In the last thirty six hours the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) had reason to retract a declaration of some candidates to contest the next general election. With the election constitutionally due by 2023 political pundits have suggested the DLP should have completed the task by now. We understand President Verla De Peiza’s explanation that the selection of candidates is involved and requires time to ensure a task is well done. That said, a learning entity will transform as required to ensure adaptability in the space in which it has to successfully operate. The sloth and deliberate way the DLP continues to operate mirrors former prime minister Fruendel Stuart as leader and continues to haunt the DLP.

The importance of a strident dissenting voice in the type of democracy practiced by Barbados has been robustly discussed on BU’s pages. Whether some like it or not the DLP despite the shellacking in the 2018 general election is still perceived as the legitimate political opposition. Although Senator Caswell Franklyn has done his darnest to fill the role, the political party he represents does not have the legitimacy to be perceived as a legit political contender. in fact savvy political pundits accept that the creation of the People’s Development Party was contrived to avoid a constitutional crisis. History is expectant with revelations.

The challenge for the DLP will be making an impact during a pandemic where candidates making themselves known through traditional methods have to be curtailed. Accept that the effect of COVID 19 will be with us best case for the balance of the year. More importantly is the opportunity for new candidates to get comfortable in the role. It is not good enough Barbadians continue to elect governments by ‘default’. We need our governments in waiting to be forced to advocate alternative and relevant programs designed to catapult the country’s economic and social development.

The list of candidates hurriedly withdrawn by the DLP revealed an unhealthy sighting of old candidates. Some of the old names triggered a flood of bad memories in the mind of the blogmaster who understands it is more about winning for political parties, not trying to satisfy political utopianists.

It boggles the mind that a government after being given an overwhelming mandate in 2018 whose first task was to administer a ‘’haircut’ to domestic and foreign bond holders – followed by a few missteps managing the pandemic has not created the opportunity for opposition politics to thrive. Instead we have witnessed one of the most lackluster performances by the political opposition as far as the blogmaster is concerned since 2018. The BLP and specifically Prime Minister Mottley continues to suck the energy from the Barbados political landscape. So much so that if a general election were to be called tomorrow a solid prediction would be another BLP victory albeit with a reduced majority.

It is important Barbadians elevate our level of awareness about civics matters to appreciate the importance of pressuring political parties to transform. Delivering public service must be accepted as serious business, a sacred honour. So far the DLP as the only game in town has done nothing post 2018 to justify the label of government in waiting.

The following is an extract from what is being circulated:

The nominated are as follows:

St. Lucy        Verla De Peiza
St. Andrew   Oldwin Skeete
St. Joseph     Randall Rouse
St. John         Andre Worrell
St. Thomas   Khadija Collymore
SJN                 Charles Worrell
SPN                Michael Lashley
SPW               Dr David Estwick
SPS                 Neil Marshall
CCE                Dr Denis Lowe
SMNW           Ryan Walters
SMWC           Curtis Cave
SMN              B. Ricardo Harrison

225 responses to “DLP Hopes to Win by Default”

1. Miller

Is this MoEA&I for real? Are they really contemplating another layer of bureaucratic incompetence to be superimposed as an additional burden on the already overburdened

Another smoke and mirror policy at an already overburden tax payer expense
    The number of committees established under Mia leadership is mind blowing
    Makes one wonder where she finds the money to foot these committee
    An audit of this govt spending should be as frequent and available as the COVID dashboard

2. @Miller

In the best of times successive governments, that is B and D, have struggled to rollout and efficiently implement plans fit for purpose. Why do you expect during a pandemic there will be some mighty awakening to now doing as you ask?

3. Miller

Unemployment statistics are renowned for the level of manipulation involved.

The aged adage that statistics can be perverted to prove, disprove or show there are no differences between a number of variables dominates the thinking of global governments.

Tom Adams is credited with removing the socalled “voluntary idle” from the unemployment statistics. The US takes this dark art of statistical manipulation to levels unimaginable in the day of Adams.

Junk economics!

4. I beg to differ, Peter.

5. “The number of committees established under Mia leadership is mind blowing. Makes one wonder where she finds the money to foot these committee(s).”

How do you know if the committee members are not volunteering their services?

6. Go to the USA and the UK where the authorities are interested in us??????

Steupse!

We Bajans sit back and let shit happen! Has there been any formal objection? I bet not!

7. @ David February 22, 2021 9:35 AM

Who is asking for any ‘efficient implementation’ by any administration especially during a pandemic; except your one-sided blue-vexed friend angry-ela cox?

What is being asked is the fulfilment of the manifesto promise of transparency and accountability (from both politically artful dodgers) in the form of a status report.

Yes, a report the same way the Guv of the CBB in his last report omitted to provide his usual up-to-date report on the unemployment situation in Bim but for which the MoEAI has now filled that void by letting the country know, even if partially so, what is the state of unemployment as at the end of last year and its foreboding implications for recovery of the ‘import-and-spend’ economy in the coming months.

8. @ Angela

What we need is a total audit of all the government’s incomes and expenditures, including statutory boards, underwritings and any promises or guarantees.
    I have also called for a hypothecated budgetary programme.

9. Blahblahblah, Mr. 100 % correct! No one person can speak with total authority on this matter.

10. “What we need is a total audit of all the government’s incomes and expenditures, including statutory boards, underwritings and any promises or guarantees.”

Isn’t this done by the Office of the Auditor General?

11. Feed could be coming to fatten the bony calf

“Washington – The President of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), Mauricio Claver-Carone, has collaborated with a coalition of 40 global corporate executives in launching an historic partnership in aiding Latin American and the Caribbean’s recovery in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.”

Start begging

12. If begging will always be the end result why spend millions on education and scholarships? We don’t need graduates and post-graduates for that. After this loan what next? The issues that caused us to require the loan in the 1st place have not been fixed….

Mental issues, lack of self belief and brainwashing run deep! Really supporting any program that educates our youth on personal finance, how to sell in today’s digital world and entrepreneurship. Atleast allows for a few more local successes and one more step away from professional begging.

Our idea of education and literacy is so absolutely broken. And no plans or clue to innovate ourselves out of a problem is the clearest sign. Fellas in suits (not even shirt jacks) going cap-in-hand. “Education” has served us well yes

13. DavidFebruary 22, 2021 8:44 AM @Crusoe The blogmaster knows there are qualified people onshore. Why are people in the know not writing to the Chief Immigration Officer to object?

I know some of these people and yes, there are many qualified people onshore, some looking for jobs. I suspect that being a small island, people are aware that what they put on paper, is put on paper, if you get my drift. Backlash and all.

On the other side of the coin, anyone from over and away taking these jobs, I knew a couple of ex-pats who took jobs in that industry and regretted it. The warning being, once you are out and away from the job market in Canada or UK, where most of these come from, you are out of the job market long term. It really kills your career. Not advisable.

I guess most come for the 35% tax break that they get. Hoping to save a chunk of money for the five or so years that they are here. But it is still not worth it, except for the few who stay and get an offshore job. But even that is probably going to fall , as the offshore industry is declining too.

DonnaFebruary 22, 2021 9:57 AM Go to the USA and the UK where the authorities are interested in us?????? Steupse! We Bajans sit back and let shit happen! Has there been any formal objection? I bet not!

I have met many Barbadians back on holiday from USA or Canada who are very happy, who got jobs and ended up managing places, even if they were not the sharpest tool in the shed. Particularly in the USA. Said this a few years ago.

Barbadians are generally hard workers, don’t mind the garbage spewed about Bajans being lazy. When they go overseas, that creates opportunities, together with them being fairly well educated, comparatively.

And yes, it is better to go get a job where there are opportunities vs where there are few.

As said to David, probably scared to object and also, why object to get a job where you are not wanted?

So yes, youngsters need to get the RH out. Build a life outside where there are opportunities. Right now Canada has the best overall lifestyle, healthcare and so on. Canada also has a long term strong economy.

The healthcare in the USA is a rip off, even if the Democrats are trying to fix that. It depends how well their efforts come to pass.

And the UK economy is being wrecked by the Tory government whose policies are to make the rich more wealthy only and the pandemic contract management can best be termed a shambles that would make anyone blush, the words used here being very diplomatic and considering that this is a public venue. But what it has done is to show who they really are.

But no, there is no place in Bimshire for the young and ambitious. I have said this a few times before. As have others.

14. ArtaxFebruary 22, 2021 10:12 AM

“What we need is a total audit of all the government’s incomes and expenditures, including statutory boards, underwritings and any promises or guarantees.”

Isn’t this done by the Office of the Auditor General?

Ammm when was the last time one heard a peep out of that office
    There is a COVID dashboard that gives up to date numbers
    If there was a similar dash board of govt finiancial numbers most likely the game of go hide and seek on govt spend. would become . a demand of transparency for the people

15. @ Angela

You are right about the Auditor General’s annual reports. Over the years we have discussed on BU the disregard with which they are treated by parliament.
    However, that is not what I was talking about.

16. ArtaxFebruary 22, 2021 9:56 AM

“The number of committees established under Mia leadership is mind blowing. Makes one wonder where she finds the money to foot these committee(s).”

How do you know if the committee members are not volunteering their services

Answer

Because Mia is not blowing her horn loud and clear giving kudos to these groups for their benevolence
    It is sickening that at every turn she forms a committee for every this and that

Also brings back to memory when OSA put her on blast when she asked him to be part of the “eminent group”

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Donna February 22, 2021 9:49 AM
    “I beg to differ, Peter.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    You have a right to be wrong, but:
    + The Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners told the government that the quarantine protocols were inadequate and predicted that an outbreak was inevitable once there were 10k visitors on the island.
    + The UWI Cave Hill team running computer models of infection spread in the Barbados population told the government that they were risking hundreds of deaths with the inadequate quarantine for arrivals.
    + While the Barbados government stuck to it’s ridiculous 2 to 3 day quarantine protocol, the places that most of the visitors were coming from had protocols that called for 14 days of quarantine after the visitors returned home from Barbados!

The responsibility for the current COVID surge and associated deaths rest 100% with the government of Barbados for listening to the tourist industry whining and ignoring every single expert voice who told them unanimously that their protocols were inadequate.

18. @ PLT

Don’t shout it too loud. Some on BU think we had the best CoVid management in the world. Do you remember early in the pandemic a cruise ship came in to the port and there were claims there was CoVid on board.
    We next saw the president with a massive entourage (20 something?) on board the ship. If my memory is correct, there was no social distancing or facial masks.
    Shortly after she was hospitalised. We are told the two were not connected.

19. @ Pachamama February 22, 2021 9:36 AM
    “Junk economics”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++=

Just junk (and politically contaminated) economics indeed!

What should be of pressing concern- not only to the elite both of the political class and that of the import and retail aspects of commerce but also to social scientist like yourself- is that large and fast expanding (but always fixed for partisan political reporting purpose) number of Lumpenproletariat readily lumped in that catchall category called the “Voluntary Idle”.

How can a country as small as Barbadoes continue to bear the social burden and a potentially inflammatory situation where such a huge slice of its population of working age is deemed unproductive and treated as long-serving members of the army of idlers unable to make measurably positive contributions to the much needed socio-economic development of the country.

How can this square with a policy of importing people of working age to meet a politically-determined bullshit target of increasing the population by a minimum of 85,000 ‘readymade and skilled’ workers in order to achieve a higher level of economic growth and demographic sustainability?

20. angela cox February 22, 2021 11:41 AM #: “Ammm when was the last time one heard a peep out of that office?”

Hmmmm………..

ARE YOU SERIOUS?

Doesn’t the Auditor General’s Office conduct an annual audit of the financial transactions of all Ministries and Departments, statutory and quasi government corporations?

Wasn’t the Auditor General’s Report for the financial year ended March 31, 2019 presented to Parliament on May 20, 2020?

Isn’t the Auditor General’s Office currently conducting an audit for the financial year ended March 31, 2020?

Since auditing is essentially an annual undertaking, which could take an inordinate amount of time to complete, do you actually believe anyone could “hear a peep out of that office” on an everyday basis?

21. @ peterlawrencethompson February 22, 2021 12:14 PM

We should leave things as they are and not play the opposition’s game. At the beginning of the pandemic, you, dear PLT, claimed that there might not be any vaccine against the Corona virus. Now our government is vaccinating at a world record rate some 11 months after the first case.

About a dozen different vaccines are already in use worldwide. At least the high-tech vaccines from Biontech and Moderna also very reliably repel all known mutants. Even if we use only the AZ vaccine in Barbados for the time being, at least it will protect against severe illness. And it is also clear that the government will have our population vaccinated again as soon as a better vaccine is available.

So forget your project of an island exclusively for insular nationalists.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

BAMP started off by voting out their previous council with the main reason being the need for independent and strong advocacy in COVID-19. BAMP then insisted on being a formal part of the decision making process and were finally invited to a social partnership meeting in early September. The new council, with a strong mandate from the membership, asked for 10 to 14 day quarantine for arrivals, but by the end of September in negotiations with the government this got whittled down to only 5 days… and then the government downright refused to implement even this watered down recommendation until after we already had a catastrophic surge on our hands in January.

My own personal physician described the decision making process to establish the protocols as “madness.”

And all through October November December I do not recall hearing a peep from the DLP about our inadequate quarantine requirements.

23. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Tron February 22, 2021 12:36 PM
    I claimed that there might not be an effective vaccine for COVID-19 for a few years. Luckily I was completely wrong.

24. @Hal Austin February 22, 2021 10:05 AM “I have also called for a hypothecated budgetary programme.”

Sensible.

I agree.

25. Interesting news report where the medical lead in Grenada- a country enjoying a flatline covid infection rate, stated the flare up at Sandals last December in large part assisted that country fight against Covid because it was forced to lockdown in December and part of January which coincided with peak tourist traffic.

26. PTL+

While the Barbados government stuck to it’s ridiculous 2 to 3 day quarantine protocol, the places that most of the visitors were coming from had protocols that called for 14 days of quarantine after the visitors returned home from Barbados!

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

i was going to take you up on you 2 to 3 day qurantine protocols. You have sine provided info that i had read/heard that the shortest was 5 days.
    at no time before the out break in barbados can i remember any of our source markets having a 14 days quarantine period for travelers out of barbados.

ps. quarantining in the is a joke!

27. At the end of every month each ministry should have a financial report tabled and handed to the PM detailing money spent and available balance
    These details monthly vis Press conference should be told to the people
    The problem with barbados is a governing system riddle with maneuvers and induced with too many excuses

28. quarantining in the usa is a joke when it come to overseas arrivals

29. Mari

it good that you and ur buddy calling for a monthly report now that most of the govenrment entities seems to to be self sufficient.

But not a peep out of you when the money was being steal out through the QEH, TB, BWA, and SSA

30. @ angela cox February 22, 2021 11:41 AM

How come you are not keen on finding out what has been done to date by the current administration regarding the recommendations contained in the same Auditor General’s report for 2018 into the suspected fraudulent financial affairs of BWA under your much beloved and dearest DLP administration?

When are you going to get it through your thick cocky skull- bedecked and bedazzled with a plumage of yellow and blue feathers- that there is no difference except the degree of financial expropriation aka corruption between your leghorn breed of Tweedle Dems and that of the good layers of yard-fowls like Enuff and Lorenzo Tweedle Bees?

31. Hal Austin February 22, 2021 12:08 PM #: “You are right about the Auditor General’s annual reports. Over the years we have discussed on BU the disregard with which they are treated by parliament.”

Angela Cox specifically ASKED:

“angela cox February 22, 2021 11:41 AM #: “Ammm when was the last time one heard a peep out of that office?”

To which you responded with:

Hal Austin February 22, 2021 12:08 PM #: “You are right about the Auditor General’s annual reports.”

You’re always in this forum ‘saying’ BU contributors DO NOT know the DIFFERENCE between a QUESTION and a STATEMENT.

YET, you RESPONDED to Angela Cox’s QUESTION as though it was a STATEMENT.

Therefore, I’m forced to ask, what is the CORRELATION between her QUESTION and your response that makes her “RIGHT about the Auditor General’s annual reports,”………………

…………..especially when she DID NOT MAKE any DEFINITIVE REFERENCES to them?

32. BHUTAN’s SUCCESSFULLY FIGHTING COVID

“ Bhutan then went further. At the end of March, health officials extended the mandatory quarantine from 14 to 21 days—a full week longer than what the WHO was (and still is) recommending. The rationale: A 14-day quarantine leaves about an 11 percent chance that, after being released, a person could still be incubating the infection and eventually become contagious”

https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2021/02/coronavirus-pandemic-bhutan/617976/

33. John
    Instead of being a blp yard dog barking into thin air
    Dont u think that implementing a due diligence process monthly would be a faster and better way to track how tax payers monies are spent along with tackling financial deficiencies in govt some caused by theft

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John2
    Quarantining is a joke if it is not enforced.

Currently, the protocols for mandatory quarantine for arrivals in the USA is 14 days, in the UK 10 days, and in Canada 14 days. Barbados still chooses the utterly inadequate 5 day protocol. Our protocol until the second week of January was 5 days after the pre flight PCR test, which was up to 3 days before travel. So tourists left quarantine in as little as 2 days after arrival. So now you understand why the surge in COVID-19 in Barbados. No public health expert in the world recommended such fatal irresponsibility.

35. mari

i said it is good that you are calling for it.

Where did you get the impression that i am against it?

It an honor to be a blp yard dog any day the being a DLP jackass.

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bajeabroad February 22, 2021 1:54 PM
    “… A 14-day quarantine leaves about an 11 percent chance that, after being released, a person could still be incubating the infection and eventually become contagious”
    So you see that the 2 day quarantine imposed up until early January by our government gave about a 90% chance that, after being released, a person could still be incubating the infection and eventually become contagious. Since tourists then expected to spend only 2 or 3 days out of their 2 week vacation in quarantine, we all of a sudden had tens of thousands of them descend upon us from places where the pandemic was raging out of control.

A blind man in a dark room with a blindfold on could have seen what was inevitably going to happen.

37. angela cox February 22, 2021 12:08 PM #: “Also brings back to memory when OSA put her on blast when she asked him to be part of the “eminent group”.”

I cannot remember Mottley ASKING Arthur “to be part of (any) eminent group.”

What I recall was, in January 2015, then Opposition Leader Mottley SUGGESTED to former PM Stuart that he should “set aside partisanship and revisit the recommendation of an Eminent Persons Group (EPG) to “rescue” Barbados and restore hope.”

angela cox February 22, 2021 1:37 PM #:

RE: “At the end of every month each ministry should have a financial report tabled and handed to the PM detailing money spent and available balance.”

Yes, I agree. Monthly financial statements are prepared by government departments and sent to the parent ministries. Unfortunately, it’s task not undertaken by all departments, especially SOEs.

RE: “These details monthly via Press conference should be told to the people.”

I believe you’ve now gone into the ‘realm of absurdity.”

38. PTL

I repeat quarantining for arrivals in the usa is a bare joke.
    That may be a recommendation but implementation?
    Where are the quarantine centers for these millions of people coming in each week?

They suggest you home quarantine for the 14 day and thats it.

39. john2February 22, 2021 1:45 PM

Mari

it good that you and ur buddy calling for a monthly report now that most of the govenrment entities seems to to be self

sufficient.

But not a peep out of you when the money was being steal out through the QEH, TB, BWA, and SSA

Is that comment ” supposed ” to be “agreeing with me

Well i “ll be damm

40. Don’t be so harsh on John2.

As I mentioned previously, ALL government departments prepare monthly financial statements, which are sent to the parent ministries.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@john2 February 22, 2021 2:16 PM
    “I repeat quarantining for arrivals in the usa is a bare joke.”
    and the pandemic has killed half a million people there, which is not funny at all.

The fact remains that the Barbados government’s quarantine protocols in October, November, and December are directly responsible for the economic damage that this lockdown is causing, as well as for all but 7 of the deaths from COVID in Barbados.

42. ********** Correction to my February 22, 2021 2:23 PM contribution.

ALL government departments are supposed to prepare monthly financial statements and send them on to the parent ministries, by a particular date in the following month. Unfortunately, it is a task not undertaken by all departments, especially SOEs.

43. ArtaxFebruary 22, 2021 2:28 PM

********** Correction to my February 22, 2021 2:23 PM contribution.

ALL government departments are supposed to prepare monthly financial statements and send them on to the parent ministries, by a particular date in the following month. Unfortunately, it is a task not undertaken by all departments, especially SOEs

That being the case(however) should nt these failures be a cause where the PM diligence should be of a high priority in finding out Why which then underscore her recent utterances comment of “bjg works going through her”

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

Re Work Permit
    KPMG announced a new Managing Partner and Head of Tax for Barbados and the EC some weeks back. He is a Canadian, and I was ‘told’ the former position holder at KPMG, had departed for PWC. Unsure if the PWC application is related.

45. The tax break for incoming workers was intended to attract those with skills that would build the country.

Many of these jobs advertised are far frim unique or need skills that many here do not have.

The government should either pull the 35% tax break, or ensure that the concession is properly vetted.

Otherwise, the taxpayers are basically funding these companies to employ people.

These employees use the same resources that we all do.

Tax breaks should only apply to specialist work, such as software development, that bring development to the island, that others here cannot do.

That said, that is the industry that has the most solid career prospects, for youngsters who are interested in that work.

46. Mari

I neither agreed or disagreed with you

I said it was good u call for it now

Then I point out ur hypocrisy for not calling for it when the party u bray on the behalf of was in power

47. Should read, many of these jobs advertised are far from unique nor do they require specialist skills, other than what people here already do.

48. Ptl

I was under the impression that the 5 days quarantine was for 5 days after u enter the island with a negative test

49. RE peterlawrencethompsonFebruary 22, 2021 2:23 PM

@john2 February 22, 2021 2:16 PM
    “I repeat quarantining for arrivals in the usa is a bare joke.”
    and the pandemic has killed half a million people there, which is not funny at all.

The fact remains that the Barbados government’s quarantine protocols in October, November, and December are directly responsible for the economic damage that this lockdown is causing, as well as for all but 7 of the deaths from COVID in Barbados.

PLT WHAT YOU HAVE SAID ABOVE IS TRUE AND CANNOT BE REFUTED BECAUSE THE EVIDENCE IS CLEAR TO SEE
    WHILE THEY WERE WAITING FOR A VACCINE WHICH WAS SUPPOSED TO BE THE CURE ALL, THEY OUGHT TO HAVE ADVANCED THE USE OF AVAILABLE DRUGS AND DRUG REGIMENS WHICH HAD BEEN OBSERVED TO BE EFFICACIOUS IN SEVERAL PARTS OF THE WORLD

WE SHOULD HAVE BEEN DOING THE SAME
    THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE DEMONSTRATES THAT THIS IS THE WAY THAT MEDICE HAS BEEN PRACTICED AND DEVELOPED.

EVEN IN OUR LITTLE NATION MEN LIKE RAMSAY BYER VAUGHAN WELLS ETC IN THE PAST, ADOPTED THEIR OWN METHODS (WHICH WERE VERY EFFECTIVE) AND DID NOT LOOK TO FOLLOW UNPROVEN PROTOCOLS BY WHO OR A JOKER LIKE DR FALSY

50. @ PMT

The fact remains that the Barbados government’s quarantine protocols in October, November, and December are directly responsible for the economic damage that this lockdown is causing……(Quote)

What is the economic damage?