This week Barbados will the host of a global fintech conference called Fintech Islands from October 5 to 7 welcoming 300 delegates from across the world and attracting sponsorship from prominent global players like Visa, MasterCard and Delta Capital Group. The government must be given credit for being the enabler by placing emphasis on the emerging fintech sector.  Some of the initiatives the Mottley government has spearheaded include:

• Rollout of the Regulatory sandbox in late 2019 which BU commenters will recall generated raucous discussion. 

The government has also moved quickly towards digitisation by executing the IDB Public Sector Digitisation Project which is being rolled out across all ministries at the back end, at the “front end” the rolling of the new National ID card which will have an accompanying optional Digital ID. The government must however do a better job communicating with the public about the New National ID card.   

A government’s job is to create the environment, legislative and otherwise to encourage private sector to drive economic activity. There is consensus our over-reliance on fickle tourism as a SIDs makes the economy more vulnerable to exogenous shocks. The 2007 global financial meltdown and recent experience arising from the pandemic is a sorry reminder. In 2016 late Prime Minister warned of the need for policymakers to introduce radical measures to add new earning sectors to the economy, instead the Central Bank was repurposed to be government’s ATM and as they say the rest is history after incurring 23 downgrades.

We live in a world that has transformed to digital cum services era, building new sectors to drive economic activity is not only about building physical factories. Rolling out fit for purpose regulation and other initiatives to improve business facilitation is the new alternative.

Barbados has built a reputation as an offshore financial hub, however, since the mid 2000s as Arthur mentioned in the above video, Barbados lost a lot of business to Cayman and has never fully recovered. It was one of the problems which plagued the Stuart government and as Arthur pointed out – from 2016 the country lost $259 million in foreign exchange and tax revenue which the then government sought to replace by imposing heavy domestic taxes on a shrinking economy and taxbase.  

One of the things the Mottley government seems to be trying to do is to reconfigure the business sector from which Barbados can offer modern services to replace the old tax haven model. The OECD has shown they have no problem shifting the rules of engagement ‘during the game’. It must be helpful that Barbados also added to its brand in the fintech space by being first to market with the Barbados Welcome Stamp program which allowed high net worth professionals many from the fintech world to work remotely during the pandemic.  

Quietly the Ghanaian fintech company Zeepay has setup in Barbados with plans to launch in Guyana next. Some have been asking are we there yet? This is a rhetorical question.

186 responses to “Barbados’ Fintech Push”

1. From BT
    “the IDB admitted that even though the Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training objected to certain questions being included on the test, the test was still disseminated to students in its original format.”
    Sources close to the situation told Barbados TODAY an apology was demanded by Minister of Education Kay McConney this evening during a meeting with officials from the IDB at the ministry’s Constitution Road headquarters.”

“The source said an initial apology in which the IDB sought to explain its reasons for including the controversial questions was rejected by the ministry.”

Forget apology. Demand that all copies of the responses in all format be destroyed. As long as they are allowed to keep and analyze the data an apology means nothing. Refusing one apology and accepting another is a sign of weakness (here)

This story is worthy of its own blog. Are we beholden to the IADB?

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They know the fake apology don’t mean shit, the agenda is still in place and ready to launch…..the only thing that can stop it is a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT for violating these children and their parents international human rights…

no long talk..

begging borrowers…after TIEFING BILLIONS of Afrikan people’s tax, vat, and pension money ….are BEHOLDEN TO EVERYONE…

3. Let’s not make this a BDLP thing. This is a national issue.

If strangers can walk into our schools and ask/do what the hell they want to do, then what use is the teachers/Ministry of Education.

A whole island with just two balls and they are on a woman.

4. This story is worthy of its own blog. Are we beholden to the IADB?

xxxxXXXXXXXXXXXX

WHEN ALL YOU DO IS TRAVEL, COMPLAIN, BEG, BORROW AND SIPHON OFF WHAT DO YOU THINK IS THE ANSWER.

WHETHER IT BE IADB, CCB, CHINA IMF ETC THE 2X3 ISLAND CONTINUES TO BURY ITSELF IN FILTH STARTING FROM AT THE TOP.

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Begging borrowers…..FRAUDS…

“Amongst her other pertinent questions that she wishes to hear or see answered speedily, Savoury-Gittens asked where were the permission slips for guardians before the survey was given? Why was the Ministry not privy to seeing the final copy with the questions removed as requested before it was administered? Why call it a test and not a survey? Will students be disadvantaged according to the responses? Will the data collected be used still? Is the data being sold internationally? Will nothing happen to the IDB? Is this story going to blow over in a few days and nothing is done? Is this data collection part of the exchange between government and the IDB for the $40 million loan for education?”

6. Just went to listen to Brasstacks.
    Glad that I did.
    Bajans are on the ball.
    Faith in my countrymen has been partially restored.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo…the island’s people are very capable…they just have to STAY STRONG…and STAND THEIR GROUND against criminals and their political minions, imps, pimps and fowls…who drive FEAR as a weapon….THAT IS HOW THEY STAY IN CONTROL…through fear..

ya int see the fowls are always trying to push it on here, but i would WRING THEIR SCRAWNY NECKS FOR THEM and feed them to my pitbull..

8. Watching a next chat and the topic got hijacked. Now discussing the shuttle Challenger O-rings. At least there is no mention of Trump, Putin Ukraine, big deckie and posts written whilst hallucinating

9. The data has been collected analyzes and conclusions from the sample size known. Deletions will solve nothing. It is too late. What remains to be solve is a strong message the covert and surreptitious way the survey was administered will not be repeated by asking those responsible to be held accountable. We must know it is not our culture to expect follow through. The blogmaster however is hopeful.

10. These are good questions
    where were the permission slips for guardians before the survey was given?

Why was the Ministry not privy to seeing the final copy with the questions removed as requested before it was administered?

Why call it a test and not a survey?

Will students be disadvantaged according to the responses?

Will the data collected be used still?

Over to you Min Ed. Here are the next steps

10-15 question need to be answered. The survey must be made public
    The responses trashed/permanently erased
    Apologies made to parents by IDB and Min Ed.
    Announce how this will be prevented from happening in the future.

Anything less is a joke. Our children are not for sale.

11. Does anybody believe an independent agency would have been allowed to visit schools to conduct a survey and the top people at the ministry of education be unaware?

12. If you cannot protect children sitting in a classroom, how are you going to protect citizens in a ‘Fintech’ world.
    GTFOH.

13. Psychometric Testing
    A psychometric test is an assessment designed to measure cognitive ability, personality or work behaviour, to indicate the potential of a job candidate
    Questions are answered, speed, logic and personal bias are factors for consideration
    Those who get stuck on questions they find offensive will not be given the job

14. If you cannot protect children sitting in a classroom, how are you going to protect citizens in a ‘Fintech’ world.
    GTFOH.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

WELL OBSERVED.

FINTECH ALL SMOKE AND MIRRORS.

LAWYERS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND WHO ARE KNOWN AS CROOKS, BEING INCOMPETENT WILL NOW BE ABLE OVERNIGHT TO DRAFT FINTECH LEGISLATION IN CAHOOTS WITH WHO MARK MALONE, ALIBABA AND THE NEXT 40 THIEVES.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“how are you going to protect citizens in a ‘Fintech’ world.
    GTFOH.”

these have no clue, only interested in how they look and sound, all they do is talk slick, tell nuf, nufff lies, feed fowls froth and wash, rinse, repeat.

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo……that’s exactly what it was meant to do.

“Savoury-Gittens said that for the six hours daily that students are in the care of the MOE at school, parents want to know their children’s best interests are at heart. They wish to know that no harm will befall their child. They wish to know their children will not be traumatised. She said, “supposed this was a food programme and it contained poison, how could ‘Sorry’ be enough?” She said these questions about sexuality, gender identity, depression, self-harm and even suicide could have poisoned children’s minds and attitudes and have lasting repercussions depending on their personalities.”

17. Calentura
    Cuban fever or sexual arousal.

Fintech Jobs
    is primarily training people to implement configure and use financial software packages
    or sales and authorised dealership of financial packages to businesses

18. HOW HAS KNOWN CONSULTANTS LIKE CLIVE MASCOLL AND BAG MAN AVANISH PERSAUD HELPED THE GOVERNMENT IN ABOUT 4 YEARS.

THIS FINTECH LEGISLATION IS ONE BIG LAUGHING JOKE FOR 2022 AND BEYOND.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

man dey famous enuff…every platform got their number…

be careful what ya wish for……ya getting it..

and we already know that 40 million the begging borrowers got was NOT MEANT TO RECONNECT these children to their Afrikan ancestry, history, education, languages, culture,. traditions etc…NOTHING PROGRESSIVE…

at least three years ago, .they were WARNED TO LET THE PEOPLE GO….but they are still holding on to commit their generational crimes…

20. Politicians and Government have Personal Assistants, Teams of Staff, Consultants, Spokespeople, Campaign Managers and plethora of others who do their work

21. Baje
    What has any of them done for Bim in the last 4 years? You don’t have to look very far to come up with nothing. We are on the brink in this country and everything that has a nice ring and a bit of shine attracting these folks like magpies.

22. “The data has been collected analyzed and conclusions from the sample size known.”

Truly, I thought this was a ‘breaking’ story. But even if the test was done on Monday, a thorough analysis and a sound report should take a few working days.

23. “Truly, I thought this was a ‘breaking’ story. But even if the test was done on Monday, a thorough analysis and a sound report should take a few working days.”

results are automated

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Were i supporters i would be ashamed, but that may be asking for too much..

look what they voted for….

the good news….the PEOPLE GOT THIS…

watch dem nuh!!!

25. The chasers are at it again. The St.Lawrence Gap spaghetti fell quickly as all before and once again they were left empty handed.

26. @enuff
    I was late to this story, but it seems as if you still back there at St Lawrence Gap. You are even more behind than I am.

What a strange thing, the man who is last claiming to be leading the pack.

27. Are the masses truly shocked by some questions

or are they making political hay again as they do

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

wait…wunna still running around trying to put the St. Lawrence Gap fire……you really think the people won’t do something about yall AND THAT…..just hold on and WATCH…

now ya got a full on BLAZING INFERNO…that ya can’t get put out, that ya can;t run out and cover up with yet another lying press conference…

i would much prefer not be wunna at this time..

..wuh look how the tables COULD UP AND TURN….MURDAHHH!!!

and somehow, given certain narratives ah doan tink it will stop turning anytime soon…

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

yall can let ya local copycat FRAUDS lure into this FAKE BULLSHIT……a new world order of OLD FRAUD..

mama and papa was around before these newbies came on our earth..

birthing parent COME HERE….goddamn QUACKS…

haven’t seen TLSN lately but am sure he is taking it in.

“Use ‘birthing parent’ not mum and dad, inclusivity guide tells councils
    India McTaggart – 9h ago
    312 Comments
    Councils have been ordered to stop referring to “mum and dad” or the “homeless” in a new “inclusive” language guide branded as “woke and patronising”.

© Provided by The Telegraph
    The Inclusive Language Guide, published by the Local Government Association (LGA) on Wednesday, tells councils to “avoid” using the phrases ladies and gentlemen, expat, deprived neighbourhoods, second generation, lifestyle choice or economic migrant.

Instead, the LGA encourages the use of “positive language” such as birthing parent, same-sex relationship/family, partners, non-UK nationals and people experiencing disadvantage or poverty.

The 18-page document contains 12 principles for councils to follow, which The Telegraph understands are not binding, that include “respecting people from marginalised and minoritised backgrounds” and recognising that “intention does not always align with impact”.

Mark Lloyd CBE, the chief executive of the LGA, emailed the new rules to all councils in England and Wales, but not everyone received it well.”

30. But surely generating a good report will take some time.

When is de Ministry of Ed holding de press conference. We need an apology

31. The issue is not about generating the report, it is about the data has already been captured in sone database and preliminary conclusions made.

——

MINISTRY APOLOGIZES

https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2022/10/06/ministry-of-education-apologizes-for-controversial-survey-meets-with-parents/

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo…”a parent confirms “test” was administered late last term..”.

“what is the END GAME of the IDB and MOE?”

it’s being called “comprehensive sexuality education.”…that has NOTHING WHATSOEVER to do with a test for computer science….

tek dah……..cahn cover it up…a lot of you want DRAGGING off the island in handcuffs…

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Ex-Government Minister Donville Inniss has lost an appeal to overturn a U.S. conviction for laundering bribes connected to insurance contracts through a New York business.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit on Wednesday rejected arguments from Inniss, against his 2020 conviction on three money-laundering-related counts for moving bribe money through the bank account of his friend’s dental business.”

this one don’t know when to stop…..he is soon going on parole, keep quiet and pay for what ya did……ok…..NEXT grand jury indictment…..don’t stop now…

“The Foreign Corrupt Practices Act, which criminalizes foreign bribery, doesn’t permit prosecutors to charge foreign officials, but in recent years the U.S. Justice Department has used money-laundering laws to target corrupt foreign officials who move their money through the U.S.

Inniss is incarcerated in a prison outside Detroit and scheduled to be released in January, according to Federal Bureau of Prisons records. (WSJ)”

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

time to TAKE A STAND AS REAL MEN AND WOMEN..

however, some president of the principal’s association or whatever is still in SLAVE MODE…and accepting shit…since it was the principal’s of the 3 schools job to ALERT THE PARENTS and tell them to ASSERT THEIR RIGHTS…not allow them to walk into a trap unknowingly..

i won’t trust another principal who did not…..traitors……

“The Inter-American Development Bank’s (IDB) apology for its controversial survey administered to schoolchildren will not be enough to satisfy the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT).

President of the BUT Rudy Lovell said that it’s not for the IDB to issue a statement on the matter but the Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training.

The survey, part of the Code Caribbean project was administered by a United States-based organisation code.org which promotes the learning of computer science in schools. It was given to first formers on Monday at three secondary schools, which parents said contained inappropriate and invasive questions. It asked questions such as: Do you think about sex a lot? Do you purposely try to harm yourself? Do you think about killing yourself? and Do you do drugs?

Lovell is of the view that “IDB is not responsible for education in Barbados, so essentially that apology would not suffice.”

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

well…the TOTAL agenda is also EXPOSED…

don’t know why i always feel, not disappointed, cause ya know who and what ya dealing with…but more like better can be done, but DELIBERATELY NOT..

i have ABSOLUTELY NO RESPECT for a government that would allow anything remotely DESTRUCTIVE to visit the island’s Afrikan children and their parents……in exchange for millions of dollars when they had the opportunity over the DECADES to better utilize the AFRIKAN POPULATION’S BILLIONS for the people and not for themselves and their corrupt friends……….but evabody used EVERY OPPORTUNITY TO TIEF IT………while knowing that said politicians reside PERMANENTLY in Beggar’s Alley…

now yall will NEVER GET AWAY with ANYTHING AGAIN…and EVERYONE except ya fowls, pimps, imps and slaves will make absolutely sure of that….so tell ya masters ya give up….because people WILL NOT…

36. Baje
    What has any of them done for Bim in the last 4 years? You don’t have to look very far to come up with nothing. We are on the brink in this country and everything that has a nice ring and a bit of shine attracting these folks like magpies.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I AM NOT ONE OF THE ONES DRINKING THE JIM JONES KOOLAID OR A BLIND TRUMP FOLLOWER LIKE THE MANY WHO DO SO ON THE 2 X3 ISLAND AS IF BEHAVING THEY DONT HAVE THE BRAIN CAPACITY TO THINK FOR THEMSELVES THROUGH ALL THE SMOKE AND MIRRORS.

37. Meanwhile children at 6 and 7 are being taught things we’re traumatised about teaching our 11yr olds. Mind you, we can’t hold a match to those countries.

38. “Archer-Bradshaw admits that her ministry dropped the ball in vetting the final survey ”

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/10/06/ministry-education-apologies/

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Hants…don’t mind that shite….the AGENDA IS STILL IN PLACE….they are just trying to placate the parents….but NOTHING CHANGES….

they already SOLD OUT…

it’s the parents who now have to make sure their children do not fall prey to the agenda…these stinking politicians already signed away the people’s rights…and must keep up their end of the bargain…..

but the parents DO NOT HAVE TO ACCEPT ANYTHING….

there is evidence circulating everywhere that cannot be refuted.

40. I think the response of the Min Of Ed was the correct one. It is regaining my trust.

The Min of Ed needs also to promise (1) that if data are collected from children, they will be anonymized in the created database.
    (2) teachers are masters of the classroom. You can bring in people to ‘supervise’ an event but a teacher is always present, is the boss, and must review any material that will be given to the children.

Remember: If it can’t happen there it can’t happen here.

–x–
    Because data are in a database does not mean it has to stay there forever. Files can be deleted.

41. When it comes to children our leaders must lead and protect. Playing catch-up and apologizing must be the last resort.

It is clear that Min of Ed dropped the ball here. Not only must policy be revamped but a head must roll.

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and as long as i have to do more work than i normally have every day…….i gine make wunna SHITE…cause all of this could have been avoided.

43. @enuff
    You doa good imitation of a bot.
    Spout some random phrase and disappear
    –x–
    If the sky fell it would cover the earth.

44. ” haven’t seen TLSN lately but am sure he is taking it in.”

I have been busy. Travelling and doing a lot of driving. I had noticed a few days ago that you had mentioned some unravelling scandal: which would turn out to be a disturbing survey linked to the Inter-American Development Banks. Rather foolishly, I dismissed it, prompted by certain BU commentators who have dismissed you as a liar. I was unduly influenced by their cynical natures.

May, I express my dismay and horror at this truly shocking story which I would describe as a form of grooming. It is plain that this survey was nefarious and may have been an attempt to create a platform for child sexual exploitation in Barbados That our government had knowledge of this survey and did nothing to prevent it, is inconceivable.

There are a few simple lessons that we can learn from this scandal. Firstly, beware of foreigners bearing gifts, they are trojan horses on a mission to systematically destroy the futures of Barbados majority black population. Secondly, our government is an active agent in its unbridled enthusiasm to decimate its own black majority population. Thirdly, the black majority population has to recognise that they all share a common enemy: their government. And fourthly, Waru has always explicitly exposed the malicious nature of those groups who have rendered black Barbadians as third-class citizens. When will the doubting Thomas’s on BU take a breather.

Beware the trojan horse:

https://www.aljazeera.com/economy/2022/10/6/india-probes-deaths-in-gambia-linked-to-indian-made-cough-syrup

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo….bottomline, don’t get tIed up, they NEVER EXPECTED to get caught and exposed…they got away with this last term because neither the children or parents understood the DANGEROUS SITUATION….these clowns placed them in until now……

.and of course with all the evil shite these generational sellouts got away with in the last 100 years they thought this term would be SMOOTH SAILING….with a nice breeze, not the Cat 5 now bearing down on their judas backsides…

.they are only sorry they got CAUGHT…

they got nuff to be sorry for and better get USED TO IT…

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

what am glad to see is that ALL OF THESE FRAUDS and LIARS on here boasted that they voted for this government…..always defending them and cussing us too…………now everyone knows WHAT THEY VOTED FOR……and as i have said multiple times on here…..NONE OF THEM CAN BE TRUSTED…

they too are the enemies of Afrikan people.

47. It must be difficult supporting GoRoB and watching everything that they touch turn into a disaster.

Why does this happen?

If you look carefully, you will see that every initiative (good or bad) is part of a scam. They start badly and so it ends badly.

What is disgusting is the GoRoB will prey on everyone. You think that kids would be protected, but GoRoB is willing to sell them out to a high bidder.

Now we must sit and figure out what scam is attached to any loan, gift or initiative by GoRoB.

(Insert conspiracy theory here)
    May the Good Lord help us if there is one high level crook on the IMF staff.

Amusingly, all apologists are almost silent. There is one brave fellow who utters some rubbish and then disappear. When Lorenzo becomes the chief defender you know they are in trouble.