Mia Mottley out-strategized all comers to win the recent general election by inflicting another 30-0 drubbing on a hapless Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The win is all the more incredible because it was achieved after a 3-year period of unprecedented economic challenges caused primarily by the ongoing pandemic AND the brought forward state of a weak economy.

Besides the chatter about the capacity of the DLP to reinvent itself to be seen as a legitimate choice of a government in waiting, the more immediate expectation is the shape of the new Cabinet and appointments to the Senate expected to be communicated this week. Prime Minister Mottley has signaled among other priorities this second tenure will focused on continuing transformative pursuits to improve how the country does its business.

In 2018 Mottley appointed 26 ministers with several parliamentary secretaries and consultants bolted on. That decision continues to evoke robust discussion pertaining to the insensitivity of the decision given the weak state of the economy. Mottley’s justification was that the perilous state of the economy and the workload required to rebuild the economy justified her decision. Her explanation was summed up in the phrase – many hands make light work. The blogmaster admits the mandate delivered last week probably had little to do with a large cabinet and more to do with a favourable perception of Mottley as leader of government at this time by voters compared to the alternatives on show. 

Political pundits argue Mottley had the difficult job of managing 30 members of parliament coupled with executing government business efficiently. It explains her contentious decision to have appointed 26 members to the 2018 Cabinet. This time around it will be interesting to observe if she repeats the decision- no doubt with the Kingmaker’s blessing- to reappoint a large Cabinet.

Political morality requires Mottley to think carefully about the optics of of another bloated Cabinet to satisfy political expediency at a time many Barbadians are suffering. Mottley is aware of the hospitality sector where employees in the thousands were sent home or suffered reduced pay, middleclass and senior citizens who had to suffer deep haircuts to nest egg investments as a result of the debt restructure and generally a workforce that continues suffer because of significant contraction in the economy are the key considerations. An important trait of a good leader is to make decisions to demonstrate empathy.

758 responses to “Did Many Hands Make Light Work?”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

So who on BU is celebrating the Fish & Dragon Chinese New Year Barbados…

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Start familiarizing yaselves with the different languages and dialects, ya never know..

“How many different types of Chinese language are there?

According to China Ministry of Education 中国语言文字概况 – 中华人民共和国教育部政府门户网站, China has more than 130 speaking languages and about 30 writing languages. As for the dialects of the Chinese language (the official language in China), they are usually divided into 7 categories: Northern Dialect. Wu Dialect. Xiang Dialect.”

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Ya don’t want to learn to speak your ancestral Afrikan languages or even know the real history, but may end up speaking Cantonese or Mandarin…lol

4. Drone (Tron's uncle) Avatar
    Drone (Tron’s uncle)

[were to have made way for initiates who would have been expected to lose and allow for a 27-3 HOA]
    What a load. 💩💩
    Does one think our Supreme Leader was sending her imported, on digital matters Minister McConney, her special advisor on key Poverty Alleviation Corey Lane, to the electoral guillotine? They are two strong supporters. Payne become a Pain and departed. Toppin retired. Clarke was sent to the frozen Tundra. King and Bostic you will see again in more suitable roles.
    There were NO expected losses. AND there were NONE.
    Her strength is such, she could have run YOU and won!!! (now there’s a scary thought)
    Long live our Supreme Leader.

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William… they can’t celebrate their own Afrikan history, culture or ancestry EVERY DAY….but look….but they got nuff talk for people who can and do…

6. @John January 24, 2022 3:28 PM “Mia’s HOA is once again barren.”

Many ways to get children. For example by adoption. Physical children, spiritual children, political children. All can be had by adoption.

“In love he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will . . . ”
    Ephesians 1:5

7. MOTTLEY has 112 thousand Instagram followers, De Peiza has 1463. MOTTLEY has 46 thousand Twitter followers, De Peiza has 102.

#justsaying

8. When it’s all said and done, I don’t even know my own native tongue. And if I can’t speak myself, I can’t think myself. And if I can’t think myself, I can’t be myself. And if I can’t be myself, I will never know me. So Uncle Sam, tell me this: If I will never know me, how can you?

9. “Black”
    Bless the body, born celestial. Beautiful and dark matter. Black is the color of my true love’s skin. Coils and hair catching centuries of prayers spread through smoke. You are welcome to come home to yourself. Let black be synonymous with glory.

“History”
    History is your future. One day you will meet yourself back where you started, but stronger.

“Journey”
    A journey is a gift. Something to offer at the door to the rooms of your mind. This is how we journey, far, and can still always find something like home. The great kings were here long before us. Ancient masters of celestial lore.

“Life”
    Life is a set of choices. Lead, or be led astray. Follow your light. Or lose it.

“Light”
    No true king ever dies. Our ancestors hold us from within our own bodies, guiding us through our reflections. Light refracted.

“Reflection”
    To live without reflection for so long might make you wonder if you even truly exist.

“Water”
    You’re swimming back to yourself. You’ll meet yourself at the shore. The coast belongs to our ancestors. We orbit; make joy look easy. Cutlass and calabash. Earth and womb. Lost languages spill out of our mouths.

“Black Is King”
    We have always been wonderful. I see us reflected in the world’s most heavenly things. Black is king. We were beauty before they knew what beauty was.

“Roots”
    Child of dust, return to the river. Your roots and your story will be reborn.

“God”
    Salutations to the survivors of the world. The elders are tired. To God, we belong. To God, we return. You find yourself in a room with all the people you lost, and you dance with joy as pure as your father’s face.

“Universe”
    When the wind kissed the trees, they sang melodies and the ancestors returned, smiling. Divine archetype, predecessor of light. You who were formed by the heat of the galaxy, who was dusted with a star, who has the universe in your eye, whose blood keeps the score of your blessings and trials.

“Ancestors”
    The Orishas hold your hand through this journey that began before you were born. We never forget to say thank you to the ancestors, noble and royal, anointed our blessings in the stars.

10. And how many Instagram and Twitter followers did Donald Trump have?

In any event isn’t Twitter the place where twits gather?

Lol!!!

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“In any event isn’t Twitter the place where twits gather?”

🤣🤣

could never grasp the obsession with having millions of followers..

12. @Simple Simon

Whether you approve or not Instagram and Twitter is where the young and professional class hang out. Facebook is old school.

13. Anyone listened to the opening from the PM this evening?

Here is the last paragraph of the BLP Win 30-0, Again – “The blogmaster congratulates the BLP on the win and offers the advice – to whom much is given, much is expected”

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

Left out….Caddle, Hinkson, Prescod and Duguid?

15. @NO
    Prescod and Hinkson weren’t in the last Cabinet
    The PM said Cinthy asked to be excluded (so why did she run)? Koochie Koo in the Senate

16. One more blp stalwart would be added to the senate. kahllee
    An amendment to the constitution would be discussed to give the 18 year old a seat in the senate

17. Cynthia Forde is holding St. Thomas for an anointed someone. The blogmaster is prepared to predict a by election in a year or two.

18. Congrats Khaleel who is obviously being groomed. He is a bright young man.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

Sarge…i meant left out period…not that they weren’t in the last. EH and TP will continue in whatever ambassadorial or other roles were created for them. MC and WD are the two with zero roles.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

How many Senators can be made Ministers? We have 3. Cannot recall more than 2?

21. Caddle got married recently. Duguid is winding down. It was a last minute decision to run/

22. @David January 24, 2022 5:46 PM “Facebook is old school.”

I haven’t looked at my Facebook page in more than 84 1/2 months. No, I am not curious to see who is there as I’ve always hated Facebook. I hope that nobody has been trying to reach me or to cuss me there. If s please note that I haven’t seen nor heard.

23. That’s SENATOR Koochie Koo to you!

I will certainly be listening! It seems Koochie is going to save us some scholarship funds by staying at home. Lol.

Did I miss Marsha Caddle’s name or did Ms. Mottley?

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

“an anointed someone”
    who isn’t returning to the Senate?

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, re The 2018 30-0 was a violent rejection of Stuart government. Are you so sure additional factors were not at play in 2022 the simplest answer is YES.

But those additional FACTORS were not so consequential to differentiate this next 30-0 thrashing!

Seriously bro, the DLP were as inept as in 2018 – more so really if u consider that after the first shellacking a DLP leader said basically that Bajans gave them a glorious whipping.

And re “Also what will two consecutive defeats do to the ability of the DLP to recover. Straight line analysis will not work.*

Well it’s always best to work in straight lines rather than circular ones. The DLP recovered from two bad defeats before, yes none like this … but recover they will.

Circular analysis is Isn’t there also a double dose of rejection handed to govt and dlp in this last election
    Hence the low turn out with Govt only managing to garnish 29.percent

Straight Line says u were terrible and de people know it, so get ur act fixed immediately and reestablish yourself as formidable guardians of our heritage.

It says plan to be back bt 2027 by having good people and policies properly ENUCIATED but expect a return to governance no earlier that 2031-32…

It says get your head from between your backside and be forceful without being fretful .

And it says stop blaming voter turnout and similar BS … It’s really quite simple bro…. lots of very hard work ahead for the long years in the wilderness !

26. She returned to the senate.

27. Ok, now who is going to form the opposition?

Without an opposition there can’t be a Parliament and without a Parliament a Cabinet is useless!!

28. @Dee Word

Had it not for the unfortunate statement from Stuart the DLP could have snared a couple seats. We will never know.

29. Please note AGAIN that I am NOT in favor of “light work” for Prime Ministers, Cabinet Ministers, Parliamentarians and other heavily paid government officials.

I expect them to work as hard as I have starting when I was 4 years old and continuing to the present.

30. Noted Mia said that the oppositions can send / offer their proposals as to who they want to be seated in Parliament
    My belief being that the one opposition who got the most votes during the election is privy to such offer
    Nevertheless Mia statement was one made in a pluralistic manner

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh dear 32 from 22 is ten… an 18 year old former Senator would then be a seasoned ‘parliamentarian’ and an experienced, articled 28 year attorney…

Oh dear, DLP could be out longer yah!

32. David,

What does getting married have to do with it? Is this 1952?

Lisa Cummins also got married recently.

Do you mean that she is starting a family?

But Mia specifically said to “give” her Marsha because she needs her to work on her team wrt economics.

33. @Dee Word

It is obvious what Mia is doing. She has a succession plan in place, constituencies earmarked etc. In the meantime what is the leaderless DLP upto besides tossing sour grapes?

34. @David
    Caddle got married recently.
    +++++++
    What? What an insult to the millions of married women who handle both home and office daily; Is her conjugal duties going to get in the way of a Ministry?

BTW Mottley said she will consult with the Opposition Part(ies) that contested the last Election to determine the two Senators for the Opposition, maybe the DLP will get one, watch out for Senator GP2

35. @Donna

What is so difficult to understand about a newly wed woman preferring to spend precious time with her husband above career? She is a young woman, she will bounce back if she wants. Because Lisa Cummins took a different path so?

36. I have no problem with a young voice in the Senate. It will be interesting listening to Koochie Koo, I am sure.

37. William Skinner Avatar

II actually heard that the Prime Minister is to have her own Chief of Staff with his own staff?
    If I did ,I think this is a great move. I don’t know how all the previous prime ministers survived without aChief of Staff.
    It’s a great development.
    Anybody knows the cost of this new outfit ? I honestly don’t think it will cost much.
    I also welcome young Kothdiwala. It is always good to amend or change rules to accommodate a young, non-partisan youth to represent such an innovation.
    Great stuff.

38. @Sargeant

Nonsense.

The bligmaster is aware of many women and men who placed family ahead of career especially early in the relationship. The blogmaster is speculating. It maybe she was fired.

All you criticized the last bloated cabinet, she slims it down and what are the responses?

39. “You can’t wear a crown with your head down, I can’t say I believe in God and call myself a child of God and then not see myself as a God. That wouldn’t make any sense. I wear my Nefertiti chain every day. I never take it off. I know my history. I did my research. I’m a creator of all things.”

40. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Maybe Caddle was left out to work on securing future NIS contributions.

Do you expect to always put the NIS contributions on the backs of the poor people. It is time the well paid married couples concentrate more on making at least 3 or 4 babes to help the NIS?

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

As one ages, everybody looks younger. So, Marsha Caddle looks like a very young person to me. But one of the older teens that pass through my place occasionally, said one day to me “she en sah young hear, she has a daughter my age”. And that was BC…before Covid. True or false?

42. @CA

Good point. Unless she asked to be left out or is being disciplined there must be something in store. It will come out in the wash.

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, _”It is obvious what Mia is doing. She has a succession plan in place, constituencies earmarked etc. In the meantime what is the leaderless DLP upto besides tossing sour grapes?”^

Brother, u can see that as clear as day, @NO, Hants, Sarge and crew undoubtedly can, so to @Theo despite his feigning poll box ignorance and @Donna and all the smart-as-tail others here too !

Yet the DLP and the agent here @AC acting like Stevie Wonder … blindly singing their favorite tunes but freaking LOST in this new landscape!

I wish our NATION well… this Kothilda dynamic is the stuff of lore to be made… no joke bro… u know the DT story and along with that was an accompanying Mia, Liz, Commissiong (and others too like Thorn, Hinkson,Topping) who came of age together … so let’s look for the others around Kothilda!

Long live Bim!

44. @NO

44 years old is relatively young.

45. @Dee Word

See how Mia is grooming the pups with experience agents like Liz, Jerome in the Senate etc.

46. @David
    All you criticized the last bloated cabinet, she slims it down and what are the responses
    ++++++
    Who is questioning the size of the Cabinet? “NO” made the observation that Caddle was left out of the Cabinet and you responded with the marriage quote, now yuh like yuh got clothes hang out and expecting rain.

47. Don’t split hairs Sargeant. Former ministers has to be dropped if she wanted to reduce the cabinet. We are all speculating.

48. The Cabinet is a red herring, it is useless without a Parliament!!

49. Forget the Cabinet.