Submitted by Observing

So far for the year we have had a general election, back to school discussions and a few others in the thought space. Over the years from following BU and local print media it became obvious that certain topics generate an abundance of discussion, while others don’t.

Don’t get me wrong, to each his/her/their own, but, if we truly say we want to be a part of the discussion and debate, why is it that on matters of national importance (e.g. Food security or tertiary education) we get crickets…while on others like Rihanna’s belly or a Minister’s outside child or woman or man we have a spike in interest?

The ole Rum Shops were famous for men and women being willing to talk openly about anything even if they knew nothing about it. Distilled in those spirits and conversations were sparks of ideas and thoughts that could easily hold their own in any Parliament. But where has our national discourse gone?

We have a detached generation coming up, who, for the most part don’t care about civics, politics or politricks. They have enthusiasm and skills, but the environment doesn’t develop them.

Are we afraid to speak out? Are we being filtered? Is the media overly selective in what it covers or projects? Have we become apathetic and disengaged as has been suggested here?

Oh for the days of the figurative rum shop, where we could speak, argue, debate, learn, be wrong and strong and still return home as one family or community.

So, my question to the BU family is this. What matters most to you right now? What’s your opinion? What should we as a nation be discussing and debating? Let’s agree to disagree, let the comments flow and let’s rebuild the strength of conversation and communication on all things Bajan and Bajan developmental.

Hopefully those that have ears to hear will hear, and those that are worried about taking the lead will be empowered to hold the reins and ride. If they don’t…oh well. We can still drink Bush Tea, be Critical Analysers without being Johnnies until we have had Enuff of the Pedantic Dribbling and, whether our neighbours are Donnas, Walters, Williams, Angelas or Trons, we can put our Hants to the plough and enjoy a cold Miller beer afterwards while saying Cuhdear Bajans, leh we do better nuh.

Thank God (or the Creator) for this BU space.

Walk good ya hear!

198 responses to “What Matters to You???”

1. @Observing

Thanks

2. We have a detached generation coming up, who, for the most part don’t care about civics, politics or politricks. They have enthusiasm and skills, but the environment doesn’t develop them.
    Xxxc
    We have a generation of up and coming degenerates who doesn’t give a rats a.ss about civics or good goverance
    Just the wanting to know what is in ” it” for themselves and what ever “it” signifies or is justifiable in.keeping their well being alive and well
    It now makes for wonder how the social and economic interest of this country would ever survive at the hands of the “it” generation it is very hard not see a Barbados whose moral fabric is so destroyed that the damaged is beyond repair and a social environment completely turned a country into a social welfare state because of high levels of poverty and a tourism industry constantly bruised and battered by the repeating of more global meltdowns
    A Barbados once recognized as a gem becomes a melting rock tossed and turned back and forth like tumbleweed

3. In Bajan parlance, we have become so “touchous” and alas, have morphed into a society that is afraid to voice our opinion for fear of offending and being offended. I believe that this is because we have mirrored the antics of the leftist Democrats in the US where free speech is now qualified,…..

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Observing I question two points made above…

Re “The ole Rum Shops were famous for men and women being willing to talk openly about anything even if they knew nothing about it. Distilled in those spirits and conversations were sparks of ideas and thoughts that could easily hold their own in any Parliament. But where has our national discourse gone?”

Talking nuff when you know nothing about it is generally considered BS, not so!

Modern discourse is fuelled by levels of info never considered by those ole boys and girls … invariably back then some got hold of regional or other papers, or channel surfed the AM bands to be better ‘informed.

But the ones who imbibed lots of spirits and talked without knowing are the same blowhards we encounter across all generations in all eras!

They are the yardfowls and there are still lots of them in prominent posts all bout de place… seems to me!

Re “We have a detached generation coming up, who, for the most part don’t care about civics, politics or politricks. They have enthusiasm and skills, but the environment doesn’t develop them.”

That’s an interesting remark and u really need to provide some basis for that opinion because the basic anecdotal evidence refutes that completely!

In the absence of metrics to validate that changing dynamic you describe the fact that an 18 year old is being appointed to the Senate or the fact that there is still a robust youth parliament regionally or the fact that in some jurisdictions (ex Bim) very young people have won seats in their assemblies and others are challenging the old guard politicians suggest just the OPPOSITE…. Also the fact that youth get animated about the ‘green environment/climate change’ (on both side) and related matters puts a lie to that view!

Gen X have their issues as did we Baby Boomers had ours and as they came of age with all this prosperity it does give them a halo of apathy but that’s not really the case when one goes beyond that facade.

The actions in US with police racial tensions, actions in UK with the Euro fracture and across the world with aggressive sexual harassment issues actually show that this generation is taking no ‘prisoners’…. and are willing to get deeply involved in the issues.

They are aggressive and they organize across technology in a manner we never could . They are forging new partnerships and absolutely doing things in ways we find off-beat and even presumptious but they are absolutely not ‘detached’… at least no more so that I recall my parent’s generations labeling us !

A different set of observations, guy.

5. Sensimilla – YouTube

6. Get Off My Dick
    There’s too much ganbangin’ on Bu and we have to dead that shit before it gets real

G.O.M.D.

Money Power Respect

7. TOO MANY BAJANS ON THE 2×3 ISLAND ARE SO STUPID THAT IF A DOG COULD BE A CANDIDATE FOR THE BLP AT ELECTION TIME THE DOG WOULD BE VOTED IN INSTEAD OF A THIRD PARTY CANDIDATE.

LET THAT SINK IN.

8. What matters to the blogmaster:

How can the public be motivated to become more aware of its civic responsibility to holding public officials more accountable.
    How can we more aggressively educate the public about being sensitive to the environment. Hopefully life to see the implementation of a state of the art waste management system.
    An all out effort to give life to the rise of the entrepreneurial class.

9. @ David
    Rather than get here almost daily defending BS , you should be asking why the hell the damn politicians / government don’t run the country properly, something that you were calling on Stuart and Company to do every day for the better part of four years.
    Let’s hear you and others , who feel that people ignorant answer some basic questions:
    Where was the division that caused a general election in the middle of a pandemic;
    Why is the blasted cabinet still so frigging large;
    Why does the PM need three Ministers in her office;
    What is the PM ‘s Chief of Staff office going to cost the taxpayers;
    Why the hell she does not sit down with the Unity workers and bring the current impasse with nurses to an end
    Why she does not as Minister of Finance talk to us about the post COVID economic policy and stop hiding behind Persuad and Greenidge;(consultants)
    What was the cost of the Republic event/ events;
    Explain how we are going to build 10000 houses in three years;
    What were the achievements of the Blue economy ministry/ minister;
    When is she going to tell the whole truth about tourism;
    Please stop being such a weak apologist for the government
    The people are speaking out daily; they went to the polling stations and gave the PM , the mandate she asked for. What more do you want the people to do.
    You are bordering on intellectual criminality by bringing this tired worn out defense of this government.
    The people trying to get jobs; Making sure their children don’t starve out; paying 50/60 % of their meagre wages in exorbitant bus fares; seeing their children pay the price for the stupidity of the former Minister of Education who did not have a clue but preferred divisiveness and political stupidity .
    Change your propaganda.

10. Now that the God has been replaced by the creator
    The administration lead by the Supreme leader thinks it best not to have group pray or forms of assembly for pray in school but to replace pray with a new sophisticated coding word call ” mindfulness ”
    In a space of thee months Barbados becoming a Republic shades and influence of Chinese idealogy and propaganda is creeping slowly into the moral fabric of Barbados
    As a matter of fact the days of Barbados once being bold and steadfast being feeling secure in Christians doctrines and teachings is slowly coming to an end under this govt
    Who would have thought that even the name of God and pray would be used by a govt to cause division amongst the masses
    Truly I pray for this country called Barbados

11. “In a space of thee months Barbados becoming a Republic shades and influence of Chinese idealogy and propaganda is creeping slowly into the moral fabric of Barbados”

Suck it up

Africans are still in awe of Whitey and happy to eat shit

Falun Gong, which means “law wheel practice” in Chinese, is a set of meditation exercises and texts that preach the virtues of truth, benevolence and forbearance.

Falun Gong combines meditation and qigong (‘Qi/Chi cultivation’) exercises with a moral philosophy.

12. What matters most is this constant ongoing division in this country
    For the life of myself cannot understand how a govt can produced ideas and policies that can be effective in having division amongst the masses
    A govt that called an election during a pandemic
    A govt that thought it best to use the wealth of an individual to hand out a prestigious reward of heroism
    A govt that now steps on the feet of the Christian community causing feelings of hurt and dismay and division
    Pray tell what is govt purpose and haste in handing out divisonary tactics to it’s citizens

13. “A govt that now steps on the feet of the Christian community causing feelings of hurt and dismay and division”

if you feel that your religion and culture is threatened by new thinking then it cannot be much of a religion or culture

you are so negative you will always be behind like the D to the L to the P joke

14. We must develop a fit for purpose financial sector with a focus on people who want to take on risk – not another poorly managed BDB, a more venture capital type approach.

15. We must develop a fit for purpose financial sector with a focus on people who want to take on risk – not another poorly managed BDB, a more venture capital type approach.

Music is my occupation
    there is rich vein of music culture of African American, Jamaican, Black British, Afro Latino and African beat music to tap into
    Singing dancing playing of instruments and now electronic dance music production as other World music influences

16. R.I.P. D.L.P.
    1 month ago DLP were brimming with hope
    1 day later when the votes cast were counted
    their heads dropped and bottom lip started protruding
    they claimed it started raining when they cried their eyes out full of tears

17. David,

Good morning!

18. Both mainstream political parties, assisted by their supporters, have made a significant contribution to the ‘division’ in Barbados.

All one has to do is listen to VOB’s ‘Getting Down to Brass Tacks,’ and you’ll realize certain ‘regular callers,’ aided by certain moderators…….. or read the contributions of specific contributors to BU, and you’ll realise there is a deliberate attempt to promote the myth there’s a significant distinction between the BLP and DLP, while systematically politicizing EVERY issue presented for discussion, into BLP versus DLP scenarios.

They promote the ensuing conflict as an exemplification of the perceived differences, when, in actuality, there aren’t any fundamental political, ideological and philosophical differences between both political parties.

Surely those persons who are now ‘hypocritically’ talking about “the constant ongoing division in this country” and “division among the masses,” have purposely or conveniently ignored the fact that they didn’t “give a rats a.ss about civics or good governance” when their party was in ‘power,’ and must be held accountable for the role they played in contributing to the division as well.

19. SPEAKING ABOUT HOPE, THESE ARE MY SIMPLE THOUGHTS

“Which hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and stedfast, and which entereth into that within the veil;” Hebrews 6:19

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. In this you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trials, so that the tested genuineness of your faith—more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire—may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ. 1 Peter 1:3-6

Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ; Titus 2:13

20. It is a good morning Donna, back at you!

21. What were the third parties/ independent candidates endorsed by third parties offering besides the beating down of homosexuals? I “met” the Solutions Barbados endorsed candidate when he failed to acknowledge my presence in my own garage and invited those who were with me to his meeting. He sent me no circular to inform me of his policies. He arrived hours late for his meeting, my cousin whom he invited said, apparently he was sleeping, and my son heard him from my living room, ranting and raving about homosexuals and nothing much else. I have never heard of any community activities that he has ever done.

The next candidate I found out about only when David posted his name and face on BU. I had no communication from him. Heard of no meetings. I knew him not and I was never invited to get to know him.

Damn right if a dog had run for the BLP, I would have voted for that dog!

22. Meanwhile, Ms. Mottley is busy forging ties with Guyana and Suriname with an eyes to doing just what we keep saying should be done.

23. eye

24. @ Donna
    “Donna February 18, 2022 9:26 AM

Meanwhile, Ms. Mottley is busy forging ties with Guyana and Suriname with an eyes to doing just what we keep saying should be done.“

Nobody who believes in One Caribbean State will oppose that. It’s a position taken by Dr. Eric Williams and Errol Barrow for over sixty plus years.
    But frankly speaking you have o more than one occasion question Mottley’s judgement.
    @ Artax

One of the only persons on this blog, who is really fair and balanced when it comes to BLP DLP is @ Donna.
    She is very consistent and honest even down to whom she will vote or not vote for.
    She certainly is not prosecutorial demanding that whatever one writes must pass through some acid test.

25. I question Ms. Mottley because she, like all of us, needs questioning sometimes. And sometimes she needs a damn tongue-lashing.

She is human. And worse, she is a politician.

Gotta keep on her case or things will get out of hand very quickly!

26. I am fair and balanced because I see nothing to be gained by being anything else.

My concern is for Barbados. To be honest, my concern is the world. But I cannot do much about the world and so I focus on my little corner.

I may live in a state of comfort but I cannot be truly comfortable while others around me suffer.

Long time ago I asked the question-how could I be happy in heaven when my close family and friends are burning in hell?

Somebody said that we would remember none of our past life.

So…they still would be burning in hell but I would be unaware of the burning.

That did not satisfy me at all.

Thank God, I no longer believe in a lake of fire.

27. @ Mr. Skinner

I agree with you that Donna is usually fair and balanced in her opinions relative to the BLP and DLP. And, more often than not, I agree with her perspective on issues.

But, I’m sure you’ll agree that, according to the individual, being ‘fair and balanced’ can either be subjective or objective.
    For example, when someone professes to be ‘fair and balance’ as it relates to the ‘duopoly,’ but their criticisms focus on one particular party, then, that person is being ‘more or less,’ subjective.

However, as you know, I’m a bit ‘slow’ and therefore having some difficulty understanding why you’ve correlated Donna and her not being “prosecutorial demanding that whatever one writes must pass through some acid test,”……

…… with my contribution, which was about how some people’s agenda has now shifted to focusing on a ‘division’ that was already in existence and how they must accept responsibility for assisting the political parties they support, in its creation and promotion.

28. BUT… William, I do bear in mind that there will always be people who are suffering for various reasons and so I do not obsess. I switch off enough to enjoy my life as much as I can, knowing full well that if our positions were reversed, they would do the same.

29. Don’t have much to say about this coming together of “sort” between Barbados and Guyana
    Still trying to sort out all the promises made in reference to a fishing agreement between Trinidad and Barbados
    Seems as if I have heard all the same ole talking points before
    Also the one about a boat ferry shuttle which would help lower prices transporting traveller’s from one island to another
    Also Liat is still fresh in my mind
    Feeling a bit overwhelmed as u can see

30. @ Artax
    You are not slow by any standards. You and I share a very frank relationship on BU. I think you know what I mean. Take it easy-the road is long and winding.

31. Looking to the future Avatar
    Looking to the future

Re Ac and the reference to God removal from the charter and now prayers in school. Just be reminded that the religious groups in Barbados voted unanimously for the Government to achieve 30-0 again as I predicted. So please stop complaining. The CEO denies that they are removing prayers from schools. This is the trend in Barbados, test out issues, wait for the backlash and then back off implementing.

32. The ministry has explained the memo i.e. there is no attempt to remove God from prayers in the school. The chief education officer is on the radio as we write.

33. Re Ac and the reference to God removal from the charter and now prayers in school. Just be reminded that the religious groups in Barbados voted unanimously for the Government to achieve 30-0 again as I predicted. So please stop complaining. The CEO denies that they are removing prayers from schools. This is the trend in Barbados, test out issues, wait for the backlash and then back off implementing.
    Xxx
    Not complaining but observing a trend that chips away at freedoms and the moral compass of the country

34. I laugh when people keep moaning about taking God out of here and taking God out of there.

If these people were modelling whom they flap their gums about, God would not be missed out of schools or anywhere else.

When the young look to the churches and pastors who jump up and down about God, what do they see?

If they saw God in these people they would be flocking to the churches. There would be no need for government schools to dabble in religious instruction.

These young people smell hypocrisy a mile away. Prayers in school are a joke to many of them.

35. BTW do not believe that 39percent of the population not signifying the greater of the whole population is a desire of what the larger population is expecting of govt
    What does ” mindfulness ” mean is a questionwhich needs to be defined in its entirety as well as having a definition that does not excludes Christain principles founded on moral standards

36. “What does ” mindfulness ” mean”

you need to open your mind

religion is a personal mindset

not a national mandate

Studying other religions

is studying the world

What is Mindfulness?

Being mindful means living in the moment with acceptance.

the quality or state of being conscious or aware of something.

a mental state achieved by focusing one's awareness on the present moment, while calmly acknowledging and accepting one's feelings, thoughts, and bodily sensations, used as a therapeutic technique.

37. 555dubstreetFebruary 18, 2022 12:41 PM

“What does ” mindfulness ” mean”

you need to open your mind

religion is a personal mindset

not a national mandate

Studying other religions

is studying the world

What is Mindfulness?

Being mindful means living in the moment with acceptance.
    Xxxxxx
    OK
    Whatever that means

38. “OK
    Whatever that means”

it is not difficult to comprehend
    and it is total ignorance to be anti-something you don’t even understand

I guess you and John should be ignored when crap flows out your mouths

Daily Calm | 10 Minute Mindfulness Meditation | Be Present

39. mindful breathing
    i am breathing in
    i am breathing out

mindful walking
    i am lifting up my foot and moving it forward
    i am putting it down
    i am lifting up my other foot and moving it forward
    i am putting it down

mindful eating
    i am chewing my food
    i am tasting it’s flavour
    i am swallowing it down

40. Donna, you “laugh when people keep moaning about taking God out of here and taking God out of there.”

I, on the other hand, laugh at the level of HYPOCRISY on BU that’s currently being demonstrated by DISHONEST persons who, on one hand, have NOW found it CONVENIENT to keep moaning about God…….

…….. but, on the other, they are PREPARED to SACRIFICE CHRISTIAN PRINCIPLES and MORAL STANDARDS ‘on the alter of political expediency,’ by PURPOSELY misrepresenting facts, spreading LIES, using UNTRUTHFUL information that confirms their particular political biases and any other means necessary to PROMOTE their political party.

Yes, I agree….. “These young people smell hypocrisy a mile away.”

41. “I, on the other hand, laugh at the level of HYPOCRISY on BU that’s currently being demonstrated by DISHONEST persons who, on one hand, have NOW found it CONVENIENT to keep moaning about God…….”

it seems like a superstition
    by those imaging bad luck
    like end of the world
    hurricanes
    brimstone & fire
    lightning & thunder

DLP are Christian wingnuts now
    all doom & gloom

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Show concern when ya diplomats are involved in BIG SCANDAL and got recalled..

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William..a firestorm just hit youtube like gangbusters..platforms are on fire.

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So who was that notorious duo again, Dirty Harry, now deceased, and Tracksuit Top…

45. The blog is dominated by too much hogwash….simples.

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Enuff…why ya ain’t giving ya 2 cents worth on the Legal Fraternity thread..

47. EnuffFebruary 18, 2022 4:58 PM

The blog is dominated by too much hogwash….simples

Xxcccc
    The Parliament is dominated by a bunch of simpletons who allows the PM to create division amongst the people
    Think on that

48. “..who allows the PM to create division..”

You are the non-stop division
    moaning like an old ugly hag

When people say “Yes” they grow larger
    and challenges are smaller

When people say “No” everything is harder

49. “We can still drink Bush Tea, be Critical Analysers without being Johnnies until we have had Enuff of the Pedantic Dribbling and, whether our neighbours are Donnas, Walters, Williams, Angelas or Trons, we can put our Hants to the plough and enjoy a cold Miller beer afterwards while saying Cuhdear Bajans, leh we do better nuh.”

if you wants to be in the Bu hall of fame you have to die first that’s how you get respect for being great with haters

50. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Don’t have much to say about this coming together of “sort” between Barbados and Guyana”

and Suriname…they are back with that talk, hope they don’t reel in people to get stuck there for half century like those now reliant on taxpayers after working ALL THEIR LIVES THERE.., and were sent back when they were too old to work for low wages any longer, never had benefits, could not get married, did not know the language or culture and were never accepted in the Dutch society. or given Dutch status….but in 2018 people were being lured into that trap..

“The blog is dominated by too much hogwash….simples.”

the fowl jumped out all pumped up on a 230 million dollar Chinese loan, all lit up and excited..celebrated with words… simples…hogwash… so how many more loans for the “simples”

2 words…

repayment

when?.