On November 11, 2020, Moore received 3154 votes in the by-election. Floyd Reifer of the Democratic Labour Party was the nearest challenger with 1 327.Grenville Phillips of Solutions Barbados earned 95, David Walrond of the opposition People’s Party for Democracy and Development got 80, Ambrose Grosvenor of the United Progressive Party 70 and the Bajan Free Party’s Alex Mitchell received ten.” – Nation Newspaper 12/11/2020

The result of the St. George North by election year exposes reasons to pause for those who worry about the current state of governance in Barbados. Historically we have managed the affairs of state well enough to have earned the label ‘a stable political country’. However, the result of the 2018 general election created an unprecedented situation where for the first time the OPPOSITION in the House of Assembly was not comprised of members of a party who faced the electorate under a different party banner. Instead, Bishop Joseph Atherley saved the day by crossing the floor to be anointed the Leader of the Opposition by the Governor General.

The decision by Atherley to cross the floor averted a constitutional crisis many continue to argue (including this blogmaster) and the rest is history to cite an often used cliché. Despite his best effort to be the dissenting voice inside and outside of parliament Atherley his People’s Party for Democracy has been unable to win measurable support from Barbadians. The result of the St. George North by election validates the position. The other conclusion political pundits are certain is that the third party movement in its current form has been rejected by the electorate.

A general election is constitutionally due in 2023 and surprise surprise the main political parties to contest will be the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and Democratic Labour Party (DLP). In other words the DLP represents the government in waiting. It means therefore the general public is vested in a fit for purpose political opposition whether it is occupying parliamant or on the outside. An irony often discussed when this matter surfaces is to highlight a political party is a private member organization, yet it must be ready to take over the job of managing the weighty affairs of state.

Whether we like it or not the DLP represents the only practical legitimate political opposition voice in the mind of the public- although it failed to win a single seat in the last general election. To compare with other countries the DLP is the entrenched other member of the duopoly like the Democrats and Republicans, Labour and Tories or JLP and PNP to name three.

The inability of the DLP so far to list a full slate of candidates to contest the 2023 general election is a concern.

The inability of party leader to elevate her national profile in an environment screeching for a political alternative is a concern.

The inability of the DLP to speak authoritatively on economic policy is a concern.

These are not exhaustive concerns and the one not mentioned and possibly the biggest is the potential collateral damage from Donville Inniss’ verdict due to be handed down next week in New York.

129 responses to “DLP Ready or Not …”

1. @ David

All you have to do is analyse the quality of debate by the DLP’s representatives on BU and you’ll realise there is a dearth of ‘talent’ within that political party.

The nightman cometh.

2. But why the pic of Donville Innis with certainty his name will not be counted or placed on the slate as a contestant for the Dlp
    He has his own bag of rotten fish to fry
    In any case the problems that are affecting the people is the issue at hand and will be the deciding factor in 2023
    But that pic of Donville speaks volumes of the mischief u carries in your hand
    Waiting to see if u post a pic of Mottley and her deacon’s friend In one of your captions when u post a blp article

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    there is a dearth of bloggers on BU. Period.

4. Is any of the other parties ready?

Unfortunately my UPP has flat lined

5. Seeds of DLP’s 2018 crushing defeat

By Ezra Alleyne
    The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) celebrates a birthday on Tuesday, April 27.
    That party, which was led by Errol Barrow for its first 20 years, today has no seats in Parliament and is being led by Verla DePeiza. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP), led by Mia Amor Mottley, won all 30 seats in the Parliament. Why?
    Any serious analysis of the state of the DLP must examine what took place on July 1, 1987. That was the day Errol Barrow died and Erskine Sandiford became Prime Minister.
    On that fateful day, the seeds of the destruction of the DLP were almost certainly laid. I was so concerned about the events of that day that I put my thoughts down in a series of three consecutive articles which appeared in the Nation.
    My concern then was that although the form of the appointment was correct, the substance of the appointment, which should have informed the form, seemed flawed.
    I cautioned then that we had not heard the last of this serious breach of the time-honoured practices of the Westminster system as reflected in our Constitution.
    Indeed we have not, and current reflections on the state of the DLP will not mean a pang unless corrective measures are taken to deal with the fallout from that date. Two things matter here.
    Both Dr Richie Haynes and Branford Taitt could be said to have had claims to the leadership. But there was no leadership
    contest.
    Taitt had challenged Barrow for the presidency of the party not long before Barrow’s death. Haynes, branded then as the second most important man in Barbados, had blown the BLP out of the water with a crowd-pleasing alternative Budget.
    But what sweeten goat mout’ . . . . The proposals were ultimately economically destructive.
    Sandiford’s move
    When Barrow died, Taitt was in Trinidad as Minister of Trade trying to sell Barbados exports to the twin-island state. Haynes was in the island, but Sandiford and his colleague supporters went to Governor General Sir Hugh Springer and before the day was done, one could say the King is dead . . . . Long live the King.
    There was no leadership contest, but my concern had been vigorously shaken even before Barrow’s death by a statement he made in Parliament three months before his death.
    He declared: After me it is Sandiford and after Sandiford it is Philip Greaves and thereafter any number can play. That statement puzzled me when it was made, but it clearly provided a basis for those who favoured Sandiford as successor.
    My instincts told me that trouble was setting up like rain as the old people used to say. Why did Barrow feel he had to make that statement? Was there jockeying for the leadership? Had he heard internecine rumblings about succession?
    Whatever the “contenders” may have thought, both Tom Adams and Barrow had discerned Sandiford’s exceptional political skills as a most cunning political operative, miles ahead of Haynes and Taitt.
    Indeed, many of my BLP colleagues may recall Tom’s reference to Sandiford as the desert fox. Coming from Tom, a keen student of military history, that was the ultimate compliment. It was a reference to the German field marshal Rommel, whose Middle Eastern war strategy mesmerised the Western commanders in World War II.
    The parting of the ways between Haynes and Sandiford did not surprise me. Haynes wrote a letter setting out his reasons for the break.
    But in my judgement, the events of July 1 would have hardened any decision he made to leave. Eventually, Haynes and three others moved. Sandiford eventually lost nine members of Parliament by the time of the 1994 no-confidence debate and each of the nine defended his withdrawal of support on principle.
    I make no judgement on their withdrawal, except to say that loss of support
    weakens any political leader.
    Sandiford himself said of the 1994 election, which he called, that he was persuaded to relinquish his position as party leader prematurely, did not lead his party in the General Election, and played no leading role in those elections.
    Owen Arthur trounced the DLP and became Prime Minister.
    Thompson assumed the leadership of the DLP, lost two elections, and gave up the leadership to Clyde Mascoll.
    You would think the leadership was settled . .
    . no way.
    In next to no time Mascoll, having raised the House membership from two under Thompson to seven, finds himself out of office, with Thompson resuming the leadership, having avoided three straight defeats. He becomes Prime Minister in 2008.
    By October 2010, Thompson dies and Stuart is appointed leader and is almost immediately confronted with challenges to his leadership style with the emergence of the “Eager Eleven” episode.
    Stuart skilfully avoids further fractures despite internal turbulence but loses to Mia Mottley when the public decides that enough is enough and shows how fed up they were with DLP leadership issues . . . here we are today.
    Barbadians have a vested interest in a strong settled DLP .
    . . but recent history suggests the DLP is not yet there. It has to cease and settle if it is to survive Barrow’s death.
    Until then, happy birthday, DLP!

Ezra Alleyne is an attorney and former Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly.

Source: Nation Newspaper

6. @ NorthernObserver April 25, 2021 7:08 AM

I don’t necessarily agree with you. However, I’ll admit BU has some contributors who have an annoying habit of ‘watering down’ and boring the forum by posting a multiplicity of contributions, in which they present the SAME RHETORIC or apply the SAME ARGUMENTS to EVERY discussion.

Quantity does not, in all circumstances, equate to quality.

7. VOB will deal with the issue of whither the DLP on its talk show today.

8. David
    The inability of the DLP so far to list a full slate of candidates to contest the 2023 general election is a concern
    Xxccccccccc
    U made a comment would be nice if u say why

Also why are u persistent in placing Donville problems at the feet of the party
    Xxxxxxccccccc
    Hometown issues like the water problem being carried daily all over media and social platforms are what is being said and heard and spoken about day after day
    Only on BU the issue of Donville takes spotlight

Xxxxxxx Today on brass tacks Verla should take the opportunity to cut out a path by which she can hold this govt accountable and not be guided on a one way political path of having to give away her plans for rebuilding the party
    She must be clever and try to avoid those booby traps set in her path by the moderator
    Let govt be the issue
    The flaws mistakes and hiccups which should give the listener enough thought for their removal

9. William Skinner Avatar

@ all,
    The mere fact that the DLP with all its problems and virtually on a kind of political death bed, can still be considered the only alternative to its Siamese twin, is a reflection of the barren state of the political landscape.
    Anybody who has the ability to think objectively, should know that if the current malaise of the DLP continues, the BLP would be in office for at least fifteen and possibly twenty years.
    The only hiccup facing the BLP is whether there is an alternative to Mottley.
    Ironically, even when Mottley was kicked to the curb by Arthur and company, she was still seen as the only one capable of leading the BLP other than Arthur.
    Another irony is that the DLP had at least three people who were seen as possible successors to Barrow.
    However we cut it , slice it or dice it, the Duopoly will continue to rule Barbados and if that is not a tragedy, I don’t know what a real tragedy is.
    As for the third parties and I include the NDP, until they learn that wanting to succeed and working one’s ass off to succeed , are two completely different things , none of them would be taken seriously.
    In other words , the Dees and Bees on BU will continue rejoicing while pretending they hate each other. Their Duopoly has no challengers . That is ,I repeat ,the real tragedy.

10. The same flaw and hiccups that lead to the with drawal is the candidate list and the jumping of ship by former members?

11. The BLP got lucky. Two ” national disasters ” Covid and Volcanic ash.

International AID will be be equitably distributed.

12. The DLP will celebrate 66 year anniversary with a Church Service this morning at St. George Church.

13. Hants

i wonder how those factors effect the debt restructuring agreement. There was a clause about natural disasters.

14. Kemar Stuart should make another hop over to the UPP and see if he can resuscitate it and his political career.
    UPP was the first party i heard say i would legalize Mary Jane 🙂
    Offer some land to the rastas and another local/ bajan co op and it can pull a few votes while building for the future.

15. “The Barbados Labour Party (BLP), led by Mia Amor Mottley, won all 30 seats in the Parliament. Why?
    Any serious analysis of the state of the DLP must examine what took place on July 1, 1987.”

I am unable to digest these heavy analyses. To link back to 1987 is to ignore 2008-2018 And victories in preceding elections. How does the 2/28 and then the win in 2008 fit this simple and erroneous equation.

But of course, we have a few whose analyses of the article can be explained by “EA has spoken”.

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@angela cox April 25, 2021 7:52 AM
    “Also why are u persistent in placing Donville problems at the feet of the party”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Corruption is the single most damaging dysfunction of Barbados politics. It is not just a DLP issue I condemn the BLP for failing to lay corruption charges against Donville Innis, Alex Tasker, Ingrid Innes, and everyone else for whom there is prima facie evidence of corruption. Those people should be in Dodds and we should not be relying on the USA to prosecute. We should have prosecuted locally since 2018.

The fact that Barbados has not filed charges against these individuals is very strong evidence of corruption within the BLP. the Police force, the Office of the Attorney General, and the Department of Public Prosecutions.

17. The reason why that image was posted by the blogmaster is because there was commentary on BU about the unwillingness of Verla to distance herself from the matter when Donville was arrested. She decided to close ranks around one of their own. It was predicted at the time it may comeback to bite her in the political rear. The time has come.

18. Honesty is the best policy bearing your comment in mind

Xxxx

DavidApril 25, 2021 9:34 AM

The reason why that image was posted by the blogmaster is because there was commentary on BU about the unwillingness of Verla to distance herself from the matter when Donville was arrested. She decided to close ranks around one of their own. It was predicted at the time it may comeback to bite her in the political rear. The time has come

Xxxxxxxxxxx
    In other words guilt by association
    Xxxxxxxxx

19. After the 30/0 shellacking in 2018, the medical pathologists of BU descended on the corpse of the DLP and made several serious pronouncements.

It should be noted that the DLP suffered a similar fate (2/28) in 1999 and in 2008 (a short nine years later) became the party in power.

The BLP 3peat of 1994, 1999 and 2003 appear to have brought on disillusionment with the BLP.

It remains to be seen if the 2018 the death of the DLP or just 10 years in the wilderness.

I do not entertain any notion of the immortality of the BLP as their current trajectory convinces me that it will be a difficult five and horrible 10 years. A 3peat is unlikely.

20. Without a doubt, 2018 was a major defeat for the DLP. Garnering less than 22% of the votes in a ‘2 party’s race should be a serious concern.

Part of the DLP strategy should be to designate some seats as must win seats, campaign ferociously in former ‘safe seats’ and to increase that 22% to 35%. The missteps of the BLP will supply political fodder. Make use of it.

21. The incompetence of this govt should be a glaring issue that u David should be worry about along with the many flip flops
    The govt leaving the most vulnerable to fend for themselves while shelling out millions to big businesss having an expectation that taxation would be a great equalizer between rich and poor
    At present after two years in govt the most vulnerable has benefited nothing
    The recent dry bone of an increase should been seen as another slap in the face of those who have been pulling the debt laden baskets for more than fourteen plus years
    The dlp is not in office better yet sticking with the issues that are affecting country and people negatively is where the rubber meets the road and govt answers are akin to fake news

22. The discussion needs to move pass whether the DLP is dead, whether the DLP will win by default. We need to have a discussion about the quality of governance/representation regardless to which party wins office.

23. Theo

In 2008 the message was to Owen that it is time to go as pm. in 2013 it was ” we tell you we dont want you back”

Then there was a PM “personality” in the DLP named DT

Verla is no David and as of now there is no one with PM personality stepping up. also the candidates are not putting in the needed work in the community. like they already surrendered

24. Beg Borrow Beg Borrow. Spend strategically and don’t forget the poor Black man in Clarkes road.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/25/mottley-makes-case-concessional-funding/

25. I like this. A low hanging fruit with good political mileage if managed properly

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/04/24/dlp-wants-more-details-about-measures-to-ease-the-water-woes/

26. @ TheOGazerts,

Mandatory listening right now.

http://vob929.com/listen-live-3/

As an aside, Khaleel Kothdiwala continues to shine.

27. Thanks. Enjoying the link.

28. Looks like Verla is ready to jettison Donville Inniss. We should not
    forget Inniss alluded to the fact corruption was rift when he was
    minister in both public and private sectors. This matter should not
    die with the sentencing of Inniss.

29. The dlp not in office but they have a record of being in office

If an increase of minimum wages is a slap in the face and a dry bone then what is nothing over ten years while all the minister guts got bigger

Compare / contrast

30. Verla gave a brilliant response to David question about Donville
    Wuhloss it was truly a moment worthy of an appluase
    Next

31. Khaleel whatever his name was sent out as the opener to test the wicket
    Vob laid the wicket to keep Verla centred and focus on the leadership and losses
    The last question about Doniville seems to have shifted the modus towards verla interest on corruption leglislation moving the goal post closer to what govt has not achieved in passing corruption legislation

32. Verla is doing well despite the format.
    She has to get more control of the format (panel, questions, what is off limit) in a program like this.

33. @ David,

Verla. A female sounding voice. Sweeeeeeet. lol

34. @David who wrote “Looks like Verla is ready to jettison Donville Inniss”,

I support that position. Donville can find a way to live outside of politics.

35. @Hants

She is saying the right things, how we have to measure is whether the type of party she is working to rebuild has started to resonate with the public.

36. David yuh hear what Mia and her goons did about tearing past govt projects put in place to supply and expand water supply for the people in water deprived areas
    What a dam shame
    U go Verla the stinch this govt is emitting is sickening

37. Kahliee wuh yuh saying there is a message which must be told
    Verla is right she is moving the goal post in the right direction
    Time for fb lived campaigning
    Can’t let messages die

38. kahliee The dlp does not want u to tell them what would work
    The most embarking message of the day is how the govt treat the people in water deprived areas
    Verla made a damming allegations against govt which need to be repeated

39. @ David,

Khaleel Kothdiwala appears to be the attack dog of the BLP at least today.

His insults directed at Verla were not nice.

40. Khalil carrydewatuh (for de BLP) recited some well used and tried lines.

I did not know what to think of Verla but after seeing her walking in this furnace and emerging unscathed I am very impressed.

Announcement: I am on the Verla train

41. Correction
    Khalil Karrydiwata

42. Khalil Karrydiwata lived up to his name

43. @Hants

Politics is not a tea party. The jury is still out on Verla and her ability to mobilize popular support for the party. We will see very soon.

44. She shone bright like a diamond
    Yes monn
    I know the three attack dogs might be planning another strategy
    Sooner rather than later vob will be calling her for (them) to get another bite at the 🍎
    She held her own and move the goal post in her direction
    I almost fell out the chair when David tried a last minute ditch effort to bring her back to his direction but umm was too late the horse had already bolted and nothing was going to stop the swift and unwavering fast pace of the Dlp president

45. @ David,

The BLP will win the next election. No political party loses after a natural disaster and international aid pours in.

Covid and Ash equals cash.

46. Hants we have to turn the discussion to better governance and holding politicians accountable.

47. @ David,

Freedom of information Act.

Integrity legislation.

48. Sunday Roast Dlp

https://fb.me/e/1opDcDmaK

49. We can all speculate and prognosticate as we wish, but the reality is, no one knows what the future holds, but we all know who holds the future.
    Nevertheless, the Prime Minister has unequivocally and categorically proven to the Barbadian masses that she is a silver tongue demagogue with the gift for magnifying the truth, and this may prove to be her undoing.
    Moreover, her categorical insistence regarding the appointment of Duty Commissioner of Police Oral Williams is a caused for concerned because is it an indication of her character and indicative modus operandi.