What Divides Us?

Submitted by Observing

“In her address explaining the decision to hold the election, Mottley called on the people of Barbados to “unite around a common cause, unite behind a single government, unite behind a single leader.” She added that she did not want Barbados to be a “divided nation.”

But what divides us?

1. Calling a snap election 18 months before time, knowing for sure that a Covid wave was starting and that thousands would contract it.
  2. Laying in a king sized bed with all Unions to blunt their voices, link hands with Capital and disadvantage workers at will
  3. Not consulting with the professionals at BAMP on travel protocols, election protocols or any other recent protocols
  4. Staging a puppet show called a Social Partnership meeting to pillory, criticise and condemn ordinary hard working nurses AND THEN docking their salaries despite recent precedent.
  5. Paying late salaries, no severance, and arrears to the average man and pensioners in bonds…while Mark Maloney gets a 10 million blank check, Abeds gets all of his stock bought and all Ministers, consultants, special advisors, Parliamentary Secretaries, “Ministers in the Ministries of” and Permanent Secretaries in the largest Cabinet ever get paid on time with perks and allowances
  6. Introducing medical marijuana for Herbert’s Redland Farms and Canadians, but leaving out the rasta and the Afro-Barbadians who suffered, were fined and locked up most for it
  7. Giving no-tender contracts to “a certain Mark” and then claiming “special circumstances”
  8. Silencing opposing or critical voices by appointing them as advisors through the politics of inclusion and delusion
  9. Talking down to the average man because he can’t spell “remdesivir”
  10. Rushing to a Republic without a referendum, without a revised constitution and with “a Creator” instead of “God”
  11. Blaming “Brandy and Punany” for Covid when it was the unnamed Platinum Coast that deserved the blame
  12. Telling 6 year olds to tell their parents if they don’t vaccinate them then they don’t care about them
  13. Refusing to give a budget statement to explain to the average man where we are and where we are going given everything that is going on
  14. Disenfranchising the constitutional right of 2000-4000 people who now cannot vote, because they have Covid through no fault of theirs.

There are many more general and personal examples but time is short. It is abundantly clear that with a 30-0 / 29-1 government any tough decisions that need to be made can be made. It is also clear that the apathy, frustration, mistrust and disillusionment among enough of the electorate is very real. It is even more clear that we are where we are on January 6 with 1000+ new cases and climbing out of political expediency and individual concern, rather than the same national concern that was stated. We get the government (and opposition) that we deserve.

Will the real leaders please stand up?

108 thoughts on “What Divides Us?

1. Great article Observing

May I add to you list

PM Mottley paying $ millions of tax payers funds to police officers – who prior to her clandestine action – lost their case TWICE in the Law Courts of Barbados !

So not even the court decisions does PM Mottley ….
    RESPECT !

So what can the striking nurses expect ?

Sad

2. Observing is a “D”?

Xxxxxxxxxx

DOES THE TRUTH HAVE TO BE EITHER A DLP OR BLP?

RESPONSE SHOWS TYPICAL 2 2X3 ISLAND MENTALITY.

THAT IS WHY POLITICAL NEW BLOOD IS LONG PAST OVERDUE UNLESS THE ISLAND WANTS TO REMAIN IN PERPETUAL MENTAL SLAVERY AND CONTINUE NOT DEALING WITH TRUTH INSTEAD OF DEFLECTING FROM TRUTH AND REALITY ON THE GROUND.

3. @BAJE January 6, 2022 6:48 PM “DOES THE TRUTH HAVE TO BE EITHER A DLP OR BLP?”

No. The truth does not have to be either B nor D.

It can be: Neither.
    It can be: Both.
    It can be None.

Happy now?

4. Nobody has given a plausible reason for calling an election 18 months before it is due when you have a 29 to 1 Cabinet and a bariffle of highly educated professional consultants.

5. @ Fractured BLP January 6, 2022 6:16 PM

There is some merit in your criticism.

That politically-orchestrated out-of-court settlement only contributes to the further undermining of the integrity of the judicial system.

Why wasn’t a similar ‘reconciliatory’ approach taken with regard to the long list of overdue grievances held by the striking nurses?

Didn’t Bostic and his school and army buddy Franklyn reach some kind of entente cordiale which was not pursued in any productive manner for a meaningful resolution but dismissed in a most dictatorial fashion by the Frau Fuhrer?

Instead of downright bullying of employees is ‘motivation in the workplace’ no longer a guiding management practice and IR principle?

What you, ‘Fractured’, should be highlighting is the dud of evidence of corruption contained in the Big Red Bag designed in May 2018 but which has turned out to be a mere balloon of hot air ripe for the bursting.

No wonder the likes of Sharmout Lashes, Bulldog Eastwick and the down-lowe Dennis can waltz right back on to the electoral stage as if MAM’s May 2018 performance was a mere pantomime put on by the Bajan duopoly of political monkeys!

6. “Calling a snap election 18 months before time, knowing for sure that a Covid wave was starting and that thousands would contract it.”

I’ve been hearing this discussion, which some people described as political rhetoric, when examined objectively.

I’ve also read that, even if an effective vaccine is found, COVID-19 will be with us for the foreseeable future, at least for the next five years and we are going to have to learn to live with it.
    The resident BU COVID-19 ‘experts and conspiracy theorists’ have also been articulating a similar opinion.

If we believe this to be true, then, doesn’t the possibility exists that calling the general election in 2023 when it is constitutionally due, would be likewise calling it during the pandemic?

Another thing, I find interesting is that, during the lockdowns, people were advocating for retail outlets to be opened to everyone, which saw customers forming extremely long queues at supermarkets on a DAILY BASIS. The lines at Popular Kendal Hill, for example, extended pass RUBIS gas station and almost to the highway.
    A few weeks ago I went to a polyclinic to collect medication for a relative. Upon my arrival, I was given ticket # 384, when #339 was being serviced.

Additionally, during the curfew months, people were not only ignoring the curfew hours, but the COVID-19 protocols as well. For example, the private PSV operators continue to overload their ‘ZRs’ and mini buses with passengers, many of which are not equipped with sanitizers; people still continue to engage in ‘social gathering’ on the block, under trees or at shops, bars and various ‘speak easys’ for extended periods of time.

Isn’t the voting process much quicker than purchasing items at supermarkets, collecting medication, standing in a SurePay line to pay bills or drinking beers at a bar for several hours?

Just observing as well.

7. Hants c’mon. Plausible? The PM needs to enact “structural reforms” (doan axe me wha dat is) The ‘belief’ is the people, might not like these tummuch. So in 18 mumphs from now, the B’s popularity may not be as high as it is now. So strike while the iron is hot, take the lead from UWU, and seek to secure a term extension now. Not only plausible, but also probable.
    But doan mine me, listen to Dr Eswick and crew, they have Solutions which do not require Structural Reform.

8. The author obviously hates independent, self-confident, dynamic women. I will comment on this with selected examples. Personally, I am glad that we finally have a female prime minister. Male prime ministers have done enough damage since 1966. They have fathered children out of wedlock, just as their white masters taught them on the plantation. No more of that now. Our Prime Minister is married to Barbados alone and needs no men. She has finally emancipated Barbadian women.

“Laying in a king sized bed with all Unions to blunt their voices, link hands with Capital and disadvantage workers at will”
    The first government that does not kiss the ass of the union leaders and their lazy members.

“Not consulting with the professionals at BAMP on travel protocols, election protocols or any other recent protocols.”
    Why should our government consult xenophobic quacks? The black BAMP bureaucrats only aim to discriminate against white tourists.

“Paying late salaries, no severance, and arrears to the average man and pensioners in bonds…while Mark Maloney gets a 10 million blank check, Abeds gets all of his stock bought and all Ministers, consultants, special advisors, Parliamentary Secretaries, “Ministers in the Ministries of” and Permanent Secretaries in the largest Cabinet ever get paid on time with perks and allowances.”
    Our government rewards the high performers in society and punishes the non-performers.

“Giving no-tender contracts to “a certain Mark” and then claiming “special circumstances”
    Maloney is a white shadow and therefore untouchable.

“Rushing to a Republic without a referendum, without a revised constitution and with “a Creator” instead of “God”
    Barrow adopted the white oppressor system in 1966. Our Supreme Leader emancipated the masses from British rule.

“Telling 6 year olds to tell their parents if they don’t vaccinate them then they don’t care about them”
    Unvaccinated fatalities are mere collateral damage.

“Refusing to give a budget statement to explain to the average man where we are and where we are going given everything that is going on”
    The IMF sets the budget, not the people.

9. @ Richard*

“THAT IS WHY POLITICAL NEW BLOOD IS LONG PAST OVERDUE UNLESS THE ISLAND WANTS TO REMAIN IN PERPETUAL MENTAL SLAVERY AND CONTINUE NOT DEALING WITH TRUTH INSTEAD OF DEFLECTING FROM TRUTH AND REALITY ON THE GROUND.”

————————————-

You kept Jerking-off this notion. Are you an escrow candidate????

10. @Artax
    While the actual voting process on the day of itself will be very safe. The problem will come with the two weeks of activity including, the bundling up of election workers, the intermingling of constituents, the car pooling to and from meetings, the many close discussions among friends, families and co-workers and all other natural behaviours that occur around this time. Since we know Omicron is 2-3 times more transmissible and since the government knew it was here and would spread, ringing the bell unnecessarily was reckless…. unless of course the reason for ringing was much more urgent than minimising Covid risks.

Finally, if the argument is that hard decisions have to be made, what better an environment to make them in than a 29-1 government which has changed the constitution multiple times, passed laws whenever it wanted to and had no opposition at all.

My leanings and loyalty come secondary to common sense and logic. The last 30 DESERVED to be ALL voted out. One of the “old guard” that has returned can NEVER get my support. But, that doesn’t erase the nonsense being foisted on right thinking intelligent Barbadians masquerading as concern for unity and blah blah blah. Nor does it wipe away the lack of transparency and good governance which was promised.

“What does D Estwick mean using the central bank printing press again”
    That last 125M bond issue. lol. A rose by any other name is still a rose.

11. I’d call it a bitch list more than an article

Bajans need to smoke like Jamaicans
    There are 12 spliffs in a day
    and then it is time for bed
    People should be allowed to grow 99 plants without a license
    Not sure what DLP’s position is on this ganja issue

we know they hate China which is called ignorance

12. @David
    I would ‘follow their platform’ as suggested and see. That was my take, but I’d wait until its explained. There was also mention of the private sector. I suspect it may not be packaged under the “home grown financing” banner?

• Estwick’s pension warning

Barbados may soon find itself in a pension crisis, claims Democratic Labour Party (DLP) candidate for St Philip West, Dr David Estwick.
      He said he was very concerned for Barbadians over the age of 60 who were expecting to have a pension in the next five to ten years.
      Addressing a meeting in front of St Martin’s-Mangrove Primary School on Thursday night, he recalled that when the DLP was in power he had advised his colleagues to introduce a debt restructuring programme to deal with the country’s fiscal deficit and attendant debt service. However, when he realised that 70 per cent of the debt was domestic, he suggested that a consolidated fund strategy be implemented instead as debt restructuring would “hurt poor people in regards to their pensions and investments as a result”.
      “The Mia Mottley administration came into office and did exactly what I said should be done but they did it the wrong way. The result . . . is that the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) just lost $1.6 billion in their assets with the debt restructuring.
      “By 2028, the NIS would not be able to have a positive operating balance; it will be negative. What that means is that the money coming in from contributions and the money coming in for investments cannot prop up the pensions and internal operations. We’re all in serious trouble.”
      Estwick said that even though the Mottley administration borrowed money from international organisations to prop up the scheme, it was not enough to prevent a collapse.
      “In August 2021 the Government went and borrowed $265 million from overseas and decided that they are going to spend $123 million propping up the severance payments fund and unemployment fund. But the problem with that is it is only a little drop in the bucket and does not solve the future capacity of the NIS to pay your pension in ten/15 years.
      “This is what they have done to you and your pension and it cannot be solved. Barbadians, I can see no way that the Government can find $1.6 billion in the next few months, next few years to make sure the NIS is solvent so you can get your pension.”
      The former minister said Government could have found another way to address the debt situation, adding that because of time he could not go into full details.
      “There was no reason for the Government to write off the $1.6 billion that they owed the NIS. If
      the Government wanted to reduce its liability, which is the amount of money they owed the NIS on a monthly and an annual basis, the way to deal with it was not to say to the NIS I ain’t paying you $1.6 billion.
      “What the Government should have done is to ask the NIS to float a medium-term Treasury note or a long-term Treasury debenture for the exact sum of money owed by the Government, and the money should have been therefore obtained from the Central Bank of Barbados.”
      (SB)

13. @Miller January 6, 2022 7:05 PM “No wonder the likes of Sharmout Lashes,,,

… is going to get a good cut-ass.

14. @ Observing January 6, 2022 7:35 PM

Thank you. It is very exhausting to constantly bend the truth and gloss over everything.

But you’re also doing a good job.

15. @David
    “The Natalie Murray on tonight’s BLP platform is the same person who sponsored former NUPW president?

Come out tings!!!!! He who have ears to ears and eyes to see let them hear and see!

The title of the blog says “What divides us?” This is a GLARING example of that.

16. @ Hants January 6, 2022 7:05 PM
    Nobody has given a plausible reason for calling an election 18 months before it is due when you have a 29 to 1 Cabinet and a bariffle of highly educated professional consultants. (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Only serves to create further suspicion that there is more in the election-calling mortar than just a big fat ego of a pestle of the bull-pistle brand.

One might be less suspicious if the elections were ‘Constitutionally’ due some time in 2022.

But elections are not due until June 2023 with the provision for an additional 3 months to play with, pandemic or no pandemic; and not abused as in Fumble’s losing case.

There must be much ‘Mo(o)re’ to the calling of such early elections than just a restless cabinet and maverick senator operating as a ‘real’ union leader in place of the co-opted and compromised Toni.

A riddle a riddle a ree, no one can solve the riddle but the former ‘Sister-in-charge’ the disgruntled Moe by peering into the crystal bowl etched with the hallmark: It’s My Fault (IMF).

17. @ Deceiver

“I am sad to say our health care institutions are limping along and that pains me, I would like to see the nurses back to work but we have a Prime Minister who thinks she is large and in charge, her way or no way, but she will have to call elections again and again for we are not going to give up,” he said.

“Franklyn said the issue was not political,”

————

Your timing off de rail. However, de NURSES issue will be resolved sooner rather than later..

18. @ Miller January 6, 2022 7:55 PM

Possible. Of course, I hope for a strong devaluation of the BBD.

But there could also be another reason: Our Supreme Leader wants to make sure she goes down in the history books as the first (female) prime minister of the new republic. Just take the elections as a referendum on the proclamation of the republic.

19. @ Cuhdear Bajan January 6, 2022 7:39 PM

But Ms Cuhdear, who is going to give the Sharkmout fella a cut-ass?

Certainly not the doc who is not a fan of MAM and whose campaign-support for a stethoscope has been withdrawn.

Or even our Lady MA Donna, your dear sister in play-tonic love!

SPN is one of the ridings the Fuhrer MAM is prepared to cede as a political peace offering in the name of a dictatorial democracy.

25 to 5 are not bad odds!

20. An excellent post.

Instead of refuting one or more of your solid points and showing where you were wrong, you get the following summary “Observing is a D?”

The ? was to blunt the finger pointing.

21. @Miller January 6, 2022 8:10 PM “But Ms Cuhdear, who is going to give the Sharkmout fella a cut-ass?”

The constituents, the only people who can.

22. @Slumber

“The Opposition Leader said serious consideration should be given to changing the election date”

Atherley was touring New Orleans, The City, with their candidate Marva Lashley-Todd.

————

Earth to Atherley Earth to Atherley, Echo Echo, Echo, Lost in Space 💨

23. “But elections are not due until June 2023”

Are you sure about that

by my calculations there is 12 days to go

people should stop being in denial

24. @TheOGazerts January 6, 2022 8:20 PM “The ? was to blunt the finger pointing.”

Chill Theo.

You seem to have forgotten that I am neither B nor D.

I was planning to sit out this election.

Then I decided, nah Cuhdear. You have to go to the polls.

Now I am thinking of voting D.

Will let you know how I have actually voted one all the the ballots are counted and the election result is declared.

I’ve been voting for more than 50 years. I’ve voted B plenty of times. I’ve voted D plenty of times, and I plan to continue in the same way for the rest of my life. I would have voted N too but they never ran a candidate in any of the places which I have lived. And “no” I don’t lie about my place of residence.

Doesn’t matter how I vote. No big pick fah me. No big contract fah me. No board chairmanships for me [truthfully would you pick me to chair a board?]

Because neither party trusts me.

Because truthfully I am entirely [politically] untrustworthy.

A good night’s sleep to you.

25. The underlying message seems to be whoever wins will be the loser and it is not going to be a dream job to run Barbados and the incumbent will have many sleepless nights and will need some ASMR.

ASMR (autonomous sensory meridian response) is a relaxing, often sedative sensation that begins on the scalp and moves down the body. Also known as “brain massage,” it’s triggered by placid sights and sounds such as whispers, accents, and crackles.

26. Our current civil service pension system “made sense” to those who created it in their own interest when the civil service was composed of a small number of British civil servants who would “come out to the colonies” for a few years then retire home with a nice pension and gratuity, and a lifetime pension for their widows too who may never have had a day’s paid work in their lives. It never made sense for the people whose labor paid for the whole thing, and who got minimal or no pensions themselves,

Time for serious pension reform. Civil servants won’t like it. It may provide a little ease for the rest of us.

27. @ 555dubstreetJanuary 6, 2022 8:30 PM

Let us not split hears over a ‘date’.

We were speaking hypothetically and within the bounds of the Bajan Constitution.

What do you think ‘are’ the real pressing reason(s) behind the call for such early elections right in the midst of a fast-spreading pandemic?

To yank the chains of the non-existent Loyal Opposition or to carry out the demands of the IMF regarding the reality and validity of the upcoming Estimates due for Parliamentary ratification by 31 March 2022?

Do you really think a country on the verge of insolvency has much say in the matter of its future financial management?

Kiki, we are sure you are quite au fait with the following.

‘He who pays the piper (finances the Bajan love of imported sweet life) will call the tune (the hardships and sacrifices which will follow in order to pay back).’

28. Attempting to take the name of God out of the Constituion
    Making a promise to the people on allowing a referendum to be taken before Barbados become a Republic
    Spending millions of dollars to build a park that cannot generate revenue or lower the high rate of unemployment
    Writing off debt owed to govt from big business
    Insulting Barbadian craftsman in statement which give an intent that they cannot produce a job in timely fashion

29. Waittt. Anyone noticed that this is the first xmas In nuffteen year you aint hear about a water problem In St Joseph / St john.

What a ting doah

30. Miller
    I think that (Mia thinks) policies needed for 2022 would not have won 2023 reelection 2nd term but may win 2027 double reelection 3rd term if things improve (fingers crossed / touch wood) by fluke and 3 terms is better than one.

A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush may be apt.

31. @ 555 dubstreet January 6, 2022 9:48 PM

Now here is a proposal that is right up your collie weed street.

Would you follow the miller and back the DLP come January 19th should they include in their soon-to-be-released manifesto a watertight promise to decriminalize the herb in its entirety by June 30th 2022; just in time for Cropover?

That should be one joint of a spliff big enough to attract the young voters away from the red deceivers who want to free up the Jah blessed spiritual food only if their ‘white’ friends can make a killing by turning the ganga plantations back into slave workplaces.

“Legalize it

And don’t criticize it

Legalize it, yeah, yeah

And I will advertise it..”

Your friend
    Peter Tosh.

32. “Would you follow the miller and back the DLP come January 19th should they include in their soon-to-be-released manifesto a watertight promise to decriminalize the herb in its entirety by June 30th 2022; just in time for Cropover?”

due to some technical issues I cannot vote in Barbados and I do not know the nitty gritty dirty dirty politics

but I imagine voting DLP would be like voting Tory or Republican who are not like minded partakers of the chalice and are political animals riding a bandwagon, but that is just guessing

but I think playing both sides to offer decriminalisation is the way to go

it will happen one day anyway regardless of politics

33. #David
    The staff ‘sick outs’ are making the airlines hoop. At this time, they don’t have the staff to handle the scheduled flight loads

34. @SS
    My “guess” is many things are up for Reform.
    Yet remember, reform of programs, WITHOUT reform of accountability, is a waste of time.
    The tools are there, we have just systematically ignored them and/or failed to use them.

35. @David
    I was told sometime ago that AC has many wealthy and well connected clients who spend time in Bim, maybe that explains it

36. Making a plant legal does not have to be offered during election to induce a demographic to vote for a party
    it should be done as it is the right thing to do instead of blowing trumpets and making it a big show

Do you believe in rasta unity
    and rasta can do no wrong
    I do

37. Miller…don’t hold your breath, they missed a hell of an opportunity and sometimes the ship leaves never to return..

“À Sumer, le roi des dieux, le “dieu du ciel”, était Anu. 23 Tous les dieux et déesses sumériens étaient les enfants d’Anu. 24 Les Annunaki étaient les fils d’Anu, les cinquante grands dieux.”

38. story, all kindness begins with the sown seed. light is the crossroads of — indolence, or action. Be ignited, or be gone.

39. All summations have a beginning, all effect has a story, all kindness beings with the sown seed. Thought buds toward radiance. The gospel of light is the crossroads of – indolence, or action. Be ignited or be gone.

40. What I Have Learned So Far
    Meditation is old and honorable, so why should I
    not sit, every morning of my life, on the hillside,
    looking into the shining world? Because, properly
    attended to, delight, as well as havoc, is suggestion.
    Can one be passionate about the just, the
    ideal, the sublime, and the holy, and yet commit
    to no labor in its cause? I don’t think so.

All summations have a beginning, all effect has a
    story, all kindness begins with the sown seed.
    Thought buds toward radiance. The gospel of
    light is the crossroads of —indole

41. @David
    I shouldn’t have been so flippant in my previous response, but it has been a long relationship going back to the 50’s I remember when the previous incarnation Trans Canada Airlines (TCA) was flying into Seawell so these connections are important.

42. If we accept that pensions are deferred salary and wages and if it is still the case that similar positions in the private sector usually carry higher salaries and wages (not sure about the lower level positions) then the pensions make sense.

Too besides, with all the sick buildings government workers endure, the gratuity and pensions are needed for medical bills.

Government is the worst employer with respect to safety and health, outside of Swan Street, of course.

43. What really needs to happen is Civil Service Reform and accountability.

If we are going to reform pensions it should be for new entrants who will then know what they are getting into.

44. Observing January 6, 2022 7:32 PM

RE: “The problem will come with the two weeks of activity including, the bundling up of election workers, the intermingling of constituents, the car pooling to and from meetings, the many close discussions among friends, families and co-workers and all other natural behaviours that occur around this time.”

Are you suggesting the examples for the TWO WEEK period you listed, would expose people to higher risks of contracting COVID-19, as opposed to CONTINUOUS ACTIVITIES of the “bundling up” of workers on construction sites; employees and customers in supermarkets or markets for extended periods of time, constituents intermingling everyday as they ‘social gather’ on the ‘block,’ or in households, village shops and bars in their respective communities, where they engage in the many close discussions among friends families and co-workers and all other natural behaviours that occur” at ANY TIME; and “car pooling to and from work?”

Meetings are been streamed ‘live’ via social media platforms.

My friend, I understand the points you’re trying to make. Unfortunately, you’ve presented WEAK arguments to justify them.

45. And one thing that needs to be looked at with the NIS is the determination of what makes a person “medically unfit”.

46. How much marks should we give a topic addressing a strike like this:
    “ Strike Action During A Pandemic ! “
    Let’s also ask : What was the purpose of the exclamation mark ?
    Did the nurses strike because there is a pandemic?
    Have the nurses problems been known before there was a pandemic ?
    So, as always : we cannot plant okra and reap corn.

47. @David, Sargeant is right. I had a Deputy Minister who was married to a Barbadian, and the first time I met him he recognized my accent after 40 years. He visited every year. Melnyk’s personal assistant is married to a Barbadian and she says he lends his house in St. Philip out to friends. Her mother in law, who is a friend of mine told me that the daughter in law stayed there. then there is Lawson. lol.

48. @Dame
    So the “she” who claims EM lends out the house, is one of those recipients of his lending.
    Who ended up with the Crane Beach house after the divorce?

49. Why some people feel comfortable trapping themselves in:

a pit of LIES

hypocrisy

treachery

false promises

and a clear indication that this time they will never escape…is beyond me, but don’t mind me am extremely busy..

50. @Artax
    You are correct. Those CONTINUOUS activities you mentioned will now be ADDED to the NEW ONGOING ELECTION activities thus MULTIPLYING the incidences of interaction and INCREASING the spread.

Were our 7-day average reasonably low, or was Omicron not bursting down the door, or were we at the 4 years and months stage in the government’s life there would be no argument or dissent from me about calling an election. Other countries have managed to hold theirs even though the INEVITABLE spike in ALL of them shortly AFTER elections occurred. .

Regarding my argument it is simply this. There are 18 months left constitutionally for an election. The government has a 29-1 majority. The government says it is the best to lead at this time and that it has done a great job for the past 3+ years. Said government KNOWS that we are about to go through a WORSE stage of the pandemic (an possibly in other areas). Said government already knows that it plans to tell the 2000+ people that WILL catch Covid that the CANNOT vote.

Yet, elections are still called.

Objective persons can judge the strengths of weaknesses of those FACTS.

Just observing

51. They too love their make believe fantasy world and always trying to drag everyone into it with them, but this time they are ON THEIR OWN…

52. Observing January 7, 2022 1:56 PM #: “Those CONTINUOUS activities you mentioned will now be ADDED to the NEW ONGOING ELECTION activities thus MULTIPLYING the incidences of interaction and INCREASING the spread.”

@ Observing

Come on, my friend, you’re being much more absurd than objective.

Continuous activities will be forever on going LONG AFTER any 2 week political campaign. For example, since certain restrictions have been lifted making vending legal, more people will be expected to enter the trade causing an increase in demand for market space in an already overcrowded Bridgetown. Curfew hours have been extended.

Wouldn’t officers from the COVID-19 Unit be in attendance at political meetings to ensure people adhere to the protocols?

You seem to be essentially making an assumption the election was called at this time because ‘government’ some how knew to do so would contribute significantly to an increase in Omicron cases, thereby giving ‘government’ a reason to prevent those people who may have contracted the virus from voting.

You also mentioned, “Other countries have managed to hold theirs even though the INEVITABLE spike in ALL of them shortly AFTER elections occurred.”
    Why not provide that the forum with the detailed results of any empirical research you conducted and any factual, logical, or statistical evidence collected there form or otherwise that support the position you’ve taken.

Although I SHARE your concerns about the circumstances surrounding the ‘snap’ election, you have not provided us accurate, detailed and well-researched, current information to support your opinions or took other perspectives into consideration. Having done so would’ve allowed us to better judge the strengths of weaknesses of those “FACTS” as well.’

As such, “objective persons” may conclude you are communicating factual information along with your own political assumptions and conspiracy theories, and presenting the ‘mixture’ as ‘FACTS.’ A deliberate equivocation known as tergiversation.

Anyhow……….. let’s agree to disagree.

53. @Artax
    “Anyhow……….. let’s agree to disagree. – AGREED

But, before I go, I need to clear up an assumption you made. I in no way infer any dubious, nefarious or conspiratorial motives to the government regarding the elections and Covid. The only point I was making was that calling the election at this time with cases rising was both unnecessary and will lead to the inevitable conclusion of more cases than would have been the case had it not been called.

Regarding facts, you can check another thread I posted a while back:
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2022/01/01/do-they-care/

That contains a wee bit of the research you asked for. I normally check before I open my trap so there is much more behind it but like the average rum shop I don’t want to bore the BU family with too many statistics, figures and charts. After all, we are here to engage and enjoy interaction over a virtual libation.

Last but not least, like most debates, despite the semantics and segways we are generally in agreement. My focus was never what may happen AFTER the election, or WHY it was called. It was simply about the soundness of the decision to call it and the obvious BS reason provided given everything that we know.

Tarry ye well my friend!!!

Just observing

54. The DLP is the party of money laundering, corruption, nepotism, decline and decay. Its members and voters are usually from the lower class and feast on the stench of shit like back then on the South Coast. In one sentence, they confirm impressively all the prejudices of their former colonial masters, namely that native people cannot govern themselves.

The BLP, on the other hand, is the party of liberalism, progress, prosperity, transparency, justice and, more recently, strong leadership. When the BLP is in power, it has to call the IMF every time because some savages have broken everything before. Then the BLP has to rebuild everything. The BLP impressively confirms the unity of the people and the state and the party. It gives dignity to the locals and evokes admiration from foreigners. Since 2018, the BLP has proved time and again that it can govern the country independently and far better than the former colonial rulers.

That is what divides us.

55. Estwick in his comments demonstrates why Barbados electorate made a wrong decision in handed over the management of Barbados to present govt in a 30-0 victory
    The i’s dotted and t’s crossed during the past three years were not transparent enough
    The public absent of an opposition were lead down a yellow brick road that spells trouble in the future
    Estwick voice is needed and necessary to pierce into the govt affairs and management of this country holding them accountable and transparent

56. @David
    Because they were arrogant, offensive, collectively uninspiring and their leader acted as if he didn’t care while uaing words that the average man didn’t hear.

2018 is water under the bridge now even though many of us are still reminded by some dampness that remains.

• @Observing

Hence the question. Are we confident a Verla De Peiza has the confidence and know how to whip Estwick in line for example?

57. But why @David! Why does the DLP leader need to “whip him in line”!

That is unnecessarily aggressive and clearly would be counter productive … has the party learned nothing about the weakening nature of such squabbles.

Dr. Estwick is clearly a strong personality and sees himself as a visionary, smart leader for the party and country … alas, apparently neither his colleagues nor a majority of his constituents see him in that halo of light!

So first up he needs to address his personality issue disconnect !

Second he should continue to focus on his economic perscriptions and engage with his team of gurus to continue to offer solid solutions to fix that gaping pension problem of which he speaks!

Neither he nor Ms Depeiza have any depth of goodwill to become embroiled in any stupid leadership tussle.

And re your query, I look at it this way: NONE of our former maguffy leaders EVER lost their seat after initially being elected … so Estwick needs to reflect purposefully on that awful, chastising DLP dismissal by Bajans … he needs to reset his prior gun-toting arrogance (if he hasn’t already) and maybe, just maybe he can yet achieve his ambitious desires !

Lata

• @Dee Word

Is it about strong a personality or an Estwick prepared to be a maverick by ignoring collective responsibility of cabinet as one example. His willingness to publicly squabble that led to declining confidence in the government last administration etc.

58. So Estwick’s solution is / was to issue more unserviceable and valueless debt, to gloss over and delay the reality that government debt, at the then existing level, was unserviceable and valueless?

Voodoo economics much?

59. @David,

Quite right re his willingless to squabble.

That seemed, at one point, to be a single beacon of light in the darkness that was the depth of nothingness of the prior DLP government..

But he did not hold his line and backed down when Inniss and crew seized upon him, remember that?

Really though, we can safely say that Verla is a seat warmer.

60. On the point of the pension fund fragility , he is right.

But we knew that. No?

Probably one of the matters to be addressed in February 2022, by the returned Mottley government.

As I said, I anticipate a significant and ground breaking agenda.

I could easily come up with a lengthy manifesto, with rationale included.

But I wish to see what will come, without doing so.

There is little doubt that Barbados and many small island states and lesser developed nations face a lengthy period of economic hardship, unless the status is addressed locally, regionally and internationally.

Mottley has begun the walk to do so.

I hope that this continues.

• What options are there to reform pension except to increase contribution and or increase age eligibility?

61. Refinancing or refinancing and outsourcing. Outsourcing of either whole or the investment part.

How refinanced? There are two options, without increasing debt.

Also an option that includes issuing more valueless paper.

That is my only answer on the issue until February.

But thinking creatively, the issue is not insurmountable.

But to be clear, someone WILL have to take the burden of the refinancing.

Probably one of the reasons for the early election.

That said, at least the Captain has come up on deck and is willing to tell the sailors to row.

It is what one expects from a leader, as opposed to running aground.

My issue with the election mechanics are not an indictment of the whole.

That is another matter.

62. “The pertinent question is WHY did the electorate reject ALL the DLP candidates in 2018.”

Are you inferring it was due to the Barbados Underground website you maintain reading every comment with memory of an elephant

63. DavidJanuary 8, 2022 9:07 AM

The pertinent question is WHY did the electorate reject ALL the DLP candidates in 2018.

Xxxxx
    That question has been answered in many forms
    However with all the answers being given and questions asked
    There is an asterisk already attached to the question * big mistake
    However again with this upcoming election and some of the old guards on board
    The question should be asked would the dlp voter stay away from the polls and once again give the present govt free access to managing the affairs of this country without having a legitimate opposition in place

64. Well @David, there is nothing inherently wrong with a bit (or a lot sometimes) of maverick action, we can debate many local examples of how that worked (and didnt). So to your point it’s how that “willingness to publicly squabble” is perceived by the voting public!

I may not agree 100% that his squabbling “led to declining confidence in the government last administration” as I believe they truly f******up otherwise, but the fact is that he LOST his seat too … so certainly most Bajans in his constituency agree with you!

Now @ Crusoe re “So Estwick’s solution is/was to issue more unserviceable and valueless debt, […] and delay the reality that government debt, at the then existing level, was unserviceable and valueless?”

I am not an economist so do tell me what else can be done but 1) delay as best as possible, 2) arrest the negative returns investment, 3) make current payments in timely manner and thus work diligently to chip away at that massive deficit on the pension a/c!!!

Until there is a windfall and or significant economic improvement to shore up the depleted a/c they will need a lot of can kicking down, down the road to buy time.

It cannot, just cannot be accepted that the pension safety net for thousands of Bajans is insolvent and imminent for collapse … so whether smoke, mirrors, voodoo, obeah, Santeria or good old fashioned Bajan politricks something gotta be pulled from the Finance Ministry-Central Bank hat!

• @Dee Word

It will not work the perception of disunity if things not going well. Especially if the issues being squabbled should have been addressed away from the public. In the case of Estwick one can argue his squabbling with the party was to appease personal interest.

65. Why did DLP get licks and kicks from 153,738 voting biting people giving BLP a foot into the door of power with a 100% victory setting presidents precedence

A learned scholar who studied medicine but dropped out of service and went into teaching and property investing freeing more time to pursue his hobby of bible study would be in two minds in his analysis and would flip a coin
    (a) It was God who decided the outcome (Heads)
    (b) It was the Devil revealing himself and his NWO as prophesised bringing the second coming reincarnation of the Son of God rapture (Tails)

66. RE Since 2018, the BLP has proved time and again that it can govern the country independently and far better than the former colonial rulers.
    THE PSYCHIATRISTS CALL THIS “DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR”
    MOST FOLK CALL IT SIMPLY “DAMN LIES”
    I CALL IT BOVINE EXCREMENT

67. I think the DLP leadership and Sinister Prime Minister felt tired and their batteries needed recharging as it had no voltage and did not practice sincerely to energise and think clearly and were not able to move their arms nicely or walk nicely talk nicely or work nicely.
    Body and mind need to start working together so intelligence can be supported. Therefore recharging is a very important technique.
    You can change it’s name recharging means devotion and truth recharging means practicing principle of ahimsa non-violence in recharging we try to save our existence this is called practicing non-violence and non-violence is the nature of God and you can say it is devotion in God, same way in recharging you can accept it in many ways in devotion in God and so many things.

68. For years I have been reading that squatters in the Belle were imperilling the water supply of Barbadans and were to be removed from the area, now I read that improvements in the form of roads etc. are to be installed for the benefit of the squatters and to make the housing permanent.

Has the designation of the area changed? Does it mean that previous judgements made to move residents errors or is politics overriding sensible decisions?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/08/mps-say-aid-being-given-to-belle-squatters-is-no-election-gimmick/

69. That pork barell give away to squatters ten days before election time falls in line with a govt breaking all rules and a run away mismagement of govt wanting to win by any means necessary in lieu of facts which underline studies done to that area which suggested govt hold strain
    Yet today we have a MINISTER charging forward with a haste to do what is politically expedient

70. @ GP January 8, 2022 11:18 AM

Unlike you, from 2008 to 2018, I witnessed firsthand on our island the excrement, the corruption, the decay, as well as the whispers of diplomats and expats about the “black …”.

You, on the other hand, probably still believe that Barrow is alive.

Better dead than another DLP reign of terror.

71. @Crusoe
    “There is little doubt that Barbados and many small island states and lesser developed nations face a lengthy period of economic hardship”

Quite true… So the nexus of politics and socio-economics will continue to be strong. Having 5 years should free her (who ever she is) to make the tough pragmatic calls rather than the political or popular ones as has been the case.

@Sargeatn
    “is politics overriding sensible decisions?
    Rhetorical question. Don’t forget those by the airport got $25,000 cash or a new house elsewhere.

72. MR TRON

I AM WELL AWARE THAT BARROW, AND ADAMS, AND BREE AND OWEN ARE ALL DEAD.

I AM WELL AWARE THAT THE DLP IS PROBABLY DEAD TOO, HOWEVER, THE FACT THAT MIA KEEPING NUFF NOISE, DOES NOT MEAN THAT SHE IS EFFECTIVELY, OR EFFICIENTLY, MUCH MORE VIRILE, VIRULENT OR VIBRANT THAN THE THE DEPARTED,

I AM WELL AWARE ALSO THAT PERSONS WITH THE ACUMEN AND ABILITY TO COME UP WITH FEASIBLE PRACTICAL SOLUTIONS TO PROBLEMS FOR BARBADOS, ARE EITHER NOT WILLING TO BE ENGAGED, ARE DISALLOWED, OR HAVE LEFT OR FORCED TO LEAVE THE ISLAND AND PUBLIC LIFE THEREAT.

IT ALSO QUITE OBVIOUS TO ME THAT THE DICTATOR MIA MUGABE MUTTLEY, CAN TALK GOOD, BUT SHE CAN NOT WALK OR THINK HALF AS WELL AS SHE TALKS.

IT ALSO QUITE OBVIOUS TO ME THAT THE DICTATOR MIA MUGABE MUTTLEY, DOES NOT HAVE MANY, OR ANY IN HER CABINET THAT CAN THINK TO THE REQUIRED LEVEL, OR THAT THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED TO DO SO.

SO YOU MAY CARRY ON WITH YOUR PLATITUDES AND HERO WORSHIP……….BUT IT IS JUST NOT BITTING.

73. The basic rant by the scientific illiterates in BIM suggests that we are experiencing a “pandemic of the unvaccinated” meanwhile the BLP GOB had no response to COVID spiking in highly vaccinated areas.

While MIA held a cult-like pageant on November 30th to usher in the republic, and has proclaimed an election to UNITE the nation, Bajans are wondering why food prices are skyrocketing, and are ticked off as schools remain more or less closed.

BUT WE ARE HEARING ABOUT HOW WONDERFUL MIA MUGABE MUTTLEY THE DICTATOR IS.

SOON WE WILL BE USING AS THE WALKING MUSIC FOR HER THE HYMN TUNES TO EITHER
    MY GOD HOW WONDERFUL HOW BRIGHT, or
    HOW GREAT THOU ART
    no wonder we are divided

74. “that because of time he could not go into full details.”
    Dear Dr. Estwick
    We have all the time in the world. Technology permits you to post the full details to YouTube or similar. We look forward to reviewing the details.
    By the way
    “What the Government should have done is to ask the NIS to float a medium-term Treasury note or a long-term Treasury debenture for the exact sum of money owed by the Government, and the money should have been therefore obtained from the Central Bank of Barbados.”
    Please explain in detail. Sure sounds like a massive money printing operation to me, I hope I am mistaken.

75. “Armstrong touts national mental health policy” (NATIONNEWS)

The crazy DLP candidate outed herself as a studied sports psychologist. Good to know, because she obviously doesn’t have herself under control psychologically. It must have been self-study with Mickey Mouse books. If she graduated from UWI, I would advise the vice chancellor to introduce an IQ test for first-year students. That would help a lot to sort out 95 % of all DLP members.

76. Is Armstong genetically related to Chris Sinckler? She has the same mental outbursts, the same vulgar language and screams on stage.

She is perfect proof that there is a lot wrong with education in Barbados.

77. People need to remain positive especially during hardships and hard times as worrying is the most damaging cause of complications and issues in a feedback loop.

78. What divides us are words to this effect

With a buzzing rumor that some electors intend to place their ‘X’ in an effort to secure an opposition in parliament, prime minister Mia Amor Mottley is warning against this type of thinking and behaviour.

Cautioning persons against making this move, she said:

“There is much talk of voting for Opposition and I hear it and I understand Barbadians’ sense of fairness, but I warn you that when you vote for an Opposition you may end up with a government you didn’t want. Can the country afford that at this time? I say not.

79. Probably the biggest factor in 2022 that will make any difference will be if those who didn’t vote in 2018 are mobilised to vote in 2022. Non-voters emerging can swing the freak results like the Trump presidency, which needs an even bigger turnout to swing it back.

80. Not likely to vote for anyone again, but no one should allow lying corrupt politicians to coerce them on HOW THEY SHOULD VOTE and WHO THEY SHOULD VOTE FOR…..the intelligent move would be spreading the votes around to new comer political parties, let some new voices be heard and some new faces seen.

..throw out the despicable old wretches who believe voters owe them something, no one owes deceitful politicians anything…..they already get paid and tief more than their fair share..

and watch all newcomers very closely..

81. Isolated not X-pendable!

State should find a way to let them vote, panellist says
    A CALL HAS BEEN MADE for governments to find ways to allow the infirm, including people with the COVID-19 virus, to exercise their rights to vote in a general election.
    Addressing an online town hall panel discussion Sunday on the topic Pandemic Democracy: COVID-19 And Election Management, St Lucia’s Speaker of the House of Assembly Claudius Francis said: “There is no reason people who are in isolation (with COVID-19) cannot vote.”
    Francis, a former member of St Lucia’s Electoral Commission, said just as special accommodation is made for the military to vote, a similar thing is done for the elderly in St Lucia. It was suggested that national electoral commissions have the authority to establish polling stations where they consider them to be appropriate, which could include a hospital.
    The snap election called in Barbados for January 19 has led to public concerns about whether COVID-19 and other patients will be barred from voting and their constitutional right to do so denied.
    Professor Cynthia Barrow-Giles, moderator of the session, said: “We are operating in an environment that is unique for election management officials.
    “What those of us who observed elections in the last two years would in fact agree is that managing elections during a pandemic does pose a number of risks and the potential to disrupt, not enhance, democracy, though quite clearly there are opportunities which can be seized to enhance democratic participation in the future.”
    She continued: “One of the greatest risks, of course, is to voter turnout and participation. While there is a need to ensure that the society is safe, globally, governments have adopted various and mixed responses to the pandemic. But what is clear is there are important implications for the conduct of genuine elections for the foreseeable future,” said the University of the West Indies Cave Hill political scientist.
    Panellists were in agreement that with new variants of COVID-19 it was expected Caribbean citizens would be living with the pandemic for a while.
    Fern Narcis-Scope, Trinidad and Tobago’s chief elections officer, said: “We need to look at our processes to see how things can be done better.” Adopting technology, including digitisation, was acknowledged as important.
    “It really does start sometime with the young people. That is the direction we are going to have to go,” Narcis-Scope said.
    Dora James, supervisor of elections in St Vincent and the Grenadines, said the elderly were using technology such as cell phones.
    “COVID is not going anywhere. We have to move with the times and we have to adopt the technology on a piecemeal basis,” she said. “We must not be fearful.”
    Cybersecurity specialist Niel Harper said the recent publication by the Electoral and Boundaries Commission of personal information from the Barbados voters’ list was a privacy concern. The electoral list, with personal information such as identification numbers and addresses, was put on the Internet, which resulted in some public outcry. Harper also queried how many electoral commissions had a chief information officer or a chief security officer. He called for technology policies to be designed for security and privacy of the electorate and for training of electoral staff.
    “We have to invest in training and recruitment,” he said.
    Sase Gunraj, a lawyer and member of the Guyana Elections Commission, disagreed with Harper on implementing Internet voting.
    He said Caribbean elections were governed by legislation.
    “Elections are based on law. Every single aspect of the electoral process is prescribed in that
    Act,” he said.
    “In any process there is room for error,” he said, adding that pragmatism and common sense needed to be exercised at all times. ( HH)

82. Pingback: A Campaign Rehash of Nothingness | Barbados Underground

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.