The blogmaster checked the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) website and the list of candidates to run in the upcoming general election is not current. The same observation for the DLP with a general election on the horizon only 16 candidates are listed. Needless to say manifestos are also a work in progress with the DLP website offering a ‘Coming Soon’ disclosure. Given the perilous state of the social and economic affairs in the country, should we be satisfied with the lack of urgency shown by the major political parties to ready its ‘political machinery’? Should the electorate be satisfied by the lack of urgency?

One expects after the Michaelmas break political parties AND operatives will ramp up activities. Unfortunately barring a divine intervention the next general election contest will be between the two major political parties pejoratively dubbed the Duopoly. Like many countries across the globe Barbadians have shown little appetite for third parties who for the most part have been unable to attract quality candidates and craft a compelling alternative message.

The next general election will be interesting for many reasons. At the top of list of political pundits is how the DLP will bounce back from the unprecedented 30 to zero drubbing in 2018. On the flip side there is a BLP managing a sick economy made worse by the ongoing panic resulting in a conservative 17% unemployment number. It is a scenario ready made for a political opposition to make good progress. Then again there is the political adage oppositions don’t win elections. Governments lose them. The Mottley government must be aware the pandemic has given rise to an anti-government sentiment with several losing general elections in the last year.

Will the central theme of the next general election be about which political party has the superior inferior leadership? How about the economy stupid. What we know is that tired narratives of old should not apply. We have a more enlightened electorate and active social media. The blogmaster is the eternal optimist. Then again what are the political options that spell a departure from the tired policies of the Duopoly? Credit to the government it has been promoting increase use of technology to improve efficiency to manage our affairs and forging linkages to non traditional markets BUT the same old issues remain. Have a read of post 2018 Auditor General reports, the state of the National Insurance Scheme, public debt accumulation, irrelevant education system to enable Barbados to compete in a global market, over-reliance on tourism, passive private sector; entrepreneurial class, declining social behavioral, increase lawlessness etc etc. Although the government is not solely to blame for everything ailing the country, it sets the tone.

Where do we go from here?

What should citizens demand from political parties given the signs of the times. What role must traditional media play to assist in the the transformation to ensure relevance. Recently the blogmaster viewed asocial media posting of a young female journalist who appeared to be besotted with Prime Minister Mottley because she was handed the opportunity of an interview. How does it contrast with trade unionists of yore who refused on principle to drink and break bread with those on the other side of the table?

A read of the tea leaves indicates NTSH.

104 responses to “BLP DLP Same Party – NTSH”

1. David

You are a scholar and a gentleman.

Yes, war happens on all fronts. For example propaganda is war waged to alter perceptions, killing the will to fight of one’s opponents.

When you talk about markets let us consider the case study of Russian gas to Western Europe. Without it Europeans freeze to death. Without it, Russia may send it to their allies in China, willing to buy any amount.

Of course, this is a two-sided sword. Can be deployed as a sword or shield.

In short, America as a debtor nation to China and Russia its strategic ally are more needed by the West than they depend on the West, anymore. This status quo was not arrived at by accident.

2. @Pacha

Putin is bluffing. The bear is looking for attention to remain relevant on the geopolitical chessboard.

3. “As Member of Parliament Dr. Duguid said, there’s no way any Barbados politician will vote for Integrity Legislation.”

yall better start gearing up for the LITANY of LIES marching into 2023…because obviously they hold the same views in 2021 that they held in 2011, still no integrity legislation, just some sealed envelopes which no one knows how many lies about assers they hold…

4. David
    That does not make sense. Putin does not play those game. All the military analysts are coming around to this writer’s views.

Maybe you should ask the Georgian Republic which after threatening Russian national interests, circa 2014, Putin rightly invaded, if Putin or Xi makes that kind of sport. This is NOT the place for children, or so liked minded.

Ask the Ukrainians, after Putin, returned Crimea to Russia. Ask the Americans whether than is a truism. Don’t you see that both Xi and Putin are making iron clad demands of the Americans. Ask the American after Russia confronted them in Syria in defence of their ally .

Putin does not play those kinds of stupid games.

5. just some sealed envelopes which no one knows how many lies about ASSETS they hold…

i would imagine that du(no)guid aired his mouth in the days when they were feeling ALL POWERFUL, ARROGANT and UNTOUCHABLE…they could not see the corruption and fraud ever ending, it was a couple years after that they and their minority friends spent REAL MONEY and went after the blogs to shut them down………they are shit outta luck today too….how could you be sucking monthly salaries out of taxpayers whom ya BEGGED FOR VOTES, and for YEARS ON END and DETERMINED not to be held accountable for corruption, fraud, thefts or anything else….

6. David
    Have noticed that Boris Johnson is down in the polls and possibly facing a stab in the back. Under growing pressure.

The factotum, Keir Starmer, of Labour is leading by 9 points in one poll.

An idiot is leading a jackass. This is what your democracies have come to. Same in Barbados or worse.

7. @Pacha

The Russian economy is not resilient enough to take an embargo.

8. @Pacha

The sorry BREXIT episode exposed Boris’ inferior leadership skills. Plus he is distracted with changing pampers.

9. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
    African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved

10. This is what your democracies have come to. Same in Barbados or worse.
    EVERYTHING HAPPENING AS ISTO BE EXPECTED
    SOON THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD WILL ALL BE ASKING FOR ONE SINGLE MAN TO SOLVE THE PROBLEMS OF THE WHOLE WORLD
    AND IT AINT GOING TO BE JOSEPH TO SUPPLY ANY CORN
    IT WILL BE THE ANTICHRIST AND HIS ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT
    SO GET READY FOLK
    THE TOES OF CLAY AND IRON OF DANIEL 2 AND 7 ARE ON THE HORIZON
    AINT DAT SWEET?

11. David
    Now you are massively ill-inform on these critical matters.

The West has had economic sanctions on The Russian Federation for many years.

And Russia is now immune to their sanctions as a result of building massive internal production capabilities.

Russia no longer borrows in international financial markets, has non-Western supply chains.

Should they be removed from the SWIFT interbank system, Russia has its own international exchange system ready to go. Already a high number of international transactions are happening in the national currencies.

The only other point of exposure would be Visa and MasterCard. And if the West cut these off the Russian national Mir card is already in use.

Russia has already surrendered all its foreign holdings in Western banks.

These are the last arrow’s the West has in its quiver. Should actions would be a self inflicted wound as the Europeans would have no way to pay for oil and gas and therefore will freeze to death.

Even America now imports their second highest amount of gas from Russia. Given the vitual collapse of the false economy of America to be a significant producer.

David, we have yuh rassoulll check-mated. Game, set and match. Yuh dead, lay down nuh.LOL

12. THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION CODE OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT

CANON 1

A Judge Should Uphold the Integrity and Independence of the Judiciary@

Barbados crooks lawyers and judges cant even get past these two lines! there are
    7 CANON/s , So how can crooks write laws or even a new Constitution for Barbados?

This is nothing more than a Ri-Ri Republic a Private Group of RICO
    The Blog Master post as if there are only two parties in Barbados what will you write about after they are both Reduced to jail? Bajan Free Party!

13. @Pacha

US sanctions are labeled ‘light’, this you know. Do not underestimate the effect a NATO collaboration bodes for Russia. Also do not underestimate the impact of being kicked off the SWIFT network.

14. David
    Don’t be like Columbus! Russia already has extensive trading relationships with other countries which have been extra territorially sanctioned by the USA for up to 40 years. Iran, Syria, North Korea, Belarus, Zimbabwe, Cuba, Nicaragua, Venezuela and many more.

But you are the one to grossly underestimate the stampede coming soon from the worthless US dollar as more and more countries ditch it.

Soon it shall be blowing about in the streets with nobody stooping to pick them up.

Yuh dead David. Lay down neh!

15. We will wait to see if your crystal ball is true.

16. Waru
    Yes

Pachamama is destroying all of these regimes, mercilessly.

17. David
    Have we ever made a forecast, as we deploy scientific methodologies, proven wrong.

Np need for Crystal balls.

18. By the way, NATO is a joke of an alliance. It is nothing without American arms, money. It’s such a standing joke that the French and the Germans are thinking about another European army. NATO could not last for a week against the Russian army. What they are good for is being the mouthpiece of Washington, giving a patina to a false international consensus thinking. Nobody is frightened for America. Nobody is frightened for NATO, a motley bunch of boys scouts.

19. “SOON THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD WILL ALL BE ASKING FOR ONE SINGLE MAN TO SOLVE THE PROBLEMS OF THE WHOLE WORLD
    AND IT AINT GOING TO BE JOSEPH TO SUPPLY ANY CORN
    IT WILL BE THE ANTICHRIST AND HIS ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT”

Next war will be about IT Technology and Biowarfare
    Not one to encourage your hallucinatory Revelations
    but, are you saying BU’s Pachamama is the anti-Christ

20. David

From demand to pending ultimatum.
    You have to have an appreciation for diplomacy, and the Russians are task masters at it, to realize how close a pending ultimatum comes to hostilities.

https://youtu.be/z53JTui_2MY

21. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

I remember watching this a couple years ago.

https://youtu.be/NOk27I2EBac

22. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Too much control, very unhealthy. Imagine that in an insular closed society that lives exclusively to perpetrate STIGMAS…

23. “From demand to pending ultimatum.
    You have to have an appreciation for diplomacy, and the Russians are task masters at it, to realize how close a pending ultimatum comes to hostilities.”

Russia views Poodles UK as the easy target and weakest link

24. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Pacha….the world is in serious turmoil am seeing some really unbelievable things happening everywhere, we must pay attention. tourists are being told in Los Angeles to stay away they cannot be protected, the whole world just went wild..and the weather is pitching in a display.

25. So is it true that the newly refurbished A& E at QEH has no bathing facilities for patients amd no adequate water supply for basics during a deadly pandemuc and is causing a dangerously developing situation……yall can’t do better than this, must some level of government incompetence and lack of care for those who elected this bunch be exposed every day…..

26. Since 1991

27. Hi Rabbit,
    Is the article from 1991? Is that the Advocate?

It appears that we recycle everything.. good/bad ideas, legal/illegal acts. What is funny that what is bad/good for D can become good/bad for B.

28. so payment in bonds were illegal and unconstitutional 30 years ago when the current government was in opposition but it’s totally legal now under the same constitution and same government with new faces ……don’t fear, if the electorate is mad enuff to reelect whom they threw out in 2018…they would pull the same illegal acts…..just THROW this one out as well and let them all scramble to survive the UPHEAVAL………

29. that’s Nationews..i posted it to the other thread…as a link…

30. I think they passed a law that purports to make it legal. But if it clashes with the Constitution, I believe it would still be illegal.

Unfortunately, the bonds will probably be paid in full by the time your legal challenge makes its way through the courts.

I notice that there is an attempt to separate the debts incurred by this administration from the debts incurred by the last administration.

This is just an election talking point being set up.

Government is a continuum. The debts of the last administration are the debts of this administration. Those who have beem owed the longest should be paid first.

There is no before May or September 2018 and after May or September 2018 as far as Government’s debt is concerned.

All this Government has done is express an intention to pay.

31. David
    Forgot to tell you yesterday, but assumed you knew.

When you support America, NATO, et al over Ukraine you are by implication supporting the fascists controlling Kiev.

These are the same people, descendants who supported the Third Reich. Who slaughtered hundreds of thousands of Russians, Pols, Slavs, Jews and so on, during WW2.

Funny how history is. The country without which and by losing 28 million soldiers as opposed to the Americans, giving only 500 thousand lives, to effectively win WW2 is now turned upon by the same evil forces they helped the West defeat, and the West. Russia is right to prevent this hippocracy from happening again, under any guise.

History is a bitch!

32. @Pacha

Are we hearing you to say you deny the right of sovereigns like Ukraine and others the right to seek NATO alliance?

33. David
    There is no such right. Certainly not in military terms.

Was there a right for Cuba circa 1962 to have nuclear weapons pointed at Washington?

Let both answers be the same. If you still hold any semblance of fairness.

34. @Pacha

The answer is YES.

Whether geopolitics allow is another matter.

35. David

You clearly have not a clue about the limits of your petty sovereignty and the causus beli for war.

36. Tunisian president announces referendum and elections

https://aje.io/n8aurt Tunisian president announces referendum and elections

https://aje.io/n8aurt

37. The Duopoly continues to make the propagandists, apologists and obstructionists, who act on their behalf , look like clowns.
    Each time they try to defend it , there is evidence that it is indefensible
    Latest:
    Henry Forde then leader of the opposition declared paying people in bonds is unconstitutional
    Of course they come here defending Mottley who is now doing the robbery and now they have to deal with what Henry said in 1991
    Pathetic

38. William…when i read that yesterday i was like WHAT….so where was Mia in 1991 when Forde assessed that situation…….it is confirmed there is no republic constitution so it can in no way be used as an excuse……..the colonial framework of the old one is still in place…some would say kinda sorta…….so what has the SLEIGHT OF HAND ACHIEVED…

my father-in-law used to say….the time ya wasted doing a halfassed job, ya could have used the same time wisely to do it properly..

39. “The Duopoly continues to make the propagandists, apologists and obstructionists, who act on their behalf , look like clowns.”

you do know that if they were not seeing it play in real time in front their delusional eyes they would swear on STACKS OF FAKE BIBLES that it’s not happening, that we are lying, cuss us and then go DIG UP IN THE ARCHIVES…🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

the blighted plight of pimps, imps and Slaves.

40. @ WURA
    Mia has successfully convinced people that she only entered parliament since she became PM.
    Maybe she doesn’t have any finger prints. An incredible feat !

41. you do know that if they were not seeing it PLAY OUT in real time in front their delusional eyes …

42. “Maybe she doesn’t have any finger prints. An incredible feat !”

unless ya burn them off fingerprints don’t hide……AND technology today don’t accept lies without spitting out the truth…

43. Well, I never defended it. I said it was unconcionable.

I assess each policy on its own merit.

This one is WRONG!

44. We have to hope , in the interest of future leaders and citizens, that they are being taught , in the classroom , the difference between criticism and critique. It is obvious that sometimes in our collective haste to disagree with others we inadvertently confuse the two.
    Our wretched leaders have identified this weakness and have exploited it with great alacrity. Nowaday, well thought out critiques are routinely branded as some form of criticism. This is most unfortunate and it usually propels well intentioned citizens to avoid national discourse.
    There are people who have been carefully critiquing the region for years, and from time to time, they offer their views and are accused of being destructive or too critical.
    Yes there is criticism and yes sometimes it is designed to often score cheap partisan points . However, it will be most unfortunate if we confuse it with critique.
    Like I said, I hope our teachers are driving home the difference in the class room because if they are not we will certainly end up in a very dark place.

45. David
    The Summit for Democracies another Biden failure.

As it turns out Biden wasted Mottley’s time as America tried to build a parallel international organization to bypass the UN which it has brutally dominated since the early 1990s.

This was the major reason for this confab. Of course, there are other legs to the machinations of the evil ones. They are also seeking to ditch international law for what they like to refer to as a rules based order. All of which is making no progress.

Unable to conduct crusades under legal fictions like the right to protect, R2P, as imagined by war criminal Tony Blair because of consistent vetoes at the UNSC by China. and Russia those whose economies are based on war are in trouble.

R2P got UN permissions to destroy Libya , Yugoslavia and others under an erected fiction of humanitarian militarism when the lead protagonist had carte blanche to do whatever they will at the UN.

Luckily for mankind a general absence of interest prevailed to scuttle Biden’s summit as his attempt to use Barbados and the motley gang of dependent countries as useful idiots fell flat on its face.

46. St. Philip, Barbados. Attempted Murder. What kind of person would ram a person not once, but TWICE with a vehicle? What kind of person did that?

MANGLED the elderly woman’s leg. Leg had to be AMPUTATED. All over a land dispute.

Attempted murder by any other name is still attempted murder! Naked!!

Subscribe. Like. Comment. Share.

https://youtu.be/7vILmPcgwoY

47. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
  48. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Pay attention Barbados…..RACISTS ARE NO LONGER TRENDING….get rid of them permanently….they have had a 400 year old run…..time to RUN THEM OUT…

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/appalling-race-rant-woman-who-abused-doorman-to-spend-christmas-in-prison/ar-AARM3Sc?ocid=msedgntp

Leave a Reply to African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+ReservedCancel reply