The following is shared from caribbeansignal.com on the issue of a controversial survey sponsored by the Ministry of Education – Blogmaster

October 6, 2022 by Amit Uttamchandani

Code.org responds to questions around controversial test in Barbados

Code.org logo, Source: Wikipedia

On October 5th, Barbados Today published an article about a controversial computer science test held in Barbados. 

The original article, and subsequent Oct 6 articles mentioned Code.org, the Ministry of Education, Technological & Vocational Training, and the Inter-American Development Bank, (see herehere and here). I contacted Code.org on October 5 and asked the following questions:

Code.org questions from Amit
Screenshot of Questions sent on Oct 5, 2022 (click to enlarge).

Today (Oct 6), I received the following reply from Code.org:

Code.org responses from Amit.
Screenshot of Code.org Reply received Oct 6, 2022 (click to enlarge).

As per BT’s initial Oct 5 and 6th articles, and Code.org’s Oct 6th reply to my queries (and the IDB’s Oct 6th statement and apology, and The Ministry’s response and apology), it seems – to me at least – that Code.org was not involved.

Posted by caribbeansignal.com

Controversial Survey as under:

627 responses to “Parents in Barbados Query Strange Test, Sex Test, Science Test”

1. Someone at Ministry of Education should be FIRED along with Minister responsible for EDUCATION.

2. Spot on. Someone needs to be held accountable.

I don’t care how much we depend on financing from IDB the person(s) who allowed this to happen needs to go.

3. The pre-test contained close to 300 questions and lasted for two hours.

first form students

However, parents complained to Barbados TODAY that their children were quizzed on their sexuality, gender identity, substance use and abuse as well as personal information about their parents.

4. @Wily

The process failed at several points. What about at the school? Did principals and teachers view the papers at any point? Was there an opportunity to stop the process at last mile?Yes we have to hold actors in the process accountable but we also must know more? IADB – the sponsor – has apologized for not removing the offensive questions. The MoE must accept blame for not ensuring the survey was fit for the purpose. From what was shared there were many legit questions on the questionnaire unrelated to contentious issues raised.

5. Our government has a legitimate interest in knowing everything about our citizens. Only then the government can take care of the needy masses.

Of course, villa owners and residents of gated communities do not have to answer these questions. After all, they are not on the taxpayer’s pocket, unlike the 95% majority.

6. @David et, for the Principals not to have kicked a fuss about this silly intrusive sick sick questionnaire says a lot.

It says to me the greatest threat to our democracy is not external forces but the contemptous silence of of many Bajans on issue of impprtance, similar to the principals in this instance

7. @Kammie

As principal how were contractors given permission to be unsupervised by school management? So many questions. So many points in the process we see failure.

8. The silence of the Minister of Education has been deafening, over the past few weeks she can’t seem to escape the glare of TV lights on every subject relating to students, when it isn’t nutrition, it is exercise or something.

Now she seems to be strangely AWOL on this subject waiting for the storm to blow over now that the excreta has hit the fan,

Hey Kay, the buck stops where?

9. @Sargeant

From the feedback at tonight’s meeting the Chief Education Officer advised a report will be submitted to the MoE to advise on the matter. It is an attempt to firewall the Minister.

10. David
    What you wanna bet that the pushy MoE ‘instructed’ that the test be allowed …and (as usual) everyone stepped back and waited for the inevitable contact with the fan?
    …and now is the period where ‘pride comes before the fall….’

What a place!!!

Lotta haughty womens prancing up and down the place with a bunch of shiite men in tow……

How the Hell did Isaiah 2 get the details SO RIGHT..??!!

BTW
    When wunna go around taking people’s money, …..does it EVER cross wunna minds that there is a reason the lenders does be smiling when wunna tek de money….?

Steupsss
    The people just getting the children ready for what is in store for their donkeys….
    ….all thanks to our champion borrowers…..

11. But wait, like the PM don’t listen to Lorenzo. He always pun here talking bout local people, doze who lives pun de island.
    Next ting yuh know, Mia gone and hand picked somebody from away who doan live bout hey. Wha dey even had changes bout Senators and how long dey live in de land, just to help she and Tom’s son.
    Listen to Lorenzo, and leave de overseas crew right where dem is.

12. This is part of the LBGTQ+ anti life agenda being pushed into school systems in so called 1st world countries like USA, UK in particular and Europe (Russia excluded). They use organisations like IADB, WHO, WEF to push their agenda world Wide. Leaders must be aware of geopolitical moves, if they are to be effective at protecting their people.

13. Ministry to destroy results
    Stories by Maria Bradshaw
    mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

The Ministry of Education issued an apology yesterday afternoon, two days after parents and members of the public flogged them over a controversial survey which was administered to secondary school first-formers as part of a computer science project organised and administered by the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB).
    In a video recorded statement, Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw said the survey answers would now be destroyed and that the ministry was taking responsibility for the debacle which saw 11-year-old children being exposed to personal questions about their sexuality, their mental state and their lifestyle which were deemed invasive, intrusive and inappropriate by their parents.
    “The Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training unreservedly accepts that in the final analysis, it must take responsibility for the unfortunate exposure of some of our secondary schoolchildren to questions that offended them, their parents, and other stakeholders in our education system.
    “Notwithstanding the fact that the Inter-American Development Bank, which administered the survey, has already apologised for its failure to honour a prior commitment to the ministry to remove the offending questions before placing them before the children, the ministry now tenders its own apology,” the senior civil servant said.
    While admitting that the ministry had dropped the ball in vetting the final survey and that they were not aware that the offending questions had still appeared until parents complained about it in the media, Archer-Bradshaw assured that there would be no further use of the survey “without our explicit and complete scrutiny”.
    She, along with other ministry officials including Idamay Denny, who is in charge of education reform, Deputy Chief Education Officer, Joy Adamson; Education Officer responsible for Coding Ethics, Troy Belgrave; Permament Secretary, Betty Alleyne-Headley as well as Sabine Rieble-Auburay, a representative from the IDB, met with parents on a Zoom meeting and offered their “heartfelt apology” to the parents once more.
    Archer- Bradshaw also told parents that she was in possession of the survey documents from two schools and would receive the remainder this morning.
    “All further administration of the survey would be halted,” she stated, adding that the documents would be shredded at the Ministry of Education.
    “The questions, survey, tests have been returned. I have made contact with the IDB representative and I have asked them to return all of the scripts that have been completed to date. I have from two schools and I was assured that I would get the others by tomorrow morning.”
    However, upset parents reiterated their concern about the “mental harm” which was done to their children and expressed discomfort and mistrust with the ministry’s proposal to destroy the documents. Several of them asked that the documents be handed back to the students so that the parents could ensure that they were indeed destroyed.
    A parent also charged that the apology was not enough and asked the ministry what further responsibility did they have in respect of any child who may be going through trauma after being subjected to the survey.
    While pointing out that there was no computer trace of the survey answers, Archer-Bradshaw gave the parents an undertaking that before destroying the documents the ministry would consider their request to hand them over to the
    children so that the parents could destroy them.
    In addition she stated that the ministry would provide any assistance which was needed for any of the students who undertook the survey.
    The IDB’s representative also assured the parents that there were no copies of the survey instrument and regarding a request that the parents receive a written undertaken from the organisation that the survey would not be used, Rieble-Auburay promised to look into the possibility of this.
    “We have not copied or duplicated the information written on the instrument. The survey was done on paper; there are no electronic records of any data, nothing was copied or duplicated in any way, she stated.”

14. SAMPLE OF QUESTIONS
    SOME OF THE QUESTIONS asked of the first-formers:
    Are you sad? Do you have a good relationship with parents? Who do you live with? Parents’ job? Do you purposely try to harm yourself? Can you rely on your friends? Do you feel lonely? Do you think about sex a lot? Do you see things no one else can see? Hear
    things others can hear?
    Can you sit still? Do you think of killing yourself? Do you do illegal drugs? Do you drink alcohol without your parents knowing? Are you kind to others? Do you depend on your parents a lot? Are you close to your immediate family? Do you express love to your family?

15. Barbados third country involved
    Barbados is the third Caribbean country which the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) has administered its controversial code computer science project to school children.
    Sabine Rieble-Auburay, a social development specialist with the IDB, told upset parents yesterday during an online meeting with the Ministry of Education that the project was also administered in Jamaica and Belize. She did not say which other countries were involved in the project.
    The IDB has apologised for including several sensitive and intrusive questions on the survey which was administered to first formers at three secondary schools so far even though the Ministry of Education vetted the survey and asked that the questions be removed.
    Rieble-Auburay told the parents during a Zoom meeting that the questions were standard questions administered to 11 and
    17 years-old students to provide a “realistic view of the child”.
    Asked by parents why the questions were still included after the Ministry asked for them to be removed, she stated: “The additional set of questions, the child behavioural check list, was unfortunately left in the questionnaire but it is a standard instrument to measure positive youth development and the tool is internationally given in 11 to 18-year-olds. It is measured to give a more holistic approach to evaluate programmes.”
    “In this case we expect that if a child masters computer science successfully this would translate to higher self-esteem, higher selfefficacy or higher positive aspect of an individual that we cannot see if we apply computer science as a computational test. This is why these battery of questions are needed, to provide a more realistic view of the child.”
    Rieble-Auburay further explained that the questions would then be analysed in groupings to form concepts
    like happiness or unhappiness.
    “This was the intent, to go beyond computer science skills because research has shown mastering computer science translates into a number of positive results… with the checklist we intended to measure this holistic approach,” she noted.
    Code.org she stated provided the technical knowledge and material on computer science.
    “They were only responsible for providing all materials relating to teaching computer science. The IDB is responsible for the evaluation for the code computer science project and assumes full responsibility for delivering and administering of the survey. We want to apologise for the inclusion of the questions of the child behaviour list that caused so much distress.” Meanwhile Pat Yongpradit the Chief Academic Officer of Code.org, in a clear-the-air statement to Weekend Nation, said that they did not create, formulate or sanction the pretest questions neither did they provide personnel to supervise the examinations.
    “ Code.org has not seen and does not have access to any of the pretest results or data. The pretest was designed, formulated and administered by the IDB, which is also responsible for the overall management of the “Code Caribbean” programme in Barbados,” he stated.
    He explained that the IDB contacted Code.org in July 2020 “to request that we support them with the creation of a regional
    report to assess the landscape of computer science education. Code.org worked with seven consultants from Barbados, Bahamas, Belize, Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, and Suriname, to understand what existing STEM/ IT curriculum was available, infrastructure capacity for broadband internet, private sector engagement in computer science, tertiary education capacity for computer science, amongst other variables”.
    “As a result of this research, Code.org was contacted again in July 2021 to support the IDB in running a teacher training programme in two selected countries: Belize and Barbados. Thus far in the project, Code.org has only been responsible
    for working directly with teachers and ‘coaches’ to equip them with the tools necessary to teach the Code.org curriculum.” Yongpradit further stated: “The IDB and the Ministry of Education oversee the operations, logistics, and evaluation of the project. All of this work is being done in close coordination with the Ministry of Education of Barbados . . . . Code.org was taken by complete surprise when we saw reporting that Code.org was involved in the formulation and administering of the baseline survey at issue . . . .”
    Meanwhile, Archer-Bradshaw explained to the parents yesterday that the Ministry met with the IDB last year and the coding programme focussed on first formers.

16. The questions asked will make Barbados Gay is the worry

Cumba Cumba
    Bedroom

17. @Bush Tea

There is a reasonable case to be made that the political directorate was aware of the plan to do the survey. Where it gets murky is if the MoE gave instructions to remove the offensive questions why was there no verification that it was done given the nature of the questions that should have been removed knowing the target audience. You would have to blame the administrators at the ministry. The other concern is why independent contractors were left to their devices in the classroom while the ‘test’ was being administered. Why did the management at the schools not push back given their first responsibility for the children away from home.

18. Sorry wrong tune
    here is the correct one

19. You do not ask a child if they hear voices or see things that others cannot see unless you are the parent of that child or or unless you are a trained mental health professional. Mental illness is quite common. Hearing and seeing things that others cannot see or hear is very likely a sign of incipient mental illness and such questions and the therapy required to help the child should only be asked by the parent a trained mental health professional.

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

You can move ONE THOUSAND TIMES they are ALL STILL LYING…

Cuddear…that was not the only reason for that question….they knew exactly what they were asking…

.sorry, can’t expand on that on here.

21. Americans say that superior next generation Chinese IT Technology will be used for spying and they should know as they have inside information about internet spying.

I say people should piss on their computers as I have inside information on Hi-Tek

22. Nowadays data gathered is sold to third parties
    When you give your personal details for insurance, or send your CV for a job, one main purpose is to gather information to sell on.

23. If my 11 year old child was hearing and seeing things others could not hear or see, I definitely would not tell ANY official of the IABD, the school or ANY official in the Ministry of Education. Such people unlike mental health professions are not sworn to respect doctor/patient confidentially, and almost certainly somebody would tell a friend or relative, who would tell another friend or relative and next thing you know the child’s business would be all over the place, which would very likely increase the child’s distress. However I would take my child to a psychiatrist, and would follow the instructions of that mental health professional who unlike development officials and unlike education officials actually understands how to treat mental illness.

Officials must really understand when they are operating outside the boundaries of their professional training.

24. Wily still would like to know WHY IDB is involved in such an initiative and exactly who in the IDB organization AUTHORISED THIS AND WHAT WAS THE OBJECTIVE. It would appear that IDB has overstepped their mandate.

25. @Tron October 6, 2022 9:17 PM “Our government has a legitimate interest in knowing everything about our citizens.”

Sometimes Tron, citizens no matter how needy have to say to their government

“KISS MY ASS”

The fact that the l’il children found the questions to be so offensive that they told their parents is a lesson to local and international officials that you power is limited.

The children told on the big shot officials. Lol!!!

The officials have learn a valuable lesson.

You cannot silence everybody or as we say in Barbados “”I doan pay taxes for my mouth”

I still have a mouth and I can still speak even if I live in a house and shed with in pipe in the back.

26. @Tron October 6, 2022 9:17 PM “Of course, villa owners and residents of gated communities.”

Some of whom mad as hell too, some of whom regularly get drunk, some of whom take drugs, some of whom in spite of their wealth unhappy as anything, some of whom marry for money, some of whom stay n abusive marriages because the money “sweet”

You forget that some of we work in wunna homes, and know the real-real truth.

Idiot.

Stupssseee!!!

27. A Blast From The Past
    This may ring a bell for the old time Buers circa May 2009
    The number 666, then, represents what is anti-god and antichrist, all that is in opposition to the one true God.
    Let him that hath understanding count the number of the beast: for it is the number of a man; and his number is six hundred and sixty-six.” Revelation 13:18 states that if one is wise and has an understanding to count the number of the beast, which is also the number of a man, the number comes to 666.

28. @David October 6, 2022 9:29 PM “As principal how were contractors given permission to be unsupervised by school management? So many questions. So many points in the process we see failure.”

Dear David: Barbados is still very much a post-slavery society. Enslaved people are afraid not to OBEY because the threat of severe punishment up to and including death has been present in Barbados since 1627. We have not yet got over the fear that somebody more powerful than we are will punish us, even if not by death, then by failure to promote, and failure of job loss. Don’t we have 2 teachers right now facing job loss because of some colonial era law against running for political office. So the principals were giver ORDERS by the Ministry of Education and the principals obeyed. The Ministry is claiming that the IADB was asked to remove the questions but did not do so. Why didn’t one of our highly paid officials in the Ministry of Education not ensure that the IADB had complied.

Questions for wunna:

Are our officials afraid of the IADB?

Are the IADB officials perceived as being so rich, so white, so powerful, so much like massa of old that they must be obeyed?

29. IDB President was FIRED Sept 26, 2022 by the board. Latest OECD review of the organization dated 2013 was very critical of IDB functions and their ability to monitor and track the effectiveness within the organization. Report was an extensive list of deficiencies. The report stated that the objectives and effectiveness of the organization could not be varified. Maybe this type of survey conducted by IDB is just the latest example of an organization out of control.

30. @Simple Simon

There is merit in much of your comment. Barbadians have earned the title passive aggressives. The serious economic state the country finds itself creates a defensive position when dealing with international financial institutions. We have made our beds …

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and they are LYING….they are not going to destroy that information, they got it already and it’s TOO USEFUL, so why should they destroy that when it can go to the HIGHEST BIDDER…

Parents have NO CHOICE but to PROTECT themselves and their children AT ALL COST….

this is a WAR…

32. Why was the IADB ASKED to remove the questions?

Why wasn’t the IADB ORDERED to remove the questions?

Are we Bajans afraid to ORDER rich. white powerful people?

33. @Wily

Why are you blaming Iadb? Unless you are if the view the survey was a conditionality of loan agreement signed on to? In that case why have they withdrawn the survey? It is interesting from the reports the survey was administered in Jamaica and Belize.

34. The Iadb was asked to remove the questions, the explanation is that they didn’t and there was not quality check by the MoE to verify.

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The fact that the l’il children found the questions to be so offensive that they told their parents is a lesson to local and international officials that you power is limited.

The children told on the big shot officials. Lol!!!”

children are much more PERCEPTIVE than adults, their minds are PURE and CLEAN….UNCORRUPTED until stinking adults lure them into corruption and dirty sex dealings….

these children RIGHTLY SENSED THAT THEY ARE IN EXTREME DANGER….and NEW they must say something….that’s the POWER OF SURVIVAL….

it is our duty to HELP and PROTECT THEM AT ALL COST..

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

One parent said “she CRIED”when she saw some of the questions asked of her child..

37. You should be concerned that the test was given to 11 year old children.

Also read page 5 of BarbadosToday.

38. YOU COME ON BU ON MORNINGS FOR YOUR MORNING MIRTH—AND IT NEVER DISSAPOINTS
    TODAY THE MORONS ARE ENGAGING IN A TOPIC WHICH IS MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING IN THE CONTEXT OF WHAT IS ACCEPTED BY OUR MASTERS FROM ABROAD, AND THE ABBERENT BEHAVIOUR OF OUR LEADER AND CLOSE ASSOCIATES

FOR THE LAST TWO YEARS OR SO THERE WAS A PLANNED-DEMIC. AND THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS AND ITS PEOPLE AND THE MORONS ON BU, ACCEPTED NOVEL PLANS AND THERAPEUTIC MEASURES WHOLSALE TO COMBAT A “VIRUS” THAT WAS HANDED TO THEM, HAVING BEEN CONCOCTED BY A DIABOLICAL DASTARDLY DEVIL SO CALLED DOCTOR, WITHOUT QUESTION OR RESISTANCE, THAT HAS NOW BEEN PROVEN TO BE ERRONEUS.

THE IDIOT IS NOW CONFESSING THAT HE MADE SERIOUS MISTAKES, BUT HE GROSSED 5 MILLION AS HE CAUSED THE LIVES OF MANY IN HIS NATION AND ELSEWHERE, AS BY STEALTH AND GREED AND USE OF THE MSM, HE OVERRULED THE WISDOM OF SOUND SINCERE SYSTEMATIC SOLID PHYSICIANS WHO PROCEDED BY THE BOOK—AS PROPER PHYSICIANS DO.

WE LIVE IN A WORLD WHERE GENESIS 1:27 IS NO LONGER BELIEVED, AND IT IS NOW THE NORM IN THE USA, TO SEEK TO CONVINCE LITTLE BOYS THAT THEY ARE GIRLS, AND LITTLE GIRLS THAT THEY ARE BOYS, EVEN THOUGH IT IS WELL KNOWN THAT THIS IS DETERMINED WHEN ORGANOGENESIS BEGINS AT WEEK FOUR AFTER CONCEPTION.

WE LIVE IN A COUNTRY WHERE WICKERS AND WICKEES ABOUND, AS WELL AS BULLERS AND BULLEE ARE PREVALENT,AND WHERE ALL SUCH BULLIES SEEM TO BE IN CONTROL,AND NOW WE CRY OUT IN ALARM, ABOUT THE ADMINISTRATION OF A SILLY TEST.

WHAT CAN YOU DO ABOUT IT?
    WHAT WILL YOU DO ABOUT IT? EXCEPT BULLSHIT?

IS IT NOT TRUE THAT WE LIVE IN THE PERIOD OF THE LAST DAYS OF THE LAST DAYS?
    IS IT NOT TRUE THAT JOHN TOLD US 2000 YEARS AGO THAT THE SPIRIT OF ANTICHRIST WAS EVEN THEN ALREADY PRESENT?
    IS IT NOT TRUE THAT THE KOSMOS IS CONTROLLED BY HE WHO IS CALLED “”THE GOD OF THIS AGE”?
    IS THIS NOT THE PERIOD OF TIME WHEN ANTIOCHINE PERSONAGES WHO PREFIGURE THE ANTICHRIST (WHO IS PREDICTED TO BE A BULLER) WILL DOMINATE THE WORLD?

IT SEEMS THAT WHAT IS PREDICTED IS COMING TO PASS, AND THIS IS OCCURING IN VARIOUS ABERRENT WAYS.
    SO WHAT IS ALL THE FUSS ABOUT?
    WUNNAH MORONS CAN TALK HEY TILL THE COWS COME HOME, BUT WUNNAH CAN NOT DO ONE TING BOUT WUH HAPPENING —–BUT TALK.

SOTALK. CUSS ME AS WUNNAH LOVE TO DO. OR TEK DUNG DIS POST
    BUT WHAT IS TO IS WILL IS…UH LIE?

LET US NOW HAVE A FEW NONSENSICAL UNRELATED MUSIC VIDEOS AND LET US HAVE SOME TALK ABOUT OUR AFRICAN HERITAGE, AND HOW ARE SLAVE MASTERS ON THE ISLAND ARE IN CONTROL……WHEN IT IS VERY OBVIOUS THAT DIRECTIVES CONTINUE TO ARRIVE FROM ABROAD AND ARE IMPLEMENTED, WITHOUT PROPER PRIOR PERUSAL, AS IN THIS CASE, AND IN THE PLANNED-DEMIC DIRECTIVES

LET US HAVE SOME MORE MOCK SPORT IN THE BU RUM SHOP

39. @Geoffrey Jones October 7, 2022 4:33 AM “This is part of the LBGTQ+ anti life agenda”

Honestly Geoff I have nothing against a MAN marrying a MAN, or a WOMAN marrying a WOMAN. I would rather a gay man marry another gay man that have that gay man marry my daughter and make her life miserable because he does not like woman, and greatly deprives her of a generous quantity and quality of doggie. And the same for my son, I do not want a gay woman marrying my son, because then she si likely to deprive him of a generous quantity and quality of puzzy and this will surely lead to conflict. So if a woman knows that she is gay i beg her please to find a woman to marry to and let my son find a woman who likes man. Wunna agree?

But please leave the children alone. Our 11 year olds have mostly NOT YET REACHED puberty, so why does some foreign organization want to be up in their mostly non-existent sex lives?

And tobesides if an 11 year old has a sex life that CHILD is being sexually abused or RAPED.

Did the IADB and/or the Ministry of Education have plans in place to secure the prosecution of the rapists?

And if not why not?

40. @Simple Simon

There is a quote unquote inclusion agenda sweeping the world. Unfortunately we have not been managing our domestic affairs very well to adequately isolate from same. We will be reaping the consequences for sone time to come.

41. Chill Factor Remix
    Breathing slow and deep helps reduce Cortisol levels
    People are against US Culture taking over the world as it is too fast
    Barbadians lost their minds ages ago and don’t need yanks analysis
    Tell yanks to fuck off

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFNZ9bGo6ZI

42. “Not our test says Code.org”

Page 5 Barbados Today

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Hants…ya noticed all the rats jumped ship and left IDB in the glare…

..the RATS are VERY DANGEROUS…

44. From ” google ”

“Coding is the method of giving a computer instructions to perform a specific task. You may also hear coding referred to as software programming or computer programming.

These instructions are communicated using a language that computers can understand, like visual blocks,”

45. William Skinner Avatar

We are trying to now blame principals , teachers and by the end of a week , we would probably blame parents , the children and the entire country.
    These are the simple facts:
    The Minister of Education as a member of the cabinet of Barbados, should not have allowed any survey to be carried out on the citizens of Barbados without reviewing what was being asked. In this case the MOE/government is to blame.
    The Chief Education Officer , as the one entrusted by the government to manage/ supervise the delivery of education to our citizens, should not have allowed a survey to be carried out in our schools without reviewing and knowing exactly what was on the survey and should not have allowed a foreign entity to be in our schools without the direct involvement of the staff of the schools .
    Both the minister and the chief education officer failed to ensure that the offensive questions were removed.
    Such a blatant misstep on their part shows a profound carelessness and they should be removed from office immediately since they have clearly demonstrated their utter incompetence in a matter involving the children of our country.
    In simple language : they should have both ensured that the offensive questions never reached those class rooms. Asking for something to be done puts the emphasis on the MOE and the CEO to make sure it was done.
    We pay them to protect our children on the school plant. We don’t pay the IADB.
    Peace

46. William your comment is predictable, you never change. The blogmaster was clear, the process failed, from top to bottom. If the blogmaster was a principal somebody would have to give a good explanation WHY 11 year olds should have been left unsupervised with contractors to conduct a questionnaires designed by an external agency. In fact, many parents put teachers and administrators under the pump last night at a meeting held with the chief education officer and others. You may have the last word.

47. @All

The blogmaster is not a brownnoser.

48. GP October 7, 2022 7:53 AM

Dr. GP

I AGREE with your entire contribution 100%.

My initial thoughts about the issue was that the questionnaire placed a particular emphasis on gender identity.
    Hence, the reason why I gave the example of the mother protesting against the school’s refusal of identifying her son as female.

However, after further analysis of the issue, I’ll admit some of the questions were indeed inappropriate for children.

But, you know the usual suspects will try their best to blow this matter way out of proportion, while regurgitating unsubstantiated comments they read on other social media platforms, to simply give us the impression they have MORE information on the issue than the average BU contributor.
    One “BU fowl,” as he likes to describe others, ‘said,’ the survey “may have been an attempt to create a platform for child sexual exploitation.”
    It is for those reasons, I refer to the psychological problem of ‘confirmation bias,’ which is characteristic of someone readily accepting information that is consistent with his/her existing beliefs or particular agenda.

I also read a contribution by a member of the ‘League,’ in which he made a definitive statement that those individuals “always explicitly exposed the malicious nature of those groups who have rendered black Barbadians as third-class citizens.”
    I found the comments to be amusing for the simple reason those persons he referred to, have NEVER CONDUCTED an INDEPENDENT INVESTIGATION of any issue, preferring instead to capitalize on the ‘work put in’ by other individuals or source ‘second hand’ information from other social media sites, and dishonestly post it to BU as though it’s their ‘news scoop,’…… in other words, the ‘story’ originated with them.
    But, that individual purposely or conveniently ignored the fact those persons have CONSISTENTLY MISINTERPRETED simple correspondence and PRESENTED MISLEADING information to this forum.
    The RECENT report to claimants from the Trustee of Harlequin Boutique Hotel Limited, is among several perfect examples.

49. @William Skinner October 7, 2022 8:38 AM “by the end of a week , we would probably blame parents , the children and the entire country.”

No need to wait for the end of the week.

Yesterday on Brass Tacks, some idiotic woman, very likely a partisan yard fowl was blaming the parents for not being good parents, not talking to their children enough.

So my 11 year old goes to school on Monday and is told to report to room X for a computer science test. The 11 year old believing that the school officials are truly acting like good parents/in loco parentis goes to the room and does the test. Tell me in God’s name how that gets to be the fault of the parent?

Some of our adults are idiots.

And the effing yard fowls of all parties are the biggest idiots of all.

Unfortunately some of them are in positions of authority.