The blogmaster couldn’t avoid the noise generated in the local newsfeed covering the return of former member of parliament Donville Inniss. Inniss was incarcerated in the United States for breaking money laundering laws and suffered the embarrassment of being deported last weekend.
Inniss served his time and is free to continue with his endeavours in idyllic Barbados, UNLESS, local authorities intend to prosecute a matter that originated in Barbados. There is a good chance local authorities will allow the Inniss matter to die in the spirit of a few protecting the many which is the mantra of the political directorate.
The blogmaster will not judge the Don except to say many are not as convinced of his innocence as he is.. It would be in the interest of local authorities to give Donville his day in a local court so that he can expose the lies of the ‘pale face people and house niggas’ he referred to in his home coming media orchestrating.
Barbadians should keep in memory that another local, Alex Tasker has an extradition matter pending – if successful – has the potential to shed additional light on the matter as it relates to how local actors assisted in the crime Inniss was convicted in the USA. The fight against extradition by Alex Tasker a former local employee of ICBL and Ingrid Innes former CEO domiciled in Canada have the potential to keep Inniss in the unfavourable glare of the public for some time.
Commonsense suggests the political ambition of Donville Inniss has been extinguished. However, the blogmaster joins with concerned Barbadians to fuss against the inability of the political establishment to materially commit to rooting white collar corruption. Do not bother to refer to Barbados’s standing on the Transparency Index, a measure based on a perception shaped by players who are mainly responsible for the current state of affair.
On a related note the blogmaster read about the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) meeting advertised, a joint zonal meeting today (26 March 2023) with former candidates Michael Lashley, David Estwick and Neil Marshall promoted to speak. Sometimes so much more can be conveyed by simply making and observation without commenting.
In God we trust!
I looked at some of those companies and seem to remember reading in one or two that the purpose seemed iffy.
I remember thinking what gold does Barbados have?
It is the names in the ICIJ database that will give pause for reflection.
Bush Tea, I am aware of what you ‘said’…… and even Court cases of some ‘career criminals’ during which they either successfully or unsuccessfully defended themselves. They’ve also offered legal advice to other inmates. However, that is irrelevant. My comments were influenced by a particular discussion, the ‘historical context’ of which you purposely ignored, to pounce upon them, ‘Bushie style-lee, a-lee, a-lee.’
But, Bush Tea, after all, you done know I ‘have a propensity to talk runny shiite.’ Perhaps if I decide to peruse ‘The Guardian’ or ‘Ajazeera’ to juxtapose corruption in other countries to any occurrences in Barbados, may change your perspective.
Morning Artax
You are a person of immense influence.
Bushie just wants to ensure that you are not inadvertently giving comfort to legal donkeys by any suggestions of intellectual exclusivity for this warped profession, that appears to be devoid of ANY professional ethics.
..and BTW, influential or not, you DO have an inclination to spew ‘soft shaving cream’ from time to time, usually in your efforts to reinforce minor points of fact…
Bushie is a big picture BB, so all such minutiae is relative jobby
@David, we can all agree with the professor that Donville’s triumphant return “provides a useful platform for examining the relationship between political culture and institutional and democratic development in our Caribbean” but what amazes me are some of his reasonings.
These are no “hints to our political culture which have been revealed by Donville’s hero’s welcome”. Absolutely not.
HINTS … that mindset has been in FULL bloom for most of the last 20 years or more: the paramountcy of the party; the cult of personality and the blasé attitude towards corrupt acts!
Politics is as much about ‘popularity’ as it is about displaying an ability to lead and represent the views of your constituents thus the notoriety of a prison sentence (in certain situations like this one) can propel a candidate just as much as it may topple him!
I would also note that corruption has been repeatedly desensitized by often perplexing rulings from courts (particularly in US: see case Gov McDonnell of Virginia) and lax legislation… so Inniss may have a ‘moral’ duty to step back based on his conviction but if constituents still consider him as suitable despite his flaws then who are we to disparage him that honor.
And If that’s all the DLP can do to salvage themselves then woe betides them, not so!
@Dee Word
How do you respond to a view that an ambivalent reception by some of Donville’s homecoming has more to do with a weak DLP and current leadership?
In a simple sense yes that true re “a view that an ambivalent reception by some of Donville’s homecoming has more to do with a weak DLP and current leadership” but isn’t it also a truism of political life here in the Caribbean and in fact also other places!
Looka, there can be no question that the DLP is rudderless (two 0-30 shellackings would send any political party adrift)! But what we saw with Inniss has been displayed throughout the years when scandal scarred politicians were resoundingly acclaimed by their constituents and also when a depleted party reverted to badly bruised popular personalities to be a savior!
So I find no reason to get overly excited or overworked by Donville’s reception … after all, the man was considered to be of PM timbre by some.
Moreover, every Bajan knows of the corrupt, scandal plagued nature of our politics … I mean hasn’t our PM herself been allegedly one-step removed from sexual assault charges on at least two occasions; wasn’t she dismissed from a ministerial appointment allegedly based on serious ‘conflict of corruption’ charges.
So let’s be serious and see Inniss’s reception in the simple human terms in which it unfolded and stop reading too much about his re-embrace to the Dem leadership.
Based on what that party has wrought thus far, if they elect a convicted ‘money launderer’ to be in a leadership role in their party then it says a lot about what they think of the man and that they believe they can WIN a government with him at the helm.
The remarkably strange thing is it’s quite possible that could actually happen…. I personally wouldn’t bet on it tho!
@Dee Word
Inniss was considered PM timbre by who?
Can you name 5 other politicians in Barbados or the region who suffered incarceration to receive wide acclaim to support your argument?
Now, now @David I very carefully said “… scandal scarred politicians were resoundingly acclaimed by their constituents”.
There are very few instances of convicted persons being acclaimed but take a trip out west to our friends in Belize for a most recent one.
My point was summarily clearly made, however: 1) don’t over hype a simple populist reaction and 2) many pols have had great scandal and have found redemption. (A chapter and verse outta TnT or Jam or Guyana and notably Antigua can be done if u are truly that keen).
And re his PM timbre … well ‘cuse me but I certainly was of that view that he had a fan base which touted him as a spoiler in DLP leadership sweepstakes.
If you are saying to me that had he not be catspraddelled as he was that he would not have been in the DLP leadership mix then surely I am ill formed 🙏🏿😎.
@Dee Word
Then the context of your comment should reference politicians who were incarcerated. Focus!
I do try brother @David, to focus … 😎🤦…. so you do realize that the current leader of the Belize opposition Mr Barrow served almost 10 years in jail, right!
Is that enough “focus” for you. Off the top of my head I can’t recall many others although there is a nagging thought that Basdeo Panday also was incarcerated at one point but that was likely only for some public activism or union matter … so that doesn’t count as a conviction, fah sure!
Anyhow the brother in Belize was in jail for ‘serious’ matters even if he was just being a ‘stand up’ guy for his star-boy … so for all intents and purposes Inniss could very well do a ‘Barrow’!🤣🤦♂️
“However, if the institutional framework represents the skeleton on which hangs the body politic, then the political culture is the soul itself.”
:: ::
“They are not ushered in by political commentators who conveniently hide behind the legal fact that “he did not break any laws in Barbados” and is not debarred from re-entering political life.”
The institutional framework was passed down by corrupt Slavemasters who committed the biggest crime to humanity and were morally bankrupt in all they did
to say Donville didn’t break any laws is like saying Slavery wasn’t illegal
With or without “laws” people’s asses can still be busted on tort for the damage done. There is no place in politics for the bum. Fuck him.
Boss, you really re-posted that shiite by Mounsey doh?
When these lazy newspeople badly need something to print they pick up the phone and call Petra – who is the single person most-in-crisis in brassbados…
Every damn body and their cousins know that the DLP is in crisis.
AS is the BLP…
and the church,
and business,
and the people…
and the mediocre press,
but most of all is the Frenchie wife Petra.
BUT…
What are the SOLUTIONS…? …is what we need to hear..
Waste of space article….
@Bush Tea
Unsure in a country with scores of political commentators traditional media is driven to seek out political comments from the same talking heads.
But even that would be OK …if the particular ‘talking head’ was known to be usually correct, ..or had a history of personal success, ..or was at least ‘normal’, .. and hence reflective of the general brass bowl society..
BUT….
none of the above…..????!!
Shiite!!
The criterion seems to be that this talking head is in urgent need of relevance….
WTH!!
I was not invited.
If shady smug Donville truly believes that he was merely employing loopholes as there were ways around lobbying transparency rules required by MPs to disclose hospitality, he should refer himself to the parliamentary standards commissioner to investigate his conduct, so he can clear up his name … as he is being investigated already anyway he has fuck all to lose
“Can you name 5 other politicians in Barbados or the region who suffered incarceration to receive wide acclaim to support your argument?”
To paraphrase the MTG loon some of the best leaders like Nelson Mandela and Jesus have been arrested like the Don
MTG loon on April 7, 2023 at 1:50 PM said:
To paraphrase the MTG loon some of the best leaders like Nelson Mandela and Jesus have been arrested like the Don
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
What is the difference between Donville and Nelson Mandela and Jesus?
Donville was a Member of Parliament and not a leader.
Nelson Mandela became a leader after he was imprisoned.
They also made him a martyr just like they are making Trump!!.
Jesus was always a leader, before he was imprisoned and tried and after he was executed.
Donville is yet to become a leader. or a martyr and doesn’t rate in that company.
BTW, both Hitler and Stalin were at one time imprisoned, before they were leaders.
Both became leaders, among the worst in human history.
Trump was one of the best leaders in history before he was arrested.
Martyrdom is all that is left for him to achieve and the half wit Democrats are hell bent on making him one.
MTG is pretty perceptive!!
https://twitter.com/therecount/status/1643270948714426370
Your posting ‘news’ in the middle of a multipage thread, as a comment extension, only guarantees it gets lost?
Of the 3, Tasker has the best chance of avoiding prosecution. He was not a decision maker.
@NO
Updating a relevant blog to satisfy search engine requests.
Source: Barbados Today
Clearly Tasker needs a ‘medical intervention’.
Saw him recently and he seemed to be challenged for sure.
Seems the lawyers finally got II to back off social media and clean her accounts.
How many lavish restaurant meals with fine wine do you need to show to prove your medical infirmity?
Anyway I’m sure if the DOJ cares, they can hire a tail.
Former Insurance Executive Alex Tasker In Police Custody
https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2023/08/01/former-insurance-executive-alex-tasker-in-police-custody/
Jack Warner
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/jack-extradition-case-on-hold/article_f0997a54-148e-11ee-a24c-bff7d49d7687.html
What about Ingrid Innes ?
Please send your question to Trudeau and advise.
Hants
Read May 4 post
Unable to be heard on medical grounds.
She will get the requisite doctors letters indefinitely. Called the fine art of delay.
But remember, in Canada, extradition requires Ministerial approval. With the new justice Minister, she has the best chance yet, of it being denied should she be found eligible for extradition.