Sitting in a vehicle trapped in traffic on the highways and byways of Barbados any hour of the day has become a permanent inconvenience. The inability of authorities past and present, public and private, to effectively implement and enforce measures to address this and other woes. The problem of chronic gridlock on our roads is symptomatic of a crisis of governance.

Does the National Productivity Council still exist? How many hours are flushed daily because of idle time spent sitting in traffic by citizens who are gainfully employed?

Is the oil import bill still north of 700 million dollars? How many millions of dollars can be saved were an efficient transportation system to be implemented?

How many of the fossil powered vehicles are registered and what percentage represent electric or hybrid vehicles? How does this translate to Barbados becoming a 100 percent green and carbon neutral island by 2030?

There is the challenge to repair one of the most dense network of roads in the world made more challenging by more than 100,000 registered vehicles. This is not sustainable given limited foreign exchange resources.

The Barbados Court System was described as in danger of collapsing under its weight by Attorney General Dale Marshall. Is it fair to suggest to whom it should concern that the chaos on the roads is accentuating the problem?

The pandemic has forced providers to change how products and services are being delivered to the public. Eighteen months later the Barbados Licensing Authority and Barbados Revenue Authority are good examples of two government agencies responsible for administering road traffic being overwhelmed by the volume.

Insurance companies have reported to be paying out over 25 million dollars annually in claims. The number does not include unreported damage below the deductible or from non insured vehicle owners. Car parts are imported.

The decision by successive governments to pass on increases of the price of petrol to consumers has been a contentious issue given the inflationary impact on the economy. Recently an attempt – originating in the social media space – to buy petrol one litre at a time failed but it highlighted the thirst for fossil fuel is real.

If the analogy is borrowed to define how affairs of state is managed to compare with a system which is defined as – an interrelated set of components working together for a purpose – then the consequences of connecting the dots as it pertains to our dysfunctional transportation system is clear. It is a useful exercise to connect the dots for yourself.

What did you conclude?

214 responses to “Dots, Dots, Dots and More Dots”

1. @NO

Those occupying the pinnacle.

2. Most of what I determine in commentary is mostly by observation
    Hence those who are test book intellectuals would find my comments to be malicious or weird
    The difference between them and myself is what my mind captures through observation is not written in text books
    But are recorded in my mind as a truth hence when I barrell down a road with intent it is hard for anyone to change my mind because what I capture in my mind the ability for others to see is not in their text book way of thinking.

Not, “WHAT”…….. but…….. WTF??!!??

https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif

3. DonnaJuly 19, 2021 11:51 PM

And as for the other John re the strong family units – I hear there were strong family units where our ancestors came from.

But… slavery tore families apart.

++++++++++++++++++++++

I’ve always heard that polygamy was the norm in much of Africa.

Slavery did not tear families apart. Quite the opposite.

Hear Thomas Sowell on the Black family.

4. Oh, the white man eyes see no other culture as being valid.

Polygamy and family structure are not mutually exclusive.

In fact, poor fool, POLYGAMY IS A FAMILY STRUCTURE.

And such families can be very strong if one has been so socialised.

And so Africans may have been polygamous AND have strong families. And so they often did.

Polygamy often ensured the survival of the tribe. See if your naŕrow brain can stretch enough to figure out how!

Sigh…

🤦🏽‍♂️

5. Boy oh boy! Getting my theres and theirs mixed up!

Person, woman, man, camera, tv.

Oh, thank God! I am still a genius!

6. Murdaah! I must hear a shite man, sorry, a white man on the black family! He will surely clear up any facts and fallacies about black people. After all, that’s what they do!

Artax, post one uh dem rolling and laughing yellow men fuh muh!

Murdaaah!

Lookah de Johnnie gon kill muh wid laugh!

7. Here’s how the white man destroyed our black families.

It was too painful to form bonds that would be broken as a matter of routine. Easier to harden your heart not to care too much than to have your heart and manly pride smashed to pieces, watching your woman raped by an ugly white beast as you stood, rendered helpless. Better to remain aloof from your offspring than to endure the torture of the flesh of your flesh, your precious jewels, ripped away one by one and sold off, never to be seen again!

To cut one’s self off from feeling too much is a coping mechanism. It is about survival . It is not easy to switch back on when the danger is past.

My grandmother told me that years ago many many men used to see their daughters as fair game. They used to say that they were not fattening pig for somebody else’s poke.

I know it still happens but I would bet not nearly as often.

8. @David

Not only 9 billion on the bank but most of it earning less than 1% interest with inflation running over 3%!

9. @John A

This is the systemic issue, the difference between Blacks and other ethnic groups. They know and exploit the difference between saving and investing.

10. @ Donna

Thomas Sowell is a noted African American scholar and senior fellow at Stanford University’s Hoover Institution.

He is a Trump supporter, so, it isn’t surprising John would regard his word on anything as the gospel.

11. The point is that slavery in America did not break up black families, the welfare state of the 60’s did.

Sowell started life as a Marxist and then figured it all out for himself, by himself!!

He is in his 90’s now and was around long before Trump came on the scene.

12. DonnaJuly 20, 2021 11:32 AM

Oh, the white man eyes see no other culture as being valid.

Polygamy and family structure are not mutually exclusive.

In fact, poor fool, POLYGAMY IS A FAMILY STRUCTURE.

Mormons practiced polygamy at one time too!!!

Never said Polygamy was not a family structure, just stated a fact with which you seem to agree.

13. Sowell started life as a Marxist!!

He was cured of the affliction by the Federal Government!!

14. DavidJuly 20, 2021 12:27 PM

@John A

This is the systemic issue, the difference between Blacks and other ethnic groups. They know and exploit the difference between saving and investing.

So what you are saying is that Blacks are too dumb to figure this out for themselves!!

Rubbish.

15. Now let’s see
    How the IMF the managers of Barbados decisions can help lower crime
    Decreased unemployment
    Serves a purpose where our social network does not further decline
    Help to preserve a,Barbados that is is more than an economy but a community
    All across the length and breath of Barbados people are going through the most gruelling economic times
    However those that are put in place to govern seems more than satisfied that having a larger than large pay out for consultants should be enough a signal to say Barbados economy is under control
    But then again when everything goes Haywire the people would take the blame

16. People of all kinds and natures have choices to make.

Asian Americans make one choice which sets them apart from others.

It is ridiculous and self defeating to make a choice which leads down one road and envy someone who made a different choice and is on another road.

Walk your walk and stop bitching.

If you are not happy with the route you are going, choose to change it.

17. Investing takes risk that not many people are willing to undertake
    Barbadians live by an old adage
    Bird in the hand is worth a thousand in the bush
    Recently I heard conservation where many were complaining that they feel rip off by home owners insurance. Companies now in their time of needing financial help to fix their homes
    This too is an issue that media should dig their heels into asking questions
    Issues like these leaves a bad taste of mistrust in the mouths of anyone wishing to invest

18. David

I don’t have much time

If you want to follow the others models then it the rich blacks that should dip into the $9billions and give the Pope blacks a leg up .

Whe the Indians come with only a suitcase there is already a job waiting for them- provided by the ones who came before .

19. There are somethings a white man born into privilege and grew up on a plantation will never understand.

20. connecting the dots
    where is BRAVEN

6OisbLRD3Vk

21. https://youtu.be/6OisbLRD3Vk

Look uh Buccanal

Where isbraven

22. thats the way govt has been treating the black people
    Hilton HOTEL workers begging for their severance meanwhile govt takes over 80 million debt of needhams point holding ltd
    Now the vendors cant make a living because of govt actions

23. David,

You are being generous. John DOES NOT WANT to understand.

Look how he had the gall to offer me up a white Trump supporting vile creature as an authority to teach me, a black woman, about the black family!

Of course, I did not watch his stupid ass video. I never do.

I stopped listening to the white man’s narratives when I heard them say how one Columbus discovered some “New World” in 1492. I was about 11 years old. So I was ready to present the queen with my backside in 1976.

They cannot be trusted to tell the truth.

24. With all the negative problems the people had to bear in the past year
    High unemployment struggling to make ends meet
    Covid and on and on
    Yuh think it is fear that govt officials would shut down the poor business man from making a living
    Meanwhile govt opens its borders so that the white establishment in the hotel industry can make a living
    Never mind that open borders are conduits for bringing in the virus
    Wunna think it is fair how govt treat the blacks and keep the best servings for the high and mighty business person
    Wait black vendors ain’t people too deserving of the same respect directed to the white business establishment

25. Angela Cox,

That’s MR. BRAVEN to you!

You go, girl!

They have to do better than this. The people are trying to make an honest living. We must try to facilitate it somehow.

26. Them.in charge really tek bajans fuh
    Cause they would never try that sh.it in a country like Jamaica
    Closing down people business from.making an honest living
    Yuh think that with all the crime and rise in poverty levels govt would be happy to see people making a honest living
    But No govt send officials to ring fence black.people business
    Another example of Braven being lap dogs
    Not a word utter in support of the vendors

27. @AC
    I stepped away and my place is already taken? 😢😥

28. John is toxic and is a troll.
    He gets his kicks from pushing buttons.
    I read his post for the big lie.

29. Two words for govt officials
    Shameful and disgusting
    Remove that RH fence stop treating wunna own like second class citizens
    Those vendors are examples of harding working people despite what others might say about blacks not liking to work hard
    Vending not easy it is struggle and now govt officials making those people lives a harder struggle

30. AC
    I see the poetry. I will try to tease it out.

Two words for government officials
    ——–x-__—–++
    It’s downright sad and disgusting
    How Mia abuses those who are trusting
    Sellers expecting government to come to their defense
    Instead they are met with a strong iron fence
    A fate even worse than an eviction
    Closing of gates and barring of admission
    People working hard to make ends meet
    Now facing arrest if they sell on the street
    ‘Mr Braven’ silent as if he is a mute
    Silent so as to hide the damn ‘trute’
    Vending already hard and full of tears
    Made worse and it appears nobody cares
    A government that claim ‘we got it’
    Only delivering piss and pure shat.

I see you still have it.
    You go girl….

31. I think you should be posting in the “poets’ corner’

32. When Angela Cox sticks to the facts, she will have my support.

I am consistent in this.

As I have stated before, there is plenty to criticise without making stuff up. There is nothing more potent than the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

33. Now,,,, these people are not rich people and they are trying to make am honest living. They will try to set up in a manner which they believe will bring them the most money. If there is a problem with the way they are doing business, the authorities should seek a solution that still allows them to feed their families. There are children in these homes looking to be fed.

This heavy-handed enforcement helps nobody.

This attitude has to change. What in God’s name is wrong with us?

34. Dots dots dots and more dots

The Mighty Gabby Speaks

Gabby is accusing the ruling United Workers’ Party (UWP) of Chastanet of using his copyrighted music for political advertisements without his authorisation during the ongoing general election campaign there. But the St. Lucian political entity says he has the wrong party.

In a statement issued Tuesday, the acclaimed calypsonian, folk singer, noted lyricist and composer, said it had been brought to his attention that the UWP was or is using his intellectual property in the form of his music “without the expressed permission of the composer or publisher.”

“I wish to disassociate myself from Allen Chastanet and the United Workers’ Party, who in no form or fashion align with the philosophical values that I represent,” the renowned artiste declared.

“Therefore, I am compelled to instruct Allen Chastanet and the United Workers’ Party to cease and desist from the use of any of [my] intellectual property and copyrighted music in any form for political advertising, motorcade or public meeting during the election campaign, including on the SKY FM 93.1 radio station frequency,” insisted the holder of an Honourary Doctorate from the University of the West Indies (UWI), Cave Hill Campus.

“I am therefore seeking compensation of EC$40,000 for the usage of my music during this election campaign,” Gabby added.

35. Chastanet Responds

insisted that his ruling United Workers Party (UWP) is not the one using copyrighted material of Barbados calypsonian, Anthony Gabby Carter, in the campaign leading up to Saint Lucia general elections on July 26.

In an interview with Barbados Today, Chastanet said he believes Gabby, whom he described as a gentleman he respects, was misinformed.

“I think he has got the wrong party,” the Saint Lucia prime minister told the Barbados publication.

Chastanet said while he has not been in contact with the Barbadian music maestro, others have been trying to reach him.
    However, Chastanet told Barbados Today that he has nothing to do with the radio station.

“And as you would appreciate, any radio station that is operating is licensed and if they were using anybody’s music they would be covered under the copyright…the licensing,” he said.

Gabby was quoted as saying that he would give adequate time for the Saint Lucia prime minister to respond to his demands.

36. William Skinner Avatar

@ all
    We have treated vendors like second class citizens for decades. We have had fifty plus years to bring vending into mainstream business but we thought that chasing them from pillar to post and allowing them to set up all types of shacks were the answer.
    We need to have at least a dozen to fifteen well strategically established public markets set up throughout the country. With the amount of cars on the road there is no need to establish venting facilities only in Bridgetown.
    Once more the BLPDLP have exercised a lack of vision.
    Going around in circles has been the economic policy since independence.
    Peace

37. William SkinnerJuly 21, 2021 2:15 PM

@ all
    We have treated vendors like second class citizens for decades. We have had fifty plus years to bring vending into mainstream business but we thought that chasing them from pillar to post and allowing them to set up all types of shacks were the answer.

Xxxxxxx

Dam shame
    Xxxxx

Now in less than a month vendors are complaining about mistreatment
    One set being told to ply their trade in an area that stinks of effulent
    Now to fence them in an area where plying there trade becomes hard
    Is downright criminal

38. One side of a complex story told solely through the eyes of America.

Swallowed hook, line and sinker by these two.

39. Oops! Wrong blog!

40. Have anyone noticed how silent the blp operatives become when fingers are pointed at this govt concerning mistreatment of it’s black citizens
    Yes many which gave present govt a comfortable election victory
    Yes many who bought into govt sweet sounding words of Hope
    Now pray tell where is the Hope by which vendors plying their trade were at first thrown outward to the streets
    Then after outburst of being treated like homeless dogs were told to go behind the fence and take what wunna can get
    Heartless and nothing short of being a downright dirty plan by govt officials to keep small business people scraping the bottom of the barrell

41. This video speaks of officials operating like boot licking commanders
    Telling vendors not to come on the property
    The property which the vendors pay govt through licensing agreement that they can enter premises unless agreement is broken by illegal or illicit transactions unconnected to what gives them permission to buy sell or trade their goods and services
    Yet govt send officials to disrespect the vendors in the most despicable and offensive manner
    Really a fence !

42. But BRAVEN
    Phew stiking lot not one mumbling word
    But then again BRAVEN agreed to a govt plan of setting up temporary space in a stinking foul smelling area for vendors to sell their goods
    Phew some association that to be associated with
    Hope vendors don’t have to pay an annual fee to BRAVEN for representation cause by any other sounding word it can be said it is wasted

43. Connecting the dots

Poor performance
    DLP PRESIDENTIAL HOPEFUL BLASTS BARBADOS’ ECONOMIC MANAGEMENT
    By Kareem Smith
    The COVID-19 pandemic is absolutely no excuse for the current state of the Barbadian economy, according to the man aspiring to be the next president of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP).
    In a scathing attack on the country’s social and economic direction under the current administration, Reverend Guy Hewitt, the former High Commissioner to the United Kingdom pointed to other Caribbean countries, which he claims are all performing better than Barbados.
    Hewitt also charged that recent first quarter statistics from the Barbados Statistical Service (BSS) may not tell the full story of the country’s unemployment situation.
    The cleric was addressing an ethnically diverse audience of about 50 at the Barbados Yacht Club on the topic A path to peace, prosperity and progress where he declared that many of the difficulties facing the country could be overcome with a dose of strong leadership.
    “The world bank has indicated that Barbados’ economy fell by 17.6 per cent last year. That is not the issue. The issue is that we are one of the worst performing economies globally,” Hewitt declared to nods from many in the audience.
    “This is not about COVID, this is about who we got bout here running our affairs into the ground. Jamaica contracted by 10.2 per cent, Trinidad and Tobago 7.8, even Dominica outperformed us and they are using some of the same advisors, but I guess they are getting better value for money down there.
    “According to the IMF, our debt to GDP ratio is at 147 per cent. It ranks us now as the seventh most indebted country in the world and with unemployment through the roof, nobody, except probably the people who say it, feels that unemployment is at 17.2 per cent, because we know that is counting those looking for work and the majority of people in the hotel sector know there is no work out there. So they are not counted,” he added.
    While blasting Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s eight-member team of economic advisors, Hewitt lamented the fact that the country continues to be one of the most expensive places in the world where many struggle to make ends meet.
    He added that even with the Government looking to expand the financial services sector, the country ranked at 128th on the World Bank’s Doing Business rankings, behind Jamaica (71st), St Lucia (93rd) and Dominica (111th).
    He stated: “This is not about party allegiance.
    We have to be aligned to this land we love, so we need to face facts and get the right people and develop the right strategy and put the right policies in place to chart our way to a stronger, more resilient and diversified and sustainable economy.
    “In our tourism sector, we like to feel that we are world beaters. Our tourism product is not even top-ranked in the Caribbean. If you look and see where the top properties are in the Caribbean, they are elsewhere.
    “We are now playing around with not being at the leading edge in tourism; our financial services sector is in peril; we have our biggest trading partner in Canada and nobody can find a High Commissioner. Last I heard, he was running behind Hurricane Elsa up in St George North.
    This is not good enough,” Hewitt contended.
    In addition to the economy, the religious leader expressed concern about the social fabric of the society, which, in his opinion, is characterized in many instances by poverty, drug abuse, family dysfunction, non-communicable diseases and mental health issues.
    He renewed calls for an overhaul of the country’s social services that bring all welfare agencies and government departments under one central institution.
    “We cannot keep throwing money haphazardly at our problems. We need to be able to be systematic about it,” he charged.
    Hewitt’s statements came even as he prepares to face off with current DLP President Verla DePeiza for leadership of the party.
    When asked about the nature of his Yacht Club presentation, Hewitt said he considered the invitation as an opportunity to interface with an increasingly diverse and inclusive group of Barbadians, some of whom represent the business community.
    “As somebody who aspires to lead in Barbados, I have to lead for every Barbadian.
    So whether it is the business community, the trade union movement, the society, community groups, I have to provide inclusive leadership that brings them all onboard. So I am pleased that the members of the Yacht Club were able to find what I had to say consistent with what their aspirations might be as business leaders or as leaders in their own communities,” said Hewitt.
    (kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb)

44. I remember when Mottley stated that Haiti economy was in a better state than Barbados
    I also remember when Mottley had the audacity to step on Dominica economic toes which helped to increase Dominica economic woes in her earnest to boldly invite one of Dominica economic drivers Ross University to Barbados
    Now I am reading that Dominica economic performance is on better standing than that of Barbados
    As the old people say what goes around comes around

45. Some of you people have to be illiterate. The discussion has to be about creating growth in a recessionary environment caused by the pandemic. In other words using a crisis to ensure best outcomes.

46. DavidJuly 22, 2021 6:16 AM

Some of you people have to be illiterate. The discussion has to be about creating growth in a recessionary environment caused by the pandemic. In other words using a crisis to ensure best outcomes
    Xxxccc
    Her he comes throwing nasty dirty shade
    Cut it out

Xxxxxxxx
    Simply put anything having to do with the economy of Barbados is pertinent and revelant to any discussion that highlights negligence towards the creation of growth for the Barbados economy
    The vendors plight fits into such discussion along with what Hewitt stated is our financial disrepair

47. Dot and more Dots
    Ditto

Our borders are open govt has to to another realization that our welcomed visitors are in possession of fake documents
    Govt stated that an alert has been sent to GAIA officials to be diligent
    Meanwhile our other ports of entry such as Port St. Charles grants access to visitors
    What about that port of entry where private access by boats and yatchs are permitted

48. Is Senator Caswell throwing shade

In a one of his comments to House of Parliament he stated the recent unemployment numbers were not entirely true
    Going on to say that his belief indicates numbers more of 30 percent
    He gauged his numbers on the Hotel industry being the biggest drivers of the Barbados economy and where a vast percentage of workers were laid off

49. @ angela coxJuly 22, 2021 7:44 AM
    Simply put anything having to do with the economy of Barbados is pertinent and revelant to any discussion that highlights negligence towards the creation of growth for the Barbados economy
    The vendors plight fits into such discussion along with what Hewitt stated is our financial disrepair…(Unquote).

A very good point you have raised there, dear angela cox aka “ac”!

But your ‘Guy’, the preacher man, is clearly not (yet) the sharpest opposing knife in the political blue and yellow box containing the keys to the gates of economic heaven.

He needs to up his game and focus on more bread and butter issues required to deliver daily food on the tables of those currently out of work.

Since he was trying to influence a cross-section of the Bajan community from a podium right in the heart of the pending hotel corridor (and looking over the Carlisle Bay) why didn’t he raise the matter of the status of the Hyatt Hotel?

Hasn’t the Hyatt hotel been promoted by the current political administration since 2019 as the economic game-changer for the country and saviour of a fast-dying Bridgetown the Capital of the coming republic of Barbadoes?

Don’t you think work on the construction of that ‘brand-name’ Hyatt erection will clearly make a difference to the economic recovery of the country, the plight of Bridgetown and demonstrate a measure of confidence in the brand called Barbados?

After all, injecting US$ 200 million in a “recessionary environment” can have the same impact on the Bajan economy as developing a vaccine against Covid-21 to mitigate its ‘dangerous’ effects on the travel and tourism industry in the Caribbean.

What sayest thou, David?

50. Miller
    Why not send your concerns to him

Leave a Reply to angela coxCancel reply