The economic uncertainty caused by the Russian and Ukrainian conflict, disruption to global supply chain because of the pandemic, an under performing US economy, an of recent a possible ratcheting up of tension between China and the US linked to Taiwan among other negative factors continue to be a source of concern for small developing states like Barbados.

Recently the blogmaster was intrigued to read about a local campaign by a leading gas distributor promoting today (Tuesday 3 Aug 2022) as as an opportunity to earn 200 bonus points if more than x dollars was spent at the pump. While the marketing department of the large dealership is pulling out the stops to sell more gas, there is the report Barbados experienced a spike in import cost reported as $2.05 million dollars of which $634.3 million was for fuel for the first six months of the year. The fuel bill for 2021 was $685.8 million and for $506.6 for 2020. Although the comparative to 2020 and 2021 was influenced by less activity because of the pandemic, it does not change a scary reality that significant chunks of Barbados’ foreign reserves is being used to pay for fuel. In the first half of the year $813 million was earned from our main foreign exchange earner to give an idea of the significance.

Sourcing affordable fuel is the objective of any country because it strikes at the heart of maintaining a stable standard of living and economy. At the household level rising fuel will soak up discretionary funds. Of immediate concern to Barbados is that this translates to potential travelers to Barbados forced to make alternative plans. Barbados is a price taker, we produce precious little commodities of what we consume. The domestic economy needs fuel for transportation, EMERA generates mostly fossil based electricity, input for business etc. An increase in the price of fuel negatively affects cost of living. Although the government is expected to create a buffer, there is a limit to mitigants available.

Last month Minister of Commerce Kerri Symmonds implored Barbadians to appreciate the seriousness of the predicament Barbados find itself and to consider engaging in tactics to conserve. The reality is that the majority of Barbadians are not prepared to make adjustments, for example car pooling, accessing public transportation, businesses (including public sector) reverting to working from home during this difficult period to assist individuals. There are decisions we can make to ameliorate the effect of out of control fuel price, however, we appear to be in reactive mode.

We have a country struggling to get a public addicted to conspicuous consumption to conserve and there are the countervailing forces like gas dealerships encouraging consumers to purchase more fuel. We live in interesting times.

To coin a popular expression, challenging times create the opportunity for an inventive people to rise to the fore. Are we there yet?

136 responses to “As Fuel Prices Rise, what are we going to do?”

1. @Critical Analyzer August 3, 2022 9:40 PM “Has anyone calculated how all these cars charging at night is going to overload the electricity grid?”

So who needs electricity in order to sleep?

Foolish me. I thought that sleeping [and some fun stuff too] was best done in complete darkness.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    Thank you for your biblical intervention. You may know I have but minimal religious education, knowledge, nor interest.
    Hence mine are gained via observation of life.

3. I am trying to remember what I did during the 1973 “energy crisis” I owned a car then, a modest li’l thing which cost me $5 to fill up and which got me and some siblings from country to town and back every day.

I got tired of the long gas lines. I sold the car. I may have sold it to GP or Bush Tea or BAJE. For sure I know that I sold it to a fella. I used the money to make a down payment on the house spot on which I still live. I didn’t buy another car for more than 10 years.

As my old man was fond of saying “this too will pass.” He and his mother both lived to be nearly 100. Neither ever owned a car, but my father owned a bicycle which he rode from St. Lucy to Christ Church to find work. Both worked everyday for others and for themselves, worked well past what is considered “retirement” age.

I try to follow in their FOOTSTEPS, in this present “fuel crisis” the footsteps thing is literal.

4. @NorthernObserver August 3, 2022 11:06 PM “Hence mine are gained via observation of life.”

The women and men who wrote the bible also gained via observation of life.

But don’t tell GP not Bush Tea that I said so.

5. A special for the fellas.

A man from my natal village–I am country “girl” had a girlfriend who lived near ‘town. Every evening he mounted his bicycle and rode the 8 miles or so to visit her. He rode it home again in the morning. He was a skinny as a rake. He continued doing this until he was 89 when he died quietly at home.

And back then Viagra was not even invented yet.

6. A really good night to everyone.

7. I am going to call a very bright friend now and ask who is at Dodds? Because if a man accused of 3 murders in not remanded, just who gets remanded then?

8. @CA

In the context of where our economy was and is, foreign exchange is a very precious commodity. If what is playing out becomes protracted, losing some jobs will be the least of our problems.

9. TheOGazertsAugust 3, 2022 3:09 PM

@blogmaster
    Isn’t there some breaking news on the death of two men?

A clip from Sherrie Veronica been circulating since morning regarding the two men if that qualifies.

One is alleged to have taken 3 lives.

Don’t know how he managed to be walking around but if the clip is right he got 5 years at 21 and he was supposed to be 27 so maybe he was released having served his sentence.

Even without these allegations it sure sounds like some kind of execution.

Maybe some kind of vigilante group?

Have to wait and see what information surfaces.

10. The other guy is alleged to be 22 years old.

11. People accused of four murders? Doesn’t really matter. If the most murder man is remanded, some rookie will still kill the target. This is how gang warfare goes.

UNFORTUNATELY!

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

All you will ever get from generational thieves is MORE THIEVERY and cover ups….no transparency or accountability….that is how they operate, that’s WHO THEY ARE…

“Krystle Howell started this petition
    The Barbados 2021 Auditor General’s report has raised numerous alarming issues which require urgent address.

In total, the issues identified accumulate to over BDS $630 billion. When this is compared to the total debt identified on page 10 of the June 2022 Central Bank report of BDS $13.6 billion, it is obvious that Barbados should, far from drowning in debt, be prospering.

We, the people of Barbados, demand answers for the high level of debt (129% of GDP at end of June) and exorbitant level of taxation, fees and duties (BDS $2,824 million) we have been and are continuously asked to shoulder in light of these revelations.

The Auditor General deserves a formal response in the form of a publicly aired press conference to address the issues raised. The response should identify why these issues occurred, an action plan to resolve them, an assigned person for accountability and a target date for completion.

We also demand a restructuring of the Public Accounts Committee to make it more independent, as it has not resolved any of the issues raised by the Auditor General’s Office since the first report issued in 2003 up to 2022.

The people of Barbados voted for your office with the understanding that accountability would be the cornerstone of your administration. This is an opportunity to show that your office holds true to transparency and good governance. We value our vote, it is your turn to value your commitment to the people of this country.”

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Don’t know why you insist on cursing us when people white just like your husband did not pay wages to my ancestors for 211 years, and paid minimal wages for another 100 years. If people white just like your husband would pay the 311 years of no and low wages, plus the accrued interest we would not need to worry about the price of oil or of gold or even of diamonds.

You always carrying on without any evidence bout 4 generations of stealing, but NEVER a word about the 15/16 generations of stealing done by people white just like your husband.

And you lay down in bed with him every night.

You are shameless.”

no…… YOU ARE SHAMELESS…still on with the NO PROOF….GOSSIPY SHIT…check for the BILLIONS MISSING from the VAT, TREASURY and PENSION FUND IN YOUR LIFETIME…that’s YOUR MONEY STOLEN….focus less on some nonexistent white man who don’t give a shit about you……the ones whose faces ya SMILE UP IN…today…don’t give a shit about you either…

yall are ALWAYS FOCUSED ON THE WRONG THINGS…that’s why things are the way they are…

amends will be made for generational slavery and you won’t even know…CAUSE YA STILL PEEPING IN MY BEDROOM…pimping around.,.and won’t see it happen…

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Read it again AND WEEP…and blame the nonexistent white man for that…

“In total, the issues identified accumulate to over BDS $630 billion. When this is compared to the total debt identified on page 10 of the June 2022 Central Bank report of BDS $13.6 billion, it is obvious that Barbados should, far from drowning in debt, be prospering.”

15. SS

In these days of high unemployment and poverty find someone who will provide food, clothing, housing, medical expenses for free and chances are if you are in that group you won’t let go.

Slavery works all over the world because people who are poor and unemployed are both easily taken advantage of and who accept their lot with no protestations.

In some societies it is generational.

Haiti … Reste Avec

India … the Caste System

Africa …. did you know children are routinely used as slaves in various countries.

Sex slavery happens all over the world.

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha look…..they now have to wonder what to do….dependency slavery tourism is taking on all the attributes of the dodo bird……let’s see what the generational THIEVES DO NOW.

..let’s see what the dependents do outside of waiting and depending…

“Bank of England “Long Recession” Warning After 27-Year High Interest Hike

The Bank of England has raised interest rates by 0.5% – the sharpest increase in 27 years – to 1.75% in a sixth successive hike, and predicts the UK will enter five successive quarters of recession.

Inflation hit 9.4% in the year to June and is expected to continue rising.”

17. https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-11080611/Bank-England-hikes-rates-1-75.html

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/08/04/hotel-executive-says-tourism-industry-in-limbo-with-little-to-no-growth-in-bookings/

Economic storm clouds are gathering with the UK, US, EU either in or going into recession. We all know how that will filter through to one-legged tourism economy.

18. @Dullard

You agree a world recession negatively impacts ALL economies? We have the 2007 experience. Our islands can do better, however, it will not change the fact there is a reason our economies are labeled as open.

Look at the upside, another recession, notwithstanding the hurt , should hurry along needed change in the country and force acceptance by more that a crisis shouldn’t be allowed to go to waste?

19. Progressive House
    Annihilating the Rhythm
    I Was a Slave! (Cuzz Mixx)

20. -BoE predicts inflation to hit 13%
    – Recession to begin in Q4 and last all through 2023
    -Real post tax household incomes to fall sharply in 2022/3

@David, what is your boss lady and her army of consultants/advisors/ministers doing besides spin and PR?

These outcomes have been know for several months to those who can see.

21. @ Dullard
    Economic storm clouds are gathering with the UK, US, EU either in or going into recession. We all know how that will filter through to one-legged tourism economy.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    WRONG!!
    “We don’t all know this….”
    Otherwise the shiite government would not be falling over backwards trying to approve hotel construction projects and pouring borrowed money into tourism promotion and other steel-based construction projects…like convention centers.

They would be frantic about food and energy security

There MUST be large numbers of brass bowls in government, as well as Enuff of their yard fowl supporters, who still think that things will ‘get back to normal’ … where we can resume our national prostitution trade called ‘tourism’…

But by yearend it will become MUCH MUCH clearer, what ‘ass is grass’ means.

22. @Dullard

They are doing the balance act, doing enough to move the needle slightly but with an eye on 90 love.

23. Look at the upside, another recession, notwithstanding the hurt , should hurry along needed change in the country and force acceptance by more that a crisis shouldn’t be allowed to go to waste?
    +++++++++

Hahahaha. lol

Man stop with the jokes!!

You and I both know the decision makers will make excuses and double down on the the same failed policies!

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John…you do know that child slavery and child servitude….is still a thing in UK and other western countries….

did you not see what Mo Farrah just came out and said…he was TRAFFICKED into UK as a child…..it never ended….

young people, children and adults still face modern day slavery…just about everywhere…it’s the PEOPLE to STAND UP AND SAY NO MORE…and destroy those CREATURES SO INCLINED to push slavery and servitude on populations..

25. CROOKED POLITICIANS
    CROOKED LAWYERS
    CROOKED PREACHERS AND PASTORS

ALL HAVE TO THEIR ADVANTAGE THE IGNORANCE AND BRAINWASHING OF LARGE SCALE NUMBERS OF BLACK MEN AND BLACK WOMEN.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

i don’t know when they are going to learn, was speaking to a buddy in Latin America just yesterday….the poison is real…they better get off their indoctrinated asses….and SAVE THEMSELVES or not, i could care less…

as i told the person….there was and will ALWAYS BE ONLY ONE Harriet Tubman…

https://www.blaqsbi.com/4aLO-Post-In-a-more-famous-caserdcomt392offset460

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“There MUST be large numbers of brass bowls in government, as well as Enuff of their yard fowl supporters, who still think that things will ‘get back to normal’ … where we can resume our national prostitution trade called ‘tourism’…”

yeah and get back to the normalized hundred-year-old GENERATIONAL TIEFING…

28. The storm that Barbados should be worried bout are the one that will be forming in the Eastern Atlantic – the season is about to ramp up

A recession got negatives and positives
    Positives for the poor man is it would bring down inflation

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I see many on local platforms who would be deemed not of high intelligence because of the area where they go grew up or school they went o……..but i find them SOUNDER IN MIND than many of those on here….so the shite 11 plus and which school ya attended ….is definitely OVERRATED

these bright minds are so IN TUNE…they are actually OUTLINING what is likely to occur next in real time…….that i know they KNOW HOW TO SAVE THEMSELVES..

.says a lot about those who pretend to know so much and are really MILES and YEARS behind…..

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    The real magic of steel is that steal is in there. (Seranader a few years ago)

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

the OLD SCHOOL IGNORANT and pretenders always SET THEMSELVES UP…..by reflex…….that’s their lot in life…and deserve their favorite positions….last in line and left behind..

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Bushie
    Here I was expeckking an economic assessment (causin I know hummuch you love economics) and instedda dat, we get the same Karma story again?
    Dat D9 arrive yet?
    For you without de whacker, is “too spiritual”
    You like the experts trying to explain effin we is in, or not in, a recession. Um tells us 6 mumphs of negative growth = recession, but now that happened, dey say, nah nah nah, dat en de whole picture. The labour market strong. Dem does pay de people to stay home, and den when nuhbuddy looking fuh wuk, dey tells we, unemployment low. In fact, historic lows.
    Skipper you gine need a whole fleet of D9’s.

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….those they deem the least intelligent and of low social standing in the Slave society………ARE THE ONES NOW DEMANDING TO KNOW WHERE ALL THEIR BILLIONS OF DOLLARS in taxes, in vat and pension GONE

…in case the class conscious are too educated to understand….an “issue” of 630 BILLION DOLLARS is over 1/2 TRILLION….

am still to see one of the blog parasites ask that question…or DEMAND ANSWERS…

WHO STOLE ALL THOSE BILLIONS…

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    Sometimes it’s better to leave people where they want to be. If they choose to deny historical truths, there is nothing anybody can do to enlighten them. Leave them to continue serving their political masters.

35. @ William
    Bushie knows that you understand the nature of ‘steel’ that makes local projects attractive to our politicians.

@ NO
    There is a time and a place for everything.

When laying on your deathbed riddled with cancer, high blood pressure and diabetes and your vision is fading while dementia sets in….
    THAT is not the time to seek to maximize your return on investments…
    It is also not the time to pursue your academic status.

It is much more appropriate then, to get your affairs in order; to reflect on how your life made a difference; and most definitely, on what comes next…

The whacker get tek way at the point where we were over the watershed.

36. NO
    Skipper you gine need a whole fleet of D9’s.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    If you have eyes to see, then you should be overwhelmed at the fleet of D9s currently headed our way…

Shiite…
    Even Bushie is taken by surprise after EXPECTING the fleet now for decades.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…i told them some years ago that they are ON THEIR OWN, repeated it a few more times lately…..but they will get to experience it FIRST HAND ….soon come…it will be a nice episode to watch…

Beiruit is now in no man’s land…..partly attributed to the nuclear fertilizer blast a couple years ago…the rest is the usual corruption etc…

“In the country with the worst food inflation in the world, everything seems to be crumbling”

and the shit int even start to roll downhill yet…..evabody running out of DISTRACTIONS to cover up what comes next…

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha was watching this newsreel this morning where China threw some missiles across Taiwan and they landed into the water…problem is, they dropped right in Japan’s economic water zone….and they are pissed and bellowing……lol

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Brittney Griner just got 9 years in a Russian prison…

40. Bush Tea @754 am

You are correct. Year end into 2023 is when things will start to bite.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

don’t worry too much about it…you will soon see the colonial educated wearing their “you will have nothing and be happy” WEF badges…..i just saw someone modeling one…

but the spiritually intellectual will have none of that…

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedAugust 4, 2022 7:59 AM

John…you do know that child slavery and child servitude….is still a thing in UK and other western countries….

JohnAugust 4, 2022 7:00 AM

Slavery works all over the world because people who are poor and unemployed are both easily taken advantage of and who accept their lot with no protestations.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If there are poor and unemployed people in western countries there will be all kinds of slavery, not just child slavery and child servitude!!

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That’s what i told you, i said mature adults and young people routinely have to be RESCUED from modern day slavery in UK and other western countries…

..did not your PM deliberately send young people to UK and Europe under the strawberry slavery program and the young people had to expose it through their videos on a UK platform and that was DESPITE me repeatedly posting that they were being set up for slavery by black faces….it was all VOLUNTARY…

so imagine what else takes place….it NEVER went away, but was just BETTER MASKED…

poverty as usual is being weaponized like a disease and everyone EXCEPT the usual suspects expect everyone to ACCEPT THIS and catch it..nothing new….but the resistance of those who actually have a brain…..will be shown…..

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Bushie
    I see your buddy CF’s pun fire over a union member, who by CF’s admission is also a long time friend, whose contract did not get renewed at the National Stadium.
    You feel this is about the body, or another dart at your main man.

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

correction:

poverty as usual is being weaponized like a disease and everyone is EXPECTED TO CATCH IT EXCEPT the usual suspects……nothing new

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…we are in for a terrible ride, drought and famine are already taking a toll on the animals in certain regions of Kenya, Sudan, in Northeast Ethiopia, the Afar region is crying out for hunger caused by armed gangs and having to abandon their villages……other East Afrikan countries are crying…other countries outside of the continent are not in much better shape, Sri Lanka is trying to feed millions of children before they die……climate issues will be a killer for sure…..starvation is pounding on the door..

weeeee will not be spared….if weeeee don’t act…

“The devastating intensification of extreme weather is laid bare today in a Guardian analysis that shows how people across the world are losing their lives and livelihoods due to more deadly and more frequent heatwaves, floods, wildfires and droughts brought by the climate crisis.

Most worryingly, all this is happening with a rise of just 1C in the planet’s average temperature. The role of global heating in supercharging extreme weather is happening at “astonishing speed”, scientists say.

“The world is changing fast and it’s already hurting us – that is the blunt summary,” said Prof Maarten van Aalst, the director of the International Red Cross Red Crescent Climate Centre. The world is currently on track for a rise of at least 2.5C. Based on what we have experienced so far, that would deliver death and destruction far greater than already suffered.”

what i don’t get is these were WARNED DECADES AGO when it was not yet 1% or something in that region…

and it’s getting worse by the minute…..the favorite haunt of the rich and idle the Mediterranean is now too HOT for vacationing….seems like they are all about to burn to cinders..

“Climate change is making summer in the Med too hot to handle ….you might want to think twice about the timing of your future holidays to the Mediterranean.”
    The heatwaves across much of southern Europe this year have been more intense and long lasting than anything we have suffered in the UK. France, for example, has just had its driest July ever and one of its hottest, with many places recording peaks above 40C (104F). In Spain temperatures reached 45.6C (114F) and, as I write, it looks as though the Spanish State Meteorological Agency is about to declare the third serious heatwave of the summer so far – and we are only at the beginning of August.”

47. Yaaawn. BU where repetitious egofowlism on steroids rules. 🤣

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

so were you at the failed crapover too…..the tourists were not amused…..

hope you weren’t one of the ones i saw looking like creatures from the green lagoon…could not tell if it was male or female….all ya could see is legs open and wukking up….

49. @enuff

This will impact act a key source mark? Seems like 2007 repeating.

Bank of England Rate Move Could Affect Barbados

https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2022/08/04/bank-of-england-rate-move-could-affect-barbados/

50. Expected from a a fossilised critic cooped up aforeign ignorant of what she speaks.🤣