Amid the din of Covid 19 noise muted calls from the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) and the United Progressive Party (UPP) for the government to deliver a ‘budget’ have gone largely unnoticed by the public. The blogmaster agrees given the comatose state of the local economy the call is justified.
It is no secret the BLP inherited a sick economy in 2018 made worse by the ongoing pandemic that has negatively affected tourism – the key economic driver and contributor to foreign exchange earnings. Prime Minister Mottley is politically aware to know a budget at this time will encourage an uncomfortable national debate about the economy. She prefers to buy time to find ways to breath life into the economy, attack the high unemployment and more importantly ready the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) party for the general election due in 2023.
It is unfortunate that in our system of government the narrow interest of political parties always trump national interest. To apologists who posit that the majority of Barbadians prefer to enjoy the Yuletide season instead of listening and discussing a budget exposes the inability of Barbadians to assess the perilous state of the economy. The government of Barbados must be encouraged to constantly communicate to Barbadians its fiscal and monetary measures designed to kickstart the economy, the sooner the better.
Barbadians are described as an educated people, successive governments have allocated significant sums to the education Head amounting to billions of dollars – see page 599 of the 2021-2022 Barbados Estimates. Unfortunately we have not seen the investment translated to a vibrant, independent level of financial analysis and thought in the public space. We are a country mired in debt, locked in an IMF program with a junk status credit rating with key assets and institutions owned by non Barbadians. What more do educated Barbadians need to know to be galvanized out of a sense of civic responsibility to get Barbados back on track? What will it take for Barbadians to become strident about the inability of successive governments to implement transformative policies as they are about replacing the word God with Creator in a non binding document? What better time for the government to confide in the citizenry plans for improving the economy than during the month of November when we celebrate independence and moving to a Republic?
The last 15 years have been one of the worse periods of our existence as an INDEPENDENT nation. Let the election cycle begin – should we vote the same old B or the same old D is the question. What is that the Chinese proverb again?
If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading – Lao Tzu
What will it take for Barbadians to become strident about the inability of successive governments to implement transformative policies as they are about replacing the word God with Creator in a non binding document? What better time for the government to confide in the citizenry plans for improving the economy than during the month of November when we celebrate independence and moving to a Republic? (Unquote).
Imagine that! Mainly black Bajans having the ‘brainwashed’ intellectual time and energy to fight over the ‘name’ of an imaginary ‘sky being’ given to them by the English who enslaved their very own Africa-originated ancestors.
Wasn’t King James-one of the biggest hypocrites who ever lived and who authorized the bible for white Bajans to ‘read’- an ‘intimate’ companion of George Villiers?
Meanwhile, the commanding heights of the Bajan economy are owned and directed by foreign people(s) who do not subscribe to any of those tales written in Jewish book of mythology.
Why would a so-called devout Christian country like Barbados allow itself ‘to be forced’ to borrow money and rely so heavily on material goods manufactured in non-Christian China?
Isn’t China, in the eyes of Bajan Xtians like the 2 GPs, an ungodly pagan communist country controlled by the devil?
Why not terminate ties with that pagan country instead of allowing the spread of unchristian practices to Barbados like the non-recognition of all gods in the public space except Yudi and Wēnshén (the god of plagues) to save Bajans from the public heath challenges and potential economic fallout from the new variant of the Covid-19 called the Botswana ‘black’ devil.
2o21 budget as follows.
We brek
We got a big deficit
We got bad cash flow
We going borrow from China
Budget past 29 to 1.
Wait wunna expected more? Now about the republic let we focus on that please! LOL
@John A
How does one align your comment to the false expectations of households and other players in civil society? Is there enough evidence to influence a change in behavior and expectations?
The economy is where it is because of the policies regarding covid etc. The curfew, the requirements for visitors to enter, the uncertainty of the road forward, have all stifled this economy. Add to that the indecisiveness of government to be able to mandate vaccinations has all caused us to lose millions in economic activity.
Right now we are basically in December. Those tourist who have booked will not even be able to celebrate old years night as the curfew is 12 pm and they will be dancing in masks. Meanwhile in Antigua the hotel association went to the PM there explaining their concern on old years and Brown moved the dropping of all protocols to December 27th to facilate the industry.
We have our selves to blame and we need to accept it and stop looking for red herrings.
@John A
The economy was fragile before Covid 19.
This is click bait. I shall hold my peace.
@Vincent
We must conclude you see no need for a ‘budget’?
@ John A
Based on what I’ve been told, Antigua’s COVID-19 state of emergency will end at midnight on December 22, 2021, which would see an end to the curfew and restrictions on the freedom of movement….. which, as you ‘said,’ essentially means a reopening of the island’s economy.
Parties for the upcoming Christmas holidays and New Years events will be permitted. But, the organisers of those fetes must allow entry only to those patrons who have an official COVID-19 vaccination identification cards, whether issued in Antigua or overseas for tourists.
Additionally, government will also restrict activities to one fete per day with a minimum of 300 people in attendance.
However, from what I understand, all the protocols have not been dropped as you seem to be suggesting. Clustering, beach picnics, music or alcohol consumption will not be allowed. And, the protocols relative to wearing mask, social distancing, sanitizing and family gathering restricted to 25 persons, remain in place.
The difference is, Browne introduced a mandatory vaccination policy……. Mottley did not.
Wouldn’t it be better to do the budget at the end of the financial year as usual ( March ) next year?
This financial year is almost over
@John2
The poor state of the economy especially with covid 19 call for more frequent updates from the government about what is happening. It is not a business as usual scenario with the public having to be satisfied with sound bites from consultants.
The PR machinery is at work. What does this affirmation from the credit rating g agency men? That we can borrow at low rates from the capital market again.
On further ‘investigation’ I realised ‘government’ laid and debated ‘The Estimates’ in Parliament, for the past three years, as is constitutionally required.
My questions are, against that background, is a ‘Budget Speech’ is a constitutional requirement and if not, is it necessary to have one every year?
Or, are we conflating or using the ‘Estimates Debate” and ‘Budget Speech’ interchangeably?
@Arta Of course the government debated the Estimates required by law but you must ask how has the Budget been used by governments in the past and take consideration of the present state of the economy affected by Covid 19. It is not a business as usual scenario.
Barbadians are meant to snap up 125 million Treasury Notes of 125 million without being taken into the confidence of the government?
The economy is where it is because of continuous dependence on Tourism and “offshore Tax reduction”.
More eggs should have been put in the basket in times of plenty to help in times of need.
buh doan mine me. De maguffees like Vincent and the GPs know betta dan me.
Updates or Budget – Which one are u calling for right now ?
John A
The Covid situation in getting better. Who is not yet vaccinated may have already been infected. IMO the curfew will be lifted before the partying begins
@John 2
No patience for your word play this morning. The government needs to stand up in the parliament and present a financial statement/budget call it what the ass you want. Talk to the rh people about the economy and what the government is doing to fix it. The government was elected to serve us!
What about our rh lifeline?
“The last 15 years have been one of the worse periods of our existence as an INDEPENDENT nation. Let the election cycle begin – should we vote the same old B or the same old D is the question. What is that the Chinese proverb again?”
Break down:
10 yrs Thompson/Stuart
3 yrs Mottley
2 yrs Arthur
Period covered: 2006 to present.
Question:
Have we gone from the lost decade to the “ worse” fifteen?
So have lost half a decade somewhere in there?
Use and abuse of statistics.
@William
What is the purpose of your comment? Does it make a difference to what is being asked if the government? Too petty man.
Off script What were the Covid number for yesterday? I did not see any published
@David Bu
It depends on what you define as a budget. We have a tendency to set up straw men and then knock them down.
Did we not have extended sessions that debated and passed a document called The Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure earlier this year ? That is the Public Sector Budget.
Did we not attempt to discuss the 4 quarterly Reports of the CBB given by the Governor?
Did you not ventilate on this blog the several intermittent reports of the IMF, IBRD, IADB, CDB, ECLA? And those of Saba, Dabro and he crew?
What are your expectations from your “Budget”? Has the definition of a budget changed since we have become de jure a republic?
@Vincent
See comment to Artax, we are managing a dynamic situation. That incremental budget exercise is irrelevant to what is required to manage in the current situation.
David.
U like u confused. It’s not me that calling it what I like. It you that call for a budget
I went with that. It you that shift it to updates
@awareofminining
@John2
Carry on smartly, the blogmaster is battle harden when it comes to distractors.
This govt is known for not being transparent and accountable and the people are tired begging and asking for good governance
Today Persaud is trying to put spin on an article which was publish by a UK paper last week exposing govt plans on Chinese projects
The article also went in depth as to how Chinese influence is becoming part and parcel in Barbados economy
Presaud called the article sinister
However did not state why and could not refute what the article explicitly laid out in a transparent manner
Termed Chinese influence in Barbados
How are you different compared to Persaud? What about the article you can support because it is factual?
Why at this point do you need a budget to fixed the economy?
Last two economic reports showed the the economy was/is growing.
What do YOU think need adjustment/ fixing?
@John2
You are perfectly aware the term budget is a lose term for an event where government can give an update on projects, initiatives, how allocations to heads may call for drawdowns from the consolidated fund etc. instead of one of those two hour covid press briefings that are not boring people to death, allocate one for a fire side chat but talk to the people about the economy. Talk about the economy growing must be taken in context from a low jump off point. Stop the smoke and mirror stuff people.
The economist also hoped it would signal to investors that Barbados was emerging from the unprecedented economic “lash” it received from the pandemic and remained an attractive place to do business. (Unquote)
It would help immensely as a confidence booster if the GoB could persuade Maloney to inject some of that US$ 175 mill into the Bajan economy via the start of construction of that long overdue Hyatt erection.
How else can those houses in varying parts of Christ Church be sold unless the economy is firing on more than the one government-borrowing cylinder in order to provide jobs for potential buyers and create a measure of confidence in the long-term sustainability of the same Bajan economy?
@ David Bu
We need no fireside chats we are bored to death with them. There is enough commentaries on the state of the economy. Unless the MoF is taking a radical change in fiscal policy ,we simply do not need any chats. The Data is published for all to see.
We tend to hold on to outdated practices even though the environment has already changed.
Under the last administration during the budget session we the public was subjected to unadulterated campaign speeches. Do we want more of that or better?
Vincent we know your comfort level with maintaining the status quo and this is your right. Any well run business will complete an a budget and usually on a monthly basis will review performance vis a vis the budget to determine effectiveness of strategies funded by various allocations in the budget. What some of us are saying is that the performance of the economy is in a precarious state made worse by Covid and prospects for improvement changes from week to week. It is not a business as usual environment in which we are operating. Bits and pieces of information released in the noise of all that is happening is not enough. It is the economy stupid.
As i alluded before this blog is behaving strangely. I think it is being hacked.
https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/document/09347cfaa883386691c652eff24ef6a0.pdf
David Bu
Small Open Economies are always in Dynamic mode. That is the reason we have always chosen GoBs that have the skills to manage in a dynamic situation. What I would like you and other persons to bear in mind is that leaders and their ministers are not Magic Men. They have scarce resources of mind and money.
@Vincent
You state the obvious, you should add SIDs with open economies being buffeted by covid 19 an unprecedented event.
“The poor state of the economy especially with covid 19 call for more frequent updates from the government about what is happening. It is not a business as usual scenario with the public having to be satisfied with sound bites from consultants.”
It ain’t over until a fat lady sings
B.1.1529 variant is new news spreading Southern Africa expected to be designated today by World Health Organisation
David Bu
From the day Barbados rose up out of the Caribbean Sea., and was inhabited it was a Small Island Developing Country. What is the import of your last intervention/comment? The oligarchs had to manage it until the mid 1950s. Barrow and the Adams had to manage it. Mia and her cabinet have to manage it. For God’s sake please wake up. I am a realist. Not a spouter of hot air.
Should barbados close travel to and from some affected aareas of new variiant
DavidNovember 26, 2021 9:56 AM
How are you different compared to Persaud? What about the article you can support because it is factual?
Xxxxx
There is nothing that Persaud could refute
Everything stated was truth
He tried pitching a ball to dismissed the article
However the ball flew way past the stumps
The Miller
Recall, that this christianity is nothing more than another manifestation of paganism as deployed by the devout pagan Constantine as a way of consolidating political and military power.
These christian pagans are better described as Constantinians. Indeed, the first places for Constantinian pagans to worship him, as god, were location directly above temples for the worship of the dominant pagan god at the time, in that area.
So there must never be any quarter of respectability given to those idiotic pagans pretending to be followers of a man who has never been proved to have ever existed.
Sinister or truth
To support its claims, the author of the Times article cited the presence of Chinese labourers at the Sam Lord’s Castle, Chinese-manufactured buses, a handful of Chinese-built houses and a pharmaceutical salesman in Bridgetown who remarked “we’ll soon be ‘little China’” and feared the country would “fall into a debt trap”.
The article also referenced planned refurbishments to the decrepit national stadium, upgrades to the south coast sewage system and plans to erect Chinese-made prefab houses for those who lost their homes during the passage of Hurricane Elsa
The absence of a budget is a purely political decision.
It has nothing to do with any need for good governance, as is your pet peeve.
Even the routine engagement in such annually legislated posturing makes no substantive differences in who we are, where we’re heading, as necessary as we presume.
On reflection, these fudging of numbers, seem to hold no enduring relevance beyond the parade of mostly illiterate partisans playing to empty galleries.
@Pacha
How do we leap from your cynical perspective to one where we get to a relevant governance system. It has to start from somewhere? Now is as good a time given the current state of the economy for thr government to be examined under the microscope, especially with a general election coming. It could prove a mighty uncomfortable time for the incumbent. It is time to do as you often suggest and adopt a slash and burn approach.
Down with the status quo!
In Barbados a ‘Budget Speech’ usually takes the format of the Finance Minister informing Barbadians of ‘government’s’ financial plans such as, for example, implementation or amendments to taxes and projected income or loss as a result.
Then, what real purpose does it serve other than provide a format for politicians to brag about how many roads they had to fix that were left undone by the previous administration and to score cheap political points against their opponents?
I’m sure everyone in this forum remembers former PM Arthur’s scathing replies at the end of the Budget debates
It has also been used by successive administrations, especially when a general election is pending, as a campaign strategy, during which they would announce the reduction of taxes, increase in claims for personal income tax allowances, etc……. as a means of soliciting votes.
I remember reading that, in May 1976, Barrow replaced bus fare by stage with an island wide rate of 25¢.
Then there was the famous Richie Haynes ‘back raise budget’ in 1986, which people claimed was responsible for ‘Bree’ St. John and the BLP’s loss in the May 28, 1986 general elections.
So, there is a debate for ‘The Estimates’ and one for the ‘Budget Speech,’ at which there is political grandstanding.
My question remains, is the ‘Budget Speech’ necessary constitutional requirement?
I think some people are panicking here. We need to stop flailing about wildly and calm down.
There is no easy way out of this situation. The horse is bolting again and there is little we can do to stop it.
There is no magic wand here. It’s going to be rough!
The last thing I want to hear is a budget speech full of annoying hyperbole when all that can be done at present is to wing it.
Hopefully we will be still standing when the dust settles.
Be careful what you wish for! Mia longed to be prime minister from childhood.
I wonder if she is enjoying the challenge.
Now that you put it that way, David, I remember what I thought at the beginning of the pandemic.
This is a good time for deep examination and change.
So far there has been little evidence that we are so engaged.
History Edit
In 2004 Barbados was added to China’s list of officially approved tourist destinations by the government in China.[7][8][9] with Barbados’ former Prime Minister pushing for an open air accord between both nations.[10]
Over the years a number of building projects have been carried out with Chinese government assistance these include: The Wildey Gymnasium,[11] two adjustments on the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Conference And Cultural Centre, a Home Vegetable Growing Experimental Center, embroidery, grass weaving and feather handicraft. A consideration was also giving according to the Prime Minister of Barbados, David Thompson for China to assist with the opening of a new cruise ship facility in Barbados.[12]
Following the 2008 Sichuan earthquake, the Barbadian prime minister visited the Chinese Embassy to personally sign the book of condolence to the nation.[13]
In July 2010 Barbados opened its first resident Barbadian Embassy in Chaoyang District, Beijing.[14][15][16]
In 2014 both governments signed visa waiver agreements for travel by nationals from both nations.[17][18][19] Later in 2014 there was also an agreement signed in Barbados to establish a branch of the Confucius Institute at the University of the West Indies.[20][21][22][23][24]
In late 2015 the Chinese Navy hospital Ark ship visited the Bridgetown port.[3], [4], [5],
In February 2019 Barbados and China signed a MOU for Barbados to officially join the Belt and Road Initiative.[6][7] He Lifeng, chairman of the Chinese National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC), and Jerome Walcott, minister of foreign affairs and foreign trade of Barbados, held talks in Beijing, and the two sides exchanged views on jointly building Belt and Road cooperation between China and Barbados. Later that year China’s resident Ambassador to Barbados, announced 11 graduate students would be sponsored to study in China. The recent figure brings to a total of over 90 Barbadians who have taken part in the studying in China programme.[8] Other goals outlined in 2019 included China building providing technical assistance and funding for building a laboratory to ensure international product accreditation standards and address sanitary and phytosanitary rules of the World Trade Organisation (WTO).[25]
In 2020 the first batch of roughly 3 dozen BYD rechargeable electric buses were delivered to the Government’s Barbados Transport Board.[26][27][9]
In late 2020 the British media reported that United States military intelligence[28] spread an allegation to the Boris Johnson United Kingdom government that Barbados was dropping the Queen as Chief of State to appease China.[29][30]
Cxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Taken from Wikipedia
Why try to blame one government for the relationship with China – another yellow herring !
David November 26, 2021 9:56 AM #: “How are you different compared to Persaud? What about the article you can support because it is factual?”
Good question.
I’ll remind you of Jewel Brathwaite’s article in the June 28, 2016 edition of the ‘Barbados Advocate,’ entitled, “Wyndham Starts,” in which it was mentioned Sam Lord’s Castle was to be rebuilt with a BD$240M loan provided by the Chinese ‘EX-IM Bank’ and executed by the Chinese ‘China National Complete Plant Import and Export Corporation.’
https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/wyndham-starts
I’ll also invite you to read the following article in the November 25, 2015 edition of the Jamaican Gleaner online newspaper.
“Barbados has acquired a US$170-million (BD$240M) loan from China Exim Bank for the redevelopment of the Sam Lord’s Castle hotel, which is to be operated under the Wyndham brand.”
“There is renewed interest in Barbados from a tourism perspective, and the Wyndham brand, sitting on the site of the former Sam Lord’s Castle, will add to the growing list of branded properties setting up business in Barbados,” said Prime Minister Freundel Stuart at the signing of the loan agreement.”
“Construction will start in 2016 and finalised in 2018. The contractor for the project is China National Complete Plant Import & Export Corporation.”
https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/business/20151125/chinese-bank-funding-rehab-sam-lords-castle-hotel
My suggestion would be for people to do a bit more research and be fair and balanced when discussing these issues.
HANTS
RE De maguffees like Vincent and the GPs know betta dan me.
THANKS FOR INCLUDING ME WITH THE IMMORTALS LIKE VINCENT AND GP2 IN BUSYNESS AND ECONOMICS AND THESE HIGH MATTERS MAN
I AINT LEARN MUCH SINCE I USE UP DE SCHOLARSHIP I IS AN EX SCHOLAR NOW
BUT YOU SHOULD BE STRUMMING ON YOUR GUITAR AND SINGING
ONE OF THESE FELLAS DONT BELONG TOGETHER
ONE OF THESE FELLAS IS NOT ONE OF THE SAME
YOU CAN USE DE TUNE FROM SESAME STREET AND CLEAN UP DE LYRICS OR MEK UP YOUR OWN TUNE
BUT BETWEEN U AND I De maguffees like Vincent and the REST OF DE FELLAS ALL MEKING DEM POINT AND DE DRINKS FLOWING.. I WILL HAVE A PLUS OR A TIGER MALT
Time for a Budget
Exercise in futility
The spokes person for the imf says No
The IMF helps govern.this country and there word is law which supersedes of rules for good governance
Why because we owe them money
Their deaths bring the lives lost to COVID-19, so far, to 223.
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/11/26/five-lose-battle-covid-19/
@ David.
I will wait till I hear the budget to comment. What I know is that while numbers do not lie, one can present those you want to and omit the ones you don’t.
It is easy to stress how much in my wallet and not mention who I got to pay this evening. Anyhow I will await the budget when ever it shows up. While March is the financial year end it is customary to get a budget around this time.
Of course all that was pre republic maybe that too has changed. LOL
I am unsure what “we” think a Budget will provide?
It is highly unlikely to provide any greater clarity or accountability on a number of topics.
Press reports already mention comments from the PM on ‘unspecified projects in the works’, which is a staple for all administrations of the GoB. And reports from whomever is Gov of the CBB.
And since the most recent international credit report did not downgrade the Barbados rating, this can be used to proclaim “tings OK”. It doesn’t disqualify the offering of the Republic Bond. Nor inflict any further financial pain, should any borrowing rate be impacted by such ratings.
Nearly forgot…a Budget. Future plans and financial projections. Simply, not a good topic.
So lewwe drink a few rums, and delight in the new Republic, and observe even the stupid son of the reigning UK monarch is coming to witness her expulsion.
@NO
As citizens part of our role is to be vigilant. Calling for a national debate/budget is central to raising civic awareness. We maybe be inclined to be cynical looking into the rear view mirror but there is a lot of untraveled road ahead.
Canada bans travellers from southern Africa as concerns mount over coronavirus variant
https://www.ctvnews.ca/health/coronavirus/canada-bans-travellers-from-southern-africa-as-concerns-mount-over-coronavirus-variant-1.5682764
“Barbadians are meant to snap up 125 million Treasury Notes of 125 million without being taken into the confidence of the government?”
I take it you are rich rich
NO
The flight taking the idiot out of the island can be symbolic
@John2
can we not see that plane leaving, and all those aboard, and all those on land in the departing party have little cartoon like bubbles above each with the same inscription “good riddance”. 😂😂
@John2
hit send too early…
I think it is known as a win-win situation?
Unsure Grenville would agree, but otherwise.
What you have dearly hope for has always been an impossibility – tinkering verses radical transformation. Yet you seem to be unwilling to consider the true orders of magnitude being engaged.
Maybe, just maybe, you should allow historical precedents school you as to how, given the vested interests acting as conservators of the status quo, will allow only the death of established organizing governance principles make room for transformation. Indeed, if these same forces cannot continue to contol “the world tomorrow” the dead will continue to be given life.
@Pacha
How does one discover the tipping point? A series of unpredicted events by actors involved?
#gladwell
@ Northern
I am not listening for the numbers as much of that the governor has given, what I want to hear though is the measures.
Now we heard minster Straughn already hinting at a “tuning” of the customs tariffs to ensure government is not cheated of tax. Of course nothing was mentioned about plugging the holes in our collecting system though. So like Robin Hood he will take from who he can find and ignore the others.
What I want to hear is the “meat” of the plan. Tell me how you going close the deficit and if land tax going up for example, or what is the master plan. Of course if you fixed the tax collection strainer we would not need to pay more for toilet paper say, but that is small matters anyhow.
Tell me how wunna plan to run an economy on a substantially lower level of income with the same expenses. You see i would like to know so I could cut back the 1 door shop expenses the same way! Like should I cut back on security say and feed the old dog only once a day for example?
I do not care what the British think. This is about what WE think. Thinking about what they think is a waste of time.
It is for us to make this meaningful. This is about us, not them. It is about how we feel about ourselves. We already know how they feel about us.
We have to render that to be insignificant.
Reduce wastage. Reduce inefficiency. Cut out corruption. Push agriculture. Push renewable energy.
Forge or strengthen links with like-minded nations within the Caribean.
All the other stuff is beyond me.
On May 25th, 2018, I would have said have frank conversations with and engage the masses in a national agenda.
But several missteps have been made along the way and I doubt that that is possible now.
It’s going to be a long hard road.
NO
It’s all symbolic
He coming just to turn over the crown to Sandra. So He is allowed one last royal visit.
When he come in we should be still be under the Liz ( symbolically) When he departs we own Sandra will be wearing we crown
@JohnA
smack smack
You awake yet?
Good
Now listen. We are NOT lowering our standard of living. Neither is any other nation in debt up to their ying yang.
All we wish to hear, is how can we re-finance our existing debt and/or which of our debt holders will provide debt relief and/or where can we borrow money at lower rates with longer repayment schedules.
We have called 463.
This sh!!te about deficit reduction, lowered levels of income/revenue, similar or rising expenses, sustainability….
We intends to spend just as much as we have in the past. Or more. That has nothing to do with revenue collected, it is simply what the people need. They have earned it, they are entitled to it.
I gone
@NO
Do you have an opinion on the Fortress Funds?
There will not necessary be one – a tipping point.
Maybe, we’ve passed it already without recognition.
Social scientists all over have been saying that “the centre cannot hold”.
We may arise, or not, one morning to a totally diferent world. And different does not mean better.
Macabre? Maybe!
No opinion…know nothing about them.
Simple approach….seek investments which have a leg in the international markets.
So keep far from the Republic Bond issue…LOL.
As I said earlier I am taking a TheO on that topic.
My many earlier comments on GoB paper, and subsequent events should be instructive.
You might ask yourself, what has changed?
@NO
The government.
The contents of the kitchen cupboards are more relevant than the chef.
Unless of course IOU soup is one of your favourites.
You maybe surprise how mere words can instill confidence in some unenlightened souls.
@ Northern.
Lol you sure you not running in the next elections cause you sounding like you looking for a ministry? 😅
I think you call that the trust now pay when or if you can plan.
@JohnA
I am agnostic, Ministries are of no relevance to me.
In a similar vein, I think the believers say…In God we Trust, all others kindly pay cash.
Recalling the BU Bond salespeople Alvin and Angela? Their equivalents of today, are sure to step up soon.
Special delivery to NO.
Central Bank willing to buy bonds
By Shawn Cumberbatch shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com
The Central Bank is on standby to purchase some of the $125 million in newly-issued Government bonds if private investors do not acquire them.
However, both Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn and Government’s senior economic advisor Dr Kevin Greenidge stressed that this was not a signal that the bank was returning to the days when it would be financing Government routinely.
They explained that any such move would enable the Mia Mottley administration to access $261.6 million allocated to Barbados in August via an increased special drawing rights (SDRs) allocation from the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
The funds were part of a $1.3 trillion allocation to all IMF members and is intended to help them in their COVID-19 pandemic battle.
On Monday, for the first time since the 2018 domestic debt restructuring, the Central Bank launched a $125 million treasury note to test the appetite of individual and institutional investors.
Straughn told the Saturday Sun that the funding was needed to help Government finance “extra-budgetary matters not contemplated”.
These included the clean-up of the volanic ash ($23 million), expenditures for house repairs as a result of Hurricane Elsa ($50 million), recapitalisation of the National Insurance Scheme ($50 million), and the COVID-19 surge caused by the Delta variant over the summer (almost $50 million).
“This was almost $175 million in extra demand on the cash flow of Government over the summer at a time when the economy is not yet back to full capacity. So the issuance of the bond is the mechanism under which the Government would access those resources made available by the IMF in order to respond to the pandemic,” the minister explained.
Straughn said his wish was that “Barbadian individuals and firms would recognise that even in the midst of the worse set of external shocks that the Government has managed the public finances responsibly and would participate on the basis of their capacity to do so”.
But he added that “the Central Bank stands ready to participate under section 62(5) of the [Central Bank] act in order to facilitate based on market demand”.
Marketable securities
Section 62(5) of the legislation
governing the Central Bank outlined that “where by an enactment it is declared that a public emergency has arisen in Barbados, the bank may purchase marketable securities issued by the Government or any publicly owned institution on the primary market”.
This was on the basis that “the total amount of Government debt acquired by the Bank pursuant to this section does not exceed three per cent of gross domestic product; [and] securities issued pursuant to this subsection shall have a specified maturity of a maximum of up to five years; be issued at prevailing market rates; be repaid in cash only; and not been rolled over or renewed”.
Greenidge explained that while the additional IMF SDRs were intended for Government’s pandemic recovery effort, “the Central Bank can’t just give the SDRs to Government”.
“The Central Bank has to either lend Government the money or give them by taking up a bond issue. This money really belongs to Government, this isn’t a case of the Central Bank providing financing to Government,” he said.
John A November 26, 2021 5:57 PM #: “I think you call that the trust now pay when or if you can plan.”
@ John A
It seems as though you implemented the plan in your ‘one door’ establishment. And, notice, I mentioned ‘establishment’ rather than ‘one door shop,’ because you may have a mega mart.
I was going to ask if you have any vacancies for people to stock the shelves. But, then again, you guys would give that job a fancy title, such as ‘Logistics Coordinator,’ and the candidate must be a Certified Professional Logistician….. only for you to place a notice in the newspaper saying, ‘having received no suitable applications for the post, we intend to apply for a work permit to bring in a non-national.’
A Dragon Reborn
This budget ain’t happening, but this Republic is, so don’t switch off just yet.
The nation will have to find it’s groove from it’s deficient past, and will then have to make it better for it’s children in the wheel of time.
L’État, c’est moi. (Louis XIV of France)
What the old king can do, our Supreme Leader has long been able to do. Mia Mottley is accountable to no one. She rules our island like the Leviathan.
@ William
“Break down:
10 yrs Thompson/Stuart
3 yrs Mottley
2 yrs Arthur
Period covered: 2006 to present.
Question:
Have we gone from the lost decade to the “ worse” fifteen?
So have lost half a decade somewhere in there?
Use and abuse of statistics.”
Xxxx
Is there a lack of appreciation for where we find our place in history today ??
The 15 years are calculated by the blogmaster from 2006/7 at the start of the global financial crisis.
@William
Consider
What life will be like in 2025 in the wake of the outbreak of the global pandemic and other crises in 2020, some 915 innovators, developers, business and policy leaders, researchers and activists responded. Their broad and nearly universal view is that people’s relationship with technology will deepen as larger segments of the population come to rely more on digital connections for work, education, health care, daily commercial transactions and essential social interactions. A number describe this as a “tele-everything” world.
@ Artax.
No please I might be a old one door shopkeeper in the bush with the side of the shop prop with wallaber post. Lol
You know the ones that had a Weight under the scale pan to cover ” spillage.” That kind of “propriortier” as the fellows at laff it off would say.
Listen them old fellows could teach many of these politicians and modern day businesses a thing or two about basis economics. They raised families off a small shop, educated their kids and bought a few properties well In their day. Of course many would argue that was a simpler time.
Which leads me to ask as a people are we really better off today? Or is it a case where the old folks in fact had it better than us in real terms?
@ Artax
Let me quantify the last paragraph above a bit clearer.
What I am asking is this, was let’s say a middle class couple where the husband worked at Cave Shepherd as a supervisor and wife maybe as a legal secretary, actually better off financially today say than in 1985? The question is did the increases in salaries for these 2 jobs over the last 35 years keep up with inflation, or are these persons now in real terms poorer than 35 years ago? Is it about income or is it about buying power in real terms vs salary compared to that of 1985?
The reason I ask this is if salaries on the whole have not kept up with inflation over the last 2 decades, then how can we expect any real econimc recovery as the average person would now be poorer in real terms?
Just food for thought.
Is it about income or is it about buying power in real terms vs salary compared to that of 1985?
Standard of Life Quantity of Life Vs Quality of Life
Now let me meditate on some issues
O Globalisation
O Outsourcing
O Automation
O Zero Hour Contracts
O Global Financial Crises
O Wage Freezes / Wage Cuts
O Cost of Living Rises
O Global Wealth Inequality
But, there has been some leveling
now everyone is poorer
and much dumber
people don’t change when they get older
they become more extreme
and are now plagiarising conspiracy theorist copycats
on a world wide web sitting in front of computer screens
Look at your internal contradictions. On the one hand, your christianity is to be a standard variable. On the other, you expect a government, as so misguided, to be the Grouch and steal christmas with budgetary realities. LOL
These two should not comfortably coexist.
@Pacha
Christiananiry is a dogma which used by man to fuel wars and rumors of wars. Human beings yearn for a belief system to feed their purpose.
@ David BU at 8:24 AM
As a human what purpose do you yearn to feed?
@Vincent
To be a good person.
@! David BU at 8:58 AM
That is precisely the target of those who profess and practice other religions/ faiths. But they are merely targets and from time to time they will not hit the “bull’s eye”.
@Vincent
The blogmaster respects the right of anyone to access a belief system of their choice including the atheist.
What about the extremists in all religions?
At what point do your central tendencies take absolute responsibility for these acts?
And why should these inhumane impositions, all religions, be a given?
Where did these religions come from? Was our world always so determined?
BTW, atheists are regligious groupings as well.
@Pacha
This is why emphasis was made by the blogmaster to single atheism and gives support to the use of Creator in the Charter if Barbados wants to do more than pretend it is an inclusive society, a tenet espoused by the christian religion?
Your type of inclusivity would not be ours.
Inclusivity, like independence, can only take root where historical imbalances are rebalanced. Those should be our focus. Not making ourselves acceptable to newly emerging “norms”.
That kind of language is destructive. It ignores 500 years of history. No real development can so come.
We know Pacha, you have an insatiable appetite for perfection, an elusive vision of what is possible although dependent on a fallible people.
Bowen presents $1.3b budget in Grenada
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/11/27/bowen-presents-1-3b-budget-grenada/
Shackles off!!!
General fundamental questions as Barbados about to exit the grip.
Change, solitude, space and time, causality, necessity, other possibilities going forward into the ABYSS..
Pray for safe PASSAGE..
With all the other confusion around there is still more to be found…..people from countries that these islands are TOO DEPENDENT UPON….are always traveling across the continent DAILY they are the ones infected Afrika with the virus…so how are they going to keep a new strain out…witout extending that ban to include traditionsl tourists…..
“ST GEORGE’S – Grenada on Friday become the first Caribbean Community (CARICOM) country to announce that it would not allow people from several African countries into the island as a result of a new coronavirus (COVID-19) variant.
“Persons with a travel history in the last 14 days to South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho and Eswatini will not be allowed into Grenada. It comes in the wake of reports of a new strain of COVID-19, called Omicron, which has been described by the World Health Organisation (WHO) as a variant of concern,” according to an official government .”
Perfection? It is the systems which you continue to support which have failed and will continue to fail mankind.
Like a grave-digger you expect that real development could be imposed from on top without properly correcting past failures, making assumptions which are untrue, etc
No ideas this writer has held have ever been widely implemented. It is you and your ilk who have brought us to this developmental cul-de-sac, and will continue so to do.
Dey say politics is about the possible, use to say. For not much has been possible these days. This writer has never been a politician or a sympathizer with politicians, like are you. Therefore, far from seeking perfection, dealing with these issues dispassionately can be engaged without a care. Maybe, a kind of politician after all! LOL
Same thing i have been saying, these people are always on the continent and more than likely took the new strain there, and then spread it everywhere, and the tourist dependent small islands will now be reinfected with something which may be even more dangerous..
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/medical/first-two-uk-cases-of-new-omicron-variant-confirmed-in-essex-and-nottinghamshire/ar-AARcpox?ocid=msedgntp
They are in Afrika every miniute, you can guarantee they took that new variant there….and now acting as though someone infected them…
“Meanwhile, the Government is thought to be trying to trackdown more than 9,000 people who have come from South Africa over the last fortnight.
Experts have warned omicron appears to be more transmissible than previous variants, but are trying to establish how effective the vaccine is against it.”
Scottish Deerhounds are misfits.
Resurrection of Old/Middle English “Guthrie of Guthrie.” 0 + 0 = 8oy