their country, which follows in the footsteps of the previous ones.

All out to support Haiti and her people!

No to the US organised invasion!

Hands off Haiti!

Please join the conversation on Caribbean Empowerment’s Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2583126101949661/ Or, you can comment by emailing us at: caribbeanempowerment@pm.me

127 responses to “Betrayal!”

1. The Haitian issue is not dissimilar to the Palestinian occupation in many ways.

For that matter they are both only different to the Barbados situation by degree.

Even as Mia Mottley, as reliable factotum, comprador, remains central to the hybrid warfarism of empire in the region.

We cite her fervent support of the Nazi regime in Ukraine. Especially in her speech in Ghana, around that country’s independence.

However, the interconnectedness of everything is generally ignored here, as the power that be, opts for the tinsel, the trite, as a comprehensive determination continues to avoid a centralized critique of all there is.

In particular empire!

2. After reading this post, I am lead to believe that the author sincerely believes that the people of Haiti are doing well and working out their political, economic and criminal problems. The murder rate is not as big a problem as in other countries and this proposed intervention is unnecessary. The writer does not specifically mention kidnapping for ransom and I choose to believe that in his or her thinking, that is not a problem worth mentioning. I cannot speak for the people of Haiti, but I can make the following observations. Bahamas and Jamaica are the recipients of thousands of Haitians fleeing the mythical homeland paradise. Even Barbados much further to the south has received some of the immigration fallout from the situation in Haiti. Caricom cannot sit still and for nothing but deport Haitian economic refugees because the resources devoted to that exercise are limited and the policy is unsustainable. It was clear from published media that power brokers in Haiti refused the promised caretaker government in preparation for elections and made up of all parties. Perhaps the writer has a better proposed solution. I am glad however that the author mentioned Libya. I draw this to the attention of wannabe power wielders in Barbados, daily depiction of life in Bim as a hell hole and attempting to manipulate a populace that you can improve their circumstances. Barbados despite its problems is a wonderful place, Bajans despite their various idiosyncrasies are beautiful people. Let us work out our real political, economic and criminal problems among ourselves, even if in the eyes of the post we are not as iconic as Haiti.

3. Pacha
    You are playing the donkey Boss!!

Factotum?
    Comprador?
    You think dat dis is a Harvard discussion group or wuh!!???

Boss, If you want to tell us that we are going shiite, and dat MIA means ‘Missing in ACTION’ and not “Messenger of International Agendas”…

Man just SAY SO NUH…..!!

4. Factotum
    an employee who does all kinds of work. (general) handyman

Comprador
    a person within a country who acts as an agent for foreign organizations engaged in investment, trade, or economic or political exploitation.

5. Lord Bushie!
    When the local lingua franca is used, you present moral disdain.
    Not without being well reasons. For others, from the inner sanctum, have oft made such urgings.
    Of course, there are several other ways the same could have been expressed.
    However. Please forgive us for slipping into a frame too well at centre.
    BTW, you were also right about the excessive lewdness around Crop Over. We concede on both count.

6. all bets are off Avatar
    all bets are off

It’s a shame that bookies won’t take bets on who will win the wars as they deem these events to be on the darkside. It seems Pachamama’s prediction for Russia to win is becoming true if you believe the news feeds on social media. I bet 10p that someone on Bu will say the current war in Israel is a sign of the beginning of the end times as prophesised in the final chapter ending of the bible book of tales.

7. Obviously Russia and China had bigger fish to fry, than to sit around vetoing a vote on a nation of Beggars and Traitors, who have refused to defend their nation.

The only entities who betrayed Haiti are Haitians themselves. Treachery is like cancer in the DNA of the Black Man and Woman but that too can be deracinated…furthermore, what else would one expect from CARICOM former ‘slave’ states?

Haiti, a nation which once broke the yoke of the parasitic enslaver, did an about face and paid reparation for winning that battle. Play stupid games. Win stupid prizes.

Since the khazarian swine occupied that sovereign state of Palestine (1947-1948) the Palestinians have been RESISTING. Do we see Haitians resisting or do we see Haitians colluding? Whenever a Palestinians colluder is exposed he’s obliterated….but Haitian Colluders are gifted with Primeministership and other ‘trophies’ which the common Haitian seem to approve.

How can a nation of more that 10 million people not muster 10,000 strong men willing to act in concert to defend their nation by any and all means necessary? Or do they find it easier to be little pathetic, dusty, victims wishing the world would come and save them? Poor Me! Poor Me!

Daily Palestinians wake up to boot of the khazarian swine on their necks. They poison their food source. Contaminate their water. Destroy their olives. Literally dispose of their urine and fecal matter on them. Yet the Palestinians have NEVER surrendered. These men go underground and they plan and prepare like real fucking hard core MEN. Only bitch ass men run from their homes and beg beg Do we see Palestinians Men raping their women or chopping up each other in the streets? I see Palestinians with one mission and that is to liberate Palestine from the invading Swine.

Those Young Men in the Sahel Region have decided that Enough is efuckingnough, hence they’ve risen up and taken control of theirs. The ‘gods’ will only help those who help themselves.

What happen to your hyperdimensional science Haiti? Has it lost its sting since you taught it to the CIA or do you only use it against your neighbour?

Collectively we Black People are the greatest FORCE on this earth but we have chosen weakness.

THE ERA OF BLACK PEOPLE BEING VICTIMS IS DONE! NO MORE!

Haiti is no victim. Die on your feet or live on your knees. Eventually we all die but die for something.

Watch the Ukraine disappear from the Radar.

8. Furthermore Afghanistan have been under invasion and occupation for more than a century but those MEN donned their sandals, ragged their heads and bore those mortars like true guerillas RESULTING in all invading forces hightailing it off their sovereign lands. They have consistently repelled the enemy… GREAT BRITIAN, RUSSIA and THE GREAT USA. Yet Haitians have chosen to be pitiful beggars.

Stop listening to those who will only patronise you with long talk of victimhood.

ONLY HAITIANS can free HAITI!

9. @ Hopi
    Amen like shiite..!!

10. @ David

A ‘bit closer to home,’ various communities in St. Lucia have been experiencing an upsurge in violent crimes, gang activity, gun related violence and murders.

Unfortunately, that island’s murder rate increased from 8 in March to 65 as at today’s date.

Vieux Fort especially, where several shootings and murders have occurred, has been ‘under siege’ by heavily armed gangs.

These gangs are also targeting the relatives and friends of rival gang members.

People are afraid to walk through the neighbourhood, and more so during the night.
    The gun violence has also contributed to the closure of schools.

As a result, the community has been designated as an escalated crime zone.

Some time during May 2023, SLU’s PM Philip J. Pierre, who is also national security minister, requested assistance from the Regional Security System (RSS) in managing the island’s crime situation.

BDF soldiers along with ten (10) members of BPS’ Special Services Unit (SSU), were among law enforcement personnel from the RSS and other territorial police services and defense forces deployed in St. Lucia, to join the peace-keeping efforts there.

They were subsequently ‘sworn in’ as ‘Special Constables’ and functioned under the command of SLU’s Commissioner of Police Crusita Descartes-Pelius to assist with combatting criminal activity.
    While on the island, their extensive duties included surveillance, foot and mobile patrols, warrant execution, ‘stop and searches’ of vehicles and raids.

Interestingly, over the years, armed gangs have multiplied in regional territories and, according to media reports, were ‘strengthened by untold numbers of ‘deportees’ sent to the region by the Obama and Trump administrations, worsened by extended gang warfare and continuing proliferation of more illegal weapons.’

The type of weapons used in the July 2023 mass shooting of five men in Kingstown, St. Vincent, indicated the criminals there have more sophisticated weapons than the police and have access to firearms that are issued only to law enforcement agencies.

11. Another worrying development unfolding on our doorstep.

12. It is interesting that the Hamas situation has driven Ukraine reason and rationale for involving Iran; like they did with Iraq. And watch the propaganda campaign to shift all the sympathy and empathy to Issrael…At the moment people are forgetting that Hamas is a branch of the Palestinians, so it is not a foreign force it is the Palestinians fighting back, after the Palestinian Liberation Army was neutralized the Assassination of Yassar Arafat. off the centre of the Radar. Watch the Americans try to find a reason to send troops into the Gaza Strip and other areas there…like Lebanon, watch them try to find some way to get American troops involved…remember that Ronal Reagan invaded Grenada to “rescue” American students who were NOT under any threats. As many would know, I am a writer and have been writing a new Book called “Paralell Tracks and Tracts.” pointing out the Colonial attitudes leading to the Genocide of Indigenous Indians of The American continent, and the similar activities that resulted in the establishment of the State of Israel on Palestinian Lands with similar (Parallel) effects on the Palestinian people. Look for it soon. Also working on another one called “Woke.??!!, The Dis-Remembered history of Indigenous Indian Slavery in America, African Enslavement, and the Role of Barbados in Early:American History. A critique of The 1619 Project, The 1776 Report, And the Doctrine of Manifest Destiny, as a Progenitor of Right Wing Extremism In The United States..

13. Here’s a bit on murder and mayhem in Haiti.

https://apnews.com/article/haiti-gangs-un-killings-violence-human-rights-361d876e1cf3a235b8cfd6f562c8267a

Sounds a bit like Chicago.

But blacks in Chicago have suddenly woken up as the invasion of America by illegal aliens threatens to swamp them out of their perquisites. They have taken time off killing one another to protest.

… and Hopi is right, the Chicagoans are the only people who can solve their problems,

the Haitians are the only people who can solve their problems and

the Libyans are the only people who can solve their problems.

Meanwhile here in Barbados ……

14. Truth and Rights Avatar
    Truth and Rights

Teaching or criticising White Supremacy Racism in American History curricula is now labelled as racism against whites in the same way that criticising the State of Israel is labelled as anti-semitism.

Peace in Israel and Middle East could have been achieved if they offered Palestinians Equal Rights and Human Rights, but it is too late for that now.

15. Everbody Needs Love Avatar
    Everbody Needs Love

Poverty and inequality are ticking time bombs and also the drivers of crime.

Everybody Needs Love, Slim Smith, Dennis Alcapone
    The Dark Destroyer, Aggrovators* Meets The Revolutionaries

16. Truth and Rights on October 9, 2023 at 4:23 AM said:
    1 Vote

Peace in Israel and Middle East could have been achieved if they offered Palestinians Equal Rights and Human Rights, but it is too late for that now.

It became too late when one group decided it wanted to wipe the other group off the face of the earth and viewed them like pigs and dogs fit only for slaughter, like the Nazis did to the Jews.

17. My Palestine Girl Avatar
    My Palestine Girl

She’s got a wiggle when she walk
    A giggle when she talk
    She’s close to God
    I dribble like a dog
    She’s my Palestine girl
    My Palestine baby
    She drive me crazy
    Sun make me lazy
    I take a trip to Gaza
    It’s love I’m really after
    She tells me happy be ?
    We walk happily
    Haven’t seen her lately
    I worry ’bout her safety
    I take a trip to Gaza
    It’s really love I’m after
    She’s trapped in Babylon
    I tell her that I won’t be long
    She’s trapped in Babylon
    Imprisoned in Babylon
    The city of sin
    A state of mind
    It’s so fucking frightening
    Its demons are out
    To run their course
    A living corpse
    Dead to achy feeling ?
    course
    hungry horse
    Or no
    Unresting feeling
    No rest for the wicked
    pace of
    But to them she’s creeping
    Through the night is sleeping
    I take a trip to Gaza
    She’s trapped in Babylon

18. The Palestinians have obviously decided that it’s better to die fighting.

Than dying on their knees, like has been the case for maybe 75 years.

We wonder how those here who associate themselves with a parody of the fictitious Zionist religion square the circle with a people central, whose Talmud, another fiction, tells them that they have more Misvahs than anybody else.

An Arian lie which means that they can treat everybody else as they like without karmic costs.

May we declare that our support for the Palestinians has no limits. Irrespective of their shortcomings.

Our position is that in spite of the unrelenting and wanton killing of civilians in Gaza that this fight must continue until the end.

The Palestinians have, for decades, bought into the White lies of the West about a two-state solution. A fiction which has seen a diminution, an underdevelopment, of the only power White people in the West and their Jews, respect. The power to inflict violence.

Implicitly, we’re assuming that the Resistance Axis has planned for these war scenarios. That multiple fronts shall be opened – in Lebanon with Hezbollah. In Syria, though currently on its knees and occupied by the stinking Americans, that its territory will be allowed to be used by the resistance cadres there. Even as Syria seeks the recapture of Golan.

That Ansarulla in Yemen will play a leading role notwithstanding the Saudi-American war against it for 8 years now.

We expect resistance forces in Iraq to enter the battle. To play the role they did in booting out the American sponsored terrorist group like Isis et al.

That the larger regional heavyweight, the Islamic Republic of Iran, would see this, disregarding the empty threats by a supine American regime, as a prime opportunity to destroy this Zionist devil once and for all.

The Hamas-led Gaza resistance forces were courageous in invading the enemy, capturing hundreds of its soldiers and civilians, equalizing the body count numbers, even as they continue to take the fight inside the Jewish regime controlled lands.

This has never happened before. For until Hezbollah defeated the settler-colony in 2000 and then again in 2006 it was largely accepted that that these racists were impregnable.

Since then, and before, the Iranian led Axis has defeated them in proxy wars about 6 times. The Americans and their Zionists outpost.

Even now the state itself, by their own admission, faces an existential crisis, should it be subjected to a 3 or 4 front war.

And this must be imposed on them. If not now, when?

We urge the Resistance to ignore the UN for they have long proved to be merely satraps of the United States, the devil!

19. Burn Babylon 🔥 Avatar
    Burn Babylon 🔥

Continuing to paint the picture using broad brush strokes for art and craft referring back to the parable of apartheid, segregation and white supremacy racism and the infamy of enablers and perpetrators, I would like to say that there one was a freedom fighter who was called Nelson Madiba who supported the Palestine Liberation Organization as they supported him and that’s all I have to say before I play my song..

It’s a long, long, long, long, long..
    It’s a long time, I man a burn up the collie weed.
    But it seems the Babylon them them them..
    Come fight ‘gainst I.
    Them a fight ‘gainst I.
    I wanna know.. the reason why.

Babylon fight ‘gainst Natty Dread;
    Babylon no fight ‘gainst the rum head;
    Babylon no fight ‘gainst the wine head;
    Only a, Natty Dreadlocks.
    Say Natty Dread up ina Babylon,
    Natty dread all over Rome.
    Dread in a Babylon,
    Dread weh de wicked gwan.
    Babylon come..
    Come see I a burn up a likkle iley.

(..)

Babylon falling..
    Babylon fall!
    The wicked one drop.
    Wicked one shall feel, the fire of..
    Babylon dread, say Babylon dread.
    Fire can burn, burn Babylon..
    Burn Babylon:
    It ago dread weh deh Babylon.
    Natty Dread up in a Babylon,
    Natty Dread all over Rome.
    Oh, he no want, in a Babylon, no..
    Place call African land,
    That’s the place where we wanna go.
    Way up in a African-can-can..
    That’s the place where my forefathers were,
    That’s the place where we wanna go you know, oh.
    Natty Dread, dreader than dread,
    Dreader than dread, blood Babylon..

20. If reports from the Kremlin are confirmed, this will be an auspicious moment in the history of man.

Reports that the Russians have signaled that if foreign forces enter the Palestinian war against the preferred Western colonial outpost that they too shall enter.

Russia already has several air bases in Syria and has been so far, even while indispensable in helping Syria to defeat the Western supported terrorists, ISiS and Daesh, has been constraining the willingness of the Syrian Arab Republic to attack the Zionist state for its many, many, many attacks against Syria under the rubric of Iranians building military installations, precision weapons manufacture capacities, in Syria.

The Resistance Forces within West Asia do not have the air power and a sufficiency of air defenses to destroy the dated war planes of the Zionists and their chief sponsor. And many war planes will be on the aircraft carrier best sent to the region.

But Russia is at least two generations ahead in war plane manufacture. And maybe more in air defense systems. Iran is not far behind. And has bought fifth generation jets from Russia, yet to be delivered.

These forces – The Resistance and Russia – were causal in defeating the Western hybrid war projects all over the region and particularly in Syria, since 2011.

All this while the USA is said to be sending an aircraft carrier to the Mediterranean. Of course, this holds no fears for the Resistance for it will be sunk instantly, with an Iranian hypersonic missile. Immediately!.

Like Hezbollah did to an Israeli state of the art frigate in their victory over Israel in 2006.

This announcement will certainly tilt the correlation of forces to the side of the Ressistance, Hamas. For Israel will not be able to put any of their American jets within the war theatre. And their ground forces are as weak as a spider’s web coming up against Hezbollah, Islamic Jihad, Iran, Syria, Ansurralah and Hamas.

This will be a complex decision for Russia. For there are many Russian Jews living in the Zionist state. The primary reason why Syria was previously muscled Russia, the former USSR, was pivotal in setting up this Zionist regime in the first place.

However, in the war with Ukraine, Bebe Netanyahu has sent many weapons to Ukraine to the sagrin of Putin, and has taken other unfriendly actions against Russia. It has seemingly decided that obeisance to the West was more within its regime’s interests. Russia has also acted similarly in the case of South Korea by inordinately increasing its relationships with North Korea’s, president Un.

Should these reports be confirmed. This decision of Russia will represent another fatal blow to the West.

Kiki

Thanks!

That Russia would have won this war in Ukraine was never unclear to those who understand these issues. Only the neocons in the West and a majoritarian but highly propagandized mass still presumes that a country which has not won a war in a hundred years, bar Grenada, could win any type of war against the nearly ‘almighty’ Russians. LOL

21. BTW

This military operation, initially into to the Zionist regime, by Hamas et al, shall long be the subject of study in military colleges everywhere. Such has never happened before.

22. Pachamama on October 10, 2023 at 2:46 PM said:

BTW

This military operation, initially into to the Zionist regime, by Hamas et al, shall long be the subject of study in military colleges everywhere. Such has never happened before.

These military operations have been practiced against the Jews from time immemorial all over the world and have been studied for generations.

They are also more recently known as pogroms.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pogrom

“First recorded in English in 1882, the Russian word pogróm (погро́м, pronounced [pɐˈɡrom]) is derived from the common prefix po- (по-) and the verb gromít’ (громи́ть, [ɡrɐˈmʲitʲ]) meaning ‘to destroy, wreak havoc, demolish violently’. The noun pogrom, which has a relatively short history, is used in English and many other languages as a loanword, possibly borrowed from Yiddish (where the word takes the form פאָגראָם).[13] Its modern widespread circulation began with the antisemitic violence in the Russian Empire in 1881–1883.[14]”

“The first recorded anti-Jewish riots took place in Alexandria in the year 38 CE, followed by the more known riot of 66 CE. Other notable events took place in Europe during the Middle Ages. Jewish communities were targeted in 1189-90 in England, during the Crusades and especially during the Black Death of 1348–1350, including in Toulon, Erfurt, Basel, Aragon, Flanders[16][17] and Strasbourg.[18] Some 510 Jewish communities were destroyed during this period,[19] extending further to the Brussels massacre of 1370. On Holy Saturday of 1389, a pogrom began in Prague that led to the burning of the Jewish quarter, the killing of many Jews, and the suicide of many Jews trapped in the main synagogue; the number of dead was estimated at 400–500 men, women and children.[20] Attacks against Jews also took place in Barcelona and other Catalan cities during the massacre of 1391.

The brutal murders of Jews and Poles occurred during the Khmelnytsky Uprising of 1648–1657 in present-day Ukraine.[21] Modern historians give estimates of the scale of the murders by Khmelnytsky’s Cossacks ranging between 40,000 and 100,000 men, women and children,[b][c] or perhaps many more.[d]

The outbreak of violence against Jews (Hep-Hep riots) occurred at the beginning of the 19th century in reaction to Jewish emancipation in the German Confederation.[22]”

23. I see the date, 2 years ago.

How I read it is that if the war is about firing rockets into Israel, Israel will never get it to end so long as there a single Hamas terrorist standing.

This time it is different.

Hamas has effectively legitimized its extinction, something which the IDF can do.

The question is as Israel pursues the extinction of Hamas as Isis was extinguished, will the war spread?

Iran seems to be the root of the evil so it will need to be dealt with as well.

Hear Lindsay Graham.

24. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ni6stxODJAE

Escalation is on the cards!!

25. It is a different war, different tactics, different strategic objectives.

26. How can ‘shit hole’ countries command the same attention as Israel and Ukraine?

#hypocrisy

27. David
    on October 10, 2023 at 4:41 PM said:

How can ‘shit hole’ countries command the same attention as Israel and Ukraine?

#hypocrisy

Ukraine is huge and is the bread basket of the world. Fantastic mineral reserves.

Apart from its relation with God and the Bible, Israel is strategically located,

… and it’s getting up to time.

28. This is also good for seeing the strategic value of Israel.

29. Of course you would have that opinion, you are not Black. On the surface that is.

30. Apart from the US and much of Canada, what other country do you know of which is referred to as the breadbasket of the world?

Well, there are a couple of other countries.

https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/the-breadbaskets-of-the-world.html

Brazil is one but I don’t think anyone has referred to it as a shithole country.

“Brazilian society is made up of a confluence of people of Indigenous, Portuguese, and African descent. Other major significant groups include Italians, Spaniards, Germans, Lebanese, and Japanese.”

Apart from Israel, what other country can be said to be at the crossroads of international trade from ancient times?

… apart of course from Barbados!!

… at least in the days of sailing ships.

The Atlantic Gyre and the Trade winds ensured any commerce from Europe to America with its huge market meant trade had to pass through here because of its geographic location.

Has nothing to do with black and white except so far as the importance of a country is clearly related to its geographic location, its market and the food it produces.

BTW

I have a soft spot for Jews, some of my ancestors are buried in the Synagogue in Bridgetown.

31. @ John,
    The article confirms that Israel will never find peace and security unless it recognises Palestinians and their rights to ownership of the land of their ancestors. The Zionists will never admit that they are squatters. The whole world recognises the historical injustices committed against their Palestinian brothers and sisters. We weep also for the loss of life of the Zionists.

Israel, as a state, can only survive if it’s continually backed by the USA.

On a local point. I hope Barbadians will see the folly of M.I.A.’s desire to see Barbados become more multicultural. This foolish woman would like to see an increase in our country’s population by an additional 80,000.

Who would believe that a homogenised black state with a history of slavery could open its doors to a bunch of racist whites, Arabs, Jews and the rest of those negro haters. The poor black Bajan, like his Palestinian counterpart would, quickly, lose possession of their land. This is what Mia’s lenders would like her to do.

Some would argue that we are already at this state in our development.

32. @ John,
    Errol Barrow, had a soft spot for Jews. He claimed that he had part Jewish ancestry; and was reported to have stated to Golda Meir that his high level of intelligence was due to his Jewish ancestry. Lest we forgot, this was supposed to have been the father figure of our independence.

33. What does having a soft spot for Jews have to do with the matter being discussed?

34. TLSN on October 10, 2023 at 6:40 PM said:

@ John,
    The article confirms that Israel will never find peace and security unless it recognises Palestinians and their rights to ownership of the land of their ancestors.

What land?

All you have to do is read the Bible and you will realise things are only going to get worser for Israel, and the Church, you don’t need an article.

Here is some minutiae.

The Palestinians represent 2% of the Arab World and Hamas is a faction/fraction of Palestinians. It is a political party with a terrorist wing.

Hamas does not have the resources to fight Israel on its own.

It needs support from Iran.

“Hamas has been the de facto ruler in the Gaza Strip since 2007, after defeating President Mahmoud Abbas’ long dominant Fatah party in parliamentary elections.” Arafat died in 2004.

Hamas then pushed Fatah out of Gaza when the latter refused to recognise the result of the vote.

The Fatah Party was Yasir Arafat’s baby, founded in 1959.

Here are their differences:

HAMAS VS FATAH
    Ideology:
    Hamas – Islamist
    Fatah – Secular
    Strategy towards Israel:
    Hamas – Armed resistance
    Fatah – Negotiations
    Objectives:
    Hamas – Does not recognise Israel, but accepts a Palestinian state on 1967 borders
    Fatah – Recognises Israel, wants to build a state on 1967 borders

35. David
    on October 10, 2023 at 6:54 PM said:

What does having a soft spot for Jews have to do with the matter being discussed?

You asked a question about Israel, I answered it.

36. The VERY simple lesson in history is that almost without exception, when people who lay claims to having THEMSELVES been mistreated in their past – are handed the keys of power, they – with a singular exception- have responded with even MORE wicked aggression against their now hapless victims.
    These Israelis claim unprecedented victimization in the holocaust -when they claim that millions were slaughtered by the Nazis after being starved in labour camps.

Now, after being handed the lands of Palestine by the powers-that-be, and armed to the teeth by the American racist… surprise of surprises, THEY are outdoing the Nazis in their incarnation and slaughter of the Palestinians – whose lands they have taken, and who they have for decades now, treated worse than wild animals.

Unfortunately for them, Karma is the ultimate bitch… and they will soon reap all that they have sown – in the fullness of time – which is at hand.

…them and their military enablers….

On the other hand…
    It takes a special people, with God’s inbuilt consciousness, to be able to endure GENERATIONS of slavery, degradation, racism, mental bondage … and then to turn the other cheek to their aggressors, and to fight for what is JUST, FAIR, HONEST and RIGHT, to love their enemy.

…if only such brass bowls KNEW the POWER of their heritage…..

37. This is a bit of history from the early part of the 20th century.

You will see the Palestinian problem has been a manufactured one by rich Arab countries.

38. This might help too.

39. 15 Samuel said to Saul, “I am the one the Lord sent to anoint you king over his people Israel; so listen now to the message from the Lord.

2 This is what the Lord Almighty says: ‘I will punish the Amalekites for what they did to Israel when they waylaid them as they came up from Egypt.

3 Now go, attack the Amalekites and totally destroy all that belongs to them. Do not spare them; put to death men and women, children and infants, cattle and sheep, camels and donkeys.’”

Saul did not obey God’s instructions, he did not put all to death as instructed.

Who were the Amalekites in the Bible?

In Exodus, the Amalekites were said to have attacked the Israelite tribe as they escaped from Egypt. Even though Israel defeated the Amalekites, a divine curse was placed upon the descendants of Amalek. The Bible presents the Amalekites as living in the Negev area, now in modern Israel.

If God is talking to Bibi it is not going to be nice in Gaza.

40. Look at the similarities in the clips of the military indoctrination of the Palestinian Youth and the far more organized, Hitler Youth.

41. The Israelis and Americans were looking for an excuse to completely annihilate the Palestinians or drive them out of the Gaza Strip. Hamas’ actions provided them with that excuse.

42. For the blogmaster’s life time which covers the period this dispute has been raging between Israel and Palestine. the insensitive manner we discuss the slaughter of men, women and children in the name of ideology, religion and politics is primitive to say the least. It is clear what it says about our ability to manage our affairs. It is not just a Barbados problem.

43. ” Now go, attack the Amalekites and totally destroy all that belongs to them. Do not spare them; put to death men and women, children and infants, cattle and sheep, camels and donkeys.”

This why some have difficulty with the Christian religion. A God that demands the death of women children and animals. With such a clear command, one cannot rule out the possibility of rape.

Using any yardstick, this is a call for barbaric and wicked behavior.

Over to GP

44. The question is asked what must a shithole country do to attract attention.

Well, most of the attention given should be avoided.

And the attention which is implicitly yearned for is exploitative. Has the IMF, as a function of the US Defence Department, not given too much attention already?

And then there’s not much left.

Maybe an internal reframing of this question beggars consideration.

A reframing uninformed by all currently seen as lived reality.

Separately.

We see a parade of Western leaders extolling the alleged rights of the Zionist entity to defend itself.

Even as that criminal entity collectively punishes Palestinians. Kills civilians.

Bombs mosques; neighbourhood; blockades water, food, medicines, electricity; bombs electrical installation; bombs water distribution systems; bombs sewerage systems; bombs hospitals and more.

Then the Zionist occupation blockades Gaza, Palestinians, in open prisons for decades. And asshole like Biden and Sunak have no answer to these gross violations.

They are agents for empire!

All of these are war crimes according to the Geneva Convention; the Nuremberg legal precedents; International Law, UN Conventions.

In response to the Indian boy Sunak and his ilk who interminably repeat these lies in defence of the Zionists but in the case of Ukraine they argue the very opposite, that an occupier has no rights only responsibilities.

Yes, its true that an occupier has no rights at all, no right to self defence. Indeed, international law empowers the Palestinians to take ALL means necessary to free their lands.

Israel has no right to self defence. And will have no right to self defence as long as it occupies Palestinian lands. The Palestinians currently labouring in refugee camps in Lebanon, in Jordan, in Syria, in Gaza, since 1948. Most still symbolically carrying keys to their homes.

However, it has the obligations not to commit the genocidal actions mentioned above. To these we can add the imposition of starvation as a collective punishment.

45. Israel has cut power to Gaza. More suffering for the innocent. All this carnage with the support the power elite of the world led by the USA and UK.

46. Broken Contract Avatar

British Palestine was given to the Jews after World War II sequel, with the view that it would cause strife in Middle East territories like South Africa.
    USA and UK arm Israel to the max, but the drones used by them in Iraq and Afghanistan are now carrying bombs in reverse direction that flood the iron dome system to failure.

47. TheOGazerts on October 11, 2023 at 8:09 AM said:

” Now go, attack the Amalekites and totally destroy all that belongs to them. Do not spare them; put to death men and women, children and infants, cattle and sheep, camels and donkeys.”

This why some have difficulty with the Christian religion. A God that demands the death of women children and animals. With such a clear command, one cannot rule out the possibility of rape.

Using any yardstick, this is a call for barbaric and wicked behavior.

Over to GP

Grasshopper

Christianity did not exist at that time of Saul and David. Jesus is a descendant of David.

Abrahamic, Christian and Muslim faiths have a common origin and common holy places. Each understands what offends God.

The worst or depending on your belief the best is yet to come.

What God ordered for the Amalekites at the time of David is nothing compared to what the Bible says will happen to unbelievers at the Judgment.

God hates sin but loves mankind.

That’s why He has provided a way out for believers.

John 3:16
    King James Version
    16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

Hear also the words of Jesus, the only begotten Son of God, when you hear of the decapitation of the 40 babies. Keep these words in mind when you watch what comes to pass in Gaza.

Matthew 18:6 – But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.

Luke 17:2 – It were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and he cast into the sea, than that he should offend one of these little ones.

Mark 9:42 – And whosoever shall offend one of these little ones that believe in me, it is better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and he were cast into the sea.

The fate the Arabs had in mind for Israel since it was formed, that is to push them into the sea, looks likely to happen to Hamas.

This is not going to come out good for Hamas and there is not a thing a soul can do.

It is in God’s hands.