Submitted by Paula Sealy

The current administration has invested in the media and media personnel has invested in the Mottley administration. Some media practitioners were forced out of CBC and landed at Starcom. But some of the others are riding the fatted calf for all it is worth. (David Thompson spoke of the fatted calf being shared among the DLP members after the elections in 2008. Fourteen years later we are still there.)

They may be professionals but how many of their statements in the print media, behind a microphone or in front of a TV camera were motivated by a political agenda or professional integrity.

The Market Vendor aka Vic Fernandes has been used to influence the public with comedy and encourage John Public to rail against individuals and groups with views against the government of the day. Don’t forget when the vendor lambasted the DLP government.

Corey Layne was said to be an objective moderator on the airwaves. Any person who is a critical thinker must question that thinking by now.

We must be more aware of what is being put out by the media, who is the source and why news items are considered newsworthy or not.

Pay attention to where these people have turned up…

1. David Ellis, Starcom (Station Manager, Retired) – COVID-19 Public Advisor (Sep. 2021-present)

2. Sanka Price, Starcom/NATION (News Editor) – CEO, Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (2020.06.15-present)

3. Roy Morris, Barbados Today (Editor-In-Chief) – Press Secretary to the Prime Minister

4. Vic Fernandes, Capital Media (Chairman)

• Chairman, Grantley Adams International Airport (2018-2021)
  • Chairman, Barbados National Oil Company Limited (2021.07.01-present)
  • Member, National Cruise Development
  • Commission (2018.08.16-2019.02.15)

5. Carol Roberts-Reifer, Starcom (Radio Personality)

• CEO, National Cultural Foundation (2018-present)
  • Deputy Chairperson, Board of Management, Christ Church Foundation School (2018-present)

6. Corey Layne, Starcom (Radio Personality) – BLP Candidate, City of Bridgetown, 2022

215 responses to “BLP and DLP Governments Use Media Practitioners for Propaganda”

1. The issue of Lucille Moe being a close friend of Prime Minister Mottley and there having been a falling out exposed by her lengthy absence from the Senate should be a political issue. Instead the other main political party has grabbed her for her political acumen and insider knowledge and as they say – that is all she wrote.

This is how we do things in Barbados.

2. That is a list comprising of Friends and Families
    The people were fed a bowl.of political poop in the last election
    BTW what happened to David Ellis another addition at tax payers cost for doing nothing

3. Now THAT is a good question? Is David still on the payroll?

Food for thought, Paula!

Lucille said it is not about money. It is about “knowing what [one] is worth” (whatever that means).

4. @Donna

Until the truth surfaces, if it ever does the blogmaster dismisses that sound bite as bollocks!

5. angela cox January 7, 2022 6:19 AM

That is a list comprising of Friends and Families
    The people were fed a bowl.of political poop in the last

######################

ac uh gine jog yuh memory uh bit.

Doug Hoyte
    Maxine McClean
    Maureen Holder
    Steve Blacket
    Tony Marshall
    Akintoolove Corbin
    Dr. Don Marshall

There is another one that uses tuh work at the Advocate, can’t remember the name now, but he was a tall fella dat uses to give Arthur nuff licks.

6. It is about โ€œknowing what [one] is worthโ€ (whatever that means).

Reporters do not write their own opinions, they are give assignments from their bosses for specific agendas in order to receive paycheques and job promotions
    x
    Making History Vs. March Down Babylon
    In UK people in Bristol who dumped Edward Colston into the river as a #BLACKLIVESMATTER protest were cleared of all charges
    Defense claimed Colston committed hate crimes and the accused were fighting for racial justice rectifying History
    Prosecution, UK Government, Home Secretary and Media claimed he was a philanthropist and Tory Member of Parliament and
    the accused were activist thugs trying to cancel History

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDlGzVqTv6o&list=OLAK5uy_n-GiFHS123faD2Y60jFzbZmm5hnv3F734

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, why is the Moe matter of such concern!

I don’t want to be accused of ‘what-aboutism’ buuutttt… hasn’t Henry been a political adviser between the two main parties continually for years…. wasn’t he a BFF with our deceased PM (the one who went to school with his sister ๐Ÿ˜‡) and now one to this PM!

There was some validity to Wickham’s view that Moe is a professional pollster earning a fee for advice offered, not so! …. She (acc. to Wickham) like Henry has worked across the region on campaigns … so what’s really the big deal!

Note also tho that he said that in her recent campaigns she has been on the losing side … did she help the losers increase share ! Surely that could be the only reason for her engagement by DLP!

Anyhow, I recall way back then when a PM first got a Press Secretary … do you remember when Don Norville had the role.

Looka, it’s a ticklish thing when supposedly objective news media folk are considered partisan BUT we need to be very real here….

EVERY newsperson or paper has bias BUT that must not affect NEWS gathering and reporting.

The political bias is shown (and can be) on the editorial pages.

So the fact that Morris is now the PM press secretary surely looks off considering his editorial/leadership roles in our media but does that mean he influenced NEWS to the BLP’s advantage as a media practioner!!!

Wasn’t Harold Hoyte’s Nation supposedly slanted towards one party … do you recall him battling Tom on TV eons ago! ….He also battled Dipper as purposefully … I really cared little about his personal choices as long as he offered that strong OBJECTIVE news coverage.

Similarly I always perceived Ellis as being objective … so now he is in another role and that’s done.

And what about ‘our man in NY’ the Nation’s Editor there! Isn’t he aligned to one party more than the other … are we to look askance at his NEWS reporting!!!!

Simply stated our news folks vote too … so since the days of the senior Wickham, Cozier, Hinds, Grosvenor et al they all had their political biases so it was and will ALWAYS be that “We must be more aware of what is being put out by the media, who is the source and why news items are considered newsworthy or not.”

Lata.

8. @Dee Word

Moe has been promoted as more than Henry in this scenario. So much so she was made a minster of government and appointed Senator.

9. Frank’s post illustrates why the choice is always the ‘lesser’ of two evils. Examples and counterexamples proliferate.

Sometimes it is the same example as illustrated by Maloney.

10. Light

Would you like to create more connection and strength in your core?

Circle:

Yes

Or

No

While todayโ€™s session successfully targets the full abdominal wall, it is not just about your physical core muscles.

Your daily practice is also a tool to guide and help you distill your core values.

โ€œReally?โ€

Yes.

Shine a little light in the dark places today.

Connect or reconnect with what matters most.

Or as the great Mary Oliver once put it,

Be ignited, or be gone.

Iโ€™ll meet you there.

11. Paula says both parties but her list looks like a media REDwash.

Just observing

12. @Observing

To be fair to David Ellis he was a known to be a disciple of the late Branford Taitt.

13. As enzymes John Knox, Angela Cox and African Publishing Copywrong would say

“BU is where you come to on the regular when you feel like having a really Big Dump, before a poo”

14. Since, the article is entitled, “BLP and DLP Governments Use Media Practitioners for Propaganda,” I was looking for a COMPARATIVE ANALYSIS of how BOTH mainstream political parties use media practitioners for their benefit, so as to facilitate a rational, reasonable and BALANCED debate on the issue.

Instead, the author has given us ‘one side of the story,’ which some people may interpret as an attempt to purposely steer the discussion in one direction.

In all fairness, if we use the definition of ‘media practitioner’ in its intended context, then, David Ellis, Sanka Price, Roy Morris, Vic Fernandes and I believe Frank was referring to Ruedon Eversley, could be categorised as such, while Carol Roberts-Reifer and Steve Blackett were essentially ‘disc jockies’ who read the news occasionally and the other were simply ‘talk show’ hosts.

Interesting, the author wrote, “Corey Layne was said to be an objective moderator on the airwaves. Any person who is a critical thinker must question that thinking by now.”
    Maxine McClean, Tony Marshall and Maureen Holder, were also deemed to be ‘balanced and objective’ during the time they hosted ‘call-in-programs’ on either VOB or CBC. I’m sure a “critical thinker” would’ve likewise questioned that thinking as well.

I’ll REFER the usual suspects to take my OPENING PARAGRAPH into consideration, before they ‘spin’ my comments to mean I’m ‘defending the duopoly’ or ‘saying,’ “if one party do it, the other party could do it too.”

15. William Skinner Avatar

And the whatever goes on and. on All this is :pot calling kettle black.
    This BS has been going on for four decades plus.
    No wonder the Blogmaster whining that he losing interest.
    Crocodile tears to full up a river.
    Hypocrisy , deceit and sophisticated political deception will reveal themselves.
    This is not about people coming from under some rock revealing themselves.
    This is about the frigging rock moving and they canโ€™t hide anymore. COVID got us uh exposed โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ
    Blasted apologists, propagandists and obstructionists .
    Who all yuh tink wunnuh fooling
    Shameless pathetic minions of the BLP and DLP

16. We continue to circle the mulberry bush. It is fair to conclude after years of observing the fourth estate conducting its business in Barbados that there is a lot room for improvement. Does the media deliver on the mandate of the fourth estate?

Agree with you the author could have been more balanced in the presentation. Instead it will become the usual DLP BLP jostling.

17. @ David BU

Contributors such as Donna, Mr. Skinner, Miller, NorthernObserver, John A, Dr. GP and even Theo (when he is serious), have been commenting on the level of discussion in this forum.

Sometimes you make a statement and would ask us to comment for ’10 marks.’

In all seriousness, let’s assume you were teacher and among the topics listed on a CXC English Language examination paper for discussion for 20 marks, was โ€œBLP and DLP Governments Use Media Practitioners for Propaganda,โ€ and a student submitted this article as his/her answer.

How many marks would award him/her?

18. @Artax

The blogmasterโ€™s earlier recognized your feedback the author could have been more balanced with the content. The good thing about BU forum contributors punch holes in the submission AND add to it by way to quality comments.

19. I am pleasantly ‘ surprised ‘ that Paula omitted to mention the political leaning / bias of David BU…..towards the political party that begins with the letter ” B ” !

Over to you David……

20. @Fractured BLP

Your girl Dawn Marie holding lashes.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, I disagree. …. The author made their fundamental point that we have to be more critically aware of how we accept our NEWS, analyze sourcing and examine why stories are reported as newsworthy

That is and has ALWAYS been true!

The fact as @Observing first noted, that her examples of media folks trended BLP does NOT defy or deny that premiss.

As you and others noted that has been so all our lives so unless my fellow Bajans are now absolutely clueless about this matter of media folks and affiliation to a party … that is NOT the point of interest.

The Advocate’s editorial page always spoke a certain way under the previous owners. ….. CBC spoke for the government of the day. …. The Nation did their opinion bias on their editorial page too as does Barbados Today now.

Didn’t the TnT Express do the same; didn’t the Gleaner or NYT or The Guardian or Murdock’s News of the World as doea his WSJ, do that now too!

Stop it folk. Political bias is there for all too see … who want to see with eyes wide open … the question always is: did our media people directly and deliberately affect NEWS reporting to suit their political party??

Did the Advocate or Nation NOT publish news worthy data about who killed Pele or Mark Stokes because someone whispered in the publisher’s ear not to … I don’t think so although that may be 5% possible.

So Stop it … unless folks are saying that these people -those who we KNEW were directly party affiliated and those like an Ellis or Eversley who we didn’t know – SLANTED the news to manipulate and mamiguy Bajans!

Or did they give us balanced NEWS while offering their biased political OPINIONS otherwise … the two things are NOT incompatible as much as some want to imply!

So can we please be serious and not just be scandalous for its sake…. news gathering/reporting is a serious business … those folks can ‘post’ any OPINION -like we do here- in their paper for a hit but NEWS post requires an even hand.

We should try that ‘news’ thingy more often!

22. William Skinner Avatar

How much marks should we give a topic addressing a strike like this:
    โ€œ Strike Action During A Pandemic ! โ€œ
    Letโ€™s also ask : What was the purpose of the exclamation mark ?
    Did the nurses strike because there is a pandemic?
    Have the nurses problems been known before there was a pandemic ?
    So, as always : we cannot plant okra and reap corn.

This was unfortunately mistakenly sent to another thread. My apologies.

23. Lesson for D-m A

24. @ David

The political meetings have begun and the only feedback the ‘yard-fowls’ are bringing to BU, is the shiite talk.

Absent for discussion is each party’s socio-economic polices.

25. Has Bu’s social experiment and Mia’s reelection gone tits up and horribly wrong

A poll of recent Bu comments show Buers are swinging their genitals towards DLP

will this trend be extrapolated across the nation

DLP can promise the moon for votes on the basis that they want to win as many seats as possible but will not necessarily win power

26. Artax,

Man hush yuh mout! De PM promise tuh save me $250 in Land Tax.

My son is promised $3000 when building his house.

Price of my vote – $325o.

Ain’t dat enough socio-economics for you?

Oh dear!

27. Bajan masses tend to make protest votes and trust no one

28. Bajan population tend to make protest votes
    and trust no one

29. @Dee Word

The blogmaster does not see traditional media as a benchmark to aspire – at all!

There is a reason why the vacuum tossed up fora of which BU is a part.

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Who are these โ€œ yardfowls bringing โ€œ shite talk to BU ? Everything is going forward as usual.
    Nothing new here.
    Objective contributors are still asking :
    1. What are the issues in this campaign?
    2. Where is the division in the country?
    3. Why was an election called at this time
    4. Are we going to see a vast number of citizens disenfranchised by not being able to vote.
    BTW, I donโ€™t think that either party has any remedies for carrying Barbados forward.
    A protest vote for the Coalition will be the only genuine path to take .
    At this point in time, I personally will have great difficulty in voting for B or D.
    Conclusion:
    At this time, the public consensus seems to be that the BLP will win the contest again and the DLP may gain some seats. That being done, the status quo will be firmly in place for another five years.
    We still will not know why an election was called; nobody will have pointed out the great divisions and there will have been no campaign issues .
    Business as usual , however we try to cut it; slice it and dice it.

31. @ Donna yuh selling yuh vote too cheap. lol

3250 BBD
    2041 CAD
    1610 US

32. @Artax

Release of the manifestos due this weekend.

33. @ William Skinner wrote:

What are the issues in this campaign?
    Where is the division in the country?
    Why was an election called at this time.

Reasonable questions for the government to answer.

34. Donna

And the DEM promised to rempve UR sewage tax

Hiw much is that worth for UR vote?

#voteapp?

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Granted @David … the standards NOW properly seen as exhibited from 4thEstate are not “benchmarks to aspire “.

But neither are those now been presented in the “fora of which BU is a part” aspirational.

Despite all our harsh talk this blog is MILD compared to most others …

But yet even here a blogger goes after the first Black US president with some of the most demeaning and unnecessarily nasty language … we have blatant lies posted and when shown as false the info is simply reposted differently and the person showing the falsehood cussed rough, rough!

At least in the traditional 4thEstate we didn’t see much of that sausage making process!

I would say it’s what it is, but the wise @Vincent corrected me the other day that it’s what people make of it and not a matter simply of fate.

So it will be … a lot of very messy, stomach turning, raw stuff to produce this new brand of sausage!

36. @Dee Word

Not sure why so many of you are distracted by fringe commentary. Once you understand the psychology of a person and the motive driving the behaviour the rest is easy.

37. @ David,

Media practiitoners in tiny likkle Barbados are family and or friends of politicians or their friends.and family.

38. @@Hants

Wishing upon a star?

39. So David BU

Your newest target is Dawn Marie Armstrong’s comments on the DLP platform, last Wednesday night.

We on this platform ( at least most of us ) know you are a man who like to go back into your archives.

That being the case, how did Ms Armstrong’s comments measure up to actions / utterances against the following persons:
    Liz Thompson’s – cut lass wielding actions on the BLP platform ?

Liz Thompson’s comments about David Thompson’s DLP members that they must be sent to Greenland dump !

William Duguid’s comments on the floor of Parliament – ” haul yuh mudder c#nt” !
    Kerrie Symmonds comments about PM Stuart – ‘ Rat Botsie ‘ comments !

Liz Thompson , William Duguid & Kerrie Symonnds…..are still prominent members & speakers on the BLP platform…..in January 2022 !

David, go to your archives….and publish the apologies of the 3 BLP members above .

Why demonise Dawn Marie ?

40. @Fractured BLP

The same.

Hopefully young Dawn Marie would have learned to avoid emulating politicians displaying unworthy behaviour in public.

41. David,

Unchallenged fringe commentary grows wings and flies.

42. William Skinner January 7, 2022 11:01 AM #: “How much marks should we give a topic addressing a strike like this:
    โ€œStrike Action During A Pandemic!”.”

@ Mr. Skinner

Since I’m the person who mentioned something about “marks,” I’ll answer the question by first ‘saying,’I don’t understand where you’re going with your line of argument, because one cannot give ‘marks’ on a topic alone. It would have to be followed by a series of comments, i.e. essay, article etc.

To my mind, marks given to the topic you presented, would DEPEND HEAVILY on how an individual structures and writes about the subject and when completed, if it is ENTIRELY balanced and relevant to the topic.

43. John 2,

The DL who?????

44. On FB, I watched some of the BLP speakers on Thursday and some of the DLP on Wednesday.

In 2018, there seem to be a gap between the two parties in the use of social media; however, this time the gap is not so apparent. To my surprise, when I watched the DLP had a larger online audience.

45. Poor level-headed Artax! It must be hard to be you!

“NEVERTHELESS [HE] PERSISTED!”

46. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2021. All Rights Reserved

William…do you have any idea how many people are trying to drag me into that mess, the rumors are endless, don’t even know why they would think it’s a good idea., i barely have time for what am doing right now, will just shut off contacts for the next 6 months of fallout….the horror of being a participant in any way is too much even for me…the wise would run in the next direction.

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    I just wondered how many marks would have been given for such a heading which in my opinion attempted to align the nurses well known grievances with a pandemic that arrived donkey years after the nurses grievances were known. In other words , the pandemic was not a consideration by the nurses or their union in pursuing justice.
    It attempted to convey that the nurses chose to strike during a pandemic.
    The heading therefore in my opinion was a deliberate attempt to undermine the strike. The subliminal message was sent at the very beginning. I therefore concluded that writerโ€™s wishy washy concerns that followed were nothing but crocodile tears.
    It was therefore nothing more than sophisticated propaganda designed to disrupt and cast doubt on the genuine efforts of Mr. Franklyn and his union.

48. William Skinner January 7, 2022 11:44 AM #: “Who are these โ€œ yardfowls bringing โ€œ shite talk to BU ? Everything is going forward as usual. Nothing new here.”

@ Mr. Skinner

Read Fractured BLP January 7, 2022 12:30 PM contribution,

Perhaps I should remind him of Lionel Craig’s ‘let all uh DEM starve’ comment, “Kerrie Symmonds comments about” “ten tons of blubber’ and his ‘cuhdear’ while crying performance; or Owen Arthur calling DEM ‘wild boys’ and that Parliament was ‘poor rakey.’

Constructive political debate dealing with the issues.

So far, he and angela cox ‘came out of the blocks’ ahead of the BLP crew. Coxy says she’s bowling like Charlie Griffith on other social media platforms and knocking over the BLP stumps. Waiting on the rebuttals.

However, on a serious note, the possibility exists that, the desire for a ‘strong opposition,’ may result in the DLP winning 30-0 as well.

As we all know, there isn’t any collaboration between voters on how they will vote.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    I am just enjoying how the propagandists on both sides are promoting their defense of the establishment. What absolutely fascinates me is that both the Bees and Dees feel they can fool everybody.
    Shameless.