In the business world there is the familiar quote “culture eats strategy for breakfast”. It simple terms it does not matter the policy implemented, it is the prevailing culture that will determine the degree of success.

The headline in today’s Sunday Sun Bookings Take a Hit was predicted in this space months ago. In our tourism source markets of UK, Canada and the USA there has been high penetration of COVID 19 vaccination of the population that has permitted a return to some since of ‘normalcy’. We observe people in those markets attending sports events, travelling in unrestricted numbers, dining and other pre Covid 19 activities.

While the developed world is moving ahead with finding ways to coexist with coronavirus, Barbados with an economy solely dependent on tourism continues to be engaged in analysis paralysis. Before the pandemic Barbados was a country up to its ‘wazoo’ in debt – easy access to credit at the household and government level, we have developed an addiction to consumption and less to promoting a culture of excellence; high productivity, customer service, innovated and creative thinking to name a few.

It was easy to have predicted tourists – who have the final say where they want to spend – would want to relax at a destination where there is peace of mind. The current situation where Covid 19 numbers are surging for the world to see, we find ourselves in a pickle given the reluctance by government after government to mitigate risks associated with an over dependence on tourism. We the people are not entirely blameless, we have never felt the need to forcefully protest against lazy policies of successive government. The blogmaster buys into the position ‘people deserve the government they get‘.

After more than a decade in the economic doldrum and Barbadians described as suffering from economic fatigue, we are also being described as suffering from Covid 19 fatigue. The effect of the two ‘afflictions’ do not augur well for the future. The reality is that people must adapt to the environment in which they have to exist. If we want to enjoy the benefits (earning hard currency) of being an idyllic, iconic destination we know what we have to do. If we want to engage in analysis paralysis and bellyache about Covid fatigue then suffer the consequences. What should be obvious is that this stage of the game, we cannot pivot to replace the direct and indirect contribution to GDP in the short term. That boat has sailed.

Here is he latest BU Covid 19 Dashboard prepared by Lyall Small.

Attached are 2 charts for last week. We appear to be at a point where the cases per day have been fluctuating around 300 for nearly 2 weeks now. This suggests to me that there has not been an explosive growth in cases over that period and that there is therefore a reasonable chance that we could be nearing a plateau and then a decrease in cases. However, it can go any way and we all should do our individual parts in scrupulously adhering to the protocols, using our common sense and taking the vaccine – Lyall Small

256 responses to “BU Covid Dash – Economic Effect”

1. Adrian Green produced a good article this week. However, laudatory comments are based on his body of work and not this article.

Michelle Russell Mut up her game. Cobbling together a couple of paragraphs is well below my minimum expectations.

MIA is Ezra Alleyne. I must confess that I miss his weekly contribution. I did not expect to have such feelings. There must have been something there….

2. @ Tron

Yes we are too expensive to export much, but we are capable of ramping up production on both the sectors I mentioned to meet local needs and hence reduce the FX drain being lost to purchase imported carrots and tomatoes, along with a host of other items. Like wise the Same with alternative energy.

3. @ Tron
    Trust is very important, many Barbadian don’t trust the supreme leader any more.

4. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 11:27 AM

I agree that there are variables to juggle. GOB and its technocrats are paid to juggle these variables and make decisions on what is best for the citizens of Barbados. Our job is to suggest solutions and ventilate the issues.
    Governance is not easy in this particular epoch. Letting in more tourists increases the probability of increasing contagion with the more dangerous strains of COVID and ultimately putting more stress on our local health facilities.

5. @Vincent

Unfortunately the people may not always be seized with all the information to give valid feedback but we must – this is where our leadership must stand tall.

6. GPOctober 17, 2021 11:03 AM

RE Uk is pushing to 90%, Canada is pushing to 80% and the US pushing to 70%.
    AND THE INCIDENCE CONTINUES TO RISE IN ALL THESE PLACES
    SOMETHING IS WRONG
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/coventry-trialling-3-000-grants-for-drivers-to-give-up-their-cars/ar-AAPDeGW?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=W069

Confucius say, sum ting velly velly wrong!!

7. The people who engineered the virus understood the problems every country faces with their water supply and sewage disposal.

The more advanced the country, the bigger the problem.

8. @John A October 17, 2021 11:46 AM

You’re absolutely right about green energy. It’s laughable that we haven’t already converted our island to solar power. Solar for the many baths and swimming pools in our villas also works.

@ WatchmanOctober 17, 2021 11:48 AM

That may well be. Therefore, our Supreme Leader has her volunteer propagandists who spread the right narrative.

We must be able to justify every action of our Supreme Leader. For example, if the rebel Payne now claims that our Supreme Leader must apologise to Big Sinck, I vehemently disagree here. Our Supreme Leader did not appoint Big Sinck to the COVID19 Council out of personal esteem, but to give the weak-minded bottom 50 percent of the population a voice in the Council. For this task, Big Sinck, as a numerical genius, is ideally suited. Besides, this is about retribution: She did not appoint him as commissioner out of personal appreciation, no, she just wanted to show him up and burn him like OSA and former, failing ambassador Thompson.

9. TheOGazertsOctober 17, 2021 11:26 AM

I visited a sister Caribbean island a few months ago. Requirements to be met prior to boarding the plane
    (1) proof of full vaccination
    (2) evidence of a negative test 72 hours before departure.
    (3) an approval email from the island authorities…

But it would be tough for the GoB to adopt this policy if local folks are not vaccinated.

Why ever not.

The US has mandatory vaccinations for travelers from November.

No universal vaccine mandates internally.

10. JohnOctober 17, 2021 12:01 PM

GPOctober 17, 2021 11:03 AM

RE Uk is pushing to 90%, Canada is pushing to 80% and the US pushing to 70%.
    AND THE INCIDENCE CONTINUES TO RISE IN ALL THESE PLACES
    SOMETHING IS WRONG
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/coventry-trialling-3-000-grants-for-drivers-to-give-up-their-cars/ar-AAPDeGW?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=W069

Confucius say, sum ting velly velly wrong!!

… oops, wong.

I was never any good at Mandarin

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John at 12:01 PM

Yes . Something is “velly velly wrong”.There may not be such a thing as a herd immunity for this particular virus. It seems to behave like the common cold….constantly mutating for its own survival.

12. Here’s what’s happening in the UK now.

https://check-for-flooding.service.gov.uk/

13. @Tron
    At lease you are truthful about the sick actions of your
    leader . your have the last words

14. @🐰/🐇
    I see the constant equating of the USA with Barbados. I do not consider the two as equal.

Notice that the sentence above does not provide a ranking/rating.

15. Back in July, here’s what was happening in London.

This is probably a sewage manhole.

16. Steuspe

17. Here’s what happens to septic tanks connected to sewer lines.

18. @Hants. This from a population of approximately 15 millions. Barbados had 342 recently from a population of 300,000 or thereabouts.

19. Vincent
    Something is “velly velly wrong”.There may not be such a thing as a herd immunity for this particular virus. It seems to behave like the common cold….constantly mutating for its own survival.
    DO YOU REALLY THINK THAT THE “VIRUS” IS REALLY MUTATING?
    JOHN
    Steuspe
    HOW MANY TIMES MUST I TELL YOU TO FOLLOW THE SCRIP AND STICK TO THE PRO AND PRESCRIBED NARRATIVE, EVEN THOUGH THERE SEEMS TO BE MUCH MERIT IN YOUR NARRATIVE.

20. THIS COVID THING LIKE UM HAVING A SERIOUS “ECOLOGICAL”” EFFECT PUN WE DOH

21. And they’re off!

Not me doh doh! I am just here admiring Adrian Green’s description of what happens when a son grows up stealthily right under a mother’s nose.

Perfect!

My soul brother!

22. I promised myself that I would be serious today.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/16/govt-moves-to-clear-backlog-for-drivers-licences/
    Take a good look at the picture and see if you can explain the backlog
    Just one person working.

23. However, the Royal Wee is again correct in saying that the Bajans are simply being the copy cats they are programmed to be.

Still, if this resistance sticks around for better causes, it could become a good habit, forcing respect from those who forget that they are elected to serve not rule.

24. Of course, things in Barbados are going to get worse before they get better.

Let’s see if necessity will become the mother of invention or if we will put our trust in blessing circles and Ponzi schemes!

25. @ Vincent Codrington October 17, 2021 9:59 AM

In fact, there is no reason whatsoever to complain about Supreme Leader, State and Party. The death wave of the past few weeks will drive many volunteers to our vaccination centres. We could get to a vaccination rate of 60 or 70 per cent. The greater the virus threat, the higher the vaccination rate.

So let’s hope that the coming weeks leave a lasting impression on our unvaccinated masses. Before paradise lies carnage, before pleasure lies hard work. We will look back next year and thank those who gave their lives as the unvaccinated to convince others of the need for vaccination. It would be truly noble if Winston Clarke would volunteer here.

26. I am no expert on virology but you have to admit that the Delta Variant mutant story is a convenient explanation to the soaring numbers of cases post vaccination.

I see now there is the possibility of flu and Delta teaming up and of course there is also the Mu variant lurking in the background.

27. 3 MORE DEATHS AS COVID-19 DEATH TOLL RISES TO 119

A 60-year-old female died in primary isolation at the Harrison Point Isolation Facility.
    Two individuals, a 69-year-old male and a 74-year-old female died at the A&E Department of the QEH. They were all unvaccinated.

28. ..However, the Royal Wee is again correct..

Look how far things have come with the slavers and their property
    Their science of inferiority of subhumans based on complexion has been debunked as a crock of shit for 5 minutes already now

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/david-harewood-meets-the-earl-of-harewood-my-ancestors-were-your-familys-slaves-60hnp8hsl

29. It would be of interest to know how many people unvaccinated in isolation at HP survived the virus

30. Steuspe

31. @ angela cox October 17, 2021 2:22 PM

We do not need a sign of hope in the unvaccinated, but of desolation. They sacrifice themselves for a good cause, namely to fuel our vaccination campaign.

Better a few victims now than being held hostage for 10 years by the radical Muslim Brotherhood around Winston Clarke with all the negative consequences such as another state bankruptcy, suicides and the like.

32. TronOctober 17, 2021 2:30 PM

@ angela cox October 17, 2021 2:22 PM

We do not need a sign of hope in the unvaccinated, but of desolation. They sacrifice themselves for a good cause, namely to fuel our vaccination campaign

Xxxxxcc
    Well from my vantage point I take I bow to transparency
    Hostage taking is not on my agenda list an abomination which can be caterogorised as terrorist activity and should be punishable by the heaviest weight of the law namely death

33. Rate This
    DavidOctober 17, 2021 2:28 PM

Steuspe

Are u.afraid of statistics which welcomes the living

34. Twelve days ago London was like this.

35. Enjoy

36. Covid SURGES Among Most Vaxxed Communities Says Harvard Study

This is a link to the Harvard study published in the European Journal of Epidemiology link(DOT)springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/s10654-021-00808-7.pdf
    Quote:

…..in a report released from the Ministry of Health in Israel, the effectiveness of 2 doses of the BNT162b2 (Pfizer-BioNTech) vaccine against preventing COVID-19 infection was reported to be 39% [6],substantially lower than the trial efficacy of 96% [7]. It is also emerging that immunity derived from the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine may not be as strong as immunity acquired through recovery from the COVID-19 virus [8]. A substantial decline in immunity from mRNA vaccines 6-months post immunization has also been reported [9]. Even though vaccinations ofers protection to individuals against severe hospitalization and death, the CDC reported an increase from 0.01 to 9% and 0 to 15.1% (between January to May 2021) in the rates of hospitalizations and deaths, respectively, amongst the fully vaccinated [10].

37. Sometimes when I read some of the arguments put forward on BU, I wonder if our ancestors and Errol Barrow and his DLP government wasted their time kicking down the doors so that the poor children of the African descendants on this island could gain access to secondary education as we seem incapable of using it to put forward rational arguments based on evidence.

One such argument is the idea that tourists are canceling their holidays because workers in the tourism sector haven’t been mandated to be vaccinated. First, if someone only wants to holiday in a place where the hotel workers are vaccinated, why would they book a holiday in Barbados in the first place when mandatory vaccination of hotel workers has never been in place here? We are now nearly 2 years into Covid and nearly a year into the vaccine roll out – plenty of time for someone to check the vaccinated status of hotel workers before booking their holiday. Secondly, our vaccination rate of 42% of the population is right up there with the rest of the Caribbean. Is there any evidence of mass cancelation of bookings in other territories because of vaccination rate? If not, why not, since we have similar vaccination rates?

Isn’t it an obvious fact that people are canceling their bookings because of the current surge of case numbers on the island and not because of the vaccine status of hotel workers? A friend of mine in the UK recently sent me a Whatsapp message saying that we have the worse number of covid cases per million in the world. That is the kind of information that makes headlines and influences people’s choices.

With regard to that, I think a fair amount of the responsibility sits with those managing our covid response. I don’t understand why they haven’t tried to learn anything from the experience of Uttar Pradesh which, with a population of over 20 million and a vaccine rate of around 11%, cut its new daily covid cases from around 35,000 at the end of April to under 15 currently https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=uttar+pradesh+covid+stats. At the heart of their strategy was the distribution of a Covid kit, costing around BD$5 each, to anyone who tested positive and to everyone in their household. Looks like such a strategy would cost a lot less than Maloney would have got if he had managed to source his vaccines and probably less than we’re currently paying Covax.

It seems to me that some people prefer the present situation since they can use it to call for taking the bread out of the mouth of any hotel worker who chooses not to be vaccinated and so send them into the hands of Kirk Brown and his blessing circle out of financial desperation.

38. Sometimes when I read some of the arguments put forward on BU, I wonder if our ancestors and Errol Barrow and his DLP government wasted their time kicking down the doors so that the poor children of the African descendants on this island could gain access to secondary education as we seem incapable of using it to put forward rational arguments based on evidence.

One such argument is the idea that tourists are canceling their holidays because workers in the tourism sector haven’t been mandated to be vaccinated. First, if someone only wants to holiday in a place where the hotel workers are vaccinated, why would they book a holiday in Barbados in the first place when mandatory vaccination of hotel workers has never been in place here? We are now nearly 2 years into Covid and nearly a year into the vaccine roll out – plenty of time for someone to check the vaccinated status of hotel workers before booking their holiday. Secondly, our vaccination rate of 42% of the population is right up there with the rest of the Caribbean. Is there any evidence of mass cancelation of bookings in other territories because of vaccination rate? If not, why not, since we have similar vaccination rates?

Isn’t it an obvious fact that people are canceling their bookings because of the current surge of case numbers on the island and not because of the vaccine status of hotel workers? A friend of mine in the UK recently sent me a Whatsapp message saying that we have the worse number of covid cases per million in the world. That is the kind of information that makes headlines and influences people’s choices.

With regard to that, I think a fair amount of the responsibility sits with those managing our covid response. I don’t understand why they haven’t tried to learn anything from the experience of Uttar Pradesh which, with a population of over 20 million and a vaccine rate of around 11%, cut its new daily covid cases from around 35,000 at the end of April to under 15 currently https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=uttar+pradesh+covid+stats. At the heart of their strategy was the distribution of a Covid kit, costing around BD$5 each, to anyone who tested positive and to everyone in their household. Looks like such a strategy would cost a lot less than Maloney would have got if he had managed to source his vaccines and propbably less than we’re currently paying Covax.

It seems to me that some people prefer the present situation since they can use it to call for taking the bread out of the mouth of any hotel worker who chooses not to be vaccinated and so send them into the hands of Kirk Brown and his blessing circle out of financial desperation.

39. Once a blogger referred to BU as a right wing blog. I disagreed with that opinion then.

But if you were not familiar with BU and stumbled upon it, the thought of a right wing blog would mediately come to mind. Many of the posts here are lifted from right wing sources.

40. @Tee White

It takes nothing off the tourist to book multiple destinations until the time comes to make the decision to confirm.

41. Population of Uttar Pradesh is actually over 200 million, not 20 million.

42. @David
    But if vaccinated workers in the hotel is that important to you, why even book a destination where vaccination is not mandated?

43. Fully Vaccinated Are COVID ‘Super-Spreaders,’ Says Inventor of mRNA Technology
    On the latest episode of “The Hidden Gateway” podcast, Dr. Robert Malone, recognized for his role in inventing mRNA vaccine technology, said, “The idea that if you have a workplace where everybody’s vaccinated, you’re not going to have virus spread is totally false. A total lie.”

By
    Jeremy Loffredo

On the latest episode of “The Hidden Gateway” podcast, host Justin Williams spoke to Dr. Robert Malone, an internationally recognized medical doctor and scientist who assisted with inventing mRNA vaccines.

The wide-ranging discussion covered:

The invention and early testing of mRNA technology, in which Malone was heavily involved.
    How governments are employing different forms of coercion to drive vaccine uptake, policies Malone said he believes are illegal.
    How public health authorities lack the normally required safety and efficacy information for a global vaccination campaign.
    How governments and public health authorities are lying to the public “for their own good.”

SNIP

In an attempt to clear up misinformation coming from the medical establishment, Malone said fully vaccinated individuals can spread COVID. “The idea that if you have a workplace where everybody’s vaccinated, you’re not going to have virus spread is totally false. A total lie,” Malone said.

The vaccinated are actually the “super-spreaders” that everyone was told about in the beginning of the pandemic, Malone argued.

Article continues here with embedded audio of “The Hidden Gateway” podcast interview with Dr. Robert Malone:
    https://childrenshealthdefense.org/defender/justin-williams-robert-malone-fully-vaccinated-covid-super-spreaders/

44. @Tee White

You book your top two destinations weeks/months in advance and make final decision when payment has to be made to confirm. At that time due diligence and others factors are considered by the tourist.

45. What does it mean to be human?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frBeb1wBltw

46. Greenie

There is little doubt that the whole development and expansion of this virus present gaping holes big enough to drive a bus through.

Something/s other than a regular virus is at work here. We would not want to venture a guess but there histories of officials weaponizing germs, viruses.

It certainly does not help that a range of conspiracy theorists and all kinds of cukes were the ones at the forefront of public enquiry from the very beginning, no least Donald Trump himself.

But it is a given that we are in a good mess with no side having a complete answer. Some may have a partial answer. Or the answer has migrated over the past 30 months with clear mistakes on all sides.

In military strategy were taught than when a choice is not clear it’s best to do nothing. Maybe this will prove to be the best choice, but we doubt it.

47. Tee White forgot to add how the private hoteliers have been hugely subsidised over the years by the impoverished tax payers. What a monumental waste of the public purse and for what?

48. “Something/s other than a regular virus is at work here. We would not want to venture a guess but there histories of officials weaponizing germs, viruses.”

it’s been months doctors have been saying when they put their vaccinated patient’s blood sample under a microscopic, they are HORRIFIED at what they see and are working overtime to find ways to reverse the degradation present…..optimistic doctors believe that something can be done, I saw some slides but had no clue what i was looking at and can only go by what THEY ARE SAYING..

, if GP saw the same samples, maybe he can expound on what he thinks it is from his perspective…but specialists, virologists who claimed this, do not know what they are looking at..

49. RE Malone said fully vaccinated individuals can spread COVID. “The idea that if you have a workplace where everybody’s vaccinated, you’re not going to have virus spread is totally false. A total lie,” Malone said.

The vaccinated are actually the “super-spreaders” that everyone was told about in the beginning of the pandemic, Malone argued.

GREEN MONKEY SIR
    NO ONE WANTS TO HEAR THIS…..THOUGH IT SHOULD BE OBVIOUS TO ANY ONE WITH ANY FUNCTIONING BETZ CELLS
    THIS INFO DOES NOT FIT THE NARRATIVE
    PLEASE KINDLY TRY TO BE CO-OPERATIVE AND ONLY POST THE REQUIRED INFORMATION THAT THE BU MEDICAL ILLITERATES WANT TO SEE AND HEAR
    PEOPLE HERE DO NOT LIKE IT WHEN YOU ARE RIGHT…AS YOU OUGHT TO BE