In the business world there is the familiar quote “culture eats strategy for breakfast”. It simple terms it does not matter the policy implemented, it is the prevailing culture that will determine the degree of success.

The headline in today’s Sunday Sun Bookings Take a Hit was predicted in this space months ago. In our tourism source markets of UK, Canada and the USA there has been high penetration of COVID 19 vaccination of the population that has permitted a return to some since of ‘normalcy’. We observe people in those markets attending sports events, travelling in unrestricted numbers, dining and other pre Covid 19 activities.

While the developed world is moving ahead with finding ways to coexist with coronavirus, Barbados with an economy solely dependent on tourism continues to be engaged in analysis paralysis. Before the pandemic Barbados was a country up to its ‘wazoo’ in debt – easy access to credit at the household and government level, we have developed an addiction to consumption and less to promoting a culture of excellence; high productivity, customer service, innovated and creative thinking to name a few.

It was easy to have predicted tourists – who have the final say where they want to spend – would want to relax at a destination where there is peace of mind. The current situation where Covid 19 numbers are surging for the world to see, we find ourselves in a pickle given the reluctance by government after government to mitigate risks associated with an over dependence on tourism. We the people are not entirely blameless, we have never felt the need to forcefully protest against lazy policies of successive government. The blogmaster buys into the position ‘people deserve the government they get‘.

After more than a decade in the economic doldrum and Barbadians described as suffering from economic fatigue, we are also being described as suffering from Covid 19 fatigue. The effect of the two ‘afflictions’ do not augur well for the future. The reality is that people must adapt to the environment in which they have to exist. If we want to enjoy the benefits (earning hard currency) of being an idyllic, iconic destination we know what we have to do. If we want to engage in analysis paralysis and bellyache about Covid fatigue then suffer the consequences. What should be obvious is that this stage of the game, we cannot pivot to replace the direct and indirect contribution to GDP in the short term. That boat has sailed.

Here is he latest BU Covid 19 Dashboard prepared by Lyall Small.

Attached are 2 charts for last week. We appear to be at a point where the cases per day have been fluctuating around 300 for nearly 2 weeks now. This suggests to me that there has not been an explosive growth in cases over that period and that there is therefore a reasonable chance that we could be nearing a plateau and then a decrease in cases. However, it can go any way and we all should do our individual parts in scrupulously adhering to the protocols, using our common sense and taking the vaccine – Lyall Small

256 responses to “BU Covid Dash – Economic Effect”

1. @John
    Rush Limbaugh is an American Hero.
    +++++++++

Some hero!

I read somewhere that he got a military deferment because of a pimple on his ass

2. With tongue on cheek!!

“In addition to being played in Heaven, Rush’s new show will be played for the souls in Leftist Hell for all eternity– or at least until they all become Conservatives.”

https://babylonbee.com/news/greetings-thrillseekers-music-lovers-conversationalists-all-across-the-fruited-plains-says-rush-limbaugh-on-heavens-pa-system-in-first-afterlife-broadcast

3. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Pachamama October 18, 2021 10:20 AM

Certainly a loud-mouthed braggart like Rogan should only be expected to do what ignorance demands

Clearly you have never listened to any of his podcasts otherwise you would not have made such an ignorant of the facts statement.

I advise you to spend less time listening to the old media soundbite gotcha news coming out of the traditional news media that never delve deeply into the issue and spend much more time listening to unedited podcasts and youtube long form interviews and conversations audience are now craving.

Long form live unedited interviews longer than 1 hour with questions submitted in real-time giving the audience a proper chance to fully evaluate both the interviewer and interviewee and judge for themselves is the future.

You can immediately see who is full of nonsense in long live interviews with real-time questions. I would love to see all politicians running for office do this.

4. RE Some hero! INDEED HE WAS VERY POPULAR

I read somewhere that he got a military deferment because of a pimple on his ass SO WHAT? I WOULD THINK THAT THE DRS THOUGHT THAT THAT “pimple on his ass” WAS SIGNIFICANT?

AS AN ALL KNOWING MEDICAL ILLITERATE PLEASE KINDLY ENLIGHTEN THE BLOG ON THE DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS OF PIMPLES ON ONE’S ASS

GO AHEAD MAN YOU ARE ALLOWED TO JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

5. John Brown was tried, found guilty and hung for treason!!

6. You keep telling people that there are NO GUARANTEES,,,there is no way Powell would not have gotten vaccinated, he was too disciplined as a 4 Star General…and that still did not save him..

7. Not only was Colin Powell fully vaccinated but given his status he was treated at Walter Reed….

8. The dumbest man on TV lends his support to Sanjay Gupta!!

9. This blog is to be hijacked again? You and others were given leeway to discuss the usual nonsense, now move on.

10. SO WHAT? I WOULD THINK THAT THE DRS THOUGHT THAT THAT “pimple on his ass” WAS SIGNIFICANT?

AS AN ALL KNOWING MEDICAL ILLITERATE PLEASE KINDLY ENLIGHTEN THE BLOG ON THE DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS OF PIMPLES ON ONE’S ASS

Good riddance to bad rubbish
    Rush suffered from infection that developed due to abnormal communication where his own shit entered into his blood stream.
    An anal fistula is a small tunnel that develops between the end of the bowel and the skin near the anus (where poo leaves the body).
    An enterocutaneous fistula (ECF) is an abnormal communication between the small or large bowel and the skin that allows the contents of the stomach or intestines to leak through an opening in the skin.

11. “Not only was Colin Powell fully vaccinated but given his status he was treated at Walter Reed….”

He was also a Vulcan and messenger boy for Massa

Like Condeleezza Rice he did not work for black people he worked for Stush Bush

12. Yall better start getting real serious about this virus and do your own research and stop listening to clowns….the life you save may be yours and your family’s.

13. SargeantOctober 18, 2021 11:41 AM

Do you think he was vaccinated?
    +++++++++++++++
    So what if he was? According to his family he was fully vaccinated, but he also suffered from other life threatening ailments and he was 84 years old. What is the life expectancy for men in the US?

Colin Powell had comorbidities and at one time was unvaccinated.

He was old.

He got vaccinated.

That means two things.

First, the population of persons with comorbidities in the unvaccinated falls so the death rate in this group should fall. Colin Powell and others with comorbidities have moved out of the unvaccinated group.

Second the population of those with comorbidities in the vaccinated group rises so the death rate you would expect to rise.

This is not what we are told has happened.

The issue of trust must arise as anyone can tell something is not right.

The demand for home testing, water testing and whatever other means the individual can have at his/her disposal is only to be expected.

Ms. Ram is a good business woman and she smells an opportunity to make a dollar.

There is nothing wrong with that, once she obeys the rules like all other business people.

14. This is the level of ignorance people buy into and i cannot handle….IT’S THE TOURISTS INFECTED THE WHOLE ISLAND WITH THE VIRUS….when they were allowed to by the government…..so this PRETENCE that they are afraid to catch the plague that they brought in and STILL HAVE….is ugly when it’s the people living on the island SHOULD BE AFRAID OF THEM…

it’s the government DEPENDENT on them, BY CHOICE…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/19/travellers-anxious-about-contracting-coronavirus-in-barbados/

15. And like if that was not enuff….let’s hope it stays more or less dormant…..see where they found it….IN UK…so don’t let these bullshit artist tourists slither into the island pretending that it’s the local riddled with the virus…when it’s been them spreading it WORLDWIDE all along..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/19/covid-19-new-mutation-of-delta-variant-under-close-watch-in-uk/

“Delta is the UK’s dominant variant, but latest official data suggests six per centof Covid cases that have been genetically sequenced are of a new type.

AY.4.2, which some are calling “Delta Plus”, contains mutations that might give the virus survival advantages.

Tests are underway to understand how much of a threat it may pose.

Experts say it is unlikely to take off in a big way or escape current vaccines”

16. GP.. what’s your thoughts on this mess. From the beginning we were hearing that there is a serious problem with J&J 3-in-1..

https://fb.watch/8KGXkolJhn/

17. WARU
    IT WOULD BE NICE TO HEAR WHAT THE BU IDIOTS HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THIS
    I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THEM COME UP WITH A DIAGNOSIS OR DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS UN THIS CASE

IF SHE IS REPORTING TRUTHFULLY THE SIGNS THAT SHE WITNESSED THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS MATTER.BECAUSE ALL OF HER ORGAN SYSTEMS HAVE BEEN AFFECTED
    THIS IS MOST NOTEWORTHY

18. I actually expect quite a few misleaders to get charged for people’s injuries and deaths…but they will swear they were following instructions from WHO, CDC, FDA and Fauci…who will then say it was not them.

GP..we gotta admit that things are just not looking good.

https://www.nydailynews.com/news/world/ny-bolsonaro-brazil-homicide-20211019-r4uzict755h2bazpijblw5ysyy-story.html#nt=pf-single%20chain~top-left-chain~recommender~automated~lower-headline-stack~R4UZICT755H2BAZPIJBLW5YSYY~4~7~6~6~art%20yes

“Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro could face mass homicide charges over his disastrous handling of the COVID-19 pandemic, according to a report.

A group of Brazilian senators are set to issue an official report recommending Bolsonaro be charged with 300,000 deaths due to his lax response to COVID, the New York Times reported. That’s about half the country’s official COVID death toll.”

19. RE GP..we gotta admit that things are just not looking good.
    INDEED

THIS WHOLE THING WAS PLANNED BY SOME EVIL MEN WHO CREATED SOMETHING THAT THEY NOW CAN NOT CONTROL

THEN WHO, CDC, FDA and Fauci… AND GOB MISHANDLED THE SITUATION VERY BADLY

IT IS MAKING THE PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRY VERY RICH AND DESTROYING MANY LIVES IN THE PROCESS

20. We can only wait all of this out…

21. Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro could face mass homicide charges over his disastrous handling of the COVID-19 pandemic, according to a report.

It’s in the water supplied in each country to its people by its own government.

Governments have effectively overseen the poisoning of the water and killed their own people.

That makes each Government liable, from Ms. Mockley and the 30 zeroes back down.

Jair Bolsonaro is just one of many that will probably fall.

Boris and his experts are another group that may be through the eddoes.

The only bodies that will escape the COVID debacle are Trump and the King of Bhutan just to put things properly in perspective at how universal has been the failure of Governments.

Neither one however is blameless

Trump has never sought to control his people and remove their God given rights and the King has ensured his country men/women are not afflicted by COVID through their attitude to the country and its natural assets God gave them.

The Bible does not speak about water as much as it does for man to come along willy nilly and disrespect the God given gift that it is.

“Water is mentioned a total of 722 times in the Bible, more often than faith, hope, prayer, and worship. In the Bible, it doesn’t take long for water to be mentioned. Right away in Genesis 1:2, “The earth was a formless void and darkness covered the face of the deep, while a wind from God swept over the face of the waters.” Water is such an essential component of life, it was created on the very first day.”

https://sites.duke.edu/theconnection/2014/06/05/remembering-gods-gift-of-water/#:~:text=In%20the%20Bible%2C%20it%20doesn,on%20the%20very%20first%20day.

It is ironic that flood waters were used to expose the mighty leaders throughout the world and hopefully bring them to their knees.

Every country I’ve looked at, every state within a country, has one thing in common, water.

I am amazed that people have been so blind to the role of water in life, it is as though sight has been removed from their eyes.

Someone asked me yesterday so how come you are the only one that sees COVID is spread in water?

He isn’t convinced of my theories and was being if you like, the devil’s advocate.

I don’t know the answer, all I know is that I have been fascinated by water all my life from the day my father put slaps in my backside for drinking from the tap and disobeying him.

I’ve spent more than half my life applying my scientific understanding water and still am in awe.

I came across a book by Dr. Masura Emoto on his work with ice crystals purely by chance years ago at a book shop at MIA when I was passing through.

Thought it was a bit strange but was fascinated by the photography of ice crystals and the theories.

How could there be such variation in crystals when ice is simply H20?

22. “Dr. Masaru Emoto was a Japanese researcher whose photographs of water crystals are responsible for us not perceiving water merely as H2O molecules any more.”

Maybe he knew something none of us did or do.

23. GP…reports coming out of israel, they revoked the vaccine passports…screwed up big time,..and trying to smooth it out…

let’s see what the copycats in the Caribbean do now..

……that is what happens when ya want to use nazi agendas to enslave the world and take away people’s freedoms…and it BACKFIRED..that shit is totally unfixable…RA!!!

24. WARU
    ISRAEL HAVE A GOOD PUBLIC HEA;TH SYSTEM , HAVE A HIGH VACCINATED RATE AND FOUND OUT THAT THERE SEEMS TO BE A CORRELATION OF A HIGH INCIDENCE OF THE DISEASE WITH A HIGH VACCINATED RATE, SO THEY SENSIBLY REVOKED the vaccine passports

iT IS NOT THAT THEY screwed up big time,..and trying to smooth it out…IT IS MORE THAT THE “VIRUS” IS NOT STANDARD CORONOVIRUS, CONSEQUENTLY ALL””VACCINES”” WILL BE FLAWED IN SOME WAY—- JUST AS THE EVIDENCE REVEALS

25. @ John October 18, 2021 12:46 PM
    John Brown was tried, found guilty and hung for treason!! (Unquote).

The above ‘assertion’ implies that you take great pleasure in celebrating his death.
    Didn’t eponymous Biblical characters John the Baptist and Jesus suffer similar treatment?

John Brown, like MLK, should be venerated as a national hero for African Americans for he did more for the liberation of blacks than your imaginary ‘white’ Jesus will ever do for them.

26. TLSNOctober 20, 2021 8:05 AM

Here’s another story that should worry this government

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/oct/14/merck-drug-prices-us-healthcare-big-pharma

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Not nearly as much as this one!!

The Vaccines don’t seem to be working out in the UK.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/warning-uk-s-next-peak-could-be-as-serious-as-the-last-says-former-chief-scientific-adviser/ar-AAPImIO?ocid=msedgntp

27. When my son and I got vaccinated, I told him we probably had six months of relative protection to enjoy. We are like Wil E. Coyote attempting to catch the Road Runner.

Gotta try, though! Success is never guaranteed.

28. Efficacy WANES in months….putting ya right back where you started..to an unvaccinated status, innoculation is fleeting….don’t know how the boosters will work because so far we heard they are only for those with weaked immune systems and not for healthy people….israel is fighting a real battle…

TLSN…the price is one thing, but been reading about the side effects that are more frightening than the price…some people would gladly pay more than that for the pill, if it works and there are no serious side effects…

29. So what are those who got vaccinated earlier in the year going to do when their efficacy DROPS TO LESS THAN 50%….and there are no booster shots for the healthy….ah guess they will have to do like the unvaccinated…PROTOCOLS, face masks doubled and face shields….or end up infected at harrison’s point or dead, just like the unvaccinated….i don’t think yall are getting it yet….but ya will….hope ya won’t have to PAY DEARLY TO GET IT….

being vaccinated DOES NOT MAKE YOU SPECIAL….it MAY reduce severe illness and death, if ya lucky…

30. “VIRUS” IS NOT STANDARD CORONOVIRUS, CONSEQUENTLY ALL””VACCINES”” WILL BE FLAWED IN SOME WAY—- JUST AS THE EVIDENCE REVEALS,”

does not make the news anymore palatable…to those with all the high hopes of domination…

.according to you, don’t see how any of that can be reversed,,,

31. WARU
    I AM SURE THAT YOU KNOW THAT DANGEROUS DEVIOUS DIABOLICAL MEN WILL DEVISE OTHER WAYS TO DELIVER THEIR DASTERDLY DEVICES

32. Yep…where there is a will and determination, there is bound to be a way…

33. Yall shit outta luck. Caswell is having NONE OF IT.

https://www.facebook.com/246784233190/posts/10158827163928191/

34. Happy Birthday Caswell…

can’t understand what Mrs. Maloney is thinking….i warned her about superimposing a Republic onto a 400 year old colonial system…that’s not hers..it has not worked for any of the other countries who did it, ya know why….BECAUSE IT’S NOT YOURS….the framework…

cockup after cockup.

35. …..”six months of relative protection to enjoy”….
    You could have enjoyed a longer period if your Prime Minister had sealed off the borders.

36. Morocco bans UK flights due to Covid cases rising

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-58981507

37. For how long was our prime minister to seal off the borders?

Do you not understand that this thing is going nowhere any time soon???

Steupse!

38. GP….i saw a spokesman for some group or organization warning world leaders….you know i don’t get into politics so I don’t know what this is about, but it sounded serious…i think it has gotten so bad that they no longer want to confront it…

am staying completely out of politics…

39. Not only seemed to be done but done.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/20/senator-franklyn-objection-forces-separate-vote-president/

“Had there been no objection, Dame Sandra would have been declared the duly elected and first President of Barbados as dictated by Section 14 of the Constitution.”

40. RE am staying completely out of politics…
    GOOD IDEA WARU

41. WURA-War-on-UOctober 20, 2021 7:57 PM

Not only seemed to be done but done.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/20/senator-franklyn-objection-forces-separate-vote-president/

“Had there been no objection, Dame Sandra would have been declared the duly elected and first President of Barbados as dictated by Section 14 of the Constitution.”

What does Section 14 of the Constitution say?

42. Does Mrs. Maloney in her dictatorial frenzy have the capacity to realize that it’s only the Slaves will believe anything she says, simply because they are unable to rise above that level….they are the only ones so AFFLICTED…except for those who are delusion and believe they will win..

43. Dominican republic is truly cursed.

https://fb.watch/8N8DijqjkX/

44. GP…if they lose more control with this sub variant….that’s it….954 deaths in 7 days..

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/coronavirus/just-in-time-for-christmas-new-covid-variant-sparks-lockdown-fears-as-cases-soar-in-uk/ar-AAPMcIz?ocid=msedgntp

“The so-called Delta Plus variant (AY.4.2) has been identified in at least six percent of Covid cases sequenced in the UK. The virus is an offshoot of the Delta variant identified in India last year and may contain mutations that give it an edge over the competition. Scientists are yet to determine whether these mutations – Y145H and A222V – pose any increased threat to public health.

But in a document published on October 15, the Government identified Delta Plus as a “variant of public health interest”

45. Bahamas needed no counterfeit vaccines from radical whom i take it is now out of the counterfeit vaccine bizness…lol

https://www.facebook.com/1746063065702817/posts/2709684636007317/?sfnsn=mo

46. “Quarantine requirement for fully vaccinated travellers removed” (Barbados Today)

It is obvious that our honourable government is capable of learning. Very good. I am thus explicitly correcting my economic forecast from negative to positive. Now nothing stands in the way of a brilliant Christmas season in tourism!

Thank you, dear Supreme Leader and General Bosstic! We expect a brilliant electoral victory in 2023, that the nefarious opposition may harbour eternal darkness.

47. GP- NONSTOP….he was so busy setting up the people, he did not notice this until now..

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/21/gamma-variant-dominant-st-vincent/

48. Wish they would get the expiration dates on these vaccines RIGHT…Ferdinand said from the beginning that the AstraZeneca was not expiring until December….the coordinator of the vaccine program should know..

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/21/barbados-rolling-booster-select-groups/

“Currently, there are approximately 45 000 AstraZeneca doses left on island to be administered for boosters, and first and second doses. However, 15 000 doses are set to expire at the end of this month, and another 30 000 will expire at the end of December. “

49. Breakthrough cases = the vaccinated becoming infected and infecting others…ALTHOUGH VACCINATED..

“A health official said on Thursday the well-publicised declining effectiveness of vaccines for the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) was one of the reasons health authorities in Barbados started to administer booster shots from Tuesday.

Co-coordinator of the National COVID-19 Vaccination Programme, Dr Elizabeth Ferdinand, said this might be a possible link to the “breakthrough” cases that frontline medical personnel were seeing in the isolation facilities around the island.

“We have found (around the world) that there is some waning of the potency of the vaccine,” she said during a nationally televised virtual news conference.

“It is not the vaccine itself. It is the response of our immune system that has waned off….”