Swordplay and ripostes are a feature of the political landscape of any country. Two years out from a general election constitutionally due in 2023 we have started to see a ramping up of the political vitriol and rhetoric by the two main political parties.
There is no doubt in the minds of political observers the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) took management of a poorly performing economy in 2018. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) before its historic defeat was reported at one point to be borrowing 50 million monthly from the Central Bank of Barbados to meet salary commitment to the public sector, and the financial position of the NIS fund had deteriorated as a result of operating as government’s ATM. The foreign reserves dipped to a low level, for the first time Barbados achieved junk status credit rating and had become a pariah in the capital market. The parity of the Barbados dollar was under attack with predictably the D-word being mentioned as the ‘lord and saviour’ of our economic problems.
The Mia Mottley led BLP immediately on winning office took unpopular decisions to default on local and foreign debt by hiring White Oak Advisory, a boutique financial advisory outfit based in the UK see Barbados creditors fume at ‘absurd’ $27m advisory fees. Appointed the largest Cabinet some suggest in the world on per 1000 of population supported by the tagline – many hands make light work.
Along with taking over a poorly performing economy, external events have not been kind to the incumbent. The DLP in 2006 had to manage the economy during a global recession and in 2019 the BLP has had to manage the economy in a COVID 19 induced pandemic. That said, members of households although sympathetic to macro issues are always more concerned with bread and butter issues; maintaining an acceptable quality of life.
After 3 years in office the gloves are off and the performance of government – notwithstanding the challenges presented by the times – is attracting greater public scrutiny.
Enuff a pro-BLP BU commenter posted the following in defence of government’s performance and what is in the implementation pipeline.
- … who is about to redevelop the same Temple Yard through the UDC?
- Who about to give 50 acres to youth at Wakefield for farming?
- When your opponent is in your strongest seat racking up achievements and with zero seats in parliament your leader (Verla De Peiza) runs away, you’re in a bad state.
- More frightening is the leader in trying to get a foothold in St.Lucy is reported as saying “there is really a lot that needs to be done in St Lucy”, this is after the parish was represented in Parliament by a DLP member for 32 unbroken years starting in 1986, 18 of which the party was the government.
- Added to this are the topics she focused on water and buses when the BWA busy laying mains in St Lucy, a desal plant is in the works, more buses are coming and a mass transit framework. So that platform dead in the waatuh!
- The fact is that Dems can’t handle the government’s performance and know that with 2 years still to go another beating awaits. QEH upgraded A&E opening early next month.
- More HOPE housing coming, including St.Lucy and St.John.
- Vending legislation coming.
- National digital ID, licensing authority sorted (ASYCUD a lot of early noise too), new ways to pay and receive money, new mechanics and bodywork clusters.
- Scotland District rehab
- More buses
- More road improvements.
- New recycling and garbage collection.
- Vineyard project, new reservoirs, more water from Ionics.
- IL (the legislation for the commission has already been passed), whistleblower legislation etc etc all before the next election.
- KLM and Aer Lingus starting flights later in the year. Yuh remember empty Gol from Brazil? The Dems would do better to send a bowling machine.
Discuss for 5 marks.
As long as they know that creatives DON’T NEED THEM in this new age….they have always been useless and disenfranchising to these individuals, no need to change that approach now.
they can’t BULLY creatives to project the demeanor of Slaves, it will never happen..
You should never kick a dog when it is down, so here is some free advice for the “DLP”.
DLP should talk about DLP not BLP and should have something good to say about themselves.
Anybody went through the manifesto yet? ✅ after ✅. Would love to see electric cars being cheaper and the EVCP infrastructure to support the shift. Can’t achieve net zero carbon with so much gasoline and diesel vehicles on the road. WLC assessments of new buildings and circular economy principles need to be pushed too. Come on my red wearing peoples, leh we leff Dem and the coven in de dust talking about Landor (not Brandor), websites and White Oak.🤣😋
EnuffMay 29, 2021 8:20 PM
There is a conundrum. Net zero carbon emissions are the least of the worries now. Who has money to buy cars, or will have for the next five years?
But I agree, solar farms are the future anyway, the Sun’s energy is free and only the infrastructure costs and local operating costs need be met, no ongoing import costs of fuel.
No doubt the bloodsuckers will be looking at ways to extract money from people. Every home should have an automatic license to generate its own electricity, at no license charge.
This foolishness that people need to pay for licenses to use te energy of the Sun, must end.
Guv’ment put the Sun up there?
@Lorenzo
I see that you can only process one post at a time. For this reason, I will give you time to digest the ‘subliminal’ post.
Wuh look at thing, yardfowl don’t know that they have ALL been left in the dust YEARS NOW and that’s right where they will stay, no one has the time for any of you jokers…..
those who can see moved on long time ago, yall still struggling through trying to keep the 1800s to the 1950s alive, while some of us already said hi to the 22nd century..
and these call themselves intellectual competition…🤣😂😍 if they saw what has already been achieved and had the ability to understand any of it, they will CRY…
Off topic.
This is an extremely fascinating interview with a well- known restauranter who had to overcome adversity to safeguard her business.
Her ethnicity gave her a slightly better opportunity to survive than an Afro-Bajan.
The predatory sharks are alive and kicking in Barbados with their eyes always set on low-hanging fruit.
https://youtu.be/iwIaZDn5zy0?list=PLf0Sp7jJwZzstE5lDjRolktq_VmGZsAvK
@ Dompey
I never knew prostitution was legal in Barbados, as I cannot remember if any laws were enacted to legalize it.
However, because women or men are not arrested for engaging in prostitution does not mean it is legal.
Could you please explain how and why ‘government’ is involved in the ‘trade?’
Looking at the caption’s photo and watching that long line of parasitic MOUTHS….sucking sucking on taxpayers, them and their consultants….and none have done anything worth shouting about for the tens of millions of dollars taxpayers are spending on them annually.
Artax
Just google as to whether or not prostitution is or isn’t legal in Barbados.
The government changing the slogan. Stupse!
@enuff
Has the PM rebooted for political reasons or does she buy in to the words credited in the article. Some things we will never know. Actually we probably know.
Did the Symmonds appointed Chatrani Board submit the booted campaign for cabinet approval?
Artax
If Prostitution is legal in Barbados, it is obvious or self-evident that the government or the BLP government is complicit, because such a law has not been repealed as of yet.
@Dompey
Prostitution is not legal in Barbados.
Dompey has painted a picture of himself in his writings that makes for wonder
You’d have to ask the PM. My stance remains, as we are little yet “big”. Plus the theme song is very catchy. Do you know that song was actually released in November 2020? Little island, big, big love that wud neva go awaaay.🕺🏾💃🏾
Well David, I tried painfully to convinced my Jamaican friend who two nieces are involved in the Go Go Dancing trade in Barbados that isn’t, so she told me that it is written all over Google. So I decided to googled it to find out if she was telling the truth, and there is was: Prostitution is legal in Barbados, but not Brothels.
It’s a pity you ended your Google search at Wikipedia, perhaps because the information therein satisfied your curiosity.
I suggest you read the Barbados Sexual Offences Act, L.R.O 1993, Cap 154:
(1) A person who
(a) knowingly lives wholly or in part on the earnings of prostitution;
or
(b) in any place solicits for immoral purposes, is guilty of an offence and is liable on summary conviction to a fme of $5 000 or to imprisonment for 5 years or to both.
David, google defines Barbados as a Sex Tourism destination and more ….I shocked and utterly embarrassed by this ….
@Dompey, please move on.
Artax
Tell that to the Jamaicans who are coming to Barbados by the numbers to commit these illegal acts because of what is written on Google. Remember Sir, perception is in fact reality….so urged the Barbadian government to tell Google to take down such libel.
Dompey May 30, 2021 7:38 AM #: “If Prostitution is legal in Barbados, it is obvious or self-evident that the government or the BLP government is complicit, because such a law has not been repealed as of yet.”
@ Dompey
When I read your first comment on the issue, I knew this was the direction in which you wanted the ‘discussion’ to go. That the BLP legalized prostitution. Please note, I would’ve made a similar comment if you had mentioned the ‘trade’ was legalized by the DLP.
You guys view everything through your ‘narrow political lens.’
However, as I mentioned previously, because an individual may not be arrested and charged for the ‘activity’ does not mean it is legal.
Your Jamaican friend is an idiot for insisting prostitution is legal in Barbados, simply because her “two nieces” dance in ‘strip clubs.’
Unfortunately, my friend, you are equally an idiot, and even more so, for allowing her to convince you it is legal and you rushing to Google for confirmation, rather than read the Laws of Barbados.
You have the patience of Job.
It is not “all over Google,” as Dompey is suggesting, but Wikipedia,
“Prostitution in Barbados – From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia:
“Prostitution in Barbados is legal but related activities such as brothel keeping and solicitation are prohibited. The country is a sex tourism destination, including female sex tourism.”
And, yes, it is time he “moved on.” But, I’m sure you are aware the guy’s definition of ‘moving on’ is not to end the ‘discussion,’ but to go on and on and on and on……ad infinitum….. ad nauseam.
@ David May 29, 2021 6:39 PM
The UPP has no democratic mandate whatsoever. The statements could just as easily have come from a beggar or a drunk. I only believe official government news approved by our Supreme Leader.
@John A
Listening fr your intervention.
https://vob929.com/listen-live-3/
Dr. Kristina Hinds’ closing remarks on today’s Brasstacks were on point. The public was promised transparency in government, we are not feeling it yet.
Artax,
You have my admiration.
David BU i lidtened to yhe Brasstacks programme today with my favourite moderator Mr Ellis and my 2nd favourite Mr Wickham.I do not really listen to the others excrpt maybe Ms Haigh.Today we had a balance of two Ministers Mr Symmonds and Mr Straughan plus MrWickham for the bees and on the dems side Dr Hinds Mr Ellis and a young lady who seemed to thimk she was on a political platform and who seemed short on manners constantly interupting Mr Straughan in particular.I notice Mr Ellis seemed to cut off the statsman without letting him develop his point.All in all both Mr Symmonds and Mr Straughan represented the party well.Heard Mr Blackett talking nonsense about if people are better off today than prior May 2018.The answer is a redounding yes.There is no shit flowing on the south coast 2 there are an abudance of buses and garbage trucks to serve the public and 3 any party taking over from the dems is an improvement.I gone.
https://youtu.be/QK3k9NuaAgI
RYAN Straughn sat on brasstacks and bodly stated he did not know how much money govt has borrowed over the two years
Either Straughn is a big mouth bold face liar
Or his level of incompetence is the worst ever
Unbelievable
Good intervention from Minister Kirk Humphrey this morning.
Yeah, they were on GIS popping endless shit about a program they did not create, why did they not use that same space to tell the people what happened to this senator and if she and Billy the Goat is still sucking on taxpayers for free..
That is how easy it is for them to WRITE OFF the people’s money, now they will never know exactly how much the treasury got hit for, but it’s about to be hit again…people are suffering with their children, can’t buy food, can’t pay bills…..
and the money does not belong to the government as they have always deluded themselves and their fowl Slaves.
Can some one tell how many committees this govt have put in pace since 2018
Also does any one have idea of any results given by these committees
DavidMay 31, 2021 11:14 AM
Good intervention from Minister Kirk Humphrey this morning
Xxxx
It isnt what he said
Unfortunately Ellis is not well schooled in environmental issues
It seems as if Barbadians are getting their voices. Once, one would have been presented with a good article every few days or weeks, but some delicious treats are being served up almost daily.
I regret not keeping a written list of the many journalists who produce these fine articles.
I used to say that we are men of words and not men of action. Then, I believed that we lacked the courage to speak boldly and honestly. It looks as if my old history teacher (Ralph Jemmott) and now John Goddard will prove me wrong.
Gentlemen, keep up the effort.
Reluctantly, I must add Angela Cox to my pantheon of writers
“Can some one tell how many committees this govt have put in place since 2018
Also does any one have idea of any results given by these committees?”
With a few short sentences she can rip a government to pieces. I suspect another admirer would have said “Spot on”.
You go girl.
I remember sitting in class and thinking poetry was a waste of time. I am a little older and wiser and I learned to find poetry in strange places
(edited)
“The BLP has lost its way, it is without Owen Arthur and all their so call amateur economists are wearing economic pampers.”
“She must be held accountable for all the pain and suffering heaped upon the people of this fair land allowing the rich to get richer and telling the poor to hold strain while Crime keeps knocking at everyman door.”
Wow! Wow! Wow!
A Shakespeare when it come to political commentary.
You want an independent view of how the amateur economist performing?
Count the down grades for the 3 years!
The ones that did not have any economic pampers caused the shite to flow in the streets
TheoGAzertsMay 31, 2021 7:43 PM
Reluctantly, I must add Angela Cox to my pantheon of writers
“Can some one tell how many committees this govt have put in place since 2018
Also does any one have idea of any results given by these committees?”
With a few short sentences she can rip a government to pieces. I suspect another admirer would have said “Spot on”.
You go girl.
Xxxccccc
Have been doing a little research on the number of committes put in place by Mia
Here is what.i found
Drum roll please
Joint Select Committee on the integrity in Public life
Committee to manage transition to
Republic
BERT committe
Vaccine global research Committee
Mental health Committee to adress the needs of children
Public sub commitee on COVId
The slogan Commitee
Question where is the transparencybon cost
Wasn’t there a committee for the relocation of Nelson statue?
Online definition
Entry from March 31, 2012
“A committee is a group of the unwilling, chosen from the unfit, to do the unnecessary”
@ john2 May 31, 2021 8:58 PM
The (red) Johnny No.2, what ever became of that ‘small-island’ Large Committee which was convened early last to advise the MAM administration on the way forward for the economic recovery of shellshock Barbados?
Have any of those working recommendations been copied like the slogan small island Big Barbados by the large mini-cabinet of economic consultants and advisors?
Or did the same Peter principle-promoted Sinckler-who never grew out of his “economic pampers”- play a ‘vital’ part in turning that same ‘imminent’ committee into another group of eminent persons talking the same brand of worthless bullshit?
Applause please
It is truly mindboggling that with all these committes boards and consultations and a big guts cabinet the only ” accomplishment ” that this govt managed to ” execute “was to dump.shite from the south west sewer off the streets into the ocean
Lol very loud
Let us hope the DLP will be ready in 2023.
@Theo
I was taught a Committee is generally a group of persons who individually can do little and get together to determine little can be done
Wasn’t Chris S on a committee? They had a whole bunch of Covid ones.
@Theo
Since you had Herman for history is the #14 on MAM’s latest committee Anthony Walrond the same person as Corn Flakes?
May 31, 2021 11:48 PM
Let us hope the DLP will be ready in 2023.
Xcxxccccc
See how silly u are
Next in line would be a Committee on gun violence
The entertainment industry show their creative expression in a gun toting video yesterday
This is who we are
Your credibility on political issues is zero level. As Artax has stated, you see red in every issue.
DavidJune 1, 2021 5:37 AM
Your credibility on political issues is zero level. As Artax has stated, you see red in every issue.
Xxxxxxx
Poor u
Unable to see the forest but for the trees
Lol
Blogmaster…ya falling down on the job, i have heard about this since yesterday..
In a 113-page report for 2020, Leigh Trotman expressed concern about instances involving millions of dollars in taxpayers’ money wrapped up in transactions that lacked full disclosure, not fully accounted for, misstated, understated, lacked supporting documentation or could not be verified.
Trotman’s annual report which covers the financial year ending March 31, 2019 called on the Government to properly explain its involvement in the controversial Four Seasons Hotel project where millions of dollars of taxpayers’ money were at stake.
“The treatment of the investment in Clearwater Company needs to be further explained. The investment in this Government-owned company was recorded at a value of $124 million investment in prior years. It represented an investment by Clearwater in the Four Seasons Hotel project. The value of this investment remained unchanged on the books of Government for several years even though the property on which the investment was based was significantly impaired,” the Auditor General reported.
“In the 2018-2019 financial year, the entire investment was written off. It has not been clearly established what was the basis for the entire write-off of the investment. It was also not clear what was the nature of the investment relationship Clearwater had with the hotel owners. The investment and subsequent write-off could not, therefore, be verified by the auditors,” he added.
Trotman also identified the case of the collapsed British American Insurance Company (BAICO), in which he said the Government issued $101.7 million in bond support and created a new investment account.
“It was however unclear what actual asset was represented by this investment account. It was not stated whether any assets from this former company were acquired by Government and represented this investment. The absence of this supporting information casts doubt on the accuracy of information recorded for the investment transaction,” he declared.
The Auditor General again raised credibility issues regarding Government’s issuance of a Series ‘A’ Amortization Bond totalling $74.807 million as part of its Domestic Debt Restructuring exercise.
According to him, there was a lack of written instruction which made it difficult to verify the authorization of this issue.
“There are disclosure requirements as noted at IPSAS 19 (International Public Sector Accounting Standards) which indicate that provisions in relation to restructuring should be accounted for. The disclosure of these provisions would enhance the credibility and understandability of the financial statements.
“It was not clearly stated in the accounts what were the overall gains and losses from the debt restructuring process. This information should have been provided to users of these financial statements,” Government’s chief auditor wrote.
Trotman also indicated the department remains in the dark about why $48,941 in overdrawn salaries was written-off to the Equity Account.
“This represents amounts due from public officers and it is unclear why these amounts were written off. No approval for these write-offs was provided for audit inspection,” he complained.
Trotman also reported on another major Government project which he determined was inappropriately classified and for which no evidence was provided to justify the millions involved.
“Documentation to support the amount of $133.337 million being classified as equity in Whitepark Development Limited was not provided for audit inspection. This company, which was established to own the Judicial Centre under a Public-Private Partnership Project, was subsequently acquired by the Government.
“However, a memorandum from the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Finance & Economic Affairs … indicates that Government had purchased the property. This would support its classification as Property, Plant and Equipment rather than as an investment in a company. Given this conflicting information, there is some uncertainty as to the correct recording of the acquisition. This matter needs to be rectified and the asset appropriately classified since accounting for a building is different to accounting for an investment in a company,” the Auditor General contended.
There was also an issue relating to the Treasury’s accounts and that of a local bank account that saw the Government’s chief auditor raising the matter of potential fraud.
He noted that bank reconciliations for the Treasury accounts with the Central Bank of Barbados and the commercial bank were not completed up to March 31, 2019.
Trotman said the commercial bank account was last reconciled in May 2018.
“Statements should be reconciled monthly as this is an important internal control that can detect fraud or errors in the account,” he warned.
He also referred to a number of “outstanding issues” which need to be addressed regarding cash in hand.
Trotman pointed to the sum of $474,550.47 which is recorded as cash in hand for the Barbados Licensing Authority as at March 31, 2019. He said that figure has remained unchanged in the general ledger since March 31, 2012.
The Auditor General was also concerned about Government’s dishonoured cheques totalling some $6.7 million which were not seen in the dishonoured cheques register.
According to him, the law requires that an accounting officer examines the Dishonoured Cheques Register of the department not less than once a month and ensure that clearances of the cheques are pursued and recoveries are effective.
“The omission of pertinent information from the Dishonoured Cheque Register impedes the department’s ability to determine whether the dishonoured cheques are actually outstanding,” the Auditor General contended. (emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb)”
One of the most disrespected people by DBLP in Barbados is this Auditor General, he faithfully and loyally does his job and they all ridicule and ignore him..
Minister of Hairstyles and Neglecting the best interests of the Elderly is also in the news..
Then there is the questionable cockup at liat with corrupt “Mia’s words) maloney et al sitting on the board for far too long…well we know how that ended.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/01/not-enough-on-liat/
“Tens of thousands in public funds trapped in constituency councils’ bank accounts – by Emmanuel Joseph June 1, 2021
Outstanding accounting issues relating to the disbanded Department of Constituency Empowerment are still to be resolved.
Pointing to the fact that the operations of the department were shut down since 2018, Auditor General Leigh Trotman has found that half of the 30 constituency councils’ bank accounts are still open with more than $100,000 in them.
“There were thirty (30) Constituency Councils in operation each with a bank account to facilitate transactions. However, our investigations revealed that a large number of these accounts are still open. The office was provided with statements for fifteen (15) of these councils and the aggregate amount of the sums on these accounts exceeded $100,000,” Trotman revealed.
“Bank account statements were not provided for the other fifteen (15) councils. There needs to be proper accounting for amounts spent from these accounts. Statements, up to the date of cessation, should be provided and after the settlement of any outstanding liabilities the balance should be paid into the Consolidated Fund,” he said in his annual report for 2020, covering the financial year ending March 31, 2019.
He also highlighted other areas of concern relating to the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs.
Trotman said that equipment is stored in a number of containers at the ministry’s headquarters and off site.
“However, the Ministry was unable to provide the auditors with a listing of what was stored in the containers. There was also no evidence that periodic checks were carried out to ensure the items were adequately accounted for. The ministry needs to ensure that there is the appropriate Asset Register in place and that it is brought up to date including all relevant items,” the Auditor General declared.
He reported that the Ministry of Energy and Water Resources also has some unresolved accounting issues which need to be addressed.
Trotman noted that the Asset Register contained information relating only to assets purchased for the 2019-2020 financial year which totaled $164,000.
“However, the value of the fixed assets recorded by the Treasury for this ministry totaled $25.4 million. The ministry indicated that it had purchased a number of assets such as a Photovoltaic systems for other ministries and departments but these were not currently included in its records. This matter needs to be resolved so the information of the respective ministries is updated,” the Auditor General reported.
(emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb”
didn’t the yardfowls say that Mia the WRITEOFF ARTIST was the LAWYER for all of this, maybe they can confirm..
.people are suffering for food on the island, can’t pay their bills, can’t adequately take care of their children and themselves, they have nothing, everything was STOLEN FROM THEM, but the write off artists keeps writing off billions of dollars of the PEOPLE’S MONEY so crooks and criminals can escape prison time…watch muh nuh..
“The treatment of the investment in Clearwater Company needs to be further explained. The investment in this Government-owned company was recorded at a value of $124 million investment in prior years. It represented an investment by Clearwater in the Four Seasons Hotel project. The value of this investment remained unchanged on the books of Government for several years even though the property on which the investment was based was significantly impaired,” the Auditor General reported.
“In the 2018-2019 financial year, the entire investment was written off. It has not been clearly established what was the basis for the entire write-off of the investment. It was also not clear what was the nature of the investment relationship Clearwater had with the hotel owners. The investment and subsequent write-off could not, therefore, be verified by the auditors,” he added.”
Wait for it…some will tell ya they don’t understand what’s going on….ALTHOUGH this has already been AIRED on BU for MANY YEARS…
I continue to be amazed at how we jump and clap when we get $18M from the IMF and yet, on our own, we throw around hundred of millions of dollars as if they are pennies.
Count me among those who cannot understand the accounting.
lawd……the WRITE OFF artists are working hard and overtime to write off BILLIONS OF DOLLARS stolen from the people.
can’t wait for the slow thinking fowl Slaves to jump out and justify…..don’t worry, yall can take days to figure it out, we got nothing but time…lawd..
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/01/dems-question-govts-latest-housing-contracts/
let the show begin..
I don’t think the Blogmaster is slipping up. How the RH does one even attempt to analyse the report?
Many of the larger entities have continuously, failed to submit financials. What is the AudG to audit? It is largely a mass of nothingness outlining the state of reporting from a host of public entities.
The standard joke entry…8 houses paid for but which authorities cannot find!!! Not one will be fired. $600,000 gone who knows where.
@HA would go to town on the debt default accounting.
Just sad.
Not surprisingly Clearwater (the company not the residence) is a mass of pottage, but we already knew this, and no specifics are shared.
Is Barbados still an owner of LIAT? The report is less than clear in this.
Northern…bottom line, we will never be able to tell exactly how many BILLIONS OF DOLLARS THEY ALL STOLE…it’s too messy, and will need top of the line experts in forensic auditing….to unravel much of it..
what we do know is 5-6 BILLION DOLLARS is missing from the economy over time and the write off artists are busily writing off this and that discrepancies to cover it up, problem for them they can’t write off FAST ENUFF,,,because the sculduggery and thefts are WAY TOO GLARING and in your face…
@ NorthernObserver
The Auditor General’s report came out sometime last week, around May 23 or 25. It was addressed to Parliament on May 14.
I’ve read it and it isn’t any different from the previous ones.
@Artax
I think it has differences. The office of the AudG was unable to comment due to lack of information. While this is not entirely new, the decreasing number they are able to comment on has shrunk. By next year one will simply get a listing of all public entities, incl NGO’s, and how far behind they are on reporting?
Much of this editions commentary is on basic classification of accounting entries. If you start wrong you end wrong?
Several of their observations bear an uncanny resemblance to the ABCP scam, where companies would buy uncollected A/R for cents on the $ and transfer these former liabilities on the seller’s books to assets on their books, and not at their recent cost, but at their previously uncollectible value!!
I was actually referring to what you described as “basic classification of accounting entries.”
In addition to the “lack of information,” the Auditor’s duties are further constrained by a lack of staff, which, according to the Auditor General, “negatively impacted on the Office fulfilling its mandate.”
Trotman also mentioned that, “During 2019 there was the enactment of the Public Finance Management Act, 2019-1 which should have a significant impact on the way Government organizations are run and on their reporting requirements. Agencies are required to submit Annual Reports showing their financial as well as non-financial performance during the year.”
Could it be that the accounting officers in several of the ministries and quasi government organisations do not have the requisite training; hence the reason why so many mistakes are made? I know of situations where people are assigned to the Accounts Sections, especially at statutory corporations, who do not have any basic knowledge of accounting.
I remember reviewing the transactions of a small business and realised the person responsible for accounting, was posting transactions to various ‘miscellaneous accounts’ he created, simply because he did not know to which account the transaction should be posted.
@Artax
You can posit at the reasons. As a non resident I am not going to target the wrath of the local protectorate and even hint at unqualified, or worse, incompetent.
I do know there are enough trained accountants on the island to execute the required mandate. Albeit, they maybe constrained by the lack of accurate internal records.
The AudG complains about the lack of staff every year? I am not belittling his needs assessment.
We are told of the NHC, the period of 2015-19 will NOT be audited? The UDC has “reported” (read the AudG hasn’t seen them) audits for 18-20 are complete, but the status of 07-17 remain unknown. The QEH has “reported” reports from ’12 onwards are at “various stages of completion”. The RDC is working on 2009!!!!! The NCC have “reported” for the third year in a row !!! that reports from ’14-20 are “in progress”.
Now some other bodies are quite current, but few of these are the big money areas.
And not to forget the poster child of reporting, the NIS, some funds have completed audits up to 2014, but none I could find have even touched 2015 onwards. The overall body hasn’t reported since 2005(???)
Would you invest in a company with this reporting record??
@ WURA
Ignore the agents of dis/mis information. They are all over the place defending the indefensible. We now have some placed to knock down every justified criticism of the administration. Skilled at or pretending they are balanced; actually acting like head masters correcting students. I crack up when I read their prosecutorial style.
It’s all in the service of their party. Beware. Read carefully . We are dealing with very sophisticated propagandists.
Let them keep it up, i have something even more powerful for them that they could never envision…too dumb…they can only get away with their yardfowl tendencies on BU…when ya catch them out in the great big world of cyberspace where all the literary sharks are, they can’t say anything, cause millions of people would laugh at their small time backwardness.
There was a time when we would get a blog devoted to the auditor general report. It would be great if this practice was based only on the availability of reports and not on other factors.
The negative-nellies will be negative, the positive-spinners will be positive, but let’s share the information. It may show some Departments in a bad light, but it did so prior to 2018 and will do so in 2021. Share the information.
So far, the comments relating the report has been interesting.
Why have you assumed the Auditor General report will not be covered on BU? Does it matter if it is featured today or next week?
@ Northern Observer
This shitvhas been going on for forty years plus. The Auditor General sends out his report; the BLPDLP operatives pick at what is advantageous to them. The report is placed in parliament and the crocodile tears start.
Forty years of corruption and not one fellow ever found Glendiary or Dodd.
Pure BS.
40 years William?
@ TheOGazerts
Type auditor general report in the BU search window.
DavidJune 2, 2021 7:14 AM
Why have you assumed the Auditor General report will not be covered on BU? Does it matter if it is featured today or next week
Xxxxxxxxx
It matters for the report to be placed sooner rather than later
For with certainty within a day or two the matter would cease to remain of importance in the minds of many
I have to agree with the “investigative reporter” that “It matters for the report to be placed sooner rather than later.”
However, I hope contributors read it thoroughly and not rely on newspaper reports, so we could have a honest, in depth discussion, and I’m sure “the matter would not cease to remain of importance in the minds of many.”
@Artax
The blogmaster has not had time to review the report. It will be uploaded like all the others although discussing the report has become a perennial talk shop.
General comment:
Many time an interesting observation is made in a post but links are not given.
Whilst I have faith in my countrymen, it would be good if they provided (if possible) the source of their information.
You are correct it is merely a ‘talk shop’. The lack of content in the 100+ pages seems a direct reflection of the material available. One cannot “audit” that which is unavailable “in progress”.
To besides, who cares? And there are few new revelations, a few questions, with fewer explanations.
The government rushed hot and sweaty to rollout legislation to hold government agencies accountable for filing financials in a timely manner. If memory is correct it was led by Ryan Straughn. Unfortunately on the talk show when BLP 3 year performance was discussed NIS and late filing of financials was never featured.
@Theo
Google auditor general Barbados and you will get a parliament link to the report.
Thanks.
I may have to put you as ‘lead investigative journalist’.
–xx–
But I console myself with the thought that the ace investigative reporter may be occupied with an event more pressing investigation.
You go girl.
@Theo
Not that your ace investigator has ever been known to tread carefully, but, a large part of the AudG lack of audits stems from many years from 2008 on, when several of these public bodies never filed a single annual report. The backlog was huge, and some like the Urban Development Corporation has apparently decided “forget them”, and have gone ahead with ’18-20, even though 07-17 remain outstanding.
The solution is you fire the senior employees who had responsibility for such reports, withhold pensions for cause, and let them counter sue for wrongful dismissal and explain to a court, not some two bit enquiry, WHY the reports were not filed.
But dat cant happen here in dis country, Dat is some stinkin’ colonial construct called accountability.
Thanks NO was waiting for the gem moment to update the AG report.
NorthernObserverJune 2, 2021 3:08 PM
Your nod to Gabby in the last line there was not missed, very clever.
“Note that your ace investigator has ever been known to tread carefully, but, a large part of the AudG [Auditor General Report] lack of audits stems from many years from 2008 on, when several of these public bodies never filed a single annual report.”
@ NorthernObserver
That is why I made the following comment:
Artax June 2, 2021 8:50 AM #: “I have to agree with the “investigative reporter” that “It matters for the report to be placed sooner rather than later.”
“However, I hope contributors read it thoroughly and not rely on newspaper reports, so we could have a honest, in depth discussion, and I’m sure “the matter would not cease to remain of importance in the minds of many.”
one thing’s for sure, there is going to be one hell of a 2023 election party…lawd.
See how they love to distract and misdirect….everyone knows food HAS BEEN STOLEN FROM THE HOSPITAL since the 1970s…but yet here they are pretending they don’t know, many of the same ministers more than likely were raised stolen food, why not talk about all the meats etc stolen from BADMC still….ask many of the lawyers and those who call themselves elite and pedigree…frauds..
everything they do is to distract, can’t work this time, the young generation are on to yall…
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/03/whos-stealing-food-from-the-qeh/
“The island’s sole general hospital has launched an investigation into reports of theft from its kitchen even as it embarks on wider internal audits of food inventory to determine the level of losses and the action that must be taken.”
many of the same uppity ministers more than likely were raised ON stolen food, why not talk about all the meats etc stolen from BADMC still….ask many of the lawyers and those who call themselves elite and pedigree…frauds..
They too love photo ops to fool yardfowls…here is a genuine cause, a sick mother with children and unemployed just like the hotel workers that the thieves for employers refuse to pay…photo op this…and not to use her and her children as voting yardfowls either..
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/03/ill-mother-looking-for-a-place-for-herself-and-her-children/
“Cheriann Doyle, who was recently diagnosed with lupus, is homeless and crying out for help.
The struggling, unemployed Doyle, who is finding it hard to make ends meet, is asking for assistance with a housing solution for her and her five-year-old son and 11-year-old daughter.”
They can do nothing, complete nothing for the people who elected them and pay their salaries, but when it’s time to pick up the people’s money by the billions and give to the corrupt minority gunrunners and drug traffickers….they can find it every time and boast about it in the news…
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/06/03/flood-dirty-water-bothers-residents/
“Last year, residents in Chapman Lane, The City, were singing the Government’s praises when work got under way to rectify the flooding problems they had been experiencing for decades.
However, these days, they are voicing a different tune – one of frustration.
The work, which involved installing a new drainage system to allow water to flow through the canal, has not been completed and the area has been flooding almost daily, even though there is no rainfall.
On Tuesday, several pumps installed by the Drainage Unit were pumping off the water which had flooded the nearby Murphy’s Pasture and created large, dirty pools in different areas throughout the close-knit district.
Angry residents complained about the water, which was mossy, filled with garbage and had an unbearable stench.
Melissa Mason, whose house is next door to the canal, said she and her three children were being affected.
“This work started last year and it was going okay for a while, then all of a sudden the people stopped working. The problem I have is the water and the mosquitoes; it is bad for the children. You don’t know when the water is going to be up, you don’t know when it is going to be down.”
This is one of the reason why things will not change
“Another resident, who did not want to give his name, said they were fed up ….”
Nobody wants to stand up and give their name. If he gives his name how will they punish him? Give him water without mosquitos ???
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/03/call-for-citizens-to-propose-constitutional-changes-to-republic-committee/
what’s the use if ya keeping the SAME SLAVE SYSTEM IN PLACE that ya did NOT CREATE…and that has been manipulated and misused even worse than it was devised to DESTROY BLACK LIVES….wuh Forde opted to keep it as far back as the 70s…..and only THE SLAVES and the BRAIN DEAD would entertain yall with the stupidity of proposing anything in a still existing SLAVE SYSTEM..
William….look at them..
All this elaborate planning for a republic within a slave system… and the people have NO IDENTITIES….nice going..
right now they are TRAPPED…and kept in this state by the greedy and their sidekicks…..let’s see how much longer that lasts and who will be more trapped than whom soon…
@ et al
Amazing reminds of Joe Solomon. the popular West Indies batsman who was adept at poking. The blasted Auditor General report is just that a frigging report, as far as the past and present miscreants in parliament are concerned.
We can discuss it forever and score useless comparisons but the simple truth is that there is no damn accountability and we will poke all day and try to keep we party wicket but not a run will be scored.
I maintain this crap with the Auditor General Report goes back forty years in some form or the other.
The only politician on his way to prison is Donville and he was brought down by the USA not by anybody in Bim.
They are yet to realize that their very existence is based on living off LOANS and DEBT…which they will NEVER BE ABLE TO REPAY with a one horse economy…
…that is why the Black population is warned to leave them alone with THEIR BILLION DOLLAR DEBT…unless ya helped them tief billions of dollars over the decades, the debt is all THEIRS…
Then they got the nerve to ask “how did we get here”
no one has the time or energy to keep reminding them…people are moving on…many moved on already…
only the awakened and conscious young can shut down all these criminals with their bad intent……the more conscious senior citizens can show them the way..
..but those who believe they have hostages in place to line their pockets for another 2 generations so that their lazy spawn can live off Black lives indefinitely must be sent a SERIOUS MESSAGE…
William…it’s the only way to show them people mean business…skinning teeth and grinning with them is enabling them to continue their crimes against Black humanity..
they are so slimy and dirty i won’t put it past them to put a criminal minority as the slave society’s first president, and that would explain why the corrupt believe they can clean up their dirty image by putting the blame for supporting, funding and promoting the guns, drugs and dirty lyrics glorifying GUN VIOLENCE AND DEATH on the island, and now talking about family values when none of them have moral, ethics and are all RACISTS and THIEVES…and must be reinforced so that their FRAUD STAYS UNCOVERED..
they love to jump in newspapers and on camera….that image will show everyone who they really are….
“The only politician on his way to prison is Donville and he was brought down by the USA not by anybody in Bim.”
that one is fortunate he didn’t get a good 20 years in prison…
i take it he was never invited to the inner inner circle or he won’t be taking shite bribes to expose himself like that, although they tief millions and take shite bribes too…because they are so repugnantly greedy..
this can’t be said Enuff..
they are so repulsively slimy and dirty i won’t put it past them to put a criminal minority as the slave society’s/republic’s first president..
and that would explain why the corrupt believe they can clean up their dirty image by putting the blame for supporting, funding and promoting the guns, drugs and dirty lyrics glorifying GUN VIOLENCE AND DEATHON THE ARTISTES whom they hire and PAY to do just that.., and now talking about family values when none of them have morals, ethics and are all RACISTS and THIEVES…and this must be reinforced so that their FRAUD STAYS UNCOVERED..
A lesson in economics for this stuff necked govt
The last two stimulus packages significantly reduced the number of Americans suffering from hunger, financial hardship, anxiety and depression, a new study found.
Financial instability fell by 45% from December 2020 to April 2021, according to a new paper by Poverty Solutions at the University of Michigan. Additionally, food insufficiency decreased over 40% and mental health symptoms dropped by 20%.