For many the decision to replace Queen Elizabeth II with former Governor General Sandra Mason will mean very little to many Barbadians. Hopefully after the government delivers on the promise to engage with the public next year about what is contained in the Barbados Constitution as a prerequisite to reform, civic awareness will be heightened. 

The time must come soon when the Constitution is regarded as a living breathing document to reflect the will and aspirations of Barbadians. One suspects it is only when such a connection is made will apathy and cynicism of Barbadians at the ‘establishment’ be replaced with trust.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the argument there was enough time for this government to have reengaged the public to deflate a narrative which suggest switching out the head of state is about naked political opportunism or laziness on the part of the Mottley government. The old people have a saying that every thing happens for a reason. The irreversible process creates the opportunity for Barbadians to be craftsmen of our fate has started, let us make the most of it.

The first step to usher in an era of citizen engagement by formalizing to a republican system will see the consciousness of Barbadians raised to fight the good fight to sustain a quality way of life for generations to come.

Key points from the blogmaster’s toast to the nation reflecting realistic expectations:

• Relevant transparency laws are proclaimed and operationalized
  • Auditor General reports and recommendations are not ignored
  • NIS and other important SOEs are ring-fenced from political interference 
  • Meaningful reform to the education system i.e. academic, technical
  • Vetoing lip service by respecting the environment i.e. waste management, educating citizens etc
  • Honouring the adage justice delayed is justice denied by improving delivery by Barbados Courts
  • Understanding the Bajan identity and implementing relevant strategies to nurture and grow pride and industry; retaining and repurchasing strategic assets for example
  • Reallocate tourism dollars to support agriculture and entrepreneurship; cottage industries to respond to a market place that prioritizes contractual arrangements above tenure for example 
  • Transform to a model for Renewable Energy in the world by banning the use of fossil fuel to a negligible number to fuel a new economy
  • Democratize the political party system with an objective of luring citizens of integrity to the political arena. Those willing to serve country first
  • Improve public transportation to a standard when vehicular traffic is banish from selected locations
  • Oversee a system of meritocracy (nuture a performance based culture) in Barbados

Members of the BU family are invited to share thoughts on the type of Barbados we must create for our children.

156 responses to “Long Live the Republic!”

1. I and I and I give thanks to His Imperial Majesty Emperor Haile Selassie I KING of Kings, LORD of lords, Conquering Lion of Judah, Elect of God, the Light of the World

Jah Rastafari

And I saw a strong angel proclaiming with a loud voice, “Who is worthy to open the book and to break its seals?” And no one in heaven or on the earth or under the earth was able to open the book or to look into it. Then I began to weep greatly because no one was found worthy to open the book or to look into it;

Then one of the elders said to me, ‘Do not weep. See, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has conquered, so that he can open the scroll and its seven seals.

No Longer A Slave

No Longer A Slave To Fear

2. @ Pacha
    Come on. You know you went wrong in that comment about Sir. Garry. I’m not going to be side tracked by any argument about Rihanna or anybody else.

3. “and the wearing of the royal medallion of GCMG with all its racist implications!”

good catch Miller…these rotated in and out of that haunted building for over 5 DECADES and NEVER KNEW the hate and racism associated with proudly wearing a medallion with some demon where it’s foot is on Black man’s neck and they UNDERSTOOD NONE OF IT…..but modeling it PROUDLY and powerfully…..and i must put my trust in these pageantry hounds who STILL do not know which way is UP and will now have to wait for the enlightened to show them the way………right…i could just see me being dumb Enuff to put MY LIFE in THEIR useless hands…..keep waiting, try holding ya breath.

4. and they still MISUSE pride as a powerful WEAPON of deceit…..but PRIDE still goeth BEFORE A FALL…

5. No Longer Slaves
    LYRICS

I’m no longer a slave to fear
    I am a child of God

You unravel me with a melody
    You surround me with a song
    Of deliverance from my enemies
    Till all my fears are gone

I am a child of God
    From my mother’s womb
    You have chosen me
    Love has called my name
    I’ve been born again
    Into your family
    Your blood flows through my veins

I am a child of God

I am surrounded
    By the arms of the father
    I am surrounded
    By songs of deliverance
    We’ve been liberated
    From our bondage
    We’re the sons and the daughters
    Let us sing our freedom

You split the sea
    So I could walk right through it
    My fears were drowned in perfect love
    You rescued me
    So I could stand and sing
    I am a child of God…

Yes, I am
    I am a child of God
    Yes, I am
    I am a child of God
    Full of faith
    Yes, I am a child of God
    I am a child of God

6. BARBADOS 🇧🇧

Yesterday, I knew the games to play
    I thought I knew the way life was meant to be
    But now there’s you, my foolish games are through
    Now at last I have found just what makes
    This whole world turn around

Love is all I have to give
    Love is all as long as I shall live
    So take it all and I’ll always be there
    When you call my name
    I know, know that love is all

Every night I longed to hold you tight
    Until the morning light shines in your eyes
    So love me now, we’ll get along some how
    Won’t you please take my hand?
    And together, forever we’ll stay

Love is all I have to give
    Love is all as long as I shall live
    So take it all and I’ll always be there
    When you call my name
    I know, know that love is all

Famous Lyrics by
    Engelbert Humperdinck.

@555 live video please.

7. NEVER KNEW the hate and racism associated with proudly wearing a medallion with some demon where its foot is FIRMLY planted on a Black man’s neck and they wore that crime scene for all that time and UNDERSTOOD NONE OF IT…in 5 DECADES……until the George Floyd public execution where everything literally got CAPSIZED…OR THEY WOULD STILL BE parading around proudly wearing a medallion of Black Afrikan hatred…

Miller….we have to be so thankful in so many ways for social media……there is no getting away from that…

the cyber stalkers can sit this one out.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, re : “The blogmaster continues to process the appointment of Rihanna as a national hero. Hopefully in the coming days thoughts will become more clear to post on it.”

What deeper thoughts are really needed!

Ms Fenty is an absolute national treasure, awesome ambassador and by available public knowledge an upstanding human being … alas at this stage of her life to be bestowed the honorarium of a “national hero” is pure political pageantry.

We cannot continue this pretense of embellishing our personal legacy as leaders by affixing some honour or title to the ‘current’ outstanding achiever.

The argument that such a grand LIFETIME honour should be given either late in life (when the history and legacy of the person is transparently known; or in death when same is done) is a valid one.

As I said the awesomely talented lady is a national treasure; a jewel to be prized and polished endlessly … and could indeed be a “hero” as defined by our honours committee but she should be allowed to live her life unencumbered by these high expectations … unless of course jet setting with the surely occasional slip of a scandalous wardrobe malfunction or verbal cuss fusillade or worst is fully acceptable.

This is a new world and way of doing things so who is an old fogey to complain of this new awesomeness.

BTW, a friend was remarking recently of the recent spate (10 – 15 years) of Cawmerians to WI honours and when compared to all the years prior it was a remarkable achievement (another discussion, another time)… but it just dawned on me that’s Rhianna alma mater too.

Its more power to ALL Bajans of course but the folks at Waterford must feel a lil giddier than most maybe.

I gone. Lata.

9. Gary Sobers may not have sacrificed blood on a literal battlefield but I’m sure he must have scrapped a knee or two and braved a bouncer or two on his way to defeating the superiority myth.

People have died on the cricket field, after all.

Gary told Barbadians and British alike what they both needed to hear!

And NO-ONE HAS EVER TOLD IT MORE ELOQUENTLY!

As for Rihanna, this may be an attempt to cash in on her worldwide public profile and also to “inspire” her to do even more for Barbados than she has already done. She has shown an awareness of our causes and a tendency towards activism. This may be about securing her voice for the future.

As it is, it will engage more young people in the process.

10. Skinner
    Your thinking is quinessentially Bajan. Don’t you see internal contradictions between your development arguments and your ill-founded position on this national farce?

You’re so emotionally attached to a man who grew up near you that it’s impossible to be dispassionate.

Coincidentally, it’s a man who after going to an Aparatheid state, twice, is as monarchical today as can be.

Even today he’s on international media pleading his undying love for the queen of england and clearly stating that republicanism is ill-advised for Barbados. Bussa rolls in his grave at Bayley’s. Of these are your national heroines, heroes, made.

This is not the first time we’ve disagreed about this. But let us agree it shall be the last. For you will never convince us that there can be any positive developmental outcomes from this national misguidance of a man otherwise considered an ogre.

Countries generally reserve their highest honours for those who died in battle, but not Little England, still.

Yours are the final wordsssssss!

11. @Pacha

Playing the role of opposing for the sake of it does not fit you well. The blogmaster will soon issue a call for Walter Blackman.

12. @DONNA

WELCOME to REALITY, it will come as a SHOCK to the ignorant DLP/BLP’ers like yourself who have infinite trouble reading between the lines and evaluating past Government performance. It’s only a matter of time when you look Like a Venezuelan DICTATORSHIP on the slippery slope to Haitian Status, that is if the Eastern Yellow Giant does not take FULL control for failure to repay their LOANS. The YELLOW GIANT cannot and will not be SNOWED like the IMF by BAJAN Whing.

13. EXTREME viigilance is essential going forward since there are those whose heads are now SWOLLEN with cotton wool and dumb shit…

Pacha…it’s a good thing not everyone falls prey to nonsense or all will be lost…but we had to bear witness so that MA’AT can be RESTORED…

14. BARBADOS

Mia Amor Mottley. The Hero of Today’s Celebrations 🙌🏿🇧🇧

15. They know who and what they are working on, they know all they gotta do is bring up pageantry and everyone will IMMEDIATELY FORGET….

the vaccine scam

the billions missing from the treasury and pension fund , the lamenting cries of the Auditor General

AND

how Mr. and Mrs. Maloney will deal with their short memory asses……that vaccine scam was nothing compared to what’s ahead…

16. but don’t mind me, not a fella gotta pay attention, am just working to launch my second website by weekend, so just keep on doing what yall doing…not going to stop my show in any way..

17. David
    You, of all people, should know that this writer does not do role play. Is not an actor, a cyborg, a mannequien.

Weeeeee are the ones who got Sandiford to go to Bayley’s plantation, when he was under fire by the gang of four, and made that property a national monument in honour of the real hero Bussa. When this lionizing of tom, dick and garry had not reached “bogue”.

If your aim is to be dismissive, well do that. But neither you nor Sir William Skinner is able to make fundamental contact with our core arguments.

The last words are all yours.

18. The Road Runner remains out of your grasp. The dynamite is hereby returned to you. Your face is wryly twisted as you await the blast that will blacken your creepy face.

You would have me believe that what comes next will be worse than the brutality of the white slavemasters!

This white man’s narrative is rejected as are all the white man’s narratives that went before.

Again you attempt to paint us as more brutal and savage than your kind.

But we have the history books to prove your brutality and savagery.

You have only a crystal ball.

19. It was good to see SIR Lloyd at the event last night Pacha.

20. @1hr.56m listen to the inspiring message from the President of Ghana.

https://youtu.be/_Ey5vNwlvNY

21. Such doom and gloom on a beautiful day!

The doom and gloomers were hoping for a washout.

Today we relax and celebrate. Tomorrow we read the Constitution.

22. William…i must ask, was UK the one causing the decades of criminalization of vendors (half century) for trying to feed their families…..i saw the black faces of parliament doing it ad nauseum, since i was a youngster so i don’t know who is being blamed for these anti-Black CRIMES……

“Vendors who dot the landscape in an everyday struggle to earn a living, should find solace as the first law to be dealt with by a new republic Parliament on Friday is aimed at giving them an ease.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley said the legislation will create a new deal that will stop making them criminals for wanting to support their families.”

23. “To the business people she said no one owed them a living and that they must earn their way first within the Caribbean single market and also beyond in the Americas and the wider world.”

this i can agree with, but do not FOIST your minority CRIMINALS and parasites on other Caribbean islands…more than Enuff was done to St. Lucia in the vaccine scam…….let them go further afield to North America and Europe and practice their criminality there……bunch of greedy SWINES and thieves, time to get them completely and PERMANENTLY out of Black/Afrikan lives..

24. David
    Interesting.
    Recall, that his most famous line was, ” I don’t believe in hero worshipping”.

He said that line in response to the “pantheon” of “heroes, heroines” submitted to Thompson, as culture minister, at the time.

Of course, once OSA won in ’94, the “mother of the republic” dusted it off and we had entered a respectability ethos unknown to mankind hithertofore. LOL

25. @Pacha

Barbados is no different to most countries in the world. We have to do what can every day to improve quality of life in our sphere of influence. If the blogmaster were to wallow in doom and gloom how easy it would be to forget that the opportunity exist to make tomorrow a better day.

26. “Prime Minister Mia Mottley said the legislation will create a new deal that will stop making them criminals for wanting to support their families.”

since am not A SLAVE….am asking again, WHY did it take HALF CENTURY to remove this evil piece of legislation and why was it not removed in JULY 2018……..immediately AFER election…

and especially when the parliament and cabinet have been managed by BLACK MINISTERS/lawmakers for OVER 55 YEARS……WHY was the majority population CRIMINALIZED for feeding their families….and the parliament negros DID NOTHING….

27. David
    Yes. Of course, words like hope and so on have been weaponized, politicized to the point of meaninglessness.

Maybe more active scientific approaches, evidence- based, as correctives to past failures is a viable alternative to measurably making the world a better place. Maybe!

28. “Mottley again called for direct bridges to be built with Africa to “remove the middle passage, the middle man and the middle leg to allow for direct engagement with our brothers and sisters”.”

I don’t know where this is coming from, but from experience ANY Afrikan DESCENDANT OF THE ENSLAVED in the Caribbean and WIDER DIASPORA can do business on the continent it’s being made easier and easier..and many organizations are there to help…….WHY…because we were INVITED…..all they need is to do very THOROUGH RESEARCH….make sure you have everything you need, all the necessary information, do volumes of research and SEE WHICH IS THE BEST FIT…and like with everything else and everywhere else, one must ALWAYS exercise great caution…..ya can’t be too careful anywhere….it’s not only peculiar to the continent,…

but if ya sending a bunch of CROOKS who are not invited and never will be, are not descendants of the enslaved and NEVER WILL BE……or sending black faces with BAD INTENT… look out for problems..

29. @Hants

CBC pulling out the all the stops, here is the CBC Radio news personality reporting from Bim.

https://www.cbc.ca/player/play/1979075651794

30. Yes but it starts with having a dream and positive mental outlook.

31. Pacha…we can see all of this for EXACTLY what it is, it is what it is and will NEVER show up as anything else in the minds of those who can actually SEE it….

am still waiting to be impressed..

32. David
    No. Those make you chumps for exploitation.

Is best to be circumspect in all things. Only the elements of spirit can so inform, properly guide, not intellect.

Waru
    Of course!

33. William…what can we say, we can only look on, but it’s starting to shape up…and really look.like UK is now the fall guy for all the SERIOUS crimes …half century’s worth…committed against the majority population by their black agents…no one can say these crimes were not committed…but am looking at WHO ACTUALLY COMMITTED THEM …desole..

….i still would never trust a colonial agent…or give them my back…

34. “Those make you chumps for exploitation”

ripe, pliable and VERY READY….

35. @WURA
    Of course you and @ Pacha are correct. I have supported the move to Republic because I have been publicly calling for the removal of the monarchy for at least fifty years or more. I have resented that crap from primary school when I was forced to stand up in the boiling sun to watch her car(the Queen’s zip by waving a Union Jack.
    So ideologically and philosophically when it comes down to the nitty gritty , I am more in concord with the offerings of you and @Pacha.
    I am not interested in all the other speeches etc because like you I don’t think there is any leader, anywhere in the Caribbean , at this time , who seriously wants to disrupt the establishment.
    So, having said that , I remain convinced that nothing I have heard will fundamentally change how we are being governed and an economic policy that bears no progressive reality to our current circumstance.

36. @ Pacha
    “But neither you nor Sir William Skinner is able to make fundamental contact with our core arguments.”
    Kindly resist putting me in any camp with @ David. You are being purposely dishonest and attempting to mislead the blog.
    I explained my disagreement with you regarding Sir. Garry. I never questioned your posts outside of that.
    Thank you !

37. I can’t keep babysitting Bajans with higher wisdom
    and breaking up the all in-fighting

Big protects Little
    But Little is Big now

The Bajans they…
    know their History
    where they are from
    know their Geography
    where they are located
    know their Science
    where they are going

Relax body and mind
    de-stress
    but, stay strong
    like Tai Chi practice

Republic of Barbados are not Newbies
    It is time to become Masters of your own life

we know who the duo of one star markers are
    Pacha and Waru grow up

38. “I don’t think there is any leader, anywhere in the Caribbean , at this time , who seriously wants to disrupt the establishment.”

we saw for ourselves how the little one in Grenada did not even wait to hear how the new Omnicon variant came about or who spread it, it started in the west and a lie was told but he did not care, and IMMEDIATELY banned southern Afrikan countries and no one even goes to Grenada like that, not from Afrika anyway, when they want to be top Slave they go to any extreme to keep colonialism and the accompanying crimes in play because they must be top Slave….it’s a disease of the mind that has poisoned the whole Caribbean…….they will keep their people trapped in colonialism and poverty just to stay on top and be parasites sucking forever on treasuries…..i have no use for any of them….and we can hope in the next 5 years…ALL THE AFRIKAN POPULATIONS across the Caribbean WAKE UP AND JETTISON every one of them and their blighted ways..

Kiki…i personally have never clicked on those star buttons or like buttons or whatever they are, certain things hold no interest for me….

39. Sir William Skinner

Yuh selectively take things tooooo seriously.

On this occasion both you and David were making, essentially, the same general argument.

No fight is warranted! We have declared a truce, you should tooo. Your position and ours are irreconcilable.

You should at times discern that these are mere words on a screen. All the non written verbal communication devices are missing. A a communicator you should know this.

You make this same error all the time.

40. Congratulations to Barbados.

41. Sir William

5:01

Your position as here stated meets our agreement.

42. Sir William Skinner

So we agree on two points.

One, the overdue need to ditch the monarchy.
    Two, that the socalled leaders are playing politics and unserious.

Hope our paraphrasing, precis, meets your approval.

The elephant which must so remain in the room is issue of honoraria.

43. Today we are still a republic with an outdated Westminster system. Tomorrow we will become a presidential republic with guided elections. The day after tomorrow, we will become a leader’s republic with a single party and a single source of power.

The example of China teaches us that the rise of a nation no longer follows the rules of game set by the Western powers. We have to choose our own path. The path of our Supreme Leader.

44. curious from a financial view TT primeminister gets 85000 and president gets 54000 us dollars
    st lucia govener general gets 36000 primeminister gets 50000 in barbados priminister gets 101000 and govener general gets 110000 us dollars is there some new pay scale for a new president

Leave a Reply to angela coxCancel reply