Submitted by Steven Kaszab

Wheat prices have tumbled from its peak when Russia had invaded the Ukraine, but one of the worlds most consumed items remains in short supply and that the global hunger crisis still remains. Much like oil, steel and beef, wheat shifts its price and availability in response to many complex factors such as geopolitics and the weather. Declining prices of wheat creates a challenge to our economies, one where low prices of wheat may not incentivise farmers to plant more wheat, thereby creating more scarcity of this product and its many off take products. A lower price for wheat does not deal with the ever increasing cost of energy, which affects the cost of running farm equipment, transportation and even the manufacturing  of needed fertilisers.  Hot, dry weather is also crimping the farmers style of crop growth. Our global economy is facing a potential situation where food prices could spiral out of control. 

Russia and the Ukraine account for 1/4 of global wheat exports. That is what war has affected. A man made crisis that may go into the long term. Adding global drought episodes and we are facing a combination of scarcity, corporate profiteering and ultimately food price gouging like not seen before. Wheat prices are at a level seen before the year began.  @ $7.75 per bushel jumped to over $13.00 right after Russia invaded Ukraine. The price stayed in double digit’s through this June and then began to fall to a $8.00 a bushel level. Winter Wheat stocks also brought the price down and a deal between Russia, Ukraine and the United Nations has allowed some wheat to ship to international markets. 

The cost of wheat and many other foods have been affected by the war between Russia and Ukraine, but the real factors that will affect the price of bread, cereal and other items will be climate change, the price of fuel and fertiliser.  Climate change is making crop growth highly unpredictable. Lack of rain, drought level micro climates and over harvesting of single crop items are limiting what can be grown and harvested each year. In Canada temperatures soared to record highs, making three fourths of the country’s 2021 agricultural land  abnormally dry. Canada’s wheat crop dropped to nearly 40% from 2020 to 2021, causing its exports to Latin America to decline by over three million tons.  Also, in 2020 wheat was about 30% cheaper then it is now. 

Because Russian fertiliser is so important to the global farm trade, it avoided international sanctions. Although high prices hurt countries that import wheat, low prices might dissuade farmers from planting extra crops this year. Over the past decade the number of farms closing production has increased. Family farms are becoming less and less, while corporate farms of thousands of acres specialise in the most profitable of crops, often no those crops that feed the nation. 

Like the stock exchange, food prices are on the move up and down, making money for some, and costing money for others. Whether the costs are artificially kept high, or there really is no controlling our food stuffs costs, the end consumer is in for a roller coaster ride, and their pocket books need to look out.

183 responses to “A ‘Glocal’ Food Crisis”

1. Artax,

That last is a good point by Prescod and worthy of debate and policy consideration.

2. @ Artax

Your point on the use of land and access to land is a good point.

The largest land owner being Government is where we should start. How much good agricultural land do they either own or control? What percentage of this land is in active agricultural use today? Why can’t this land be parcelled out in 2 acre lots and rented to small farmers for a nominal fee with water included? Where is the green house project we heard the minister talk about a few years back? The questions can go on and on and on without answers.

As I said may times Covid has taught us nothing nor it appears will we learn anything from this episode of inflation.

3. Were “The Watchmen” in Slave Plantations watching the stolen people they called sub-human Slaves or their crop?
    Seems like the brainwashing by whites infiltrated the minds of the people and they are full of bad reasoning.

Little Girl (Orginal Kyle Smith Club Mix)

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, what exactly do you mean by “Most countries including developed subsidize and protect strategic sectors.

One can presume u speak of the massive subsidies provided to most large scale farmers in every developed nation but a reality check shows that even high margin industries benefit from government “subsidies” in one form or other at various points of their business life cycle.

One simple example: aerospace. Lockheed Martin and more particularly Boeing are given significant levels of government preferences (a fancy term for sybsidy) to ENSURE that they remain “strategic” sectors.

On this matter of Marijuana farming … why the concern of praedial larceny … to use your terms above “that’s a non point” of issue.

That is a cash crop (or should be) where margins should be profitable enough to facilitate a high level of security. In fact it would be tantamount to NEGLIGENCE if any cannabis farm project is approved SANS a defined and carefully organized security system.

Let’s not conflate a field of low margin spinach with a crop of weed!

De nightwatchmen for de weed may be retirees too, I suspect, but these ole boys & girls likely would be still sturdy former BDF or BPF who know well enough how to use the gloch on their hips.

Just saying!

5. @DpD
    Are you cleverly straddling the fence?
    Are you supportive of the use of employing the RoBDF and RoBPF to patrol plantations as part of their duties.

——x——-
    To return to an earlier point:
    Why not have watchmen who can use a cellphone (they were invented) to call a rapid response team.

Watchmen don’t have to engage the crook.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dpd
    Oh shirt, you gine shoot de teefs?

The MoA, and he can take Pressy along, would be well advised to visit some of the former ‘sugar cane’ plantations which today grow other crops, esp those who have instituted land sharing and crop sharing agreements.
    Maybe that could also help the GoB to appreciate how they may better utilize their own land use for agriculture. And also how having “many eyes” in an area can help reduce teefing. There is too much unused agricultural land.

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Gentlemen (@Artax, Skinner, Crusher, John A etal) excuse my deep cynicism but respectfully MP Prescod’s rhetoric is pure BS “talk”.

How in 2022 after several years of in party governance when land use has been mooted, reviewed, dissected, policies implemented; years of almost duplicitous programs like the UDC and Rural Dev. Corp; the extensive work to remodel the plantations operations etc and ad nauseum can MP Prescod’s recent palaver on ” major land reform and subdivision of land so as to facilitate more Barbadians to become involved in agriculture” be such a major point for debate!🤦🏾‍♂️

When do we honestly say that pretty progressive sounding policies are “full of sound and fury,
    Signifying nothing.”

I detract not from the MP’s sterling efforts over his career but I absolutely dismiss this palaver as meaningless and self serving in 2022.

As that oft quoted section of high school Lit also clearly notes (to paraphrase): “There [was] a time for [such words] …
    [but] all our yesterdays have [been] lighted fools
    The way to dusty death.”

I really cannot grasp how a land use debate can still be a great idea when its a hugely unresolved act of govt indifference these many years after the simple start of the Tenantry Act and all that it birthed.

SMH!

8. @Dee Word

Made a general point to say it is not unusual for governments to subsidize/support sone sectors. Some here want to make out that key actors in important sectors should be self sufficient.

9. @Dee Word

Some here if they knew how the Prescods et al operate.

10. @DpD
    Two sound contributions
    Last night and just now.

Have a great day all.

11. @deeWord,

Despite years of indifference, the door is never closed to genuine intent.

The pandemic should have taught a few lessons and brought the need to the fore.

We can never give up.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL …@Crusher should be @Crusoe!

Well if u come to thief my cash crop of weed … yep a shoot or two may be appropriate , @Northern.

And those former soldiers and Cops would be working for G4 Security or any of the other PRIVATE operations on island, senor Theo.

But to the point of current BDFers or POs patrolling fields …

First of all it’s not free IMHO_ at least not based on the world I previously experienced_.

I expect that any owners of privately owned fields need to pay some funds either directly to govt or indirectly as campaign contributions … anything else would certainly be unacceptable by modern standards 😇😎!

But eons ago I was organizing a lil fund raising fete at my high school and I had to go to Dist * Station to organize some police presence and as I recall there is a fee (quite minimal in trute, but fee nonetheless) for the few cops I wanted as a safeguard [who never turned up mind you]!

In that long ago context I can’t fathom that those govt officers could be patrolling extensively like that [wid guns too] WITHOUT serious compensation to govt coffers.

Not in 2022, no way!

13. BADMC already have agricultural land rented to farmers at low rates with irrigation available in some places. Since the stream was dammed preventing flow to River, farmers were crying out for water. Recently, the MOA tried to ease the situation. I believe there is a phase two on the cards.

I also believe that other agricultural land is currently being allocated to people who have been trained in the FEED programme.

Tools and planting materials, as well as land preparation are being offered for community gardens.

As I said on another recent blog, agriculture is being addressed. All we can debate is the manner and urgency.

The monkeys are being culled. The praedial larceny legislation is crafted.

New projects are being started.

Are we acting as though we believe a food crisis is just around the corner? Maybe not.

Have we taken all the necessary actions yet? Perhaps not

But I think we need an agricultural expert (lol) to evaluate where we are in the process.

14. Stop and search requires reaasonable suspicion, except in special circumstances.

I remember being in a car that was stopped and searched one night. I was surprised but it was conducted in a professional manner and with courtesy. They peered inside the car and they looked inside the trunk. It felt strange but not frighteningly so. I think they were looking for some criminal, if remember correctly.

15. @ Donna

We don’t need an expert the success will be shown in terms of supply and pricing. Hefty supply should result in a fall in prices that is the rule of commerce.

When you see vegetable prices falling and the vendors all heavy with produce, you will know things are working.

16. @John A

You refer to times when the BLACK farmer in St. Lucy has to dump onions?

17. William Skinner Avatar

Of course it is convenient to ignore the great post by @ Artax earlier, when he pointed out how state resources have been used to pacify people whose only answer is to threaten the politicians with unemployment. He is more than correct.
    I expected “ emotion “ to be introduced because declaring others emotional is now the calling card of some apologists.
    I will patiently wait and see the results of all the wonderful projects that are planned for agriculture.
    The simple truth is that the plantations were mostly abandoned by the owners while governments were blackmailed into heavily subsidizing the sugar industry.
    The entire agricultural sector was neglected by the traditional plantocracy and the taxpayers were left to underwrite it.
    We will continue to underwrite it because successive governments can find millions of ways to keep the struggling masses in their place but have no balls when it comes to dealing with their economic masters.
    So, as expected the attempts to promote Comrade Prescod as one who will deliberately encourage crop theft is not only dishonest but certainly again proves that the society is still far from accepting the truth.
    Massa must be smiling when he read how quickly some wanted him to know that they will deal with Comrade Prescod.
    There is not one line where the Comrade said or encouraged anybody to steal crops. Not one.

18. @ David.

No a proper plan must be based on market needs and volumes. Planting must reflect demand. Hence neither glut nor shortage should occur. What you don’t want is everyone growing onions the same time or tomatoes the same time. This is where the Ministry and assoc comes in.

19. @ David

You’re referring to a time when several farmers planted onions, resulting in a
    glut of onions on the market?

Such situations have occurred on several occasions.

I believe there should be a ‘farmers’ co-operative,’ for example, which could conduct market research and analysis…… and produce
    periodic informational and analytical reports, relative to impact of weather conditions, supply, demand, price, volume and the associated economic factors.

Another thing, since we’re so concerned about
    preadial larceny, how about those guys who are at roundabouts on the ABC highway selling sugar-cane?

20. @Artax

This is the point, we promote the need to improve agriculture but the strategies to ensure it is a success leaves a lot to question.

You should recall one of the benefits of Sandals on the island was the opportunity for local producers to align production with the procurement policy of Sandals. What has become of that approach? If tourism is the only sector why have we been unable to integrate other sectors with it to optimize?

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The simple truth is that the plantations were mostly abandoned by the owners while governments were blackmailed into heavily subsidizing the sugar industry.

The entire agricultural sector was neglected by the traditional plantocracy and the taxpayers were left to underwrite it.
    We will continue to underwrite it because successive governments can find millions of ways to keep the struggling masses in their place but have no balls when it comes to dealing with their economic masters.”

they allowed themselves to be blackmailed by fraudulent, tiefing corrupt plantation owners… birds of a feather..

William….you know what to expect on BU from the usual suspects, you know…they never disappoint.

22. The BADMC is responsible for keeping track of onion production and importing ONLY when necessary. Unfortunately, people who were allowed to import onions for manufacturing only were putting onions into the market for sale to consumers. I think that is what caused the glut.

Decades ago, it was determined that poultry and onions were two areas in which Barbados could become self-sufficient and BADMC was tasked with facilitating it.

Unfortunately, the solar drying facility that would enable onions to last much longer as those imported from Holland do, has been long promised but has not materialised as yet. I wonder why. It is a damn drier running off the sun, for chrissake!

William,

I did pick up on Artax’s point and added my two cent’s worth.. But this was not what the blog was about. However, it has been brought up before, many times on BU.

I cannot understand why you and others persist in pointing fingers at what others “are willing to discuss”. You are at liberty to discuss it. Have your posts been taken down?

Have you submitted a piece for posting and had it rejected?

And why the remark dropping about the agricultural projects? I reported what I know to be happening. I also put it out there that we need someone who can seriously evaluate where we are and where we need to go.

The blogmaster allows us to post. The blogmaster allows us to submit articles.

What the hell does it matter what the blogmaster (or others) is willing to discuss when you have free rein to discuss it?

STEUPSE!

23. Trevor, talking bare shite. Perhaps, if he had skin in the game in the form of savings, borrowed money and long hours of labor he would think different.

How many of you have ever invested in a farm only for the thieves to come and steal every shite? Cuddear, tell me it’s a poor black man who stealing from a poor black man like himself trying to make a difference by engaging in the thankless field of farming.

Why do we use hunger to encourage wrongdoing?

24. @Kammie

We have people who are loyal ideologues.

25. ARTAX
    IN THE EARLY 80’S SOME AGENCY ATTEMPTED MARKET RESEARCH AND WOULD PUBLISH INFORMATION IN THE PAPERS WEEKLY ——-I CANT REMEMBER HOW LONG THIS LASTED
    BUT I DO REMEMBER TIMES ESPECIALLY IN THE SUMMER OF 82 WHEN SOME FARMERS GOT CRUSHED WHEN LARGE PLANTATIONS WOULD PRODUCE A GLUT AND DRIVE DOWN PRICES AND ALSO CORNER THE MARKET

WE HAVE ALSO TWO STALWARTS WHOSE NAMES I CAN NOT REMEMBER WHO GAVE ADVICE ON LOCAL RADIO THEN
    WE HAVE NOT APPARENTLY BEEN ABLE TO REPLACE SUCH

26. @ David

I remember the Sandals initiative….. and, the Sandals Foundation donated equipment, tools and supplies to support practical training for students enrolled in the agriculture programme at the Barbados Community College.

However, I haven’t heard or read anything to suggest whether or not the arrangement is still in progress.

But, Sandals Resorts International is known for showcasing Jamaican products as the as first choice to guests, ahead of local products, in every Caribbean island where there is a Sandals hotel.

Sandals announced purchasing 5.4 million pounds of produce from local Jamaican farmers every year.
    In September 2012, they announced a renewed relationship with Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum, which would become the first choice rum at all Sandals and Beaches Resorts throughout the Caribbean.
    And, “Jamaica Blue Mountain Blend Coffee is served exclusively throughout all Sandals specialty restaurants, French-style cafés, Club Sandals Lounges, self-serve coffee stations and room service.”

Taking the above information into consideration…… I DON’T believe it wouldn’t UNREASONABLE to ASK if they import produce from Jamaica…… especially given the fact ‘government’ WAIVED ALL import duties, taxes, imposts and levies of any nature whatsoever, including VAT, on the importation of food, alcohol and other beverages.

27. Is it fair when I do two jobs including farming to make a difference in my life while trying to feed country. To say or impute that persons who are hungry should be allowed to just steal my crops is pure epic stagnant hogwash.

Three young men wanted work and were asked to contact me by a politician, they lamented how hard things were and they wanted to be independent. Non ain’t last past 2 weeks at $10 per hour. Slept at lunch, smoked the ganga shite during the day as they needed inspiration so they say, complained about tiredness and eat nuff rock cakes and corn curls washed down by cokes daily. Poor, diets and chemical imbalances impacts moods.

So as usual, most will talk bare jobby as theorist without experiential or practical experiences.

28. Artax,

Still going. I saw a picture of students in the paper and an article a few weeks ago about the Sandal’s initiative.

29. @David, we need to tell these ideologist they are perpetuating the entitlement syndrome, mendicancy, indifference, laziness and generations of generational parasites. The rate of change is no longer incremental but exponential.

Barbados punching above its weight has created a falsehood in a country where meritocracy, deceitfulness and productivity is dismal.
    Are backsides going starve for we have not the common sense to realize that food sovereignty has to compliment food security.

Wake me up when we have packaging and Argo processing of local produce.

30. @Kammie H

Trevor, talking bare shite. Perhaps, if he had skin in the game in the form of savings, borrowed money and long hours of labor he would think different

Nailed it.

31. As I have mentioned before, the problem with the tourism linkage is one of supply, not demand. I have sat in meetings where this was discussed.

Restaurants or hotels need a consistent supply of a certain quality. Most farmers in Barbados would have to form a co-op or at least a partnership to meet the requirements.

I know of two farmers who formed a partnership and obtained a contract for cucumbers and tomatoes. The two of them were looking to juck out each other’s eyes and just so the contract was broken and lost.

ALL chefs prefer fresh produce. And I believe they are responsible for stocking the kitchens. They tend to get their way.

The problem in Barbados, is the supply.

32. “Non(e) ain’t last past 2 weeks at $10 per hour.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~

Wouldn’t it be EASIER for them to steal and sell the produce, without ‘putting in any hard work,’…… and when caught, seek sympathy by lamenting they are ‘poor Black men trying to mek a dollar?’

On another note, what surprises me is there are several illegal Haitians in Barbados, some of whom are working in the agricultural sector.
    They associate amongst themselves, which under the circumstances, is ‘okay.’
    But, what concerns me is some of them have young children who are not benefitting from any time of proper child care or education.

33. She didn’t say it outright… but 80,000 new Bajans are coming soon.

34. That was your only takeaway? 80k people coming?

Steuspe

35. To be FAIR, perhaps the “80,000 new Bajans” would’ve came in under the previous administration.

After all, remember, the recommendation was first made by Ronald Jones and Donville Inniss.

But, as the saying goes, ‘government is a continuum.’

36. That was my only take away.
    You can enlighten me on others.
    My mind is open

37. William Skinner Avatar

I really don’t know where you’re coming from. I never once said what people should discuss, I merely said that that his (@ Artax) well put points were obviously ignored. That was not any call to discuss anything ; it was a mere observation , said in the context of the discussion.

I am not “ dropping any remarks about the agricultural projects , I simply said I will wait and see how they turn out.
    I have a similar position on matters pertaining to education.
    Just waiting to see how the reforms will be explained .
    I say exactly what I want to say. We have that in common.

38. It looks as if you have returned with fire in your belly and the task of getting the choir to sing in harmony.

Good luck.

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….i spoke to one of the Lauries, the one who was into agriculture, he has since passed away, he told me that i think it was Canada, that was many years ago…..donated an onion drying machine to the BADMC or whatever it’s called now….and you already know the problem with weak black minds…they turned it into who has power to allow the drying of onions and who will be able to use it…….arguing back and forth on their little power trip…..which lasted for YEARS he said until the piece of equipment rusted away having been left in the elements and became unusable….never used…

these people are not serious and NEVER WILL BE…am using that word more often today……

it’s a pattern, not the first time either…..common practice..

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That was Keith Laurie…

he told me never get any great expectations from any of them…..and he should know, he spent i believe upwards of 5 decades working with them..

41. Yuh meaning me? Nah! I said what I meant.

Kammie,

Twice you have offered me seedlings and twice I haven’t followed up. I’m sure I’ll get around to it at some point. Right now, I have so many seeds to get rid of that I can hardly handle anything more. Your offers are always appreciated.

42. William Skinner Avatar

Anybody with a knowledge of the development of agriculture in Bim will know how vibrant and productive the Ministry of Agriculture used to be .
    All of this talk about kitchen gardens and the need fro crop rotation is nothing new.
    There was a time anybody could walk into the department, I think out there by Harrisons College and get seeds either free or at a minimal cost.
    There were excellent live stock stations and many people tried to go to study agriculture in Trinidad. These agricultural officers were fully integrated into the farming / agricultural community.
    All of this was destroyed by ignorant politicians from both parties on one hand and the plantocracy that had no intentions in pumping money into the industry on the other.
    So all of this pretty talk and reinventing the wheel is okay but to pretend it’s some thing new is really interesting.
    We should ask ourselves why COW Williams abandoned the argo plant so quickly but could then put such energies into a marina .
    Obviously the economic masters put their energies where they wanted to and it was not agriculture.
    And while we are at it let’s go a bit further and ask why the foundries were allowed to disappear.
    And then ask ourselves the role that Barbados Shipping and Trading played in the destruction of agriculture.

43. I did not know where it came from but it was in the possession of the BADC (before it merged with the BMC) at Spencers. That solar dryer rusted away decades ago. Kammie’s aunt, might know the story of the rusting. I never heard why it was not put to use.

I was talking about a more recent proposal .

There was also an agro-processing plant at BADC, Fairy Valley that was left to rust.

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“There was a time anybody could walk into the department, I think out there by Harrisons College and get seeds either free or at a minimal cost.”

Crumpton St…i used to get seeds from them years and years ago, at one time if you were exporting you could get phytosanitary certificates from a building close by…..don’t know how the set up is now..

these little shite title holders with taxpayer-paid salaries and power trips from clowns with their heads filled with cotton wool is killing everything that could prosper on the island…and has SYSTEMATICALLY KILLED ALL UPWARD MOBILITIY..

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I had a very unfortunate experience with one of these said power tripping clowns…..turned me completely off of doing any business with government entities…..their loss not mine, they have DEGRADED CONSIDERABLY SINCE THEN..

46. If the wheel has rusted, one would need to reinvent it.

Everybody knows what happened with our agriculture. The powers that were favoured tourism, put all the eggs in one basket and now the chickens are coming home to roost rotten eggs.

We will either get serious or we will suffer the dire consequences.

P.S. I know people at BADC who were sent all the way to Israel to do short courses in Agriculture.

47. The success/performance of the ministry of agriculture can only be measured by one KPI, increase in agriculture output as reported in the GDP reporting put out by central bank. Any other comment not supported by this metric is tossing shit in the air.

48. LOL
    Wuh if Kammie gwine be getting on so waxxy, Bushie cud as well retire from BU.
    From Bushie’s questionable recollection, Kammie used to be one of the soft-hearted people who saw the good in all brass bowls
    Now the man aint making no kinda sport at all!!!

Kammie must be seeing that the light at the end of our tennel …is an oncoming train…..

49. @Donna, my offers still stand. I actually was close to the late Prof Oliver Headley and he gave me the idea how to build one…thus I would go to his office to absorb his wisdom. The area at Spencers is no more and now houses Airport Security.

@Bushie Tea de stone thrower, I cannot hide and throw stones, more is achieved when you speak to the truth without hiding for persons are smart enough to know not to take chances with you. A coward dies a thousand deaths before he actually dies.

@Donna, so many are going into Agriculture that the streets will soon be looking like down town Accra and St Vincent where every street corner taken up by vendors.

Truth, be told, the world is becoming a place where politicians and their backers are becoming wealthier and the middle class becomes poor leading to the poor becoming abjectly poorer.

What did we learn from the ash fall? Zilch, for we still waiting on a savior to come from the clouds and save our lazy indifferent backsides. Still no quest to understand Food Security and Food Sovereignty must go hand in hand.

Not seed depository.

Agent Orange cousin 2-D-4 still imported into the island. Destruction of natural soil biome.

Who are the agents for RoundUp, Paraquat and Gramoxone and how much did they contribute towards political campaigns and if so which party?

How can jokers get on tv encouraging persons to eat healthy but no testing regime exist to uncover harmful chemical residue among imported and local food crops?

We are a country big on fluff and slow on execution unless some indirect emotional benefit can be had.